Sean Blumenshine's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: DC Comics News Reviews: 200
7.5Avg. Review Rating

8.0
Adventures of Supergirl #1

May 21, 2016

Honestly, I would recommend this to people who haven't watched the show over fans. The book is self-contained and gives the readers the information one would need in order to understand context. For people who have watched this show, the dump of exposition is incredibly tedious. Most of the characters from the show don't make an appearance which will more than likely irritate fans but people who didn't like the show may find this more bearable because the CW element is taken out entirely. Personally, I enjoyed this book. It features what I enjoy about the show and this character in a fun story with great art. I ultimately recommend it to fans of the character Supergirl and people who want a fun read.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Adventures of Supergirl #2

Jun 5, 2016

The art is good despite the artistic clash and I like a lot of the ideas behind the story. However, those ideas are too obvious and spelt out for my taste. It doesn't really continue the story to a place I was interested in and I don't like the characters this issue chooses to focus on. Overall, I would recommend skipping this issue. It's got some merit but is a disappointing experience overall.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Adventures of Supergirl #3

Jun 14, 2016

This is an excellent issue. The concept and execution are both perfect with excellent work from everyone involved. The passion and creativity make this a must-read. I highly recommend checking this issue out.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Adventures of Supergirl #4

Jun 27, 2016

The issue is overall enjoyable. I quite like Gates' dialogue and I enjoy what he does with the theme of secrecy in superhero material for Kara's character. The art is also great. The issue is unfortunately weighed down by some exposition and uninteresting action but I still recommend checking this issue out. It is a fun read.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Adventures of Supergirl #5

Jul 12, 2016

Gates and the various artists are knocking it out of the park. This could have easily been a cheap tie in to the show that was boring and only made to make a quick buck off the success of the show. But the creative team gives it their all in a story that is both fun and thought provoking. It's one of the best DC books right now which is saying a lot considering how good of a place DC is in right now. I don't just recommend this to fans of the show or fans of Supergirl as a character even though those people will absolutely adore this. I recommend this, and the entire series so far, to anyone that just likes good stories.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
American Vampire Anthology #2

Oct 12, 2016

I think this is okay. I like the concept and the various art styles are great. However, I found it to be dull for the most part. There is a lot of good in the book; I just don't think it's great.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Aquaman (2011) #50

Apr 8, 2016

This is an excellent issue. The lead characters are the definition of great heroes, the action is fun and the art is great. I definitely recommend picking this up.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Aquaman (2011) #52

May 21, 2016

This is a good issue. The art is great and I think it's a solid conclusion to the story. However, it is mainly action so I think it would read better as part of a trade or just back to back with the previous two issues. It's not a stand-alone issue that one can enjoy on its own. I would recommend waiting for the trade on this one.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Batgirl (2011) #48

Feb 6, 2016

This is a fantastic issue. Memory loss is a phenomenon that is truly scary. People freak out when they can't find their keys; imagine not being able to remember key decisions that you have made in your life. She has no control over her life. It is a terrifying situation because we rely so much on our memories even though they're not reliable all of the time. It's violating and creates a sympathetic situation for Barbara since her mind is her superpower. Additionally, adding Black Canary to the mix is always welcome. I love the friendship these two have and the best moments of the book come from them. On top of that is incredible artwork from Tarr with wonderful colors by Lapointe and Loughridge. My only issue, as stated above, is how obvious Greg is as the villain. Despite that, this is a great read and you should definitely check it out.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Batgirl (2011) #49

Mar 11, 2016

This is an unsettling story in the best way possible. The Fugue's motivation and plan is insanely creepy and is able to bring Barbara to her weakest point. In addition, there is wonderful art and colors throughout. Some of the science feels wonky but it's a great read besides that. I definitely recommend picking this issue up.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Batgirl (2011) #52

May 30, 2016

Overall, this is a disappointing finale. I've truly loved this series and this team so I'm sad to see it end; I just wish that the book reflected those emotions. The dialogue is still fun and the action is cool but the heart this team usually conveys so well, for some reason, doesn't come through for me. It's not terrible or even bad; I'm just ambivalent towards it which is disappointing. I would recommend waiting for the trade on this one.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Batgirl (2016) #2

Aug 24, 2016

This is a wonderful issue. Babs is as lovable as ever if not more so, the story is interesting and unique and the art and colors are spectacular. I highly recommend this issue especially for kids. If you have kids that have an interest in comics or you want to introduce them, this series is a wonderful place to start. It's colorful, fun and might be a little educational for kids.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Batgirl (2016) #3

Sep 28, 2016

Ultimately, I just wish this issue stood on its own a bit more. I tend to want issues of a comic to be enjoyable on their own and I don't think this one quite accomplishes that. It does have wonderful art and Hope Larson is still writing Babs terrifically. The characterization is spot on with nice little flourishes. I recommend waiting for the trade on this issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Batgirl (2016) #4

Oct 28, 2016

This is a strong issue. The art is great throughout and a lot of fun to look at. Larson presents interesting motivations for the villains and ideas about the education system both of which work very well. As usual, Larson characterizes Babs very well. She is fun and upbeat but has her limits and can be tough. I recommend checking this issue out; it's a fun read.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Batgirl (2016) #5

Nov 23, 2016

This is an excellent issue witha fun conclusion. The action is engaging with great art and pacing. It's well written with great dialogue and narration for Batgirl; Hope Larson really understands Barbara and characterizes her well. I also like the discussion about the societal pressures of a college education.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Batgirl (2016) #6

Dec 28, 2016

This is a fun read. It's a cool concept both with the plane in danger and the inclusion of Poison Ivy. The art is pretty good with exceptions in a few places. Overall, I enjoyed this one.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Batgirl (2016) #7

Jan 25, 2017

This is a strong start to the new story. I really like all of the stuff with Barbara having to face major changes in her town and personal life after being gone for a while. Life moves on whether one is there to see it or not. The art is pretty good as well. I recommend checking this issue out.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Batgirl (2016) #8

Feb 22, 2017

This is a really solid issue. Larson is writing great material for both Barbara and the supporting cast. The art is really strong as well with Burnside really coming to life. I wish there was more room to handle certain plot elements more but the issue still works well.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Batgirl (2016) #9

Mar 22, 2017

This is a solid issue. The art is great and Hope Larson continues to characterize Babs very well. I'm interested by several of the the story elements; I like how much is going on in Barbara's life right now. The issue is a fun read with solid social commentary.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Batgirl (2016) #10

Apr 26, 2017

This is a solid issue. The art is fun to look at and there are a lot of nice character moments. This issue is a little quieter than most but that's nice.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Batgirl (2016) #11

May 24, 2017

This is a really solid issue and a fun conclusion to this story. The art is great with some really cool chase scenes. I like Ethan's villainous scheme and how Babs stops it. It's a fun read; I recommend checking this issue out.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Batgirl (2016) #12

Jun 29, 2017

I love this issue; it might be one of my favorites, if not my favorite, in Hope Larson's run and I've liked this current series a lot. It's just a lot of fun with a creative story. The art is stellar; I adore Carlini's pencils especially on the characters. This was a really fun read and I highly recommend it.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Batgirl (2016) #13

Jul 26, 2017

This is a great issue. It's a cool stand alone story that's a lot of fun. The art is incredible and the issue stars two of the coolest characters in the DC Universe. I highly recommend reading this issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Batgirl (2016) Annual #1

Mar 29, 2017

This is a great issue. I wish we didn't save this format for just the annuals; I like issues that have more than one story. It's a lot of fun and shows a variety of different talent. I also like that we get essentially a stand-alone story with Ayala's section. That's also too uncommon in modern comics. The writing in both stories is top notch with wonderful dialogue and interesting plots. I want to see a Larson Supergirl story now really badly and there should clearly be a Batgirl/Supergirl team up series because this was inspired. The art from both teams is fantastic with different and unique styles that both work really well.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Batman '66 #29

Nov 25, 2015

This comic is really good. There's good humor, solid action and it is well plotted and thought out. The most important thing about it is that it is fun to read. I had a blast with this issue; it's exciting and there are cool tidbits for fans of the show, which I am. While I still don't appreciate the artwork, I highly recommend this issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Batman '66 Meets The Man From U.N.C.L.E. #3

Feb 13, 2016

Honestly, I do not have a lot to say about this issue. I'm not a fan of the art. While the layouts are creative and fun, the facial expressions always look strange to me. No one really looks like a person and I don't think the style matches either show. The crossover is still fun but this particular issue does not do much for me. However, the ending is amazing and I'm incredibly excited for the next issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Batman '66 Meets Wonder Woman '77 #1

Nov 23, 2016

This is an excellent issue. The concept is just too cool and something DC fans have always wanted to see. Comic book fans love crossovers and have always imagined how cool it could have been if these shows had somehow crossed. It's awesome to retroactively put them in the same continuity. The art is great and there is a major surprise for DC fans.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Batman (2011) #50

Mar 25, 2016

I loved Snyder's earlier works on Batman but both “Endgame” and “Superheavy” were disappointments to me. They're unnecessarily long without the meat to justify it. This conclusion is wonderful to look at thanks to the art team but it's a little difficult to read; I had a hard time getting invested in the story itself. I recommend waiting for the trade on this one mainly for the art.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Batman/Superman (2013) #30

Mar 16, 2016

While it has beautiful moments, this book is dull overall. The villains just aren't interesting. They're given little characterization or development and pose no threat to our heroes. They come across as cannon fodder which is disappointing because the art is great and the giant could be a terrific threat. I want to say that it's worth buying the issue for the ending but ultimately, I think it's best to wait for trade on this one.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Batman: Arkham Knight: Batgirl & Harley Quinn Special #1

Feb 13, 2016

I love this issue. Creating a parallel between Batgirl and Harley Quinn is actually interesting. I never thought about it before but they are really similar people. They're inspired by a larger than life character to fight for what they believe in whether it's helping people or love. Where they differ is that Barbara is able define to herself outside of Batman while Harley becomes lost in the Joker. The art is solid with cool action with various villains. I highly recommend buying this issue especially if you're a fan of these games.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Black Canary (2015) #7

Feb 3, 2016

If you're someone who likes a lot of dialogue and sound effects in comics, you might not like this. A good portion of the book relies on the art which I think is fantastic. Everything you need is given to you through action, facial expressions and page layout. It is really incredible. Unfortunately, this means there is a lot of dialogue at the beginning and the end of the issue which is somewhat tedious. There are rumors that this book might get cancelled in a couple of months but I really hope not because this is always one of the books I look forward to the most.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Black Canary (2015) #8

Feb 13, 2016

This is a pretty solid issue. Jarrell's art combined with Loughridge's colors are striking and engaging; it gives the issue a lot of life. Teaming up Black Canary with Vixen was a great surprise that led to a lot of fun action. I hope Vixen becomes a recurring character in the book. Fletcher also does a great job of starting at a place of mystery and then explaining instead of flashing back. This is a really fun issue and a good starting point so I recommend picking this up.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Black Canary (2015) #9

Mar 18, 2016

I honestly don't have much to say about this issue. It's disappointing that the main team isn't here but it works well enough. It's simple and entertaining but nothing great. I recommend waiting for the trade on this one.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Black Canary (2015) #10

Apr 28, 2016

This book is incredible. Whenever I read this series, I just feel good about everything. With the the exception of #9, every issue has been great and this is the best one yet. I cannot recommend this high enough. You should definitely be reading this.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Black Canary (2015) #11

May 7, 2016

This is a very strong issue. The action is fun, the mood is creepy and it's simply a fun read. If books tend to be mainly action, it's a little less enjoyable than others for me. It's still fun but it is mainly a big action scene. Despite that, I definitely recommend it.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Black Canary (2015) #12

Jun 14, 2016

Overall, this is a decent issue. The art is fantastic for the most, I like what is done for Dinah's character and there some creative concepts. However, certain elements go on too long which results in others not having enough time to completely work. Ultimately, I would recommend waiting for the trade on this one.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Catwoman (2011) #47

Dec 14, 2015

This issue is a terrific read. I have tried reading New 52 Catwoman in the past but I never really latched onto it but since there is a new team on this one, I decided to check it out. And I am thrilled that I did because this is wonderful. The book contains great action, art, character and is just fun to read. I highly recommend checking this out.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Catwoman (2011) #48

Jan 15, 2016

Overall, this is a great read. If you're unsure about this series, I highly recommend reading this issue and the previous one. They're a great new start for a great character.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Catwoman (2011) #49

Feb 13, 2016

This is another fantastic issue. The team is hitting it out of the park with every issue. The art and colors by Miranda and De La Cruz are outstanding with terrific plotting by Tieri. The action scenes are dynamic with stellar layouts. I cannot recommend this issue, and the previous two, any higher. This book is firing on all cylinders.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Catwoman (2011) #50

Mar 16, 2016

The conclusion to this story is satisfying. I like the twist and everything wraps up in a believable way. It's not mind blowing or action packed but it is cool and immensely helped by the art. The backup stories take it down a bit for me. The Justice League one is cute but the I think the first one is incredibly tedious. Overall, this is a good issue and I recommend picking it up.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Catwoman (2011) #52

May 18, 2016

Overall, this is a decent story that is helped immensely by its art. It's interesting enough but not mind-blowing. However, the art and colors are wonderful and entirely worth the read so I recommend this issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Deathstroke (2014) #12

Dec 2, 2015

This comic is okay. I wish there was some more plot and less action but the action is incredibly well drawn and I am excited to see what role Catwoman is going to have.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Deathstroke (2014) #13

Dec 30, 2015

Overall, this is a pretty strong issue. There is good action, the character interactions are fun, the art is fun and there is a cool twist at the end that makes me excited for the upcoming issues.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Deathstroke (2014) #14

Feb 5, 2016

There honestly isn't much to say about this issue. Like the last story with the Suicide Squad, this feel like it is being dragged out way too long with too much mindless action. Kirkham's art is fantastically detailed as always and makes the action a little more fun but this really isn't that engaging. It may have been more interesting if Slade had fought Mercy more instead of the robot. With that, we could have had some more dynamic martial arts but every fight is just a beat down with the losing side never having a chance. It's not terrible but I think it would better to wait for the trade.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Deathstroke (2014) #15

Mar 9, 2016

Ultimately, I find this issue to be dull. The art is great and I am intrigued by Rose's motivations; I want to know what is going on with her. However, like the last several issues, this story is too padded. It's more concerned with Deathstroke fighting than telling a story. Action is fine but it gets tiresome after awhile. I recommend skipping this issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Doomed #6

Nov 25, 2015

If you read the sentence, “Doomed decapitates Mother Herd with a boat,” and weren't interested in reading this, Doomed #6 probably isn't the book for you. While I normally don't enjoy issues that are mainly action, Lobdell does a good job of using the action to develop Reiser as a character. Combined with great artwork, this is a solid read. There are a couple of missteps in my opinion but they're easy to overlook in this case.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Earth 2: Society #7

Dec 14, 2015

Overall, there is some fun dialogue and cool action that do make this an easy read. However, the tone combined with confused character motivations make it a little frustrating for me.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Earth 2: Society #8

Jan 19, 2016

Besides the tone, my other big complaint is that there are several different stories going on at once that don't relate to each other. Maybe the plots will connect later but it feels a little tedious now. They could structure it differently and make it more of an anthology book instead of cutting back and forth between these different tales. It might be a little more fun. As is, the art is nice but the issue itself is dull. There's too much going on that doesn't connect and it's just not any fun. I am curious about the Amazonian plot so I am hoping that the series will pick up and these stories can come together.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Earth 2: Society #9

Feb 17, 2016

This is the best issue of the series so far. The art jumped out at me in a way that it hasn't before and there is some interesting social commentary. Additionally, the subplots actually feel a bit more connected than they normally do. It's not the most engaging read and I still think the tone is wrong but there are elements of this issue that work quite well. However, I would recommend that you wait for trade to read this story.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Flash (2011) #46

Dec 2, 2015

This is a very good issue. The conflict between Barry and Eobard is always interesting and it is fun in this. The art is creative and the action is engaging.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Flash (2011) #48

Feb 17, 2016

This is a solid issue. The premise of making Flash an outlaw and the Rogues heroes is really funny and should make for a good story going forward. The Rogues are an incredible amount of fun to follow and I like that there is accountability on the Flash. He doesn't get to do whatever he wants just because his name is in the title. I recommend checking this issue out. It is a lot of fun.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Flash (2011) #49

Mar 10, 2016

This another really strong issue. The action is fantastic, there are nice slow moments for the characters and it is well put together in both the writing and the art. I have a couple of minor complaints but it's still a fun read. I definitely recommend checking this issue out.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Future Quest #1

May 22, 2016

I honestly cannot say if fans of these cartoons will like this because I am unfamiliar with the source material. However, it does feel reminiscent of the 1960s in tone and plot. If you like Parker's Batman '66, you will probably like this. It has a very similar vibe. I do think it is appealing to new readers. It's a good enough start to a story that I am interested to know more and continue despite my unfamiliarity with these characters. I recommend picking this issue up.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Green Arrow (2011) #47

Dec 15, 2015

This is a solid conclusion to a story that I found to be fairly dull and uninteresting. This issue does fix some of my problems with this story and I enjoyed it but I do feel like this should have happened sooner. Additionally, the romance between Green Arrow and Tarantula is fairly forced and just random. I don't have much else to say. This is a fun issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Green Arrow (2011) #48

Jan 13, 2016

I like how much of a stand-alone issue this is. While there is obviously more to the story, a person can easily read this by itself and enjoy it. If you are looking to jump in on Green Arrow, this a great place to start. It's well written with great art. The winter setting really does set a mood. Additionally, I think there a couple of really interesting thematic ideas and some good character development for Oliver. This is a great issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Green Arrow (2011) #49

Feb 6, 2016

This story has potential and interesting ideas but it is not working for me. The two sides of this conflict are too over the top and extreme to really take seriously but the book has a fairly serious tone so it ends up just feeling tedious. I like seeing Emiko again and she has a lot of good dialogue. The art is nice but this issue is something that I think you can skip.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Green Arrow (2011) #50

Mar 25, 2016

Overall, this issue is consistent with the others in this story. It's potentially interesting with wonderful art but just isn't captivating enough. I recommend skipping this issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Green Arrow (2011) #51

Apr 26, 2016

Overall, the art is great and I love the effort being put forth. But, the writing isn't very subtle which takes me out of it and there isn't an engaging conflict. Slade is able to win too easily so there's never any tension. It's certainly not bad but it doesn't leave much of an impression. I would wait for the trade on this one mainly for the art.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Green Arrow (2011) #52

May 7, 2016

This is probably the best issue since Percy's first story ended. Everything after that has been fairly dull and mediocre. This issue is actually a decent read. It's not great but it is interesting and worth a read. I recommend it.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Green Arrow (2016) #1

Jun 15, 2016

Despite some minor complaints, I think this is an excellent issue. It continues the story, characters and themes all in an interesting way that I found to be captivating and fun. The art is great and there is a cool action scene that starts the book off. Green Arrow continues to be the highlight of Rebirth so far. I highly recommend this issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Green Arrow (2016) #2

Jul 6, 2016

Overall, this another solid issue. The characters are all put into interesting places by the end and I am really invested in seeing where it goes. That is a really important compliment for a comic book, I think. The fact that I am so excited for the next issue means that the creative team is doing a really good job. I do think the issue needs a tiny bit more pay off and less teasing but it's still highly enjoyable. I definitely recommend picking the issue up.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Green Arrow (2016) #3

Jul 20, 2016

Overall, I thought this was a boring issue. Nothing really happens in the book that engages me. There's some cool action and decent scenes but, plot wise, this did nothing for me. However, Ferreyra's art is absolutely outstanding and worth seeing. I would recommend waiting for the trade on this issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Green Arrow (2016) #4

Aug 3, 2016

This is an excellent issue. I felt that the last couple of issues were a little slow but this gets back on course for me. It's a fairly thrilling story now that all of the pieces are in place. The villains really step up and become much more menacing with the heroes going up against impossible odds for them. I highly recommend checking this issue out.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Green Arrow (2016) #5

Aug 17, 2016

I enjoyed this issue quite a bit. The art is spectacular, the writing is fun and engaging and its characters are well defined and enjoyable to read about. The ending left me feeling a little cold but it could easily go somewhere interesting. I recommend checking this issue out; it's a good time.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Green Arrow (2016) #6

Sep 7, 2016

Green Arrow continues to be one of the strongest books in Rebirth. Percy has a lot of love for Oliver and history and it shows through his writing. Byrne's art is really good. This is the start of two cool stories that I am looking forward to reading more of in the future. I definitely recommend checking this issue out.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Green Arrow (2016) #7

Sep 21, 2016

This is a great issue. The characters are well written, the action is spectacular and the art is wonderful. I highly recommend reading this issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Green Arrow (2016) #8

Oct 5, 2016

This is a fun issue. It's a slower one but I think that works in its favor. It's simple and sweet. But Percy does a lot with it and is able to establish and develop a lot about both Oliver Queen and Dinah Lance. Additionally, Schmidt's art is fantastic in every panel. While it may not be for everyone due to the focus on romance, I found it to be enjoyable and I recommend it.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Green Arrow (2016) #9

Oct 19, 2016

This is a strong issue. The antagonists are interesting and have a neat history that ties into the main story of the book. The characterizations of the main protagonists featured are still pitch perfect. And the art is fantastic as well. This is well worth the read; I highly recommend it.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Green Arrow (2016) #10

Nov 2, 2016

Overall, this is a fun issue. It has a great concept by Percy with some cool moments for all three characters to shine. And the art is fantastic especially the coloring. I recommend reading this issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Green Arrow (2016) #11

Nov 16, 2016

Overall, this is a good issue. Despite some issues with Black Canary, the art is amazing otherwise. There's a lot of great dialogue and action that make this a fun issue. I recommend reading it.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Green Arrow (2016) #12

Dec 7, 2016

Overall, this is an enjoyable issue. The art is great, especially the colors. Percy manages to engage even though not much happens in terms of plot. The political commentary is well done and I enjoy the banter between the members of Team Arrow.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Green Arrow (2016) #13

Dec 21, 2016

Overall, this is a solid issue. Schmidt makes a welcome return to the art and does a great job as usual. While the main story is something I've seen before, the interaction and dialogue between Ollie and Dinah makes it very easy to read.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Green Arrow (2016) #14

Jan 4, 2017

Overall, this is an enjoyable read. The art is fantastic and really fun to look at. The action is cool and Black Canary has a nice part to play that I really had fun with it. The identity of the Arrow Killer is a little disappointing to me but it could go somewhere interesting.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Green Arrow (2016) #15

Jan 19, 2017

This is a great issue. The art and the writing are both in top form. Every panel is gorgeous with a great character focused story to go enhance it and vice versa. The action is cool and, as always, there are fun moments for fans of Green Arrow.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Green Arrow (2016) #16

Feb 1, 2017

I love the issue. Emiko being back makes me really happy. It's cool to have a Red Arrow with Green Arrow and Black Canary again and it makes perfect sense for it to be Emi. I like the police chief and that he is not easily manipulated by what has happened in the previous issues. He's smarter than that and able to recognize that Green Arrow is trying to help. The art is great with a nice intense action scene. If you're reading just for the Green Arrow/Black Canary dynamic, you might be disappointed because she takes a back seat. I am okay with that because I like Emiko. I highly recommend reading this issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Green Arrow (2016) #17

Feb 15, 2017

This is a pretty good issue. I enjoyed the political nature of the issue with the ties to the real world. Art can be a way of coping with and understanding the real world. Schmidt's artwork is really great with some pretty scenery and kick-ass action.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Green Arrow (2016) #18

Mar 1, 2017

This is a solid issue. I like the politics involved and it was cool to fill in some more of Ollie's history. The art looks really great as well. I had a bit of a hard time reading an issue that is mostly focused on Roy Harper but that's my sensibilities affecting my view of the story.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Green Arrow (2016) #19

Mar 15, 2017

This is a pretty good issue. Roy is obnoxious but he doesn't take away too much from the issue. The action is solid with some cool art. Black Canary gets a lot to do both as a fighter and a character which is always the correct choice. It's well written with solid political themes and it's an enjoyable read. I recommend checking the issue out.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Green Arrow (2016) #20

Apr 5, 2017

This is another solid issue. I really wasn't liking Roy but this issue makes him more endearing. I feel like I understand this version of Roy in a way I haven't before which is nice. I still prefer Emiko as a partner but I'm more okay with Roy now. The art is really good and there's a lot of fun action and dialogue.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Green Arrow (2016) #21

Apr 19, 2017

This is an okay issue. There's certainly nothing technically wrong with it. The art is wonderful and there is some solid writing. Benjamin Percy is very creative with how he uses the villains and their actions. Heis clearly having fun with that and creates a nice sense of scale. This issue feels a lot bigger than the previous ones in this run. I just don't think it's all that interesting. Maybe if Oliver had been talking to someone instead of narrating I would have cared about that more but it does nothing for me as it is. This issue could easily read well in context with the trade but I don't think it works on its own. I recommend waiting for the trade on this one.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Green Arrow (2016) #22

May 3, 2017

This is a solid issue. It pulls me into the story and gets me invested in a way the previous issue did not. The art is gorgeous throughout and really easy to just look at. There is some great writing here. I think the mayor is an effective character that makes this story feel relevant and thus, intense. The scene between Ollie and Dinah has great dialogue. However, the exposition-heavy dialogue bothers me. Percy does have a sense of humor about it; he seems to be self aware but that doesn't help me that much. It feels forced and unnatural. Overall, this is a strong issue and I do recommend reading it.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Green Arrow (2016) #23

May 18, 2017

This is a solid issue; I think that the villains really come into their own in this one. The threat feels real, personal and legitimate. My favorite character is featured heavily which makes me happy. The art is amazing and the story is heading somewhere really interesting. I highly recommend reading this issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Green Arrow (2016) #24

Jun 7, 2017

This is a great issue. There is cool action with amazing art to make it even better. Percy writes some great dialogue which also adds to the issue's personality and appeal. There are some interesting ideas about Ollie's character presented here which makes me excited about the next issue. I highly recommend reading this issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Green Arrow (2016) #25

Jun 21, 2017

This is an okay issue. There's a lot of solid material. The art is great and the book has a somber tone that fits the aftermath well. I like certain story elements and what Percy is setting up but it's hard to get too invested without context. However, I do think this is a good issue for new readers. If you haven't been reading Green Arrow but are interested, this is a great issue to start and I highly recommend reading it because it's a good place to jump on. However, if you have been reading, it feels a little slow on it's own and I would recommend waiting for the trade.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Green Arrow (2016) #26

Jul 5, 2017

This is a solid team up. I like most of the conflict between the two and it is a lot of fun to see them fight together. The Black Canary/Red Arrow team up promises to be a lot of fun and I am excited for that. The art is fantastic and filled with wonderful moments. There are some character choices that I think are a little off but they're not huge problems. I recommend reading the issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Green Arrow (2016) #27

Jul 20, 2017

This is a solid issue. Green Arrow and Wonder Woman make a pretty fun team with some good banter and cool action. The art is gorgeous; Campbell blew me away with a lot of his work in this one. It's a fun read and I recommend checking it out.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Green Arrow (2016) #28

Aug 3, 2017

This is a solid issue. I have my complaints but the issue still works for the most part. Superman is fun and enjoyable and there is some amazing art throughout. The dialogue between Oliver and Lex works and is an interesting dynamic, and the Ninth Circle's plan for Metropolis is super creepy. I like that Percy works in this relevant issue to the story that grounds it a little but also makes it more unnerving because it's such a real thing. I recommend reading the issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Green Arrow (2016) #29

Aug 17, 2017

This is a solid issue. Percy takes advantage of comparing and contrasting the two heroes in a really interesting way. This issue is focused more on character than plot and it's well done. Ferreyra's art is amazing as always. I recommend reading this issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Green Arrow: Rebirth #1

Jun 5, 2016

This book left me feeling great. I was just excited about everything and that is the best feeling to have with comics and entertainment in general. It's everything I could have wanted and more. The plot, the characterizations and the art all just sing to me. I cannot wait to see what Percy has up his sleeve because he seems just as excited about this book as I am if not more so. While I thought his run on Green Arrow before this issue was okay, it really needed a spark of life and it has it in spades now. If you have felt disappointed by the Green Arrow comics or the television show Arrow lately, this will absolutely fill that void. I highly recommend picking this issue up because it is stellar.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
He-Man / Thunder Cats #1

Oct 5, 2016

I'm not sure who this issue is for. It tries to make the material a little darker in order to appeal to older fans of the show. But it also tries to appeal to children in other scenes. There's a tonal dissonance that bothered me throughout. There's also not enough characterization for my taste right now. Adam gets some nice moments but the Thundercats are fairly generic. Ultimately, I just did not enjoy this issue. It's not terrible but I don't recommend it.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
He-Man / Thunder Cats #2

Nov 16, 2016

Overall, this is an okay issue. While the action is fun, it is just action. It's incredibly well-done action but that's not the most interesting thing in the world to me. Skeletor is fun because he's over the top and silly as always. And the art is pretty good. It just isn't the most interesting thing in the world.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
He-Man / Thunder Cats #3

Dec 21, 2016

This is the best issue so far. The art style works a lot more in this issue that it did in the previous issues and I enjoyed looking at it quite a bit. The fight is fun and filled with strong lines but there's not a lot to this outside of action until the very end.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
He-Man / Thunder Cats #4

Jan 19, 2017

Overall, the issue doesn't work for me. The art is fine for the most part with some cool colors. I enjoyed some little moments such as Cringer becoming a Thundercat and Skeletor being Skeletor. But, the main bulk of the issue is boring to me with the big fight and the tone of this series is not working for me. I don't recommend reading this issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Hellblazer (2016) #1

Aug 24, 2016

Overall, this is a pretty fun book. The dynamic between Constantine and Swamp Thing is hilarious, there's some interesting plot set up and the art is fantastic. I have a couple of issues but I still recommend reading the issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Hellblazer (2016) #2

Sep 28, 2016

This issue really bored me. The art is amazing and there a couple of nice moments. But that's about all that's offered. There is a mystery that is set up but it's not particularly interesting yet. This could go somewhere and maybe become interesting but I am fairly bored right now. I don't recommend reading this issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Hellblazer (2016) #4

Nov 23, 2016

This is a solid issue. The art is great with some cool action that is creative and fun. I like the almost political parody aspect of the issue and Constantine is well characterized by Simon Oliver with a lot of great lines.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Hellblazer (2016) #5

Dec 28, 2016

Overall, this is an okay issue. The art is really good and can be both really pretty and creepy. But while there are some nice moments, the plot is fairly dull. There's some clich material that I am personally sick of and nothing really interesting happens at all.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Hellblazer (2016) #6

Jan 25, 2017

This is an okay issue. I love the art and it is worth seeing but the story is pretty dull. I'm having a hard time getting engaged which is unfortunate. I recommend waiting for the trade on this one.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Hellblazer (2016) #9

Apr 26, 2017

I didn't enjoy the issue. The art is solid but I don't care about anything that's happening. There is some neat imagery but nothing ever engages me in the story or characters.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Hellblazer (2016) #10

May 24, 2017

Overall, I think this is an okay issue. The issue does start a potentially compelling character arc for Constantine which is nice; I think the story really needed this. The concept of werewolves is fun and I like the art, especially the colors at the nightclub. However, I still found the issue to be a little boring. I recommend waiting for the trade on this one.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Hellblazer (2016) #11

Jun 29, 2017

I didn't enjoy this issue. It's not terrible or poorly drawn; I just don't care. Most of it is focused on auxiliary characters who aren't all that interesting fighting over a journal while the engaging characters sit around watching a shoe dance. The art is pretty good though. Despite that, I don't recommend reading the issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Hellblazer (2016) #12

Jul 27, 2017

This is an okay issue. The art is fine and there are a couple of moments that work. Unfortunately, I am still pretty bored by this series. I'm not invested in this story and I never feel the stakes. I don't recommend reading this issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Hellblazer: Rebirth #1

Jul 20, 2016

Overall, I think this is great for new readers. If you've never read a Constantine comic but loved the show, this is a solid place to start. However, if you're more familiar with the character, this feels like a lot of other stuff. It's well written and the art is cool but I would recommend waiting for the trade on this one.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Justice League (2016) #1

Jul 20, 2016

This is a really fun book. It's not Earth shattering or groundbreaking but it is a good time. Hitch creates a wonderfully tense situation that is escalated by mystery with support from some really great art. I definitely recommend picking this issue up. It's a blast.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Justice League (2016) #2

Aug 3, 2016

This is a really fun issue. Hitch really knows how bring up the stakes. It's fun to see the Justice League go up against a problem that actually feels like a challenge for them. That is weirdly rare for them these days. The art is also excellent which also adds to the tension and engagement. I highly recommend checking this issue out.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Justice League (2016) #3

Aug 17, 2016

I'm generally disappointed with this issue. I think the premise is unique and I love the art but this issue still fell flat for me. Only one scene engaged me throughout the entire thing. I found everything else to be quite dull. It's not terrible but I still don't recommend it.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Justice League (2016) #5

Sep 21, 2016

Ultimately, I don't enjoy this issue. There is some wonderful art, decent action and a little bit of fun dialogue but that's about it. It's a fairly dull conclusion to a potentially interesting story that I don't think reached its potential. I don't recommend reading this issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Justice League (2016) #6

Oct 5, 2016

This issue is very well-written. The personality of the characters really shines through but Bryan Hitch knows how to balance the characters. This issue is heavy on Jess, Barry and Clark but leave hints and clues as to where the other characters are going. The art is really great as well and I enjoyed getting a story on a smaller scale. It's a fun issue and I recommend it.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Justice League (2016) #7

Oct 19, 2016

The issue has a lot of good ideas and some nice scenes but is ultimately too analytical without being enough of a story first. It feels more like a term paper on the Justice League. However, the art is strong and I do like what Bryan Hitch is setting up. I recommend waiting for the trade on this one.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Justice League (2016) #8

Nov 2, 2016

This is a solid issue. It's a good concept with some great execution in the action both from the writer and the artists.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Justice League (2016) #9

Nov 16, 2016

This is a solid issue. The action is strong both thanks to the good art and the use of the characters. The team has a lot of fun with their premise.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Justice League (2016) #10

Dec 7, 2016

This is an excellent issue and definitely the best so far. The story is really interesting with a nice twist and the art is great throughout. The main appeal is that this issue is exciting. I felt a rush of adrenaline reading this. It's that good and I strongly recommend reading this issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Justice League (2016) #11

Dec 21, 2016

Overall, this is a good issue. For the most part, the issue takes complete advantage of its premise and has fun with it. The issue is engaging and exciting with great art. However, the ending is too abrupt for my taste. It still works overall. I recommend reading this issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Justice League (2016) #12

Jan 4, 2017

Overall, I don't like this issue. The art is pretty good and there are some neat moments but the issue is never engaging. Maxwell Lord's backstory just isn't interesting enough to focus on for an entire issue. I don't think this is even required reading for Justice League vs. Suicide Squad. While this is not terrible, it doesn't really work.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Justice League (2016) #13

Jan 19, 2017

Overall, this is an okay issue. It is well drawn and colored and Tim Seeley does his best to make it engaging. I did enjoy the little character moments for Steve. But, the issue feels pointless and a little dull.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Justice League (2016) #14

Feb 1, 2017

I enjoyed getting a character focused issue. It's nice to see the League just talk. There are sweet moments in which Flash talks about their Christmas party and Batman even references Star Wars. It's nice to see the characters portrayed in such a human way. It's fun and interesting. I have little quibbles but this is pretty good. I recommend reading the issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Justice League (2016) #15

Feb 15, 2017

This is a solid issue. There's some great art and a really interesting and fun premise that could to a great story. I have some issues with the pacing and the structure of the issue but it does a good job of grabbing one's attention. I recommend reading the issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Justice League / Power Rangers #1

Jan 11, 2017

This is highly enjoyable. It feels like a natural counterpoint to the Power Rangers comics at Boom with great writing and art. If you're more interested in the Justice League than the Power Rangers, you might be disappointed because only four of the members show up and it's rather brief except for Batman. I am okay with that because I love this version of the Power Rangers and those books have been some of my favorite reads recently. I imagine the League will show up more in future issues but this is definitely Ranger-centric. I still don't think the fight happens naturally but if I can accept it in The Avengers film for the sake of fun, I can accept it here.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Justice League / Power Rangers #2

Feb 8, 2017

This is a solid issue. The art is fantastic all throughout and brings an energy to the book. Thereare some fun interactions, especially with Kimberly, and I like what's happening with Lord Zedd. The book is a little dull since so much of it is taken up by something I don't care about but I imagine most people will enjoy that aspect a lot.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Justice League / Power Rangers #3

Mar 8, 2017

This is a great read. There is a lot of action featuring a wide variety of heroes which makes it a lot of fun. Tom Taylor does a nice job of making the situation feel really intense but still fun and energetic. The art is gorgeous and a lot of fun to look at.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Justice League / Power Rangers #4

May 18, 2017

This is a great issue; it is a lot of fun. The two teams are a lot more compatible than I thought before and it's a lot of fun to see them work together. The cosplay part of the story is awesome and adorable. And I love this art. I highly recommend reading this issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Justice League / Power Rangers #5

Aug 10, 2017

This is another great issue. The art is wonderful throughout, which is combined with some great action. It's a really fun issue with a lot of standout moments both in dialogue and action. I highly recommend reading the issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
2.0
Justice League United #15

Nov 18, 2015

What started out as a terrific premise has ended in disappointment. The story isn't explained in a way that is satisfying and the villain is pathetically weak. The issue has very little to offer other than some decent artwork.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Martian Manhunter/Marvin the Martian Special #1

Jun 15, 2017

This is an okay issue. It is a fun concept and I'm glad I read it. The art in both stories is cool and I like that both universes were played in. I do think the first story gets a little dull at a certain point but the second story makes it worth reading. I recommend checking this out.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
New Suicide Squad #14

Nov 25, 2015

Unfortunately, there isn't a lot to say about this issue. It's part of an incomplete story and doesn't stand on it's own well at all. There are moments that I like but it's mostly build up with no pay off. It just isn't fun to read by itself; maybe it will work better in context once the rest of the story is published.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
New Suicide Squad #15

Dec 15, 2015

This is an okay issue. There's some interesting social commentary and I like the character development with Harley but much of the issue is fairly dull. And if you're looking for the Suicide Squad, they don't do much in this issue. Most of it is Waller interrogating Pesta. It works but it's not the most exciting read.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
New Suicide Squad #16

Jan 20, 2016

The only interesting thing in this issue is the conversation at the end. Deadshot is able to make good points and obviously hits a nerve. People often cannot help who they are. We can be trapped by our personalities, disabilities or simple choices and the various members of the Squad are all trapped in one form or another including Waller. However, other than that, this comic is boring. Sage isn't much of a threat and there just aren't any stakes. I'm not really invested in either side. Frankly, it might have been more interesting if Sage succeeded and Waller was disgraced and lost her power. That would be a change of pace but this story just re-establishes the traditional set up instead of doing something new and interesting. Overall, this is a disappointing finale.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Odyssey of the Amazons #1

Jan 25, 2017

While the art is good and there are some good ideas, the issue falls flat. The story isn't interesting enough and the characters are very forgettable and interchangeable. Ultimately, this was a boring read. I don't recommend checking it out.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Odyssey of the Amazons #4

Apr 19, 2017

Ultimately, I don't like this issue. The art is fine for the most part and I like the mythology and history. But it is a slog to read because there's no human connection. There is no reason to care about anything.

View Issue       View Full Review
2.0
Odyssey of the Amazons #5

May 18, 2017

I really don't like this issue. There are some neat character designs but that's the only thing that works for me. There isn't anything in terms of characters or plot that is interesting or engaging. It's dull and I don't recommend reading it.

View Issue       View Full Review
2.0
Odyssey of the Amazons #6

Jun 21, 2017

I don't like this issue at all. The art is unappealing to me despite being well drawn. The story and characters are so flat which makes reading the issue an agonizing chore. I don't recommend the issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Raven #1

Sep 21, 2016

This is an okay issue. I love the art and Raven is very well written, especially her narration. I normally hate narration but Wolfman makes it work. However, the high school aspect seems a little stock to me and there's not a lot that allows this issue to stand on its own.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Raven #2

Oct 19, 2016

This is an okay issue. The art is great and I like how Raven is written. However, the actual plot is fairly dull and just not engaging me in any way. I recommend waiting for the trade on this one.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Raven #3

Nov 16, 2016

Overall, this is an okay issue. The art is fantastic throughout both in the character moments and in the action. Everything looks great. Raven is well characterized and the book does have personality that stands out among all of the DC books right now. However, I think this story is being dragged out too long to its detriment which results in a somewhat boring issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Raven #4

Dec 21, 2016

This is is an okay issue. It is certainly worth checking out for the art which is incredible. But the story is too dragged out and it isn't engaging. I'm bored and I feel like I shouldn't be. I recommend waiting for the trade on this one.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Raven #5

Jan 19, 2017

Overall, this is an okay issue mainly because of the art. It is gorgeous and worth the price in my opinion. There are solid moments in the story especially the ending which I do like. However, most of the issue is just spinning its wheels as it has been. Unfortunately, the issue ends up being dull.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Robin: Son of Batman #9

Feb 20, 2016

This is an okay issue. The art is great especially in the fight scene between Robin and Snowfox and Wunderfox. However, the plot isn't all that interesting. I like that Damian's way of coping with loss is getting to work which is consistent for him as a character as well as paralleling him with his father. Other than that, Damian fights a handful of lame villains that won't shut up. They're very irritating. I recommend waiting for the trade on this issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Scooby Apocalypse #1

May 30, 2016

Overall, this is a really fun read. It's wildly creative, full of heart and features terrific artwork. I highly recommend picking this issue up.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Scooby Apocalypse #2

Jun 15, 2016

Overall, this is another really solid issue. The characterizations are honestly the most appealing aspect of the issue with Daphne being the stand out character. I was really impressed with the ethical questions raised and I had a lot of fun with this book. I definitely recommend picking this up.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Starfire #6

Nov 18, 2015

While Starfire is still loveable, the story is dull. It's uninspired and doesn't take advantage of potentially cool ideas. I wanted to know more about this doctor and he's carded aside for a useless bounty hunter. The issue is just disappointing.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Starfire #7

Dec 15, 2015

This issue is fun. Starfire is getting more playful and there a lot of good exchanges with good dialogue. The art is great and I still like the supporting cast. However, the plot isn't that engaging and I'm not sure if we really needed to bring Grayson into this. Other than that, this is a good read.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Starfire #8

Jan 20, 2016

This issue is consistent with the first seven with it's colorful art and fun dialogue. Starfire is still incredibly funny especially as she now knows more about Earth and attempts to make references but still doesn't understands things such as ASAP. She continues to be highly enjoyable. However, the main plot isn't that exciting and I don't understand the need for heterosexual women to comment on Starfire's attractiveness. It's an okay issue but it's the most problematic of the eight.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Starfire #9

Feb 19, 2016

This is a very good issue. Most of it focuses on the characters just talking to each other like most of the series which is still engaging. This is a great set of characters that I love more with each issue. I am sad that these characters probably won't survive the Rebirth but at least we have them here. Charretier makes a great replacement on the art and we get to see Syl'Khee. I recommend picking this issue up; it's definitely worth a read.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Starfire #10

Mar 17, 2016

Unfortunately, I think this is easily the worst issue of the series. There are good aspects but I hated a lot of it. There's a lot of unnecessary plot elements that I found tedious, Neala-Tok is never an interesting or intimidating villain and it just seems tonally confused in places. As much as I hate to say it because I have loved this series, I recommend skipping this issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Starfire #12

May 22, 2016

This is a great finale to a great series. I am going to seriously miss this book because it was a highlight of my pull list and one of the best DC projects right now. However, I don't think I can recommend the issue to people who haven't been reading the series simply because I don't know if those people would care about this particular one. It's a farewell and thank you to the fans. I do recommend that, if you haven't read this series, to go and buy the issues or the trade collections because it is worth every cent. Fans of this series and character should find a lot of enjoyment in this issue. I know I did.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Suicide Squad Most Wanted: Deadshot and Katana #2

Mar 11, 2016

Ultimately, this issue is somewhat forgettable. The Deadshot works for it's backstory and there is great art in the Katana story but it's a dull issue overall. I recommend waiting for trade on this one.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Suicide Squad: War Crimes Special #1

Aug 31, 2016

This is a very cool one shot. Ostrander's story is interesting and the characters are all well utilized and characterized. The art is amazing and there's a lot of room for more. I hope we see further stories from this creative team in the future. I highly recommend checking this issue out.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Super Powers #1

Nov 23, 2016

I really enjoyed this issue. It's fun and silly which is nice. Kids will love this series but I think adults will get a kick out of the zaniness as well. The art is cool and a lot of the jokes are genuinely funny. I recommend checking this issue out.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Super Powers #2

Dec 28, 2016

This is a really fun issue. Sometimes, these heroes are taken a little too seriously so I always enjoy when writers try a sillier angle. It's creative, the art is neat, and it has some fun with the DC mythos.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Super Powers #3

Jan 19, 2017

This is a really fun issue full of personality and charm. I really hope kids are reading this either in print or digital. It's fun, bright and engaging. I think adults will get a kick out of it as well, though. It's almost satirical in its comedy but always genuinely funny. It's just a fun book to read.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Super Powers #4

Feb 1, 2017

This is another solid issue for the book. It's a lot of fun to see the Legion of Doom and a giant silly action scene with them. I love the creativity and the sense of humor this issue has. I recommend reading the issue especially kids; it's a lot of fun.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Super Powers #5

Mar 1, 2017

This is a fun issue. There are some funny character moments combined with engaging action that is entertaining even for adults. I also like the story being told as ridiculous as it is. I recommend reading this issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Super Powers #6

Apr 12, 2017

This is a solid issue. It's big and fun with a lot of nice humor, creative action and a unique art style. I always look forward to reading this series.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Supergirl (2016) #1

Sep 7, 2016

Overall, this is an okay issue. I like the struggle of Kara's life and her attempt to fit into Earth. It's a nice continuation of her story in the New 52. And the art is really cool. However, Director Chase and Cat Grant really irritated me and took the book down a few points in my mind.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Supergirl (2016) #2

Oct 12, 2016

This is an excellent issue. There is wonderful character building for Kara and the characterization of Cyborg Superman is working very well. The art is wonderful and it is such a fun book to read. I highly recommend reading this issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Supergirl (2016) #3

Nov 10, 2016

While there are some thingsthat I like about this issue, there is a lot I don't like about it. The main thing that bothers me is the art. Some of it works well but the parts that don't really bug me and take me out of the story. Said story is pretty good and there's solid characterization for Kara as always. The tone and mood work well and there are some wonderful panels. But the panels that bother me take a lot out of this story and stop my enjoyment. I don't recommend reading this issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Supergirl (2016) #4

Dec 14, 2016

Overall, I don't like this issue. The art is a mixed bag; some of it works well but other aspects of it are incredibly distracting in a bad way. Steve Orlando's characterization of Kara is still great and I love her side of the plot but the invasion plot falls flat for me. I don't recommend reading this issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Supergirl (2016) #5

Jan 11, 2017

Overall, I don't like this issue. There are cool moments; some of the action is neat and the art does work in places. Kara's characterization is still consistent and I think Steve Orlando is doing a good job with that. However, the issue is not all that engaging. And if an issue is going to rely on action, the art needs to work more than it does here. The way a lot of the characters are drawn, their faces in particular, kills a lot of this issue for me.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Supergirl (2016) #6

Feb 8, 2017

I did not enjoy this issue that much. There are some nice moments mainly in Kara's characterization but the issue is mainly dull. This story is not all that engaging. What doesn't help is the art which does not work for me. It constantly takes me out of the story and frustrates me. I don't like looking at the book and I don't recommend reading it.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Supergirl: Being Super #1

Dec 30, 2016

Overall, this is really good. The characters make a good first impression and I want to see more of them. The writing in both dialogue and narration works well with some nicely integrated humor. The art is great throughout and enjoyable to look at on its own. Every problem I have with the book is more about personal preference and taste; there is nothing technically wrong with the book. However, my personal tastes did make the book somewhat less enjoyable. It's still a solid read and I recommend people check it out.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Supergirl: Being Super #2

Feb 22, 2017

I love this issue. What mainly appeals to me is how Mariko Tamaki handles death and how people deal with death. It's really touching but effectively sad. There's also gorgeous artwork that I love looking at. I highly recommend reading this issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Supergirl: Being Super #3

Apr 26, 2017

This is an excellent read. Tamaki handles grief with respect and maturity while displaying the intense sadness of losing someone you love. The art is gorgeous throughout and there is a great surprise towards the end that propels the story towards a really interesting place.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Supergirl: Being Super #4

Jun 29, 2017

This is a great issue. The main selling point is the art; this is a gorgeous book. But Mariko Tamaki's script is also really strong as usual. She has a solid voice for the various characters which makes them really engaging; I love following these people. There's a nice conflict about the worth of humanity without ever feeling overly cynical. I highly recommend reading this issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Supergirl: Rebirth #1

Aug 17, 2016

Supergirl is in great hands. Orlando handles the character well and I am engaged in where the story is going to go. The artwork is fantastic with one of the best teams in the business behind it. Even without the good writing, I would recommend this issue based on how amazing this art looks. Overall, this is a fun and exciting issue and I highly recommend that you check it out.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Superwoman #7

Feb 8, 2017

This is an okay issue. It's wonderful to look at with great art, layouts and colors. I do like the scale and some of the action is neat. I just had a hard time getting engaged in the characters because so much is happening. I recommend waiting for the trade with this one.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Teen Titans (2014) #17

Mar 11, 2016

This was surprising for me in how much I enjoyed it. A mystery is set up that I never cared about in the past and I ended being interested in it by the end. The art is fantastic, especially the colors, and there are a couple of great small character moments that are actually funny and humanizes this team. I like seeing Raven, Beast Boy and Power Girl just hanging out joking around. This is a solid read and I recommend checking it out.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
The Dark and Bloody #6

Jul 13, 2016

This is a somewhat disappointing end to the story. It still plays with a lot of the same ideas and themes and does so very well while featuring some cool artwork. However, the ending feels forced. I'm not saying that the ending needed to be horrifying and feature everyone being miserable but I would have liked to have seen the story have a bigger impact on these characters than it ultimately does. I think it's worth a read but I would wait for the trade.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Wonder Woman '77 Meets the Bionic Woman #1

Dec 7, 2016

This is a solid issue. It captures the tone and style of its source material well but still works on its own.The art is fun and engaging with a potentially interesting story to go with it. There's a lot of well paced and drawn action and it's a lot of fun to see these two characters together. I recommend reading the issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Wonder Woman '77 Meets the Bionic Woman #2

Jan 25, 2017

This is a solid issue. The two heroines naturally feel like a team and work well together. The two fighting side by side is fun. I like where the plot is going and there is some great artwork.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Wonder Woman '77 Meets the Bionic Woman #3

Mar 29, 2017

This is a great issue. It's certainly the most fun of the three thanks to some terrific action and fun dialogue. The villain plot is interesting and engaging and manages to pull elements from the shows to naturally bring them together. And the art is fantastic throughout.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Wonder Woman '77 Meets the Bionic Woman #4

May 19, 2017

This is a great issue. The art is great and is a lot of fun to just look at. Mangels characters Diana, Jaime and their supporting characters well and creates a nice sense of dread in terms of what the villains are about to do. I highly recommend reading this issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Wonder Woman '77 Meets the Bionic Woman #5

Jun 29, 2017

This is another great issue. This has been a really fun team up; Mangels has really taken advantage of both properties to tell a fun story. The art is great with cool action as well as some wonderful scenery. It's a lot of fun and I highly recommend reading the issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Wonder Woman (2011) #49

Feb 20, 2016

The art is the best part of the issue. It looks fantastic and fits the scale and scope of Olympus. Anderson's colors are put to great use. If you like the Greek mythology aspect of Wonder Woman, you might like the plot more than I did. It's not a bad story and I am intrigued to see what happens but I am a little tired of the Olympian politics. That may just be my sensibilities. I just don't find the other characters interesting outside of their appearance. Despite that, I still recommend checking this out. It's a decent jumping on point and was a fun read.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Wonder Woman (2016) #2

Jul 13, 2016

Overall, this is a decent start to a Year One story for Diana. The art is fantastic and there are some sweet moments with the characters that I really appreciate. They're small ones but they matter. However, so far, this feels a little too familiar to the point where I'm questioning why it's necessary to tell another story based around the origin of Wonder Woman. It is worth a read mainly for wonderful art but I would recommend waiting for the trade on this one.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Wonder Woman (2016) #3

Jul 27, 2016

Overall, I think this issue is okay. The art and colors are great, Diana is very well characterized and there's some cool mythology worked in. However, I still find the issue to be boring. It works on a technical level but it doesn't resonate with me that much. I would recommend waiting for the trade on this one.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Wonder Woman (2016) #4

Aug 10, 2016

I rather enjoyed this issue. The art is beautiful but there was some heart to the story that was able to draw me in. That emotional connection really sells the issue for me. I am so tuned in with these people now that I want to see more and I was somewhat indifferent based on previous issues. I recommend checking this out. It's a fun read.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Wonder Woman (2016) #5

Aug 24, 2016

Overall, this is a great book purely based on technical merit. I love the art and Rucka is a great writer. However, I don't feel like this story is interesting and I have a hard time reading through the issue with much enthusiasm. I would recommend waiting for the trade on this one.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Wonder Woman (2016) #6

Sep 14, 2016

Overall, this is a good issue. Greg Rucka excels at Diana's characterizations both as a young girl and as an adult. Adding Minerva into the origin this early is a really good idea and I'm excited to see where that goes. The art is really great as well. However, the issue is a little dull in places with a little too much focus on the military not understanding Diana. I still recommend checking the issue out; there's a lot of good material in this one.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Wonder Woman (2016) #7

Sep 28, 2016

This is a really strong issue and a nice conclusion to the story. It's incredibly engaging and tense with some cool action. The characterizations are terrific and the art is fantastic. I highly recommend reading this issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Wonder Woman (2016) #8

Oct 12, 2016

This is a really strong issue. The art is fantastic and Greg Rucka does a great job of characterizing a villain people may not know much about. If you want to know more about Cheetah, definitely check this out. I recommend the issue; it's good fun.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Wonder Woman (2016) #10

Nov 10, 2016

Overall, this is a solid issue. While the story is a little dull, it's not bad. It is fun to see Diana interact with Etta, Steve and Dr. Minerva. And the action is well presented and creative. The art is where the issue shines especially in the action scenes. This is really gorgeous work. I recommend reading the issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Wonder Woman (2016) #11

Nov 23, 2016

This is a solid issue. The story is brought to a much more intriguing place with an almost desperate tone because of Diana's state of mind right now. The art is great throughout especially when compared to the art of “Year One” in order to see the differences Diana and Steve are talking about.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Wonder Woman (2016) #12

Dec 14, 2016

Overall, this is an excellent issue. There's no real action so don't get too excited for that. But it more than makes up for that in charm and personality. Every inch of the art is beautiful and fun to look at. There's wonderful character moments for Diana and the ending is very cool even if it is a little too much of a coincidence. I highly recommend reading this issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Wonder Woman (2016) #13

Dec 28, 2016

Overall, this is an okay issue. The art is good, for the most part, and I like a lot of the concepts. However, I don't like how Diana is drawn and I find the plot of the issue to be fairly uninteresting most of the time.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Wonder Woman (2016) #14

Jan 11, 2017

Overall, this is a really strong issue. The art is gorgeous and it's very well written. Wonder Woman comes across as a terrific character in several moments and the action is exciting. I highly recommend reading this issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Wonder Woman (2016) #15

Jan 25, 2017

This is a fairly solid issue. The artwork is really strong and creative which is nice. I like the story that's happening with Diana but the story with the supporting cast is not working for me. It's a little boring. I think people will enjoy this issue but it might work better in the trade.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Wonder Woman (2016) #16

Feb 8, 2017

I don't really have any complaints; this is a great issue. The art is great to look at and engaging especially in scenes with Wonder Woman herself. I loved getting to know the current villains more and learn their backstory. It's interesting and I cannot wait to read more. I highly recommend reading this issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Wonder Woman (2016) #18

Mar 8, 2017

This is a really good issue. The action is fairly minimal so it may not be the most exciting issue for some people but I found reading the tragedy of these people very engaging. It's sad that Veronica, Doctor Cyber and Dr. Minerva all become villains. There's not a lot for Diana to do but that's not what this story is about. I recommend reading this issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Wonder Woman (2016) #19

Mar 22, 2017

The issue is ultimately dull, to be honest. I really enjoy the past story line but this present day one does not engage me. The art is strong but there's nothing in the story that I found appealing. I don't think there's anything technically wrong with the issue but I'm not invested in anything going on.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Wonder Woman (2016) #20

Apr 12, 2017

This is a great issue. If you're looking for a lot of Wonder Woman, this issue might disappoint you. It is mostly focused on Veronica which is fine by me because this character's story is riveting to me. I love this tragic fall to darkness and it's being handled very well by Greg Rucka. There's a deliberate pace that is slowly turning this woman into the villain of the present day. The art is great as well. I highly recommend reading this issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Wonder Woman (2016) #21

Apr 26, 2017

This is a great issue. Wonder Woman gets to be both bad ass and compassionate which is very important for the character. The art is great and there are some really interesting things happening in the story.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Wonder Woman (2016) #23

May 24, 2017

This is a great issue and a solid ending for this story. Rucka pulls off a satisfying conclusion while creating a new history for the Amazons that is interesting and makes an engaging story. The art is solid as well with an awesome fight between the Amazons and Ares' sons. I highly recommend reading this issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Wonder Woman (2016) #24

Jun 15, 2017

This is a great issue. The art is beautiful throughout, whether it's an action scene or just characters talking. I love the epilogue nature of this story but it doesn't feel tacked on or unnecessary. It's important to the story to feel the weight of everything that has happened. I am excited to see where these characters go next. I highly recommend reading this issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Wonder Woman (2016) #25

Jun 29, 2017

This is a solid issue. The artwork is good throughout; the characters, backgrounds and colors all look great. I like what's done with Diana as a character and seeing what she's going through emotionally. Batman and Superman have a nice part to play and there's a sweet ending with Steve Trevor. I recommend reading the issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Wonder Woman (2016) #26

Jul 12, 2017

This is an okay issue. There are some good ideas and I think Fontana has a good grasp on Diana's character and voice. The setting is cool and most of the art works. It just feels slow; I don't think this issue reads well on its own. I recommend waiting for the trade on this one.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Wonder Woman (2016) #27

Jul 27, 2017

This is a great issue. The story is interesting with several standout moments of dialogue and action. The art is gorgeous and the issue is just a lot of fun. I highly recommend reading this issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Wonder Woman (2016) #28

Aug 17, 2017

This is a solid issue. As a follow up to Rucka's run, there are loose ends that were tied up in between the stories, which is disappointing, but the story works so far on it's own. There's a lot going on with Diana that I really like. I genuinely feel like depression is a factor in what's going on with her and that's interesting. The action is cool and is paired with some great art. I recommend reading the issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Wonder Woman (2016) Annual #1

May 31, 2017

Just in time for the film, this is a celebration of Wonder Woman. It's fun, creative and features a variety of talent both in the writing and in the art. I like how the different styles compliment each other as well as how they contrast. I highly recommend reading this issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Wonder Woman: Earth One #1

Jun 16, 2016

Overall, I think this a good story. Morrison has a good grasp on Diana as a character and Paquettes art with Fairbairns colors are truly excellent. If youre looking for a truly new take on the character, you might be disappointed. Morrison sticks to the main ideas and concepts with new details here and there. Most of it works really well but a few things dont. I definitely recommend this book. Its an engaging read that is fun and quick with some interesting ideas.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Wonder Woman: Rebirth #1

Jun 8, 2016

This is a very disappointing issue to me. While Rucka's ideas are brilliant and the art is great, this is a boring read. It is certainly not terrible but there isn't a lot in the story or Diana as a character that is engaging while reading. I had some fun thinking about the story and what it could mean but when I try to read it again, I'm still bored. I honestly don't recommend checking this issue out. Hopefully, it gets better from here.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for
the Week of...

August

July

More