Samantha Puc's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: The Beat Reviews: 13
7.9Avg. Review Rating

8.0
Acts of Evil: Punisher Annual #1

Jul 17, 2019

There's no going wrong with this book, unless you dislike a spacey comedy of errors, so I'm giving it an unapologetic BUY for my final verdict.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Acts of Evil: Ghost-Spider Annual #1

Sep 4, 2019

This annual is worth picking up not just for the cool fights and unique character work, but for the reminder that self-care is real and valid and isn't always what we think it is.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Age Of X-Man: The Marvelous X-Men #5

Jun 12, 2019

I must be honest and say that Marvelous X-Men has not been my favorite element of the Age of X-Man event, but its pacing and execution is consistent enough to keep me reading, issue after issue, even when events are confusing.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Age Of X-Man: X-Tremists #1

Feb 27, 2019

Since all of the Age of X-Man minis are exploring one contained world, I think diverse perspectives on the same man playing god is unique and fascinating to read, but I can understand how that's not everyone's cup of tea. My verdict for this issue is a definite BUY, especially if you're picking up the other Age of X-Man minis, or if you're invested in good queer representation that is multi-layered and nuanced in comics.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Age Of X-Man: X-Tremists #3

Apr 24, 2019

With each new issue of X-Tremists, I'm blown away by the attention to detail and the carefully-laid groundwork that slowly pays off through the course of the story.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Black Widow (2019) #5

May 15, 2019

I didn't know what to expect going into this series. Having come out the other side, I'm thoroughly impressed, not just with the writing and art, but with the lettering by Joe Caramagna, which does so much to elevate the fight scenes and drive home the dialogue.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Ghost-Spider (2019) #1

Aug 21, 2019

I have gushed about this creative team all year, because they're knocking it out of the park with every single issue. While I agree that this issue doesn't feel like a #1, it is definitely the start of a new arc, and the backstory is readily available for anyone who wants or needs it.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Marvel Team-Up (2019) #1

Apr 3, 2019

It's a fun, action-packed book but may honestly read better as a TPB.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Shatterstar #4

Jan 2, 2019

Issue #4 makes the build-up feel worth it and whether or not you're familiar with Shatterstar's backstory, this mini-series will hit you hard and make you want to learn more about the character.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Spider-Gwen: Ghost-Spider (2018) #4

Jan 9, 2019

Personally, I have absolutely fallen in love with Spider-Gwen: Ghost-Spider and think that this issue in particular is worth a BUY. The character development is so perfectly rendered on all fronts that this may be one of my favorite single issues of 2019. If that feels like a bold statement so soon into January, it's only because you haven't picked up this issue yet.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
The Unstoppable Wasp (2018) #7

May 8, 2019

Even if you haven't been following this run of Unstoppable Wasp, issue #7 literally has something for everyone and the mix of characters is incredibly fun. But if you aren't following this run, you should start. It's a beautifully, deftly told story.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Valkyrie: Jane Foster #1

Jul 24, 2019

I loved this book from cover to cover and the cliffhanger made me scream out loud.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
West Coast Avengers (2018) #6

Dec 22, 2018

This issue ends in a cliffhanger, but that certainly doesn't mean it isn't worth a STRONG BROWSE, maybe even a BUY. There are so many elements at play in this issue that are worth examining more than once, especially since we still don't know exactly how sinister the figures from Kate's past truly are. The remainder of this arc is bound to be a rollercoaster.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

September

August

More