Andrew Martinez's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: GWW Reviews: 9
9.2Avg. Review Rating

10
Border Town #3

Nov 7, 2018

I don't know if Border Town #3 can ward off the monsters in our world. I do know that it's a wonderful celebration of diverse cultures, histories, and traditions. For all those who dream of a world better than the one we live in, this series (and this issue) is a must read.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Catwoman (2018) #4

Oct 11, 2018

I appreciated the work from Blanco and colorist Kalisz but I'm hoping issue five gives the spotlight back to Jones and Allred. It is a testament to their brilliant work that biggest critique of this issue is just wanting more from them. Catwoman #4 leaves so many questions unanswered. I can't wait to see how Jones sets about answering them.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Doctor Who: The Thirteenth Doctor #0

Sep 19, 2018

This issue offers only a few pages of the thirteenth Doctor (brilliantly drawn by Rachael Stott), but they are remarkable and reveal a take on the Doctor that is fresh for so many reasons. I will be waiting like all the rest of you for this fresh, new Doctor to finally land in October. For now, though, this issue serves a wonderful celebration of all the Doctor is and all that she will be.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Giant Days #43

Oct 4, 2018

As filler, the issue succeeds in being funny and thematically relevant but I'm hoping the next issue returns to some of the larger narrative beats that make Giant Days so great.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Heroes In Crisis #1

Sep 26, 2018

Heroes in Crisis #1 is an important story, it is a beautiful story, and it is a compelling story. I can't wait to read what happens next.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Heroes In Crisis #2

Oct 30, 2018

This issue ramps up the pace and moves the story forward in interesting ways. The killer remains a mystery, but King leaves plenty clues for observant readers to pick up on. The excellent action, in-depth mystery, and beautiful art have left me theorizing endlessly and eagerly anticipating the next entry in this run.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Skyward (2018) #6

Sep 19, 2018

Ultimately, Skyward is the story of Willa and in this issue, as in all the other issues, she proves to be remarkably compelling. Even amid grief and loss, she shows herself to be clever, determined, and heroic.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Skyward (2018) #7

Oct 17, 2018

Ultimately, this is a strong issue and a good reminder of all the possibilities for the series going forward. Now is as good a time as any for new readers to catch up and follow along with Willa's adventures.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
The Wicked + The Divine #39

Sep 13, 2018

I noted that this issue is ultimately a look at Laura's self-discovery process, but it doesn't end with her having all the answers–there is one more story arc to go. Instead, it ends with the question that the series has been asking all along: who is Laura Wilson? I can't wait to find out.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

September

August

More