Jordan Calhoun's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Black Nerd Problems Reviews: 137
8.3Avg. Review Rating

9.2
Batgirl (2016) #2

Aug 24, 2016

Looks like we're headed to yet another destination next issue, and it's another to look forward to seeing. This is quickly becoming one of my favorite titles on shelves.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.2
Batgirl (2016) #4

Oct 26, 2016

Overall, another solid issue for Hope Larson's Batgirl, and one that gave us some significant answers right on time. Come for the charm of Babs' travel, and stay to solve the mystery and see what Babs learns from it all before she returns home to Gotham a stronger person.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.7
Batgirl (2016) #5

Nov 23, 2016

Overall, this was a fitting climax to a fun adventure. The fight scenes and panel layouts have been a consistent joy in the series, and the finally rightfully packed in the most of that in a single issue. And, as a travel adventure, it's only right to end on an introspective view of a horizon, a scene to capture the inevitable reflection that happens when your travels wind down to an end. Forget your favorite travel book, "Beyond Burnside" is the globe-trotting adventure you should read.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Batgirl (2016) #7

Jan 25, 2017

Overall, Batgirl #7 sets up for an interesting arc that allows readers to see Burnside from a slightly different lens as our heroine returns after having grown a wider perspective as a person. If the series really hopes to address a sensitive theme, the rest of the series' success will lay in its supporting cast and how much Batgirl appreciates the perspective of others as she fights for the less fortunate around her. If that's the goal, Batgirl has set itself up with a diverse range of characters to utilize. If that's not the goal, expect a thinner plot of Batgirl facing a representative of a conspicuously greedy capitalist, or an elongation of the question whether to trust Penguin's estranged son. I'd rather the moral conflict between the two addressing opposing views on how to improve their city, but either way, we should find out soon.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.2
Batgirl (2016) #8

Feb 24, 2017

Overall, Batgirl #8 is more a plot foundation than a fun issue itself; a segue from the start of the arc towards the point it finds its groove. Here's hoping the stakes grow higher, and the conflict is something unexpected that utilizes all these cast members of whom we steal so many isolated glimpses. The potential is all still there.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Batgirl (2016) #9

Mar 23, 2017

Overall, Batgirl #9 is cleverly written and makes for a relatable her to anyone who's ever felt pulled in several directions. Her personal development meets her professional life in a way that propels them both, and while she's holding it all together well right now, the tension lies in when those conflicts might come to a head. And all the while, the intrigue of the Cobblepot family is starting to pick up as well. It's a good time for this series.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.7
Batgirl (2016) #10

Apr 28, 2017

Overall, Batgirl #10 serves its purpose in moving the plot along, but an overemphasis on Babs and Ethan's relationship, along with Babs' friends' relationships, makes for a crowded issue with attention spread in too many places for any of them to be particularly strong. The Penguin's involvement adds more comedy than expected though, and his dismissive, resentful view of his son should make for an interesting role as Batgirl tries to shut Ethan down. And that dynamic is something to look forward to.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.3
Batgirl (2016) #11

May 26, 2017

Overall, Wildgoose's art deserves a lot of the credit for making this finale a fun one, along with Larson's handle on the integrity and charm that make Babs so likable. Batgirl #11 is satisfying as an issue that concludes an unsatisfying arc, one that brings together all the pieces in an arc that simply reads several grade levels down from where you would hope it to be. Regardless, this series is a series worth your time, if only for the character-driven parts between Babs, the people around her, and Batgirl swinging from a grappling hook and chasing down a motorcycle.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Batgirl (2016) #12

Jun 29, 2017

Overall, Batgirl #12 is readable as a quick story with little consequence as of now. The story is sound, but the stakes are so low that you will likely forget the details of this one soon after you turn the last page, until one day, chances are, you will mistakenly remember it as a Halloween standalone. So, take it or leave it. Read it or don't. Nothing gained, nothing lost.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
Batgirl (2016) Annual #1

Mar 29, 2017

Overall, two short stories of friendship showing value of both the super-powered and non-powered varieties make for a warm read. They also make me look forward to both individual series as they continue in Supergirl #9 and Batgirl #10, on shelves in April.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.2
Black Cloud #2

May 11, 2017

Overall, Black Cloud #2 is an alluring entry into what has the potential to be a captivating world. It tries some creative things artistically in highlighting the real world against the one of imagination, especially alternating between bright colors and darker, gloomier scenes. It will continue to be a tough job to represent all the wonders of imagination, but we can look forward to seeing how it's done as the world builds and characters develop.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Dark Corridor #1

Aug 12, 2015

Overall, Dark Corridor is a decent start for a comic I was skeptical about. Admittedly, I didn't plan on reading a second issue even before reading the first, and I'm glad I was wrong. I don't know where it's going, but I'll go on the ride for now.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.2
Gamora #1

Dec 25, 2016

Artistically, Gamora #1 is beautifully laid out. Its colors, pacing, and lettering combine for a visually stunning comic that captures the sadness and drive of an emotionally destroyed character trying to find her peace. It's a great start to a series, and a perfect jumping-in point for anyone who wants to learn about a character who will only continue to grow in popularity. Gamora is awesome. Meet your new favorite anti-hero on her way to becoming a hero.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.9
Gamora #2

Jan 19, 2017

Artistically this series is absolutely gorgeous, beautifully capturing space travel, action on Ubilex, and even time as Gamora flew into the planet's atmosphere and felt everything slow down. The panel layouts and angles make for really great sequences, Andres Mossa is praising God through his color work, and overall Gamora #2 is a fun read that begins to show this book's range and takes a dialogue-heavy foundation issue and makes it feel anything but boring.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.1
Gamora #3

Feb 16, 2017

Overall, Gamora continues to be a beautifully drawn, fantastic space adventure whose single-minded protagonist is about to be forced to adapt. The series has covered a lot of ground in only 3 issues and shows no sign of losing its grip; between Thanos, Nebula, L'Wit, Badoon, and the latest reveal from this issue, Gamora and Perlman have a lot of toys in their toy box.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.3
Gamora #4

Mar 23, 2017

Overall, Gamora's action and singular quest for revenge would make for a great read on its own, but matched with her personal development and self-reflection, Gamora continues to be one of the best that Marvel has to offer.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.2
Gamora #5

Jun 2, 2017

Overall, Gamora is one of the most unexpected gems on comic shelves this year. The conclusion makes it feel like one hell of a prequel to what will happen next in her life, which is one hell of a chapter in her life and the actual payoff from her childhood trauma. Killing the entire Badoon bloodline would not bring her peace, but the journey of that discovery led her a step closer to deciding what might.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Gotham Academy #9

Aug 13, 2015

Nine issues into the series and Gotham Academy still has unsolved mysteries that began in the first, which is a well-crafted long game given that the story progresses just fast enough to keep readers interested. Would readers stick around for love of the characters? Probably, but striking a good balance between character-driven comedy and plot-driven mystery is what separates Gotham Academy as a really great book.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Gotham Academy #10

Sep 11, 2015

Meanwhile, that nightmare fuel named Katherine is in a perpetual state of kicking rocks. Everyone treats Katherine like a stray dog, but not like an American stray dog, I mean like a stray dog in Eastern Europe. If I had to guess I'd say Katherine grows up to be Toby from The Office. I imagine Karl Kerschl draws her with his eyes closed because humankind can't knowingly make a child so horrible and sad. She got luggage under her eyes and she's only like 15, man. It's gonna be a hard life, man.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.2
Gotham Academy #11

Oct 22, 2015

Gotham Academy #11 is another strong issue that benefits from such a strong supporting cast. This is Olive's story, but you care just as much about the people around her; in fact, the way her friends love her so much is part of the reason readers love her so much. Look forward to more action, adventure, and some serious nods to Batman: The Animated Series.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Gotham Academy #13

Dec 11, 2015

Fans can expect their regularly scheduled awesomeness to return, beginning with the 4-issue Gotham Academy Yearbook coming in January. I'm looking forward to it.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Gotham Academy #15

Feb 12, 2016

Bottom line, "Yearbook" captures the best of Gotham Academy - adventures you want to go on, characters you want to be friends with, and an oasis in Gotham that is nothing like anywhere else in DC Comics. Not as good as a full-adventure arc, but a nice change of pace in between them.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Gotham Academy #16

Mar 12, 2016

Gotham Academy #16 was a completely Maps-focused issue, and one that fans have wanted since she was first introduced. She's obviously stolen the show and become the de facto star of the series, and for good reason: she's funny, smart, and simply lives for adventure. Any Maps-centric issue is bound to be a favorite, and the format for “Yearbook” lends itself to several of her adventures per issue. Who wouldn't be a fan of that?

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Gotham Academy #17

Apr 17, 2016

"Yearbook" continues with its series of short stories with great new writers taking their stab at our favorite Gotham campus. It's a whole lot of reminiscing of untold adventures from the past year, a great means of adding depth to our favorite characters and bringing life to the campus itself.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Gotham Academy #18

May 12, 2016

Gotham Academy #18 ends “Yearbook” strong, but be more excited for what's to come as Fletcher, Cloonan, and Kerschl will be back together this fall to continue with the Academy's Next Semester. And for fans of BOOM! Studios' Lumberjanes, look out for a long-anticipated 6-issue Gotham Academy/Lumberjanes crossover series coming next month in June. Of course, we'll be here to talk shop.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
Gotham Academy: Second Semester #1

Sep 15, 2016

As the Detective Club returns we can expect the usual fun fare from Gotham Academy, this time around including great art by Adam Archer. This is one of the best all-ages comics on shelves.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.7
Gotham Academy: Second Semester #2

Oct 17, 2016

Mysterious, smart, and absolutely funny, Gotham Academy Second Semester has its familiar groove. In one scene, a thankful Maps exclaims “Thank the Seven!” and it was so funny I audibly laughed at the random and silly Game of Thrones reference. Second Semester is a great jumping on point if you're new to the series and been wanting to find your entry in. You'll be happy you did.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.2
Gotham Academy: Second Semester #3

Nov 15, 2016

Overall, this issue is without even needing a major event or serious climax; it's Gotham Academy's baseline, which is structurally sound, entertaining, lighthearted storytelling. The use of fishbowl Katherine was clever and funny (poor Katherine, Gotham Academy's Toby), a short-term mystery was solved, and it all segues nicely into what will be the next adventure. Keep reading.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Gotham Academy: Second Semester #4

Dec 14, 2016

Comedy, mystery, and adventure, Gotham Academy Second Semester hits the trifecta that makes this series special. When the series returns we'll be back where we left off last month, with the trial of Colton Rivera. We'll be here for it.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Gotham Academy: Second Semester #5

Jan 11, 2017

Ultimately, that leaves Gotham Academy Second Semester #5 as a fairly slow read as the series stumbles its way back into form. Keep up with the series to see what's comes from the foundation build from issues like this one.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Gotham Academy: Second Semester #6

Feb 8, 2017

Overall, we've been waiting for Gotham Academy Second Semester to hit full stride, and with issue #6 it's headed there. The art is gorgeous, emotion was strong, and, most importantly, it was able to keep several separate-but-related plots going without convolution until they could all come together. The Academy hasn't felt this fun since mid-2015. This is how good the series should always be.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Gotham Academy: Second Semester #7

Mar 7, 2017

Overall, this is the best Second Semester has been, and the trajectory is pointed up from here. Olive catching bodies is my favorite Olive there is.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.2
Gotham Academy: Second Semester #10

Jun 16, 2017

Colton, Pom, and Kyle get some important shine this issue as well, making it a balanced issue that is funny (courtesy of Maps), adventurous (courtesy of Pom and Colton), and serious (courtesy of Olive). Overall, Gotham Academy Second Semester will remind you the awesome craving of adventure you felt as a kid and have you eager for more. We're still seeing the pieces being set up for the end, but in the meantime, it's pretty fun.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Gotham By Midnight #8

Aug 27, 2015

We know this new story arc is going to focus on Internal Affairs and the investigating of Corrigan's division of supernatural crime, which already sounds fairly "meh" in potential, and this one ultimately didn't do much to encourage optimism. I wouldn't call this a filler issue, but Gotham by Midnight #8 feels as close as possible to one. But hey, they can't all be great.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.1
Gotham By Midnight #9

Oct 1, 2015

Overall, Gotham by Midnight #9 is bittersweet reading as such a good issue comes on the heels of DC's cancellation announcement. Nothing lasts forever, and I will appreciate the few months we have left with one of DC's most unique series, and the first horror series I've enjoyed from the publisher.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
Horizon #1

Jul 17, 2016

This first issue covers a lot of ground in both backstory and setting the emotional state of Zhia Malen, our protagonist, who crash lands on Earth having escaped her planet where we humans are wreaking havoc. She's confused and disoriented most of the comic, alone in a foreign place as she tries, and eventually does, find her comrade in arms disguised as a human. The reader matches Zhia's confusion for most of the issue and reaches clarity in the last few pages after Zhia has surgery to fix her ability to communicate clearly. And Zhia is pissed.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Horizon #3

Sep 22, 2016

Overall, an action-heavy issue in a well-paced series. Action, depth, drama and romance " Horizon has it all. The only thing it could use is a touch of comedy, but there's a Wu Tang reference, so fuck it, who's complaining.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.1
Horizon #4

Oct 23, 2016

I had been expecting Horizon #4 to delve more into the makeup of the Valians, and maybe begin providing individualized insight into each character on the team, but alas, I was definitely wrong and still hope to see it soon. After such a fast-paced issue we might have an issue or two to step back and do some character building, because there's definitely a lot to learn, not only to distinguish Zhia, Mariol, Finn, and the others, but the Kepler Conspiracy itself and its key players who we've only seen briefly and know relatively nothing about. There's much to look forward to on Horizon.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.1
Jessica Jones #1

Oct 11, 2016

Jessica Jones #1 is a welcome reintroduction into the character, and as the plot finds its footing it seems we can expect much of what we knew and loved from before. Jessica Jones is someone you can't help but root for, no matter how self-destructive.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
Jessica Jones #2

Nov 22, 2016

Overall, while the plot forms and we figure out what this arc is going to be about, Jessica Jones is worth reading as one of the most relatable characters out there to anyone who's ever tried to find normalcy in their life when life had other plans. I sincerely don't care where Bendis takes this series" so long as Jessica Jones stays true to its character and continues to slowly overcome one challenge after another, growing, putting herself together piece by piece.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.4
Jessica Jones #3

Dec 16, 2016

Some of my favorite humor from Jessica Jones comes from them making fun of the rest of the Marvel universe, being open that it's characters are different " that the book is different " as Jessica makes fun of corny superhero names and Alison acknowledges their shared disdain for all these heroes and their superpowers. The mystery for readers is who Alison is and what could she want from Jessica, which seems pretty boring as I write it, but fits with the pacing and adds to the questions that need to be answered without leaving us so clueless as to be frustrated. We're being strung along and it's working so far.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Jessica Jones #4

Jan 16, 2017

Overall, this issues worst crime is being boring. That, coupled with punishing readers for caring more about Jessica's struggles as a person than how she relates to superhero-ing, pivots this book in an unfortunate direction. It's definitely not all doom ahead " there's a dozen directions this comic can go from here " but issue #4 isn't the best reflection of why this series is worth reading. Hopefully the next one reminds us.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Jessica Jones #6

Mar 9, 2017

In its short run, Jessica Jones has given us glimpses of potential, just enough to keep us reading in hopes that the plot will reach the caliber of its lead character, but has left us with little more than broken promises. Jessica is still likable as the misanthrope whose bad luck will never let put together a healthy life, but even her endearment as the emotionally-stunted work-in-progress hasn't been enough to move this series closer to its potential. Our only legitimate hope, it seems now, are the occasional long-form dialogue scenes that remind us why we love this character, and have us forget, at least for a moment, why we're not enjoying this book.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.1
Jessica Jones #7

Apr 5, 2017

As the arc gets started, we are best off starting fresh with the potential of what Maria Hill brings to the story as she cameos in what appears to be an important role in what Jessica is getting into next. Again, trouble finds Jessica and she is set up to be a misunderstood victim of her circumstances, a woman trapped in an impossible situation in which she can only do her best when her best is never enough" so we may have seen this before. But here's hoping for something new, something intriguing, or at least something with higher stakes than unseen potential victims or Luke Cage's stern disapproval.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.1
Jessica Jones #8

May 4, 2017

Overall, "The Secrets of Maria Hill" is a strong start to a new arc worth your time. It places readers in the "what would you do if you found yourself in the world of espionage," which can go in many directions depending on the spies involved. Is Maria Hill like Mission: Impossible's Ethan Hunt, the type who is consistently innocent every time but frequently framed? Or 24's Jack Bauer, the type who has been put in impossible situations as she says, forced to do bad things for good reasons and deserves credit for countless times saving the world? Or is she really a villain trying to manipulate you to hurt her enemies or save herself from a fate she well deserves? Enjoy the ride as you look for evidence to support your guesses.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.4
Jessica Jones #9

Jun 9, 2017

As for Maria Hill and S.H.I.E.L.D., well, we will see where this goes. But for now " as for most of the past many issues " we keep reading for the character more than the plot. Her hero's journey is a unique kind, and it doesn't come from her defeating bad guys or saving lives, but learning to live a healthy life, nondestructive, with some semblance of stability.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Justice League / Power Rangers #3

Mar 8, 2017

The artwork also does the damn thing, capturing the fast-paced action and the tone this series needed to feel true to both franchises. Overall, Justice League Power Rangers is a joy to read for fans of either franchise. I'm hype for what's to come.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
King #1

Sep 3, 2015

Overall, this isn't the type of title I would typically pull from the shelves, but that would be my own mistake because King has the potential to be really fun. It has a lot to juggle between immense world building, character development, and plot exposition, but if it can pull it off this should be a great series. Not to mention it has a Person of Color leading as the last human alive. That alone deserves my cash.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.2
Loose Ends (2017) #1

Jan 27, 2017

Overall, Loose Ends is a gritty southern crime romance that'll keep you turning pages. And while many bemoan the short length, I'm actually all in favor of short, concise series; they're a lot more difficult to pull off, and while we're forfeiting long-term character development, the best writers can do a lot with a little. Hopefully Loose Ends exhibits that in the next 3 issues.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Loose Ends (2017) #2

Feb 21, 2017

Overall, this second issue was by no means bad, but it does add pressure to the second half of the series to hurry things up or risk the climax that feels frustratingly abrupt, or the story living up to its title, unfinished, too few answers to feel complete and too many loose ends to be satisfying.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.3
Loose Ends (2017) #3

Mar 23, 2017

Overall, Loose Ends' penultimate issue plays catch up through great imagery and few words, the fastest-paced issue of the run so far. The conclusion is wide open, and the meaning of the series can go a several different directions, which is enough to pique our interest in what happens in the end.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.8
Loose Ends (2017) #4

Apr 28, 2017

Overall, Loose Ends lands in the ambiguous region between plot-driven and character-driven fiction, fitting neither well enough to do them justice in a compelling way. Where it shines brightest is taking chances on creative visual storytelling, which, as a visual medium, is enough to make the book worth reading despite its shortcomings. Just don't expect its characters to stay with you long after the last page.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.1
Motor Crush #1

Dec 6, 2016

Overall, Motor Crush is a great start to a series with a lot of action, but also shows a lot of promise in character development as we see a short glimpse into all the people who intersect with Domino's life. From her father to her friend Sonoya to the Grand Prix pretty boy she'll inevitably go up against, there are a lot of character dynamics to develop and that should be half the fun. There's a lot of reasons to be excited for this comic. Start now on the ground floor to watch it build with the rest of us.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.4
Motor Crush #2

Jan 12, 2017

Overall, Motor Crush is great and Domino is comics' fastest, brightest, most intrepid new star. Very happy to continue this series, learn about its characters, and stare at the glowing artwork of a strong book.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.1
Motor Crush #3

Feb 7, 2017

Overall, Motor Crush #3 stays on par with expectations of being a fun read, beautifully colored, with interesting characters surrounding our main gal. Domino carries the series, but the fact she doesn't have to is a good sign. We have so many other characters to learn while Domino Swift tries to win the Grand Prix, break free from the mob, rekindle love, and keep everyone clear to her safe in the process.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Motor Crush #4

Mar 8, 2017

The colors and beach-city tone are as vibrant as ever, a credit to this creative team for juxtaposing the brightness of the days against the Cannonball nights, each feeling unique within the same world, having different stakes and rules. The issue ends on a cliffhanger tied to who Dom is and what she's capable of, and Motor Crush remains as cool as it's ever been. Which is supremely cool.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Motor Crush #5

Apr 11, 2017

Overall, Motor Crush #5 is what you want in a first arc: a new world established, a character to cheer for with people who love her, and a well-paced mystery that leaves you wanting more. The series returns in August with its second arc, and will surely bring with it more neon streaks of light and races to the finish.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.4
Paper Girls #1

Nov 9, 2015

Paper Girls #1 does a great job of hooking you into the story and introducing our four characters rather seamlessly. The story leaves enough to question that readers might not know what to make of it yet, as it basically covers a fairly short hour of what mostly appears to be a typical morning for the girls. That is, until things get weird enough to make you wonder what kind of comic we're getting here. Until we find out, the character development is a welcome distraction, with a team of four girls who will have every reader trying to pick their favorite.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Paper Girls #2

Nov 9, 2015

Paper Girls is a well-paced page-turner that definitely has readers hooked. In a book with young characters but rather adult language and themes, it's hard to tell how dark this mystery might get. Vaughan's never been one to shy away from violence, but if anything demands an exception it's four 12-year old girls, right? "Right? One thing's for sure though: I need more than 24 pages at a time.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.2
Paper Girls #3

Dec 3, 2015

And while I typically bristle at an all-male team writing women characters, or an all-white team writing black characters, or an all-Republican team writing non-fiction, Paper Girls is proving its depth, creativity, and thoughtfulness with each issue so far. I expect they keep it coming. This is an absolutely fun comic.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.1
Paper Girls #4

Jan 7, 2016

What's the best part of this book, aside from its inherent unpredictable weirdness? All the nostalgia of the 80s. It comes through everything from Public Enemy t-shirts to old school video games, and it constantly grounds us in this "effed up time" in a fun " and clearly socially conscious " way. Readers should appreciate that. Paper Girls is great.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.2
Paper Girls #5

Feb 5, 2016

What are we talking about here? When it comes to the mystery I really don't know, but that's really not the point. The fact this issue made me, for the first time, not care very much " that's the point. And thought that's usually disconcerting as a fan, this is a Hall of Famer we're talking about, and I'm not very worried. There won't be two bad games in a row, and if this is the lowest this series gets, it's a damn great series to read.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.2
Paper Girls #6

Jun 7, 2016

Will Paper Girls be about their survival? Getting back to their own time? Effects to the time continuum, their implications, and what it all means? What kind of story will Paper Girls be? A cheap time-travelling gimmick or a mind-jarring look into the future through the eyes of our four leads? We're going to find out soon, and I look forward to the payoff of trusting our writer with offering readers such little information. In the meantime, the characters are enough to keep me invested.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.4
Paper Girls #7

Jul 8, 2016

Cliff Chiang's artwork continues to impress by capturing so much emotion in this issue. Towards the end, a sequence of 3 panels will punch you in the heart and tell you all you need to know about how well this team works together. Bottom line, you should be checked into this one. We knew it before, and then we doubted, and now we're back on the bandwagon like hopeful Golden State fans. Can't wait to see what comes next.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Paper Girls #8

Aug 3, 2016

With time travel, determinism versus fatalism, and giant tardigrades fighting to the death, Paper Girls is a beautiful mess right now. There's a lot to learn about how Brian Vaughan intends to answer these questions in our story, but for now he has readers thinking, and this is the point by which everyone has their theories. And just at the end, he throws another curveball. Come for the sci-fi mystery, enjoy Cliff Chiang's fantastic art, and look forward to discovering how the whole timeline fits together as our girls search frantically for their missing friend KJ. Paper Girls is an incredibly fun, diverse, and challenging sci-fi adventure.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Paper Girls #9

Sep 9, 2016

Paper Girls #9 does well in what it intended to do, putting readers in a "Door #1 or Door #2" scenario by which we can evaluate the girls' decisions " and our own assumptions " as the plot unfolds later. There are a lot of other questions to be answered " questions about time travel, fatalism, all these crazy creatures " but they all fall behind one question for now: Fourth Folding or Fifth? Door #1 or Door #2? The pacing is incredible and keeps this weird messy sci-fi a page turner, and something great to look forward to every month.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.2
Paper Girls #12

Mar 4, 2017

Overall, Paper Girls #12 is a foundational issue for a new arc that doesn't throw us anything particularly new " in fact, it revisits much that we've seen before, from the translation device to the team's recurring separation " but is a fast read with great sequential art that really lands the funny, awkward scenes, as well as Vaughn's characteristic natural, fantastic dialogue and the addition of new characters that promise to move us forward soon. This arc isn't set up to be as good as the previous, at least not yet, but even at its slowest Paper Girls is a hell of a good time.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.1
Paper Girls #13

Apr 6, 2017

Overall, another issue you would find yourself woefully inept to summarize yet incredibly satisfied to read. You can't explain Paper Girls, not and do it any justice, at least. You have to read it to believe it, and you'll be glad you did. Look forward to more pieces of the puzzle in the coming issues, especially the ones that will guide our way to those flash-forward scenes that are bound to happen. Paper Girls is the hardest puzzle that's the most fun to solve.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.4
Paper Girls #14

May 4, 2017

Overall, Paper Girls #14 continues one of the best arc so far in a great series. Cliff Chiang's artwork does not get enough praise in these reviews, the panel progressions are flawless, and it's a perfect complement to the natural, near perfect dialogue that combines to make this series the most fun reads you'll ever have. Buy this book, read its story, and love its characters.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.3
Paper Girls #15

Jun 9, 2017

Overall, Paper Girls #15 continues KJ's turn at stardom, and is perhaps the baton pass to another one of the girls who ends up in an interesting situation by the issue's end. The pacing is great, walking the line between telling us very little in any explicit terms, but offering enough to keep us guessing and invested. If you've been on Paper Girls for some time now you expect unpredictable craziness without much question — you're comfortable with the discomfort of not knowing. It isn't the most friendly series for newcomers, so if you're late to the party — first, where have you been? — but second, start from the beginning. This comic is worth every minute of your time, because there's no other story quite like this one.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.2
Plutona #1

Sep 2, 2015

Overall, Plutona #1 is a pleasant surprise and I'm looking forward to seeing where this series goes. I'm in.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Plutona #2

Dec 2, 2015

If the first 2 issues are any indication, this is going to be a great book. The pacing is excellent, the art expressive, and each page is taken advantage of, with panels that show even more than the characters tell. The mystery should keep you reading on to issue #3, and the characters should keep you here for the long run.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.2
Plutona #3

Dec 2, 2015

Oddly enough, the least interesting aspect to me personally thus far is the actual backstory to the character Plutona herself. It seems we'll continue to see flashbacks of Plutona leading to her being laid out in the woods, but even with as good as the writers have been with space management, there just isn't enough of it to really develop that backstory. Instead, readers get snippets so short that they likely forgot what even happened in the previous one. It doesn't hurt the series too badly because the present-day story is still great, but I've been very "meh" on the flashbacks thus far. They just don't have the time they deserve. In the words of Ron Swanson, "Never half-ass two things. Whole-ass one thing." Fortunately for us, the important part is still good.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Plutona #4

Feb 24, 2016

Probably the most underrated element of Plutona is the sequential art, which has consistently told its half of the story in a clear, emotional way. The expressions set the emotional tone of each scene, especially capturing the nervousness and awkwardness of the frequent silent panels.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.2
Plutona #5

Jun 30, 2016

Overall, Plutona is a fun, interesting spin on superheroes and the regular people who typically live in their shadows as nothing more than nameless faces, civilians to protect. Despite what readers might feel as a fizzle near the end, it was definitely a fun read each issue. Plutona is a charismatic teen adventure with superheroes in a brand new perspective.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.1
Punisher (2016) #1

May 4, 2016

Dillon's artwork paces well and captures the intensity of Punisher's bloody action scenes. They're appropriately frantic yet easy to follow, which can be a difficult balance to strike. In this entire opening issue Frank doesn't speak a single word" and he doesn't have to. By building the characters around Frank Castle, the hook is set; we already wanted to see more of the Punisher, now we want to know about the people around him too. And the villain on the other side of Frank's justice seems to be a sadistically worthy adversary for our leading vigilante. This is going to be a gruesome showdown with a high body count. I'm in.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.2
Punisher (2016) #2

Jun 8, 2016

The strength of this book is its fast-paced writing that weaves exposition with the ever-present violence you'd expect from the Punisher. It's practically one-third build up to violence, one-third violence, and followed by one-third foreshadowing for the violence to come. This book is no nonsense, gun to your head, no cute tricks, perfectly in line with the Punisher himself. As the police get more involved and we dive deeper into the world of Condor, this story will only get more interesting.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.3
Punisher (2016) #3

Jul 10, 2016

No talk, all business. The formula works for now, and Frank will likely continue taking out nameless goons until he reaches the top of that ladder and the cops catch up with our vigilante. The question is less about how that will happen, but now more what role will Frank's new tagalong play in the action. The Punisher has a kid with him, the daughter of a mercenary riding shotgun after he was sent to see God. Frank was once a father himself, a family man, so it's hard to imagine him dropping this kid off to fend for herself, yet it's equally hard to imagine him slowing his righteous campaign for justice to find her a proper home. Lon: The Professional, anyone?

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Punisher (2016) #4

Aug 4, 2016

Start to finish, The Punisher #4 is a non-stop action ride. We learn more of Agent Ortiz, meet an interesting new character, and manage to stay full speed on the action the whole time. I could use a reprieve to balance out the chaos and expect issues #5 or #6 to offer a moment of calm before the next storm, and if so, I hope the action is in the form of fiery dialogue as we get to know Agent Ortiz, her temper, and just how far she might be willing to go to rescue a friend. And I hope Juniper sticks around, too. It's a dangerous world for that kid to be in, but hey, so far she's the only source of comic relief. She's very much welcome in this series.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.2
Raven #1

Sep 26, 2016

Overall, this is a 6-issue series that, if the first issue is any indication, I will love to read.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Raven #2

Oct 19, 2016

Raven is a ridiculously pleasant surprise with amazing artwork, heart, mystery, and comedy. We're a third into the series and, if the ceiling can get higher from here, this will be one of my favorite short series in recent memory. Read this book and see where it goes from here.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.1
Raven #3

Nov 20, 2016

Overall, another great issue with such great art that THE dialogue is nearly frustrating in its interference sometimes. The next issue might be suspect " I have my reservations about the direction this series could possibly take " but this story seems to be in great hands. Here's hoping it can maintain the momentum it built so early.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.9
Raven #4

Dec 23, 2016

Overall, Raven #4 moves the main conflict to the periphery for a beat while the series delves more into its heroine to familiarize readers with a character as great, complex, and lesser-known as Raven. The Raven Factoids keep coming, this time including how she can absorb the sadness of others to take their psychic burden herself, and how she willingly makes that sacrifice like a reverse-Dementor. Raven is an amazing character and this series shows exactly why. When it comes to underrated books on comic book shelves, Raven can't be overlooked.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.4
Raven #5

Jan 18, 2017

Overall, Raven is still on track to likely be my favorite miniseries of the last year. A lot weighs on how well it can stick the landing without feeling rushed or incomplete, but as an insight into Raven and her character development through a single story arc, Raven is an accomplishment. Look forward to the series finale, keep your fingers crossed for a proper ending " including the mysterious girl from issue #1 " and be glad you're reading this book.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.1
Raven #6

Feb 16, 2017

Raven set out to reintroduce the character and delve further into the personhood of a dark, guarded soul, and to that task it accomplished everything it set out to do. What a pleasant surprise this entire miniseries was. From start to finish, Raven is a great hero and Wolfman wrote a fantastic book.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Secret Identities #7

Sep 16, 2015

Overall, Secret Identities is a great comic that suffers from its premature end, but whose writers did a great job with what they had. When the lightbulb went off in my head that I was reading the last issue I was equally interested and sad with each page turn. The final ending was an epilogue-type wrap up sharing the fates of each hero, and while we would have wanted more, it was turning lemons into lemonade if I've ever seen it. If you haven't read this series, you should. The full trade paperback will be available in October, just in time for New York Comic Con.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.2
Snotgirl #1

Jul 20, 2016

Overall, Snotgirl has some potential but has an uphill climb in making readers care about its lead the way we're intended. There's no endearment, sympathy, or joy yet to be found, and without those things, what's a non-action comic? The plus side is the bright, fun artwork by Leslie Hung and Mickey Quinn, and an ending that can pique almost anyone's interest. In terms of character likability I think Snotgirl can only go up from here, so I'm hoping she wins readers over as we get to know her more. And if this comic turns it around, well, Snotgirl will have a great accomplishment on its hands.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.5
Snotgirl #2

Aug 24, 2016

New promise comes through the introduction of a new character, Detective John Cho (no relation), who has an interesting, creative backstory that does for the comic what should have been done with Lottie. We could have easily seen Cho for what he seemed in his fancy suit and fawning women, but we quickly shook that off and were given more. That has to be coming in the future for Lottie " it has to be coming in the future for this comic " and hope it begins soon for Snotgirl to begin inching towards its potential.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.2
Sons of the Devil #4

Aug 26, 2015

When things come to a head, I hope it hits hard. We still have a lot to learn about the cult, Travis' family, and the people out to get him, but when the pieces are in place and we come closer to conclusion, things are going to get grim. And that's how it should be. This is how I should feel. Anxious. Curious. Worried.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
Sons of the Devil #5

Oct 1, 2015

Sons of the Devil continues to be one of my favorite books, and perhaps the most slept on by major audiences. Slim chance it stays that way for long as readers hear about this series and jump on the bandwagon " I just hope it ends as well as it began. The stage has been set, players put in motion, and everyone is emotionally distracted from the storm about to hit. And when it hits, I'll be in a corner reading, feeling how I did in 1995 when Kevin Spacey kneeled, Morgan Freeman begged, and Brad Pitt needed to know what was in that box.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Sons of the Devil #6

Mar 21, 2016

Buy two copies of this book and share one with a friend. You'll need someone to talk about it with " this is a journey for two or more. At this point, the only major question is why Sons of the Devil isn't being filmed by a major studio right now. This is a great book.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.4
Sons of the Devil #8

Jun 29, 2016

Overall, issue #8 was a builder, one with no game changers or revelations but that moves Travis closer towards them. Are you nervous, or are you bored yet? As with all slow builds, the reward needs to be worth it, and my confidence isn't wavering for now. At least not yet. I'd say another 2 issues and Jaws better attack, or the music just won't scare me anymore.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.1
Sons of the Devil #9

Jul 27, 2016

Overall, issue #9 is much of what we'd expect from Sons of the Devil, and that's a good thing if the real horror is coming soon. It's been said that if you talk about death enough, death comes. Well, Travis' father is being mentioned more and more, and soon the devil will be here. From this point on though, the score has to drop half a point for each issue without a significant plot advancement. Clock is on.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Sons of the Devil #10

Sep 1, 2016

Overall, a great climax to part two leaves us looking forward to part three, although we have to wait until next year for that. Sons of the Devil returns winter 2017.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
Sons of the Devil #11

Apr 5, 2017

Overall, Sons of the Devil #11 is a great welcome back to a series long missed. Toni Infante's artwork remains consistently strong and fitting if not slightly heavy on this dramatic-expression-with-a-red-background-and-speed-lines usage, and illustrates a well-paced, well-laid issue page after page. As the horror element of the series peeks through more clearly we can hope to see it more often, and more gruesomely, as the stakes grow higher.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Sons of the Devil #12

May 10, 2017

Overall, Sons of the Devil is a gripping thriller that only grows tighter as we pull closer to David's ultimate sacrifice. The question is how many lives will be lost before Travis can put a stop to it, and how much will he himself lose to do it.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Sons of the Devil #13

Jun 16, 2017

Overall, Sons of the Devil #13 makes your pulse race as you sit at the edge of your seat waiting to see how it all ends. Issue #14 can't come soon enough.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Spider-Gwen (2015) #1

Oct 15, 2015

Overall, Radioactive Spider-Gwen #1 wasn't a perfect start, but it has all the ingredients for a great series. There aren't many comics as fun as this one, and it's good to have her back.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.2
Spider-Gwen (2015) #2

Nov 16, 2015

Overall, Radioactive Spider-Gwen #2 was a Steph Curry performance after a bad shooting night: you know there won't be two in a row. If you haven't started this series yet, what are you waiting for?

View Issue       View Full Review
7.2
Spider-Gwen (2015) #3

Dec 11, 2015

As an issue setting up for a twist on an iconic battle, we can accept this issue for the plot-builder it is. It does highlight a few weaknesses for the title though, particularly in the narrow number of characters you really know and feel for" which is basically limited to Gwen herself; maybe Detective Stacy too, if you're generous. She needs a consistent supporting character in the form of Glory, Mary Jane, or someone else, especially in issues like this one. I don't begrudge Jessica Drew's cameo, but her role in the narrative was due distinctly to Gwen not having a ride-or-die right here in Earth-65.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.2
Spider-Gwen (2015) #4

Jan 9, 2016

And so Spider-Gwen continues to be a great book, mirroring Earth-616 and Earth-65 with a fun-mirror twist. Everything is different, only slightly rearranged, and destinies more or less remain the same. I still hope for a series that fully embraces its own originality by nixing any dependence on Peter Parker in the story plot, but time will tell where we go on that one.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.8
Spider-Gwen (2015) #5

Feb 11, 2016

Chris Visions takes over on artwork for issue #5, a change from Robbi Rodriguez that is significant yet non-distracting. I was most impressed with the cool cityscape backgrounds during Detective Stacy's run-in with Matt Murdock, although detailed backgrounds are rare through the issue in general. The perspectives from having Detective Stacy and Murdock on a rooftop while Castle is mixes it up on the street below made for some cool scenes. There are a lot of simple pastel backgrounds otherwise, which somehow just work because Rico Renzi's color choices are consistently fun and amazing.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
Spider-Gwen (2015) #6

Mar 12, 2016

By now it should be no secret that Spider-Gwen is a great character worth every fan's time. What's next for Gwen Stacy? Following this arc, Spider-Gwen writer Jason Latour will release a series alongside Silk writer Robbie Thomas and Spider-Woman writer Dennis Hopeless in Marvel's Spider-Women. Excited? For this writer, the answer is obviously" sorta. While the continuation of Spider-Gwen is well-deserved, and the prospect of her teaming up with the other Spider-women again can make for a fun book, I'd be disingenuous not to mention worry about a team of all dudes writing a team of all women, yet again. Especially after the many problems I've had with more somewhat recent writing of Spider-Woman. However, giving the series the benefit of the doubt I'm excited for what comes next for Gwen Stacy's adventures. So far they've been a wonderfully fun ride.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Spider-Gwen (2015) #7

Apr 17, 2016

Add to that some great artwork, hilarious scenes, and a diverse inter-dimensional cast, and you've got one of my favorite issues I've read in a while. If you haven't been reading Spider-Gwen, get started with this story arc beginning in the recent Spider-Women Alpha. There's more than enough here to get you excited for this ride.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Spider-Gwen (2015) #8

May 4, 2016

And like most issues of Spider-Gwen, you'll enjoy every minute too. This continues to be one of the most fun titles from Marvel; if you're reading the current arc with Spider-Women Alpha, here's where we currently stand. Keep up or catch up!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.1
Spider-Gwen (2015) #9

Jun 15, 2016

Overall, Spider-Gwen is the most fun web-slinger in the Marvel universe. Issues like this " dark, introspective, serious in tone " make for a necessary balance between the fun element of Spider-Gwen, and the depth necessary to frame those wise cracks and make for a multifaceted character. If you haven't read Spider-Gwen before, the time to hop on board is now. It's always right now.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Spider-Gwen (2015) #10

Jul 28, 2016

Overall, I wouldn't call this a throwaway issue, but this is about as close as one could expect from a series like Spider-Gwen. Looking forward to Gwen working past this side-boss and making her way to the real one, and finding herself along the way.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.2
Spider-Gwen (2015) #11

Sep 6, 2016

Overall, a great pick-me-up in a series that continues to be a fast, fun, thoughtful read. Yet another reminder why Spider-Gwen is one of my favorite series on shelves.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Spider-Gwen (2015) #13

Oct 21, 2016

Overall, this issue may work for some as a lighthearted divergence from all the other superhero drama Gwen Stacy is in the midst of. If it's not in your wheelhouse, you can look forward to your regularly scheduled action that should pick up where it left off prior to Halloween, and expect these types of issues to be few and far between anyway. Here's hoping there's not holiday issues for Thanksgiving and Christmas.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.5
Spider-Gwen (2015) #14

Nov 24, 2016

Overall, while not a fan of what's going on right now, weather the storm for one more issue. Pretty soon the series will get back on track. Pretty soon it'll have to properly address Gwen's loss of her powers. Pretty soon the holiday specials will be over.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Spider-Gwen (2015) #15

Dec 23, 2016

The holiday specials are over, we're back to the main event, and we have every reason to look forward to one of our favorite web-slingers again. Daredevil is turning into a more domineering villain with Superior Cindy behind him, along with a poetic and powerful ninja who slices Spider-Gwen up in the type of action scene we haven't seen in a few months. The artistic team put in work and reminded us just how much we'd been missing scenes like these, and Radioactive Spider-Gwen is back to business as usual as one of the strongest comics on the shelf. Welcome back.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
Spider-Gwen (2015) #16

Jan 22, 2017

Radioactive Spider-Gwen #16 does its part in giving this crossover a good start, and acknowledges Gwen's loneliness that, to fans, reads as the series addressing the type of friendship Gwen's been missing " the type that Miles has with Ganke. It will be interesting to see how much Miles helps Gwen in facing Matt Murdock, or whether that plot will be progressed or altogether resolved. I hope for the latter; it would be great to see the duo work together to overcome the ninjas and Daredevil who are so clearly superior to them right now, but we'll see how much ground we're intended to cover here. Miles and Spider-Gwen were bound to have fun chemistry, but the story has some interesting elements though, and that's the best track we can ask for right now.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Spider-Gwen (2015) #17

Feb 24, 2017

Overall, to paraphrase NFL Coach Dennis Green, they are who we thought they were. And what we thought was a Gwen Stacy and Miles Morales story would be better in thought than actuality, the equivalent of that HGTV show you can watch while washing the dishes or filing your taxes. Radioactive Spider-Gwen #17 is entertaining, but don't put yourself out for it.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.1
Spider-Gwen (2015) #18

Mar 23, 2017

Overall, this crossover event happened, and that's nearly as much as there is to say. Seeing Miles and Gwen's cross-dimensional future, coupled with a Spider-Ham's suggestion that their universes seem to be years behind his where Gwen and Miles are happily married, offers the question of determinism and adds a bit of charm to Gwen and Miles' decision to be "just friends." Now that the obligatory pairing is over with we can expect Radioactive Spider-Gwen to go back to its regularly scheduled drama, which is something we can all look forward to.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Spider-Gwen (2015) #19

May 4, 2017

Overall though, Gwen is back on her grind and you can look forward to this arc returning us to the type of conflict we love to see in her. Growth, authority, and identity. Happy to stick around.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.1
Spider-Gwen (2015) #20

Jun 4, 2017

Overall, Spider-Gwen #20 is a leap in the current arc that refocuses on Gwen's powers, what they mean for her identity, the implications her decisions will have on her as a person and hero, and her dynamic with Harry Osborne. It's a lot, but doesn't feel like it. Because it was fucking fun.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.4
Spider-Gwen (2015) #21

Jun 29, 2017

Overall, Spider-Gwen #21 is a set-up issue that builds the arc in the direction it needs to go, and it does its job while sprinkling enough drama to stay entertaining. Nothing groundbreaking to happen yet, but we have been watching this slow burn Daredevil-versus-Gwen collision course for a while now, and it should be fun watching it all come to a head.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.8
Spider-Women Alpha #1

Apr 11, 2016

None of this is to say Spider-Women Alpha #1 was bad, but a lackluster start given the potential of these three characters, particularly one as well-loved as Spider-Gwen. Adding heart and charisma into this series, along with some much-needed chemistry, can get this book back to where a group this awesome should be.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.2
Spider-Women Omega #1

Jun 11, 2016

Relationships aside, Spider-Women Omega #1 had the most badass Spider-Gwen fight scene I've ever seen. The climax finally faced our squad against the Earth-65 Cindy Moon, and a powerless Gwen Stacy came strapped to the teeth to compensate for the missing strength that had carried her through so many past fights. When the smoke cleared and there were no weapons left between them, Gwen Stacy has nothing but her fists to try and stop evil from taking over her world. Fists, and a whole lot of heart.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Supergirl (2016) #1

Sep 10, 2016

Overall, a solid start to a book that will hopefully soon reveal its identity. I'm still cautiously optimistic, but even in its worst case scenario it seems Supergirl's story is in good hands.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.8
Supergirl (2016) #2

Oct 13, 2016

Overall, the best part of Supergirl's Rebirth so far, aside from the great artwork, is the pleasant surprise of a plot this significant, this soon. It's also a curse as the human half of Kara's story feels like a petty distraction in comparison, so I expect even better things once there's better parity between the two plots. The mystery is definitely engaging, and we can all look forward to seeing how Kara copes with balancing the hope of her family and loved ones with the potential reality of its negative consequences.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Supergirl (2016) #3

Nov 11, 2016

Supergirl's panels continue to have creative layouts and dynamic angles that stay easy to follow, and while sometimes the art can be excessively toon-y for my taste, I can't say it doesn't fit. This book is doing well enough in every area to keep you reading whether you're an old fan of Kara Danvers or a newbie who hopped on from the TV show and wanted more. And just like the TV show, it won't knock your socks off in the grand scheme of things, but it'll do its job by being fast, simple, and entertaining.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Supergirl (2016) #4

Dec 14, 2016

Overall, Supergirl isn't groundbreaking, but it hasn't set out to be. Instead, it's exploring an old character in a way that nods to an origin story without falling into its most common pitfalls of overfamiliar entry plots. This is likely the best issue to date, and the arc already running full speed as it comes closer to its climax. It should be fun, and then we should be due for a pace breather, but not a second too soon.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Supergirl (2016) #5

Jan 11, 2017

Overall, reading Supergirl has the familiarity of watching your favorite childhood cartoon. It's nothing new, but it's fun and familiar. And that's the whole point.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.2
Supergirl (2016) #6

Feb 7, 2017

Overall, Supergirl's quality has maintained throughout the series, only that becomes tiring when it becomes too familiar, too soon. At the end of this arc we're definitely in familiar territory that makes the climax less exciting than if we were given a curve ball or anything outside the formula we've come to recognize. This series never set out to change much of how we see Supergirl (if you want that, try the new Being Super series by Mariko Tamaki), but hopefully this next arc can do more to give us something more unpredictable.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Supergirl (2016) #7

Mar 8, 2017

Overall, the start of this story reads as underdeveloped, a sudden redirection that takes for granted that we remember Lar-On, let alone care about him. The plot wasn't there, and with little action to show this issue was below standard for Supergirl, who can typically be relied on for drama that has heart, even if clich. The artistic transition from Brian Ching to Matias Bergara is slight enough not to be jarring, which might be a silver lining for those searching. Here's hoping this arc finds better footing in Supergirl #8.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Supergirl (2016) #8

Apr 12, 2017

Overall, we like this series for continually owning its lane, but even so this is not the best from Supergirl. What you can look forward to though is Babs' introduction to National City, finally landing on the scene after watching from a distance as we survived this latest issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.5
Supergirl (2016) #9

May 10, 2017

Overall, a new arc must bring life to this series that has been struggling of late. Nobody expected this Supergirl series to be breathtaking drama " its expectations fell somewhere alongside its CW counterpart (for breathtaking drama though, see Supergirl: Being Super, a 10 out of 10 Supergirl masterpiece in progress, on shelves now). Still, Supergirl is falling below expectations by falling short of even a middling, cohesive plot right now, and if you have been following along this far it's likely from sheer loyalty, hope, or both. Here's hoping Kara's adventure picks up as begins a new adventure isolated from everything else.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.5
Supergirl (2016) #10

Jun 16, 2017

Overall, Supergirl has not been a very enjoyable comic for many of us lately, and yet, just as this issue ends on a higher note that we should not believe to pay off, we press on. We hope. It's what Kara would want us to do. And the cover art is fire.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.4
Supergirl: Being Super #1

Dec 28, 2016

Supergirl: Being Super is a 4-part series that has the potential to be one of the best recent iterations of Kara Danvers yet. Jolle Jones' art is great " a calm tone that fits the character-driven pace of the comic, with realistic-looking characters of several shapes and sizes. I'm happy to stick around for it.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Supergirl: Being Super #2

Feb 22, 2017

If you read any Supergirl story, make it this one. Halfway through Supergirl Being Super I'm ready for the next 50 pages of a wonderfully emotional coming-of-age series.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Supergirl: Being Super #3

Apr 28, 2017

Depth, drama, substance " this book has it all. Different from any Supergirl title I have ever read, it reads as if made for a different publisher altogether, a miniseries without the constrains of Kara Danvers' expectations, continuity, and the wider DC Universe. Jolle Jones' art is fittingly amazing as well, capturing the frequent quiet moments that say so much even when no one is speaking outside Kara's thoughts. This is, in short, my shit. The more books like this one, with no fear of crossovers and overlong plots, the more books I will have to read. One more issue to go, and although I will be sad to see this series end, I will also be happy with the full story it leaves behind as a new, unique take on Supergirl's origins.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Supergirl: Rebirth #1

Aug 17, 2016

Overall, a solid start to what looks to be a solid series. A Kara Danvers origin story sets expectations moderately low to be honest, so the opportunity is there to surprise us with something more than dorky-girl-learns-to-be-human and new-hero-learns-to-hero. Here's to cautious expectations, but hey, if anyone can do it"

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
We Stand On Guard #2

Aug 4, 2015

I look forward to this book's great dialogue as well, as Vaughan does great not only creating distinct voices, but also having retorts, one-liners, and memorable lines that are badass without feeling campy or clichd. We Stand On Guard has gotten off to a great start " diverse characters, great art, and an intriguing plot. I'm sold.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.7
We Stand On Guard #3

Sep 2, 2015

Overall, We Stand On Guard continues to be a great series, and Vaughan's unique dystopic vision of the future is enough to make the series worth reading. The dialogue is great, our antagonist shows a fascinating look into the fictional US government, and the tension is written incredibly well. You have every reason to continue reading this book.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.2
We Stand On Guard #4

Oct 12, 2015

We Stand On Guard #4 is another fast-paced issue with a flashback that gives us a glimpse into Amber and Tommy's childhoods as refugees, followed by frantic action in the present day.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.2
We Stand On Guard #5

Nov 6, 2015

Overall, this one felt like that rebuilding season when your team didn't make any trades and you wondered what was the point. You can always count on Vaughan's clever dialogue and Skroce's art " especially the wide landscapes and shockingly sudden violence " so I wouldn't call this comic bad by any means. It falls short of expectations though, hopefully only to knock us out in the grand finale.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for
the Week of...

July

5th

June

May

More