Oral Frier's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: SciFiPulse Reviews: 45
8.5Avg. Review Rating

7.7
Assassin's Creed: Uprising #1

Feb 2, 2017

Assassins Creed has a devout following, and this is for good reason. Shadowy organizations battling for the fate of the world is makes for one compelling story. Fans of the series will probably enjoy the exploring the universe further. However, readers with only a cursory understanding of the story may want to steer clear until they have either played the game or read previous series.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.3
Battlestar Galactica: Gods & Monsters #2

Dec 5, 2016

Gods & Monsters #2 attempts to capitalize on the momentum of the first issue, it loses traction at times. The story is there, but the pacing is off. The art is fine in some places, yet it falters when it comes to portraying iconic characters from the franchise. I wanted to like this issue because I am intrigued by the story, and some artistic elements are right up my alley. However, that interest can only go so far.In conclusion, if the series is going to turn the ship around, it must do so quickly.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.1
Battlestar Galactica: Gods & Monsters #3

Jan 16, 2017

As the story continues to unfold in BGGM, the story is beginning to make more sense. If you have been reading this far, chances are you want to finish the series. It is not that the series doesn't have merit. The problem is that the execution comes across as clunky and unfinished. It is my hope that the coming issues can salvage what is a promising story plagued with technical issues.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Battlestar Galactica: Gods & Monsters #4

Mar 9, 2017

Fans of Battlestarmay continue to find the series a welcome addition, but newcomers or casual fans may find it difficult to fully embrace this series.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.9
Betty Boop #1

Oct 4, 2016

Betty Boop #1is not a comic for everyone. It purposefully dates itself; subsequently, Betty Boop is a love letter to a time that many readers have little or no connection. Thus, a comic in the vein isa hindrance to some, yet the debut issue is fun for anyone who has an affinity for a bygone era. So if you are someone who loves reading about the jazz age, big band clubs, and the Jitterbug, give this comic a shot.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.4
Bloodshot U.S.A. #1

Oct 31, 2016

The Valiant universe can sometimes be difficult to enter. There are a lot of unfamiliar properties for the uninitiated, yet the publisher is committed to being accessible. Bloodshot U.S.A is the gold standard of this idea.Whether you are new or returning to Valiant, this event delivers on all front, and no one should miss out on the mayhem.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Bloodshot U.S.A. #2

Nov 28, 2016

Bloodshot U.S.A #2 pumps the breaks a little in this issue. Sometimes, this dramatically slows down a story unnecessarily, yet here it allows the story to breathe and not careen into a ditch. Less action works in this instance. Plus, the series has only made it to the halfway mark. More violence is up ahead, but it was nice to see how funny a book about a terrifying viral outbreak could be.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Bloodshot U.S.A. #3

Dec 19, 2016

Every issue of Bloodshot U.S.A continues to surprise readers. Whether with comedic beats or personal revelations, these creators are delivering an atypical event story. I find it quite refreshing because it is something we don't get to see everyday. Those looking for nothing but straight up action issue after issue will be disappointed. The rest of us, however, are having a blast.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.1
Bloodshot U.S.A. #4

Jan 23, 2017

On the surface, Bloodshot may have appeared to be the standard knockout event, but it was able to give so much more than anticipated. With the right balance of character development and carnage, Valiant's latest event shows that major event book can also be heartfelt and leave a character transformed without using gimmicks or ordinary plot devices. Kudos to the creative team. Bloodshot U.S.A.was a captivating departure from the norm, and it will stand as a solid story for years to come.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.1
Britannia #1

Sep 20, 2016

Britannia #1 delivers on a lot of different fronts, and it will be interesting to see if it can maintain this momentum in subsequent issues.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Britannia #2

Oct 11, 2016

Britannia #2 echoes its inaugural issue in all of the right places. The story continues to be fleshed out, and the art continues to engross the reader in a tale of war and terror. Hopefully, the title will maintain this high level of craftsmanship as we cross the halfway point for the final two issues.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.7
Britannia #3

Nov 22, 2016

The final issue of Britannia will be issue four. In that issue, there will be a lot of ground to cover. There is so much of this series that has yet to be said, and I hope the creative team are able to bring our story to a successful close.Ultimately, this is both the failing and strengthof issue #3. You would think that there would be a more firm understanding of actually is going on; I thought Britannia #3 would give the readers that. It did not. However, it left me wanting desperately to finish this journey, and any book that can achieve that is a good one in my opinion.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
Britannia #4

Dec 19, 2016

This series has a great deal to overcome. With four issues, a writer is limited to the amount of story they have. Economy has to be the name of the game. Britannia proves this wrong. Precious pages are used to give the reader historical context to elements in the story and bolsters the overall story. Small tidbits of information are doled out over three issues, yet the final issues gives us a giant deluge of truths all at once. In many respects, Britannia is uneven, and it should not work; however, Britannia does work, and it works very well.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.3
Cage (2016) #1

Oct 15, 2016

Cage is an outlandish comedic romp. Ridiculous doesn't seem like a strong enough word to describe what the series is. This comicis accessible, and lacks any of the demonstrative soberness that many modern comics exude in mass quantities. Though it may not be suitable for everyone's pallet, Sweet Christmas! is it a blast for the rest of us.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.2
Cyborg: Rebirth #1

Sep 12, 2016

Cyborg works great as a member of the Justice League, but it can be difficult to write for the character in a solo book. Although Cyborg: Rebirth #1 is a bit choppy at times, the first issue seems like a solid beginning for the titular character.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
Divinity III: Escape From Gulag 396 #1

Mar 21, 2017

As I have stated before, Divinity IIIis a great series for Valiant. The rich alternate universe has a wealth of potential that the writers and artists are fully taking advantage. In an industry where tie-ins can often feel lackluster and pointless, Divinity III consistently defines itself as a cut above the rest.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Divinity III: Shadowman #1

Feb 14, 2017

Divinity's third installment is a fun divergence from the norm. Fans ofThe Man in the High Castle definitely should definitely check outthis, and the overall series, asap.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.9
Faith #8

Jan 31, 2017

Faith #8 was a delight to read. The entire series has been a funny and smart dive into one of Valiant's strongest characters. Houser and Eisma really understand what makes this character and series work. With the right balance of seriousness, wit and levity, Faith is a series that delivers a fun and fresh take on a character who should be disillusioned with the world around her, yet she perseveres.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.4
Generation Zero #2

Sep 28, 2016

Generation Zero has a lot going on, and even more going for it. There are a large amount of peculiar characters to introduce, and the story has a lot of set up to do for subsequent issues. Despite the obstacles, issue #2 remains strong and cohesive. The depiction of power in its many formsis interesting and timely, lending credence to a theme. The theme of rising up against your persecutors, and standing strong in your convictions.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.9
Generation Zero #7

Feb 21, 2017

I like Generation Zero. It is a fun alternative to the Harbinger series. For those who have been reading from issue to issue, more light has been shed on just exactly what is going on in this small town. I thoroughly enjoy the mystery aspect of this series because it is somewhat a departure from what readers would expect.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Green Hornet: Reign of the Demon #1

Dec 21, 2016

Green Hornet: Reign of the Demon #1 represents a new era for the series. The writing and art are fresh, yet the book carries the required nostalgia. The characters are fully present, and the world they inhabit feels vibrant. This is the perfect jumping on point for anyone who wants a bit of old school crime fighting.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Harbinger: Renegade #1

Nov 15, 2016

Harbinger Renegadeis a grittier, no holds barred Gen Xfor a new era. It tackles the clash between youth culture and authority head on, and the series really shines because of it. Valiant once again has struck gold with another of their series, and I expect to stake my claim now. I suggest you do the same.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.1
Harbinger: Renegade #2

Dec 31, 2016

There is a lot of ground to cover in Harbinger: Renegades. The first two issues have been a bit of a whirlwind, so the possibility of the story becoming convoluted is high. With this many levels of characters and locales, it would be easy to feel a bit lost or overwhelmed, yet the story remains clear and concise. This series is beloved, and I believe the current installment will be loved as well.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Harbinger: Renegade #4

Mar 9, 2017

It should be no secret that I absolutely adore the Harbinger series. When Valiant relaunched a few years ago, this series was (and remains) my favorite. It really puts a smile on my face to see the series done so well after its hiatus. And even though readers have to wait MONTHS for the series to return, we all can rest assured that it will be worth the wait.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.4
Hook Jaw #1

Dec 22, 2016

At first read, Hook Jaw did not grab me. There was just something about it that didn't ring true. On my second read through, I realized that the disconnect was on my part. A story about killer sharks isn't supposed to be authentic, and once I came to that conclusion, the story really began to shine with me. Hook Jaw isn't for everyone, but, for those who want a different kind of story, it is a tale you can sink your teeth into. ( I would like to take this final moment to apologize for the pun. It was bad, and I am only slightly ashamed.)

View Issue       View Full Review
7.7
James Bond #7

Jan 9, 2017

Was this my favorite issue of a Bond book? No. There were elements that felt to business as usual. Conversely, sometimes you just want a familiar kind of storytelling in certain things. Bond is familiar to many, and many will probably disagree with assessment of this issue. By no means do I think this issue was bad. Ellis is an accomplished writer, and I believe he has done a great job with this series overall. I just think this issue was missing an element of surprise and excitement.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.4
James Bond: Hammerhead #2

Nov 8, 2016

James Bond 007: Hammerhead #2 is a slick spy thriller that could have had a host of problems. (The Bond franchise has had their fair share of problems over the decades.) Those problems are nowhere to be found in this issue. In fact, for those looking for a more traditional Bond story and feeling, this is the series for you.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.3
James Bond: Hammerhead #3

Dec 14, 2016

James Bond Hammerhead #3is a solid installment in this series. The story remains tight and intriguing even though the master plan of the villains have not been fully revealed. This issue leaves you us on a great cliffhanger, and I will certainly be waiting to see how Bond gets out of this predicament.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Jessica Jones #1

Oct 16, 2016

Jessica Jonesis balancing act. The book is smart, funny, edgy, and incredibly poignant. Issue #1 condensesthe macro elements of the larger world, and it elegantly distills them into an already solid plot about people and relationships. It doesn't just simply works; it works incredibly well. Fans of the original series have nothing to worry about because the caliber of the original has been matched and succeeded in this first issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.1
Masked #2

Dec 31, 2016

As the series progresses, I look forward to unraveling the mystery of what is going on in this world that is almost like our own. There are so many seemingly disparate pieces that have yet to come together, and I, for the life of me, can't see where they will all fit. Moreover, that concept is terribly exciting. In conclusion: beautiful, compelling, mysterious, and absolutely baffling. A must read!

View Issue       View Full Review
7.9
Ninjak #21

Nov 28, 2016

If you haven't been following Ninjak, jumping in now may seem a bit late, but this issue has demonstrated that going back and reading the series is warranted. The ending of this story arc was bitter-sweet, and I think it gave us an ending that felt satisfactory. It is a defining moment for the character. And although….hyper meditation?!?,the issue was overall satisfying.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Ninjak #23

Jan 16, 2017

Ninjak promises to deliver a thrilling tale in the next few issues. This first installment in “The Seven Swords of Mister Darque” story will have a lot of pieces to move. Ninjak, ostensibly, will have become a big team book, and from what this prelude has demonstrated, it will be well-balanced and a lot of fun.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.9
Ninjak #24

Feb 18, 2017

The new story arc for Ninjakhas yet to disappoint. Seven Samuraiis a classic, and this Ninjak is able to pay homage to that movie right. These seven people, although incredibly deadly, face a nearly impossible task to accomplish. Some will survive, and some may fall. It is a story told time and time again; however, the story is being told fresh and fun way. The next few issues should be a blast and totally worth a read.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.1
Paper Girls #9

Sep 13, 2016

Cliff Chiang continues to generate a wonderful sense of nostalgia, but when coupled with Matt Wilson's colors, Paper Girls seems crisp, new and dynamic. Wilson does a fantastic job of making the atmosphere of future Stoney Stream seem otherworldly and foreboding. A great example of this tension is the splash page of issue #9. It is an arresting sight that gives us a big view as to what the girls are up against.Brian K Vaughan has employed this method before in Paper Girls and in his other series,Saga, with artist Fiona Staples. I always look forward to seeing the new outlandish images his books come up with next.Paper Girls continues to confuse and delight readers. And while I still do not have a firm grasp as to what is happening or why, I look forward to the next installment.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.2
Red Sonja (2017) #0

Dec 15, 2016

It may be too early to call this new run of Red Sonjaa massive hit, yet the work both Chu and Gomez put into the book foreshadows really good things. This is a tale that I do not believe has been told with this character, and it seems refreshing and exciting. And with this issue only costing a whopping $.25 US (You read correctly. This only cost one-quarter of a dollar), it cannot be passed up. We are in a new age for Red Sonja, and I am happy to live in it.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Savage #1

Dec 5, 2016

Going into a series like this, one never knows what to expect. The unknown is a huge treat to readers, but it can also leave a story middling and lost. Savage does the former with such dedication that it almost looks too easy. Whatever this series has in store for its readers (and I am sure it is a lot), I do not believe anyone will be disappointed.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.9
Savage #2

Jan 9, 2017

There have been stories like Savage. Land of the Lost, Lost, Swiss Family Robinson, Journey to the Center of the Earthand etc have all done outstanding tales of survival in the face of adversity. What make stories like these interesting is not just the addition of a twist to the tale. What makes these stories work is an understanding of how these environments transforms these characters. How someone can go from civilized to savage (I don't like those terms, but they were the only ones I could use to simply convey an idea.) left alone to survive nature's power. Halfway through its run, Savage demonstrates that it can do these things and more, and I look forward to the final two issues.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.4
Savage #3

Jan 30, 2017

Sadly, there is only one more issue of this phenomenal series left. With so much left to uncover, Moore must encapsulate a fair amount of information in just a few more pages. Though this more than likely will not be a problem, it still leaves me to believe that we will still have so much of this bizarre island to explore. A tale such as this one deserves to be returned to. Hopefully, this will be the case. There is not doubt in my mind that many readers would say the same.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.9
Savage #4

Feb 18, 2017

Savageis a bizarre series. It is a series that doesn't explain how, nor does it ever attempt to explain the why. We don't know why all of this is possible. I mean an interdimensional portal was literally framed by wood. What is that about? The kicker is that I still love this story. Savage is doing things that other books would not or could not attempt, and it does it well. I look forward to the next series. It may begin to answer the questions we all have…but probably won't which will still be fine.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
Vikings: Uprising #1

Sep 27, 2016

The art team for Vikings Uprising has done a fantastic job. The first page is a sight to behold, and the opening battle scenes and the slave revolt are full of power and rage. Thankfully, scenes are clear and easy to follow without being simple. There is a palpable feel in the air. Daniel Indro's pencils bring this ancient world to life, and Kevin Enhart brings an authenticity to it. At times, you can almost hear the sounds of village life and the smell of hearth fires. The only thing that seems slightly off is the lettering choice for this issue. It can be a bit distracting since it flits from aptly rustic to sleek and modern. The latter doesn't fit too well. This is not to say that Jim Campbell did not do an impressive job (The narration boxes are on point!). However, the dialogue word balloons stick out like a sore thumb.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.9
Wolfcop #1

Oct 25, 2016

Going into Wolf Cop #1, you don't know exactly what to expect beyond it being ridiculous, yet the massive amount of blood, gore, and puns adds a variety to a premise that can could have easily fizzled out. If you are into decapitation, cannibalism, and werewolves kicking ass, give this title a shot.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Wrath of the Eternal Warrior #11

Sep 13, 2016

Wrath of the Eternal Warrior is a series that really demonstrates the level of talent over at Valiant Comics. Issue #11 does a good job of summarizing what has already transpired in the book, so the feeling of being lost in the story is minimized. And while this issue may not have delivered in the way of action, the character analysis and development arrived right on time.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
Wrath of the Eternal Warrior #13

Nov 12, 2016

Eternal Warrior is one of Valiant's most unusual and strongest titles. (Think of it as a warrior Doctor Who sans space.) The versatility of the property allows the freedom to tell incredibly weird and outlandish stories, but with a stellar creative team, such as this, the series can remain grounded and palpable. This is why issue #13 works on such a fundamental level. Those who have worked on this series should be incredibly proud of themselves for producing something of such high-caliber.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
X-O Manowar (2017) #1

Mar 20, 2017

If you have ever wanted a great place to start with X-O, or you are returning fan, or you just like warriors in space, this book was made specifically for you. Do yourselves a favor and follow Aric once more.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.1
Xena: Warrior Princess #6

Sep 19, 2016

Xena Warrior Princess#6 has a lot of good things going for it. The writing of our two main characters is so strong that you can hear the actresses reading the lines in your mind. The art, in places, conveys the sense of majesty and might that fans remember about the television series even after all these years. Yes, there are issues with the plot and art in certain places, but the good still outweighs the bad of this installment.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for
the Week of...

March

February

More