Ben McElveen's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: You Don't Read Comics Reviews: 21
9.2Avg. Review Rating

9.6
All-Star Batman #10

May 12, 2017

I can't wait to see what comes next and for once, that goes for both stories in the comic!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Batman (2016) #21

Apr 19, 2017

Upon initially reading it I was super psyched- but upon rereading it I realised that there isn't enough in this for all of the hype it received. Perhaps the hype was the problem? If this issue came out like any other issue, I would have been blown away but this has been a long time coming now, so it didn't fully satisfy me. Either way, I'm still incredibly excited for what comes next!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
Batman (2016) #22

May 4, 2017

All round it was a perfect issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
Batman (2016) #23

May 19, 2017

Even if you're not currently reading Batman you should pick up this issue! It's a lot of fun, there's some classic Batman detective work, Swampthing is great and the art is magnificent.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
Batman (2016) #24

Jun 8, 2017

I believe that if you enjoyed the short Rooftops arc from earlier in this run (like I did) then you will definitely enjoy this issue. If not, then you are unlikely to appreciate it. There is no action, so don't go in expecting Batman to be busting heads- we will inevitably return to that next issue though!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.4
Batman (2016) #25

Jun 25, 2017

Overall, its a good issue that is definitely worth checking out!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
Batman (2016) #26

Jul 10, 2017

I find this whole noir story arc to be very cinematic and although we've just begun it, I think it could be ripe for adaption.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
Batman (2016) #27

Jul 28, 2017

Although it strayed from the main ongoing story, it didn't feel like a step down. I'm really hoping to see more of Kite-man in the future.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.4
Batman (2016) #39

Feb 2, 2018

Overall, I found this issue to be just alright. While I didn't get as riled up about the Wonder Woman problems as some fans did, I can still see where they're coming from. I did enjoy the new concepts though and I am very intrigued by the cliff hanger!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.4
Batman/The Shadow #1

Apr 30, 2017

Overall, as I mentioned, the mystery is fun and its not a bad start to this six-part cross-over.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
Cable (2017) #1

Jun 2, 2017

I could have read it, enjoyed it and then with most X-men titles, forgotten about it but that final page makes me want to return for more.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
Dark Days: The Forge #1

Jun 15, 2017

This event truly is one to watch. We've been given little hints and snippets of what's to come in the series- and it looks incredibly exciting!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
Detective Comics (2016) #959

Jul 11, 2017

I highly recommend picking up Detective Comics, it's just as worthy of attention and praise as the main Batman title!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
Extremity #4

Jun 6, 2017

The series is moving at a nice swift pace, and continues to be brutally savage.I truly hope that Daniel Warren Johnson can keep this up!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
Extremity #5

Jul 1, 2017

The art alone is enough reason to buy this book. However, so is the story! So how lucky are we that we get such high quality of both in one book?

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
Flash (2016) #21

Apr 27, 2017

I think it is a great issue that shows a peek at Batman and the Flash's relationship with each other and why it works so well. Hint: It's because they both like science! It is also sprinkled with easter eggs for cunning DC fans, so keep a watchful eye and appreciate that Howard Porter art!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Flash (2016) #22

May 17, 2017

I enjoyed the journey but at the end I'm left feeling disappointed.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.4
Invincible #136

May 17, 2017

There's a lot going on but the reader is being kept in the dark for now! So hopefully the plan will live up to the quality that this comic deserves.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
Nightwing: The New Order #1

Aug 23, 2017

I'm very intrigued to see what happens next and I also feel that six issues is perfect for a story like this. However, if it continues at this quality maybe there will be demand for a sequel series, returning to this world.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
Peter Parker: The Spectacular Spider-Man #1

Jun 22, 2017

If you're a Spider-fan, then this is definitely another one for your pull list, especially after that epic cliff-hanger!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
Rocket #2

Jun 8, 2017

I've added the series to my pull as well so I can't wait to see what happens next! I would also recommend this to anyone who hasn't read very much Guardians of the Galaxy before. It is very accessible for new readers.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

September

August

More