Blair Marnell's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Crave Online, IGN, Nerdist Reviews: 151
6.8Avg. Review Rating

6.5
A Game of Thrones #1

Sep 22, 2011

The Game of Thrones comic also appears to be less adult oriented than the HBO series. It's more of a teen reader friendly comic with only the occasional beheading and blade through the eye... and no outright nudity. This book isn't trying to ape the HBO series and its version of the characters and the threat beyond the Wall seem to be intentionally different for the most part. This comic may be best suited for people unwilling to read Martin's novel all the way through. I've no doubt that the comic will eventually cover the entirety of the first novel, but at this rate its going to be a very long time before readers of the comic catch up to what people have already seen on HBO.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Action Comics #902

Jun 26, 2011

I'd love to see Cornell recover from his missteps and pull off this story in the concluding chapters, but it doesn't seem likely at this point.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.5
Action Comics #903

Aug 2, 2011

But there's no getting past how inconsequential this issue is. DC may be holding the line at $2.99, but these 20 pages pass so quickly that even that price seems steep.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Action Comics #904

Aug 31, 2011

The bulk of the pages are by Gimenez and he does a serviceable job. However, there are definitely pages that look rushed and sketchy. It's not that the main story could have been saved by the artwork alone, but it certainly would have helped if there was a single artist throughout the entire storyline who was at the top of his game. Great art can help you forgive a mediocre story. Average art will never have the same effect. When it comes to ending a story, Cornell seems to have a solid grasp on what's going to satisfy an audience. Unfortunately, the journey to get to that point wasn't as enjoyable as it should have been.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Action Comics (2011) #3

Nov 7, 2011

On its own, Action Comics #3 makes for a surprisingly dense and enjoyable read. I still don't buy that this is the same Man of Steel being portrayed five years later in Superman, but if you're only reading this book than it doesn't matter what happens anywhere else.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.8
Action Comics (2016) #973

Feb 9, 2017

Stephen Segovia is also a very talented artist, but his style simply doesn't flow very well with Zircher's pages. By abruptly cutting from Segovia to Zircher on more than one occasion, this issue is less fun to read. But the story is fun and engaging, and that's the most important part of the equation.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Action Comics (2016) #974

Feb 23, 2017

It really feels like the Lana/Superwoman plot belongs in another book, but this was still an entertaining read. It's also a crossover story, which means that we'll only have to wait a week to see how that cliffhanger plays out.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.9
Action Comics (2016) #975

Mar 9, 2017

It's not clear if the mystery villain can maintain that threat level for the entire story, but Dini and Churchill actually made him feel relevant for the first time in years

View Issue       View Full Review
8.1
Action Comics (2016) #976

Mar 23, 2017

This isn't a perfect issue, but it's hard not to be happy with it. This is what I wanted from my Superman.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Aliens: Life and Death #1

Aug 25, 2016

That said, this was a very strong opening chapter to the next phase of the crossover. The Colonial Marines are far from out of the woods, and they've got more than just Xenomorphs to worry about.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
All-New All-Different Avengers Annual #1

Aug 14, 2016

This issue's biggest crime is that it doesn't let us read the story that pissed off Kamala in the first place: "Ms. Marvel and the Teenage Love Triangle from Space." We do get to see who wrote the offending tale, and now we really want to know what was in it! But that didn't detract too much from a very enjoyable issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
All-New All-Different Avengers Annual #1

Aug 14, 2016

This issue's biggest crime is that it doesn't let us read the story that pissed off Kamala in the first place: "Ms. Marvel and the Teenage Love Triangle from Space." We do get to see who wrote the offending tale, and now we really want to know what was in it! But that didn't detract too much from a very enjoyable issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
All-New X-Men #27

May 26, 2014

I still maintain that this is one of the better X-Men comics being published, but it makes a strong argument for reading All-New X-Men as a trade paperback instead picking up the monthly series.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
All-Star Batman #1

Aug 10, 2016

Even with a few minor hiccups, All-Star Batman #1 is one of the few comics that feels like it's worth the $4.99 cover price. It's not perfect, but it is entertaining.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
All-Star Batman #2

Sep 15, 2016

One of the more satisfying aspects ofAll-Star Batman #2 is that it's worth the $4.99 price tag. There's a lot to unpack in this issue, and it feels like a lot of bang for the buck. We do feel like the constant betrayals of Batman may be Synder's way of making this issue's primary story seem more important than it actually is. We're not fans of the old bait and switch, and frankly, we're starting to think that's where Synder is going with it. That does temper our impression of the book. But overall, it's beenvery enjoyable experience so far.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Alpha Flight Vol. 4 #6

Nov 25, 2011

Plus, now that Fear Itself is over, Alpha Flight is more of a standalone story than ever before. I wish we could get more comics like this. Alpha Flight may never set the sales charts on fire, but it is well worth your money.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Alpha Flight Vol. 4 #7

Jan 2, 2012

Alpha Flight is one of those Marvel books that just doesn't work without the right creative team. In that regard, Pak, Van Lente and Eaglesham have done a terrific job of making these characters interesting again. It's a shame that the next issue may be the last time that they have their own title for the foreseeable future. But I'm eager to see how this story finally wraps up.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Alpha Flight Vol. 4 #8

Jan 27, 2012

Just not with Alpha Flight.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Amazing Spider-Man (2014) #2

May 26, 2014

On the story front, Slott is still delivering a pretty entertaining new chapter in the life of Spider-Man. I just wish that Ramos would move on to another book so I can enjoy the art again.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Amazing Spider-Man (2014) #3

Jun 25, 2014

I really want to like Amazing Spider-Man # 3 more than I do, but I think that Slott hasn’t quite found his post-Superior Spider-Man rhythm yet. 

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Amazing Spider-Man (2015) #17

Sep 1, 2016

Tags amazing spider-man, dan slott, Dead no more, marvel, marvel comics, peter parker, Prowler, spider-man Related Posts What's New What's Trending Decoding The Clues of SPIDER-MAN: THE CLONE CONSPIRACY article

View Issue       View Full Review
6.9
Amazing Spider-Man: Renew Your Vows (2016) #5

Mar 23, 2017

Given that Gerry Conway has been writing comic book stories since the '70s, it shouldn't be a surprise that this issue reads like a throwback to an earlier era. But it's fun, and it gets to the point fast.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Aquaman (2016) #16

Feb 2, 2017

In terms of story, there's not a lot happening here. But Dan Abnett takes the time to give Aquaman and his supporting cast some interesting beats, including a confession that Erika Watson shares with her high school crush.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Astonishing X-Men #44

Nov 25, 2011

But for now, McKone's art is still the best reason to check out this book.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Astonishing X-Men #45

Jan 3, 2012

Astonishing X-Men isn't required reading if you're an X-Men fan. But if you want a fun diversion from the angst of Uncanny X-Men and the bizarre art of Wolverine and the X-Men, then Astonishing X-Men may be the title for you.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Astro City (2013) #41

Feb 23, 2017

The tale of the Astro-naut is truly affecting, and it's another instant classic issue from a series that's almost always great.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Avengers (2016) #1

Nov 2, 2016

Another intriguing aspect of the new Kang war, is that it was started by one of the Avengers themselves. That twist was built on something that happened during Waid's last Avengers series; which may be off-putting for anyone who missed that the first time. But it's also a welcome sign that Waid has long term stories in mind for this series, and there's even a one-page "trailer" for the next few issues. Minor problems aside, this was a very exciting read, and we're eager to see what's next for these Avengers.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Avengers (2016) #3.1

Jan 19, 2017

Avengers #3.1 is unapologetically a throwback to earlier eras in comics. There are a lot of panels per page, random hero cameos, thought bubbles, and some very old school superhero action from the team of Mark Waid and Barry Kitson. I love it.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Avengers (2016) #4.1

Feb 23, 2017

Avengers #4.1 is a relentless throwback to the way that superhero comics used to be... and I love it. Mark Waid and Barry Kitson get just about everything right in this issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Batgirl (2016) #7

Jan 26, 2017

Batgirl # 7 is a very strange beast. Barbara Gordon finally arrives back in Burnside, and even she's calling it a "parallel Burnside" where the tech industry has started to force out the local shops and drive up the rents at a ridiculous rate. While that is a very modern problem, it's introduced in a very jarring way as Larson appears to write out the majority of Babs' supporting cast.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Batgirl and the Birds of Prey #1

Aug 17, 2016

There's really not enough here to make a judgment about the new Oracle as a villain, since we don't even have any suspects yet. In theory, a hacker who can outwit Barbara Gordon should be a formidable foe, but the Barbara Gordon Batgirl that we got in this issue was seriously off of her game. The Bensons had such a good take on Black Canary that it's curious that both Batgirl and Huntress came off poorly by comparison. For this revival book to work, all three leads have to be well-rounded characters and worthy heroines. Though they were not in this issue, we are hopeful that the series will develop each character individually.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.5
Batgirl and the Birds of Prey #8

Mar 9, 2017

There are certainly worse comic books than Batgirl and the Birds of Prey, but it's barely better than average.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.8
Batman Beyond (2016) #6

Mar 23, 2017

This is better than average, but not quite as good as it should be.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.4
Batwoman: Rebirth #1

Feb 16, 2017

This Batwoman relaunch should have been a lot better, but on the strength of the creative team alone, we're willing to give it a few issues.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Birds Of Prey (2011) #1

Sep 27, 2011

But it's not ready for primetime just yet.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Blue Beetle (2011) #1

Sep 29, 2011

That said, this was one of the more entertaining issues of the new 52 and one of the few that will remain on my reading list next month.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Captain America: Steve Rogers #14

Mar 23, 2017

The march to Secret Empire is getting more overt in Captain America: Steve Rogers. And regardless of anyone's feelings about Hydra Cap, this is a very good issue with incredible art by Jesus Saiz.

View Issue       View Full Review
0.1
Catwoman (2011) #1

Sep 23, 2011

Catwoman #1 was the most thoroughly mediocre comic that I've read in a long time. It is so terrible, that I am instituting a new low water mark for the Crave Online Rating system.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Cave Carson Has A Cybernetic Eye #1

Oct 19, 2016

But overall, it's a pretty strong beginning for one of the flagship titles of the Young Animal line. Cave Carson may finally be a star after this series takes off.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Champions #1

Oct 5, 2016

It's a shame, because until the clown and his captives showed up, this issue was really firing on all cylinders. It's still one of the best books out this week, it just betrayed one of its own central themes. The team that's trying to be more than just superheroes were quickly sucked into a pretty standard superhero plot. Given Waid's experience, we still feel that Champions has the potential to be a great book, but that's going to require Waid and Ramos to show us stories that we haven't seen many times before. So far, they haven't. That said, we're still very curious to see what they can do with these next gen heroes.

View Issue       View Full Review
3.0
Civil War II #1

Jun 1, 2016

Though we're disappointed by this first issue, we're willing to give Marvel the benefit of the doubt and seeing where the rest of the story goes, especially due to the terrific artwork. At this rate, though, we can pretty much guarantee that this is a story that won't be adapted for the big screen.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Civil War II #2

Jun 15, 2016

Civil War II #2 was stronger than the first issue, although the story itself remains the central weakness of the book. Stark may be having a mental breakdown, but what's everyone else's excuse for acting out of character?

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Civil War II #3

Jul 13, 2016

Marquez does get a brief assist from artist Olivier Coipel for the flashback between Banner and Hawkeye, which gave the issue a foreboding undertone that the rest of the issue seemed to lack. Again, this is not the fault of Marquez. His artwork is easily the biggest draw for the book, aside from the shock value of seeing one of Marvel's biggest icons get murdered by another hero. Bendis wanted to get people talking about Civil War II, and he succeeded on that front.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Civil War II #5

Sep 22, 2016

We really want to like this series more than we actually do, but the way that Bendis writes the book and treats the characters constantly throws us out of the issue. Marquez and Ponsor are continuing to turn in stellar artwork, but it's not enough to balance out a lackluster story that doesn't feel true to the heart of the Marvel Universe.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Deadpool (2015) #26

Feb 2, 2017

It's enjoyable on its own terms, but this issue is only slightly above average.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.8
Deadpool (2015) #27

Feb 16, 2017

In the end, Deadpool #27 does what any crossover tie-in issue was supposed to do. It gets us excited to see what's coming up next.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.8
Deadpool (2015) #28

Mar 2, 2017

It's too soon to judge how the rest of this crossover will play out, but it's entertaining so far.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Death Be Damned #1

Feb 9, 2017

There are some intriguing ideas at play here, but the artwork simply doesn't hold up its end of the bargain.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Death of X #1

Oct 5, 2016

Death of X #1 was at its best during the brief fighting scenes, which allowed Lemire and Soule to let Kuder cut loose on the book. We can't fault Kuder on this one, but we expect more from talented writers like Lemire and Soule. Both of them need to remind us why we love the X-Men and why we should love the Inhumans. Because right now, it's a pretty one-sided conflict. If you've ever loved Marvel's mutants, chances are good that you're already rooting for them in this fight. Nothing the Inhumans did in this issue will change that.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Deathstroke #1

Sep 16, 2011

However, this is the first relaunch title other than Action Comics or Batgirl that has me looking forward to the next issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Deathstroke (2016) #12

Feb 9, 2017

The end of the issue sets up an intriguing fight between Deathstroke and one of the more recent additions to the DC Universe. Now that's something to look forward to, even though it's probably not the endgame for this arc.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.3
Deathstroke (2016) #13

Feb 23, 2017

More impressively, Priest manages to make Deathstroke #13 a satisfying read while still serving the larger "Twilight" storyline. It's a lost art, but that's why Priest is still one of the best writers in the industry.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Detective Comics (2016) #948

Jan 12, 2017

But the biggest star of the issue is Ben Oliver, whose gorgeous painted artwork popped off of the page. Oliver simply does everything that you could possibly ask from a comic book artist, including interesting page layouts as well as expressive and distinct-looking characters. More of this, please.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Detective Comics (2016) #949

Jan 26, 2017

The name on the comic may be Detective Comics, but this is more like the zero issue of the upcoming Batwoman series.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Detective Comics (2016) #950

Feb 9, 2017

Month in and month out, Detective Comics has been one of DC's best ongoing series. It deserves to be on the pull list of every Batman fan.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.2
Detective Comics (2016) #951

Feb 23, 2017

Christian Duce's artwork is passable, but definitely not up to the standards set by Eddy Barrows and Ben Oliver on this title. Still, Duce does enough to hold up his end of the bargain, even if the script is far superior to the art.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.4
Detective Comics (2016) #953

Mar 23, 2017

The cliffhanger is something that we've seen many times before, but hopefully Tynion will put a fresh spin on this familiar face.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Dishonored #1

Aug 4, 2016

For the uninitiated, Dishonored #1 does a good job of establishing Corvo and the city of Dunwall. Despite some solid action sequences, the artwork does need some work. Comics are a visual medium, and the visuals of this issue occasionally disrupted an otherwise enjoyable narrative.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Doctor Who: The Third Doctor #1

Sep 14, 2016

Without giving away the issue's biggest surprise, it has to be said that Cornell and Jones have pulled a fast one us. The story that we're gonna get isn't what we expected, and that cliffhanger has us really excited to see who else might show up. It's one of those moments that would have been really difficult to pull off in live-action, but it's perfect for the comic book realm. Long time Doctor Who fans are gonna love this twist, and even fans who have only watched the modern series should pick this up. This is classic Who with a modern perspective.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Dracula: The Company of Monsters #11

Jun 29, 2011

Issue 11 may not be the best starting point for Dracula: The Company of Monsters. But this has been a consistently entertaining series and I'm eager to see how Busiek and Gregory wrap it up.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Dracula: The Company of Monsters #12

Aug 2, 2011

At the end, Evan is still alive and somewhat overwhelmed by that fact. I would have been a lot happier if this had been a definitive end to the story, but the larger issue of Dracula remains unsolved and now even Marta may be among Evan's enemies. The story didn't wrap up as much as it simply stops. It didn't hamper my enjoyment of the book too much, but I think that I would have liked to have seen what Evan would have done in the future.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.8
Extraordinary X-Men #18

Jan 26, 2017

Extraordinary X-Men # 18 is an Inhumans vs. X-Men tie-in that appears to take place shortly before the third issue. And while it doesn't advance that storyline, it does throw the spotlight on Forge, a character who has been underutilized for a long time.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.6
Extraordinary X-Men #19

Feb 23, 2017

This issue really doesn't have much of a point to make, and it can easily be avoided... assuming that you haven't already purchased it.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.6
Extraordinary X-Men #20

Mar 23, 2017

Jeff Lemire essentially puts most of the characters back into the shape they were in before his run, and it's probably the best thing for them.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Fantastic Four (2014) #5

May 30, 2014

I don't know what it would take to make Fantastic Four a top selling title again, but I'm really enjoying Robinson and Kirk's run so far. This comic is everything that the Fantastic Four should be.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.4
Flash (2011) #1

Oct 1, 2011

But you can't miss this artwork. It really is something special.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Forever Evil #7

May 21, 2014

I thought that the point of The New 52 was to revitalize these characters and tell new stories. So then, why is DC already lining up a remake of Crisis on Infinite Earths? That did slightly diminish my enjoyment of this issue. The rest of it was fairly solid. This isn't enough to get me back into the New 52, but it's a start.

View Issue       View Full Review
3.5
Green Arrow (2011) #1

Sep 9, 2011

How fitting. If you're looking for good comics, you shouldn't make any time for this book. It's just not worth it.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.4
Green Arrow (2016) #15

Jan 19, 2017

It's no secret that Green Arrow has been one the best books of the DC Rebirth era, and that's still true in this issue. While there are some elements here that seem to be inspired by the Arrow TV show, it feels less like this is aping that series and more like it's just on the cusp of a classic Green Arrow run.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.5
Green Arrow (2016) #18

Mar 2, 2017

Benjamin Percy has done some great work on Green Arrow, and he's even made it one of DC's best books since the relaunch. But this take on Oliver Queen's first meeting with Roy Harper lands with a thud.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.8
Green Arrow (2016) #19

Mar 16, 2017

This is a step up after the last issue, but this book will probably be better off without Roy Harper.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.3
Green Lanterns #16

Feb 2, 2017

Green Lanterns # 16 is a comic with really terrific artwork by Neil Edwards. Every page in the issue looks great, and that's down to Edwards and inkers Jay Leisten and Keith Champagne, as well as Blond the colorist. However, this is also an issue that may cause you to ask unintended questions about tight continuity in shared comic book universes.

View Issue       View Full Review
1.0
Grifter #1

Sep 16, 2011

Turns out it's not that hard after all.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.2
Hal Jordan And The Green Lantern Corps #13

Jan 26, 2017

The newest issue of Hal Jordan and the Green Lantern Corps is part standalone story and part trailer for things to come. It's an interesting idea, even if the execution isn't entirely there.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.6
Hal Jordan And The Green Lantern Corps #17

Mar 23, 2017

It should surprise absolutely nobody that this issue has great artwork by Ethan Van Sciver. We've come to expect that from Van Sciver, and he almost always delivers. He was one of the architects of the Green Lantern revival over a decade ago, and he's extremely well-suited for this book. Whether the story lives up to the art is a little harder to pin down.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.7
He-Man / Thunder Cats #4

Jan 19, 2016

It's hard not to appreciate a crossover that actually takes the time to mash up the mythologies of both franchises.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
He-Man / Thunder Cats #6

Mar 16, 2017

David and Goldfine have treated the story like an excuse to mash up characters from both franchises, and admittedly, some of their dialogue choices have not been great. But it's really a lot of fun to see Lion-O and He-Man fight side-by-side against their greatest enemies with the fate of the multiverse on the line.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
IvX #3

Jan 26, 2017

The strange thing is that it feels like co-writers Charles Soule and Jeff Lemire are holding back on us. This is a battle for the future of the Inhumans and mutants, and yet the intensity just isn't there. Hopefully the remaining issues will fix that. But for now, it's a problem.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.5
IvX #4

Feb 9, 2017

It's rare that a crossover has so little intensity just after its midway point, but Inhumans vs. X-Men #4 is so oddly subdued that it's almost enough to forget that there are only two issues left in this mini-series.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Jessica Jones #1

Oct 5, 2016

We're admittedly quite curious to discover how Jessica blew up her life, considering how angry nearly everyone is at her. Bendis and Gaydos have torn her back down to a nearly pre-Alias state. But the fun will be seeing Jessica slowly crawl her way out of this hole that she's created for herself.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Justice League #30

May 21, 2014

Setting that moment aside, the rest of the issue is genuinely exciting. Lex makes use of his new information about Batman to confront a familiar face from Batman's allies while two other supervillains appear to be coming to the League: Captain Cold and the new Power Ring. I haven't been this interested in the Justice League since the New 52 began. I want to see where this goes before I recommit to anything from DC. But it's got my attention.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.8
Justice League (2016) #16

Mar 2, 2017

While Hitch's ambition is appreciated, this story is starting to get old.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.7
Justice League (2016) #17

Mar 16, 2017

Bryan Hitch clearly learned a lot while working beside Warren Ellis on The Authority a long time ago, as his current Justice League story feels a lot like something that would happen to that team... minus the vicious cynicism.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Justice League Dark #1

Oct 1, 2011

Mikel Janin's art is very strong and his figure work is impressive. His female faces need a little more variety, bit overall Janin's pages stand out as one of the primary draws of this book. There's a lot of potential in Justice League Dark and I'm willing to stick around for a while and see where it goes.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Justice League Dark #4

Jan 4, 2012

Justice League Dark still isn't a perfect book and the pacing could really some work. But compared to some of the other New 52 titles, this was a much needed respite. Also, that cover by Ryan Sook is very impressive. Just had to add that.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Justice League of America (2017) #2

Mar 9, 2017

As a whole, this was simply an unsatisfying read and a disappointing way to launch the new team.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.5
Justice League of America: Killer Frost Rebirth #1

Jan 26, 2017

This one-shot isn't terrible, but it is a below-average comic.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.3
Justice League of America: Vixen Rebirth #1

Jan 12, 2017

It's unfortunate that Orlando and Houser couldn't quite make Mari connect with the reader in this condensed story. Even within the issue, other characters complain about Vixen being too emotionally remote, and it's not a problem that was solved here. Regardless, the artwork is definitely worth checking out.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Kingpin (2017) #2

Mar 9, 2017

It's an intriguing take on the Kingpin, but there's not enough here to render a judgment about its long-term story. So far, it's promising.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Kirby: Genesis #1

Jun 22, 2011

CRAVE ONLINE RATING: 6/10.

View Issue       View Full Review
3.0
Legion Lost #1

Sep 16, 2011

The artist, Pete Woods also delivers a shaky performance. Some of his pages are reminiscent of his great run on Action Comics, but there are also several pages that seem rushed and hard to follow. If I didn't know any better, I would have guessed that this was a fill-in book for a regular team that had to be finished very quickly. That would account for Nicieza and Woods performing well below their standards.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Marvel Universe vs. Wolverine #1

Jun 30, 2011

As a comic, this falls squarely into the "okay" territory. It's not bad, but it's not as good as I'd like it to be. If this was the only Wolverine book coming out this month, it would be worth picking up to get your fix. However, you can get a better Wolverine story in his own book and better zombie-like survivor tales elsewhere.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Monsters Unleashed #1

Jan 19, 2017

This issue may not be a very deep read, but it is fun, and the artwork does a lot to elevate it.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.7
Monsters Unleashed #2

Feb 2, 2017

This isn't a terrible comic at all, but Land's artwork is definitely stronger than the script. Take that as you will.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.7
Monsters Unleashed #3

Feb 16, 2016

This series largely exists for the artists to draw lots of monsters, but even Leinil Francis Yu's art isn't enough to make this worthwhile.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Monsters Unleashed #4

Mar 2, 2017

It seems like no matter what happens in Monsters Unleashed, it just can't rise above the initial idea of Marvel's superheroes fighting a bunch of giant monsters. If mindless action is all you want out of a comic, then you would still be out of luck. Most of the time, Monsters Unleashed #4 reads like a clip show that cuts away too quickly to truly get invested in what's happening here.

View Issue       View Full Review
2.8
Monsters Unleashed #5

Mar 16, 2017

Here's the tagline for this series: "What a colossal waste of time."

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Mosaic #1

Oct 13, 2016

One major plus in Mosaic's favor is that it has extra pages of story, which went a long way towards making it a more satisfying read. Thorne and Randolph also displayed a few touches of visual humor which played well on the page. Whether Mosaic has what it takes become Marvel's next big thing remains to be seen, but this is a solid start. This issue only scratched at the surface of what Morris can do, and we're excited to see if he can live up to his potential.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Nightwing (2011) #1

Sep 27, 2011

Barrows is definitely the main reason to pay attention to this book, but Higgins story is adequate enough for a teaser. However, unless Higgins delivers a solid story in the second issue, Nightwing won't be on my pull list for long.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Nightwing (2016) #16

Mar 2, 2017

The short version is that things may be getting serious with his new girlfriend, Shawn Tsang. Maybe too serious for comfort, as Dick has a lot to think about even before someone finds a new way to strike at him. That is really well done and compelling. What's less successful is the way that the issue forces Damian Wayne to be involved with the plot.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.2
Nightwing (2016) #17

Mar 16, 2017

This is a very good issue, and it may even have some broader implications for the DC Rebirth storyline.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.8
Nova (2016) #3

Feb 2, 2017

The real joy of the issue is the interplay between Sam and Richard, especially in their brief downtime and their telepathic conversation. It's such a great dynamic that it seems like it will inevitably be ripped away from them. But for now, it's a lot of fun!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.1
Nova (2016) #4

Mar 9, 2017

This series has been a nice surprise, and it's been very good so far.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Red Lanterns #1

Sep 15, 2011

Aside from the art, there's very little reason to come back for the next issue. Without compelling lead characters or a well defined story, Red Lanterns just isn't going to work.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.8
Resurrection Man #1

Sep 16, 2011

There's a lot of potential in this series and the bulk of the issue is entertaining. I'm not necessarily convinced that Resurrection Man can hold its own as an ongoing, but I'm willing to stick with it for now and see where it goes.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Rocketeer Adventures #2

Jun 29, 2011

The first two issues of Rocketeer Adventures have been some of the most fun comics I've read all year. This may be the best comic book anthology on the market and a fitting way to keep the legacy of Dave Stevens alive. Now we just need IDW to bump it up to an ongoing series and give some of these creative teams more than eight pages to play with.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Savage Things #1

Mar 2, 2017

Savage Things #1 has a great premise, fantastic art, and is almost flawless executed. If you love comics, this issue belongs on your pull list.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Sherlock: A Study In Pink #1

Jun 8, 2016

f you're looking for anything surprising or moments that weren't in the show, there really aren't any. For hardcore fans of the series, this could be a fun way to relive the experience of watching Sherlock. But a better justification for this manga is simply an appreciation of Jay.'s artwork.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Sherlock: A Study In Pink #2

Jul 13, 2016

We can recommend this issue on the strength of Jay.'s artwork alone and for Moffat's script, but we'd still love to see more from an eventual Sherlock comic.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Silver Surfer #5

Jun 26, 2011

CRAVE ONLINE RATING: 8/10

View Issue       View Full Review
8.2
Spider-Man/Deadpool #15

Mar 9, 2017

It's a very funny and enjoyable issue, although this crossover still has a long way to go.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Star Wars: Han Solo #1

Jun 15, 2016

It's an inherent problem of midquels. There can't actually be any change to the outcome, so we know that Han will eventually come through for the Rebellion. The most important note is that this issue is a very entertaining read. And again, this comic is worth the price for the artwork alone. Fortunately, the story is also worth recommending.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Stormwatch (2011) #1

Sep 8, 2011

There's really not enough here to actually hate the book, but this incarnation of Stormwatch is the very definition of average. If this is the best that DC can do with the Wildstorm characters, then they will be heading back into limbo soon enough.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Suicide Squad (2016) #9

Jan 12, 2017

Overall, this isn't bad for a tie-in issue, but it's far from essential.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Super Sons #1

Feb 16, 2017

We're not quite sure why this book exists, but we're glad that it does. Super Sons has a lot of potential, and hopefully it will live up to that.

View Issue       View Full Review
2.5
Supergirl (2005) #65

Jun 25, 2011

CRAVE ONLINE RATING: 2.5/100

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Superior Spider-Man #31

Apr 16, 2014

Regardless, the Superior Spider-Man was one of the greatest Spider-Man epics in Marvel history. And for the most part, Slott and his collaborators nailed the ending.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.2
Superman (2011) #1

Oct 1, 2011

It's still enjoyable to see Perez and Merino depict Superman in action and I'd read this book again just for the art. But this "modernized" take on Superman has left me pretty cold.

View Issue       View Full Review
3.0
Superman (2011) #4

Jan 3, 2012

I don't even know what this is anymore, but it's not Superman.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Superman (2011) #32

Jun 25, 2014

This is not a perfect start for the new Superman creative team, but it’s really good and it’s more than enough to rekindle my interest. Johns and Romita really clicked together in this issue. I want to see if they can make Superman “Super” once again.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Superman (2016) #18

Mar 2, 2017

This issue doesn't really have any traditional action, but it delivers an emotional gut punch that was very effective. Can't wait to see where this is going.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.8
Superman (2016) #19

Mar 16, 2017

The basic story by Tomasi and Gleason is pretty solid, but it glosses over what should have been the fun part.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Superwoman #2

Sep 15, 2016

We definitely enjoyed Superwoman #2. It may not be the home run that the first issue was, but it's a very solid read and we want to know where Jimenez is going with this title. To be honest, we'd almost buy it for the art alone.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.3
Superwoman #8

Mar 9, 2017

Superwoman #8 may be this week's best looking comic where nothing happens. That may not be a nice assessment, but it is true. Almost the entire issue takes place within the mind of Lana Lang, whose real story is playing out in the Superman Reborn crossover.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Supreme Power Vol. 2 #1

Jun 30, 2011

This is a good start for the series, but Supreme Power has a lot of work to do in order to become a worthy successor of the franchise.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Tarzan on the Planet of the Apes #1

Sep 8, 2016

Of course, it just wouldn't be Tarzan or the Planet of the Apes without a little tragedy to get the story going. By the end of the issue, young Tarzan and Milo faced the loss of someone important to them as the Tarzan of the present edged closer to reuniting with someone from his past. As an opening chapter in the miniseries, it was very effective at baiting the hook for the rest of the story. That's what all comics, not just crossovers, should aspire to.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.7
Teen Titans (2016) #6

Mar 23, 2017

There are definitely some promising things happening in this book, but it hasn't quite come together yet.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
The Bionic Man #1

Aug 31, 2011

However, for now this is just an average comic at best.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.3
The Clone Conspiracy #4

Jan 19, 2017

Jim Cheung's artwork is terrific, and he seemed to excel when there are dozens of characters on each page. Cheung delivers the best visual joke in the entire book when we see what the Jackal has been attempting with his resurrected bad guys.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
The Clone Conspiracy: Omega #1

Mar 2, 2017

This was a very strong epilogue for The Clone Conspiracy, and in some ways, it was even better than the event that preceded it.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.3
The Fall and Rise of Captain Atom #2

Feb 2, 2017

This issue was an unexpected pleasure, and now this miniseries is firmly on our radar.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
The Great Lakes Avengers #1

Oct 12, 2016

The final page reveal was kind of a head-scratcher, and perhaps not the best hook to end the issue on. But we still think that there's a lot of potential here. If Gorman's writing can match the quality of Robson's art, then Great Lakes Avengers has a good shot to be on our regular reading list.

View Issue       View Full Review
3.0
Torchwood #1

Aug 4, 2016

Ultimately, this was a frustrating read that didn't have the fun or the charm of Torchwood's best moments. More stories about Captain Jack are always welcome, but this was incredibly unfocused and unsatisfying. A few genuinely fun moments weren't enough to make this revival work, but we definitely hope to see it get better in future issues.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Ultimate Comics Spider-Man #160

Jun 23, 2011

CRAVE ONLINE RATING: 5/10

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Uncanny Avengers #20

May 30, 2014

Uncanny Avengers is one of those rare comics that I just can't wait for the next issue, much less the trade. This is one of Marvel's best books at the moment and it's at the top of my reading list when it comes out.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Uncanny Avengers #21

Jun 25, 2014

I think that Uncanny Avengers would be better served with a different artist, but it’s still one of Marvel’s most consistently entertaining books. That’s more than enough to keep me coming back.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Uncanny Avengers (2015) #19

Jan 12, 2017

We can't really call Uncanny Avengers a groundbreaking book, but the creative team deserves a lot of praise for managing to do everything extremely well. Even as single issue experience, this one doesn't disappoint.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.7
Uncanny Avengers (2015) #20

Feb 23, 2017

Duggan's script strikes the right balance of humor, horror, and superhero action. Now we just need to see if the conclusion of this story can live up to the buildup.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.7
Uncanny X-Men (2011) #1

Nov 2, 2011

If I was judging this book by the art alone, it would be a 9 or a 9.5. However, I have to admit that I didn't enjoy it as much as Wolverine and the X-Men #1. Uncanny X-Men #1 is the more straightforward superhero book of the two core X-Men titles. But there's nothing wrong with that.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Uncanny X-Men (2011) #3

Jan 2, 2012

Uncanny X-Men #3 is a perfectly serviceable superhero book with some really good artwork. But it doesn't really feel like an X-Men comic. In trying to position the X-Men Extinction team as the potential rivals for the Avengers, it feels like Gillen has sacrificed some of the traits that made the X-Men unique.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.2
Uncanny X-Men (2016) #17

Jan 12, 2017

It's a better than average issue, but the artwork is the biggest reason that issue has a score higher than a 6.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.2
Uncanny X-Men (2016) #18

Feb 16, 2017

The main Inhumans vs. X-Men event has been somewhat lackluster, but at least the tie-in issues are doing some good character work for the supporting players.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.3
Uncanny X-Men (2016) #19

Mar 16, 2017

There's a lot left in the wind for another book to explore. However, this issue does deliver on the initial promise for the series: a serious battle between Psylocke and Magneto.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Wild Storm #2

Mar 16, 2017

The downside of this series is that Ellis still expects the readers to recognize all of the former Wildstorm players without fully reintroducing them. But the story is a lot more intriguing now than it was a month ago.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Witch Doctor #1

Jun 29, 2011

There's a lot of potential in Witch Doctor that isn't fully realized yet. In the hands of a stronger artist, I probably would have enjoyed the issue a lot more. But Morrow and his companions are characters I'd like to see more of in the future. If Seifert can flesh out his cast and their world, then Witch Doctor may stick around well beyond this miniseries.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Wolverine and the X-Men #1

Nov 2, 2011

This issue may not be perfect, but it is a solid start for Aaron's run with the X-Men.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Wolverine and the X-Men #2

Nov 24, 2011

It's only the artwork that keeps me from giving Wolverine and the X-Men #2 a higher mark. This is one of the few X-Men books that's worthy of carrying on the tradtition of Chris Claremont and Grant Morrison. And with a more conventional artist, it could be unstoppable.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Wolverine and the X-Men #3

Dec 26, 2011

However, until the artwork in this book is more consistently executed, I can't recommend it as highly as I would like to.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
X-23 (2010) #19

Dec 27, 2011

But unfortunately, this book is just about out of time.

View Issue       View Full Review
3.0
X-Men: Prelude to Schism #4

Jun 30, 2011

If you're a fan of Mann's art or an X-Men completest, then you'll probably buy this issue. But if you're neither of those things, you're better served waiting for the actual X-Men: Schism miniseries.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
X-Men: Schism #4

Sep 23, 2011

Davis is also a master at conveying emotions on the faces of his characters, even on Cyclops when a mask obscures most of his face. This is just a really good looking book that happens to be well written as well. I can't speak for everyone, but that's exactly what I want out of a superhero comic.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for
the Week of...

March

February

More