Adrian Ruiz's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: But Why Tho? Reviews: 20
9.5Avg. Review Rating

10
Star Wars (2020) #12

Mar 10, 2021

SummaryOverall,Star Wars #12is an unexpected issue during all of the fast-paced action and tension from earlier in the series. Writer Soule slows down the story and gives readers some of the best writing I have experienced as a Star Wars fan. Kes and Shara's relationship has always been one of my favorites, with the duo rivaling Leia and Han as the best couple in Star Wars. Star Warsis more than just hokey religions and ancient weapons. Star Wars #12 shows that even in moments of extreme darkness, the relationships between the characters in this universe are what truly bind it together.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Star Wars (2020) #13

May 16, 2021

Overall, Star Wars #13 does its job as the prelude for this War of the Bounty Hunters event. Readers have a jumping-off point for how the initial search for Han Solo begins while reintroducing characters like Sagwa back into the fold. Personally, Star Wars #13doesn't make me any more or less excited about the event. Recent issues of the series have been focused on some lesser fleshed-out characters. The addition of Luke into this story seemed more akin to setting up future issues of the series with his quest to understand the Force and Jedi more. I hope to see more of Chewbacca leading the charge in future issues in this event, especially with the addition of characters like Sagwa. Coupled with Leia's story about Solo in Star Wars #12,it is clear why there would be such a massive effort to save the former smuggler.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Star Wars (2020) #14

Jun 16, 2021

Star Wars #14 is what I hoped the prelude in Star Wars #13 would have been. Where Star Wars #13 felt like just a story serving the crossover event, Star Wars #14 felt like an issue in a series that fans have come to love.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Star Wars: Darth Vader (2020) #10

Feb 10, 2021

Overall, I was thrilled to turn the pages of Star Wars: Darth Vader #10.Throughout the issue, the artwork is superb. Seeing the summa-verminoth in a comic was much more intimidating as the art team shows that dealing with the crushing tentacles may be better than dealing with its other powers. The latter half of the issue forces Vader to face his past, which he hasn't had to do in the last few issues. Pak can weave these powerful moments throughout the series that really make the events of Return of the Jedihit harder, and this bookis no exception. If there was one issue to read in this series, this is the one.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Star Wars: Darth Vader (2020) #11

Apr 28, 2021

Overall, I continue to enjoy this series. Star Wars: Darth Vader #11 moves away from Vader's power to show how powerful the Emperor truly is. Throughout this series, I have wanted to see an animated version of it brought to life as it has provided crucial details to stories we have known and loved. Star Wars: Darth Vader #11bridges the gap between two trilogies and begins to answer many of the questions fans had in The Ride of Skywalker with Palpatine's return.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Star Wars: Darth Vader (2020) #12

May 26, 2021

Star Wars: Darth Vader #12 hits the mark for a prelude to a massive crossover event. The team behind Star Wars: Darth Vaderhas gotten me excited for every arc in this series so far, and they certainly do it again here.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Star Wars: Darth Vader (2020) #13

Jun 23, 2021

Star Wars: Darth Vader #13is a bit slower in pace compared to previous issues but that is to be expected. The series is playing a role in a larger crossover event and is beholden to the pacing of the other Marvel comics.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Star Wars: Darth Vader (2020) #14

Jul 21, 2021

Overall while Star Wars: Darth Vader #14may be a bit slow as it finds its place in the War of the Bounty Hunters event, I would be lying if I said it did not get me hyped for the next issue. Multiple issues have been leading up to the Dark Lord's arrival at the auction, and now that it is here, I am on the edge of my seat to see how it all plays out.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Star Wars: The Halcyon Legacy (2022) #1

Feb 2, 2022

Star Wars: Halcyon Legacy #1 more than sets the tone for an exciting and worthwhile series. Having stories told over such a wide span of time allows for an expansion of Star Wars lore like never before. As a fan of the entire timeline, I am excited to see characters from all eras make their impact on the story of Halycon. While we do not know yet how exactly Star Wars: Halcyon Legacy will affect the story of Star Wars: Galactic Starcruiser, I would be lying if I wasn't more excited for our reservation this summer.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Star Wars: The Halcyon Legacy (2022) #2

Jan 1, 1970

Overall, Star Wars: Halcyon Legacy #2does its job as a second issue. I am interested to learn more about these new characters and am still excited to see what new stories are in tow. With that said, as a tie-in series for the Star Wars: Galactic Starcruiser experience, I was hoping for a little more lore to expand on the mythos of the Halycon. Even if I didn't get that, I am really coming to enjoy writer Stack's style. He has a great way of using dialogue and humor to flow the story from the main plot to the subplot. The subplot didn't relate back to the main plot in the same way as the first issue which was slightly jarring. However, a well-timed joke made it all worthwhile. I look forward to the next issue to see what new things come from the mind of the Stacks and Sliney duo.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Star Wars: The Halcyon Legacy (2022) #3

May 11, 2022

Overall, Star Wars: Halcyon Legacy #3 hits all the right notes for a quality Star Wars story. The exploration of Anakin and Padm's secret relationship has shown up in many of the recent novels including A Queen's Hope andBrotherhood.It is great to see writer Sliney bring those same themes to an easily accessible form of media by the way of comics. He is able to invoke the same feelings that E. K. Johnston and Mike Chen are able to do in their novelizations. That is a marker of a quality comic and I am ready for more stories on the Halycon Legacy.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Star Wars: The High Republic (2021) #3

Mar 3, 2021

Overall, Star Wars: The High Republic #3is a terrifying ride that already pays off the nuggets left in the previous two issues. Trennis continues to embody the best qualities we have come to expect from the Jedi Order as she helps others selflessly and fearlessly. Sskeer madness continues to build as his failures compound. More importantly, the Drengir have reared their ugly heads in the comics. Scott is knocking this series out of the park, and I can't wait for the next issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Star Wars: The High Republic (2021) #4

Apr 7, 2021

Things look grim for Jedi Knight Keeve Trennis and Jedi Master Avar Kriss with Jedi Master Sskeer corrupted by the Drengir with seemingly no way out.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Star Wars: The High Republic (2021) #5

May 12, 2021

This is the kind of Star Wars I am sure fans have been waiting for. Readers continue to see characters that were introduced in other media like Avar Kriss and Vernestra Rwoh, which has led to speculation and discussions that I haven't seen in the fandom since The Sequel Trilogy. Despite the cast of characters being expanded with every issue, Keeve Treenis continues to be the star and the symbol for what a Jedi should be.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Star Wars: The High Republic (2021) #12

Dec 15, 2021

Scott has this new arc off to a stellar start. Slowing the pace down has allowed the tension to build in the "Jedi's End" arc. The seeds of something more dangerous than the Drengir or Nihil have been planted and I worry for the future of great Jedi like Avar Kriss.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Star Wars: The High Republic (2021) #14

Feb 2, 2022

Star Wars: The High Republic #14continues a near-flawless run of issues. Even as a mission that takes place away from the initial events of The Fallen Star, Cavan Scott brings the same intensity and intrigue that you can expect from the novelizations.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Star Wars: The High Republic (2021) #15

Mar 3, 2022

There is no happy ending to Star Wars: The High Republic #15. The conclusion of The Fallen Star all but secures that before the first page. That is not to say, the final issue isn't everything that the series has embodied.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Star Wars: The High Republic - Eye Of The Storm #1

Jan 12, 2022

Eye of the Storm #1 gives readers the quick and dirty history all the way up to when Ro puts on his father's helmet for himself. It serves as a great introduction to show someone who has never seen Marchion Ro before giving everything they need to know about the calculated and ruthless leader.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Star Wars: The High Republic - Eye Of The Storm #2

Mar 3, 2022

Star Wars: The High Republic: Eye of the Storm #2 continues to the bleak hopelessness that has permeated the latest additions of The High Republic media.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Star Wars: The High Republic Adventures (2021) #3

Jan 1, 1970

I enjoyed Star Wars: The High Republic Adventures #3 very much. This series is certainly trying to broaden its audience compared to its Star Wars Adventures counterpart. Readers get to learn more about the Nihil and how they operate their ships, and how the Jedi handle older Force-sensitive beings in the High Republic era. You will be delighted to see other Jedi who have made their appearances in other High Republic media like Jedi Master Avar Kriss. The fact that the team behind Project Luminous has put this much effort to tell this kind of story in a book meant for a younger audience really shows how interconnected and accessible these storylines for The High Republic truly are.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

July

6th

June

More