Derek McNeil's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: DC Comics News Reviews: 122
7.9Avg. Review Rating

8.0
Action Comics (2016) #985

Aug 10, 2017

All in all a fun issue. I hope we get to see more of these team-ups of Superman and Lex Luthor. It adds a fascinating level of complexity to the relationship between Superman and his one time arch-foe.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
All-Star Batman #1

Aug 10, 2016

Definitely a strong start to a new series. There's a lot packed in this issue, but it all fits together to tell a compelling story. I can't wait to see where Batman and Two-Face's journey takes us.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
All-Star Batman #2

Sep 14, 2016

The main story is action-packed and has me eagerly awaiting the next installment. The backup story is also starting to pick up steam and hopefully will keep pace with the main feature as it continues.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
All-Star Batman #3

Oct 12, 2016

The main story is another exciting and action-packed chapter in Bruce's quest to get Harvey cured, and has me eagerly waiting for next month's installment. The backup story is getting interesting too, but still isn't as engaging as the main feature.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
All-Star Batman #5

Dec 28, 2016

It was a hell of a ride, and an interesting examination of the relationship between Batman and Two-Face. It also was interesting to see a Batman road trip story rather than the typical tale set wholly in Gotham.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
All-Star Batman #6

Jan 11, 2017

The title continues to hold my interest. Although it seems that Batman has thwarted Freeze's scheme, I am sure that there is more to the story yet. And I am eager to see how Duke will escape death from the explosion he and Batman have triggered.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
All-Star Batman #7

Feb 8, 2017

Despite a weak chapter in the backup storyline, the main story was strong and deepened the mystery of this strike force that is attacking Batman's villains.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
All-Star Batman #8

Mar 15, 2017

The main story was great as always, and the backup storyline is back on track. Both stories have ramped up the tension as they head into their finales. We readers are in for a treat.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
All-Star Batman #9

Apr 19, 2017

The main story is a fitting conclusion to the "Ends of the Earth" story arc, bringing the story to an enjoyable and satisfying conclusion. However, I am ambivalent about the backup story. I don't quite understand what's going on with Duke Thomas, however I am hopeful that things will clear up as his story continues.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
All-Star Batman #11

Jun 21, 2017

This issue provides a unique look at Alfred's past contrasted against Batman's present. This is shaping up to be a great Batman story. The backup story seems a bit less exciting, but still is a solid story.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
All-Star Batman #12

Jul 26, 2017

I am loving the main story and its unique focus on the relationship between Bruce and Alfred. The backup story still has potential, but I feel it made a major misstep in its portrayal of Batman's abilities as a crime fighter.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Astro City (2013) #40

Oct 19, 2016

After more than twenty years, Busiek is still bringing us great stories of real human drama set in a surreal world. This issue is a great example of what sets Astro City apart from the other superhero books.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Batman (2016) Annual #1

Nov 30, 2016

Some readers may find Batman being used in feel-good Christmas tales to be somewhat sappy, but I find it a refreshing break from the bleakness that Batman is typically faced with. Maybe the stories are a little weaker story wise than the typical Batman fare, but it's nice to see that even the Batman gets a break from the doom and gloom once in a while.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Batman Beyond (2015) #16

Sep 7, 2016

The issue certainly fulfilled its function of wrapping up the story and setting the stage for the relaunch under the Rebirth banner.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Batman Beyond (2016) #1

Oct 28, 2016

A solid issue, carrying on the strong start of the Rebirth special. It will be interesting to see how Terrys attempt at bringing the Jokerz down from the inside progresses.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Batman Beyond (2016) #2

Nov 23, 2016

It's a fun story, with no drop in momentum from the Rebirth special. I look forward to seeing more of Terry's portrayal of Trey Malone.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Batman Beyond (2016) #3

Dec 28, 2016

The story is still going strong, and the revelation that Bruce is still alive is an unexpected bombshell. The title was doing okay without him, but his return would make it even better.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Batman Beyond (2016) #4

Jan 25, 2017

As is typical with the Rebirth titles, we get a strong mix of the classic and the new in this issue. Terry has returned as Batman, but he has to contend with more people knowing his secret identity. Even the costume is a mix of old and new. So far, this seems to be a winning recipe for DC.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Batman Beyond (2016) #5

Feb 22, 2017

Batman Beyond is looking alot like the classic version again now that both Terry and Bruce are back, and the return of the Joker certainly promises exciting stories to come.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Batman Beyond (2016) #7

Apr 26, 2017

Even though Batman Beyond doesn't seem overtly connected to the Rebirth storyline, it seems to be exemplifying the Rebirth ethos. It is so far proving to be one of DC's better titles.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Batman Beyond (2016) #8

May 24, 2017

This is another shocker in a sequence of surprising returns. Jurgens certainly knows how to throw a curve at his readers. I'm eager to see what else he's got up his sleeve.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Batman Beyond (2016) #9

Jun 29, 2017

Another good issue in this great series. Definitely give it a read if you haven't already.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Batman Beyond (2016) #10

Jul 26, 2017

The title feels like a true continuation of the cartoon. I have to say that bringing Bruce back has revitalized the series.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Batman Beyond: Rebirth #1

Sep 28, 2016

This is a solid setup for the upcoming new series. It recaps Terry's origin and sets up the new status quo. DC has once again succeeded in returning classic elements to the current continuity of the character.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Batwoman: Rebirth #1

Feb 15, 2017

A solid start for the return of Batwoman's solo title. It reaffirms that Batwoman is still the same character that fans are familiar with from her previous two series, but also shows that she will be taken in new directions rather than just retreading old ground.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Blue Beetle (2016) #1

Sep 28, 2016

DC seems to be having success after success with the Rebirth titles and Blue Beetle is no exception. Just as with the other books, we get the best of the classic and the New 52, as embodied by the team of Ted and Jaime.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Blue Beetle (2016) #2

Oct 28, 2016

This is another fun issue in DCs Rebirth line. DCs Rebirth philosophy is working well with Blue Beetle, mixing together the best of the Ted Kord and Jaime Reyes eras of Blue Beetle history.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Blue Beetle (2016) #3

Nov 23, 2016

This issue raises a lot of questions, but gives few answers. This in itself is not a bad thing, as it's raising suspense, which plays against the promise of next issue's revelations. I eagerly look forward to seeing what that issue will tell us about Jaime and Ted.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Blue Beetle (2016) #4

Dec 28, 2016

This issue was a fun look at the DC's Blue Beetle history, but it still leaves a lot unsaid. I hope this is merely an appetizer and that DC is planning on giving us the full story soon.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Blue Beetle (2016) #5

Jan 25, 2017

At first, I didn't think this would be one of my favourite series, but I should have realized that with Giffen involved, that it would be something special. Lesson learned.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Blue Beetle (2016) #6

Feb 22, 2017

The action is hitting high gear now, and I eagerly await to see next issues confrontation with Doctor Fate. This title holds some of Rebirth's most tantalizing secrets, and it's a pleasure to scour each issue for more hints.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Blue Beetle (2016) #7

Mar 22, 2017

High powered guest stars, Rebirth hints, and tons of action " there's not much more you could wish for.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Blue Beetle (2016) #8

Apr 26, 2017

This title just keeps getting better and better. I was never terribly excited about Jaime's adventures in the pre-Flashpoint and New 52 runs of Blue Beetle, but the Rebirth run is one of my favourite titles.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Blue Beetle (2016) #9

May 24, 2017

Jaime Reyes as the Blue Beetle has generally been well received, but this title has added an element the title lacked: a sense of legacy. Plus, many readers bemoaned the loss of Ted Kord. This title truly gives us the best of both worlds by giving us both Jaime and Ted, and they work together better as a team than they do as solo heroes.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Blue Beetle (2016) #10

Jun 29, 2017

I'll admit that I found the previous Blue Beetle titles a bit boring, but this title is anything but. Giffen and DeMatteis have made Blue Beetle an interesting and exciting character again. As such, it definitely fulfills the Rebirth mandate to make reading DC's comics fun again.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Blue Beetle (2016) #11

Jul 27, 2017

I hope the rumours of Blue Beetle's cancellation aren't true, as I feel this title is just starting to hit its stride. Here's a suggestion for the DC: take a cue from Green Lanterns and change the title to Blue Beetles with both Ted and Jaime as a duo.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Blue Beetle: Rebirth #1

Aug 24, 2016

This issue gives us a fun and exciting first look at Jaime and Ted's adventures. If Giffen and Kolins can maintain the quality shown here, then Blue Beetle will be another success for DC's Rebirth initiative.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Doctor Fate #16

Sep 21, 2016

This was a great issue that cements Khalid's place in the DC Universe as Doctor Fate. If it had been the final issue, it would have served as a fine send off.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Doctor Fate #17

Oct 28, 2016

This is an engaging story, and leaves me waiting to see how its resolved next issue. Also, I will be eagerly waiting to see how Khalids status quo will be left as he moves towards the Rebirth era.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Doctor Fate #18

Nov 16, 2016

This is a solid finale to the current adventures of Khalid Nassour as Doctor Fate, but it leaves us with a lot of questions that hopefully will be answered soon elsewhere in the DC Universe.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Flash (2016) #2

Jul 13, 2016

Overall a solid issue that sets up the challenges that Barry will be facing in the months ahead.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Flash (2016) #3

Jul 27, 2016

Not only is this a solid story in itself, we are starting to see the Flash returning to the core characteristics that make him great: honesty, decency, optimism, and the pure joy he has in helping people both as a superhero and as a police scientist.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Flash (2016) #4

Aug 10, 2016

The Rebirth ethos is evident inthis issue, even if the events are tangential to the Rebirth storyline " not just in Barry's costume, but a generally more upbeat tone. Barry is at his core one of DC's more upbeat and optimistic characters, and his return to that status is refreshing.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Flash (2016) #5

Aug 24, 2016

This issue continues the good work that has been done in this title so far. The Flash is definitely one of the standout titles in DC's Rebirth line.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Flash (2016) #6

Sep 14, 2016

This was a great issue. The revelation of Godspeed's identity is surprising, but fits the way the character has been portrayed since his introduction. I love that we get a few more hints about DC Rebirth. Keep them coming, DC!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Flash (2016) #7

Sep 28, 2016

This series continues to impress, and admirably sets up the upcoming finale of this first arc. Godspeed has brought Barry to a pretty low point, but already Barry is recovering and ready to enter the final round against Godspeed.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Flash (2016) #8

Oct 12, 2016

I was blown away by this issue. We gota satisfying conclusion to the Godspeed saga, the debut of the new Kid Flash, some nostalgic touches, and a reminder that more exploration in the Rebirth mystery is coming soon.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Flash (2016) #9

Oct 28, 2016

An amazing issue that has delivered a lot of items that Ive been waiting for: the meeting of the former and current Kid Flashes, more Rebirth hints, and the promised return of the Golden Age Flash. I could hardly ask for anything more from a single regular issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Flash (2016) #11

Nov 23, 2016

It's clear with this issue thatTheFlash is central to the Rebirth storyline. Not only do we get some hints at the possible return of the Justice Society, but the idea of Barry as a beacon of hope and optimism is reflective of his classic role in the DC Universe. Reaffirming this idea, brings the character back to his core, which is the stated mission of the Rebirth storyline.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Flash (2016) #12

Dec 14, 2016

Once again, we see that DC is reclaiming a lot of the hope and optimism that is at the core of Barry Allen. Barry has had to go through a lot of tragedy, but at the core he's a bright and hopeful character. This reflects the central theme of Rebirth which is seeking to do the same for the DCU in general.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Flash (2016) #13

Dec 28, 2016

This issue is a very sweet Christmas storythat allows us a bit of a breather from the heavy action of the first few months of the series. Also, it allows some of the basic optimism of the title character to shine through. And we get to see these two characters move closer to their destiny to be together.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Flash (2016) #14

Jan 11, 2017

A veryenjoyable issue. Once again, this title follows the Rebirth ethos of reminding us of DC's past, while moving the story forward in a new direction.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Flash (2016) #15

Jan 25, 2017

The return of the Rogues does a lot to make the book feel like the classic comics. Joshua Williamson has done a great job of bringing the Flash back to his classic roots, and pitting him against the Rogues takes this even further.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Flash (2016) #16

Feb 8, 2017

Seeing Barry in action against the Rogues hearkens back to the classic days of the silver and bronze age stories. Williamson's take on the Flash gives me the same thrill I had when I would read The Flash as a kid in the 70s.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Flash (2016) #17

Feb 26, 2017

Once again, we see DC's Rebirth ethos of bringing back the classic while moving forward playout. This issue makes it clear that the Rogues, who are staple Flash villains, have returned as a major thorn in the Flash's side, but that they are now branching out into the deeper and darker world of organized crime. This should make for some interesting challenges for the Flash to overcome

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Flash (2016) #18

Mar 8, 2017

The inclusion of Captain Boomerang hearkens back to the classic silver age stories where Barry battled him. But Boomerang's status as a member of the Suicide Squad is being built upon, instead of being retconned away. This is keeping in line with the DC Rebirth ethos of recapturing the classic feel, but keeping the story moving forward.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Flash (2016) #19

Mar 22, 2017

A great issue with an important turning point in the relationship between the Flash and his protg. Add to this a classic Flash villain and the setup for the upcoming Flash/Batman crossover, and you have the recipe for a truly memorable Flash story.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Flash (2016) #20

Apr 12, 2017

This issue showcased Barry and Iris' relationship, and gave us a chance to see Iris shine as an investigative reporter. Although Barry may be headed for some dark days soon, he remains one of the brightest characters in the DC Universe.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Flash (2016) #21

Apr 26, 2017

DC is trying hard to reconnect with longtime fans that may have been disenchanted with DC over the New 52 reboot. While there was much I liked about the New 52, I much preferred the pre-Flashpoint DCU. But between "The Button" and "Superman Reborn," this has been an amazing month for DC Fans. For the first time in years, reading comics seem as fun and exciting as it did when I was a kid.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Flash (2016) #22

May 17, 2017

My mind was blown by this issue. After I read it, I just had to sit and absorb it for about an hour before I could even start reviewing it. If this is indicative of where the Rebirth and Doomsday Clock storylines are headed, then I am reassured that the DCU is in good hands.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Flash (2016) #23

May 31, 2017

The Flash continues to be one of my favourite titles, especially with the increased drama as Barry balances keeping Iris safe by hiding his secret life against his desire to be open and honest with her. Also, I will be eager to see how Wally fares in his first solo encounter against the Reverse-Flash, who is one of Barry's deadliest villains.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Flash (2016) #24

Jun 14, 2017

It's becoming clearer that both The Flash and Zoom figure prominently in the Rebirth mystery. Will Zoom's memories of the pre-Flashpoint universe be key in restoring some of that history? The Flash continues to be a cornerstone of the Rebirth saga.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Flash (2016) #25

Jun 29, 2017

The Flash remains one of my favourite Rebirth titles. It also is one of the core titles to watch for hints at the overarching Rebirth story. I eagerly await each new issue so I can dive right into Barry's adventures as the Flash.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Flash (2016) #26

Jul 12, 2017

The Flash is really starting to feel like the Flash comics I read as a kid in the 70s. This really reminds me of the fun and excitement that comics used to have. The DC Rebirth ethos is really paying off for longtime fans of Barry Allen's Flash.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Flash (2016) #27

Jul 26, 2017

Barry's life is really in turmoil right now, but it makes for great reading. The Flash is easily one of the best books of the Rebirth line right now, and is always the book I read first on any week a new issue comes out.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Flash (2016) #28

Aug 9, 2017

Although Barry has it tough right now, the added drama makes for great reading. The Flash is one of the titles I tear into first as soon as I get ahold of it because I have to find out the latest development in Barry's chaotic life.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Flash: Rebirth (2016) #1

Jun 8, 2016

Overall, a solid issue. DC's Rebirth event continues to please. The commitment to returning the best of the old is manifest in respect beinggiven to Wally. DC has realized that both Wally and Barry can be the Flash without any detriment to either.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Gotham Academy Annual #1

Aug 31, 2016

This was a fun mystery with a complex storyline that came to a surprising, yet satisfying resolution. Gotham Academy continues to be an enjoyable title and an interesting diversion from DC's typical superhero stories.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Green Lanterns #1

Jun 15, 2016

Overall, this is a good first issue. If the writer and artists can maintain the quality shown in this initial outing, then Green Lanterns will be an enjoyable series to follow.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Green Lanterns: Rebirth #1

Jun 4, 2016

Overall, this was a solid set-up issue for a new series. I look forward to seeing if the quality holds up as the series progresses.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Justice League (2016) #20

May 3, 2017

A fun and head issue. If time paradoxes give you a headache, you might want to skip it, but if you love wibbly-wobbly-timey-wimey stuff, then be sure to pick this issue up.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Justice League (2016) #21

May 18, 2017

This is a fun and thoughtful story and serves as a nice companion piece to "The Button." This iteration of the League is shaping up to be the best since Morrison's "Big Seven."

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Justice League (2016) #22

Jun 7, 2017

Although the League treated the threat with all due seriousness, this issue exemplifies the element of fun that has been making a comeback in the Rebirth line. This was an important piece of the pre-Flashpoint DC Universe's greatness, and it is a joy to see it being reclaimed in Rebirth.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Justice League (2016) #23

Jun 22, 2017

Like last issue, there seems to be a positivity to the team that has been missing for while. Justice League by rights should be one of DC's best titles, and the last few issues indicate to me that it is quickly working its way back to that status.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Justice League (2016) #24

Jul 5, 2017

With a powerful new member, the League are set to take on future threats. Justice League has been gaining steam and if this trend continues, it could return to being one of DC's top series.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Justice League (2016) #25

Jul 19, 2017

I found this issue to be a mixed bag. The most interesting part was the conversation between Batman and Molly, and the possible Rebirth hints being dropped. But other than a shining moment for Simon, the fight against Shirak was rather forgettable.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Justice League (2016) #26

Aug 3, 2017

There's definitely the makings of a great Justice League Story in this issue. Hopefully, the subsequent chapters of this storyline will realize that potential, but we shall have to wait and see.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Justice League (2016) #27

Aug 17, 2017

Despite the problems I have with this issue, it still is an interesting premise that promises for an exciting conclusion once the League and their future children face off against Sovereign.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Midnighter And Apollo #1

Oct 5, 2016

A great return for the team of Midnighter and Apollo, one of comics' greatest couples. The book is full of action, romance, suspense, nostalgic winks at DC's past, and even a bit of philosophical musing about the necessity of killing. Who could ask for more?

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Midnighter And Apollo #2

Nov 2, 2016

This story is fun, and very, very violent, but it's also shaping up to a classic love story, where the protagonist literally goes through Hell to be reunited with his lover. I can hardly wait until next issue to see Midnighter cutting a swath through the Underworld.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Midnighter And Apollo #3

Dec 7, 2016

The story continues to be fun, but maintainsthe classic theme of a man traversing Hell to save his lover. It also ends on a strong cliffhanger which leaves us eagerly wondering how Midnighter will prevail over the Mawzir with the Ace of Winchesters destroyed.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Midnighter And Apollo #4

Jan 4, 2017

The story follows the classic theme of a lover fighting his way through Hell, against impossible odds to save his lover. How could Midnighter be any more badass than that?

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Midnighter And Apollo #5

Feb 1, 2017

This issue, in which Midnighter apparently defeats Neron only to find out it was for naught, is the perfect setup for Apollo and Midnighter's final showdown with the Prince of Lies. I will be eagerly awaiting the next issue to see that epic confrontation.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Midnighter And Apollo #6

Mar 1, 2017

This series had it all: badass action, nods to DC history, and a timeless love story. It doesn't get much better than this.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Mister Miracle #1

Aug 9, 2017

Do not miss out on this series. It's one of DC's most fascinating characters written and drawn by one of DC's hottest creator teams. If the quality is maintained from this issue, it should easily be one of DC's biggest hits of the year.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Nightwing (2016) #18

Apr 5, 2017

There is great chemistry between Dick and Damian, hearkening back to their time as Batman and Robin. It will be interesting to see how his relationship with Shawn will develop.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Red Hood and the Outlaws (2016) #12

Jul 12, 2017

This story shows a unique tender side to tough guy Jason Todd. I wouldn't want to see Jason become less of a badass, but it's good to see that that isn't all there is to the character. This Rebirth title shows that Rebirth isn't just about returning the DCU to its pre-Flashpoint state, but also about providing quality stories that build on elements introduced in the New 52 era.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Robin: Son of Batman #13

Jun 28, 2016

This issue is a fine conclusion to this chapter in the life of Damian. It ends on a poignant and optimistic note, promising that although the title may be ending, the adventure will always continue.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Suicide Squad Most Wanted: El Diablo #1

Aug 3, 2016

Both stories were strong, but I found the Boomerang story a bit more compelling than the El Diablo story. However, both are interesting tales, and I look forward to seeing how they progress over the course of the mini-series.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Superman (2016) #1

Jun 15, 2016

This issue once again shows that DC means it when they promised to bring back the missing heart of the pre-Flashpoint DCU and merging it with the new. We get the old with the return of Clark to his place as Superman and we get the old in seeing Jonathan's early steps towards his destiny as a new Superboy. This title promises to be one of the standout successes of DC's lineup.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Superman (2016) #2

Jul 6, 2016

Once again, this is a very solid issue, and I am enjoying seeing Superman guiding his son as he takes his first steps towards beinga superhero. This issue is branded as part of DC Rebirth, and we continue to see DC fulfilling the commitment to returning the spirit of the pre-Flashpoint era while continuing to move forward in new directions. What could better exemplify this than the pre-Flashpoint Superman training his son as he moves toward becoming the new Superboy?

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Superman (2016) #3

Jul 20, 2016

Despite my quibbles over Clark's temper issues, I still loved the story. Each issue brings us a little closer to Jon taking up the mantle of Superboy, which is proving a fascinating journey. I can hardly wait until Jon lets his rage loose on the Eradicator next issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Superman (2016) #4

Aug 3, 2016

Still, it's a very good issue. Even though he hasn't officially taken the name yet, we finally see Jon in action as Superboy " a milestone in his continuing story.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Superman (2016) #5

Aug 17, 2016

Another great issue. This has become my favourite title of the Rebirth books.Tomasi and Gleason haveproven that Superman can be a fatherwithout diminishing the appeal of the character.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Superman (2016) #6

Sep 7, 2016

Once again, Superman is my favourite title of the week. This issue in particular exemplifies DC's commitment to restore the heart of the classic DC Universe, yet to continue the story forward instead of reverting to the past. Superman's return to prominence as Earth's beloved protector hearkens back to his classic past, but the introduction of his son as a new Superboy takes the story in a new and exciting direction.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Superman (2016) #7

Sep 21, 2016

Another great issue. Again, Superman is my favourite title of the month – and given the quality evident across the whole DC line right now, that makes it quite special.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Superman (2016) #8

Oct 5, 2016

Once again, this is my favourite book of the current crop. It perfectly reflects DC's Rebirth ethos by taking us for a walk down memory lane while adding to the mythos of Superman and the new Superboy – an amalgamation of the old and the new.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Superman (2016) #9

Oct 19, 2016

Tomasi and Gleason are doing a stellar job on this title, and I hope they keep on doing it for a long time to come. They have managed to sell me on the idea of Superman as a family man, and I hope that when all the dust settles from the Rebirth saga, that this Superman remains the official Superman of the DCU.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Superman (2016) #10

Nov 2, 2016

What more could you ask from an issue? The World's Finest team, Superboy, Robin, the return of characters from Robin, Son Of Batman – plus a ton of action and some bonding between DC's two heavy hitters.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Superman (2016) #11

Nov 16, 2016

This title is easily my favourite title of the Rebirth relaunch. It has returned Superman to his pre-New 52 level of greatness, but has also shown us a whole new side to Superman – Superman the husband and father. DC has taken a big chance in carrying Superman's story forward in such a manner, but thanks to Tomasi and Gleason's adept storytelling, this direction has paid off in spades.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Superman (2016) #12

Dec 7, 2016

This title is the jewel in the crown of DC's Rebirth line. Tomasi and Gleason have made reading about Superman's adventures fun again and I hope they continue their run on this title for a long time to come.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Superman (2016) #13

Dec 21, 2016

This issue seems a bit of a downer, compared to earlier issues, but this isn't a bad thing. Life has its ups and downs. And seeing how a marriage can go off the rails could be an important lesson that helps Lois and Clark keep their own marriage going strong.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Superman (2016) #14

Jan 4, 2017

What can I say? I have always loved parallel Earth stories, and it's good that DC is once again bringing out this staple type of story. And where parallel Earths are involved, it almost certainly must tie into DC Rebirth.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Superman (2016) #15

Jan 19, 2017

As a fan of multiple Earth stories and as a fan of Superman, this storyline is pushing all the right buttons for me. I can't wait to see what happens next.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Superman (2016) #16

Feb 1, 2017

This was a great romp with tons of alternate Earth Supermen along for the ride, and a bit of foreshadowing about the Rebirth storyline. This was another astounding issue in what is one of DC's foremost series.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Superman (2016) #17

Feb 15, 2017

Another great issue in Tomasi and Gleason's stellar run on this series. The Rebirth relaunch has given us some great titles, and this is the cream of the crop.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Superman (2016) #18

Mar 1, 2017

This title has focused on Superman's family, and now it's his family that is threatened. His life has been taken, but more importantly, so has his son. The stakes are higher than they've ever been, with Jon's life on the line. This promises to be a defining story in Superman's life.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Superman (2016) #19

Mar 16, 2017

The last chapter of Superman Reborn is yet to be played out, but this issue makes it apparentthat the writers have a clear idea of where things are headed. Given the indications evident in this story and in DC's solicitations of upcoming issues, that Superman is being restored to an approximation of his classic status, but keeping important new elements of his legend such as his son Jon, the new Superboy.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Superman (2016) #20

Apr 5, 2017

This is the happiest time I've had reading a comic since DC Rebirth gave us back Wally West. This titleis the heart of theDC line, andhas established Superman (the character) as the heart of the DC Universe. This issue reaffirms this, plus it's got Batman in it!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Superman (2016) #21

Apr 19, 2017

Despite my reservations about the Kents' encroaching departure from Hamilton County, I still have faith in the creative team to keep this book as one of the best in DC's line. Superman is always the first book I read on the weeks when there is a new issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Superman (2016) #22

May 3, 2017

This was an exciting and suspenseful issue that has me eagerly awaiting the story's resolution. I may be somewhat regretful that the Kents are headed for the city quite so soon, but I have faith that the title will remain just as enjoyable regardless of its setting.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Superman (2016) #23

May 17, 2017

This story is full of breakneck action as we hurtle towards the end of the Hamilton County era of the Kent family. I have no worries that they can overcome Black, but will they do so without lasting harm?

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Superman (2016) #24

Jun 7, 2017

Another great issue in an amazing series. The Kents' time in Hamilton County has gone to Hell in a way that will try each of them to their very souls. It will be fascinating to see how they can recover from the scars this story will leave them.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Superman (2016) #25

Jun 21, 2017

Sadly, it seems that the Kent's time in Hamilton County is drawing to a close, but I trust that their adventures in Metropolis will be every bit as good as Tomasi and Gleason have given us so far.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Superman (2016) #26

Jul 5, 2017

Nevertheless, this is a heartwarming issue and proves what a gem this title is. The emphasis on Superman's family life has made Superman the heart of the Rebirth line.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Superman (2016) #27

Jul 19, 2017

Superman is one of the best examples of the success DC is enjoying with their Rebirth renaissance (if that's not a redundant phrase). New 52 Superman just seemed to be a character with a passing resemblance to the Superman I loved reading about as a kid, but now it feels like that Superman has returned to the pages of DC.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Superman (2016) #28

Aug 3, 2017

Although, my review sounds like I thought this issue was a bit of a clunker, you might be surprised to hear that I really liked it. With a title of this caliber, even the worst issues are still pretty good. While I hope the book returns to form after the Kent's conclude their vacation, it still is better than most other books being put out these days.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Superman (2016) #29

Aug 16, 2017

A suspenseful and exciting issue of a fine series. Even though Tomasi and Gleason have taken a break from the writing chores, Keith Champagne does a fine job of keeping up the high standard they have set for one of DC's best titles.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Teen Titans Go! #19

Dec 21, 2016

This issue is a fun look at the Titans. I admit that I haven't been following this series until recently, but maybe that was a mistake. It's an interesting and amusing diversion from the regular serious interpretations of the Teen Titans.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
The Lost Boys #1

Oct 12, 2016

A solid start to the miniseries. It introduces (or reintroduces) the main characters and sets up the motivations for the upcoming conflict between the hunters and vampires. However, I will be sure to watch the original movie before next month's installment.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Titans (2016) #1

Jul 27, 2016

Despite these quibbles, it is overall a very good story. It furthers the Rebirth storylinea bit and further cements Wally's restored place in the DC Universe. Once again, DC is successfully restoring classic elements of the characters while carrying their story forward instead of backward.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Titans (2016) #3

Sep 28, 2016

Titans is shaping up to be one of the tent-pole titles of the Rebirth storyline. The Titans seem to be at the centre of events with their forgotten history holding tantalizing hints of the true DC Universe timeline.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for
the Week of...

August

July

More