Doctor Strange #23

Doctor Strange #23

Event\Storyline: Secret Empire Writer: Dennis Hopeless Artist: Niko Henrichon Publisher: Marvel Comics Release Date: July 19, 2017 Cover Price: $3.99 Critic Reviews: 2 User Reviews: 8
5.9Critic Rating
6.6User Rating

+ Pull List

SECRET EMPIRE TIE-IN!
•  Strange, Fisk and company take the fight to the person running New York City...BARON MORDO!
Rated T+

  • 7.8
    IGN - Blair Marnell Jul 20, 2017

    I didn't realize it until this issue, but this series has basically become a team-up between Doctor Strange and the Netflix Defenders. It's something that we probably won't see in live-action anytime soon, but it does offer some fun pairings, including Doctor Strange and the Kingpin. Read Full Review

  • 4.0
    Bleeding Cool - Joshua Davison Jul 24, 2017

    Its not fun tearing into a book like this with a talented team and a track record for being really good. Hopeless last issue of Doctor Strange had some of the same problems as this one, but they were downplayed and not as damaging. Here, those problems are amped up and fatal. Unfortunately, I cannot recommend this comic. Read Full Review

  • 7.5
    Rick Jonez Jul 23, 2017

    Stuff happens, so there's that, but seriously: WHY?! Won't tying Fisk and Urich to mysticism just end up tainting their A-List commonfolk characters cast status in DD's book? Not only does that book need more cast focus, why do these big changes in this title. Maybe it'll be just a one-shot thing like when MJ became Red Sonja in MTU - that'd be alright. Plus we get big name guest stars, with multiple titles of their own, that do nothing but get pawned just to try to attract their individual fan bases. Maybe it would've been better to spotlight some of the umpteen other superheroes (and supervillains) trapped in the darkbubble for evenness. And the unclear S.E. timeline while the darkbubble is up is infuriating. On the plus side the Baron Mordo grandstanding is proceeding reasonably enough and that cover is as provactive, if not more, as the scattering of other good guy/bad guy bondings/pacts on other back issue covers.

  • 7.5
    Gizmo Aug 1, 2017

    What part about 'don't touch anything' don't you understand Ben!?

  • 5.0
    Kreniigh Aug 15, 2017

    I'm surprised that Hopeless gets the voices of these characters so wrong. Mordo quipping like a character on a sitcom? Ben Urich tossing out references to Larping? Who are these people?

  • 8.5
    Nickweiser Aug 11, 2017

  • 7.5
    sebastianorellana95 Jul 20, 2017

  • 7.0
    Jabberwocky_Superfly Jul 24, 2017

  • 6.0
    EDiakota Jul 19, 2017

  • 4.0
    jmprados Aug 12, 2017

Reviews for
the Week of...

August

July

More