Will Sweval's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: On Comics Ground Reviews: 13
7.5Avg. Review Rating

9.0
Archie: 1941 #2

Oct 22, 2018

I think the biggest thing hurting the book is that its very niche. I, however, am looking forward to the rest of the series and can't wait to see what decisions they make.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.2
Knights of the Golden Sun #1

Jan 7, 2019

An interesting start to an interpretation of Biblical Canon that seems to avoid being religious while still embracing its origins as a religious text.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Knights of the Golden Sun #2

Jan 8, 2019

The inclusion of human characters and the mention of an entire human faction means this story isn't just taking place behind closed doors. It gives readers a more relatable cast to become attached too and allows the author to create more interesting dynamics among the now growing cast.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Knights of the Golden Sun #3

Jan 16, 2019

Knights of the Golden Sun doesn't necessarily trip and fall with this issue, but it does stumble a little with an entry that seems slower and less pressing than the two preceding it.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Man Without Fear (2019) #1

Jan 13, 2019

A brilliant start to be sure. If you didn't have the chance to read any of Charles Soule's run this book does not punish you for it.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Man Without Fear (2019) #2

Jan 14, 2019

While still a great issue this follow-up definitely has a few hiccups. It's always great to see DD's fairly limited supporting cast show up, as most of his acquaintances are heroes in their own right too big to be part of another's ensemble.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.2
Man Without Fear (2019) #3

Jan 21, 2019

Another excellent entry into a consistently great limited series, do yourself a favor and pick all 3 issues out so far up.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Man Without Fear (2019) #5

Feb 7, 2019

Overall Man Without Fear (2019) is an instant classic that every Daredevil fan needs to read and every comic fan should seriously consider.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.2
Nightwing (2016) #50

Oct 4, 2018

This issue is strange to form a final opinion on as it acts as a sort of jumping on point, while simultaneously requiring at least a passing knowledge of the character's arc of the last 30-odd years, something it touches upon in multiple places in the issue. It's a very well told story, accomplishing what it's trying to get across and getting me anxious to read the next issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.2
Nightwing (2016) #51

Oct 19, 2018

This issue isn't particularly awful, but it isn't very good either. I was correct in my guess that Scarecrow seems to be the main arc for this villain. Perhaps Dr. Crane has something to do with our protagonist's nightmares? Why is Dick Grayson so bad at burning things? Are we going to be treated to a copycat Nightwing story similar to One Year Later?

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Nightwing (2016) #52

Nov 9, 2018

Another boring issue leaves me unable to recommend this arc of Nightwing. Hopefully it will pick up steam within the next few issues.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Nightwing (2016) #53

Nov 21, 2018

This is the first issue since the amnesia arc has started that actually made me want to read the next issue. Hopefully the series will continue to improve from here.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.2
Nightwing (2016) #56

Jan 11, 2019

I don't think it's a surprise to anyone that I'm not a fan of this arc, and I'm glad it seems to be nearing its end. The art for this run has always been hit or miss for me and this issue is no different. If I had to describe it in one word, I'd say unbalanced. The writing is slow and drags with the entire issue feeling like it takes place over maybe 3 distinct moments in time, and not in a way that seems deliberate and planned out.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

November

October

More