T.W. Worn's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Comics Bookcase Reviews: 22
7.8Avg. Review Rating

6
Concrete Jungle #1

Oct 14, 2020

Concrete Jungle is in your face and unapologetic, brought to life by some of the best art and lettering I have read this year. If you have the stomach for a bizarre, loose cannon cop on the edge butting heads with their rookie partner, then I'd say this story is for you.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
DC Horror Presents: Soul Plumber #1

Oct 6, 2021

DC Horror Presents - Soul Plumber #1 is a combination of early 90's Vertigo Comics blasphemy and Troma Entertainment "bad taste," cooked inside a home-built pressure cooker and released onto an unsuspecting public.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Deep Beyond #1

Jan 11, 2021

Deep Beyond #1 is a fantastic mystery story in a futuristic outfit. This is a series I would recommend to almost anyone.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Godzilla: Monsters & Protectors #1

Apr 21, 2021

Godzilla: Monsters & Protectors #1 is a fun romp through the monster's identity. While it may be directed towards younger readers, any fan of Godzilla will enjoy seeing the monster in action.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Gunslinger Spawn #1

Oct 20, 2021

Gunslinger Spawn #1 is an underwhelming addition to the overall Spawn Universe, so fans, and new readers alike, may find this first issue to be more sluggish than a typical Spawn book.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Hollywood Trash #1

Oct 7, 2020

With hot action, quirky characters, and a Thomas Pynchon-level conspiracy, Hollywood Trash may be worth adding to this week's shopping list for everyone.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Home Sick Pilots #1

Dec 9, 2020

Home Sick Pilots #1 is the perfect blend of punk and horror. It sticks true to the voice of both areas of subject matter, and I am excited to see where it takes us.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
King In Black #1

Dec 2, 2020

King In Black #1 is the wailing, heavy metal riff we have been building up to. Like a stack of SUNN0))) amplifiers, it blows me a way into reverberating bliss.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
King Spawn #1

Aug 25, 2021

King Spawn #1 starts off fast, and grows its universe even faster. While existing SPAWN fans will love the new edition to the universe, it may not be the best jumping in point for people looking to dive into the series.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Knock Em Dead #1

Dec 2, 2020

Knock Em Dead #1 starts off a little underwhelming plot wise, but sets up for a hopefully interesting comic accompanied by fantastic art.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Miles To Go #1

Sep 23, 2020

Masterful, clean, and attention grabbing. Miles To Go #1 seems like the perfect thriller to usher in the Fall, and I encourage any fan of Crime (with that big ol C) stories to pick this series up before it takes off.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Monstress: Talk-Stories #1

Nov 25, 2020

Monstress: Talk Stories is both a fantastic spin-off as it is an entry into this team's work.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Moon Knight (2021) #1

Jul 21, 2021

Moon Knight #1 is a strong and well-paced start for a new direction for the character, one that is almost an ideal access point for readers who have never read a Moon Knight book.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Red Atlantis #1

Nov 4, 2020

Red Atlantis #1 taps into the stress and fear many of us feel around this election cycle, and it does so in an engaging way that makes sharing said fear cathartic.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
River of Sin #1

Jun 9, 2021

River of Sin is a fun little read that carries on the spirit of silver-age horror comics.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Sam & His Talking Gun #1

Dec 16, 2020

Sam and His Talking Gun is a fantastic and hilarious action romp. I would recommend any fan of run-and-gun action to grab a copy of Issue #1.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Scarenthood #1

Nov 11, 2020

Scarenthood delivers some good old-fashioned horror comic with a perfect new school twist.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Sympathy For No Devils #1

Oct 28, 2020

It is too early to judge the story of Sympathy For No Devils, but there is enough fantastic art and mystery to make this first issue worth a read.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
The Me You Love in the Dark #1

Aug 4, 2021

The Me You Love In The Dark #1 sets up an interesting premise about fear, art, ambition, and loneliness.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
The Recount #1

Nov 18, 2020

 The Recount #1 has the potential to be our generation's exploration of Authority and Extremism, but we will have to wait for future issues to find out.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
The Scumbag #1

Oct 21, 2020

If bad taste is something you crave, make sure you get it from someone with Good Taste. The Scumbag is good-bad taste to the fullest extent.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.8
Ultramega by James Harren #1

Mar 17, 2021

Ultramega #1 is a bloated feast of grime and bile, but deep within its filth is a beautiful story about hope and commitment. Any fan of horror especially body or kaiju horror should make this a must read.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

December

November

More