Daniel Vlasaty's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Comic Bastards Reviews: 25
8.2Avg. Review Rating

10
A Land Called Tarot #1

Feb 13, 2017

This book is tricky and complex and frustrating at times but it works if you just let yourself get lost in this amazing world Bertrand has created.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
All Time Comics: Crime Destroyer #1

Mar 6, 2017

Crime Destroyer is a weird book. It's got a great look and feel to it, but it's also one I can't really figure out. I'm not sure if it's a serious book or if it's all a joke. But I also don't know if it matters. I had fun while reading it, even while I was shaking my head at the over-the-top ridiculous parts. It's silly and strange and I know that there's nothing ground-breaking over even original happening here, but that also doesn't matter.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Batman (2016) #15

Jan 18, 2017

And for the art: I'm not familiar with Mitch Gerads. But the art was more bad than good. It was inconsistent at best.I didn't hate this issue. Like I said, there were maybe three to four pages of actual story here and those were decent, but overall, this issue missed the mark for me.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Batman (2016) #16

Feb 1, 2017

I stand by my review of Batman #15, but this issue really did bring it back around for me. I'm excited to see where the story goes with the rest of the I Am Bane story arc.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Batman (2016) #17

Feb 20, 2017

I'm really excited to see where King takes this book next issue. I'm digging the psychological thriller vibe of it. The darkness of it. Don't get me wrong, Batman's usually pretty dark and brooding, but it's nice to get a little bit of his human side too. To remind us that he's just a man under that cape and cowl.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Batman (2016) #18

Mar 1, 2017

I would imagine that there are still two issues left in this story line and I have no idea where they are going to take us. But I imagine that they will be action-packed and psychologically draining and a wild ride. I'm excited (as I always say) to see where King and Finch go with this.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Batwoman: Rebirth #1

Feb 15, 2017

I am excited to check out the rest of Batwoman's series (and I'll probably even go back, now, and read some of her past stuff), but I would say that if you're super caught up on what she's been up to, you could probably skip this issue and be totally fine when the next one comes out.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Coady & The Creepies #1

Mar 15, 2017

I keep going back to the word fun in this review. And that's what I thought this book was. It was just fun. I like fun things. I like having fun. And even if this isn't something I'd normally read, who gives a shit? I enjoyed this book and have a feeling I will continue to do so in the next few issues.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Curse Words #3

Mar 22, 2017

There's a lot going on in Curse Words. Good writing and great art. It's a fun book that I now look forward to with every new release. My one fear is that it won't be able to carry on this level of good-ness for too long. That what is so fresh and fun now will get old and tired after some time. I wonder how long it will be until the shtick wears off, if it ever does.

View Issue       View Full Review
2.0
Dante (One Shot) #1

Jan 25, 2017

I wanted to like this book. I really did. I generally want to like everything I read or watch or listen to. I don't like not liking things. But Dante just wasn't doing it for me.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Deadly Class #27

Mar 29, 2017

I know it's obvious that I geek-out hard about this book. I've never hidden the fact that it's my favorite comic book, maybe of all time. I think what initially got me was the angsty, punk rock feel of the earlier volumes. And now I'm just hooked. This is one book that I'm always just SUPER excited about. Seriously, though, if you haven't started to read it what the fuck are you waiting for!?

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Grass Kings #1

Mar 8, 2017

Grass Kings is a book that came out of nowhere for me. Maybe I missed the announcements or maybe I just don't pay enough attention. But I was totally caught off guard with this book. I am intrigued to see where this story is going to go. I predict that it will be a good one. There's a good mystery surrounding the story, what we are given in the last page of issue #1. There's a great creative team behind it. Grass Kings has a lot going for it. And I am ready to take it all in.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Hadrian's Wall #5

Mar 29, 2017

This book blends some of my favorite things together. Science fiction and crime and drugs. I am so happy that Hadrian's Wall is back. I've really been enjoying it so far and I missed it while it wasn't coming out these past few months. I'm excited to see where the story goes now that we've been introduced to more characters and ideas and conflicts.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Kill Or Be Killed #5

Jan 18, 2017

I'll let it play out, though. I have faith in the creative team behind the book.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Kill Or Be Killed #6

Feb 15, 2017

I'm excited to see where Brubaker takes this series in the coming issues. I know it's going to be good, but then again it's always good with this creative team. I just wish he'd maybe cool it a little bit with the heavy narration.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Kill Or Be Killed #7

Mar 15, 2017

I want to say again that I love this book. And even though I might not have been super into this issue, I still though it was interesting to get more background on Kira. Although, I do have a fear that this was kind of a throwaway issue. I'm not really sure how all of that back and forth with Kira and her therapist is going to connect to the overall story. My thinking is that it probably isn't going to.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Loose Ends (2017) #1

Jan 25, 2017

Overall, I thought this was a solid first issue and the only downside that I can think of right now is that there are only going to be four issues.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Loose Ends (2017) #2

Feb 22, 2017

I am really interested and excited to see where this story takes us in the next/final two issues. There's a lot of build-up, told across two or three storylines, that I'm sure it's going to bloody and violent and written and drawn beautifully. This book might have originally come out in 2011 but with this re-release it's high on my list for best of the year.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Loose Ends (2017) #3

Mar 22, 2017

Loose Ends is a lot of things. It's a crime story. It's a junkie story. It's a love story. It's the story of friendships and double crosses and the rush of chasing a fast payday. It's a great book that feels destined for a dark and gritty film adaptation. It's quite possible the best book on the shelves right now and definitely worth checking out if you're tired of the same old stuff.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Old Guard #1

Feb 22, 2017

This book has a solid idea and I'll be interested in seeing how it plays out over the next few issues. I'll assume that the second issue will have some more explanations on what's going on with these characters and their immortality. I sure hope that it does because this first issue left me wanting more. More from the story as well as more from the art.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Paper Girls #11

Feb 8, 2017

But yeah, I loved this issue. I think it does a great job of setting the tone for the third volume. Brian K. Vaughan is one of my favorites, and with Cliff Chiang and Matt Wilson backing him it's safe to say that this might be one of the best overall books coming out now. And it's kind of comforting to know that I never know what the hell I am getting into when I crack open an issue of Paper Girls.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Red Line #1

Mar 8, 2017

I get what this book is trying to be. I do. But it just fell short a little short of that for me. There's some potential here and I think it's possible to turn the story around. I just think this was a weak first issue. I needed something to keep my mind from wandering while reading. I needed something to latch onto. I needed a character to relate to and root for. But I didn't find any of that here.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Southern Bastards #16

Jan 12, 2017

This issue read like a great piece of violent crime fiction, quick and sharp with no added fluff. It probably only took me about 15 minutes to read the entire issue. But even though it's a fast read, it still feels like a BIG issue. Like it's a turning point for Coach Boss. But with his reputation and the reputation of his team on the line, we all know there's only one way this thing is going to play out.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Dregs #1

Jan 25, 2017

For now, I'll sit here eagerly awaiting issue 2 and just hope (like some of their other books) it's not all that super delayed.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Dregs #2

Mar 1, 2017

Honestly, I can't say enough good things about this book. It's like nothing I've ever read before. I'd say it's a tour-de-force but that would make me a douchebag. So, I'll just say that reading The Dregs is an experience. And I will forever recommend this book to every single person in the history of the world.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for
the Week of...

March

More