KateCoenen's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Geeked Out Nation Reviews: 21
8.5Avg. Review Rating

8.8
Batwoman #28

Feb 21, 2014

Overall, this issue did a great job at emphasizing who Kate Kane is and how her role as Batwoman shapes her. She is resilient but troubled; she is strong but vulnerable; she fights to protect the people she cares about but is careful not to let her own pain show. Batwoman is complex and contradictory, and the cape and cowl is only part of her dual identity.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Batwoman #29

Mar 22, 2014

Batwoman has a tough job ahead of her as she fights her way through Arkham Asylum to get back on the Wolf Spider's trail, but I know that I'll be there next issue to cheer her on.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Batwoman #31

May 24, 2014

As Batwoman's civilian and superhero life intertwines with the Wolf Spider, the Wolf Spider could become a formidable opponent and key component in Batwoman's rogues gallery. For the next arc, though, this issue did more to build my interest in seeing Maggie's custody battle play out than in seeing Batwoman battle Nocturna. While Batwoman's relationship with Maggie is a core part of the story, Nocturna is just a "designated bad guy" at the moment. See you next issue, same Bat-time, same Bat-channel!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Batwoman #32

Jun 21, 2014

Overall, I enjoyed this issue, and adding more characters to the conflict with Nocturna piques my interest in a storyline I was feeling lukewarm about before. I'm also excited to see what role Sophie will play in Kate's life in the future. Because Sophie is an army colonel, I hope we get a chance to see her tangle with Gotham's criminal element and cross paths with Batwoman. Let's see what happens next issue!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Batwoman #33

Jul 19, 2014

With this issue's cliffhanger, the action is reaching a fever pitch. In Batwoman's own words, "This just got real." Batwoman's tough enough to handle the bad guys easily, but can fight her nightmares as well?

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Batwoman Annual #1

May 3, 2014

All in all, in this issue the Batwoman team achieved what they set out to do by offering resolution and positioning themselves to move forward with a clean slate. The weaknesses in this issue are mostly due to the challenge of finishing an aborted story arc, and now the creative team should find themselves on stronger footing. I still miss the story that Williams and Blackman told, but rather than dwell on “what could have been” I'm looking forward to seeing Andreyko find his own voice on Batwoman.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Bee and PuppyCat #1

May 17, 2014

I look forward to sharing my copy of Bee and PuppyCat #1 with the friend who introduced me to the cartoon, and I'm curious to see where the comic goes from here. I'm ambivalent, though, about whether I should shell out $3.99 per issue for the comic, or wait for the trade to save money. If the story picks up the pace, I'll be willing to do as many temp jobs in space necessary to keep up with the adventures of Bee and PuppyCat.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Bee and PuppyCat #2

Jun 12, 2014

Bee and PuppyCat is a unique series, and I'm interested in seeing if it will gel into a coherent narrative over time. I wonder what other recurring themes and motifs will emerge in the story, and how they will come into play. However the series progresses, though, this issue stands up great on its own.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.9
Captain Marvel (2014) #5

Jul 12, 2014

Overall, this issue proved that Captain Marvel can succeed in a cosmic setting. The story is beginning to gel, Captain Marvel's team is coming together, and the issue's cliffhanger shows that the action is about to ramp up significantly. I'm excited about the direction this story arc's going in, and I can't wait to see how taking on the Spartax Empire is going to add complications to Captain Marvel's life. Definitely pick up this issue if you're excited to see a strong-willed heroine kicking ass on the edge of space.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Hawkeye Vol. 2 #18

Mar 31, 2014

Team Hawkguy continues to create one of the most unique books on the shelves, changing readers' perceptions of what superhero comics can accomplish. Hawkeye is one of my favorite titles on my pull list, and once again I'm impressed.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.7
My Little Pony: Friends Forever #2

Feb 27, 2014

Now if you'll excuse me, I'm going to try to get my cutie mark in parkour.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
My Little Pony: Friends Forever #3

Mar 13, 2014

Overall, this was a wonderful issue, and I can't wait to share it with my pony-loving niece. Like Twilight Sparkle's new telescope, this issue is a gift fit for royalty.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
My Little Pony: Friends Forever #4

Apr 12, 2014

Overall, this was a very sweet issue. It shows how even if you're grown-up and responsible, you can still make time for the kinds of adventures you enjoyed when you were younger, and it shows how bonds between siblings can remain strong even after you move apart. The emotional core of the story is bolstered by a strong sense of adventure and fun. I highly recommend that you track down copies for yourself and the family members you consider your Friends Forever.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
My Little Pony: Friends Forever #5

May 24, 2014

This story succeeds in showing how kindness inspires others to show kindness in turn, true to the spirit of Fluttershy's Element of Harmony. My Little Pony‘s creative team consistently produces solid stories with high-quality artwork, so do an act of kindness and help a kid get in the habit of reading by sharing these comics. Reading, like friendship, is magic!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
My Little Pony: Friends Forever #6

Jun 21, 2014

Overall, this issue did what My Little Pony: Friends Forever does best, by putting two characters together that don't often interact and playing their personalities off of each other. This issue also succeeded in building upon what has been shown in the My Little Pony world before. It's funny and cute enough to capture a kid's attention while including a few jokes that only adults are likely to get. My Little Pony is an expertly made comic sure to brighten up your pull box. Trust me, Rainbow Dash will make your comic collection 20% cooler.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
My Little Pony: Friendship is Magic #16

Feb 6, 2014

Overall, this was a solid issue, with a decent story and top-notch artwork. I look forward to sharing this issue with my 5-year-old niece, who loves My Little Pony because of Pinkie Pie's hysterical antics. I'm glad that there's a comic on the stands that I can share with her, because it helps her learn to read and fires up her imagination. And if Twilight Sparkle's encounter with the Bookworm taught us anything, it's this: Stories nourish us and help us grow.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
My Little Pony: Friendship is Magic #17

Mar 21, 2014

My Little Pony: Friendship is Magic consistently shows why it's adored by comic fans of all ages–it contains adventure, humor, and well-rounded characters. In this issue, ponies explore other worlds with a magic mirror, and for young readers, these comics can be a portal to another world as well. Share this book with a young reader, and like Star Swirl the Bearded, you will perform an act of magic.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
My Little Pony: Friendship is Magic #18

May 3, 2014

The ponies find themselves caught between a rock and a hard place when they discover that there's no easy way to defeat the evil versions of Celestia and Luna, but their journey is far from over. Next issue promises a deeper exploration of the mirror-Equestria, and I look forward to seeing the flip side of more familiar characters. Until next time, everypony!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
My Little Pony: Friendship is Magic #19

May 31, 2014

This story arc is one of the best that My Little Pony has produced yet, with its epic scope, solid world-building, and strong character development. I'm looking forward to the next issue's conclusion of the story arc and a glimpse of the mirror-world's version of Ponyville. Until that time, I'll be here humming "I'll Be Your Mirror."

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
My Little Pony: Friendship is Magic #20

Jun 27, 2014

This issue of My Little Pony: Friendship is Magic is funny and heartfelt, with art that's as thrilling as it adorable. Twilight Sparkle and her friends prove themselves as capable heroes, handling a crisis even the Justice League would struggle with. I want to put this issue in the hands of every skeptic who doubts that My Little Pony can hold its own on the comic shelves, because this is comic storytelling at its finest.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
X-Men (2013) #15

Jun 20, 2014

The action amped up in this issue, and I can't wait to see how the rest of this story arc plays out. It will be interesting to see how the X-Men will fight such a calculating and determined foe. The stakes seem real because Brian Wood's strong characterization has made readers invested in the story, and with this story arc Wood is poised to end his tenure on X-Men with a bang.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

October

September

More