River Godbee's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: GWW Reviews: 51
8.8Avg. Review Rating

9.2
30 Days of Night (2017) #1

Dec 19, 2017

But I wouldn't want to live there. Good thing I have this excellent comic to tell me about the town!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.9
Assassinistas #1

Dec 19, 2017

This is a 6 issue series and I am already hooked on the speed and style!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Big Trouble In Little China: Old Man Jack #1

Sep 19, 2017

It is great to see Jack back and see a new chapter from this series!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Bill & Ted Save the Universe #1

Jun 20, 2017

This comic takes us on a Wyld ride with two totally awesome dudes!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Bill & Ted Save the Universe #2

Jul 19, 2017

While this story is not really bringing anything new to the table, it is fun. I can hear the voices of the film's stars come through the panels, and that is pretty cool. The art style still has issues in a few areas, but it grows on you. I would recommend this to somebody, like me, who wants to feel like they are back in the 1990s. The nostalgia is thick in these pages.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Bill & Ted Save the Universe #3

Aug 16, 2017

This run of Bill and Ted only has two issues left and I hope this one is a good example of how they are going to be. While I enjoy a fun comic that entertains, it is even better when it also has character development. They also manage to make it still all feel like it belongs in its universe. You could easily make this run into a third, not as good but still watchable, Bill & Ted film. Granted, it would have to be straight to Netflix or the like, but I would totally watch it, most excellent reader!

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Bill & Ted Save the Universe #4

Sep 19, 2017

This is a most excellent issue dudes and dudettes!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Clue #1

Jun 27, 2017

This is a great series for those who love mystery!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
Clue #2

Jul 18, 2017

Even if you know nothing of the 1980s classic film or the game, you still need to see this comic. The artwork of Nelson Daniel is phenomenal. He uses a pop art feel that gives the pages age, while at the same time making them timeless. It is honestly hard to explain, you must experience it.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Clue #3

Aug 8, 2017

This series keeps you guessing till the very end... and then it starts you guessing again!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.3
Clue #4

Sep 12, 2017

I finally think I know who did it, and it is not who I originally thought. Great writing makes you change your mind sometimes.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.5
DC/Looney Tunes: Martian Manhunter/Marvin the Martian #1

Jun 14, 2017

If you are a person who has to have EVERY Martian collectable, grab this, if not, leave it on the shelf!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
DC/Looney Tunes: Lobo/Road Runner #1

Jun 21, 2017

This is what I look for in my comic crossovers!

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Dodge City #1

Mar 7, 2018

This comic already has heart and life in it. I cannot wait for the next issue!!

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Dodge City #2

Apr 10, 2018

If you never thought you could get hooked on dodge-ball, let me welcome you to Dodge City!!

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Fu Jitsu #1

Aug 24, 2017

A little Avatar, a little sci-fi, this book is very intriguing!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Grumpy Cat/Garfield #1

Aug 1, 2017

This is a great comic for the life long Garfield fans, and also for those just looking for a fun, quick read.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Harley & Ivy Meet Betty and Veronica #1

Oct 3, 2017

This is a great read about a topic that is very real!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Harley Quinn (2016): Be Careful What You Wish For Special #1

Jan 9, 2018

While there is nothing groundbreaking here, it is an entertaining comic with a very fun character.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Jem and the Holograms #3

Sep 26, 2017

Sometimes it is not if the good guy will win, but how. This comic is a fantastic journey into that.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Jem and the Holograms #26

Jun 13, 2017

This is what a fan wants from a series finale!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Jem and the Holograms: Dimensions #2

Dec 27, 2017

I am enjoying seeing other people interpret Jem and its cast of characters.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.4
Jem and the Holograms: Infinite #1

Jun 27, 2017

This comic brings me the stuff I love and an art style that I want to frame!!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.2
Jem and the Holograms: The Misfits: Infinite #1

Jul 4, 2017

I never knew I could love a book that was so... pink! Great story and amazing art.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.3
Jem and the Holograms: The Misfits: Infinite #2

Sep 5, 2017

I am hoping that this leads to a super team-up of The Holograms and Misfits vs JemCorp!

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Jem: The Misfits #5

Jun 6, 2017

While it does not really move the big story forward, it fleshes out the main characters more.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Jim Henson's The Storyteller: Fairies #1

Dec 19, 2017

The art is great, but the story could have more meat on it.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Jim Henson's The Storyteller: Fairies #2

Jan 16, 2018

This is a story that needs to be taught today. Love will always be stronger than hate.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Last Song #1

Jul 11, 2017

The story is very engaging and the art is beautiful, my only issue is with the time line.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Postal: Laura #1

Mar 12, 2018

Fans of Postal are going to enjoy this comic and new readers may have their interest piqued.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Raven: Daughter of Darkness #1

Jan 23, 2018

It is nice seeing Raven fly free, but I hoping for more in future issues.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Rivers of London: Detective Stories #1

Jun 6, 2017

This was a great way to introduce new readers into the world of Rivers of London, but I am hoping a bigger through line in future issues.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Rock Candy Mountain #7

Jan 3, 2018

I cannot believe this story is almost over. Kyle Starks makes me want more hobo comics!

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Sacred Creatures #1

Jul 4, 2017

A wonderful story with lackluster art.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Sacred Creatures #2

Aug 9, 2017

I am hoping that this story works better when all of the issues are collected together.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Spy Seal #1

Aug 3, 2017

I never thought I would relate to animals so well.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Spy Seal #2

Sep 12, 2017

They have given our Spy Seal his first mission. Is he up for it?

View Issue       View Full Review
9.2
The X-Files: Origins II - Dog Days of Summer #1

Jun 20, 2017

While I do not think this is enough to fill the void fans have with no current show, it is enough to gain more followers!

View Issue       View Full Review
9
The X-Files: Origins II - Dog Days of Summer #2

Nov 30, -0001

I am still really enjoying these stories and mysteries.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.7
The X-Files: Origins II - Dog Days of Summer #3

Aug 31, 2017

This issue feels like filler, but I predict that it will pay off in the next issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
The X-Files: Origins II - Dog Days of Summer #4

Sep 26, 2017

While I am strating to doubt this will create new fans, it is still a fun read.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Winnebago Graveyard #1

Jun 14, 2017

This comic has potential, but it is a little difficult to get used to the art style.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Winnebago Graveyard #2

Jul 18, 2017

What this issue lacks in words, it more than makes up for in art.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Winnebago Graveyard #3

Aug 17, 2017

I want more than four issues now!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Winnebago Graveyard #4

Sep 12, 2017

I love how this story really worked with the art. I wish I would have given it a fairer chance at the start.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Youngblood (2017) #2

Jun 11, 2017

Good take on a remake. It brings the idea to the characters.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Youngblood (2017) #3

Jul 11, 2017

This is the story heavy issue we need!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Youngblood (2017) #4

Aug 8, 2017

Now that all the introductions are done, the real fun can start!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.9
Youngblood (2017) #5

Sep 12, 2017

Youngblood is another run that is ending too soon for me. I am loving this team!

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Zodiac Starforce: Cries of the Fire Prince #1

Jul 4, 2017

This is a great start to the 2nd series! Read Vol. 1, then join the girls!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Zodiac Starforce: Cries of the Fire Prince #2

Sep 26, 2017

This series has a great mixture of action and plot-driven story.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

January

December

More