Zina Hutton's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Word Of The Nerd Reviews: 46
9.4Avg. Review Rating

7.6
Art Ops #1

Oct 28, 2015

To be fair, Art Ops #1 is alright. It's a little boring in parts and the retro art style isn't for everyone, but with just the first issue out, maybe things will only go up for it. This is one book that's getting another chance (or two) because there are questions that need answering and art mysteries to uncover.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.4
Black Magick #1

Oct 29, 2015

Black Magick #1 is easily one of the best books out in October. With Greg Rucka's writing and Nicola Scott's lovely art coming together, it's hard to imagine that the book would be anything but fabulous. The series looks like it's going to be an epic supernatural mystery spanning several generations and there's no telling which way this dark fantasy book is going to go!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
Black Magick #2

Nov 27, 2015

Once again, Rucka and Scott deliver an amazing book with Black Magick #2. Aside from the plot and Nicola Scott's gorgeous art, I'm also enjoying the relationships between the characters so far. We get to see bits of Rowan's relationship with Alex and the easy camaraderie that she has with her partner Morgan in this issue and it helps develop the plot as well as your interest in Rowan as a character. Right now, the series is still finding its stride, but there's so much promise in every single page as the plot thickens and threatens to twist.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.8
Black Magick #3

Dec 31, 2015

Black Magick #3 is another fantastic issue of the series. I do think that the issue kind of dragged in some parts, but it was nice to see more magic onscreen and a deeper glimpse into Rowan's life as a practitioner. I have even more questions than before but I'm excited to see what the hand of glory is used for and how badly things get. Despite a faint slowness to the plot, I still enjoyed the issue and I'm looking forward to finding out what'll happen when Rowan comes face to face with a member of the organization that has hunted her and her kind for generations.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Clean Room #1

Oct 26, 2015

All in all, this was a solid opening to a book series that looks like it could go toe to toe with any number of Vertigo's other heavy hitters while providing more than its fair share of nightmare fuel.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Clean Room #2

Nov 19, 2015

Seriously,Clean Room #2 was a solid issue that made my skin scrawl and my pulse thud in my throat. I'm not scared of the Clean Room, but I'm a little bit frightened of what's inside. Jon Davis-Hunt's art is still incredibly lovely to look at and I'm enjoying the thrill of not knowing what I'll find when I turn the page of an issue on my kindle.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
Clean Room #3

Dec 17, 2015

A lot happened in this issue but it also didn't feel very busy. I love that the way that the plot plays out, each issue giving us answers but also tons of speculation that shatters our existing theories. I've been seeing a lot of comments online calling this current period a renaissance for Vertigo Comics and with the kind of work that we're seeing from creators like Gail Simone and Jon Davis-Hunt, I'm inclined to agree with them.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Clean Room #4

Jan 21, 2016

I definitely wound up with more questions than answers in Clean Room #4, but that's okay because I love this series. I've never before been invested in something so gory that still has me chomping at the bit for more. I love every single issue that comes out for Clean Room because of Gail Simone's plots and because of Jon Davis-Hunt's skill at balancing beauty with darkness. It's a series worth returning to because the ending of this arc is going to be one to shatter all our expectations. I seriously can't wait to see what terrifying things our creative team will bring us next month!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Clean Room #5

Feb 23, 2016

Here's hoping that Clean Room #6 is just as amazing as this issue and that some of my questions get answered!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
Gotham Academy #11

Oct 22, 2015

Gotham Academy is generally a very light, very fun series but there's this underlying dark note to it that keeps it from being a book that's easily written off. Becky Cloonan and Brenden Fletcher really have the hang of writing a realistic teen-focused series that also does double duty as a sprawling mystery. Everything in Gotham Academy #11 from to Maps' conversation with Red Robin, to the unexpected ending really makes their work on the series click.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Gotham Academy #12

Dec 3, 2015

If you're interested in something that balances light moments with intense and upsetting ones and is super cute throughout, pick up Gotham Academy today!

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Gotham Academy #14

Jan 14, 2016

I love the use of the anthology format to tell these stories in Gotham Academy #4. This was an amazing choice on DC's part and I hope that we get some more of this type of work in the future. The nature of comic anthology issues is that it gets less established artists the chance to work on a bigger book. You get different types of stories, different types of art, and with the use of an overarching story enfolding them the way, we got to see them pulled into the canon of Gotham Academy. This was a really great book and I hope that we get to see more comics following the anthology trend!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.4
James Bond #1

Nov 5, 2015

The first part of the 'Vargr' storyline is a bit slow as far as comic openings go, but for something that has to do with the James Bond franchise, it's well handled and full of opportunities for more. Warren Ellis is one of the best writers that could've been chosen to work on Bond and when coupled with Jason Masters' artwork, we get a series that is set to satisfy even the pickiest of Bond fans.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
James Bond #2

Dec 3, 2015

But here's the thing about James Bond #2: it's still a pretty slow comic. I thought it'd maybe pick up the pace this issue but it's a bit plodding in terms of getting us from one point to another. The fight in the car and the pages at the end (of which I'm not going to spoil the contents) were close to it for me in terms of fast-paced action. Much of the book was very plotty, kind of pushing us closer to the action. I still like the book (because Bond) but I hope things pick up in the next issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Kim & Kim #2

Aug 31, 2016

Kim & Kim #2 has all of my favorite things: cool, strong, andQUEERwomen in main roles, necromancy, and some serious potential when it comes to worldbuilding. It's also ridiculously cute and has fantastic character designs. If that even remotely sounds like your thing, catch up now before issue three comes out!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Limbo #1

Nov 13, 2015

Limbo #1 is definitely a book that you have to read to believe. Without any further spoilers, I just have to say that their choice of villain (and villainous henchmen) is awesome. Limbo #1 looks good. It combines a lot of what was good about the pulps and what's fantastic about the urban fantasy but there's also a noted effort to have diverse characters and a diverse world. I have no idea what's going on with the static and the goat, but it's easy to be invested and to want to know more about this world.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Limbo #2

Dec 8, 2015

If you're not reading it yet, get on this series right now. You only have two issues to catch up with.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Limbo #3

Jan 12, 2016

This is such a clever comic and then it's also really nice to look at (seriously, go flip through issue two a few times and just bask in the innovative art direction). So you're getting stuff about the afterlife that incorporates diverse characters and different religious aspects and it's all so good. I think that Limbo might actually spoil me for other urban fantasy comics because it's just filled with so much of the things that I like in my comics. Gosh.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Limbo #4

Feb 8, 2016

I love Limbo #4. I know I really, rarely have anything bad to say about this series but that's because these dudes just rock. Limbo is a comic I didn't know I wanted until the first issue was in my hands and I was hooked. This month's issue, with our look at how Sandy handles her worship and Bridgette starting to lay out the pawns on her playing board, is just a really amazing one and I think that if you're not reading Limbo, you're missing out on some quality storytelling and beautiful art.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Limbo #5

Mar 7, 2016

Every month I gush about the work that Dan Watters and Caspar Wijngaard are doing. Every month they deserve the praise I give them and more besides. Limbo #5 is beautiful, haunting, upsetting, and ends on the kind of cliffhanger that makes you wish you could see the future if only to find out what'll happen next. So much happened in this Sandy-focused issue and it was glorious. Next month, we'll find out what happens with Clay and his truth , Sandy's “visitor”, and who wins the wager. Holy shit, I can't wait for this.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Limbo #6

Apr 12, 2016

It's also incredible. Every issue, I've given this comic perfect marks. It's my favorite comic miniseries and I shout it from the rooftops at every chance I get because it's such a nuanced comic with a ton of different things going on at every single moment. The combination of Dan Watters' clever writing and Caspar Wijngaard's gorgeous art and colors really served to make Limbo a series that stands out. I don't think that any other creative team could've done a book like this and I just hope that we get to the two of them working together on other books in the future (perhaps something else set in the Limbo universe), because wow, what a team. What a book!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
Lucifer (2015) #1

Dec 18, 2015

I think that Holly Black really understands that aspect Lucifer. I think that she gets him in a way that certain others (here's looking at the Lucifer showrunners) don't, and it adds a serious depth to the work that makes me feel super excited for the next issue!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
Lucifer (2015) #2

Jan 21, 2016

There's so much I loved about Lucifer #2! Between the art, the plot, and the fact that Holly Black is one of those writers who can get me to read almost anything, it's definitely a great comic that is only getting better with every issue. If you're not reading Lucifer, I'm judging you.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Lucifer (2015) #3

Feb 18, 2016

Lucifer #3 was fantastic. It hurt to read in some parts, but in a good way. I'm still definitely a fan of the Garbett/Black creative team and I'm looking forward to seeing where they go from here. Next month, I have a feeling that things are going to get worse before they get any better for Lucifer and Medjine and honestly, I'm okay with that.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Moon Girl and Devil Dinosaur #1

Nov 27, 2015

If you don't adore Lunella immediately, then your enjoyment of this comic is going to be minimal at best. Moon Girl and Devil Dinosaur #1 is officially the cutest comic out this week and it has a LOT to love about it. Montclare and Reeder bring a new take on Devil Dinosaur while also giving us a glimpse of Lunella's position kind of on the outside of what's going on in the rest of Marvel. She's in the heart of the trouble caused by the Terrigen mists, but also on the periphery as her outlook differs from many of the Inhuman heroes we've seen so far. Add to that the way that the art really gives us the cutest characters (even the gigantic alien T-Rex is kind of cute, okay), and Moon Girl and Devil Dinosaur #1 is basically a book that everyone should be reading.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Moon Girl and Devil Dinosaur #2

Dec 26, 2015

Moon Girl and Devil Dinosaur #2 is a solid second issue for the series. I keep finding myself making ridiculously happy high pitched noises when I read and reread this issue because it's just super cute with characters you can really get behind.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
New Romancer #1

Dec 11, 2015

I think that this is a book that'll appeal to people with a wide range of interests. Whether you like romance, history, science fiction, or a good supernatural romp, there's really something in this series for everyone. I'm really looking forward to what the future will bring this series!

View Issue       View Full Review
9
New Romancer #2

Jan 15, 2016

I desperately need more of this book. I need to see what happens next and what Casanova has planned. I don't yet care that much about the creepy tech company or Lexy's dad, but if we can find out more about them, I'll be excited. It's a really great second issue and I need anyone with an interest in history and science fiction should pick it up while it's good and early.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Patsy Walker, A.K.A. Hellcat! #1

Dec 26, 2015

If you like ridiculously cute art, superhero reboots/redesigns, and characters that you can recognize yourself and your friends in, check out Patsy Walker AKA Hellcat #1 today!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Patsy Walker, A.K.A. Hellcat! #2

Jan 25, 2016

Hellcat #2 is amazing and I love every single thing about it. I adore comics that are a mix of genres (you know, how Grayson is a spy-superhero mashup?) and I think that Hellcat brings a lot to the table in terms of breathing life into the superhero genre. Here, Patsy isn't just a hero. She's a friend. She's a dork. She's hopelessly confused about life. And with a mysterious villain from Valkyrie's past coming to start trouble in their neck of the woods, she's going to have a lot more on her plate in the months to come!

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Red Thorn #1

Nov 20, 2015

This book is amazing. The plot is definitely something that draws you in from the start (even it is a tiny bit slow in some plots) and since I knew about the book because I'm a huge fan of Meghan Hetrick's work, obviously she's a major draw. If you're a fan of mythology (even if it isn't Scottish mythology) and gutsy, gorgeous main characters who are about to wind up way over their heads in the consequences from bad decisions, consider checking out Red Thorn #1!

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Red Thorn #2

Dec 17, 2015

I still stand by all of my positive feelings from the first issue. Red Thorn #2 is a seamless follow up to the first issue and I like that we get to see the first glimpses of Thorn's personality and Isla's path to something terrible. It's a fantastic work of urban fantasy and it also has these tense moments that pull the series a bit closer towards outright horror than you'd expect. We don't know what to expect in the future of Red Thorn and that's definitely part of its charm.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
Red Thorn #3

Jan 25, 2016

Following in footsteps of the previous two issues, Red Thorn #3 is a beautiful book. The mythology that David Baillie is weaving into the story is new to me and incredibly interesting.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Red Thorn #4

Feb 23, 2016

Next month I think that we'll get to see more about what the blue-haired former-drawing is doing in Glasgow and perhaps learn a bit more about Thorn's goals and Isla's place in his potential empire. I'm expecting loads of drama and at least one death. Let's hope it's not one of our favorites!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.4
Snarl #1

Nov 10, 2015

Snarl is a one-shot comic from Alterna Comics. That means that this is probably it for this particular story. That doesn't mean though that it lacks merit. After all, this story veers left as far as your typical werewolf story goes and it has characters that are commanding and interesting. Snarl is a good story and it ends on an unsettling note that makes you wish for another story to be forthcoming. So let's cross our fingers and hope that Alterna Comics gets the message and gives us a thrilling follow up toSnarl!

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Superman: American Alien #1

Nov 12, 2015

Superman: American Alien #1, and its first story "Dove," are really a worthy addition and update to the spiraling mythology of Superman as a character.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.6
Superman: American Alien #2

Dec 17, 2015

Yes, Superman: American Alien #2 wasn't necessarily my thing, but I'm looking at the way I would an anthology or collection of stories from any number of my favorite writers. There are bound to be a few stories coming out of the American Alien series that are major misses with me for any number of reasons. This just happened to be one of them. Despite it all, I'm still interested in seeing what we get next month because I like the idea of rethinking how we present Clark Kent to the world.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Symmetry #1

Dec 11, 2015

Matt Hawkins' writing and worldbuilding are super amazing and you can see the work put into every single aspect of this world. Coupled with Raffaele Ienco's art " gorgeously dramatic faces and sleek backgrounds ", the series shines in a way that makes me immediately crave approximately four different adaptations for the book. And we're only on the first issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Symmetry #2

Jan 25, 2016

I'm still enjoying Symmetry as a comic because it makes me think. It's a work of utopian science fiction, but there's also a philosophical and sociological slant to it, something that I find fascinating. What will the future bring Michael and Maricela? Who knows, but I'm excited to find out!

View Issue       View Full Review
9
The Sheriff Of Babylon #1

Dec 3, 2015

For a first issue, this has been an amazing read and it's one that you really need to read for yourself in order to take it in properly. I'm already sucked into the case and I know that if I don't continue on, I'm going to be super pissed at myself. I'm looking forward to the next issue of Sheriff of Babylon and seeing where Tom King and Mitch Gerads take us!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
The Sheriff Of Babylon #2

Jan 8, 2016

Seriously, this was another great issue from Tom King and Mitch Gerads. It showed us looks at post-9/11 Iraq that readers most likely aren't familiar with and while it's definitely an American/Western gaze, I think it's also a critical one. I need to find out what's going to happen next and why an entire family was killed. There's a secret somewhere out there and it's (metaphorically) killing me to have to wait an entire month to get the details and more clues!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Sheriff Of Babylon #3

Feb 5, 2016

Seriously, Sheriff of Babylon #3 was just amazing. Every issue pulls you deeper into the mystery. I think that Tom King and Mitch Gerads definitely should count as one of comics' great teams because you can see the labor and research gone into every single panel and it's wonderful. Seriously, if you're a political thriller fan or you just like comics about (relatively) current events, you need to be reading Sheriff of Babylon.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Unfollow #1

Nov 6, 2015

Unfollow #1 isn't going to mess you up. What it's going to do is lull you into a false sense of security because nothing that bad happened in the opening issue and then the next thing you know, a character you've decided is your favorite will die horribly in a later issue and it will be heartbreaking. If you're interested comics about the human condition and commentary about social media that doesn't seem like it'll end in rage against the millennials, consider following Unfollow.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Unfollow #2

Dec 3, 2015

In Unfollow #2, the plot is steadily taking shape and every page introduces something new. I'm already picking out my favorite characters for the series and I just know that whatever happens will probably be horrifying but amazing. After all, humans make the absolute worst decisions under pressure and I feel as if the series' creative team is set to put them under a whole lot of it.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Unfollow #3

Jan 8, 2016

I'm assuming that Unfollow #4 is going to have like a major murder early on and honestly, as horrible as it sounds, I can't wait to see who bites the bullet.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
Unfollow #4

Feb 4, 2016

Unfollow #4 ends with a death that probably isn't as open-ended as you think. As you look at that last page, imagine a camera zooming in on the crowd. In situations like these, the murderer is usually pretty obvious. I have a feeling though, that things aren't ever going to be as cut and dried as they seem. That sort of uncertainty is jus tone of the things that make Unfollow #4 great and unsettling. What will next month bring? More death? More violence? More middle aged white people humping on a dance floor in an attempt to ignore their impending doom?

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

December

November

More