Marco Cunalata's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Comicsverse Reviews: 35
8.4Avg. Review Rating

9.4
3 Devils #3

May 9, 2016

3 DEVILS is a supernatural western adventure comic fit for any fans of gunslingers in the Old West. Bo Hampton's story is engaging and keeps you on the edge of your seat, while his cinematic art brings the comic to life. I'm looking forward to seeing what more this writer/artist can do in the final issue of this mini series.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.2
Aquaman (2011) #51

Apr 24, 2016

With all this, AQUAMAN #51 is a fun read. It may have some issues, but there is action and enough of a story to engage you, even if it's a bit muddled. It's a book that I'm sure Abnett will close strong, before leading us into a brand new aquatic world with Rebirth.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.2
Archie (2015) #6

Feb 19, 2016

This enjoyable story features a strong plot and characterization. The art makes everything flow and brings the characters to life. It's a drama-filled comedic issue building up to a twist!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Constantine: The Hellblazer #10

Mar 12, 2016

Ming Doyle and James Tynion give us a three-dimensional John Constantine we can connect with. Guest artist Travel Foreman does a great job filling in and gives the comic an entirely different energy.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Cyborg #7

Jan 27, 2016

This issue serves as a great jumping-on point for anyone interested in the series. Walker is definitely setting up to something big in this second arc as Cyborg begins to learn more about himself. I'm also interested to see how he explores the family dynamic now that Elinore has returned.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.4
Cyborg #10

Apr 27, 2016

CYBORG is a series with twists and turns, which have pushed the character to new lengths. With this book being the beginning of Marv Wolfman's run, I imagine that he is still acclimating to this drastically altered character. It's not a strong start, but I expect to see him continue to build upon this character and take him in an amazing direction.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.8
Cyborg #11

May 30, 2016

This story is shaky for me because of the way Wolfman tries to integrate a social message that comes off as just plain wrong. The art makes the comic pleasurable to look at and worthwhile. While I hope Wolfman continues the plot in an enjoyable way, if he decides to address more societal injustices I hope he does so in a more respectful and tasteful manner.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
Green Lantern Corps: Edge of Oblivion #4

Apr 14, 2016

Overall this issue doesn't necessarily stand out but there is nothing poor about its execution; it was a fun comic to read. I will be looking forward to how the series concludes and to next issue's battle! Pickup this issue and the last three to catch up on GREEN LANTERN CORPS: EDGE OF OBLIVION before then!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
Harrow County #10

Mar 9, 2016

This is one series that draws you into its dark corner and doesn't let go. HARROW COUNTY is a delight both to read and simply look at. For those who have already been following the story, it's going to build into a dark and grisly read. If you are looking for a horror comic unlike any other, then pick this book up and enjoy its scares.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.2
Micronauts #2

May 23, 2016

Overall, I thought that MICRONAUTS had an engaging story, thrilling action, and killer art. The book needs to develop likable characters to really engross fans in the series, but if you're looking for a comic to quench your thirst for galactic stories, then this is the comic of you.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.2
Mirror #1

Feb 4, 2016

The 8HOUSE series is well known for it gorgeous art, and MIRROR is no exception. Hwei Lim's panels in this book do more than separate scenes; they build structures within the page. From buildings to jail cells, the panels work with the story and the book itself. Lim's lines are simple, but her colors make this book pop. Her color palette spans the rainbow, and she uses it to paint this book as a wholly distinct comic.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
Mirror #2

Mar 24, 2016

While it didn't strike me as much as the first issue, MIRROR is well deserving of attention for its art style and genuine fantasy elements. I'm looking forward to seeing where the comic leads us, but as of now, I'm enjoying the ride. For fans of the 8HOUSE series, already you should pick this book up, and for newcomers who want to delve into this expansive world, this is the comic to read.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Monstress #6

May 29, 2016

Liu and Takeda end this arc on a definite high note. I've been engaged, waiting impatiently for the release of each issue, and enthralled in the world of MONSTRESS. While the creative team has left us with more questions than answers, and I think that is one of the reasons why I'm beyond excited to see where the book goes next. How will Maika continue to grow? What will be revealed about her past? And can Kippa get any more adorable? Pick up this series if you want to read the medium of comics at its best, and if you love cats.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.6
NVRLND #1

Jun 11, 2016

NVRLND is a punk noir series that transforms a classic story into something totally new and entertaining. I'm looking forward to seeing where the story will go from here and how much darker the series can get. There are a few bumps, but it is worth the read if you want to check out something that is off the beaten trail in term of comics!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.2
Postal #10

Feb 24, 2016

See larger imagePostal #10With Eden on the brink of self-destruction, Mark and his mother put aside their differences to stop the internal and external forces seeking to tear Eden apart.Kindle Edition:Check Amazon for Pricing Digital OnlyRelease date February 24, 2016.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.8
Postal #11

Mar 30, 2016

If you aren't reading POSTAL I recommend you do so immediately, especially for fans of crime, mystery, and thrillers. It's a fresh take on many ideas and will keep you on the edge of your seat. Bryan Hill and Isaac Goodhart continue to provide excellent story telling coupled with fitting art.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.4
Postal #12

Apr 24, 2016

POSTAL #12 isn't as strong an ending as I expected for an otherwise exciting arc. I'm looking forward to what else this creative team can give readers and how they will continue to expand on this world. Until then, POSTAL will be taking a short break and return in June with an all-new arc that looks like it might be the start toTop Cow'supcoming crossover event, EDEN FALL.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.4
Rise #3

Feb 23, 2016

Overall, this part of the story feels somewhat unnecessary. Where many other books like Z-MEN and MEDIC have their own plots and their own place, RISE is lost as to what to do and where to fit in. I suggest reading the entirety of the other comics that tie-in with this one if you want to really see how this comic might fit in to the grand scheme of things. This isn't a book that can otherwise stand alone.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
Saga #34

Feb 25, 2016

See larger imageSaga #34Kindle Edition:Check Amazon for Pricing Digital OnlyRelease date February 24, 2016.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Saga #35

Mar 31, 2016

Fiona Staples' artwork on SAGA can do no wrong. In this issue, we get to see her draw in three distinct styles. The first appears in a gangster's home, where we see an array of bright neon colors and characters. The second takes place in the wooden spaceship, as they fly through the vastness of space. Each character has to interact, and we get a much more familiar design, one that she has worked since the beginning of the series. The third takes place in the prison complex with a neutral color scheme and a large amount of grey. She manages to switch between all these scenes masterfully and any transition into a different environment feels smooth and controlled. This is just another example of why she is one of the industry's premiere artists.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.8
Saga #36

Apr 28, 2016

SAGA #36 wraps this arc up in stupendous fashion, resolving all its major loose ends and leaving me hungry for what's to come. The end of this issue in particular has me looking forward to the next arc and what will happen to our favorite stellar family. I recommend you pick this issue up as soon as you can to enjoy yet another fun and exciting chapter in this story.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Spring #3

Mar 3, 2016

SPRING is comic that will surprise you with its distinct narrative and style. The creative team delivers a book that makes you wonder because we don't get answers to any questions. Even so, we don't need them to follow the book, and it doesn't hinder the comic in any way. Whether you've been keeping up with the rest of the Double Take books or not, check this one out because it will definitely keep you guessing.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Swamp Thing (2016) #1

Jan 7, 2016

Kelley Jones is the ideal artist for this series. His heavy shadows and muscular details are perfect for SWAMP THING. On some level, his art resembles that of SWAMP THING co-creator Bernie Wrightson, who was obviously an influence on Jones. The character has never looked more terrifying and grotesque. Colorist Michelle Madsen uses very earthy colors for the characters, and they look great when combined with Jones' haunting art.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Swamp Thing (2016) #2

Feb 4, 2016

As the plot moves along, Wein and Jones give us another issue that leaves us wanting more. The art looks great, but we're still waiting for more from SWAMP THING as a character.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.8
Swamp Thing (2016) #3

Mar 5, 2016

Len Wein and Kelley Jones deliver a stellar issue. Jones' art is as chilling as ever and colorist Michelle Madsen works her magic to finish off the horror feel of this book! Wein also gives us insight into Swamp Thing as the man trapped in a monstrous body.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.2
Swamp Thing (2016) #4

Apr 7, 2016

As we await the events of next issue, I'm expecting it to be as enjoyable as some of the previous books in this series. Even if this time around there wasa palpable loss of dynamics and energy from the creative team, I'll be waiting for next issue to see how this story is resolved.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.8
Swamp Thing (2016) #5

May 12, 2016

SWAMP THING by this creative team has been so hit or miss. The early issues were a fun and refreshing read, but we're coming up to the end now, and I'm not sure how the book will close. If you want to look at some great Kelley Jones art then this is the book for you; SWAMP THING fans, however, don't hold your breath.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.4
The 13th Artifact (One Shot) #1

Mar 17, 2016

The winner of the 2015 TOP COW TALENT HUNT give an interesting take on a classic sci-fi theme. Creators Amit Chauhan and Eli Powell have us crash on a dying planet along with our protagonist. We follow her through a deadly alien adventure!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
The Discipline #1

Mar 4, 2016

Creators Peter Milligan and Leonardo Fernandez create a strange world filled with monsters and sex! They deliver an unsettling comic that will leave you as tense as the unsatisfied protagonist, Melissa. It's a book that connects with you on a carnal level, if you can handle it!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Fix #1

May 11, 2016

This is by far one of the most entertaining off-beat police comics out today. When you have strong characters, a fun story, great humor, and amazing art you have an one of a kind comic that only Image Comics can provide. Pick up THE FIX if you're looking for something new and different. It's like LETHAL WEAPON; only, it's better.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
The Tithe #8

Feb 13, 2016

THE TITHE series is as enjoyable as it is educative. This issue is no exception with Matt Hawkins writing closing our story strong and Rahsan Ekedal and Phillip Sevy's art helping to smoothly move the plot as well.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.2
Think Tank: Creative Destruction #2

May 11, 2016

THINK TANK has to be one of my favorite books being published by Top Cow simply because of the quality of the works. It's a book that asks its readers to think while simultaneously enjoying an adventure in the world of science. If you aren't reading this book, know that you are missing out on more than a fun story, but also missing out on information that could change your whole outlook on life.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.2
Think Tank: Creative Destruction #3

Jun 12, 2016

In all this was another strong inclusion in the THINK TANK series, and I'm looking forward to the next issue. Not only to see what will happen with David and Mirra, but also to see what more the comic will discuss that pertains to our own world and reality. Pick up the series while it's hot!

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Will Eisner's The Spirit #9

Mar 19, 2016

All in all, I'm reading the series as a fan of the character rather than for its plot. The art makes it fun to look at but I'm disappointed about where the story is going and I truly hope the arc will resolve soon so I, and any other reader, can get another fresh take at this classic pulp noir do-gooder.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
Wolf #5

Jan 20, 2016

This issue was paced well and there was a lot of development in the series as the creative team helps us slowly immerse ourselves into the story. I'm looking forward to what will happen next and discovering what surprises are in store.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

October

September

More