Kevin Hamilton's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Geekery Magazine Reviews: 14
8.6Avg. Review Rating

9
All New Fathom (2017) #1

Feb 8, 2017

So at the end of the day, this is a great issue. Whether you are a die-hard fan of the series as it has unfolded for the past 20 years, or a new reader like me. This is an amazing read full of character, humor, great art, and so much promise. Definitely recommend it to superhero lovers, has some good parts about how the public views enhanced humans. So to break this down in as simple as i can. Give it a try, you might be surprised.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Alters #4

Feb 14, 2017

At the end of the day the issue was good. But not great, I'm not sure if it's a problem with the characters, or pacing. But I'm pretty sure if the fact that it's still early into the story. I'm still waiting for it to pick up and take me for a ride.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Black Eyed Kids #11

Feb 27, 2017

Phenomenal. Such a great read for anyone interested in horror/mystery themed comic books. Go pick it up, you will not regret this read. As i said at the start, Black Eyed Kids is dark, bleak and just all the right amount of creepy.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Blood Brothers (2017) #1

Feb 6, 2017

Blood Brothers is a project that I hope to see more of. There are small things about this first issue that seem weird to me. Mainly the lack of explaining character motivation and decisions. I would like to see the writer take more time and flesh out more dialogue that explains more about the characters besides that one was raised in luxury, and the other on the streets. So hopefully in future issues that gets better addressed. That said, this story has so much potential.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Kong of Skull Island #8

Feb 17, 2017

So everything about this issue is great. Definitely would recommend this to anyone interested in monster movies and King Kong in general! As I said, Boom Studios have been putting out great things lately. They are a force to be reckoned with. I'm excited to see what Kong will do in the future issues.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
No Angel #2

Feb 6, 2017

So Black Mask has done a great job at finding a great story to publish. I have nothing but great things to say and I recommend it to anyone interested in mystery/horror fans out there. Writing is strong and along with great artists this title will surely shine and get people talking. All I wanna do is hurry up and get the next issue in my possession. Which is what I was talking about. Making the reader so interested they want to hurry up and continue. So as I end this review I have to give it flying colors.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Planet of Daemons #3

Feb 24, 2017

So this comic definitely impressed. Loved every second of reading it. It is a fantastical world with creatures galore. I'm sure there is something for everyone in this comic. I certainly enjoyed my time and am looking forward to reading onward in the story as more comes out. Ending with a cliffhanger might not sit well with some people, but it worked for me this time around because the issue ended in such a way where if it didn't lead up to what will happen next I would have been mad. With everything said this gets 4 Stars

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Powerless #1

Mar 8, 2017

Powerless is fantastic. Something I couldn't recommend more to people who enjoys X-men, or even InHumans. Takes a unique look at a group of people with powers who powers are being threatened. Powerless is everything except powerless, this story has power that will leave you in awe. Go read this, you will not regret it.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Quantum Teens Are Go #1

Feb 22, 2017

I really liked this, but at the end of the day. It is a lot of set up for what seems like a much more interesting issue #2. But everything about it is solid. Great story telling with lots of fun humor, and interesting characters that i want to know more about. It seems like they are creating a great story. I want to see more and read more action and more info on this time machine.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Red Line #1

Mar 8, 2017

At the end of the day, I could not recommend this title enough. An amazing first issue to what has so much promise to be a Oni Press best seller. If you're looking for a Sci-Fi story that will keep you hooked. This is probably for you. Redline is Scary, Inspiring, and gives an interesting look on a planet we know little about.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Samurai: Brothers In Arms #6

Feb 8, 2017

The overall feel you get from this title as breathtaking. With such deep lore, full characters with passion and drive! This is storytelling at its best. When comic series jumps publishers it can get messy and change for the worst. With previously being at MARVEL, but now at Titan Comics. It is a great fit, and I hope to see great things from them. Reading this story makes me want to get the older story and read them. But with this story you don't need much to know. You instantly fall in love with these characters. Jean-Franois Di Giorgio has done a fantastic job writing and crafting this. He is a force to be reckoned with, and I will keep my eye out for him.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Street Tiger #1

Feb 16, 2017

The issue is very short and not much happens, but it is all action and fun. There isn't any bad in the issue. Just lots of good and not much of it, so I'm hoping that in the next issue there is more story, a backstory for our protagonist, and more action. The title as a whole really impressed me, with its take on action, gangs, and old grindhouse films. People should definitely go and read this title.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
The Dregs #2

Mar 2, 2017

I really enjoyed this, it has a great story, great art, and a great promise of an amazing series. From what i saw at the end of the comic, i am really excited to see where the story takes us as Arnold solves the mystery to his missing friends. Excited for more and can't wait to follow along.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.8
Van Helsing vs. The Mummy of Amun-Ra #1

Feb 10, 2017

The whole issue was very solid, the one thing that was i guess a problem. It was a set up issue, which most first issues of a story line are. Setting up the story to unfold into something great. My favorite part of the issue was the beginning and the flashback scenes. Looking back on it, it's very obvious the difference in styles. Liesel just looks great in them, wearing old archaeologist clothes. But I'm hoping that the next issue doesn't disappoint. This issue doesn't really click with me yet in terms of the story. The art was amazing for this. So at the end, I'm waiting for more, and hope I'm given more.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

April

1st

March

More