Mark Hassenfratz's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Comicsverse Reviews: 40
8.5Avg. Review Rating

10
All-New Hawkeye (2015) #5

Mar 26, 2016

In terms of characterization, I still love Hawkeye. Both of them. Why? Because they're human. Of course, they can shoot a bow better than anyone on the planet, but they're also people dealing with issues a lot of people can relate to. Not everyone has a quiver full of trick arrows they use to fight crime, but plenty of people have dealt with negligence or the consequences of a rashly made decision like Barton in the above image. That's what makes this such a good comic. It's fun to see fantastical situations, but the reason we keep reading is because we see some of ourselves in these characters too.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
All-New Wolverine #11

Aug 18, 2016

It's also important to remember that this is the side of Wolverine Laura has actively avoided and pushed against when she took up the mantle. Gabby's death is the some of the first innocent blood Laura's had on her hands since she decided to stop being a killer. I'm really excited to see the kind of toll this is going to take on her character. She could attack Logan, blame herself, blame S.H.I.E.L.D. and Cap for provoking this strike–it could really go anywhere and make a lot of sense for the character. It's going to make for a great next issue, and really add some darkness to this new Wolverine.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Daredevil (2015) #4

Feb 25, 2016

Overall, I think that this issue is a strong example of how good a rebooted Marvel series can be. It's going different places with its art, characters, and plot. On a personal note, this is probably my favorite of the new Marvel series, and I highly recommend it to longtime fans of Daredevil or people who've never read him before. You're in for a treat.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Deadpool & The Mercs For Money #2

Mar 17, 2016

Even thought it is only the second issue, I think a lot of great things are in place for future ones. You have a group of distinct characters (united by a common"interest in cold hard cash) coming together and causing general mayhem. It's off to a great start, and I can't wait to read more.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
Deadpool & The Mercs For Money #4

May 22, 2016

Overall, this issue was great because it used characters well, and the plot had an ebb and flow thanks to the change in momentum. Things look pretty dire for the mercs, and I'm excited to see where they go next.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.6
Deadpool & The Mercs For Money #5

Jun 16, 2016

This issue was a disappointing conclusion to an otherwise fun and exciting mini-series. I wouldn't judge the whole series on this one poor issue, but it is definitely is a let-down that, hopefully, won't spoil the rest of the seriesin hindsight.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Deadpool & The Mercs For Money (2016) #2

Mar 17, 2016

Even thought it is only the second issue, I think a lot of great things are in place for future ones. You have a group of distinct characters (united by a common"interest in cold hard cash) coming together and causing general mayhem. It's off to a great start, and I can't wait to read more.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.4
Deadpool (2015) #6

Jan 31, 2016

Overall, I felt this was an issue that missed its mark. The setting made all other elements of the issue feel hollowed out. I felt it became less about the relationship between Wade and his daughter and more about showing off the flashy future. I feel like there's a lot to be done with a character as screwed up and hilarious as Deadpool, but those expectations simply weren't met in this issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.4
Deadpool (2015) #7

Feb 11, 2016

This issue was very hit-and-miss, but even though the misses were pretty rough, I really enjoyed the hits. It's definitely not as great as I'd like a 25th birthday issue to be, but all in all, it's not too shabby.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Deadpool (2015) #8

Mar 4, 2016

My beef with this issue is the same it's been since the beginning of Deadpool's new run: there are some great ideas thrown around, but the execution is lacking and inconsistent. All in all, this wasn't a horrible issue. Like the rest of the recent Deadpool run, it's hit or miss. I think the plot and characterization are gaining momentum, and the creators are using interesting elements to tell their story, but the art is a little plain and doesn't show the same level of skill. Overall, the series has begun to find its footing in some respects, but it's far from achieving its full potential. Despite my grievances, I still think that this issue is fun, and I feel like there's a lot of great things coming for the future of Deadpool!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.2
Deadpool (2015) #9

Apr 7, 2016

Deadpool's characterization still shines through. He makes some great jokes to the school children about wanting to murder Sabretooth and demonstrates new and fantastic ways of doing so, like scalping by katana. Seeing him so confused and bloodthirsty these past few issues has been great, and it seems like his business with Sabretooth is far from finished. Hopefully, the book will find its footing artistically, but the relationship between Deadpool and Sabretooth is clearly headed somewhere great.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.4
Deadpool (2015) #10

Apr 21, 2016

Despite these gripes, this issue was a huge step forward artistically and continues to have great character interactions between Sabretooth and Deadpool. They fight and identify with each other like no one else could. This relationship is truly unique, in addition to being unexpected for the characters. Lucky for us, it seems like these two aren't through yet.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Deadpool (2015) #11

May 13, 2016

What's next for the character? We don't know. But what we do know is that he has grown up, but not enough to where he's no longer fun.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.6
Deadpool (2015) #12

May 27, 2016

Hopefully, the next installment of this arc will take some more time to develop these characters and the story more. I'm curious to see how this creative team can pull themselves out of the ditch they've dug for themselves.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Deadpool (2015) #13

Jun 6, 2016

These issues are great in their own right, but the real treat is being able to pick up a four-part saga in one package. I definitely encourage anyone who's looking for a quick, fun story with great character interactions to check it out.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Deadpool (2015) #14

Jun 18, 2016

This new serieshas been very hit-or-miss. Sometimes things come together and make a fantastic issue, and sometimes they miss the mark by pulling in too many characters or not dealing with themes at the core. This issue of DEADPOOL was decidedly a miss.

View Issue       View Full Review
3.6
Deadpool (2015) #16

Aug 5, 2016

Aside from a few interesting artistic choices, this issue was largely a flop for me. It was a low-stakes story about a character I didn't care aboutand fed into the Deadpool cult of personality. Hopefully Madcap will be back soon to liven things up.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Deadpool (2015) #17

Aug 25, 2016

The tone in this issue of Deadpool was on point, but the content was not quite there yet to match it. It's a step forward, but the other foot is dragging behind for right now.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.6
Deadpool (2015) #18

Sep 16, 2016

This issue has the same problems as previous ones--the elements are in place, they just aren't being used well.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.4
Deadpool (2015) #20

Oct 13, 2016

I really hope that future issues will stick to this formula of a undemanding plot, because it lets characters do the storytelling. A character like Deadpool could be put into any scenario and produce an entertaining narrative. Hopefully positive reception of this issue will reinforce this kind of storytelling for DEADPOOL in the future.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.7
Deadpool (2015) #22

Nov 16, 2016

DEADPOOL #22 was an excellent follow-up to the events of last issue. The humor in the first half contrasts sharply with the emotional turmoil of the second. Most importantly, this raises the stakes for the next issue. It's great storytelling and I'm excited to see what unfolds.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Deadpool (2015) #24

Jan 11, 2017

Overall, this issue was a fun and fulfilling read. I've had my concerns about this book in the past because of how his recent popularity overpowered every other aspect of Wade's character that has made him one of my personal favorites. After reading this issue, it seems that this series is in better hands now.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.2
Deadpool (2015) #25

Jan 29, 2017

About these ads(function(g){g.__ATA.initAd({sectionId:861462801, width:300, height:250});})(window);

View Issue       View Full Review
9.4
Deadpool v Gambit #1

Jun 27, 2016

I likedthis issue way more than I thought I would. On a second read, I like the incognito scuffle a whole lot more, knowing what to expect. That aspect, in addition to the art and banter between the title characters, makes thisissue worth a read or two.

View Issue       View Full Review
5
Deadpool v Gambit #2

Jul 14, 2016

I was generally dissapointed by this issue because it failed to use the strengths a mini-series has to offer, more development on lesser-seen characters and exciting art. The plot was simple enough to allow these things to occur but it read more as a regular issue of DEADPOOL than a team-up mini-series.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Hellboy: Winter Special: 2016 #1

Jan 31, 2016

This special delivered its four dollars'worth by cramming a ton of great art and storytelling into one comic. It's a lot of fun to read, and I love the winter theme. I'll be reading this until Spring rolls around and re-reading in in joyful anticipation before the 2017 Hellboy Winter Special.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
I Hate Fairyland #5

Feb 17, 2016

This issue was advertised as the conclusion for the series, but luckily, this is only the beginning! Skottie Young said that the issue was originally penned as a 48-page one-shot, but it took on a life of its own and will continue for many issues to come. I can't wait. This is one of the best comics I've ever read. Plus, the concept is like nothing I've ever seen before. Get out there and read this brilliant piece of work, you dirty Mother Fluffer!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Rocket Raccoon and Groot #3

Mar 9, 2016

Basically, even if you haven't seen the GUARDIANS OF THE GALAXY movie, this series is great for people who loved Rocket and Groot. I really like where it's going, and I can't wait to read more.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Spider-Man/Deadpool #7

Jul 27, 2016

Some may call this issue a gimmick"and they're not wrong. However, it's a gimmick that works by showing what we love about the team-up of Spider-Man and Deadpool, and, more broadly, comics in general. Just like now, comics creators in the 60's saw a turbulent and unsure world and made comics intendedto reflect that, as well as provide anescape from it. I think we're in as good hands today as we were back then.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Spider-Man/Deadpool #8

Aug 11, 2016

I knew that SPIDER-MAN AND DEADPOOL would be fun-to-read series, but honestly, I never expected this level of depth in a crossover series. Needless to say, I'm happily surprised.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.4
Spider-Man/Deadpool #9

Oct 4, 2016

This is probably one of my favorite books out right now,and even though it's had its flaws, I'm willing to overlook them in the name of fun.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.7
Spider-Man/Deadpool #10

Oct 26, 2016

The characterization was still on point for this issue. As always, it had me laughing out loud. I just wish the plot would step up in the way the characterization has in recent issues.I've come to realize that this series doesn't need a complex plot. This isn't a title that readers look to for high-brow academics; they just want to see two quippy dudes bro out. But come on, step it up.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Walking Dead #150

Jan 13, 2016

We've spent the past 149 issues seeing the effects of Rick's leadership. In the 150th issue, we can't help but question it. Does taking Negan's advice make him a bad leader? Can he really defeat the Whisperers? Given the amount of beatings we've seen him take, is he even physically fit enough to lead? Only the next 150 issues will tell.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Walking Dead #151

Feb 4, 2016

This issue also ends on one of the biggest cliffhangers I've ever seen, and is a huge game changer for the series. It's important to consider this issue in the greater scheme of THE WALKING DEAD: Such a tame issue always signals that, soon, we're going to see some of this comic's trademarked action scenes. All in all, this issue does its job well while setting the stage for future action. Go forth and read!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.4
The Walking Dead #153

Apr 7, 2016

The symbolism around Lucille is changing along with Dwight's character. Seeing such an infamous weapon re-purposed for good is something I've never seen before. It's an important decision because it shows the progression from savagery to civilization. Isn't that what the endgame of this book is all about? For Alexandria and the Hilltop, yes. For the Whisperers and Negan, no. It's thisconflict that will have huge consequences for the rest of the series. They'recoming soon, and I can't wait.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Walking Dead #155

Jun 3, 2016

At first glance, all the plots intertwined in this issue of THE WALKING DEAD seem like Kirkman has bitten off more than he can chew. Quite the opposite. These plotlines all make the issue more exciting while setting up for the future of the series. I'm excited to see all of these plots play out in future issues.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
The Walking Dead #156

Jul 10, 2016

Even if this issue was rushed and missed some opportunities for further character development, I still love it because of how powerful the ending is. Negan killing Alpha for Rick is bound to shake things up, and I can't wait to see where it goes next month.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Walking Dead #157

Aug 3, 2016

This was a great start to this new six-part arc and I can't wait to see where it goes. Knowing THE WALKING DEAD, all these plans in place will unravel rapidly and descend into chaos. Does it scare me that I'm rooting for this? A little. But that's what makes it so much fun to read.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Walking Dead #158

Sep 8, 2016

This arc has been great so far. I wish I could review this whole arc at once because I wish I could read this whole arc at once. The pacing of this conflict has been great so far and I can't wait for the next installment.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
The Walking Dead #159

Oct 11, 2016

Probably one of the most intense panel sequences I've seen in a while. This, along with the characterization in this issue, was able to redeem a somewhat unsatisfying plot. I'm really excited to see where it goes next. Dwight and his soldiers all don zombie skins, and are taking the fight to the Whisperers. It's going to be a bloodbath; I can't wait.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

September

August

More