Chris Tresson's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Comic Bastards Reviews: 63
7.2Avg. Review Rating

10
2000AD #2000

Sep 24, 2016

Look out for Prog 2000 when you're in the shop this week and get yourself a copy so you can overdose on thrill power. There's something for everyone here.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Aliens: Life and Death #1

Sep 21, 2016

Overall, not a great issue but if you've come this far in the “Life and Death” series, you'll probably want to finish reading it. You're nearly at the end of it all. If you're thinking about coming into the series late, I wouldn't choose to pick this issue up first. Try the Predator: Life and Death mini and go from there. Obviously, if you're a die-hard Aliens fan you won't give a shit what I say, and you'll buy it anyway. And that's what makes these licensed books work and that's why they'll keep printing 'em.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
All-Star Batman #6

Jan 11, 2017

If you decided to skip the beginning of this series or dropped it early in the series, now might be the time to jump back on board with All-Star Batman" because I think for this art, even if the story goes downhill from here, it'll at least look nice doing it. I'm looking forward to seeing where it goes. And it feels weird saying that about this series.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
All-Star Batman #7

Feb 8, 2017

Overall, probably my favorite issue of this series so far, though if you take the first arc into consideration there isn't that much to beat" We're seven in and it seems to be improving with each issue but it has a long ways to go until I can truly say that this is Batman at an All-Star level.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Assassin's Creed: Locus #1

Sep 24, 2016

Ian Edginton writes a very talky issue and I'm glad it was very talky, otherwise I wouldn't've had a clue what was going on. His pacing's pretty good in this one, there's some great action scenes where Edginton uses very little dialogue and let's the art do the talking, so you get a good balance and a solid issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
2.0
Batman (2016) Annual #1

Nov 30, 2016

Overall, it was pretty bad. It offered absolutely nothing that would make me suggest you go out and buy it. It's easily skippable and you honestly will not kick yourself at any point for passing on it. I was expecting a lot more with this amount of talent on show" That'll teach me.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Batman / TMNT Adventures #1

Nov 9, 2016

Not a bad first outing for this creative team but I was hoping for a bit more than what I got. Whether it'll get any better remains to be seen, but it's done enough that I want to find out. I think fans of the cartoons will love it and your kids will love it, it's got a lot of appeal to a lot of different groups of people. Plus, it already seems like it's going to be a shit load better than that wanky miniseries we got last time. Pick it up, find out for yourself.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Batman Beyond: Rebirth #1

Sep 28, 2016

So I'd say this was a good issue, I liked it. It held my interest and I'm intrigued by what's potentially in store for this Batman. I know I found it a lot more interesting than the regular Batman title's Rebirth issue, so hopefully this is a good sign for the rest of the series. I guess we'll just have to wait and see"

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Black Hammer Annual #1

Jan 19, 2017

Overall, I think this annual does a good job of maintaining the quality I'm used to seeing in the series and I really enjoyed reading it. Fans of the series will no doubt love it and it's a little bit of a treat between the wait for the series coming back (not long now.) So yeah. It's pretty bloody good and I reckon you should go out and buy it and the trade if you haven't already. The longer this series goes the better. I'm sure I'm not the only one who feels that way.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Bloodshot U.S.A. #1

Oct 26, 2016

So, Overall, Bloodshot U.S.A. #1 isn't a bad book. It's one of those stories where you can turn your brain off for 20 minutes and flip through it and if you don't dig too deep, you'll enjoy it. Obviously I'm not reading other Valiant stuff, and haven't read all that much in the grand scheme of things, so your opinion may vary from mine. As a Valiant novice, I enjoyed it because it was something different to what I'm used to reading on a monthly basis. If you're a veteran Valiant reader, you may disregard everything I've just said when you read it for yourself. But I did enjoy it and I look forward to the next issue so I can find out what the fuck's going on and how it will all escalate and maybe top this issue" I guess I'll have to wait and see what happens next month!

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Bloodshot U.S.A. #2

Nov 23, 2016

Overall I have mixed feelings about the issue, I thought from the last issue that it was going to be great but instead I've come away wanting to know more about what's actually going on rather than seeing shit blow up and people getting pummeled. I thought the series had something that would set it apart from the rest of the superhero titles on offer but it has just sort of blended in with them with this Bloodshot outing. Hopefully the next issue will have more story to it and I can come back here and tell you how much I enjoyed reading it but for now, I'm left a little disappointed.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Bloodshot U.S.A. #3

Dec 21, 2016

This is it for me. I'm not reviewing the last issue of this series because words will probably fail me again when I come to sit down to write the review. At this point, I'm not hopeful that the story is going to get anymore exciting. I will probably read it just to see how far off the deep end it goes. If you're this far into the story yourself, you'll probably want to see the conclusion, too"

View Issue       View Full Review
2.0
Boo: The World's Cutest Dog #1

Sep 7, 2016

Overall, I didn't enjoy the book but I didn't come into it expecting to. It was curiosity more than anything that made me pick this book for review. I didn't know who Boo was before reviewing this, but from the look of things, I think kids (not sure how many of you out there are reading reviews on Comic Bastards) and fans of Boo will like it a lot but regular comic book readers probably won't… maybe. I don't know. I'm still finding it strange that this dog even has a comic book and I'm wondering what's going to come next…

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Box Office Poison Color Comics #1

Jan 4, 2017

If you're looking for a new series to read that's completely different to the usual books you read, I recommend picking this up. I might have a look in at issue two but I'm not completely sure this book is for me. Then again, it might prove me wrong.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Dead Inside #1

Dec 21, 2016

If you like your crime/murder mystery type stuff, CSI and whatnot, I think you'll really enjoy this book. It's definitely something different and off the top of my head, I can't think of anything like it on the market right now. Pick it up and decide for yourself.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Dead Inside #2

Jan 25, 2017

If you liked the first issue then you're more than likely not going to be put off by the second. It's continuing to entertain me and I'm still pretty intrigued by the whole thing. I want to know what's going to happen next, and that's how you keep people reading your books.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Dead Inside #3

Feb 15, 2017

It started out pretty promising but the longer it drags out, the less faith I have in it.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Extremity #1

Mar 1, 2017

Overall, having gone in with nothing but the cover attracting me to it, I've come away really liking what I read. It's not entirely different to a lot of comics coming out these days but it's definitely up there with the best of them. If you're stuck for something to read today, see if your shop has it in and give it a bash. It's worth it for the art alone I think. I for one will be waiting to see what the next issue has in store, and where the story is going to lead.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Frostbite #1

Sep 28, 2016

If you're into your post-apocalyptic stories, your science fiction and good art, I'd say this is a book for you. If you're tired of seeing that sort of thing, give it a miss. I for one like those kinds of stories, if they're done well. So far I'd say this book is on par with the other hundred books I've read from the same genre recently. The art is the only thing keeping it from dropping below a three of out five for me.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Frostbite #2

Oct 26, 2016

So for me, Frostbite #2 wasn't great, but at least I managed to get to the end of it. If you're following it, I'm thinking that the next issue will probably have all the action in it that this issue was lacking. From that final page, I think it's about to turn into Mad Max: Fury Road on Ice up in this piece" You'll have to let me know though, because I won't be reading it.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
God Country #1

Oct 31, 2016

If this book was a gymnast it wouldn't just stick the landing, it'd throw in a couple of extra flips and fucking shatter the Earth as it landed. That was terrible, but I did say 'try'" If I could give God Country #1 six out of five stars I would. Unfortunately, I cannot, but what I'm trying to get at is that it's definitely a book that you need to read, so make sure you get your LCS to order it for you, you would be a fool not to.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
God Country #2

Feb 8, 2017

The journey towards the end of the book is great, and I really liked the final few pages of this. I really don't want to be calling Donny Cates, Geoff Shaw and Jason Wordie all the bastards, but I will for that ending because all I wanted to do was see what happens next. I love when comics do that to me just as much as I hate when comics do that to me, and if you feel the same way, whatever you're reading is probably a great book. Keep reading it when you can. Buy the single issues. Buy the trades. Do whatever you can to help keep that series alive.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Grimm Tales Of Terror Vol 2 #11

Aug 24, 2016

If you collect the series, I'd like to know what you thought about the issue in the comments section. And if you do collect the title, tell me about previous issues for that matter. Maybe I just picked a bad issue, eh?

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Grimm Tales Of Terror Vol 2 #12

Sep 7, 2016

The issue was a little better than the last one, but I'm still not really feeling it. I think it has the potential to be a great book and a great platform to show what modern horror comics can be. It just needs a bit of a kick up the arse.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Grimm Tales Of Terror Vol 2 #13

Oct 5, 2016

Overall, another standard issue of Grimm Tales of Terror, slightly better than the previous two issues I've read, but not enough to make me want to read any more. So this'll be the final nail in the coffin for me as far as reviewing the title goes" I might check in from time to time to see how it's going, but I don't feel like I have anything else left to say about the series.

View Issue       View Full Review
2.0
Hellblazer (2016) #1

Aug 24, 2016

It's going to take something really special to keep me on-board, which is sad because I really like the character and the world which he inhabited in the Vertigo series. It should never have moved from Vertigo, and until they move it back, you aren't going to get another decent Hellblazer series. If you're buying this book, prepare to be spoon fed a PG-rated, not really John Constantine, John Constantine.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Hook Jaw #1

Dec 21, 2016

So" This issue was a lot better than I was expecting. I'm going to have to make sure it has been ordered in at the shop (I'm hoping it has) and grab myself a copy of it. I suggest you do the same, I think it's going to be a good'n.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Hook Jaw #2

Jan 18, 2017

I am certainly looking forward to seeing the rest of this story unfold and I'm hoping you're following along with me. This is a great title and I hope a lot of you are going to go out to your local comic book shop to buy it. It definitely deserves to have eyes on it.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Hook Jaw #3

Feb 22, 2017

Anyways, to finish, I would recommend this book/series. Probably not this late into the series if you're coming in fresh to this, but if you're reading along with me, continue to do so.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
House of Penance #5

Aug 15, 2016

A great issue all-round and it comes wrapped in a lovely cover worthy of the book's cover price alone. If you like your horror comics and you've already read the previous issues, keep up the good work and get yourself a copy. Matter of fact, get two copies. One to read and one to frame because this book is a masterclass in how you do horror comics and the fact the story is woven with elements of truth makes it all the creepier. If you aren't reading this book, you're missing out.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
House of Penance #6

Sep 14, 2016

All in all, I think this was my favourite issue of the series. The art really sells it for me. I think the whole series was done in the right amount of issues and I feel satisfied with the overall story. You should definitely check it out. When you're in your local comic shop, have a flip through and look at the art in this book, even if you haven't been reading it, then maybe consider getting the trade when it comes out. I can't not give this one top marks, haha.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Ian Livingstone's Freeway Fighter #1

Mar 8, 2017

For comic fans reading this, if you like strong female leads, dystopian worlds and badass vehicles, Freeway Fighter is definitely a comic you'll be wanting to pick up. Unfortunately, you're going to have to wait until May 17th, you poor bastards" Even then, there's a good chance your local comic shop will sell out of them before you get there. I'd get down there ASAP and pre-order it if I were you"

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
James Bond: Hammerhead #1

Oct 12, 2016

A good start to the series by this creative team, and a book Bond fans will enjoy. It's pretty strong and looks like it's going to be a great little series. If you are a reader of the ongoing James Bond series, you're going to want to pick this up. If you aren't reading the ongoing and just fancy dipping your toe in the Bond universe, this is your shot. I know I'll be following along.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
James Bond: Hammerhead #2

Nov 9, 2016

Overall, I enjoyed the issue and it has definitely ramped up my interest in seeing what happens next. I was pleasantly surprised with how good the issue was and if you did pick up the first issue, I'm sure you will enjoy this one more, so get down to your local comic shop and check it out for yourself"

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Justice League vs. Suicide Squad #1

Dec 21, 2016

Justice League vs Suicide Squad #1 is great and if you're buying it, you're getting some serious quality for your money here. I recommend you buy it.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Moonshine #1

Sep 13, 2016

It was a bit of a slow start but I think it's going to be special (I promise I haven't read #2 or #3 yet) and if you're a fan of the creative team, you won't want to miss it. Same goes if you're a fan of crime comics, it's well worth picking yourself a copy of the book up just to see what's going down. And here's my little bit, just in case Mr. Azzarello or Image want to quote me on a back cover or social media" Ahem:

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Moonshine #2

Nov 16, 2016

So, there you have it" Moonshine #2. It's better than issue one and I'm going to jump right into issue three as soon as I've uploaded this to Comic Bastards because I need to see what happens next. I can wait a couple of months for issue four surely" If you enjoyed the first issue, you're going to love this one. The creative team are on point and I have a feeling it's only going to get better from here on out.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Moonshine #3

Dec 14, 2016

Brian Azzarello is on top form with his writing here. The issue he's scripted is gritty and his style and vision shines throughout it. It's one of those books that you can feel the awesomeness coming from the pages and with every page turn, you get another wave of emotion that washes over you as the story is unfolding. He's an expert storyteller and this is a great example of why he's one of my favorite writers. The short version would be that it's fucking great issue and you'll enjoy it.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Planet of Daemons #1

Dec 1, 2016

If you're stuck for something to read this week and you like your demons and don't mind people speaking weird, give it a bash.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Raven #1

Sep 21, 2016

I think this is a good start to a mini-series and I'm pretty confident you'll agree with that when you read it. It's nice to see supporting characters like Raven getting their own series, I think it's great that DC are doing it and I'm looking forward to reading the rest. Hell, it's great that they're doing a mini-series full stop. I would like more. As for this one, go grab yourselves a copy this Wednesday and see what you think.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Raven #2

Oct 19, 2016

So, overall I really liked the issue and it's safe to say that I will be seeing this miniseries through to completion. I knew it would pick up after issue one, good stories like this usually do. With what I've read so far, I'd really like to see this creative team transfer to one of DC's Rebirth Titans titles or have DC create a title where they can use Titans characters... Or just make Raven an ongoing, haha. Anyways, that's my review. Go check it out for yourself and hopefully the sales numbers will be high enough to get this team on a different title together or push this series into an ongoing.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Red Dog #1

Sep 2, 2016

It's not your run-of-the-mill sci-fi tale. It might have elements you've seen in other sci-fi stories, but it doesn't feel like that when you read through. It feels fresh, new. It doesn't try to blag your head too much to try and convince you it's science fiction" It just is. It reads clean and easy and is good from the first page to the last. You can't really ask for more.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Red Dog #2

Jan 11, 2017

Another great issue from 451 Media and the team behind Red Dog. It really was a refreshing book and I think I needed it this week to balance me out. If you missed/didn't pick up the first issue of Red Dog, hunt it down and read it. It's been a great series up to this point and it's really, really well done. I highly recommend adding it to your pull list.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Red Dog #3

Mar 8, 2017

As you may have gathered from my review, I don't really have any complaints about anything in this book" It's a series which is definitely in my top five comics I've read so far this year. I'm hoping you're reading this series because if you're not, that's a damn shame. It's been great so far, and I'm sure it will continue to be for the remainder of the series.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Savage Dragon #216

Sep 21, 2016

I'm sure regular readers will be pleased with the issue, the story doesn't seem like it impedes on what is going on in the series and it would be pretty lame of me to give it a bad score based on the fact that I came in expecting a crossover and continuation of the story from Spawn when the issue wasn't that bad without it.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Shadows On The Grave #1

Dec 14, 2016

So, overall, this is a great book and you can see here why Richard Corben is considered one of the best in his field. You're getting a hell of a lot of quality here for the $3.99 price tag and if you're a fan of Corben or just a fan of horror comics and you're looking for something to read, I suggest picking it up today. I think you'll really get a kick out of reading it. I'm already looking forward to seeing what Richard Corben has in store for us with the next issue" I'm sure the quality won't drop.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Shadows On The Grave #2

Jan 11, 2017

I'm fairly certain that the quality of the stories will be maintained, and I will be reading the remaining issues of the series. Richard Corben will continue to entertain me with his creepy tales and I look forward to seeing what he has in store for us next issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Slayer: Repentless #1

Jan 23, 2017

Not the best start but a start all the same. It may pick up in the next issue so I'm not going to complete dismiss it just yet. If you're a Slayer fan then you should probably take a look at it and decide for yourself whether or not you want to collect the full series. It's only three issues long, so it's not a huge investment of time or money if you feel like taking a chance on something a bit different. The choice is completely up to you.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Spawn Kills Everyone (One-Shot) #1

Aug 17, 2016

It was pretty damn hard to write this review because I liked it somuch. I didn't want to ruin it for you before you got the chance to read it. I loved it!When you're in your local comic shop this week, do yourself a favor and pick itup. I'm pretty sure you'll enjoy it, too. I just hope Todd decides to make some more of these one-shots because I know I would like to see more.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Suicide Squad (2016) #1

Aug 17, 2016

Though disappoint at first, I'm still going to say buy it. Read it and make up your own mind. Though I see it as a bit of a false start considering the level of talent involved, I'm hoping there's a bit more story in the second issue that'll takes it up a gear because I really want to follow this book and tell you how great it is later on down the line. Rob Williams does great work. I loved Martian Manhunter. I love his 2000 AD work and I love creator-owned seriesUnfollow. I know he can tell stories, I just don't think he's had a fair chance to get going yet with this title. It's definitely a comic I'll be keeping a close eye on.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles: Universe #1

Aug 31, 2016

I usually end my reviews with a big rant about why you should get the book I just reviewed; I'm not going to here. Go get it and see for yourself. This is a great first issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles: Universe #2

Oct 5, 2016

Anyways, all I'm saying is that $4.99 is a bit pricey for some. Luckily for me, I read this for nothin'! And when I pick it up from my comic shop on Wednesday, I'm only paying cost for it. So regardless of whether it's a good story or not, that might not matter to some people. It might just be too pricey for what it is. Vote with your wallet, eh?

View Issue       View Full Review
2.0
The Assignment #1

Jan 11, 2017

The artwork by Jef is the only decent thing about The Assignment. I liked it, but it isn't enough for me to want to continue reading the series.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
The Beauty #11

Oct 19, 2016

Seriously. Go get The Beauty. All the cool kids are doing it.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
The Belfry (One Shot) #1

Feb 22, 2017

Overall, Belfry is a good book and it's definitely worth checking out when you head down to your local comic shop this week. A must for fans of horror, Gabriel Hardman and the one-shot comic format. If none of that floats your boat, get it on a whim and you're bound to find something you like within its pages. But, if you're like me, you'll probably be left wanting more of it.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
The Goddamned #5

Nov 23, 2016

The delay in the storytelling probably has something to do with it, too, to be honest. I have no desire to wait around for long periods of time to read another arc. In the back of the book it says the next arc is going to start in 2017... There's no solicitation for issue six yet, which means the next arc is fucking time away. I read a lot of books as it is, there's always new ones coming out and by the time the next issue rolls around, I will have completely forgotten about this book.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
The Lost Boys #1

Oct 12, 2016

This might seem/read like a negative review, and I apologize for that. I didn't love it, I didn't hate it either. I was just expecting more from a fan point of view. I'm going to stick with it and see where it goes for sure. I'm hoping I get the next issue and completely change my mind and start to enjoy it. I suppose I'll just have to wait and see. If you're a fan, go and get a copy of TheLost Boys #1, come back here and tell me what you thought of it. For now, I'm off to listen to the soundtrack and maybe ride a dirt bike arounda beach"

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
The Spirit: The Corpse-Makers #1

Feb 1, 2017

So, don't be a palooka, get yourself down to your local comic shop and grab yourself a copy of it. Even if you don't like the story he's written, Francavilla's art is enough of a reason to have a flip through it. You might just find you like it.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Think Tank (2017) #1

Mar 1, 2017

If you've been reading Think Tank from the beginning, this is business as usual. What I mean by that is: this is a fucking awesome book and a continuation of a story that's worth following, so get your ass to your local shop and buy it.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Tokyo Ghost #10

Aug 31, 2016

If you haven't read any of Tokyo Ghost and you've just landed here out of curiosity, give your local comic book retailer this code (JAN160652) for the first trade, tell 'em to order it for you, thank me later.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Unfollow #13

Nov 2, 2016

If you've been following along at home, you're going to like this issue of Unfollow. If you haven't, grab the trades or wait for that TV show they're doing"

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Vampirella (2017) #0

Feb 1, 2017

Overall, I think there's enough here to justify spending $.25 on it. If you don't like the character you can't really complain about taking a chance on the book for the price that it is and you might possibly want to continue reading it. I think I will give it a few more issues, maybe three or so, just to see if I can get into it.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Zombie! The Adventure is Yours! #1

Dec 7, 2016

Overall, Zombie! The Adventure is Yours! is really fun to play and clearly, super easy for complete novices to pick up and play. I've proven that. I had a good time doing it, too. The only thing I will say and I'll leave you with this: you're going to want to buy a physical copy of it from your local comic book shop because if you buy it digitally, you're going to have a bad time. Heed these words and get out there into the zombie apocalypse!

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for
the Week of...

March

More