Archer of The Asylum's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Weird Science Marvel Comics Reviews: 10
7.4Avg. Review Rating

8
Fantastic Four (2018) #18

Jan 22, 2020

Final ThoughtsI need more of this. Its a revelation, as in the storm that gave them their powers. And, its a powerful message about how doing things for the best of intentions, can also lead you to agonies. It's serious stuff. Plus, if you havent read the series so far but find yourself having room in your heart, go back to issue 15 and read from there. It has made me understand and empathize with Thing and Johnny in new ways.

View Issue       View Full Review
5
Fantastic Four (2018) #19

Feb 20, 2020

I wish this was a stronger conclusion, I really do. But it was honestly filler with pretty artwork between two bookend sequences that have the possibility to be the start of something interesting. And do you want to know the worst thing about it all? I'm not mad.I'm disappointed.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Ghost-Spider (2019) #7

Feb 20, 2020

Seanan McGuire's status as a Hugo, Nebula, and Locus award winner is fully shown with the Ghost-Spider series. And combined with the beautiful artwork of Ig Guara you can't go wrong. The pacing is bordering on a breakneck and it's all so human that whilst completely fantastical it never really feels too far out of the realms of the possible.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Ghost-Spider (2019) #8

Mar 19, 2020

Whilst being light on the action, this month's book is by no means light on the heroics. The actions punctuate the college student angst that is written masterfully. I genuinely hope that the quality of this book stays up there. It's rare to see such strong writing in a character that isnt male, and honestly, its refreshing. The artwork makes it feel both coming of age and high action with a touch of melodrama and it works perfectly. Again, the only complaint I have with it is I have to wait until April for the continuation. It's just doing it for me still.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Marvels Snapshot (2020): Sub-Mariner #1

Mar 13, 2020

I enjoyed this book. Golden age snapshots in a one-shot story format are something highly appealing. And to top it all off, a beautiful Alex Ross cover encapsulates a story that's profound, moving and most of all bloody entertaining. I cant wait to see what other snapshots we will be seeing in the future from Marvel.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Morbius (2019) #4

Feb 12, 2020

If you like the darker Marvel properties and recall the MAX run of Blade from nearly 20 years ago (oh my god I got old), then you need to be reading this book. It takes the bright and shiny New York that Marvel often portrays and drags it into the shadows. Spider-Man serves to reinforce that stark contrast, that reminder that this is not just another super-hero book. Its a monster book first and foremost, and so far, its doing it very, very well.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Morbius (2019) #5

Mar 19, 2020

Overall, its a solid book and a good continuation into humanizing the monstrous Doctor. It didnt add anything new, but it didnt need to. It was entertaining, it was funny, and it had monster fights. What more do you need from a book about a living vampire for Blade's sake"? Sure, seeing more from the Marvel Vampires would be nice but that might happen down the line, right? Maybe some blood or something a bit less cookie-cutter? Ok , so its not great but it's better than some vampire stories in pop culture.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Ravencroft #2

Feb 28, 2020

Final ThoughtsThere is a lot of potential here for this series. This could be an absolutely amazing series that subverts expectations for what comics can bring to their readers but at the moment, the setup is what it is...a setup. Expect a slow burn with this one.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Spider-Verse (2019) #5

Feb 5, 2020

There needs to be more books like this in my opinion. The hero out of their timeline is entertaining as hell. There is a reason time travel stories are so popular dammit! And to top it off by adding in-universe hopping too and the opportunity for shenanigans are aplenty. I cant wait to see how Miles' little Quantum Leap resolves itself. Will we see the return of Peter Porker to the Spider-verse? Will Spider-Ma'am bake more pies? Why do we have to wait a month? Thats basically the only downside to this in my opinion.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
The End: Deadpool #1

Jan 29, 2020

Final ThoughtsAt the moment, I really enjoyed this book. The writing made me chuckle in a way thats sorely missing from a lot of comics now. This felt like a nostalgia trip to the late 90s, except with it being 2020. Additionally, the ending felt a tad overlong. Its fun but feels dated, not that thats a bad thing. Its like watching an old Jim Carrey movie; entertaining but youre glad things have moved on. The title is appropriate. This is The End and will sit alongside my Joe Kelly Deadpool Omnibus as a relic of a slapstick time.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

June

May

More