Daniel Vlasaty's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Comic Bastards Reviews: 40
8.3Avg. Review Rating

10
A Land Called Tarot #1

Feb 13, 2017

This book is tricky and complex and frustrating at times but it works if you just let yourself get lost in this amazing world Bertrand has created.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
All Time Comics: Crime Destroyer #1

Mar 6, 2017

Crime Destroyer is a weird book. It's got a great look and feel to it, but it's also one I can't really figure out. I'm not sure if it's a serious book or if it's all a joke. But I also don't know if it matters. I had fun while reading it, even while I was shaking my head at the over-the-top ridiculous parts. It's silly and strange and I know that there's nothing ground-breaking over even original happening here, but that also doesn't matter.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Batman (2016) #15

Jan 18, 2017

And for the art: I'm not familiar with Mitch Gerads. But the art was more bad than good. It was inconsistent at best.I didn't hate this issue. Like I said, there were maybe three to four pages of actual story here and those were decent, but overall, this issue missed the mark for me.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Batman (2016) #16

Feb 1, 2017

I stand by my review of Batman #15, but this issue really did bring it back around for me. I'm excited to see where the story goes with the rest of the I Am Bane story arc.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Batman (2016) #17

Feb 20, 2017

I'm really excited to see where King takes this book next issue. I'm digging the psychological thriller vibe of it. The darkness of it. Don't get me wrong, Batman's usually pretty dark and brooding, but it's nice to get a little bit of his human side too. To remind us that he's just a man under that cape and cowl.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Batman (2016) #18

Mar 1, 2017

I would imagine that there are still two issues left in this story line and I have no idea where they are going to take us. But I imagine that they will be action-packed and psychologically draining and a wild ride. I'm excited (as I always say) to see where King and Finch go with this.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Batwoman: Rebirth #1

Feb 15, 2017

I am excited to check out the rest of Batwoman's series (and I'll probably even go back, now, and read some of her past stuff), but I would say that if you're super caught up on what she's been up to, you could probably skip this issue and be totally fine when the next one comes out.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Black Cloud #1

Apr 5, 2017

Usually, I don't get down with fantasy books. But like I said before, I think Black Cloud is something really special. It is like nothing else I've ever read before. It's a book that expects things from the reader. There will be no hand-holding here. Which is something I think can turn a few readers off; having to do some of the work themselves when it comes to figuring out the story. I think this was a really smart first issue that focused more on establishing an emotional connection between the reader and the protagonist. It was very much more interested in the "who" and less so the "what," "why," and "how."

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Black Hammer #9

May 24, 2017

Overall Black Hammer has consistently been one of the better books coming out each month. And with this issue, I feel like it's taken that up a notch. I'm not sure what's in store for the characters in this book in the coming issues but there was some heavy foreshadowing in this issue, with Colonel Weird and the Para-Zone, with his being able to see past, present, and future all at once. I love this book and I hope David Rubin comes back to its pages to do the art more and more.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Coady & The Creepies #1

Mar 15, 2017

I keep going back to the word fun in this review. And that's what I thought this book was. It was just fun. I like fun things. I like having fun. And even if this isn't something I'd normally read, who gives a shit? I enjoyed this book and have a feeling I will continue to do so in the next few issues.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Curse Words #3

Mar 22, 2017

There's a lot going on in Curse Words. Good writing and great art. It's a fun book that I now look forward to with every new release. My one fear is that it won't be able to carry on this level of good-ness for too long. That what is so fresh and fun now will get old and tired after some time. I wonder how long it will be until the shtick wears off, if it ever does.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Curse Words #5

May 17, 2017

Listen, I know Curse Words isn't reinventing the wheel here or anything. There is nothing outright groundbreaking happening in this book. But it's a fun read and a needed bit of absurd escapism. I, for one, am excited to see where this thing goes in the next arc. I think it will be nice to be able to explore this world through other characters, which seems to be where the next arc is heading. Maybe. Hopefully. I like Wizord as a character but he's kind of a one trick pony. His story keeps recycling itself. He loses his powers, he finds more magic to absorb, he wins the fight. How long can this continue to carry the book. We shall see, I guess.

View Issue       View Full Review
2.0
Dante (One Shot) #1

Jan 25, 2017

I wanted to like this book. I really did. I generally want to like everything I read or watch or listen to. I don't like not liking things. But Dante just wasn't doing it for me.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Deadly Class #27

Mar 29, 2017

I know it's obvious that I geek-out hard about this book. I've never hidden the fact that it's my favorite comic book, maybe of all time. I think what initially got me was the angsty, punk rock feel of the earlier volumes. And now I'm just hooked. This is one book that I'm always just SUPER excited about. Seriously, though, if you haven't started to read it what the fuck are you waiting for!?

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Eternal Empire #1

May 3, 2017

I wanted to like Eternal Empire more than I did. I didn't hate it, but I found my mind wandering while I was reading. I found myself not caring one way or the other what was happening on the page in front of me. But I will say that this was also a problem for me while reading the first issue of Vaughn and Luna's previous collaboration, Alex + Ada, which I ended up liking quite a bit. That book was slow and drawn-out, and I have a feeling that this may be the case for Eternal Empire as well. So, my score for this review might seem low, but I am simply reviewing this individual issue, not the series as a whole, or its potential to become something I actually end up enjoying. I'm going to go ahead and call this a wait and see book.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Grass Kings #1

Mar 8, 2017

Grass Kings is a book that came out of nowhere for me. Maybe I missed the announcements or maybe I just don't pay enough attention. But I was totally caught off guard with this book. I am intrigued to see where this story is going to go. I predict that it will be a good one. There's a good mystery surrounding the story, what we are given in the last page of issue #1. There's a great creative team behind it. Grass Kings has a lot going for it. And I am ready to take it all in.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Grass Kings #2

Apr 9, 2017

Grass Kings has a lot going for it: great, realistic characters, an interesting setting, mystery and conflict already built in, with more and more being added to it with every new page. And not to mention an excellent creative team. It's a powerful book. It's slow and dark and moody, like any good noir story. I've said this a lot this year, about a lot of the books I review, but I truly believe that this is one of the better comic books coming out right now. Maybe not the best, but pretty goddamn close.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Grrl Scouts: Magic Socks #1

May 17, 2017

I love when I find a book that comes out of nowhere, a book that I have no concept of before I start reading. I feel like I've been getting more and more of them recently, especially from Image. They are consistently putting out the kind of books I gravitate toward, and Grrl Scouts: Magic Socks is definitely another one of them. I thoroughly enjoyed this book and will now seek out more of Mahfood's work.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Hadrian's Wall #5

Mar 29, 2017

This book blends some of my favorite things together. Science fiction and crime and drugs. I am so happy that Hadrian's Wall is back. I've really been enjoying it so far and I missed it while it wasn't coming out these past few months. I'm excited to see where the story goes now that we've been introduced to more characters and ideas and conflicts.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Kill Or Be Killed #5

Jan 18, 2017

I'll let it play out, though. I have faith in the creative team behind the book.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Kill Or Be Killed #6

Feb 15, 2017

I'm excited to see where Brubaker takes this series in the coming issues. I know it's going to be good, but then again it's always good with this creative team. I just wish he'd maybe cool it a little bit with the heavy narration.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Kill Or Be Killed #7

Mar 15, 2017

I want to say again that I love this book. And even though I might not have been super into this issue, I still though it was interesting to get more background on Kira. Although, I do have a fear that this was kind of a throwaway issue. I'm not really sure how all of that back and forth with Kira and her therapist is going to connect to the overall story. My thinking is that it probably isn't going to.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Loose Ends (2017) #1

Jan 25, 2017

Overall, I thought this was a solid first issue and the only downside that I can think of right now is that there are only going to be four issues.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Loose Ends (2017) #2

Feb 22, 2017

I am really interested and excited to see where this story takes us in the next/final two issues. There's a lot of build-up, told across two or three storylines, that I'm sure it's going to bloody and violent and written and drawn beautifully. This book might have originally come out in 2011 but with this re-release it's high on my list for best of the year.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Loose Ends (2017) #3

Mar 22, 2017

Loose Ends is a lot of things. It's a crime story. It's a junkie story. It's a love story. It's the story of friendships and double crosses and the rush of chasing a fast payday. It's a great book that feels destined for a dark and gritty film adaptation. It's quite possible the best book on the shelves right now and definitely worth checking out if you're tired of the same old stuff.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Loose Ends (2017) #4

Apr 26, 2017

I hate to say that issue kind of missed the mark for me. It was just too hurried and rushed. And the end result was messy and confusing and slightly anti-climactic. I'm not sure why Latour and Brunner limited themselves to only four issues. Even if they gave themselves only two more issues I think Loose Ends could have been something great as opposed to just something okay or good enough. With another issue or two they could have spent more time developing the characters and setting the stage for the explosive and violent end. We could have spent some more time with Flynn to figure out what the fuck his deal was. We could have actually met Batista. We could have learned so much more, and in turn, maybe I would have enjoyed it a little more. The art definitely saved this book for me, but I'm sad to say that issue #4 of Loose Ends was one of the biggest let-downs for me this year"so far.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Old Guard #1

Feb 22, 2017

This book has a solid idea and I'll be interested in seeing how it plays out over the next few issues. I'll assume that the second issue will have some more explanations on what's going on with these characters and their immortality. I sure hope that it does because this first issue left me wanting more. More from the story as well as more from the art.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Paper Girls #11

Feb 8, 2017

But yeah, I loved this issue. I think it does a great job of setting the tone for the third volume. Brian K. Vaughan is one of my favorites, and with Cliff Chiang and Matt Wilson backing him it's safe to say that this might be one of the best overall books coming out now. And it's kind of comforting to know that I never know what the hell I am getting into when I crack open an issue of Paper Girls.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Red Line #1

Mar 8, 2017

I get what this book is trying to be. I do. But it just fell short a little short of that for me. There's some potential here and I think it's possible to turn the story around. I just think this was a weak first issue. I needed something to keep my mind from wandering while reading. I needed something to latch onto. I needed a character to relate to and root for. But I didn't find any of that here.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Redneck #1

Apr 19, 2017

Even though I don't tend to like vampire stories, I enjoyed the modern twist on this one. I liked seeing the monsters hiding out from the humans, instead of the other way around. I liked that the vampires were Texans with deep southern roots and history. I like Donny Cates as a storyteller. There's a lot to like in Redneck, and I am just glad I gave the book a chance to win me over. So, go ahead, crack open a frosty Bloodweiser and learn a thing or two about them good ol' Bowman boys and that time they got on the wrong side of mean old Father Landry.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Redneck #2

May 24, 2017

It's pretty obvious that I'm really digging this book. It's refreshing. Especially in the tired vampire subgenre. I like violence as much as the next guy. But it can't just be violence for the sake of violence. It has to mean something. There has to be something at stake, something gained or lost in the violence. And Redneck has all of that, the perfect blend of it. Donny Cates is a killing it right now, and he's got a solid creative team backing him on Redneck. This book is the perfect cross between Southern Bastards and horror. It's kind of weird to me that I'm always finding myself drawn to these southern crime/fantasy/horror stories when I've never been to the south, don't know anyone that hails from those parts, and really have no desire to ever go to Texas. I don't really know what that has to do with anything. But it's true.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Regression #1

May 10, 2017

Regression came out of nowhere for me. I remember seeing all the previews and thinking it was just another throw-away horror book. I remember joking with the guys I used to work with at the comic book store about how it's just another Cullen Bunn book, and at that time it seemed like Cullen Bunn was writing just about every other book we had on the shelves. But I'll admit that I was wrong, that Regression is more than just a simple throw-away horror comic. I think this book will go places and some of them will not be pretty. They'll look nice, because of the great art and colors, but they'll be dark and fucked up and full of death and blood and bugs. So fucking many bugs.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Rock Candy Mountain #1

Apr 5, 2017

I am interested in seeing where Sparks takes us with this book. I really enjoyed this first issue and have high hopes for the rest of the series. I love over-the-top silly/stupid/ridiculous stories. And also stories that have a history, like there is more going on than just what we're seeing right there on the page. That these characters exist outside of the book. That there's more life to this world. And Rock Candy Mountain has all that. And so much more.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Rock Candy Mountain #2

May 10, 2017

Seriously though, Rock Candy Mountain is just great. I was so excited to see it coming out this week and I already can't wait for the next issue. If you enjoyed the first issue, which I'm sure you did, then you know what you're getting into here. I read a lot of comics, like an insane amount, really, and this one might just be one of the most fun books right now. And let's be honest here, part of me is hoping that Hundred Cat is the best damn cat burglar in the county because he secretly works with an army of one hundred cats to pulls off his heists.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Southern Bastards #16

Jan 12, 2017

This issue read like a great piece of violent crime fiction, quick and sharp with no added fluff. It probably only took me about 15 minutes to read the entire issue. But even though it's a fast read, it still feels like a BIG issue. Like it's a turning point for Coach Boss. But with his reputation and the reputation of his team on the line, we all know there's only one way this thing is going to play out.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Spencer & Locke #1

Apr 12, 2017

I kind of feel like I've been a little hard on Spencer & Locke in this review. (But, I guess, isn't that what reviews are supposed to be?) What I mean to say is that I actually did like this it. I think it has a lot of things working for it, and if you've read my other reviews you'll know that my reading tastes usually lean toward the darker and grittier side. I just have serious concerns about this book being able to maintain itself. I feel like it's kind of kitschy, kind of like a joke that's taking itself a little too seriously. Like it's toeing the line between too many things. Does it stay on the dark and gritty side of the line, or does it stumble across the line into comedy territory? Does it matter? I don't know. I think issue #2 is going to really set the tone for Spencer and Locke as a series.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Street Angel After School Kung Fu Special #1

Apr 26, 2017

I like going into a comic book completely blind sometimes. It's refreshing to know next to nothing about a book or the characters within and just enjoy the ride. And that's what I did with Street Angel: After School Kung Fu Special. This isn't a deep story or a life-changing story, but it's fun and interesting and exciting.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Dregs #1

Jan 25, 2017

For now, I'll sit here eagerly awaiting issue 2 and just hope (like some of their other books) it's not all that super delayed.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Dregs #2

Mar 1, 2017

Honestly, I can't say enough good things about this book. It's like nothing I've ever read before. I'd say it's a tour-de-force but that would make me a douchebag. So, I'll just say that reading The Dregs is an experience. And I will forever recommend this book to every single person in the history of the world.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Dregs #3

May 3, 2017

The Dregs has always resonated strongly with me, as you'll know if you've read my reviews of the previous issues. And this issue is no different. It's just a solid story with a lot of layers. When I first read this issue, I was left wanting more, but as I sat here thinking about it for a while, I think it's great. I don't have any complaints about it, or The Dregs, at all. Except maybe the fact that there is only one issue left.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for
the Week of...

More