Marlowe Lewis's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Major Spoilers Reviews: 20
6.6Avg. Review Rating

6
28 Days Later #1

Aug 26, 2009

I have absolutely no knowledge of how this story is going to finish but I just hope that Selena doesn't end up sharing the same fate as Ripley. I want her to be still be around for the as yet untold '28 Months Later' tale. This absorbing Boom! Studios book gets three stars from me.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Chew #1

Jun 3, 2009

To sum up, this isn't a bad comic. In fact it has much to recommend it and if your comic reading tastes want a change from the recycled pap that the two main comic companies often produce then perhaps you should give this new dish a try. For me, after reading this issue I was a bit ambiguous about whether I would be coming back for a second helping. I suppose that even though I found the whole setup intriguing, in the end it was a bit hard to swallow.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Dark Avengers #6

Jun 29, 2009

I give this book three stars.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Dark Tower: The Fall of Gilead #4

Aug 30, 2009

This eternally entertaining series and this issue in particular book gets four stars and a heartfelt Thankee-sai from me.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
DMZ #42

Jun 15, 2009

I give this book three and a half stars.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Dominic Fortune #1

Aug 16, 2009

In summation, Mr Chaykin has always royally entertained me over the years. From his captivating 'Fafhrd and the Grey Mouser' debut in 1973 right up until I had finished the final page of this book I have always felt that I was reading the material of one of the best panelogical producers in the entire history of comics. That's why this book gets four stars from me.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Doom Patrol (2009) #1

Aug 9, 2009

In summation I believe that three and a half stars is a fair number for this comic debut but it would have been four if the Metal Men had been the lead feature. So if D.C are out there listening, I would just like to say that there is nothing wrong with this Doom Patrol revamp but the correct reply to the question 'Who's on First?' really should be Doc Magnus and his crew. So maybe the patron saint of New York City, St Nicholas, could work his seasonal magic on the inhabitants of 1700 Broadway and affect a line-up change.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Ex Machina #43

Jun 20, 2009

There was a lot to like in this in this story and you can genuinely feel the momentum building towards this titles final fiftieth issue, where hopefully all the dangling plotlines will all be wrapped up successfully. I have no idea how this impressive artistic team plan to finish their overall story arc but I am sure that I am not the only reader who secretly hopes that they leave a way for Mitchell Hundred to return sometime in the future.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Hercules: The Knives of Kush #1

Aug 11, 2009

I give this title a total of four stars. The first three are for the book itself and one more star is awarded for just how unbelievably copacetic Hercules looks wearing his lion head hat.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Jonah Hex #45

Jul 4, 2009

I give this book three stars.

View Issue       View Full Review
2
Killapalooza #2

Jun 28, 2009

I give this sorry excuse for a comic book only one star and that's only because of Mr Hairsine's art.

View Issue       View Full Review
4
Luke Cage Noir #1

Aug 7, 2009

The only bright light in the tepid piece is Shawn Martinbrough's competent art, which to my mind nicely captured the feel of the period. I very regretfully give this book only two stars.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Madame Xanadu #11

May 31, 2009

This comic merits five stars and absolutely deserves your time and attention.

View Issue       View Full Review
4
Mighty Avengers #25

Jun 7, 2009

So I feel its now time for everyone who ever liked Hank to stand up and be counted and say I am a Pym Pusher, and I'm giving Mighty Avengers #25 2 Stars out of 5.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Poe #2

Aug 23, 2009

'THE TELL TALE HEART' "" So for all of the above this intriguing book gets four stars from me.

View Issue       View Full Review
5
Rex Mundi #18

Jun 21, 2009

I give Rex Mundi #18, two and a half stars.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
The Torch #1

Sep 4, 2009

This book gets three and a half stars, mostly because the multi-layered script kept me "thinking" about the story long after I had actually finished reading the book itself.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
The Unwritten #3

Jul 13, 2009

This wonderful series co-created by Mike Carey and Peter Gross, who previously worked together on the Eisner Award nominated 'Lucifer', is really starting to blossom now. This book does not lend itself to a quick perusal because it's only through a careful reading do you get the full rich tapestry of their work. Not many comics leave you with a feeling of wanting to read the next issue straight away and any that do should be treasured. This is a book that you should be reading and I give it four stars.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Ultimate Comics Avengers #2

Sep 11, 2009

In closing let me be quite clear. This book is light years better than the previous Loeb and Madureira version but it's nowhere near the quality of the original groundbreaking effort that really did change the face of comics. This book used to have a genuine "denier cri" feeling about it and hopefully it will capture that magic in a bottle again. I give this comic three stars.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Wolverine (2003) #72

Jun 1, 2009

Four stars out of five.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

January

More