thelostlighthouse's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: The Lost Lighthouse Reviews: 123
8.4Avg. Review Rating

8.5
4 Kids Walk Into A Bank #1

Apr 21, 2016

4 Kids Walk Into a Bank is a really interesting first issue, and this mini series is shaping up to be a lot of fun with a dangerous, yet genuinely funny and charming core. It comes out next week, so head down to your local comic shop or check it online on April 27th.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
A Town Called Dragon #1

Sep 19, 2014

This was a great start for this mini series, and dragon stories are usually good fun. It was great value too, with over 50 pages unbroken by adverts for $3.99. Check it out at your local comic book shop, or online digital comics platform.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
A-Force #1

May 21, 2015

I really enjoyedA-Force#1 and on top of following the series throughout Secret Wars, I hope that the series continues in some form after the Marvel Universe is put back together. Will you get more out of this if you're up to date on Marvel, Secret Wars and all of these characters? Maybe. But even if you're not, this is a great story with a well written cast of kick-ass, but just as importantly nuanced, characters. Did I mention Captain Marvel punches a giant shark? Buy this at your LCS or digital comics platform.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
All-New All-Different Avengers #1

Nov 12, 2015

It's a start. I was disappointed not to see much of Thor (who has been incredibly badass in her own story!) or Vision yet, but there are only so many pages and bringing all seven characters into one issue may have been a bit much. As I mentioned I feel there was maybe a bit much happening be coincidence in this issue, but with some good writing coincidence can be fine to start a story as long as it isn't used to end a story. I'll give issue two and three a try most likely, it's a fine start.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
All-Star Batman #1

Aug 11, 2016

I like how different this feels to the main Batman run. I am a huge fan of Snyder's past work on Batman so I have high hopes for this. It looses a point for some of the art and the uncertainty over Batman and Duke, but those are issues I'm sure many will disagree on. If you like them this would be a 9.5, though in my opinion it drops to:

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Astonishing Ant-Man #1

Oct 22, 2015

This is a well written start to a new series. It refers to A LOT of past adventures and heroic escapades compared to Spider-Gwen and Dr Strange. Which would be my main criticism of it. These first issues are supposed to be the jumping on point for new readers, new readers who are often put off by the massive amount of back story out there for each hero. The first page did a great job in setting up the premise of this Ant Man though. If you want to see more antics like the film, and a slightly satirical look at modern super heroes, this is a great series to begin on!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Avengers (2016) #6

Apr 6, 2017

As the end of an arc, I can't really recommend TheAvengers#6 as a jumping on point from a story perspective as you are likely to be fairly lost, but it is a strong and very enjoyable conclusion to this first arc and I've really enjoyed it. I'll be carrying on with it and you should check out the next story. I can however recommend it purely based on del Mundo's fantastic art, which is worth picking up the book for alone. Check out TheAvengers at your LCS or digitally now!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Batman (2011) #33

Jul 26, 2014

I loved this finale to Zero Year, and if you like Batman you will too. Pick it up from your local comic book shop, and the back issues shouldn't be too difficult to track down. Alternatively, it will all be available digitally or you can buy the collections as and when they come out, starting with Secret City out in hardcover now, and Dark City out in October.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Batman (2011) #40

Apr 30, 2015

Once again, Snyder and Capullo played with our expectations and threw in potential retcons that enraged or discomforted anyone with a particularly jerky knee. But comfort zones are for lesser storytellers, and things are at their best when they're not as they seem. When this team does finally leave the book (and apparently they were originally planning to at the end of this arc), I don't at all envy who has to pick up the reigns after them.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Batman Beyond: Rebirth #1

Sep 29, 2016

My main criticism of this issue is that I saw the last page twist coming a little too early I feel. For a kick off issue it's a good start, we get to know Terry, who is well developed, and while the enemy isn't anything too exotic the familiarity of the Jokerz eases the reader into the series.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Batman/Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles #1

Dec 10, 2015

This is a simple one: do you want to see Batman and the Ninja Turtles in the same book? Then go get it. It won't win any awards I imagine, but it's a very fun romp and your inner child will love it.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Batman: Eternal #45

Feb 12, 2015

This was a good entry intoBatman Eternal and I'm certainly very much looking forward to seeing how it all plays out in the end. If you've not been interested at all inEternalso far, this really isn't the place to jump on and I'm hardly going to convince you to try it. If you're reading it, definitely keep checking it out. If you dropped off somewhere over the previous44 issues, maybe give this one a try now that everything is starting to come together! Pick it up at your LCS or digital comics platform.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Batman: Eternal #52

Apr 2, 2015

After a year long arc,Batman Eternalmanages to wrap up well. Many of the characters that appear in the series already moved past these events months ago, which makes it difficult to placeEternalwith regards the continuity, but it has been a good weekly series that I would say overall is worth picking up when it has been collected. Apparently there is going to be a season 2 of Eternal, but for nowas a finale, issue #52 hits all the right beats for a satisfying conclusion. Pick it up at your LCS or digitally.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Batwoman (2017) #1

Mar 16, 2017

This is a very interesting start to a series. It isn't the most explosive I've read, but it feels like its setting things up for a run well worth picking up.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Beyond Belief #1

Apr 23, 2015

I think the only danger with this book is that while it is a good stand alone ghost story, you will get much more out of it if you listen to the podcast. There is plenty to enjoy, but having heard Brewster and Tompkins deliver hours of dialogue leaves you with an expectation of delivery in every line, so the humour that may otherwise not land or be missed will be picked up because it still feels like the lines have been written for them. I really enjoyedBeyond Belief #1, and will be following up on this series. If you are already an Adventurekateer, then you probably already know you'll enjoy this. If you like a fun, very well drawn ghost story then pick this up. If you haven't checked out The Thrilling Adventure Hour podcast, absolutely do it because there is hours of excellent comedy there. Then read this. Pick it up at your LCS or digitally now!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Bitch Planet #2

Jan 29, 2015

I loved this issue and the first of Bitch Planet. It provides a unique comic tale enjoyable in its own right, but also giving the reader plenty of important subject matterto think about if they want to, in both the main story itself and the backmatter included along with it. Pick this up at your local LCS or digitally, and either get issue #1 digitally or grab the 2nd printing in 2 weeks. However you do it, jump on Bitch Planet. Now.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Black Panther (2016) #3

Jun 30, 2016

Black Panther is one of the series I look forward to every time it comes out. Yes this is issue 3, but it's probably the best so far in the current run. I seriously recommend picking up issue #1 and catching up if you aren't up to date already.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Black Science #10

Oct 30, 2014

Black Science is one of the titles I look forward to the most every month, and this issue did not disappoint. The multi-layered story is fascinating and bleak, and I can't wait to see where it all ends up. Issue #10 may not be the bestjumping on point, but the writing is strong enough that you can still pick it up and enjoy it, or track down the first 9 issues physically (many of which have had multiple reprints due to demand) or digitally to get caught up. Alternatively, the first trade 'How To Fall Forever' is already out, collecting issues 1-6, and the second 'Welcome, Nowhere' is coming out soon that will go right up tonext month's issue #11. However you do it,Black Science is definitely worthyour time.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Black Widow (2016) #1

Mar 3, 2016

The first issue of the new run onBlack Widow is an excellent display of a creative team at the top of their game. These folks know how to bring out the best in each other, and it shines in this book. Marvel needs to stop putting out so many books that I can't stop reading. Pick this up at your local comic book shop or digital comics app now!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Black Widow (2016) #7

Oct 20, 2016

Black Widowis one of the best books on the stands right now. It's definitely my favourite Marvel book (just beating out Mighty Thor), and when I look back on this year I'd be hard-pressed to think of another comic that I have enjoyed more. With gorgeous art, razor-sharp dialogue and a slick spy story, this is a must-buy. Check it out at your local comic book shop or online doo-dad now!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Cage (2016) #1

Oct 6, 2016

Cage! is a hell of a lot of fun. It may have been hugely delayed, but hopefully that means that the release schedule will be pretty consistent for this four-issue mini. Fans of the Netflix series should definitely check this out, even if it is a little tonally different, but equally fans of anything Genndy Tartakovsky has ever put out will love this too. Check it out at your LCS or digitally today!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Captain America: Steve Rogers #7

Nov 10, 2016

One review for this comic dropped it a couple of points for the lack of action and how much text there was. Personally, for the first issue of a new arc I'm don't think these take away from the issue at all. The characters are given a chance to develop and the stage is now set for what I hope will be a fantastic new arc in Captain America's story.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Captain Marvel (2016) #1

Jan 21, 2016

If you're looking for a fun and exciting sci-fi superhero comic, look no further than Captain Marvel. The ensemble cast works well to round out the book, but this is still very much Carol Danvers' story and it should be a great ride seeing where she goes next. Check it out at your LCS or digital comics platform.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Chrononauts #1

Mar 19, 2015

Chrononautsis off to a good start, and while the story is very goodit is really the gorgeous art that makes this worth picking up. Check this out at your LCS or digital comics platform.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Civil War (2015) #1

Jul 9, 2015

Civil War is a great ‘What if?' tale if the question you ask is ‘What if the originalCivil War never ended and was also far more depressing with loads more death?'. You don't need to be readingSecret Wars to enjoy it, and the writing and art are both very solid. Check this out at your LCS or digitally.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Civil War II #0

May 19, 2016

The stage is set for Civil War II, we haven't had the final spark to set things off but it's only a matter of time. It's also good to see different heroes in the limelight this time, now if only we'd get an MCU She-Hulk film!

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Convergence #1

Apr 9, 2015

Convergence #1 works fine as a set up issue, but I'm not sure how relevant or interesting the actual event looks at this point. Decent art and writing make this a worthwhile read, but if you're not particularly invested in the DCU you may not care that much, and even if you are and want to see how it will shake up the status quo at this point I can't really see how it will.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Copperhead #1

Sep 11, 2014

This felt like it could have been set on a planet in the Firefly universe if there were a few alien species (and not just Dead Bessie), and for that reason alone I was bound to enjoy it. The story, while a slow burner, is intriguing and I liked all the characters a great deal. Check this out in your local comic shop, or digitallywith yourrecently unveiled pointless watch phone or whatever.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Copperhead #11

Mar 10, 2017

If you haven't read anyCopperheadup until now I suggest you grab the first two trade paperbacks here and here, then pick up issue #11. Great sci-fi western action with well rounded characters and excellent art. I can't really think of a better endorsement.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Cyborg #1

Jul 23, 2015

Considering how every other founding member of the current iteration of the Justice League has had a solo book since the DC relaunch and are now all in the low #40 issues, this series has been a long time coming. It's nice to see then that the first issue ofCyborgindicates that this is the book the character deserves, with astrong emotional resonance and great character work and art. Pick this up at your LCS or digitally now.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Dark Days: The Forge #1

Jun 15, 2017

Dark Days: The Forge is a very strong prelude to an event that I know very little about, but the creative team behind it guarantees I'll be checking it out. This taste has only made me all the more excited about it, especially with the return of Snyder and Capullo for the first time since the end of their run on Batman.Check it out at your LCS or digitally now!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Death Of Wolverine #4

Oct 16, 2014

This was a great end to a strong mini series, and while it was a long time coming and may only be temporary, the story was worth telling and will hopefully set off a few more compelling arcs in the aftermath of Logan's death. My only complaint is the price point of $4.99 for 24 pages of story, the same cover price for all 4 issues. That is fairly steep, and while it has a nice quality shiny cover and contains a free digital copy, there should be an element of choice in that, perhaps knocking a dollar off the price for a standard cover. Nevertheless, this is still a series very much worth reading. There were copies of all four issues available at my LCS so you can still get the whole story physically, or pick it up digitally (where I actually believe it is a bit cheaper!).

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Deep State #1

Nov 13, 2014

This was a strong first issue, and I can't wait to find out more. I hope we get more information about other popular conspiracy theories and the "truths" behind them that Harrow and his organisation have covered up. The series has a sort of X-Files vibe minus the skepticism. Get on board with this first issue at your LCS or digitally.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Descender #1

Mar 5, 2015

Jeff Lemire tends to write interesting sci-fi, and here is no exception. It reminded me a lot of the Mass Effect universe, mixed with The Day After Tomorrow. If you like sci-fi, be sure to check this one out. Pick it up at your LCS or digitally.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Doctor Strange (2015) #1

Oct 8, 2015

Well done Marvel, I'm hooked. I'll be following this series and if you want to get hyped for the upcoming film, like Doctor Strange or just want a superhero with more magic and less muscles then this is perfect for you!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Doctor Strange and the Sorcerers Supreme #1

Oct 27, 2016

I wasn't sure when I picked this up if I'd stick to it for the long run. After reading it I will be, I very much enjoyed it. As for downsides, the battle at the end feels a little unsatisfactory where it's left, it would have been nice to have more of this though the issue did have to accommodate a fair bit of set up as well which took up panel space.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Dredd: Underbelly #1

Apr 11, 2014

I really enjoyed this comic, but it was all over too quickly for me. I'd be really interested to see an ongoing or a mini series as a sequel. If you liked the Dredd movie, or Judge Dredd in general, I would recommend this book.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Feathers #1

Jan 8, 2015

Feathers#1 is a nice, dark all-ages comic that is well-worth picking up either for yourself, or to get any potential new young comics fans into the fold. Check it out at your local comic book shop, or digital comics platform now!

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Fight Club 2 #1

May 28, 2015

Fight Club 2 is off to a good start, and as a big fan of the original book I'm definitely going to keep up with the series. If you're not a fan of the original or the film, or just haven't read or watched it, there may not be a big draw for you here and you probably won't get the most out of it. If you are, check this book out at your local comic book shop or digitally. Tyler Durden Lives.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Flash (2016) #1

Jun 23, 2016

Heart. Kinetic. Dynamic. Those are thingsI expect fromThe Flash and this creative team delivers on all three. Another DC ongoing that I'm happy to be sticking with. Pick this up at your local comic book shop or digital comics platform now!

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Forever Evil #7

May 22, 2014

This was a damn good piece of superhero comics, involving very few actual superheroes. It sets up a really interesting new status quo, with Lex Luthor actually seemingly reflecting on events and improving himself (though not as clear cut as a full redemption, and he is clearly going to use some new information to his advantage soon), and the reveal of who chased the Crime Syndicate out of their own reality (and may be coming to the main DCU next). If you haven't been reading this event, I wouldn't recommend the finale as a jumping on point but definitely check out the collection when DC releases it.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
God Hates Astronauts #1

Sep 4, 2014

If any of that doesn't sound great to you, I don't know, maybe you just hate fun or something.It is actually a continuation of a previous series by Browne, which I haven't read (I will after having read this, you can buy the whole thing in trade paperback or read it on the GHA website), but the back story is summed up in two pages by ‘3-D Cowboy' pretty succinctly. I can't really adequately describe this comic, but god damn I enjoyed it. It was the funniest thing I have read in a long while, the story made just about as much sense as it needed to, the dialogue was laden with unnecessary profanity and the all the characters are totally ridiculous. The art was a lot of fun too, with heavy line work and really nice and vibrant colours making The Impossible's insane powers look particularly good. I loved the brilliant sound effects too, like ‘MARITAL STRIFE!', ‘SPACE COLLISION!' and ABOUT TO CLICK!'.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Godzilla: Cataclysm #1

Aug 14, 2014

A goodstart to what I hope will be an interesting story, and the art is particularly strong. I may be biased because I like this brand of fiction, but it is a bleak read that manages to be fun at the same time. Check it out at your local comic book shop, or on your digital media doohicky, before the cataclysm happens, destroying all the shops and probably the infrastructure for digital comics too.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Gotham Academy: Second Semester #1

Sep 15, 2016

That aside, can Archerand Hopedraw hands? As I've already raved about the art of course they can. As with some other artists hands aren't used so much in conversation or as a tool of communication, at least that how it felt when the story focused on Olive. She seems to have her hands by her side most of the time. Which is a well-used tool as it communicates her uncertainty and an apparent lack of confidence in herself. As with the rest of the art, very good overall. 8.5/10 for hand drawing skills!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Holy F*ck #1

Jan 22, 2015

This was a fun read, and overall should be a very funny mini series. I'm interested to see howthe deities try to bring about the apocalypse, and what the protagonists ofHoly Fuck do to prevent it. Check it out at your LCS or digital comics platform.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Holy F*ck #2

Mar 2, 2015

Holy Fuck is definitely worth picking up, it's a very funny book and is delightfully sacrilegious. This issue is a bit slower, as serves to flesh out the plot (necessarily) and gets us back to the opening of the first issue, but is still a lot of fun.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Holy F*cked #1

Sep 16, 2015

Holy F*cked#1 is another hysterical comic from Marino and Arruda Massa, continuing the adventures of Jesus, Satan and Maria while improving on what made the previous series work so well. Hilarious, borderline offensive and blasphemous (the holy trinity!), if you enjoy irreverent takes on deities then you should really check this out. Find it in last week's comics section at your LCS today, or look for it on your preferred digital comics doodad. Check out the collection ofHoly F*ckwhile you're at it!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.2
Hulk (2016) #3

Feb 23, 2017

I always enjoy a character exploration issue. It did take me a moment to catch up with things not having read Civil War II, however if this series continues along its initial set up we may be treated to a deeper engagement with Jen's personality. I would like to see more Hulk myself too. For a series simply named Hulk, it was a little light on Hulk.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
IvX #2

Jan 12, 2017

This is promising to be Marvel's super team showdown of the year. Its been a while coming, which adds plenty of weight to the issues so far.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
John Flood #1

Aug 6, 2015

This was a very nice first issue ofJohn Flood with really compelling characters and great art. The angle of eliminating sleep doesn't even seem to play in to the story yet, more as a quirk for the main character (because TV has taught me that all PIs and Detectives need a quirk), though I'd be surprised if it doesn't come in later. Check out this first issue at your LCS or digitally!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Justice League #41

Jun 4, 2015

The Darkseid War looks like it is going to be huge and bombastic, a little dark and ruthless but hopefully a bit of fun along the way. Johns continues to writeJustice League like a big action film, and Fabok does a great job of bringing that to life. If you haven't been following up until now, or dropped off the book before, consider checking this out. You won't be much more in the dark than long time readers are, and the writing is strong enough to not need prior knowledge either. The issue is a bit pricey, but as it is 40 pages you do get your money's worth. Pick this up at your LCS or digitally.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Justice League: Darkseid War: Batman #1

Oct 29, 2015

Tie in issues can often fall wide of the mark and end up as not much more than a marketing ploy. This is not one of those issues. It gives us a fantastic insight into this incarnation of Batman. His weaknesses and his dark-side (get it?).

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Kill Or Be Killed #1

Aug 4, 2016

It's rare to have so much trust in a creative team in comics that you pick up a new book without looking into it at all. It is even rarer for that book to be even better than you expected from them.This is comic books at their best. Check it out at your local comic shop or digitally now.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Kim & Kim #1

Jul 7, 2016

Kim & Kimis a lot of fun, full of heart and an interesting plot withgreat art, and is a strongLGBTQ-positivebook which is somethingfictionalways needs more of. Andas I said: punk rock LGBTQ Cowboy Bebop. Why haven't you bought it yet? Pick it up at your LCS or digitally now.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.9
Kingpin (2017) #1

Feb 9, 2017

As the first issue of the series, it takes its time to set up the characters. If you're hoping for an action packed explosive series it's unlikely this will be for you. If you're hoping for an exploration of a classic character, getting into detailed plots of corruption and drama then this absolutely will be for you.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Memetic #1

Oct 23, 2014

This was a really strong start for this short mini series. I loved the concept, and the execution was spot on too. Pick this up at your LCS or digitally (before the internet is shut down and society falls apart!).

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Mockingbird #1

Mar 10, 2016

This is a very different first issue, but a very enjoyable one. I wasn't looking to add any more comics to my regular list (I am supposed to be saving for a wedding") but dammit Marvel you've done it again!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Moon Girl and Devil Dinosaur #1

Nov 26, 2015

This was a lot of fun, the art is bold and dramatic, and it's a good set up. I'd like to learn more about Devil-Dinosaur who hasn't featured much yet, but surely a sign of a good first issue is the reader wants to know more! Some adults may find this a bit too childish, but it's a dinosaur super-hero. What else would you expect?

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Moon Knight (2016) #1

Apr 14, 2016

We learn that Marc has been a resident here since he was a child, with Moon Knight apparently in his head, and he's suffered a relapse. Which he does, in a big way. It seems he literally sees the world in a new way as Moon Knight (even if the outfit is just some bed sheets") and he is given his calling and his opponent to beat. Maybe? It still could all just be in his head. He's not even sure if the other patients are actually patients or people he knows as Moon Knight, which gives us new mini-flashbacks.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Nameless #1

Feb 5, 2015

This was solid, high-concept sci-fi from a team who excel at thegenre. I can't wait to see how Namelessdevelopsandwhat other characters will be part of the team trying to save the planet on the dark side of the moon, find out what the crazy cult killings mean and how the door to the anti-universe figures into it all. Pick this up at your LCS or digital comics platform.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Nightwing: Rebirth #1

Jul 14, 2016

Nightwing is back. He has his independence back and I'm looking to see where things go. We're dealing with a family villain and I'd love to see Dick go up against someone new and his rogues gallery develop. I really enjoyed the interaction with Damian as well.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
ODY-C #1

Nov 27, 2014

This was a really interesting read, and fans of mythology and sci-fi should really enjoy this. I've not really done the book justice in trying and failing to summarise the story, but definitely check this out at your LCS or digitally. Now.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Old Man Logan (2016) #1

Jan 28, 2016

I enjoyed this more than I expected. It's a lot darker than the other Marvel I'm reading which is a nice contrast. They did a great job in letting you get to know Logan, it's also very clear he's a very different man to the main timeline's Wolverine. I can't quite get over the random fat Spidey though. It would also be nice to have a few more supporting characters eventually. The art is excellent and gory (for a Marvel comic) and if you're a fan of comic art that alone is reason to get this first issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Paper Girls #5

Feb 4, 2016

Paper Girls wraps up it's first arc well, despite the mysteries of the book largely being no clearer than they were from the start. I have no idea where the story is going with the second arc, and that genuinely excites me. The first five issues are being collected as a trade paperback from Image, due to come out on April 13th. If you can't track down the single issues, either check out the trade or grab the issues through your digital comics app!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Plutona #1

Sep 3, 2015

Plutona is off to a very strong start, turning the superhero genre on its head to tell an intriguing mystery about the death of a hero, and how these children will deal with being the ones who find the body. Pick this up at your local comic shop or digitally today.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Power Man and Iron Fist (2016) #2

Mar 17, 2016

Power Man and Iron Fisthas very quickly become one of my favourite comics not just from Marvel, but on the stands in general. Walker, Sanford, Loughridge and Cowles have produced a fresh and unique book that's unlike anything else I'm reading, and I can't wait to see what happens next. Check it out at your LCS or digitally now!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Punisher (2016) #1

May 5, 2016

This was a great return forThe Punisher, with a tight and intriguing opening issue with great action. As forces rally themselves against Frank Castle that action is only going to intensify, and I can't wait to see how far the book pushes or where Cloonan takes him. Pick this up at your local comic book shop or digitally.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Reborn #3

Dec 15, 2016

Rebornis a great looking, huge and insane fantasy book that you should be definitely checking out. I can't wait to see where the series goes, and what weird and wonderful creatures Capullo is going to get to draw along the way. Check it out at your local comic book shop or digitally now!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Robin Rises: Alpha #1

Dec 24, 2014

Overall, this was a great end to an arc I have really enjoyed. I will certainly be following up on the adventures of Batman and Robin in the wake of this new status quo shake up. Pick this up at your local comic book shop or digital comics platform, and I hope you all have an above-average holiday season!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Robin Rises: Omega #1

Jul 17, 2014

The series is definitely worth it, so I'll make room in my budget. I'm interested in seeing how it all plays out, and if you are a DC fan not reading the main series I recommend jumping on this one-shot and carrying on with the story afterwards. If you are new to DC (and anything I have said made any sense), this should be a good story anyway but in the wider context may not mean a great deal to you. Regardless, as always you can pick it up at your local comic book shop or through the medium of the internet and apps.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Robin War #1

Dec 3, 2015

Do you like Robin? Hell, do you like Batman in general? If you do, go and read this. Especially if you're at all familiar with Gotham in the New 52 Universe. Only some minor criticisms for this first issue: without reading We Are Robin!and knowing what's up with Bruce Wayne right now you'd probably be a bit lost. Also, I in no way see how the events of Robin War and Batman and Robin Eternal can be considered canon at the same time. So I'll just use the usual comic book logic and pretend they both somehow happen simultaneously.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Rocket #1

May 12, 2017

This is a lot of fun. I wouldn't expect this to reshape the foundations at Marvel but for something different and an enjoyable read I'd highly recommend it.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Rumble #1

Dec 18, 2014

This is a great start to a new series, and I am really looking forward to finding out more about Rathraq and this world. Check this out at your LCS or online.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Saga #22

Aug 28, 2014

Just like everyone else, I'm going to say if you're not readingSaga then you should be. Simply brilliantstory and art. The first 18 issues are collected in 3 trade paperback volumes, with a few more out since then (or you can wait until later this year, when volume 4 will be out too). This is a series that is really worth checking out if you haven't yet. As always, you can grab this issue in your local comic shop or online with whatever digital platform you want to use. In fact, I think the first issue may still be free digitally to see if you like it. That's how I started on it!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Secret Empire #0

Apr 20, 2017

Secret Empire is off to a good start, with strong art and a story that feels like a real payoff to a year of story. Issue #0 feels like essential reading for the plot, and even then it may be a little impenetrable to new readers. Even so, I definitely recommend Secret Empire #0, which you can pick up at your local comic shop or digitally now!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Secret Identities #1

Jan 5, 2015

This is a strong first issue for a really interesting new superhero story, and with the benefit of being a creator-owned story it means the stakes can be much higher (for example, the death of a character can actually have meaning as we can't guarantee they'll be back from the dead in a year).

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Secret Six (2014) #1

Dec 4, 2014

Secret Sixwas a very enjoyable read, and I'm looking forward to seeing where it goes next. I've always liked Simone's writing style, and this was the last pushI really needed to motivate me into actually tracking down the pre-reboot series that she worked on (though from what I hear that may be quite difficult). Pick this up at your LCS or digital comics platform thing.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Secret Wars #9

Jan 14, 2016

When Secret Wars started, at least for the first issue, I thought it was a good looking book that was the most enjoyable of the events last summer, so I felt it was worth continuing with to see how it all played out. From the second issue onwards, the scale of the story and the writing and art made Secret Wars one of my favourite books, with the end of every issue leaving me hungry for the next. An encyclopedic knowledge of the Marvel universe is absolutely not necessary to enjoy the story, though not knowing much may take some of the impact out of a few scenes. If you've not been keeping up with it, I'd definitely recommend tracking the previous issues down or picking up the collection when it comes out in March.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Serenity: Leaves On The Wind #6

Jun 26, 2014

The only drawback, if there is one at all, is that this comic very much depends on you being familiar with these characters. The story is written well enough that you can entirely follow what is going on through the series without having ever watched an episode of Firefly, I'm just not sure you would care about anything that happens. I'd still recommend checking it out, and if you like it then try the show. If you are a Firefly fan, definitely pick this series up. It is a really strong continuation of the series we all loved, and I really hope there is more. Check the series out, and try to track down all 6 issues of the mini-series if you can (or read it digitally!). If you can't manage it, or can't be arsed, Dark Horse will be releasing a hard cover of the whole ofLeaves on the Wind in November. So check it out then!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Seven to Eternity #1

Sep 24, 2016

What is clear inSeven to Eternity is that this is a truly collaborative affair, and everyone involved is pulling in some of the best work of their careers. It's a dense, intriguing high fantasy epic that I genuinely can't wait to read more of, and you should definitely be checking this out. Pick it up at your LCS or digitally now.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.2
Silver Surfer (2016) #6

Sep 1, 2016

Speaking as someone who always liked the Surfer as a kid but hasn't picked it up since this was a great one off. It's perfect for someone who appreciates the silverage of comic books with art that really brings this home:

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Southern Bastards #3

Jul 3, 2014

Southern Bastards is great, and issue #3 is another solid instalment in this first arc ‘Here Was a Man'. The story is simple but really interesting, and is totally different from anything else I'm reading at the moment. The first two issues have been reprinted (I think), so pick this up and track them down (or wait for the first arc to be collected in trade paperback in a few months) at your local comic book shop, or grab all 3 digitally. Now!

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Southern Cross #1

Mar 12, 2015

This was an interesting first issue of what looks to be a compelling sci-fi mystery. Pick it up at your LCS or digital platform now!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Space Riders #1

Mar 30, 2015

Space Ridersis a fun, over the top comic. I have no idea where the story will go, but it should be funny finding out.Issue #1 is out this Wednesday (1st April 2015), so check it out at your local comic book shop or try it out digitally.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Sparks Nevada: Marshal on Mars #1

Feb 19, 2015

This was a tight, hilarious first issue ofSparks Nevada: Marshal on Mars.I can't wait for more, and if this is the quality I can expect then I'm definitely going to check outBeyond Beliefwhen it comes out too. If you like space westerns, laser fightin' and robot fists, pick this up from your LCS or digitally. Also definitely check out The Thrilling Adventure Hour podcast, because it is excellent.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Spider-Gwen #1

Feb 26, 2015

I didn't really know what to expect going into this series, but what I got was a really nice surprise.Spider-Gwen, while I'm not dying about the name, is a fun and vibrant book that is well worth picking up. Even not having read the series that spawned it, I didn't feel too lost as I have a basic working knowledge of Spider-Man lore. If you fancy a slightly different take on web-slinging, check this interesting new female-led book out at your LCS or digitally.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Spider-Gwen (2015) #1

Oct 15, 2015

Overall it's a decent first book. It's been set up as a jumping on point for new readers, as expected from an issue 1 reboot. Although I think it does this a little too heavy-handedly. I hadn't read any of the first Spider-Gwen series, but did have a rough idea of the concept behind it. As a new comer it felt like there were a couple too many flash backs, I'd have rather had a bit more current content and getting to know Gwen and her world in the present day. I'd also have liked to see a new villain, once we know she's already dealt with the Lizard once.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Spread #1

Jul 10, 2014

So pretty clear this is another new series I really enjoyed, and I think you should pick it up too. If you are a fan of grim horror (and I suspect you are), then you should be into Spread. Check it out at your local comic book shop or digital comics app thingymabob.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Squadron Supreme (2015) #1

Dec 17, 2015

I like the idea behind this, it's fun to see a take on the Justice League that does manage to feel original if going over slightly familiar ground. I love the art" but" there are some issues: it felt too short, the whole thing was 19 pages long, and a page or two more for some exposition would have been really useful. I knew of these characters and I needed a little guidance, this is meant to be an issue #1 where complete newbies can join in. Still, I want to know what happens next and I'll give issue #2 a shot myself!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Star Wars (2014) #1

Jan 15, 2015

This comic did nothing to lessen my enthusiasm for Star Wars in 2015. In fact it made me want to watch episodes IV, V and VI immediately. The story is in it's infancy, but I'm sure it is going to be a fun ride. Pick this up at your local comic shop (maybe one of the several thousand variant covers) or digital comics platform now. Unless you hate Star Wars. Why did you click on a review of a Star Wars comic then? Odd.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Star Wars: Darth Vader (2017) #1

Jun 8, 2017

Yeah, I'm hooked. You should be too. Go and buy this.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Star Wars: Shattered Empire #1

Sep 10, 2015

Admittedly I'm already very much on board for new Star Wars content as I count the days down to Episode VII, andShattered Empire would have had to have been pretty bad for me to be disappointed in any way. But Marvel has been turning out excellent stories with all of the Star Wars books, largely because they are trusting some of the very best creators to work on them. Rucka and Checchetto have absolutely continued this trend, and have produced a truly exciting Star Wars book.Buy this.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Star-Lord (2016) #1

Dec 22, 2016

I really dug this as a start to a new series. Focusing on the small stuff and giving us a character in a more relatable environment helps make them more human and gives a surprising weight to the situation whenthings do go to hell. The writing and art team have also got off to a promising start and I'm looking forward to the rest of the work they can deliver.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Superman (2016) #6

Sep 8, 2016

Of all the Rebirth books I have checked out, I wasn't expecting Superman to be my clear favourite. But after 6 issues, I'm hoping that we're going to be treated to this creative team on the Man and Boy of Steel for a long time.Superman#6 is a gorgeous and shining example of superhero comics, and if you're not reading it you should definitely pick it up at your LCS or all 6 issues digitally now.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Superman Unchained #9

Nov 6, 2014

I did enjoy this issue, and I worry that I have been too harsh on it. As a series overall I would give it a 9/10 (and you should definitely pick the collection up when it comes out next month), and with a re read I may feel more generous towards this issue too with the rest of the story more fresh in my mind. It is still a decent end to a great series, and I wish that it was going to carry on as an ongoing (just without the delays!). Check this out at your LCS or digitally.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Superman: Doomed #2

Sep 25, 2014

Overall I did enjoySuperman: Doomed. It probably isn't for everyone, but it kept my interest going and I made me want to keep up with Action Comics to see where things go next. If you like Superman, but wish he looked like he was covered in sharp rocks and growled a lot, then this will be your bag. Check it out in your local comic shop or digital comics platform.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Swamp Thing (2016) #1

Jan 7, 2016

Well, I'm hooked. This is a fantastic first issue, and so far it's living up to the hype. I could imagine a long term reader may be a little bored by the flash back, but it doesn't take up too much of the comic.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
The Clone Conspiracy #1

Oct 13, 2016

I like the twist, I'll save that for you to come across yourself when you read this issue (you should), it mixes up The Clone Conspiracy and things are not looking like a rehash of the Clone Saga.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
The Disciples #1

Jun 11, 2015

The Disciplesis off to a great start, and while I had expected a little more horror right from the off this first issue benefits from the set up and great art as a lead in. Check this out at your local comic book shop, or you can get it digitally over atwww.blackmaskstore.com.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
The Empty Man #1

Jun 12, 2014

I love a good mystery, and this series presents a very interesting one. The art was great, complementing the ominous overshadowing of the story. I'll be carrying on withThe Empty Man, andI'm definitely recommending people pick this up.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
The Fade Out #1

Aug 21, 2014

Another great new series. This is a team that has been working together for several years, and it shows. As Image often do, this is an oversized first issue for the normal issue price to get new readers in, so the value for money is excellent. In addition, in the back pages Brubaker (I think) indicates a preference for physical print copies over digital, and for that reason they always try to include extras at the back of single print issues. In this case it is a short article written by Devin Faraci, about 'The Lonesome Death of Peg Entwistle', one of the many tragic tales of Hollywood and broken dreams. Another good read, and I always appreciate the inclusion of interesting extras. This is well worth picking up, and you can find it at your local comic book shop or online, or I'm sure the digital version is nearly as good!

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
The New 52: Futures End #14

Aug 7, 2014

Overall I am enjoying the story, but I care a great deal less about some story arcs (for example, Grifter's internment on Cadmus Island) than I do others (I find Cal's story and beard oddly compelling, plus I really could do with more from the 35 years in the future era) so find it frustrating when an issue focusses more on something that, at the moment, doesn't seem to be advancing the plot much at all. I'm also not completely clear on why everyone needs to be a dick in the future.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
The New 52: Futures End #48

Apr 2, 2015

Futures End was a nice concept pulled down by its own run length and inconsistency. The finale was an average read, with a serviceable story and art and an ending that effectively says what we all know – no matter what you do to try and change things for the better, nothing will change and everything you do is ultimately, crushingly pointless. Fin.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
The United States of Murder Inc. #1

May 15, 2014

I enjoyed this comic a great deal, and I seem to be paying so little attention of late that I didn't even realise it was coming out. I just saw it on the rack at the comic book shop and thought "I'd like to read more Bendis, and this doesn't require loads of pre existing knowledge of what came before it!". I'm glad I did (see kids, acting on impulse works out sometimes), I found a really different looking book from anything else I'm reading, and in a setting that I did not know I wanted a comic about. It turns out I did. Check it out at your local comic book shop, or digitally online if you have one of those new fangled tablet thingys.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
The Unworthy Thor #1

Nov 3, 2016

The Unworthy Thor #1 is a great companion to the superb Mighty Thor, with gorgeous art and an interesting set up that promises a lot for the future of the Odinson and his corner of the Marvel Universe. I'm hoping that we do finally find out the reason for the unworthiness, but even if we just get a good Thor story out of it that would be fine too! Check it out at your local comic shop or digitally now.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
The Unworthy Thor #2

Dec 8, 2016

Aaron is off to a great start with what could well be a fantastic redemption story. The twist villain at the end promises to up the ante throughout the series and the artists are certainly giving it the high standard it deserves.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
The Wicked + The Divine #1

Jun 19, 2014

I need to pick up an issue of something I really dislike one of these weeks, because the number of new series that I am completelyon board with is starting to hurt my wallet a lot. This was a really interesting read, check it out in your local comic book shop or online.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
The Woods #1

May 8, 2014

I'm really interested to see how this series develops and what lies ahead for Karen, Adrian, Isaac, Ben and Calder as they venture into The Woods. I especially liked how the mysterious first page takes on an intriguing meaning as we approach the end of the issue. I'll definitely be keeping up with this series, and I suggest you do too. Check it out at your local comic book shop or digitally.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Thor (2014) #1

Oct 2, 2014

I loved this, and am genuinely interested in what will happen with this new Thor, what will happen to the old/original/Thor Odinsson/Thor-Classic Thor and especially in how they will interact with each other. I'll carry on with this, find room in my budget for more Marvel, and start picking up the rest of Aaron's run on Thor.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Thor (2014) #8

May 14, 2015

Thorended this short run as strongly as it started, and I'm reassured that the reason for it ending is due to Secret Wars and not due to sales, which were pretty good according to Aaron on the letters page. For anyone that dismissed this series because they ‘didn't like Thor turning into a chick', pull your head out of your rectum and actually give things a chance rather than having a knee jerk reaction. The Goddess of Thunder has been a great character to read, and while I'm sure Odinson will lift the hammer again (and Steve will return to beingCap, and Tony will stop being even more of a douche. Calm down nerds) I hope this new Thor remains, even if it ends up being through some form of comic book handwavery (I'm going to guess that Secret Wars ends with 2 Mjolnirs on Earth-616). Pick this up at your LCS or digitally.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Thors #1

Jun 18, 2015

Thorsis a lot of fun, and a great addition to the Secret Wars world.Thor as a detective is the sort of mix up that shows the potential of the Battleworld setting really pay off. It isn't necessary to read if you just want to stick to the main title, but neither isSecret Wars needed to enjoy this. This was great, check it out at your LCS or digitally.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.3
Titans (2016) #1

Jul 28, 2016

The message at play here is how good it is to have Wally back and how natural the team now feels. There's a little less meta I feel going on than the acknowledgement that the Spyral role didn't fully suit Dick in Graysonor the apparent admission that DC have overly scrambled Wonder Woman's back story a few too many times. But this works well in itself. DC need the fun stories, in my opinion they've been a little lacking, and Wally who's classically known for his fun loving attitude and his friends in the Titans are perfect to help provide that. He's still working things out since he's back as he's been through a hell of a lot, but he still comes across as a great guy. It's a solid first issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Tokyo Ghost #1

Sep 17, 2015

This first issue ofTokyo Ghost has a lot going on, aggressively eschewing the usual trade off of character vs. plot for a first issue of a new series by just smashing together both. And it works. More could, and presumably will, be said about Led. To be honest, I worry that once Led starts to come off of his addiction he will start to overshadow Debbie Decay in the story, which I think would be a great shame because as it stands, she is far and away the most compelling character. The story is compelling, but the art is the main draw here for me. Remender, Murphy and Hollingsworth deliver a cyberpunk LA noir with death races, video games obsessives and explosions and it looks ridiculously pretty. This is a great first issue and I can't wait to see where it goes. Pick it up at your LCS or digitally today.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Trees #1

May 29, 2014

This was another great first issue of a new creator-owned series, and again I will definitely be keeping up with it as the characters are fleshed out and Ellis explores the mystery of the trees and why they are here, largely dormant and uncommunicative, and what they are going to do. I fully recommend picking this one up from your local comic book shop or online retailer with your tablet/smart phone/internet-linked cyberbrain.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Ultimates (2015) #6

Apr 28, 2016

If you're curious about Galactus, his history and understanding his role even more in the bigger Marvel picture this is a great comic for you.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
We Are Robin #1

Jun 25, 2015

I'll certainly be carrying on the series myself and want to see where it goes!

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
We Can Never Go Home #1

Mar 23, 2015

We Can Never Go Home is a very decent start to what hopefully will be an interesting story, a road movie of sorts where the characters are constantly looking over their shoulders to see if their collective past is catching up to them. Issue #1 is out this Wednesday (25th March 2015), so check it out at your local comic book shop or try it out digitally.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
We Stand On Guard #1

Jul 2, 2015

We Stand On Guardis off to a strong start, and I'm looking forward to finding out more about Amber, Tommy and the Two-Four, and what this band of freedom fighters can actually do in the face of total and complete occupation by a faceless and brutal US army. Check this one out at your LCS or download it digitally now!

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Wonder Woman (2011) #36

Nov 20, 2014

I've been very negative here, but overall I did actually enjoy this issue. It was more the story I enjoyed however, as I felt the characterisation and art wavered quite a bit. While it isn't fair to compare it to Azzarrello and Chiang's run on the series, it would be remiss not to do so as DC really should ensure that they follow up such a strong and beloved run with something that can rival it rather than disappoint. Their Diana was strong and stoic, uncompromising and looking like she could take on the gods, regularly demonstrating that she could do just that. This is early days for this run though, and I am keen to see where the story goes and how Diana steps up to meet the challenge. I still think it is worth checking out for yourself, so pick it up at your LCS or digital comics platform.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Wonder Woman: Rebirth #1

Jun 9, 2016

When DC first announced that several of their books would be going twice-monthly I was worried. AfterWonder Woman: Rebirth I'm still worried, but more for my bank account than my ongoing interest in DC Comics. The set up for the series is compelling, but the quality in the whole creative team in this issue and seeing one arm of what is to come working so well here is what will be bringing me back in two weeks. If last week is anything to go by head to your local comic shop soon before it sells out, thoughI think DC are reprinting all of theRebirthbooks anyway so keep an eye out. This is definitely one to check out.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Wytches #1

Oct 9, 2014

Shockingly, I enjoyed this.Wytches#1 is a great start for a horror series, living up to the hype built up around it. This first issue is bound to sell out, but Image are good at extra printings for their titles so more will be out soon. Pick this up either physically or digitally, it should be a great ride.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
X-Men Prime #1

Mar 30, 2017

This is a new beginning for the X-Men, they're back from Limbo and ready to be heroes again (about time!) It's a great place to join if you're a new reader too.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Young Terrorists #1

Aug 20, 2015

Young Terroristsis off to a good start. It is risky in its subversiveness, but for all its shady overtones its an interesting and fun read with great art. This first issue is a little more expensive than most, but the value for money is excellent. The first printing can still be picked up in stores now (my LCS had a decent stack of copies), but they are selling out fast and a second printing is already on its way. Make sure you check this out at your local comic shop or digitally!

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for
the Week of...

June

May

More