Mason Moyer's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: A Comic Book Blog Reviews: 14
8.6Avg. Review Rating

7
DC Universe Presents #1

Sep 26, 2011

Bernard Chang's penciling on this issue is great, on every panel & page. There are some insanely cool artistic elements used, ESPECIALLY on the title page. I only wish there would have been a bit more innovation in the layouts of the panels and the juxtaposition of some of the pages, but overall the art helps the book read really well and provides some really cool visual background to Deadman and the concept of this story. My only complaint about the art is the fact that Chang inks his pencils, and I wish he hadn't. I think there's frankly not enough inks, so there's a lack of depth and detail that would be there had a better inker been given the task. Overall though, the art is pretty damn good.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
DC Universe Presents #2

Oct 20, 2011

Overall, this is one of the most brilliantly scripted comics I've seen out of The New 52, in the same ranking as books like Action Comics and Batman. This is also one of the most character focused, character developing and character driven issues of any books from The Edge and The Dark groups of titles. The art could use a little improvement, but I'm hoping Bernard Chang will step it up for each issue forward, as he has since #1.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Flash (2010) #1

Jun 24, 2010

Overall highlights were the intriguing and pull-you-by-your-ear story and amazing pencils, downsides are the darker colors than I would like and lack of the Wally West co-feature. Here's how I rank the issue overall:

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Green Lantern (2005) #57

Sep 16, 2010

Overall a pretty good issue story-wise and mildly disappointing art. The "New Guardians" storyline isn't nearly over, and I'm sure Geoff has surprises in store for us, I'm just wishing some of the story angles won't be left open ended like some have been.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Green Lantern (2005) #60

Dec 17, 2010

Overall, I thought this was a pretty good issue, written well, with a good story, but not-too-stellar artwork. Geoff Johns has been sculpting the GL book for years, with mixed results, while still turning out above-average stories with amazing depth and accessibility. To see his well-thought-out stories mixed with art that just doesn't cut it, it makes you wonder who could produce art that does cut it. Well, here's my rating:

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Green Lantern (2005): Larfleeze Christmas Special #1

Dec 30, 2010

Overall I like what Geoff Johns did in this issue, he took Larfleeze on a journey of enlightment and he came out the other side changed. Brett Booth's art might not have been as solid as I had hoped, but it works here for reasons that are obvious once the story is read.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.9
Green Lantern (2011) #1

Sep 20, 2011

Overall I'd have to give the team some props for putting out a higher-standard book than they had in the past, with a renewed focus on Hal, a strong layer of foundation for what's coming, an added complexity to the characters and status quo, and a story that draws you in steadily until it can sink it's claws into you on the last page. Definitely worth picking up. Only reason it's not getting 100 is because this isn't the blow-your-face-off- story a score of 100 deserves.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Green Lantern (2011) #2

Oct 19, 2011

When I compare this issue to it's predecessor, #1, I remember that issue being executed brilliantly, exposing itself to new readers, adding to the storyline we knew, bringing us a good one-issue story with a great hook for the next issue, and brilliant artwork to boot. I gave #1 a 99 out of 100 because it simply wasn't a great superhero story with a tale to remember. This issue is one of those.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Green Lantern Corps #52

Sep 23, 2010

Overall, the story in this issue was great, while the art was far from spectacular. The Alpha's were actually used in a non-typical way and character moments were plentiful, but lack of detail on the art side takes away from the overall experience.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Green Lantern Corps (2011) #1

Sep 22, 2011

Overall, I liked the writing, and it was good quality, regardless of it's lack of a big story. This is a foundation, and a good one. The art is really what makes this book shine, especially when accounting for just how difficult it is to portray many of the scenes in this book. Pasarin could have ruined the book if he would have handled certain pages and panels wrong, but instead he did a great job and left me waiting for the next issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Green Lantern Corps (2011) #2

Oct 19, 2011

Overall, this is definitely a high quality series with a lot of bang for your buck. The writing and art compliment each other immensely, the character's are the focus and the villain's are formidable, interesting and well-designed. The overall tone and feel to the story is great for any reader interested in the Corps' concept, and new readers will surely be impressed.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Green Lantern: Emerald Warriors #2

Sep 16, 2010

Overall, this issue left me feeling confident in the series and where it's headed, and this is due mainly in fact to the amazing team on the book. I hope Tomasi will never flat out quit writing Guy, because he's an amazing character with amazing potential to grow regardless of how long he's been in the DCU. If there were any complains worth listing, it's the fact that we didn't learn much about Guy's mission.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Green Lantern: New Guardians #1

Oct 6, 2011

I've always been a fan of Tyler Kirkham's work on GLC, and I'm glad he's doing a book focused on Kyle, because he's probably the best man or woman on DC's roster for the job. He uses splash pages when it's good for establishing the scene and tone, as well as good plot twists and action shots. The action pages also have a distinct difference in layout style than dialogue scenes, and Kirkham does it in a way that tightens and enhances the pacing. Tyler does a great job using backgrounds, juxtaposition and varying levels of detail for each scene and panel that makes this an excellent and well-crafted book.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Stormwatch (2011) #1

Sep 9, 2011

Overall, I'd have to give mad props to Paul Cornell for setting the series up with an intriguing, action-packed, multi-faceted-but-not-confusing, well-written first issue. Miguel Sepulveda's artwork could use a little refining, but I'm sure over time, as he adjusts to the series, characters and concepts, it will improve.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

July

June

More