Michael Jones's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Comic Book Corps Reviews: 27
7.6Avg. Review Rating

10
Analog #1

Apr 11, 2018

Overall, I highly recommend Analog. It hooked me immediately and has a great premise which I believe many readers will find very relevant to the current technological climate. I'm excited to explore this world and see where the story takes us. If you're a fan of hard-boiled detective stories, thrillers, or enjoy technology, Analog is right within your wheelhouse.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Analog #2

May 23, 2018

I continue to enjoy the ride we are on with this book. With this issue, it looks like we are starting to round out our cast of characters and finally meeting all of the players involved in this story.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Analog #3

Jun 14, 2018

Analog is the best book out right now and rightfully so. Duggan shows that he can flex his muscles with comedic moments intertwined with violently brutal scenes.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Analog #5

Aug 19, 2018

Making these deliberate creative choices shows that Duggan really is enjoying the story he is creating and if it were in another book, I don't know if they would be as enjoyable.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Crowded #1

Aug 15, 2018

Charlie Ellison is a normal twenty-something grinding out a life working odd jobs via different apps, however her world is turned upside down when someone uses the app, Reapr to put a hit out on her. Scraping the bottom of the barrel in the bodyguard app, Dfend, she hires Vita to protect her from this hit. Charlie has attracted a crowdfunding effort on Reapr, as a result her bounty is so high that practically everyone is trying to kill her.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Crowded #4

Nov 15, 2018

Sebela continues to impress with fun and inventive ways that this world has turned into a full app/service based economy. For instance when Vita returns home to find her house burning to the ground and the firemen standing around. The fireman tells her she can swipe for just the regular water package or use the foam for a nominal fee. When she jumps out of the window of her house and has to be saved by the inflatable crash mat, the fire man tells her that it will be added to her bill. Sebela has managed to take something that we take for granted as a public service and turn it into a fee based service with add ons, simply amazing.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Death or Glory #1

May 2, 2018

I can't recommend this book enough. It's action packed, and Remender only promises that it will get even crazier. Pick it up and see for yourself, how gorgeous Bengal's art is.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Death or Glory #2

Jun 6, 2018

While I wish there was more action in this issue, I understand that at some point you have to expand the world and give us an idea of where the story is going.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Death or Glory #3

Jul 4, 2018

Really enjoying where this story is going. The fact that this issue is kind of a bottle episode in which all of the story takes place in Korean Joe's Chop Shop is a credit to Remender and Bengal. They manage to pack so much action and emotion with Glory and Pablo, just sneaking around this building, enacting their plan and trying to escape.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Death or Glory #4

Aug 10, 2018

While we have to wait another month for the next issue, I can see a reader tearing through this in one sitting once it comes out in trade, issues four and five are essentially one gigantic chase sequence, and the action doesn't slow down.

View Issue       View Full Review
3.0
Isola #1

Apr 4, 2018

While not the strongest debut for the Fletcher/Kerschl team, they manage to set up just enough that I'm curious to see what the next issue has in store for me. Issue 2 definitely needs to strengthen the hook that Fletcher has set for his readers. When all is said and done with this series, I suspect it will be highly satisfying to consume in trade form, given the slow build.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Outpost Zero #1

Jul 11, 2018

The characters aren't exactly memorable, to the point where I was under the impression that Alea and Steven are brother and sister (in some panels they are even drawn to look similar), but they are not siblings. There is a rather large cast of characters, and since they are drawn similarly, I found myself having to go back and double check which character was which.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Redneck #12

Apr 25, 2018

This issue sucked me in and didn't let me go until the very last scene. I'm excited to see where Cates takes the character of Evil, and what the Bowmans next move is.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Shanghai Red #1

Jun 20, 2018

Sebela does a masterful job of getting the reader invested in Red's character in very few pages. I think the book really shines where no dialogue exists, and Hixson's art is left to tell the story.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Shanghai Red #2

Aug 7, 2018

I really am enjoying this book, Sebela really captures the emotions Molly is feeling and Hixon's art does a great job of conveying the stress and vengeance she wants to enact.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
The Curse of Brimstone #1

Apr 4, 2018

If you are interested in this story, I would recommend skipping this issue, as nothing really happens. We are left knowing nothing about Brimstone's powers or what the deal with the devil entails. I don't find Joe a particularly compelling character, but I am intrigued enough to check out issue 2 just to see if we find out what his powers are.

View Issue       View Full Review
2.0
The Curse of Brimstone #2

May 2, 2018

Other than introducing a villain and providing us with the fact that Joe isn't alone in his predicament, nothing else in this story convinced me to stick around for issue #3.

View Issue       View Full Review
2.0
The Curse of Brimstone #4

Jul 4, 2018

Don't waste your time or money folks. I have a feeling that The Curse of Brimstone is going to finish this story arc and disappear into the DC Universe ethos.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
The Magic Order #1

Jun 14, 2018

Overall, the book sets up the story and the world very well, providing us with a down to earth style from Millar, which I will admit, caught me off guard.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
The Magic Order #3

Aug 17, 2018

Stylistically this book is absolutely gorgeous, Coipel's art is so polished and smooth. There is a reason why he receives critical acclaim for every book he is on.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
The Weatherman #1

Jun 14, 2018

I highly recommend this book, especially if you loved Shirtless Bear-Fighter. Leheup shows he has the chops for something that isn't nearly as goofy and absurd but still can throw in those comedic moments.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
The Weatherman #2

Aug 7, 2018

As you all know, I love it when an artist can really give their character's the ability to emote, and Fox absolutely excels at this.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
The Weatherman #3

Aug 19, 2018

This issue definitely turns the sadistic ultra violence up to 11 and turns down the comedic funny bits.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Venom (2018) #1

May 15, 2018

There are two things that I am really enjoying about this book: Cates writing style and the characterization of the symbiote. Cates has created a story that leads me in one direction and then throws me in the complete opposite.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Venom (2018) #2

Jun 14, 2018

We get to see what Donny actually thinks of Eddie, painting him as the man of a thousand second chances, which is a perspective I had never thought about before. But that's where Cates excels, pushing those buttons on characters that should be obvious but have actually never been explored before. The creative team continues to work in dense and dark color palettes, complimenting the tone of the book.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Venom (2018) #3

Jun 30, 2018

The writing of Cates is still enjoyable to me, but he is at his best when dealing with the personal struggles of Eddie and the symbiote, and exploring that relationship. Stegman's art continues to be top notch. This issue takes place in the rain, which can be difficult to convey, but he does an incredible job of making us feel like we are in the middle of a storm while reading this.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Venom (2018) #4

Aug 7, 2018

This is a cannot miss issue, that explores Venom's past, fills in a lot of the gaps of the character and really solidifies Venom as much more than just a Spider-Man villain.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

December

November

More