Detective Comics #998

Writer: Peter J. Tomasi Artist: Doug Mahnke, Jaime Mendoza Publisher: DC Comics Release Date: February 13, 2019 Cover Price: $3.99 Critic Reviews: 19 User Reviews: 46
7.4Critic Rating
7.8User Rating

+ Pull List

Batman's tried everything on Earth to stop the menace hunting his friends and family...now it's time to turn to things not of this Earth! In the past, whenever Batman's encountered the supernatural, he's turned to Jason Blood for guidance-and to Etrigan, the demonic entity living inside him! But securing their help is never simple, and what Blood has to show him will shake Batman to his core!
RATED T

  • 9.6
    You Don't Read Comics - Rick Lopez Feb 20, 2019

    Highly ambitious and entertaining, Tomasi and Mahnke leave their competition in the metaphorical dust as they deliver a true to form Caped Crusader for all readers. As the secrets behind Bruces assailant grow, so does the heavy anticipation for #1000 and newly canon villain, The Arkham Knight, leaving many to speculate on their identity as well as their connection to this first arc of the run. With only more more issue before the 80th anniversary of the Dark Knight, the wait is almost over. Read Full Review

  • 9.6
    Forces Of Geek - Stefan Blitz Feb 13, 2019

    I'm excited to see what happens. The reveal at the end could be anything. I'm sure the next issue is going to be one of the most interesting Batman stories of all time. And I can't wait. This team is doing stellar work and this is something special indeed. I can only imagine where it's going to go from here. Read Full Review

  • 9.0
    Dark Knight News - Steve J Ray Feb 13, 2019

    If you're a fan of surprise twists and cliffhangers, you'll love this issue. Once again I have nothing even remotely bad to say. This is DC's oldest, longest running comic, and the latest issue continues the title's tradition of excellence. In a universe full of horrors, monsters and demons, this title stands out. Detective Comics #998 is one hell of a great read. Read Full Review

  • 9.0
    Comic Book Corps - Tom Zimm Feb 13, 2019

    Detective Comics is marching toward #1000 with Batman on a deadly version of a scavenger hunt: Who is responsible for creating the monster? Is it a villain? Who is the monster? Batman? I encourage readers who love Batman and DC to jump on board this series. Read Full Review

  • 9.0
    Lyles Movie Files - Jeffrey Lyles Feb 13, 2019

    This arc has been a lot of fun and has come off worthy of leading in to issue 1,000. Detective Comics is definitely building some strong momentum for the big milestone. Read Full Review

  • 8.8
    The Brazen Bull - Charlie Chipman Feb 13, 2019

    Peter J. Tomasi continues to build momentum as the one-thousandth issue ofDetective Comicsdraws nearer, and, thanks to a well-paced script and stunning illustrations,Detective Comics (2016-) #998 offers an exciting and enjoyable reading experience. Read Full Review

  • 8.7
    Black Nerd Problems - Mikkel Snyder Feb 13, 2019

    The Mythologies arc has been a fun exploration of Batman. The ever-changing nature of the through-line has taken us to a lot of weird places, and while I'm still waiting for satisfactory answers, I'm enjoying the ride. Read Full Review

  • 8.3
    Comic Watch - Nicholas Osborn Feb 17, 2019

    Detective Comics #998 is an action-packed thrill ride with a twist at the end that is both weird and surprising. Whether this pays off remains to be seen. Read Full Review

  • 8.0
    Batman-News - Elena Carrillo Feb 13, 2019

    This is still a solid, fun book, even though it takes a radically different direction than what you might be expecting, and the emergence of the Hell Bat suit is sure to please fans of that particular piece of powerful equipment in Batman's arsenal. But overall this feels like a bit of a slouchy kitchen sink of ideas trailed out toward the millennium climax in a run that had otherwise been escalating by crisp degrees thus far. Read Full Review

  • 7.5
    Weird Science - Joey Casco CSW/CSS Feb 13, 2019

    The art in this issue is great but the story left me really confused. I don't hate that I'm confused because we're supposed to be confused and I enjoyed reading it. Because of that, I can't wait to find out what is actually going on. Read Full Review

  • 7.2
    Monkeys Fighting Robots - David DeCorte Feb 13, 2019

    DETECTIVE COMICS #998 features some revelations, but two-thirds of the book is taken up by a story that, ultimately, doesn't factor in to the broader narrative much. It's fun, well-drawn and well-written overall, but doesn't feel as vital as previous chapters. Read Full Review

  • 7.0
    Geek Dad - Ray Goldfield Feb 13, 2019

    Thus far, this arc is raising some interesting questions, but it feels more like a series of strange vignettes than a full story. Given how many characters it's killed off, Read Full Review

  • 6.0
    Razorfine - Alan Rapp Feb 19, 2019

    Batman gets no more answers, so the comic continues treading water while showcasing various allies, including an appearance by Cyborg's father, one more time as it inches ever closer to Detective Comics #1000 which, I assume, will likely offer the reveal the arc has been teasing for several issues now. For fans. Read Full Review

  • 6.0
    DC Comics News - Matthew Lloyd Feb 14, 2019

    Exploring Batman's past is a lot of fun. Reaching back to Hugo Strange is a nice touch that connects the story with the history of the character. What seemed to be a trip right back to Detective Comics #27 veers off this path a bit and the Demon is not a character one usually associates with core Batman characters. Wedging Silas Stone into Batman's origins feels a little off as it distracts from the history trip that it appeared this story would be. Despite this the final page suggests a real confrontation between the Batman and the boy who would become the Bat which IS at the center of Batman's narrative. Read Full Review

  • 6.0
    Comic Book Bin - Philip Schweier Feb 13, 2019

    I have noidea how this particular turn of events came about, or even if I am correctlyinterpreting the final page. But in a comic book where a guy can create abattle suit for fighting supernatural creatures, and manages to actually throwone back into the demonic underworld, you have to forgive a lot. Just go withit. Read Full Review

  • 6.0
    ComicBook.com - Matthew Mueller Feb 13, 2019

    Mythology has been a bit up and down, and this month's issue seems to be somewhere right in the middle. Read Full Review

  • 5.0
    The Batman Universe - Tony Hammack Feb 13, 2019

    I am worried about the future of Tomasi's run, but intrigued by the concept that Batman's greatest enemy is his own fear. Read Full Review

  • 5.0
    AiPT! - David Brooke Feb 13, 2019

    A fun action issue to be sure, but aside from the last few pages, it feels like filler material. Batman's encounters are entertaining in a sense, but the big picture seems to be we're biding our time for a massive explanation. Read Full Review

  • 4.0
    Comics: The Gathering - Brian Renninger Feb 13, 2019

    What could have been an interesting use of vignettes featuring these characters of Bruce’s past has instead turned into a non-plot to string them all together. I really don’t see this arc delivering on anything other than getting us to the big #1000. I really hope I’m wrong, of course, but we only have one more issue to see how any of this fits together. Read Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

August

July

More