Amanda McDonald's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Newsarama Reviews: 14
8.5Avg. Review Rating

9
Aquaman (2011) #4

Dec 29, 2011

If you haven't checked this one out " you owe it to yourself to give it a chance.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Batgirl (2011) #4

Dec 19, 2011

If further issues continue the momentum of this one, this book may be on par with my love for previous incarnations of Batgirl. Just one issue isn't enough to say it is quite yet, as I've been kind of tentative on my feelings about any of the New 52 " but this issue really stands out as a fine example of Gail Simone's creative talent.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Batman: Li'l Gotham #5

Feb 11, 2013

Li'l Gotham comes to print in April with an issue that will collect the first two digital issues -- Halloween and Thanksgiving. Nguyen has discussed plans to increase the title's digital publications to twice monthly to incorporate more stories in addition to the holiday themes. Batman: Li'l Gotham fills a void that has been growing increasingly larger in all ages superhero comics. With a low price point, all ages appeal, and stellar artwork, consider this one for your comic-loving Valentine.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Birds Of Prey (2011) #11

Jul 19, 2012

I've read enough of this series to want to know how this latest development with Ivy turns out, but new readers will have to look past the artistic distractions to enjoy the story.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Green Lantern: New Guardians #4

Jan 3, 2012

There is just so much going on in this book -- so many characters, settings, tons of dialogue and action -- and yet, it feels really put together, polished, and well executed. Although I'm not sure how I feel about the big reveal at the end of the book of a large space vessel -- it is the largest thing ever constructed, and literally the size of a solar system.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Green Lantern: New Guardians #11

Jul 26, 2012

This is a satisfying segment of the story-line with some big happenings, but new readers or Orange Lantern fans will want to read back a few issues to understand it.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Huntress (2011) #4

Jan 5, 2012

The pacing of this book is spot-on " with the action likely peaking within this issue, we have the last two issues left to wrap up any loose ends and show the fall out... but I can't help but wish that last issue will also tease at where this character is headed next, in hopes that we see more of her soon.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Jim Henson's The Storyteller #1

Dec 19, 2011

The added pin up pages between stories add that extra bit that makes this feel like more than a comic book, more than a graphic novel " this is a story book that melds so many means of storytelling into one flawless package.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Justice League Dark #11

Jul 26, 2012

This is already a book with a huge cast of characters, and it takes a true talent to incorporate more and at the same time continue to make it more appealing. Mikel Janin's art pulls it together for a solid book worth reading.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
My Little Pony: Friendship is Magic #2

Jan 3, 2013

Don't mistake this book for being aimed at just the youngest readers; the level of panel construction and amount of dialogue solidly place it into the all-ages category. A recap or character page would be a welcome addition to those unfamiliar with the show, but anypony can jump in (hooves first!) and enjoy Cook and Price's talented take on the MLP world.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Superman Family Adventures #3

Jul 26, 2012

Whether it is Lois questioning Clark, Jimmy Olsen being followed by all the Super-Pets, or Fuzzy the Krypto Mouse learning to make popcorn with his heat vision " Baltazar and Franco have the art of appealing to a true all-ages audience down to a science.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Voodoo #3

Nov 29, 2011

My curiosity about the character is still piqued for the time being, but here's hoping with the upcoming changes that Voodoo proves to be as strong of a book as this character deserves.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Voodoo #4

Dec 29, 2011

The writing is great, the art is great, but do I care about the character? That's where the problem presents itself " as addressed in this issue, we know very little about her background or motivation. It's still early enough in the series for that to make sense, but I'm hoping we start getting some answers in coming issues sooner than later.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Wonder Woman (2011) #3

Nov 29, 2011

While this is an interesting take on classic Greek myth, will it pack enough punch to create future conflicts? At some point, it seems logical that Diana will have to deal with conflict larger than just her self-identity. However here and now, we have a new Wonder Woman who suddenly has a new challenge " saving others, and saving herself.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

September

August

More