Lacey Jackson's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Bleeding Cool Reviews: 11
7.6Avg. Review Rating

7.0
Champions #13

Sep 28, 2017

Overall, it's the beginning of a crossover arc, and thus holding out on anything too attention-grabbing just yet. Thankfully, there are plenty of endearing moments to smooth out the edges and keep the plot going. The best parts are yet to come, but at least you'll get to enjoy Ramos's killer art in the meantime.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Dark Ark #1

Aug 15, 2017

If you're a fan of the supernatural, you need to give this book a try. You can pick up Dark Ark for $3.99 starting September 20th.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Dragon Age: Knight Errant #3

Jul 8, 2017

It should come as no surprise that Dragon Age: Knight Errant is a book for fans and nothing more. I'm not quite sure why anyone would bother with it if they weren't already huge fans of the Dragon Age series. If you like the games and want more of the extended universe, this is the book for you. You'll catch glimpses of old friends and make new ones alike. But if this is your first dip into the series? Don't bother. You'll just be left confused and bored.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Jem and the Holograms: Infinite #1

Jun 27, 2017

First issues are always difficult, and it's possible that the pacing issue will work itself out, but rushing is definitely a concern, given how few issues are going to be included in this miniseries. Despite that, I'm tentatively excited to see where it goes. What kind of Jem adventure are we going to get? As long as it's not that YouTube-fueled monstrosity of movie, I think we'll be okay.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Kull Eternal #1

Jun 27, 2017

The story, written by Tom Waltz, manages to be informative without dragging on. Well-structured flashbacks allow us insight through the eyes of other characters, avoiding pointless reminiscing by Kull. The dialogue manages to feel mystical and grand without being cheesy; Kull isn't going around in the 21st century talking like a Shakespearean man.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Motor Crush #7

Oct 6, 2017

Motor Crush #7 is an all-around fantastic issue sure to please the fans.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Ravina the Witch? #1

Jun 12, 2017

The finale of the book is very open ended, so those that need closure in a story, beware. However, the tales enclosed are obviously lovingly rendered and drawn with care. It's a must for anyone who loves a good fairytale, but is cynical at heart.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
The Chilling Adventures of Sabrina #8

Aug 16, 2017

If you haven't read the previous issues it's not hard to begin with #8 though I highly recommend picking up the others. It's more than worth it for the fabulous writing, stunning art, and the fun little cameos by characters like Betty and Veronica.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
The Shadow/Batman #1

Oct 6, 2017

Overall, it's a fantastic first issue, and I'm already craving more.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Unbelievable Gwenpool #21

Sep 20, 2017

All in all, this issue is filler. It sets us up for a potential showdown between Gwen and Doom, but really " do any of us think she stands a chance?

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Wynonna Earp: Season Zero #1

Jul 24, 2017

Altogether, despite being rather wordy, it's a strong first issue. There's a burst of excitement in the middle that makes up for the drag in the beginning and transitions well to later flashbacks. And while there's some rather flawed logic, I find it easy to handwave, considering the nature of the show and series. If you're a fan who loves jumping into the background of your favorite characters, it's a no-brainer to pick this up.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

October

September

More