shabbir's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: ComicBuzz Reviews: 11
8.1Avg. Review Rating

9
Avengers Vs. X-Men #1

Apr 19, 2012

Lines are drawn, stakes are raised (no doubt to be raised further still in the coming weeks) and sides chosen in what looks like it's going to be a tremendously fun summer-long slugfest.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Lady Mechanika #0

Oct 26, 2010

Lady Mechanika lives in a steampunk world filled with superstitions and creatures. We also meet Mr. Blackpool along with his hunters who are also searching for this "Demon" who wants it for his own use something to do with the "Demon" not being 100% percent organic. As a trailer for the mini series the comic book, does what it is suppose to do. There is enough action in the story we meet the main players, also the comic book leaves a lot of questions that I want to find the answers too. As for Lady Mechanika not only is she a hunter but feisty, can take of herself, handle a gun and has a mind of her own. At $2.50 we get 13 pages of story, a sketchbook and Joe Benitez's notes on Lady Mechanika.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Marineman #1

Dec 23, 2010

At this point we do not know if Steve Ocean has any superpowers but he does look like a superhero in the suit he wears when diving. Speaking of his suit the yellow colour on his chest and belt buckle really set it of. I wish the issue had just given a few more details about Steve but last few pages and the ending of the comic look very interesting. We do get some great character sketches and history about Marineman at the back of the comic.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Mindfield #4

Dec 2, 2010

The series has really started to build up nicely, characters are starting to become a bit deeper and the story is becoming more involving. I like that it's not over the top while keeping a realistic feel to the series. I can not wait to see where j.T. Krul and Alex Konat take the series from here. I hope they can continue to build the story and characters in the way they have so far.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Monocyte #1

Oct 20, 2011

Monocyte #1 has set the standard for horror comics. Issue #1 has been the scariest comic I have read all year, simply stunning.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Monocyte #2

Apr 19, 2012

I have enjoyed this issue, just as much as I enjoyed reading the first issue. As with this issue we have reached the half way point of the mini-series, I think that this is going to be series not to be missed. All fans of horror and sci-fi should be reading this.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Monocyte #3

Apr 19, 2012

All credit to Mention3 and Kasra for creating such an great comic.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
The Steam Man #3

Dec 17, 2015

Mostly Action this issue yet excellent paced and depicted with brilliant dialogue throughout. This mini-series remains an excellent dark steampunk adventure.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
The Troll King #1

Dec 23, 2010

All credit to Kolbeinn for doing it his way, now to be honest it's not for everyone. Reading the graphic novel is like going on a strange trip but not sure where you have just been. Kolbeinn has crafted something different. One thing I think whether you like it or not, I think you will remember the journey and is that not what story telling is about?

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Transformers: Windblade #7

Sep 23, 2015

While continuing to feel like a bit of a dragged out set-up, this issue offers the most intriguing drama so far in the series and is full of great interactions between the characters.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Zombie Outlaw #1

Oct 20, 2011

The comic is action based, filled with humour and the dialogue is kept snappy. The ending is very interesting and looks to set the scene for the rest of the coming issues. I would say this issue serves as a teaser to what Brian J. Apodaca and B. Paul Jordan Would like to in the future issues of Zombie Outlaw.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

March

6th

February

January

More