Brian Renninger's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Comics: The Gathering Reviews: 9
7.1Avg. Review Rating

9.0
Criminal (2019) #1

Jan 9, 2019

Not much more to say other than enjoy. This looks to be a start to another memorable tale of reckless aggression and betrayal and I absolutely cannot wait.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Detective Comics (2016) #996

Jan 16, 2019

Overall, we still have a decent Batman book here, and there’s still plenty of time for them to hit us with some crazy twists on our way to issue #1000. With how this issue ended and whom they are likely to bring into the mix, I have high hopes that we’ll see something special in the coming issues. Oh yes, I’m still on board, despite the fact that classic Batman characters seem to be rushed in front of the editorial crosshairs.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Detective Comics (2016) #997

Jan 30, 2019

I’m still not able to grasp the direction they’re going for this lead up to #1000 and we’re running out of road here. Hopefully the next issue will clear up both some of the plot questions we have and maybe iron out some of pacing problems as well.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Detective Comics (2016) #998

Feb 13, 2019

What could have been an interesting use of vignettes featuring these characters of Bruce’s past has instead turned into a non-plot to string them all together. I really don’t see this arc delivering on anything other than getting us to the big #1000. I really hope I’m wrong, of course, but we only have one more issue to see how any of this fits together.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Green Lantern (2018) #4

Feb 6, 2019

I'll say it again: as long as Morrison and Sharpe stay on and finish their run in a cohesive fashion, we're looking at a definitive run on the character, or at least an incredibly memorable Green Lantern series.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Invaders (2019) #1

Jan 16, 2019

Great start to what will hopefully be a great series of books, and coming off of his hugely successful Spider-Man run, it looks like Zdarsky is the right guy for the job.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Martian Manhunter (2018) #2

Jan 9, 2019

Overall, the book manages to move things along, albeit at a snail's pace. J’on J’onzz is one of the more recently ignored characters in the DC Universe, so it’s nice to see him getting some attention. Here’s to hoping for some major movements and character developments in the coming issues.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Shazam! (2018) #2

Jan 23, 2019

The second installment in the Geoff Johns Shazam re-launch has found its footing, yet hasn't exactly shown us what it wants to be quite yet. The first issue, while fun, wasn't so interested in giving us something new to bite down on and was more of a reestablishment of character, while the second issue feels far more like the slow beginning of a narrative arc. I'm excited as the next reader to see what Johns does with these characters, but lets hope the next issue gives us a little bit more insight into what that thing is.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
War is Hell (2019) #1

Jan 23, 2019

I’m happy to see the series return and even happier to see that the storytellers so far involved are delivering challenging and competent narratives dealing with such heavy and complicated themes. Definitely worth a look through if you’re a fan of the series of old or a fan of war comics in general.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

June

May

More