Stella Bowman's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: The Batman Universe Reviews: 14
7.2Avg. Review Rating

6
Black Canary: Ignite OGN

Oct 29, 2019

Its fun, but the setting of Gotham City and the specter of Batgirl that hangs over this book makes it a bit redundant, not to mention the fact that there is little mother-daughter time.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Convergence: Nightwing / Oracle #1

Apr 9, 2015

2) As I stated earlier, this Babs does at times read like a late 90s version. Even if we read her like that, one feeling that troubles me throughout the issue is that Babs is the one that is most unsettled being stuck under the Dome. No matter the version of Babs, I dont think she would be the one that is not content with her current life. She is still in Gotham City, still in the Clocktower, and SHE is usually the one who tries to focus on the present. Dick has been seen by Babs in the past as a bird that cannot be caged. Think about Dick leaving Bruce to become Nightwing, leading the Teen Titans, and even going off-world. I believe that Dick would be the one who would be most troubled with the current situation, and because of that, I think that Babs should have said yes to Dick. After all, she said yes to him during the insanity of Infinite Crisis! How is now any different?

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Convergence: Nightwing / Oracle #2

May 7, 2015

Dick and Babs are my OTP (One True Pair) in shipping fandom, and I certainly was not disappointed with how they ended up, but there were some hiccups in the story that could have unnecessarily created some problems for them. Simone comes through with an interesting story that showcases the strengths of both of these characters, and leaves fans satisfied with a sweet ending that we may never see in the post-Flashpoint (cough New 52 cough) Universe. Overall, I enjoyed this story more so than the first because it was more streamlined, had less superfluous elements, and had the classic Birds of Prey or Nightwing feel to it. Nevertheless, there were some story elements that did not quite add up, and probably needed to be retooled.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
DC Comics: Bombshells #1

Aug 14, 2015

If you are looking for a story with strong female leads taking place during an important and fascinating time in history, then I suggest you pick up DC Comics Bombshells!

View Issue       View Full Review
5
DC Comics: Bombshells #2

Sep 4, 2015

While this is not the high quality that the first issue produced, I am hopeful that it is merely a slump and that storylines and art will converge for the next issue to present an outstanding continuation of a worthwhile story.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
DC Comics: Bombshells #3

Oct 16, 2015

Besides the disjointed feel of the stories, I can see them slowly inching towards each other. If only for the Batwoman story, I recommend this, but I hold out hope that once stories intersect it will become strong once more.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
DC Comics: Bombshells #4

Nov 13, 2015

Overall, I am pleased with the way this story turned out, and I am hoping that it keeps on this track of fun and meaningful storytelling.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
DC Comics: Bombshells #5

Nov 27, 2015

This is another enjoyable issue and Im beginning to see where some of the story parts could go, but here are two questions to leave you with: How far can you expand the cast without the story getting out of control or being unable to wrap-up loose ends, and What is the best way to introduce characters and when?

View Issue       View Full Review
6
DC Comics: Bombshells #6

Dec 11, 2015

There is a lot going on in this issue, but the majority of it is treated well, and Im hoping that the tempo remains high.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
DC Comics: Bombshells #7

Dec 25, 2015

Despite some minor story points that do not add positively to the overall presentation, this story is great, thoughtful, and consistent!

View Issue       View Full Review
6
DC Comics: Bombshells #8

Jan 8, 2016

Finally we get to see the re-occurrence of the odd sea creature seen back in issue one! Hopefully it will not be another several issues before we see the connection between the sea creature and Mera. As new elements are introduced and others are tied together, I cant help but wonder how this story will conclude.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
DC Comics: Bombshells #9

Feb 12, 2016

Finally, we see a story that fits Wonder Woman and gives her a fight that she deserves. She is challenged by the Baroness and it is a fight that really showcases the character we know and love. After this part, it is clear that the Baroness was a wonderful choice for a villain here. I especially enjoyed the shared narration between Diana and Baroness regarding the Tenebrae, illustrating that they have shared experiences. And how glad I am that Steve Trevor is pulling his weight and actually doing something instead of just playing the victim. Its about time!

View Issue       View Full Review
7
DC Comics: Bombshells #10

Mar 4, 2016

Bombshells continues to be an entertaining story with an interesting twist on well-known characters, but until the characters start working together within the same vicinity, the book will continue to have unity problems and will feel disjointed.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
The Oracle Code OGN

Mar 10, 2020

Try as I may, it is difficult to have anything but a split mind about this book. It is an important and necessary story that brings representation to a group that has been without representation for so long. My main concern is that this is Barbara Gordon in name only, and the literal and symbolic importance of "Oracle" is not explained.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

October

September

More