Charlie Chipman's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: The Brazen Bull, AiPT! Reviews: 22
8.1Avg. Review Rating

9.0
All-Star Batman #8

Mar 15, 2017

All-Star Batman #8 is a comic that you don't want to miss. Scott Snyder writes Batman like no one else, and with the help of artist Giuseppe Camuncoli's illustrations, this is one hell of a read.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Batman (2016) #18

Mar 3, 2017

Brutally entertaining and deceptively thought-provoking, Tom King's Batman #18 is a triumph of modern 'superhero' fiction"a comic book tour de force reminiscent of the great Victorian tale of human duality: Robert Louis Stevenson's, The Strange Case of Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde, and while the Batman/Bane foil may not be perfect"it's damn near close.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Batman (2016) #19

Mar 15, 2017

Batman #19 is yet another awesome chapter in the current 'I Am Bane' storyline, that while not being as deep as its predecessor, is still a brilliant work. Both Tom King and David Finch shine here. Batman #19 is a must-read for Bane fans.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Curse Words #2

Feb 25, 2017

Curse Words #2 does a great job keeping up the momentum from Issue #1, and as the plot thickens and more players are introduced, I find myself enjoying this series more and more. Buy Curse Words #2.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Curse Words #3

Mar 22, 2017

Although I am concerned with the apparent direction of this series, its still very entertaining, and as the plot thickens, I am still looking forward to what happens next.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Daredevil (2015) #18

Mar 15, 2017

This emotionally rich confessional was hard to put down, and since I cannot wait to see what happens next, I absolutely recommend buying/reading this issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Deadpool (2015) #28

Mar 1, 2017

While Deadpool #28 isn't a laugh riot, it has its moments. The energy levels dip in the middle, but issue #28 starts out with a bang and ends with one that's just as exciting. Gerry Duggan has produced an entertaining issue while simultaneously setting the next several chapters of this arc. Thus, it's a successful issue, and I recommend reading it.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Deadpool: The Duck #5

Mar 15, 2017

If you've read the first four issues of this series, there's no reason not to pick this one up. If you're new to the series, start from the beginning.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Detective Comics (2016) #951

Feb 24, 2017

I recommend buying Detective Comics #951 if you plan to keep reading this new arc, which, I also recommend that you do. This was a good issue, although it mostly just setup the next few parts of this arc. Shiva...the Destroyer...is brutal, and I can't wait to see more of her in the near future.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Detective Comics (2016) #953

Mar 22, 2017

Detective Comics #953 is another great chapter in the "League of Shadows" arc, and is definitely worth reading.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Hal Jordan And The Green Lantern Corps #16

Mar 8, 2017

Hal Jordan and the Green Lantern Corps #16 is one that Guy Gardner fans are not going to want to miss. This issue is action-packed, and believe it or not, it's also brimming with emotion. The writing is great - the art is great. Pick this one up.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Hal Jordan And The Green Lantern Corps #17

Mar 22, 2017

Hal Jordan and the Green Lantern Corps #17 brings with it a drastic change in pace as well as the end of the "Quest for the Blue Lanterns" arc. Not a must-buy per se, but a worthwhile read nonetheless.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Infamous Iron Man #5

Feb 22, 2017

While the color work does earn this book some extra points, what deserves the most credit in this issue is the ending. Now, while the ending isn't a cliffhanger per se, it is a bit of a jaw-dropper. Some of you may have already put together the big reveal at the end, but for those of you who haven't, it's a nice a surprise. And while I'm not about to spoil it here, I will say that the ending gives me hope for the future of the series. I have a feeling that things are about to get a whole lot worse for Victor.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Judge Dredd: Cry of the Werewolf #1

Mar 21, 2017

Judge Dredd: Cry of the Werewolf is a classic story, filled with amazing artwork from legendary comic book artist, Steve Dillon, and it shouldn't be missed.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Judge Dredd: Deviations #1

Mar 21, 2017

While Judge Dredd: Deviations lacks the intensity of 'Cry of the Werewolf,' John McCrae did a wonderful job producing an alternate ending/sequel to a classic Judge Dredd story.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.5
Justice League / Power Rangers #3

Mar 11, 2017

Although the issue looks good, and it's fun, I think that we JL and PR fans deserve a bit more than just a fun comic filled with decent art, right? The plot has been anything but consistent, and while I am still hopeful for the remaining crossover issues, I'm quite disappointed.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Justice League of America (2017) #1

Feb 23, 2017

Justice League of America #1 is riddled with conflict and it's great. This issue is much better than its predecessor and ended up being exactly what I was hoping it would be. If you have any interest in any of the characters that make up this new team, or if you just really enjoy great artwork, be sure to pick this one up.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Justice League of America (2017) #2

Mar 9, 2017

After reading Issue #2, I am convinced that writer Steve Orlando's vision for the remainder of JLA is epic and that the series will pick back up within the next issue or so, but Justice League of America #2 is a bit of a buzzkill, and thanks to the change in pace, I can't recommend picking this one up.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Super Sons #2

Mar 16, 2017

Super Sons #2 is a breath of fresh air. Packed with action and levity, this is actually the comic that you need to take you away from the monotony

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
The Belfry (One Shot) #1

Feb 23, 2017

The Belfry #1 is a fantastic one-shot from writer/artist Gabriel Hardman. This is a comic that absolutely should not be missed. Horror comics don't get much better than this. When you're done reading, you're going to crave more.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
The Walking Dead #165

Mar 2, 2017

A nearly perfect issue, The Walking Dead #165 is intense and should not be missed.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
X-O Manowar (2017) #1

Mar 22, 2017

X-O Manowar #1 is an absolutely amazing comic book that elevates the medium. Do not miss the opportunity to be a part of something great, Read this comic.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for
the Week of...

March

February

More