Michael Roberts's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Comics Bulletin Reviews: 30
8.0Avg. Review Rating

8.0
American Vampire #9

Dec 9, 2010

American Vampire has become one of my cant miss series on the shelves now, and the Devil in the Sand storyline is going to be a fantastic read in trade.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Artifacts #2

Sep 28, 2010

This is a great series for established Top Cow fans as well as for readers ready for something new. Dont miss!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Atomic Robo: The Deadly Art of Science #2

Dec 18, 2010

Readers can jump right into this volume without having to know any past events. References to past events make you want to go back and find out all of the details, but this story doesnt depend on your knowledge of those stories. Find issues #1 and #2, and you are ready for one upbeat story.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
B.P.R.D.: Hell on Earth: Gods #1

Jan 17, 2011

Gods is a three issue mini and it will be nice to have a completed story in only a few months this time around. You can pick this issue up without having read anything else and youll be able to follow all of the necessary story elements. I cant recommend this book highly enough.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
B.P.R.D.: Hell on Earth: New World #3

Oct 14, 2010

Of course, it always helps when you have the art team of Guy Davis and Dave Stewart. Davis has such a rough, loose style, but his storytelling is always perfectly clear. Theres never any confusion on what is supposed to be happening, and his art style makes the big scary monsters even more unsettling. And Dave Stewart--well, hes simply one of the best, and his work here continues to show why. The texture and depth he brings to both mountain scenery and monsters of the underworld are simply amazing.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Berona's War: Field Guide #1

Jan 19, 2011

If youre looking for a more playful approach to fantasy war, Beronas War is definitely for you and you should consider getting this Field Guide.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Cyclops #2

Jan 20, 2011

Though mainstream audiences may not recognize the characters, they should certainly take the risk and pick up Archaias Cyclops.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Daomu #1

Feb 10, 2011

Beyond these few negative points, the rest of the book moves quickly, and readers can really get swept up in the pace and mystery of the story. This is definitely worth checking out.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Dracula: The Company of Monsters #1

Aug 26, 2010

Final Verdict: The premise of a corporation trying to control Dracula is interesting and worth seeing in future issues, but we didnt see much of that premise played out here. If you are a vampire enthusiast and must own everything related to Dracula, this is the book for you. If not, you should probably pass on this one.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Driver for the Dead #2

Sep 30, 2010

Driver for the Dead is a moody horror tale featuring gorgeously painted art of Louisiana swamps. Check out the art and give it a flip-through test to see if its the right book for you.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Fallen Angel, Return of the Sun #1

Jan 13, 2011

Fallen Angel, its not you. Its me. But Ill try to make it work.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Feeding Ground #2

Dec 2, 2010

This is a good book and worth flipping through in your store. Im definitely interested enough to read the rest of the series to see what happens.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Innanas Tears #1

Mar 16, 2011

Though the setting and the action of the book are more interesting than the characters themselves, Inannas Tears is a book worth reading. It certainly isnt a book that will appeal to everyone, though. However, I believe that a segment of history buffs will really enjoy it.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Jonah Hex #62

Dec 6, 2010

This is a great issue with a self-contained story. If you want to see what all a Western can be, dont miss Jonah Hex.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Mata Hari #1

Aug 31, 2010

Mata Hari is a sexy story filled with historical significance and gorgeous artwork, and its only a buck! Go check it out.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Morning Glories #3

Oct 25, 2010

This comic, more than any other on the stands right now, makes me immediately want to have the next issue in my hands. The cliffhangers pay off in exciting and unexpected ways in each issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Murderland #1

Aug 16, 2010

If youre okay with wading through a lot of little problems in the delivery, then youll find a fun story here with a lot of potential.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Networked: Carabella on the Run #1

Jan 19, 2011

As a story, Networked: Carabella on the Run is a quirky little romantic tale thats worth reading. As a teaching tool, it may highlight worst case scenarios a bit too much, but this book should be a wonderful conversation starter for students.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Samurai and Dinosaurs #1

May 25, 2011

Still, I greatly enjoyed this book. The samurai are honor-bound and appropriately overdramatic. (One character burns his house down when summoned to battle the dinosaurs. His old ways will now be forever erased.) The dialogue is exactly what you hope for in a samurai tale, and the art is fantastic. I look forward to seeing what these creators do next.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Sim-I #0

Mar 29, 2011

Im interested to see where this book goes once the series officially launches. The creators introduced a lot of potential story threads, and Im hoping that the storytelling will settle down when the main story gets started.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Stu Bear in the 25th Century #1

Mar 16, 2011

As with many comedies, Stu Bear may not have as much lasting appeal as other types of stories. The real value of the book is in the surprise gags that are set up for you along the way. However, with a price of $7.95 for this small graphic novel, the book is worth the read--and worth passing on to your friends. One thing is for certain, Stu Bear is a weird, wacky ride, and it will keep you intrigued from cover to cover.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Sweets #2

Aug 19, 2010

At the very least, pick this book up and look through it. It has enough character and witty banter to make any cop show fan giddy.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Sweets #4

Jan 10, 2011

Im thrilled to have the next issue in the series and I am sad that it is only a mini-series. I cant wait to have this trade paperback on my bookshelf.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Darkness: Four Horsemen #1

Aug 24, 2010

Final Verdict: I dont give out many 5-bullet ratings, but this book surprised my with its quality both in writing and in art. Get this book!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Sixth Gun #4

Sep 20, 2010

Sixth Gun is one of my favorite new series, and the reveals of each issue draw me deeper into this mystical version of the Wild West.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Unwritten #17

Sep 20, 2010

The Unwritten is easily my favorite series on the shelves right now, and hopefully issue 17 will hook many more readers into this unexpectedly deep adventure.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Thor (2007) #615

Sep 24, 2010

Im buying every issue of this storyline as soon as its available.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Uncanny X-Force #1

Oct 8, 2010

At one point, Fantomex observes that this team isnt jovial and lacks a sense of camaraderie in the face of battle that the X-men have, but this is not intended as a replacement to the X-Men. This is something different, and I, for one, am thrilled that this combination of characters, artist, and writer have all come together.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Weird War Tales #1

Sep 10, 2010

Weird War Tales isnt a book for everyone, but this anthology stays strong through all of its stories.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Wynonna Earp: The Yeti Wars #1

Nov 1, 2010

Regardless of my quibbles with minor points, Wynonna Earp: The Yeti Wars is a lot of fun and definitely worth the money.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for
the Week of...

April

March

More