River Godbee's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: GWW Reviews: 36
8.7Avg. Review Rating

8.5
Big Trouble In Little China: Old Man Jack #1

Sep 19, 2017

It is great to see Jack back and see a new chapter from this series!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Bill & Ted Save the Universe #1

Jun 20, 2017

This comic takes us on a Wyld ride with two totally awesome dudes!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Bill & Ted Save the Universe #2

Jul 19, 2017

While this story is not really bringing anything new to the table, it is fun. I can hear the voices of the film's stars come through the panels, and that is pretty cool. The art style still has issues in a few areas, but it grows on you. I would recommend this to somebody, like me, who wants to feel like they are back in the 1990s. The nostalgia is thick in these pages.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Bill & Ted Save the Universe #3

Aug 16, 2017

This run of Bill and Ted only has two issues left and I hope this one is a good example of how they are going to be. While I enjoy a fun comic that entertains, it is even better when it also has character development. They also manage to make it still all feel like it belongs in its universe. You could easily make this run into a third, not as good but still watchable, Bill & Ted film. Granted, it would have to be straight to Netflix or the like, but I would totally watch it, most excellent reader!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Bill & Ted Save the Universe #4

Sep 19, 2017

This is a most excellent issue dudes and dudettes!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Clue #1

Jun 27, 2017

This is a great series for those who love mystery!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
Clue #2

Jul 18, 2017

Even if you know nothing of the 1980s classic film or the game, you still need to see this comic. The artwork of Nelson Daniel is phenomenal. He uses a pop art feel that gives the pages age, while at the same time making them timeless. It is honestly hard to explain, you must experience it.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Clue #3

Aug 8, 2017

This series keeps you guessing till the very end... and then it starts you guessing again!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.3
Clue #4

Sep 12, 2017

I finally think I know who did it, and it is not who I originally thought. Great writing makes you change your mind sometimes.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Fu Jitsu #1

Aug 24, 2017

A little Avatar, a little sci-fi, this book is very intriguing!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Grumpy Cat/Garfield #1

Aug 1, 2017

This is a great comic for the life long Garfield fans, and also for those just looking for a fun, quick read.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Jem and the Holograms #26

Jun 13, 2017

This is what a fan wants from a series finale!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.4
Jem and the Holograms: Infinite #1

Jun 27, 2017

This comic brings me the stuff I love and an art style that I want to frame!!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.2
Jem and the Holograms: The Misfits: Infinite #1

Jul 4, 2017

I never knew I could love a book that was so... pink! Great story and amazing art.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.3
Jem and the Holograms: The Misfits: Infinite #2

Sep 5, 2017

I am hoping that this leads to a super team-up of The Holograms and Misfits vs JemCorp!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Jem: The Misfits #5

Jun 6, 2017

While it does not really move the big story forward, it fleshes out the main characters more.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Last Song #1

Jul 11, 2017

The story is very engaging and the art is beautiful, my only issue is with the time line.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Lobo/Road Runner Special #1

Jun 21, 2017

This is what I look for in my comic crossovers!

View Issue       View Full Review
5.5
Martian Manhunter/Marvin the Martian Special #1

Jun 14, 2017

If you are a person who has to have EVERY Martian collectable, grab this, if not, leave it on the shelf!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Rivers of London: Detective Stories #1

Jun 6, 2017

This was a great way to introduce new readers into the world of Rivers of London, but I am hoping a bigger through line in future issues.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Sacred Creatures #1

Jul 4, 2017

A wonderful story with lackluster art.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Sacred Creatures #2

Aug 9, 2017

I am hoping that this story works better when all of the issues are collected together.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Spy Seal #1

Aug 3, 2017

I never thought I would relate to animals so well.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Spy Seal #2

Sep 12, 2017

They have given our Spy Seal his first mission. Is he up for it?

View Issue       View Full Review
8.7
The X-Files: Origins: Dog Days of Summer #3

Aug 31, 2017

This issue feels like filler, but I predict that it will pay off in the next issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.2
The X-Files: Origins II - Dog Days of Summer #1

Jun 20, 2017

While I do not think this is enough to fill the void fans have with no current show, it is enough to gain more followers!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
The X-Files: Origins II - Dog Days of Summer #2

Nov 30, -0001

I am still really enjoying these stories and mysteries.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Winnebago Graveyard #1

Jun 14, 2017

This comic has potential, but it is a little difficult to get used to the art style.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Winnebago Graveyard #2

Jul 18, 2017

What this issue lacks in words, it more than makes up for in art.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Winnebago Graveyard #3

Aug 17, 2017

I want more than four issues now!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Winnebago Graveyard #4

Sep 12, 2017

I love how this story really worked with the art. I wish I would have given it a fairer chance at the start.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Youngblood (2017) #2

Jun 11, 2017

Good take on a remake. It brings the idea to the characters.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Youngblood (2017) #3

Jul 11, 2017

This is the story heavy issue we need!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Youngblood (2017) #4

Aug 8, 2017

Now that all the introductions are done, the real fun can start!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.9
Youngblood (2017) #5

Sep 12, 2017

Youngblood is another run that is ending too soon for me. I am loving this team!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Zodiac Starforce: Cries of the Fire Prince #1

Jul 4, 2017

This is a great start to the 2nd series! Read Vol. 1, then join the girls!

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for
the Week of...

September

August

More