Aaron Clutter's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Comic Booked Reviews: 47
9.3Avg. Review Rating

10
Abigail and the Snowman #1

Feb 1, 2015

Roger Langridge has created a world that is very easy to slip into. A welcoming artistic style and smooth story make this series a great addition to and a welcome break in my weekly comic book pull. I recommend this comic as the perfect blend of mystery, adventure, and fun that is sometimes so missing in modern comics.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Archer & Armstrong #22

Jul 31, 2014

This story just gets weirder and weirder.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Armor Hunters #2

Jul 10, 2014

More secrets are revealed as we gain a better understanding of the armor and that it may be some kind of techno-organic virus.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Burning Fields #1

Jan 25, 2015

I have really enjoyed Moreci's writing on this one and partnering with Tim Daniel on this project seems to work very well. The artwork is perfect and gritty for this type of tale and the splashes of color really make some of the scenes. Colin Lorimer and Joana Lafuente create the perfect canvas for this story. Overall, this book is worth picking up and I am excited to see how the story flows from here.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Caliban #1

Apr 6, 2014

The story is one of disaster in space, so not completely new, but the way that Ennis writes, drawing out those feelings of loneliness even when among others and the deep fear of uncertainty and the unknown, really makes this a new thing and kept me interested through the last page.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Cryptozoic Man #1

Oct 11, 2013

I like the art and the writing. This is some kind of post-apocalyptic world, but a little different than most. No nuclear fallout or alien invasion… well, there is a little alien involvement, but still. I will warn you, it is a tad bloody, but other than monster guts and blood, a great read and something worth trying.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Deadly Class #1

Jan 25, 2014

I like this story because it has a little bit of a Wanted feel to it. A boy who feels invisible is drawn into a world that values his talents and shows him that he can be more. The addition of other students and the relationships and conflicts between them can make this much more than just some stupid Avenger's Arena or Runaways type book. Wes Craig has a great sense of simplicity and can still put in the detail even with a minimal use of color in a lot of frames. I will keep getting this and see where the ride takes me.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Deadpool (2012) #27

Apr 13, 2014

I really enjoyed this comic. This was an important chapter in Deadpool's life that should not be missed. Did you read it? If so, comment with your feelings about it and let's get some discussion going.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Dexter Down Under #1

Feb 23, 2014

What will happen as this story unfolds? Will Dexter “help” the police by throwing them off the trail of the real killer so he can issue his own brand of justice? Or will Dexter once again find himself battling his own Dark Passenger as well as someone else who is out to kill him? Be sure you pick up a copy ofDexter Down Under #1 and find out.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Doctor Who Classics Series 5 #4

Sep 21, 2013

This is a really good book, bringing back some great stories that otherwise may have been forgotten. The fact that they are now colored adds life back to these tales. My recommendation: It would definitely be-”Who”-ve you to pick up this book.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Doctor Who Classics Series 5 #5

Oct 6, 2013

This is a great classic Doctor story and the addition of Sarah Jane Smith is a Whovian's dream. The colors and covers are a great addition. I believe the these are solid books and any Doctor Who fan would enjoy reading the further adventures of the Doctor and his companions.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Doctor Who: Prisoners of Time #9

Oct 6, 2013

I enjoy this series but continue to be disappointed with how easily Adam has been able to incapacitate the Doctor through most of the books. I hope they give some explanation to this in the concluding books. More build up to the big 5-0, 50th Anniversary of Doctor Who.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Earth 2: Society #1

Jun 25, 2015

Sloan has more firepower than anyone on Earth 2 and someone has him scared out of his mind.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
EGOs #1

Jan 21, 2014

It turns out that Deuce's power is the power of persuasion and his name us actually short for Seduce. So, are people's actions around him every really their own? It definitely begs the question of whether Repliqua with her army of controlled clones was any different than Deuce possibly controlling the actions of everyone around him when he needs to. When does the mask of the hero come off to reveal the villain? This is a little beyond what is explored here in this first issue, but it is definitely a thought, or at least a splinter in the minds eye left from reading EGOs #1. This is a great book and one to keep an eye out for as this interesting new sci-fi/super hero comic book unfurls its tale.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Flash Gordon #1

Apr 11, 2014

All in all, a really great homage to the classic story. The art and writing are really fun and the story flows very smoothly. I would recommend this for adventure and sci-fi fans and as a great way to be introduced to Flash Gordon. Definitely pick this up from Dynamite Entertainment and then come back next month for the further adventures of Flash Gordon.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Godstorm: Hercules Payne #4

Jul 28, 2014

Another miniseries that effectively wraps up before Grimm Fairy Tales #100, but we still have one issue to go for this one.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Grimm Fairy Tales #99

Jul 7, 2014

This issue has a truly amazing work of art for the cover from Stanley "Artgerm" Lau as we see the Dark Queen with the various artifacts that she has collected.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Grimm Fairy Tales Presents Godstorm: Age of Darkness One-Shot #1

Jul 7, 2014

The final conflict with Dorothy is a massive battle and is not to be missed.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Grimm Fairy Tales Presents: Helsing #4

Jul 28, 2014

This chapter of Liesel's life is not necessarily an ending, but more of a beginning, as she realizes that her life in the 21st century can be just as interesting as her previous life, and maybe a little more surprising. Great book from Pat Shand and the awesome art team.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Grimm Fairy Tales Presents: Realm Knights One Shot #1

Jul 7, 2014

The fallout from this issue will impact the future of several titles, unless Pat Shand has something else up his sleeve. A must buy this week.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Grimm Fairy Tales Presents: Wonderland #25

Jul 14, 2014

I am not going to spoil this issue, it is just too good. But, I will say that Eric M. Esquivel has had a great run on this series and it will be sad to see him go. He definitely left this series with a bang, and if you miss this issue, shame on you. Between Esquivel's writing and Manuel Preitano's amazing art, Wonderland #25 is a testament to the quality stories that Zenescope Entertainment has been providing for a decade and will hopefully be providing for decades to come.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Harbinger #25

Jul 21, 2014

This is a huge anniversary issue. I like the way the issue starts with an origin of the characters of Harbinger. In this way, anyone can pick up this issue and start reading the series.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Invader Zim #1

Jul 14, 2015

I recommend this book to old fans of the show as well as to anyone who just likes a slightly dark comedy about aliens and bumbling kids… Well, actually, the alien is kind of bumbling in this one, too.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Judge Dredd #11

Oct 13, 2013

Overall another great offering from IDW to add to the awesome universe of Judge Dredd. I look forward to next months installment and hope you do too.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Judge Dredd: Classics #4

Oct 6, 2013

This is a great story, a little wordy, but good stuff. I am not so keen on the political aspects of the story, although I understand the setting and that it illustrates the conflicts that still exist even in the world after the great war. Some things never change. To sum it all up, IDW continues to deliver a quality book, the artwork is classic, the new colors are really a good add, and the new covers are awesome. I recommend you at least pick it up and leaf through it, to see if this is for you.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Locke & Key Alpha #1

Sep 13, 2013

This book may not be for everyone, as there is some graphic language and violence. Plus, this is a giant-sized issue, so the cover price is twice regular size issues, but, if you are a fan of H.P. Lovecraft, Stephen King, or Clive Barker, you will love Locke & Key: Alpha #1.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Mars Attacks Judge Dredd #1

Sep 15, 2013

I would recommend this to any fan of either series as it is a solid story and great artwork. I love the interaction between the characters. Dredd's reaction to first meeting the Martians, “Grud! SEVERE MUTATION!” is an indication that we are in for some main-blowing action… pun intended (Dredd shoots the Martian in the head). There is nothing I did not like in this book. Just a reminder, not for all ages as there is some blood and guts.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Monster & Madman #1

Mar 19, 2014

Having already read the synopsis of this cool new book, I will enlighten you. The title, Monster and Madman, does point to two main characters. We already know the monster. The madman is Jack the Ripper, the iconic wraith, serial killer of gaslit London that was never caught. I am very excited to see how these two characters will interact. Will they be friends or foes? Will Jack befriend the monster only to later turn on him or throw him under the bus" literally or figuratively, whatever works? Know that great stuff that has come from Steve Niles, 30 Days of Night and Criminal Macabre to name a couple, and this is sure to be an interesting ride.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Quantum and Woody #12

Jul 3, 2014

You should be reading this series, it has been amazing. This ends the current series, but be sure to come back and catch Quantum and Woody and Archer and Armstrong as they team up in The Delinquents.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Rai #3

Jul 10, 2014

Clayton Crain once again shows his talent in the cool spread of the Raddies attack.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Robyn Hood: Legend #5

Jul 7, 2014

The end of this issue is pretty cool and definitely sets things up for the new ongoing series kicking off soon.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Rogue Trooper #1

Mar 9, 2014

I think this is another big hit for IDW and truly pays homage to the great characters that have come out of 2000 A.D. since 1977. From Judge Dredd to Sinister Dexter, Rogue Trooper has some power behind it and is joining the long list of comic books that I read each month. Check it out.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Shadowman: End Times #3

Jul 3, 2013

A great mini-series, a story of the past, the present, and a solid setup for the future. Peter Milligan and a great art team have done an awesome job on this series and I can't wait to see the next chapter.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Sons of Anarchy #1

Sep 14, 2013

Multiple covers always make things interesting, and this book is no different. There are 18 different covers, including retailer exclusives, in case you are that extreme collector who needs to have them all. I thought the main cover was pretty nice and illustrated the feel of this book and the series. All around, a great book.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Sovereign #1

Mar 25, 2014

A strange new world has been introduced in Sovereign #1. The creative team of Chris Roberson and Paul Maybury has painted very broad strokes for this first issue. The writing is smooth and easy to follow and the art, while not bright and vibrant, helps to show the state of this world that is being visited by a strange darkness of undeath. An epic tale is in the making and so many questions are handed to us, as they should be, with this first issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Star Trek: Khan #1

Oct 20, 2013

A great story and very interesting telling of Khan's origin. I look forward to next issue. The artwork is simple, nothing fancy, and in some places even spartan" maybe a homage to Khan's way of life as a simple conqueror not a grand king? Either way, I recommend this to anyone who wants to know more about this cool Star Trek villain.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Strange Fruit #1

Jul 13, 2015

I am excited to see more of the story and really find out what we are dealing with in the visitor from the stars. How will the actions of this strange being impact the town's survival? Will this ultimately cause more harm then good? We will find out soon enough.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
The Shadow Now #1

Oct 3, 2013

This is a really cool book. I love the art. The detail and realism that Colton Worley puts to the page is superb and only adds to a fast paced and enjoyable story. This feels so much like a sequel to the movie that I was really excited when I saw it. A great story of The Shadow and it makes me look forward to where they take this book next. The only thing I didn't like was that there was not more story. Pick it up and then wait till next month.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
The X-Files: Season 10 #4

Sep 22, 2013

I want to believe… that The X-Files series from IDW will continue to be a great series on par with the original TV and movie series. Check it out for yourself.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
The X-Files: Season 10 #5

Oct 21, 2013

This was a great ending to the first story arc and really sets us up for more X-Files fun in the comings months. I will keep reading, because I want to believe.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Tomb Raider #1

Mar 4, 2014

I enjoyed the previous series from Top Cow, but this series from Dark Horse is the "new" Lara Croft, revised for a more realistic idea of a female explorer. Gail Simone is a great writer of strong female characters and seems very suited to tell us this tale of mystery, magic, and adventure. What will Lara Croft uncover next? Find out by running out and picking up the new Tomb Raider series from Dark Horse Comics.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Transformers: Regeneration One #0

Sep 20, 2013

This is a great book and really sets up the coming storyline. I am interested enough to look forward to issue #95. Check it out.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Twilight Zone #1

Jan 6, 2014

Dynamite has done a great job pulling together multiple movie and TV properties to build a very solid foundation for themselves. These kinds of comics are a satisfying diversion for the constant superhero struggles of most other companies while extending the life of TV series and movies that have ended on the screen. I hope they keep this up in the year.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Undertow #1

Feb 23, 2014

There is a lot in Undertow #1. There is the angst of a young man whose life has been mapped out, only wanting to escape and have the freedom to choose his own future. The character of Redum Anshargal, a captain who places the lives of his people before all else, searching tirelessly for a way to save a nation that has demonized him. The other characters have had minor impact so far, but there are many key roles yet to be explained. I look forward to seeing more of Steve Orlando's exploration of a time before mankind was the ruler of the land and the sea and the Atlantean civilization had not yet fallen. Overall a great comic book with an intriguing story and a very unique concept. I recommend this book.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Vandroid #1

Mar 3, 2014

Vandroid #1 was so fun and I really look forward to reading the rest of the series. They even have a soundtrack, since this was supposed to be an actual movie back in the mid 80′s. You can find out more about it at the Vandroid website. Overall, the artwork is really good. The story makes sense and really feels like a movie. I felt the ups and downs of the characters and really felt for old Check when he died. If you like movies like The Terminator, Universal Soldier, or Virtuosity, you will love this comic. Check it out!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Witchblade #172

Feb 3, 2014

Like I said at the beginning of this article, if you are not reading Witchblade, you really should. As this new Top Cow Universe takes off, there look to be some big changes in the air and you don't want to miss out. Here are some links, in case you are new to Witchblade or the Top Cow universe.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
X-O Manowar #26

Jul 3, 2014

Robert Venditti has created a cool backstory, and showing us Amalgam before he became the part-armor creature that Aric fought in space was an awesome way of tying the stories together.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

April

March

More