Marcos Melendez's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Superbromovies Reviews: 40
8.3Avg. Review Rating

8.0
Batman (2016) #25

Jun 22, 2017

In conclusion, there's a lot to be excited for what is to come. The Joker going up against The Riddler is a great idea and their interactions are worth buying the issue alone. I really want to find out what happened after the previous issue but I'm fine with a solid story for now.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Batman (2016) #26

Jul 7, 2017

This weeks issue is very solid, the characters work really well. The dialogue is fantastic and you would want to read the villains talk for pages and pages. The art is almost 3d-like, and it creates a very immersive experience when reading. Not a whole lot happens in this issue, something that I hope changes in the next chapters of the story.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Batman (2016) #27

Jul 21, 2017

Overall, it's a great villain origin story. Doesn't give us too much incite on how Kite-Man will affect the story later on so we'll have to wait and see. Batman is surely a series to keep up with if you haven't.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Batman (2016) #28

Aug 3, 2017

This was an overall strong issue, with King and Janin seemingly having a near perfect writing and art blend. I am really enjoying how King has focused on the psychological part of war. This introduces a lot of concepts that will hit hard with some people, and we get to see the emotional part of characters we otherwise wouldn't have seen.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Batman (2016) #29

Aug 17, 2017

Overall, this is another stunning chapter in the flashback storyline featuring Gotham's greatest villains. This issue was short, and I would've liked to see more. I feel like one or two pages more would have sealed the deal for me to give it a perfect rating. It's not clear how this story-line will end but you can bet I'll be reading until the very last page…

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Batman (2016) #33

Oct 19, 2017

Overall, this was a very fun issue. Seeing the aftermath of Batman's question to Catwoman is entertaining and exciting. Some fans may not entirely like this issue, but I think that's safe to say for most of Tom King's run.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Batman (2016) #34

Nov 4, 2017

This was not only a very fun issue, it also had some awesome action. The art is brilliant as always and the character leap from the panels. Everything look right, from the people to the scenery. This 3 part story might be a bit drawn out, but I can't deny I'm having a lot of fun with it.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Batman (2016) #35

Nov 17, 2017

This was a blast to read, start to finish. It may have some problems, but King really brought in the fun with the short story arc. The tone is noticeably lighter than the rest of the series, even with a very serious subject matter. It's works great, and the last issue didn't disappoint. Overall, I'm very pleased with how it all turned out, and I can't wait for more.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Batman (2016) #36

Dec 7, 2017

This is another fantastic issue in King's run of Batman as I really believe he has found his groove. The balance between comedic, dramatic, and warm moments is once again shown. The diversion from the previous storyline is a bit weird, it sometimes feels likes a filler issue even though it's great. The art this week is simply amazing, despite a few parts that were noticeably inconsistent from the rest. I can't wait to see what King has up his sleeve next, and what "Superfriends" will mean for Batman's and Sueprman's relationship.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Batman (2016) #37

Dec 21, 2017

"SUPERFFRIENDS" part two is something I never knew I would ever want from a Batman comic, and I loved it. It has the right amount of humor, chemistry, and depth these iconic characters deserve. Everything is put together naturally, from the awesome art to the fantastic dialogue. This is one issue from King's run that will be remembered for a while, and I think there's good reason.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Batman (2016) #38

Jan 6, 2018

Although it trembles a bit while introducing a new villain in "Master Bruce", it overall is one of the strongest Batman issues yet from this run. The art compliments the overall tone and Sherlock Holmes-ish style the story goes for. The characterizations of Batman and co. are as great as ever as Tom King doesn't miss a beat. I'm very much looking forward to what type of impact this new story will end up being for the Caped Crusader.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Batman (2016) #39

Jan 18, 2018

The story may seem familiar and a bit underwhelming, but the visuals and dialogue are what really make this an enjoyable read. Although not as good as "SUPERFRIENDS" Part 2, this still has the familiar dynamics we know from the Trinity. The cliffhanger ending caught me by surprise, and it took me a while to come up with how I felt about it. Overall it seems like this may be used as a quick way to complicate Bruce and Selina's relationship, but I hope it all pays off.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Batman (2016) #40

Feb 8, 2018

You are commenting using your Twitter account. ( Log Out / Change )

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Batman (2016) #41

Feb 22, 2018

You are commenting using your Facebook account. ( Log Out / Change )

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Batman (2016) #42

Mar 8, 2018

You are commenting using your Facebook account. ( Log Out / Change )

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Batman (2016) #44

Apr 5, 2018

At the end of the day, it's a fine issue that doesn't necessarily get you over-the-moon for the wedding. The art by Jolle Jones shines here like crazy and she once again proves that she needs to take over a comic series asap. Mikel Janin does some good stuff here too, but I feel like his work is overshadowed by Jones'. I'm still excited about the upcoming installments leading up to the marriage, I just wish this wasn't so stretched out.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Dark Nights: Metal #2

Sep 16, 2017

In all seriousness, Snyder's newest epic is coming together well, even if it has a few speed bumps. The action is fantastically drawn by Capullo, with an equally engaging story. I can't wait what else they legendary creative duo have int store for us, and tther next issues could very well determine if this story is one of DC's great. I think it will.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Dark Nights: Metal #4

Dec 20, 2017

Its not perfect, but it's pretty close. Scott Snyder once again brings in the surprises, crazy moments, and a mythology-enriched storyline. There's plenty to like here, and I believe a lot of fans will find something specific they love about. It's vast and large in scope, but it's continues to feel personal yet epic.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Dark Nights: Metal #4

Dec 20, 2017

Its not perfect, but it's pretty close. Scott Snyder once again brings in the surprises, crazy moments, and a mythology-enriched storyline. There's plenty to like here, and I believe a lot of fans will find something specific they love about. It's vast and large in scope, but it's continues to feel personal yet epic. Some small nitpicks like some clunky exposition and convoluted parts get beaten by the things that are great. The next two issues will have a hard job of finishing off this mini series, and it will likely determine if this is Snyder and Cappulo's best work yet.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Dark Nights: Metal #6

Mar 26, 2018

It may have a few problems here and there, but this final chapter in the Metal saga was as exciting and entertaining as I wanted it to be. The art, story, and characters all bring life to the darkness within. Although convoluted at times, there's enough here to keep you invested and interested in what's happening, and also what's going to happen. It sets up a lot of great things for the DCU going forward, everything points to even bigger and exciting stories down the road. The question is if they'll remain consistent with quality and if the Dark Knights: Metal is any indication, I think fans are in a for treat.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Doomsday Clock #3

Jan 24, 2018

Email (required) (Address never made public)Name (required)Website You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. ( Log Out / Change )

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Flash (2016) #25

Jun 29, 2017

This week's issue is really solid, finding out about Reverse-Flash's origin was entertaining and well written. The art is pretty engaging, switching between plot points and point-of-views off characters. The concept was very interesting and ambitious, but it didn't work for me all of the time.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Flash (2016) #26

Jul 15, 2017

The art is once again on point, with the very beginning and end being the highlights for me. Inconsistent in some areas, but solid as a whole. It had some problems, but overall this issue is still solid. The dialogue was once again natural and well written by Williamson. Definitely worth checking out if you're a Flash fan or DC Comics fan.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Flash (2016) #28

Aug 11, 2017

The art is pretty great and it's a return to the style form earlier issues. I like it and it suits the Flash. It's more consistent than #27, makes me think it the last one was made in a shorter time span but that's just me speculating. Overall, I'm still disappointed on how the last story turned out at the very end, specially since it started out great. I'll remain hope still that this new one get things back into shape. I still like the dialogue annd characters, the narrative needs a little shifting.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Flash (2016) #29

Aug 25, 2017

Overall, this is pretty top notch stuff from the Flash team. I feel like we're back on track with this one after the last two disappointing issues. I'm very intrigued to see how the mystery unfolds, as it brings in a new villain for Barry to face.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Flash (2016) #30

Sep 16, 2017

This week's issue was very solid, had one or two problems with it but I really can't complain that much. After the disappointing finale to the Reverse-Flash story arc I think the series is back to form. The art is fun yet exciting, and it captures the feel of the narrative very well.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Flash (2016) #32

Oct 12, 2017

Overall, this issue has a few problems. The pacing and set up seems a bit jumbled at times, but there are interesting characters at the center of it to keep you hooked. The art is fantastic once again, it shows how much they care for this series.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Flash (2016) #33

Oct 31, 2017

At the end of the day, it felt like a filler for the METAL storyline but it had some worthwhile moments. The art is utterly great once again and really matches what Flash is all about. The event has been pure fun so far beside some issues I've had with it. The timeline of everything isn't clear but I hope it'll be addressed soon in this series. I felt a bit disappointed with what we got, I still hope though that it will get better soon.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Flash (2016) #34

Nov 8, 2017

This issue does a lot to fix some of my problems with the negative speed Barry problem, and I'm really happy it did. Although it still has a few issues, I think it still put the story on the right track. The art is a bit inconsistent at times, and some of the running look weird. Overall, I think this was a solid entry in the series and it sets up a new storyline that will sure shake Barry to his core.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Flash (2016) #35

Nov 21, 2017

This week's issue was fine. It had some good moments between characters, but the story sometimes feels rushed at times. Meena's arc feels rushed, but I'm still holding out for some improvement soon as I really like the character. Kristen's purpose as a side character hasn't shown yet, but I'm digging what the writer has been doing thus far. I just hope she doesn't turn into another one of Flash's romantic interests.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Flash (2016) #36

Dec 14, 2017

The potential for a great mystery is there, but I feel the opportunity was sort of wasted here. Within the same issue they introduce it, it's seemingly pushed aside. Barry Allen had a nice monologue throughout, especially the beginning but I really didn't get the sense he was actually investigating. The art is slightly weird at times, but the colors shine through to create an immersive feel.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Flash (2016) #37

Dec 28, 2017

This issue was ok. The characters have always been the strongest aspects of the series and it remains to be true here. Even if the current story feels too familiar and underwhelming at times. This feels like a road block between the more interesting plots such as Meena and Black Hole or even the Wally/Flash relationship.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Flash (2016) #38

Jan 13, 2018

The finale to a "Cold day in hell" is by far the strongest one, giving a satisfying finale to the story. Captain Cold is the standout here, having some of the best dialogue. I'm excited to see where the story goes from here as some plot lines are being set up, and how they may lead up to this year's "Flash War."

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Flash (2016) #39

Jan 25, 2018

The Flash delivers the goods this week as the story gets to an all-time high intensity here. It's one of the strongest issues yet in this run and it lives up to the 699 Flash stories that have come before it. This issue delivers on the entertainment and emotion, with the art complementing extremely well. The return of the fan-favorite villain was also very nice,

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Flash (2016) #40

Feb 15, 2018

The Flash Rebirth run hits its best yet with this issue, and I think this will be a story Flash fans will remember for a long time. Grodd coming back as a villain is fantastic, and the team Flash dynamic makes it even better. Although it may feel slightly rushed towards the end, the issue overall hits every point it needed.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.8
Flash (2016) #41

Mar 1, 2018

It's another fun and entertaining issue of the epic "PERFECT STORM" story arc, and I'm really enjoying it so far. Although the character of Barry seemingly takes a step back or two, Wally West remains to be a character worthy of the Flash mantle. I love Barry Allen as the Flash and he's my favorite speedster, but is time to give the name back to Wally West? That's something I'm sure "Flash War" will address.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Flash (2016) #42

Mar 15, 2018

Barry's idiocy and some of the art may be the pitfalls of this issue, but the story and characters keep it afloat. Even with those problems, this is still a very entertaining and exciting issue. The story gets even better and bigger, I can't wait to see what Williamson has planned. Especially how this will setup Flash War.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Flash (2016) #44

Apr 13, 2018

This is not only a great issue for The Flash, but it may be the one yet in the new Rebirth line. The action and scale is nothing like we've seen before in a solo Flash comic for years, and the characters are more fleshed out than ever. Although is does set up Flash War, it's great to see Barry and Wally with the rest of the Flash fam working together.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Flash (2016) #46

May 10, 2018

This is the easily one of DC's best series right now, and that's saying a lot as they have plenty of success besides the Flash.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Flash (2016) Annual #1

Feb 1, 2018

The Flash Annual #1 is something fans of the iconic character should definitely read. My main complaints about this issue have to be some of the art and exposition, but those are only some nitpicks. This is a story that will affect the future of the main Flash in the DCU, and I'm very excited to see who comes out on top. The final reveal of Hunter Zolomon is pretty exciting and it's gonna be interesting to see him force Wall and Barry to go to war.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

May

April

More