Leigh Kade's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Bleeding Cool Reviews: 33
7.6Avg. Review Rating

6.0
Aliens: Resistance #1

Jan 21, 2019

Aliens: Resistance will be a four-issue limited series, and there's enough compelling material in the first issue to warrant continued reading, especially for fans of the Aliens franchise. Honestly, it's better than most of the movies.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.5
Aliens: Resistance #4

May 8, 2019

I do think the book is worth a read, especially if you've already invested a lot of fan capitol on the Aliens franchise. That being said, I would recommend waiting for the inevitable graphic novel collection, which will definitely help the story feel like it has a little more substance to it (each issue reads in less than 1o minutes, which might feel sparse with the $3.99 cover price)

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Angel (2019) #2

Jun 26, 2019

The art is better than most of the work you see in licensed books, with a very stylized edge that brings Angel and his Sunnydale compatriots to life. If you're a fan of Angel, and the Buffyverse in general, this book comes highly recommended.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Atomic Robo: The Dawn of a New Era #1

Jan 8, 2019

Atomic Robo: Dawn of a New Era is recommended for readers who like adventure, science, and robots that like to fight monsters. The series has been around for a while now, too, with the entire back catalog available at the Atomic Robo website. Check it out, especially if you have some kids you want to introduce to comics. They'll thank you for it later.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Atomic Robo: The Dawn of a New Era #3

Feb 26, 2019

Atomic Robo: Dawn of the New Era is a lot of fun, and highly recommended for parents who want a fun comic to share with their kids"with such a strong emphasis on science, adventure, and really boldly courageous characters, how could you go wrong?

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Atomic Robo: The Dawn of a New Era #5

May 8, 2019

If this is your first time reading about Atomic Robo, you should really check it out. Even though the series is released physically by IDW, Wegener and Clevinger have been releasing the series for free online since the beginning. The assumption is that if people enjoy it, they'll support it" which appears to be working out so far!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Black Science #39

Mar 27, 2019

One word of caution, though: If you're not already on board with this series, it's not going to be easy to just jump in. I highly recommend going back to the beginning and diving into the graphic novels before tackling the later stories! You'll thank me later.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Buffy the Vampire Slayer (2019) #5

Jun 5, 2019

All in all, the updates are perfect. I love Giles with Jenny Calendar from the jump, so cool- here it is. The dialogue is pretty classic Whedon-speak, too, so long-term Buffy fans will find themselves in familiar territory.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Buffy the Vampire Slayer (2019) #6

Jul 4, 2019

Buffy The Vampire Slayer is another big win for BOOM! Studios, and I can't wait to see where they take their new Buffyverse comics in the future!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Deadly Class #38

May 8, 2019

I can't recommend this book enough to people who enjoy high-stakes crime stories, well-written series, and anti-establishment manifestos.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
East of West #41

Feb 19, 2019

It's easy to see how East of West was optioned for television, and we can't wait to see how this series translates. After seeing Deadly Class and The Umbrella Academy brought so aptly to life, we can't help ourselves! This is truly a great time to love indie comics!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Eve Stranger #2

Jun 26, 2019

The art from Philip Bond has that perfect, pup-punk feel to it, with gorgeous colors from Eva de la Cruz. It's a great, fun, funny, gorgeous to look at book. I had a blast with it. I want more of it. I need more"

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Fallen World #2

Jun 5, 2019

Fallen World is a lot of fun, and I would gladly recommend it to anyone looking for a change of pace in comics, especially if you like your science fiction boosted with a little super-powered mayhem.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Firefly (2018) #6

May 15, 2019

With fun, punchy dialogue that feels like it walked off the show, Firefly #6 is recommended for fans of the original show, especially if you forgot how much you missed the crew of Serenity. Thanks for bringing these old friends back!

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
League Of Legends: Lux #1

May 8, 2019

With a compelling mystery, engaging characters, and evocative art, Lux is sure to please fans of League of Legends and newcomers to the franchise alike.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Low #21

Apr 10, 2019

This is absolutely for mature audiences, and not just for the nudity. The themes presented in Low are pretty sophisticated. Recommended for fans of post-apocalyptic fiction, strong female characters, and jaw-dropping art.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Low #22

May 15, 2019

There's only 4 issues left to this epic story, and I can't wait to see how it all unfolds. Low #22 is highly recommended for anyone who loves an amazing, expansive saga with strong female characters. When I think about the power the comics medium has to transport us to other worlds, this is one of the titles I'll be referencing.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Middlewest #7

May 22, 2019

I'm a big sucker for a well-told folk tale, and that's exactly what Middlewest is- a big, bold yarn told with modern sensibilities. The characters are all vibrantly alive, and that lovely, lively art just propels the whole affair along at breakneck speed.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Monstress #19

Jan 21, 2019

Monstress is epic fantasy done right and is probably suitable for teens (and adults) looking for a break from the standard "tights and fights" genre in comics. There's liberal use of profanity, and the blood spilled in this volume is extraordinary, but that shouldn't deter readers from checking it out. Monstress is the real deal, with compelling, fully realized female protagonists, epic confrontations, and endearing characters.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Monstress #20

Feb 19, 2019

Monstress is probably well suited to older teens, and highly recommended for readers that want an escape from the mundanity of this world.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Punks Not Dead: London Calling #1

Feb 26, 2019

There's a great scene mid-way through issue one, where Fergie summons up a ton of raw energy and channels it through his guitar, wielding it like some Cosmic God-Hammer. The resultant battle is kinetic and cool, with an unexpected resolution. That's basically how I would sum up Punks Not Dead: London Calling"Kinetic and Unexpected.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Punks Not Dead: London Calling #2

Mar 27, 2019

Punks Not Dead: London calling is a really cool book, with a vibe and energy all its own. Highly recommended for peeps who want to read a comic that marches to its own beat. Strongly suggested for mature audiences due to profanity, graphic violence, and mature themes.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Robotech #19

Apr 3, 2019

This comic is reminding me of every reason why I loved Robotech in the first place! Give it a shot, but keep an open mind- there's a lot going on that might rankle purists, but so much to love once you get past that initial shock!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Star Trek: The Q Conflict #2

Feb 26, 2019

Star Trek: Q Conflict comes highly recommended for Star Trek fans, especially those of us that can't pick a favorite crew"here, you don't have to.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Star Trek: The Q Conflict #4

May 22, 2019

Star Trek: The Q Conflict is a ridiculously fun book to read and look at, and everyone working on it should be incredibly proud of the work they're doing. Highly recommended for any Star Trek fan, especially if you can't pick a favorite crew. They're all here, and all of them shine.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.5
Star Trek: Waypoint: Special 2019 #1

Apr 25, 2019

Star Trek: Waypoint is a collection of short stories set in different timelines of the Star Trek franchise, with each story presenting a new writing and art team. Each segment also varies greatly in quality.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Star Trek: Year Five #1

Apr 25, 2019

Star Trek: Year Five is a perfect excuse to sit back and enjoy some classic Trek. It feels like the original in every sense, and that's no small feat!

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles #93

Apr 27, 2019

Long-time turtles fans will find plenty to love, and issue 93 is also a perfect jumping on point, too. The series is kicking off the "City at War" storyline, which finds Karai escalating her hostilities towards Splinter and his coterie.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles: Shredder in Hell #3

May 15, 2019

Shredder in Hell #3, as gorgeous as it is, would probably make for an even more impressive graphic novel collection. So I will sincerely recommend die-hard TMNT fans pick up the single issues, especially for the jaw-dropping art. Passive collectors will find plenty to love as well, but you can probably hold off for the trade.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
The Forgotten Queen #2

Mar 27, 2019

The Forgotten Queen is highly recommended for fans of fantasy and history. Have fun!

View Issue       View Full Review
5.5
Witcher: Of Flesh and Flame #3

Feb 19, 2019

Aleksandra Motyka's script still jumps around a little hap-hazardously, but it really feels like the promise of Big Fantasy Monster Fights injected some fire into the narrative. The pacing feels more organic, and there are fewer narrative dead-ends and sputters than in previous issues.

View Issue       View Full Review
3.0
Witcher: Of Flesh and Flame #4

Apr 3, 2019

Sadly, despite the involvement of CD Projekt Red, The Witcher: of Flesh and Flame feels like little more than a cash grab, which is too bad. This is a world entirely deserving of far better material.

View Issue       View Full Review
2.5
Wyrd #3

May 8, 2019

As for single issues, I would hold off. Borrow a friends, or wait for the trade. As it stands, there's not a whole lot I can recommend here. If the intent was to re-invent the super-spy formula, dissect it, re-purpose it- whatever it- the end result misses that mark wildly.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

August

July

More