Philip Schweier's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Comic Book Bin Reviews: 234
6.7Avg. Review Rating

4.0
Action Comics (2016) #983

Jul 12, 2017

I wontspoil the ending, though I may not need to. Anyone who follows comic books forany length of time knows you can rely on a villain to do one thing: servehimself. I just hope the next chapter isnt so predictable.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Action Comics (2016) #986

Aug 23, 2017

GuillemMarchs artwork reminds me of that of Mark Badger back in the 1980s.Thankfully, more detailed, but that could be a result of current technology.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Action Comics (2016) #987

Sep 15, 2017

As I said,expect to be surprised, with the secret origin of Mr. Oz promised for nextissue. But what that means for the Man of Steel in the future remains to seen.I anticipate a crisis of conscience, perhaps a Bryan Singer-like attack on an emotional level, or maybe a fight between two powerful super-beings. Lets keepour fingers crossed its blend of both.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Action Comics (2016) #988

Sep 27, 2017

Im lookingforward to subsequent issues, to see how Jor-Els unmasking (assuming he is animposter) comes about. If hes not a phonus balonus, then Superman as a concepthas indeed gone off the rails, and those Curt Swan stories are more preciousthan ever.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Action Comics (2016) #989

Oct 11, 2017

However, the story is moving slower than I'd like, which is typical. I grew up in the age of Wolfman/Perezs New Teen Titans, Now THERE was some dense storytelling, which Iwould like to see more of these days. But until those two legends can be harnessed into another ongoing series, I'll have to content myself with back issues.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Action Comics (2016) #990

Oct 25, 2017

As I said afew issues ago, its likely this story will run up to the landmark Action Comics #1,000. It moves a bitslower than I would like, but thats an unfair assessment, as I have no ideawhat the next 10 issues will entail. My hope is that the creative team canremain in place for the duration of the story. I find it frustrating whenartists step away mid-way through a storyline. I dont fault them for it, Iblame the editor. He should manage the workload, and provide the art staff withthe resources they require.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Action Comics (2016) #991

Nov 8, 2017

As with previous issues, this story is written/drawn by the exact same creative team. Its almost as if they worked on them concurrently, with no break in between.Its helped maintain a consistency of narrative, but of course its seldom sustainable, so as the story continues, I wonder who will be at the drawing board. If it is someone different, now seems as a good a place as any to changeup the art roster. (ESPECIALLY on the cover. This issue by Nick Bradshaw and Brad Anderson is awful).

View Issue       View Full Review
1.0
Action Comics (2016) #992

Nov 22, 2017

This story leads into the next chapter of the DC Universe, as Superman realizes someone is toying with its history. He determined to do something about it, though ifweve learned anything from the movies, it is that It is forbidden for you to interfere with human history, rather, let your leadership stir others. Because thats not just an S on his chest; its the symbol of hope.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Action Comics (2016) #993

Dec 13, 2017

The story is fun and exciting, as Booster mounts a rescue mission to prevent Superman from changing time any more than it has been. And while Booster and the Flash are both experienced time-traveller, its clear they have differing views on the ramifications of stepping into the past.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Action Comics (2016) #994

Dec 27, 2017

The artworkin this issue is a bit of a challenge for me, though. Dan Jurgens providedpencils, which were then finished by no less than four inkers. The changingstyles were a bit jarring, and I may have preferred one or two fewer artistsinvolved. But I understand the nature of deadlines. Perhaps when DC returns toits monthly publishing schedule, well see more stable art teams in place.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Action Comics (2016) #995

Jan 10, 2018

Artists Brett Booth and Norm Rapmund make a great team. The art reminded me somewhat of Jim Lee's work, but not so much so as to appear an imitation.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Action Comics (2016) #996

Jan 24, 2018

There have been rumors of the Watchmen characters being folded into the main DC Universe. Idrather they didnt, but I know Im in the minority. Regardless, I do hope that the fast approaching Action Comics #1,000 has the opportunity to stand alone, rather than become the setting for yet another over-hyped DC event. It would belike having your 50th birthday co-opted by your distant cousin's graduation.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Astro City (2013) #44

Aug 8, 2017

Theart by Rick Leonardi and Ande Parks is terrific. Im used to seeing Parksinking Phil Hesters work. As much as his inks compliment Hesters work, itsclear here that he is not beholden to any one penciler. Parks inks makeanybodys pencils look better, without obscuring what makes them unique.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Astro City (2013) #45

Aug 8, 2017

Brent Anderson is back at the drawing board, still channeling his inner Neal Adams(not that thats a bad thing), but he seems to have added a layer of Jos LuisGarcia Lopez. But above it all is a style that makes Andersons work stand on its own merits.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Astro City (2013) #46

Oct 25, 2017

Creatingthe spirit of music as a person is novel, but not necessarily new. After all,Barry Manilow was music, and he writes the songs. But as an ever-evolvingsuper-hero, it may or may not be an effective weapon against the forces ofevil. But the concept is interesting.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Astro City (2013) #47

Oct 25, 2017

Itsa great story, but it only goes so far, as dogs notoriously have life spans 1/7ththat of humans. So what does that mean for our former-thief-now-hero? Well,thats a question to be answered nextissue.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Astro City (2013) #48

Oct 25, 2017

Itsa satisfying story, if not an altogether cheerful one. There is no happy endingfor all, though matters play out as perhaps they should. But it makes me sitand take greater notice of Astro City; or, as I sometimes call it, AsTROCity.What I believed to be just another universe of super-heroes has greater depththan I realized. The costumes are merely the window dressing for the narrative.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Astro City (2013) #49

Nov 22, 2017

Theres no real conclusion (I assume that will come next issue), so Lulu's investigation means for her, her dad, and those who seek to corrupt his research remains to be seen. It may be a card to be played (much) later, or we may see storys end in a month. But I enjoy the anthological nature of Astro City. Its stories with super-heroes, rather than the adventures of If you enjoyed Marvels (also by Kurt Busiek and Alex Ross), Astro City is an enjoyable follow-up.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Astro City (2013) #50

Jan 31, 2018

For those of us who have every run around a backyard with a towel pinned to our shoulders, most comic books are about the heroes. But not everyone gets to wear the cape to be the hero. Or even be the sidekick. They also serve, who standand wait. Those of us who dont get to be Batman sometimes have to settle for being Alfred. And thats good enough.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Bane: Conquest #5

Oct 31, 2017

The artwork is perfect. I'm a big fan of the classic DC house style, mastered and refined by artists such as Dick Giordano and Jos Luis Garcia Lopez. It certainly doesnt hurt that Graham Nolan is credited as one of the co-creators of Bane, along with Chuck Dixon. Needless to say, they know what theyre doing.While others may have helped develop Bane as a character in recent years, thereis no denying he is in excellent hands.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Bane: Conquest #6

Oct 31, 2017

Iveenjoyed the two issues Ive read so far, and it makes me wish I hadnt missedthe previous chapters. Perhaps when the trade paperback is released, Ill takea look. Its not my usual cup of orange pekoe, but then Ive found so manymainstream comics unsatisfying these days, Ive begun to think I need to choosethe road less traveled.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Batgirl (2016) #14

Oct 25, 2017

The story seems intent on introducing a new villain, and signals suggest it may be someone from Barbaras past. Its tricky to insert flashbacks in on ongoing narrative, but Larson does it smoothly and judiciously. The artwork is simple without being cartoony; a classic case of less is more.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Batgirl and the Birds of Prey #12

Aug 29, 2017

Theartwork is fine. Its easy for some artists to fall into the trap of renderingthe perfect female form every time, but to his credit, Antonio avoids theclich. He draws his women as they might appear in real life, with a variety ofbody types, offering veritas to his figure drawing.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Batgirl and the Birds of Prey #13

Aug 29, 2017

Again,Paquettes cover seems too photo-influenced. Im sure its something that hasbeen done for decades, but here it appears to be painfully obvious. As an artdirector I used to work for once told a client, If you want somethingphoto-realistic, then take a photo. Leave the drawing out of it.Unfortunately, Marvel beat DC to the cosplay cover idea.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Batgirl and the Birds of Prey #14

Nov 7, 2017

Marcio Takaras artwork is more sketchy than I'm accustomed to seeing in comic books. Perhaps if it had been inked by someone else, its better qualities would havebeen muddied behind someone elses vision, but he makes it work nicely.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Batman '66 Meets The Legion Of Super-Heroes #1

Jul 19, 2017

I just wishDC had used this era Legion with the original Star Trek crossover that waspublished a few years back.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Batman Beyond (2016) #9

Jun 28, 2017

That's what I like about the future of the DC Universe. It's not so beholden to the NOW of the DCU, and has the freedom to become its own entity, free from the constraints of current continuity. Batman Beyond is one of the few bright spots in DC's current roster of titles.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Batman Beyond (2016) #10

Jul 26, 2017

I appreciate Bernard Chang's artwork, perhaps in part because it reminds me Howard Chaykin. Chaykin has a distinctive style, which Chang seems to have taken and refined. I see this mostly in terms of layout than in actual rendering, though it does appear there's a bit of a swipe once in a while.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Batman Beyond (2016) #11

Aug 22, 2017

But Ill behonest " after three issues of fisticuffs, Im a wee bit tired, and am lookingforward to dozing on the flying car ride back to Gotham City. Perhaps afterthis epic, Jurgens should craft a couple of done-in-ones, to give new arrivalsthe chance to catch up.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Batman Beyond (2016) #12

Sep 27, 2017

The artwork is good, though a few panels seem to be a but less than polished, as if cornerswere cut in the inking process. That may be a bit disappointing, given DexterVines reputation as a solid professional, butif he cut corners, it was neverwhere it mattered. Several pages are stand-outs. Aviras colors are dynamic andeffective, making for any shortcomings in the overall artwork.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Batman Beyond (2016) #13

Oct 25, 2017

Chang's artwork is spot on, as he is a familiar name in the title. He knows the character, the setting and could be a welcome addition as writer of the series,should ongoing Dan Jurgens ever choose to step down permanently.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Batman Beyond (2016) #14

Nov 22, 2017

Phil Hester and Ande Parks are on art chores this issue, and I couldnt be happier. I've enjoyed their work since Green Arrowmore than a decade ago, and I have seen too little of them since then. If this is their new steady gig, great. They deserve a high-profile title from DC. If not this, perhaps Nightwing.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Batman Beyond (2016) #15

Dec 27, 2017

It all boilsdown to writers trying to tap into " or in this case, anticipate " the trendsof teens and young adults. Its a constantly moving target, and is doomed tofailure 99 times out of 100. This means writers are left to the dismal task ofcreating their own future slang.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Batman Beyond (2016) #16

Jan 24, 2018

One thing about the Batman Beyond series is its vision of the future. Theoretically its about 40 years from now, based on Bruce Waynes age. But the advancements are extraordinary, which only reinforces the sense of compressed time in ComicBook-land. Afterall, wasn't World War II just a few decades ago?

View Issue       View Full Review
3.0
Batman/The Shadow #3

Jun 28, 2017

I'm disappointed. This series has sunk into the realm of gimmick, perhaps goosingthe sales of Dynamites Shadow comics for a time, and providing DC with amiddling excuse to reprint Batmans previous encounters with The Shadow (Batman #253 and 259). Whether DC willfollow through on that overdue promise remains to be seen.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Batman/The Shadow #4

Jul 26, 2017

Idexpected the series to run four issues, and would have been happy with that.But it appears to be running six. More is better, but not if its more of thesuper-hero team-up clichs weve seen for several generations.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Batman/The Shadow #5

Aug 23, 2017

Someof my fellow Shadow fans have commented in the negative regarding the artwork,but I find it stylish in the same manner as the much-revered Mike Kaluta Shadowof the 1970s. Not that Rossmo is emulating Kaluta, but I think both have astyle that works. Where Rossmo fails is not in his rendering style, but in hisdepiction of The Shadow. It seems to Rossmo, The Shadow is simply a guy in hatand long cloak; a common super-hero. He fails to add and maintain the layer ofmystery that has captivated Shadow fans for decades.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Batman/The Shadow #6

Sep 27, 2017

Overall, Batman The Shadow is a very broad interpretation, created for Batman fans that would like to see him partner up with The Shadow as they believe him to be. None of the six issues were the least bit satisfying as the single storyline published back in Batman #253. The artwork was also highly-stylized, which I don't mind in general. I like Rossmo's style, but this may not have been the best project for it.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Batwoman (2017) #4

Aug 15, 2017

Eptings artwork is perfect for the series. I like the way he reanders his figures, giving them a lightness, while making them look grounded, rather than simply digitally pasted against a backdrop. Im not familiar with other series he may haveworked on, but the veteran sensibilities and experience show in his work.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Batwoman (2017) #5

Oct 18, 2017

Thepainted artwork by Stephanie Hans is quite impressive. In some ways it remindsme of the illustrations I remember from my childhood, but with greaterattention to detail. The remarkable thing is Hans conveys that detail withminimal effort. So while the story may not be altogether satisfying, theartwork certainly is.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Batwoman (2017) #6

Oct 18, 2017

RenatoArlems artwork is serviceable, though not dynamic. That can be said by manycomic book artists whose body of work is often under-appreciated. But they earntheir bones by maintaining a consistent level of quality, and often being thego-to guy in times of need. But Ill be the first to admit my assessment may beunfair, not being familiar with Arlems work until now.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Batwoman (2017) #7

Oct 18, 2017

FrenandoBlancos artwork has a wonderful retro-feel, akin to that of Darwyn Cook orMike Allred. But John Rauchs colors and effects help distance it from them,and provides the artwork its own identity. DC could do a lot worse by keepingthese two guys on the book " or any book for that matter.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Batwoman (2017) #8

Oct 31, 2017

Thankfully, Bennett is more ambitious than that. This issue of Batwoman departs from some of the character development weve seenrecently, in favor of more action and ingenuity. Its refreshing, if the creative team can maintain the momentum of Batwoman kicking ass.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Batwoman (2017) #9

Nov 15, 2017

Speakingof whom, hes got a bit of a new look this time around. Less farm decoration,more bio-terrorist, complete with gas mask. But is he still truly a scarecrow?Or more of a Fear-monger? Or Fright Knight? Gas Master? No, Scarecrow he is anda scarecrow he should remain, complete with burlap mask and shabby clothing.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Batwoman (2017) #10

Dec 20, 2017

Batwoman's investigation into the many arms of death may reveal some unpleasant truths. It seems nothing Batman himself couldnt have handled, which begs the question as to why a Batwoman is needed in the first place - something Ive been wonderingfor a while. Thankfully, the answer is much more than Because DC needs more diverse characters. So maybe there's hope for the book yet.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Batwoman (2017) #11

Jan 17, 2018

The artwork by Scott Godlewski is suitable for the subject at hand. Combined with John Rauchs colors, it tells the story effectively without distracting fromthe narrative. Its unfortunate Godlewski and Rauch didnt have a more ambitious story to illustrate. But perhaps it just sets the stage for some really great storytelling next issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Blue Beetle (2016) #11

Oct 31, 2017

Yeah, we get it. In fact, most of us grew up on it. Spider-man has been beating that drumfor about 50 years now. Maybe theres an obligation to touch on the dynamics of every day life vs. crime fighting. But I expect it to be handled better by thepros like Giffen and Dematteis.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Bombshells: United #1

Oct 24, 2017

Its not myintent to politicize a comic book story, but my interpretation of the firstissue is that its a gender-based effort to write a better world. But that shouldntsurprise anyone. It is Bombshells in an alternate reality after all.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Bombshells: United #2

Oct 24, 2017

MargueriteSauvages artwork is well-suited for the subject matter at hand. My onlycomplaint is that she sometimes renders the women almost as teenage girls. Dawnstarscosmic revelations on pages 8-9 seem especially made for the tween audience.Butperhaps, thats the tone Sauvage picks up from Bennetts dialogue.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Bombshells: United #3

Oct 24, 2017

This issueis drawn by two separate artists. Siya Oum handles the first portion of thebook, later replaced by Luciano Vecchio. Oums work is more painterly andtraditionally illustrative, while Vecchios work reminds me of anim. There isa place for that, but I am uncertain if BombshellsUnited is it.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Bombshells: United #4

Oct 24, 2017

The currentstoryline appears to be over, but as I said, it dovetails into the next chapteras a new threat looms over Los Angeles. The war that gave rise to theBombshells appears to be over. This being an alternate universe, it wasapparently won in short order, thanks to the heroic actions of the Bombshells.But its still the 1940s, and the style of that era continues to resonatewithin the title.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Bombshells: United #5

Nov 1, 2017

I like thework of Siya Oum; it reminds me of raw John Byrne from back in the day. Thesecond half of the story " the epilogue " is drawn by Marcelo DiChiara, whosestyle is entirely different, and thats okay. My only complaint about thatportion of the book is how much Donna Troy weeps through it all.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Bombshells: United #6

Nov 15, 2017

The artworkby Jarrell and Fitzpatrick is more satisfying than that of previous issues, inmy opinion. Theres a simplicity to it, reminiscent of Mike Allred, that worksvery well. It seems better defined and perhaps less sketchy thanillustrations from previous issues.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Bombshells: United #7

Dec 6, 2017

My only grievance is the general openness Kate Kane and Renee Montoya display in thealternative lifestyles. I find it hard to believe the 1940s (even in analternate timeline) would be so tolerant. Bu8t thats the beauty of alternaterealities " anything goes. I like the notion of DCs heroes and villainsswitching partners from time to time. Id like to see more of it in themainstream DCU.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Bombshells: United #8

Dec 20, 2017

Mirka Andolfo's artwork is cartoony, yet trippy, reflecting the whimsy and the weirdness of the environment. It works very effectively, enhanced by Nanjan's colors.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Bombshells: United #9

Jan 3, 2018

However, mybigger concern this issue is Siya Oums artwork, which appears rushed andsketched. It lacks the polish Ive come to expect from most comic books. Aspencils, theyre very tight, but lack inking, although the coloring doesprovide greater definition. To my eyes, however, its not enough. I canappreciate an effort to meet deadline, but if another week would have made anydifference, I could live with it being late.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Bombshells: United #11

Jan 17, 2018

The art byMirka Andolfo and David Hahn for this issue is somewhat weak as well. The firstportion of the book is fine, but in the second half, the work seems very flatand stiff. I can appreciate its simplicity, but the figures seem to have arigidity that I cant get past.

View Issue       View Full Review
1.0
Cave Carson Has A Cybernetic Eye #9

Jun 21, 2017

So far, it hasn't been worth it. Cave Carson has a Cybernetic Eye has been a miserable experience for me, one I hope never to repeat. If were not my job, I would not read it.

View Issue       View Full Review
3.0
Cave Carson Has A Cybernetic Eye #10

Jul 19, 2017

The artworkis still somewhat muddled. I blame it on the garish colors and the bendaypatterns throughout. They are distracting, and I am uncertain how much of theaction (if any) takes place above ground. Ive liked Michael Avon Oemings artwork in the past, but here, not so much. In fairness, some of it may beattributed to Nick Filardis coloring. Which just goes to show how much of animpact one has on the other.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Cave Carson Has A Cybernetic Eye #12

Sep 20, 2017

I appreciate the imagery of Michael Avon Oeming and colorist Nick Filardi. Its trippiness only added layers of befuddlement to my experience, but in another property " New Gods, perhaps " it might work better. In my opinion, the blend of words and pictures just didn't work together. Neither filled in the gaps of the other, leading to a rather bizarre mess.

View Issue       View Full Review
2.0
Cyborg (2016) #14

Jul 5, 2017

Will Conrad is back at the drawing board, and that's a good thing. However, there is one character introduced that seems so obviously based on Alfre Woodard. In general, I like his art, and I like the digital effects he uses " sparingly " to convey Cyborg's optical input. I feel it's effective, but that's not a license to go crazy with it.

View Issue       View Full Review
2.0
Cyborg (2016) #15

Aug 2, 2017

It is so utterly lacking in originality. Rather than present a remarkable re-interpretation of Cyborg's 21st century potential in the Digital Age, instead it falls so easily into over-used plot devices and clichs.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Cyborg (2016) #16

Sep 6, 2017

Artwork has been serviceable. Sure, that's faint praise, but my expectations are low where Cyborg is concerned. But as the scope of the book grows, longtime artists such as Allan Jefferson and Will Conrad seem up to the challenge.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Cyborg (2016) #17

Oct 5, 2017

Overall, this has been an ambitious storyline for the series, and seems more cohesive than those past. I hope this trend continues.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Cyborg (2016) #18

Nov 1, 2017

Perhaps Semper was asked to compress a bigger ending into a single issue. If so, DC did no one any favors; not the readers, not Semper, nor potentially new fans. Or perhaps, like me, DC has grown weary of Semper's slow-paced writing style and is hoping for someone with a greater sense of drama and action to take over the title.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Cyborg (2016) #19

Dec 6, 2017

My other concern is the magical implication of the rhino horn. Sure, magic exists in the DCU, but I just don't expect it to cross paths with a character of such advanced technology. Still, Semper stuck to the techno-thrills, and look where it got him. Kudos to Grevioux for going in the completely opposite direction.

View Issue       View Full Review
3.0
Cyborg (2016) #20

Jan 3, 2018

All in all, the 2-issue story seems weak and rushed. Perhaps as a 3-parter, it might have worked better for me. This is Grevioux's second issue after taking the place of John Semper Jr. (a change I'm still not sure is permanent). But so far, neither writer has wowed me; quite the opposite. Which makes me question the merits of a Cyborg ongoing series.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
DC Bombshells #29

Aug 9, 2017

Its a uniqueseries for DC, taking place outside the usual continuity. This allows a broader sense of freedom, and the luxury of telling great stories without the constriction of editorial mandates.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
DC Bombshells #30

Aug 9, 2017

Theartwork here is, in my opinion, perfect. Sometimes, depending on the subjectmatter, I appreciate greater stylization from the artists, but just as often Ienjoy what might be called a house style. If DC Comics has a house style, Iwould consider it something reminiscent of Dick Giordano and Jos Luis GarciaLopez. Not a bad combo, and the art staff for Bombshells seems to hit the targethere.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
DC Bombshells #31

Aug 9, 2017

But inaddition to Killer Frosts origin, we also come to understand Faorasmotivations, and her ambitions post-Krypton. Excessive dialogue during fightscenes is also a no-no in my book. Ive been to the movies; dialogue only worksin a fight scene if people are not moving.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
DC Bombshells #32

Aug 9, 2017

Were I incontrol, I would modify the costume designs, away from evening dresses and highheels. I would also reduce the amount of dialogue when practical, especially inthe heavier action scenes. Suffice tosay, its a series best read in small, monthly bites. I fear it wont age wellwhen repackaged for the trade edition.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
DC Bombshells #33

Aug 16, 2017

I dont wantto appear overly critical of the book. I must acknowledge I am handicapped bycoming in late, but perhaps its just not the book for me. I appreciate theconcept, but it hasnt played out as I expected.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Deadman (2017) #1

Nov 1, 2017

Having written and drawn new Batman, Superman, and now Deadman stories in the past 10years, I guess its only a matter of time before Adams resurrects the GreenLantern/Green Arrow adventures from the early 1970s. Like I said, his newer efforts are often hit-or-miss, but always interesting.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Deadman (2017) #2

Dec 13, 2017

Modern printing technology has provided Adams the means to create mood and atmosphere much more easily, tools he uses to a great degree. I wouldn't say he over-uses them, but he's clearly having fun. It is my hope he does not fall into the same trap George Lucas did when he discovered digital graphics.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Deadman (2017) #3

Jan 10, 2018

But, asusual, its Neal Adams. His art is perfect, though after decades in the comic book industry, its not uncommon to see as many imitators. While we aren't really seeing anything new, we are seeing gorgeous illustrations from a master of the medium.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Deadman (2017) #4

Feb 14, 2018

My other concern is how little regard Adams pays to the serialized format. Its as if he is counting on a six-issue run to be collected into TPB form. With 20 interior pages per issue, that amounts to 120 total pages. Adams has written the story accordingly, with little regard for where those issue breaks occur. As result,each chapter stops, rather than ends, and rather abruptly at that.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Detective Comics (2016) #958

Aug 18, 2017

Naturally,for a bat-book, there is a lot of black. Paul Fernandez no doubt has a delicatebalancing act to achieve, but he very capably aided and abetted by BradAndersons colors.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Detective Comics (2016) #959

Aug 18, 2017

Butthe art is otherwise remarkably strong. As I said before, its been ages sinceI read a Batman title, and Im very much enjoying this one so far. There may beextenuating circumstances, and the rug may be pulled out from under myenthusiasm, but Ill cross that bridge if/when I come to it.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Detective Comics (2016) #960

Aug 22, 2017

Imenjoying the story, but Id enjoy it more if it were weighed down by needlessbaggage. But I suppose thats what titles such as Batman, or All-Star Batman arefor. I am reminded this is the 25th anniversary of Batman: The Animated Series. Perhaps Ishould dig out my DVDs and enjoy a few episodes.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Detective Comics (2016) #962

Aug 22, 2017

Butthe art team of Martinez and Fernandez performed magnificently, renderingelements both technological and magical with equal skill. But most artists willtell you, designing such requires more imagination than skill. What is morechallenging to any artist is drawing the human form and all the mundane thingsit shares the world with: cars, buildings, animals, etc. But Im confident theycan do that too.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Everafter #8

Jul 25, 2017

Ihavent been following Fables, but #8 makes the perfect jumping on point fornew readers. It offers a primer of some of the peripheral characters (at least,I think theyre peripheral). But they clearly play a key role, if not now, thenin the future.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Everafter #9

Jul 25, 2017

Havingthe opportunity to read several chapters at one sitting has given me newappreciation for the series. Allow that to be a wake-up call for the comicsindustry in general, that more compressed storytelling has greater appeal thanextended narratives to eventually be re-packaged into a trade paperback. Heresa thought: release the trade first,then divvy it into chapters for those whod rather pay a few dollars a monththan $20-30 all at once.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Everafter #10

Jul 25, 2017

Itsa good story, but has deviated heavily from the one I expected two issues ago:that of a secret task force that handles magical crises, sort of a sorcerersSWAT team. I could easily see such an idea optioned for television, were it notfor too many elements of other magic/supernatural based shows. But thats okay;Ive found a new title to add to to my pull list.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Gotham Academy: Second Semester #11

Jul 12, 2017

The art iswonderful, and shows what can happen when DC Editorial is willing to let go ofthe wheel and allow the creative team free reign to be creative. So it doesntsurprise me when the books that DC exerts the greatest control over " highprofile properties like Superman and Batman " are suffering, while lesser knowntitles such as Gotham Academy areflying under the radar and demonstrating how great comic books can be.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Gotham Academy: Second Semester #12

Aug 9, 2017

But GothamAcademy has been a liberal mixture of Harry Potter, Scooby Doo andInsert-Anim-Show-Here. The artwork is head and shoulders above most comics ingeneral, seemingly designed to appeal to anim fans. When the series iscollected into a trade paperback, it will be a terrific opportunity to sharewith the young comic fan in your life.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Gotham City Garage #1

Oct 31, 2017

Perhaps another reason it feels familiar is due to its similarities to DCs Bombshell series (though its hardly sooptimistic). It seems to be the trend these days to take established franchisesand reinvent them in a new - often darker - setting. Other examples includes Afterlife With Archie and Scooby-Doo Apocalypse. If youre a fanof such projects, Gotham City Garagecan be added to your pull list.

View Issue       View Full Review
3.0
Gotham City Garage #3

Nov 8, 2017

It is my hope this is a particularly limited series. Sure, the Bombshells series worked, I guess, but any of these givenseries have a limited shelf-life. Were the Gotham Garage figures really selling that well? I cant imagine why.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Gotham City Garage #4

Nov 22, 2017

Artwork by Aneke is okay, but by page 20, I begin to see a little sloppiness creep onto the page. Its almost as if it was drawn by someone less talented. Perhaps a monthly deadline is beyond the abilities of some comic artists. Thats okay; I leave it up to the publisher to find them a project where speed is not essential.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Gotham City Garage #5

Dec 13, 2017

The artwork by Carmen Carnero is first-rate. I've not seen her name before, so I am uncertain how new she is to comics. Regardless, her work stand head and shoulders above the newer talent Ive seen lately.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Gotham City Garage #6

Dec 27, 2017

I amuncertain how many issues this will run, but hearing DC continually beat the feministdrum these days is beginning to give me a head ache. Certainly there is room onthe comic book racks for more than one female-oriented title. But I can onlyspeak for my current load of reviews, which includes DCs Bombshells United, Batwoman, andMother Panic. Being estrogen-deficient, perhaps Im not the best person toreview these titles.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Gotham City Garage #7

Jan 10, 2018

As the gangin the garage seeks to add to their ranks, I am hopeful we will be able to seeother variants of long-time DC characters. A few have been mentioned, andothers alluded to vaguely. But no doubt there will be a few surprises along theway. I look forward to that.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Gotham City Garage #8

Jan 24, 2018

Overall, I'm not sure that Gotham City Garage is a viable ongoing title. DC already has an alternate-universe, female-centric title with Bombshells.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Gotham City Garage #9

Feb 14, 2018

Its great to see the Blackhawks back in action in some form. Im a big fan, and I believe they are be one of DCs sleeping giants, until the right creative team comes along. If the A-Team, and the Expendables can be successful, why not the Blackhawks?

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Green Arrow (2016) #34

Dec 29, 2017

My othercomplaint is the cover by Jamal Campbell. It depicts Green Arrow under the bowof Merlyn, and the caption At the Mercy of Merlyn. But no such scene takesplace in this issue; not even close. One might think with the artists availableto DC, one of them might be able to knock out a generic pin-up style cover,instead of publishing this mistake.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Green Arrow (2016) #35

Dec 29, 2017

Im oftenaccused of being a grumpy old man who long for comics to be as they were in mychildhood. I wont argue, but this issue does feature Green Arrow, in fullcostume and mask, piloting a submersible. Im uncertain who he expects toencounter beneath the sea that he feels the need to hide his identity. But likeFerreyras long-term commitment, I find such silliness both campy andcomforting.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Green Arrow (2016) #36

Jan 3, 2018

I realizethat may diminish the story some, that perhaps without the betrayal there wouldbe no story. But hey, how good of a story can it be if it hinges on oneover-used gimmick? Do these guys not read each others material? Do they evercompare notes? Dont the editors ever have a sit-down to make sure some of thetitles arent mirroring one anothers narratives?

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Green Arrow (2016) #37

Feb 7, 2018

Juan Ferreyra is the artist on deck for this issue. I like his work very much,though it sometimes reminds me of the painted illustrations from Heavy Metal back in the 1980s. Thats not a bad thing, mind you. In the case of Green Arrow, it works quite well. Though I wish there could be ONE artist drawing an entire story arc, soup to nuts. Until DC Comics ends the bimonthly, publishing schedule, I doubt well see it.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Green Lanterns #26

Jul 5, 2017

My only disappointmentis that the two Green Lantern titles are not so tightly bound to one another.The impact of one is not felt in the other, and I would like to see a muchgreater cohesiveness between the two series.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Green Lanterns #27

Jul 19, 2017

After 25issues of Sam Humphries writing, it pleases me to see how he has continuallykept Green Lanterns fresh, always headingin new directions and never " to my recollection " repeating himself. Icome from an era when comic book writers stayed on a book indefinitely, andHumphries seems inclined to stay as long as DCs readership will have him.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Green Lanterns #28

Aug 2, 2017

But I do enjoy a good time travel story, especially when it incorporates elements of the DC Universe at large. Civilizations such as Krypton and Tamaran are given theirdue. Though it would explain why Simon and Jessica are absent from the currentgoings on in the pages of Hal Jordan andthe Green Lantern Corps.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Green Lanterns #29

Aug 16, 2017

The artworkis typical for what weve come to expect from the series, as Pansica and Ferreiradevelop a firmer grasp on depicting the near-magical scope of the power rings,as well as the cosmos at large. Humphries, however, may have stumbled into arut, saying that a GL needs to have imagination in their constructs. But hisloop hole is not so much him saying it, as having Jessica (a less experiencedGL) say it.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Green Lanterns #30

Sep 6, 2017

But even asthe story continues, Im ready for it to end. Its one of the things I hateabout modern comics, how the publishers insist on six-issue story arcs so theycan be repackaged for the trade paperback format. Such a strategy has no doubtkept some wonderful shorter stories from ever being told. Or if they wereprinted, they were padded, and thereby neutered.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Green Lanterns #31

Sep 20, 2017

Perhaps the entire story is best enjoyed in a single sitting. It's hard to say, six issues after it began. But this issue is a very satisfying conclusion. My only regret is that perhaps with some judicious editing, the story could have been told in fewer pages, for a tighter narrative.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Green Lanterns #33

Oct 18, 2017

A newcreative team is in place, but whether its permanent or temporary remains tobe seen. Regardless, it may freshen the bloom on one of Rebirths earliesttitles. Not that it needed it, necessarily, but after 30+ issues, perhaps itstime.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Green Lanterns #34

Nov 1, 2017

Ronan Cliquet returns to the drawing board for this issue. I don't mind the intermittent issues shared among a few artists, so long as each can maintain the established quality of their work. Cliquet seems to do that, and given his seeming commitment to the title, I'm happy to enjoy his occasional issue, rather than expect more qork at a lesser standard.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Green Lanterns #35

Nov 15, 2017

Returning artistsBarberi and Santorelli bring a fresh and oh-so-effective look to our favoritespace cops. Because thats what Simon and Jessica are. Theyre cops, unlike HalJordan who is more of a super-hero. Which is not to diminish Simon and Jessica,but that distinction affects how the series is written, and why itssignificantly different from other entries in the Green Lantern franchise.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Green Lanterns #36

Dec 6, 2017

Hopefully without giving away too much, its a story of some days you get the bear, somedays the bear gets you. But rest assured, we will be seeing Jaine again.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Green Lanterns #37

Dec 20, 2017

Tim Seeley remains on the book, and he seems to be doing well so far. Its a far cry from his Nightwing setting, but I see that as a positive. Theres only so many masked-avenger-of-the-night stories one can tell effectively.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Green Lanterns #38

Jan 3, 2018

The artwork in this issue does not have the cosmic scale one sees in a sister title like Hal Jordan, but thats okay. That is afar more ambitious book. This is the same concept on a smaller scale that hassuccessfully carved out its own segment of the comic book audience. It worksfor Green Lanterns very well, and thats no small thing.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Green Lanterns #39

Jan 17, 2018

Its good to have Ronan Cliquet back at the drawing board. Hes always welcome in the pages of any Green Lantern title " or anyother title, for that matter. His work is polished and professional, and has a refreshing individuality I don't often see these days.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Green Lanterns #40

Feb 7, 2018

This issuefeatures the artwork of Barnaby Bagenda, a name with which Im unfamiliar. Pitythat, because paired with Mick Gray and Ulises Arreola, their combined work isnothing short of delightful. It takes on a watercolor quality, with theunderlying rendering clearly defined. Im certain it could stand on its own,without color, but thats a presentation for another day. I hope to see more oftheir work in future issues.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Hal Jordan And The Green Lantern Corps #24

Jul 12, 2017

Perhaps itstime to, as the rings say, scan for a replacement.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Hal Jordan And The Green Lantern Corps #25

Jul 26, 2017

My onlyregret is the complete disconnect with the GreenLanterns title featuring Simon Baz and Jessica Cruz. The Corps as a wholewas featured in recent issues of that title, but the entire Sinestro CorpsAlliance was ignored, just as Simon and Jessicas presence on Mogo was ignoredin Hal Jordan.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Hal Jordan And The Green Lantern Corps #27

Aug 23, 2017

This issuefeatures everyone " Hal, John, Guy and Kyle, all in key roles, as well as otherGLs, and even a few former Sinestro Corps members. But thats okay. Noteveryone followed Soranik out the door a few issues back. Though perhaps not asstrong as they once were, the GLs have a tough mission ahead, but as Hal saystoward the end, All systems go.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Hal Jordan And The Green Lantern Corps #29

Sep 27, 2017

Ive neverbeen a passionate Green Lantern fan, especially since the advent of KyleRayner. In some ways its become the lore has become a bit unwieldy, but itsbecome more manageable I think since Rebirth. Im liking it more and more.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Hal Jordan And The Green Lantern Corps #30

Oct 11, 2017

Although, with Hal back on Earth (however temporarily), we should probably expect to seehim hook up with the current GLs of 2814, Simon Baz and Jessica Cruz. It would tie the two books more closely together, and the DCU as well. Unless this all takes place during their recent visit to the past.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Hal Jordan And The Green Lantern Corps #31

Oct 25, 2017

Artist Patrick Zircher continues to channel Gil Kane, while maintaining his own style. Perhaps Jason Wrights colors contribute to keeping Zirchers work from being acopy - or homage, if you prefer. Regardless, Zirchers work is perhaps more textured than Kanes was, but much of the figure drawing is consistent. No sin there; theres only so much any artist can do with the human body.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Hal Jordan And The Green Lantern Corps #33

Nov 22, 2017

Y'know, this would have been a great opportunity to tie the two GL books closer together, given Simon and Jessica's recent evacuation of another planet for a similar reason. Just sayin'

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Hal Jordan And The Green Lantern Corps #34

Dec 13, 2017

n this story, the GLs behave less like beat cops and more like seasoned investigators. Through guile, subterfuge and plain old force of will, they piece together clues and follow leads that will hopefully reveal the Controllers plan.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Hal Jordan And The Green Lantern Corps #35

Dec 27, 2017

Artwork byDerenick and Herbert is polished and professional, but in a color-centric titlelike a Green Lantern book, its colorist Jason Wright who makes it work. Theenergy constructs of the individual Lanterns take on the energetic glow, ratherthan simply the green beams of light I grew up with.

View Issue       View Full Review
3.0
Hal Jordan And The Green Lantern Corps #36

Jan 10, 2018

Overall, this issue was a disappointment from the first page. Maybe if I read all thechapters in one sitting, Ill feel better about the story as a whole. But this is the pitfall of reviewing serialized fiction - its difficult to assess theentire project when its being fed to you in bite-sized pieces.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Hal Jordan And The Green Lantern Corps #37

Jan 24, 2018

But Zod's story is not done. He has not been defeated. What this bodes for the DC Universe should be interesting to behold.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Hal Jordan And The Green Lantern Corps #38

Feb 14, 2018

It's nice to see Ethan Van Sciver back at the drawing board. While he's cemented his place within the Green Lantern lore, it's rare to see him draw more than an occasional issue here or there. Perhaps he needed a mortgage payment this month.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Harley Quinn (2016) #22

Jun 21, 2017

Its thestart of a new plotline from Palmiotti & Conner. While Ive been criticalof their SNL-skit-that-goes-on-too-long qualities, I must give them credit forkeeping their story arcs relatively short and tolerable. Writing for the trade?Fuggediboutit!

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Harley Quinn (2016) #23

Jul 5, 2017

And in ourback-up feature, its a return to the old days, when Harley was partnered withMr. J. Though in this storyline shes keeping a few secrets from him, mostlyconcerning their new digs and all the major renovations shes putting into it.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Harley Quinn (2016) #24

Jul 19, 2017

I enjoyedthis story arc more than most. I found it relatable, and Harley (for once)seemed to have a reasonable goal. I dont object to a lack of reason; she isthe notorious Harley Quinn. But there was less insanity, chaos for the sake ofchaos.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Harley Quinn (2016) #26

Aug 23, 2017

WhetherHarley will ever genuinely take a place on the side of the angels remains to beseen. Shes a highly marketable anti-hero that has lost her criminal edge.Sure, she may still knock over the occasional bank or two, but its all in goodfun. No one gets hurt (much), and besides, she really needs the cash. Shes got big plans comin up.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Harley Quinn (2016) #27

Sep 7, 2017

For newreaders, next issue might be the perfect jumping-on point, as Harley and hergang take a run at public office. Could politics get any crazier?

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Harley Quinn (2016) #28

Sep 20, 2017

After abreak of the past issue or two, the team that creates the Harley series is backin form, clicking on all cylinders. It may not the wacky Harley Quinn we mayhave come to expect, but entering the political arena could just be theenvironment for this former Joker moll to flourish. Especially given theage-old axiom, Power corrupts. After all, its not like Harley has far to go.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Harley Quinn (2016) #29

Oct 4, 2017

You mightthink that three artists on this issue is a bit much, but when Harley gets awhiff of Scarecrows fear gas, it takes the psychofunkadelic rendering of MikeKaluta to properly convey its trippiness. Good to see him working in comicsagain, however briefly.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Harley Quinn (2016) #30

Oct 18, 2017

This is astrong book. Its light and casual, but in the world of comic books, thats notalways easy to pull off without going off the rails entirely. Conner andPalmiotti have turned a villains henchwoman into an A-list character. Its notoften one gets to see someone rise through the ranks to stardom.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Harley Quinn (2016) #31

Nov 8, 2017

John Timms artwork is perfect, as always. Its a charming constant in an industry where most artists usually only run for a year or slightly more. Maybe its only been slightly more than a year, but its so comfortable, it seems much longer. I'm good with that.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Harley Quinn (2016) #32

Nov 22, 2017

This was a satisfying conclusion to the current era of Harley Quinn. From here, I feel the title/character could go anywhere, and I appreciate that freedom.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Harley Quinn (2016) #33

Dec 20, 2017

Overall, I've enjoyed reading the Harley Quinn series as presented by Conner & Palmiotti & Co. I'm pleased DC Comics is not beholden to a ridiculous concern over continuity these days. Ive seen her in other titles (such as arecent outing with the Suicide Squad in Red Hood & the Outlaws), but no mention of her bid for mayor or other events from her own book are mentioned. There was time when DC Editorial would feel obliged to include a comment to address continuity concerns, but those days seem over (for now).

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Harley Quinn (2016) #34

Jan 10, 2018

The issue of the supporting players whose names I never bothered to learn is addressed within the book, and perhaps future issues will see a slight reduction in cast. Meanwhile, new readers can look forward to Harley Quinn #35 being a good jumping on point.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Harley Quinn (2016) #35

Jan 17, 2018

Its been awhile since Ive seen Man-Bat, so a return engagement was welcome. However thetruth was a little bit of a zig-zag of logic. Inaki Mirandas artwork isserviceable, her inking a bit heavy-handed for my taste, but your mileage mayvary.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Harley Quinn (2016) #36

Jan 31, 2018

Regardless, it sets up a conflict to be explored in subsequent issues. It may not entirely place Harley on the side of the angels " and thats okay " but it may establish a less villainous role within the DC Universe, Suicide Squad or not.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Harley Quinn (2016) #37

Feb 7, 2018

New writer Frank Tieri seems to be downplaying Harleys sizable supporting cast, which Ifeel is a good strategy. Its become unwieldy, and increasingly difficult tojustify each individuals place within the book. Though replacement artist Mirka Andolfo is perhaps new to the title, the artwork is consistent with whats come before. Almost as if there is a house style that each of DCs majortitles are following.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Harley Quinn (2016): Be Careful What You Wish For Special #1

Jan 16, 2018

Not that this a bad story " I just don't understand why it was presented in this format. It easily could have been presented more effectively within the pages of the mainstream Harley title.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Jonah Hex/Yosemite Sam Special #1

Jul 13, 2017

Say what you will with about these DC-Looney Tunes pairings, but I prefer to thinkof them as good food. The right mix, the right people, and even the mostunlikely combination can work on many levels.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Justice League (2016) #25

Nov 3, 2017

Theartwork by Tom Derenick is rendered in what I consider to be DCs house-style.Its variations on the work of artists such as Dick Giordano and Jos LuisGarcia Lopez, but developed further. It has a classic look that grows inmultiple directions by todays comic book artists. Its comforting andrefreshing, like your favorite pair of jeans.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Justice League / Power Rangers #4

Jul 13, 2017

Theartwork is fun, if a bit dark. I appreciate how Stephen Byrne renders hischaracters in classic poses, reinforcing the iconic nature of these legendaryheroes. Thankfully, it does not descend into caricature, an easy pitfall forthe best of artists.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Justice League / Power Rangers #5

Aug 9, 2017

The artwork is stellar, though not heavily detailed, but I'm okay for the mostpart. There are a couple of instances where it seemed something was left out,perhaps the penciler expected the inker to finish it. But that can be fixed forthe trade. Some artists will meticulously delineate every leaf on every tree,every shard of glass, every brick in a wall. As someone who graduated from art school, Im here to tell you, thats not talent; its merely patience.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Justice League / Power Rangers #6

Sep 27, 2017

If there is a young comic book fan in your life, this may be a great gateway book to get them hooked on either Justice League or Power Rangers, but I recommend waiting for the trade.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Justice League of America (2017) #11

Oct 31, 2017

Neil Edwards figure drawing is dynamic, much like Neal Adams, but without resorting to the kind of extreme poses Adams is known for. Sandu Floreas inks are lightwhere they needs to be, dynamic where called for. If you're open to new iterations of the JLA, this is a book worth looking at.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Lobo/Road Runner Special #1

Jul 13, 2017

Its a fun read, and kudos to Bill Morrison for pulling it off. Figuring out a wayto feature characters from such widely differing universes cant be easy, butMorrison did very well. The main story features the artwork of Kelly Jones,which seems an odd choice, but given the storys EC overtones, maybe not.Jones work has always evoked that style, without copying it too closely.

View Issue       View Full Review
3.0
Looney Tunes #238

Oct 24, 2017

I dont expect much from all-ages books, but I do expect the creators to try. Here, it seemed as if they were striving for quantity over quality. Its a shame, because with names like Derek Fridolfs, Sholly Fisch and Mike DeCarlo, Iexpected better. But even in high-profile titles like Superman or Spider-Man, not every issue is a winner.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Looney Tunes #239

Oct 24, 2017

This issue features cameos by virtually all the Looney Tunes characters, with a fewnotable exceptions. I wouldn't mind seeing them continue the Star Trek rip-offssatires, with the Tasmanian Devil as a Klingon, and Gossamer the Monster as atribble. That would be innnnteresting.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Looney Tunes #240

Nov 22, 2017

The book also features a couple of single-page vignettes; spoofs of Little Bo Peep and The Blair Witch Project. The best that can be said for either is they fill space. Maybe there was a seed of an idea for a greater story, but if a one page is all the writer can muster, well, maybe its not even worth that.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Looney Tunes #241

Feb 7, 2018

Artworkis true to the established designs, though I would expect no less. One would believethe cartoon characters to be easy to draw, and to a professional perhaps they are.But as I once learned, Chuck Jones was absolutely right in his strategy ofdrawing a carrot with Bugs Bunny attached to it.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Milk Wars: Mother Panic/Batman Special #1

Feb 7, 2018

However, the artwork by Ty Templeton is stellar, and its a shame we don't see more ofhis work in mainstream comics. Hes vastly under-appreciated in this age ofoverblown dynamism, and its such a welcome change to see a master draftsman practicing his craft. Keiren Smiths coloring only helps.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Mother Panic #8

Jun 28, 2017

Meanwhile,in our back-up feature yet another bat-themed vigilante arrives on the scene,but for how long? Gotham Radio may be close to unmasking the Dark Knight. Imreally enjoying the return of a back-up feature to comic books. More writersshould be challenged to write in this compressed format, and compelled todeliver in a handful of pages what they may be accustomed to delivering in anentire comic.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Mother Panic #9

Jul 26, 2017

Meanwhile, the back-up feature, Gotham Radio, continues. It features an innovative layout that I genuinely appreciate. However, its the sort of method that must beused judiciously in order to be effective. On a three-age feature, it worksvery well. In a longer format, perhaps not so much.

View Issue       View Full Review
2.0
Mother Panic #10

Aug 23, 2017

I enjoy Shawn Crystals artwork, but Im not sure this is the right project for it. It almost has an EC/Jack Davis quality, so Im not sure what would be a better place. Regardless, Mother Panic is on the verge of committing the cardinal sin of comic books: its becoming boring. I'd like to see the creative team step things up, lay Vis old demons to rest, and stop wallowing in this pit of childhood trauma.

View Issue       View Full Review
3.0
Mother Panic #11

Sep 27, 2017

The tiresome emotional drama I spoke of last time continues. Alcoholism, physical abuse, unhealthy same sex relationships and self-loathing seem to have become the featured agenda of the book, rather than the crime busting we expect from comic books.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Mother Panic #12

Oct 25, 2017

Recently while reading Batwoman, it occurred to me that there is little difference between the characters Batwoman and Mother Panic. Both fight crime in Gotham City. Both are lesbians. Both suffered traumatic childhood experiences that have helped shape their adult selves. Tome, one them is redundant, but I'm uncertain which. But the upside is, if you enjoy one youll probably enjoy both.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Newsboy Legion & The Boy Commandos Special #1

Aug 9, 2017

The artwork is classic Chaykin, but what makes the story sing in places is the coloring. Wil Quintana conveys the bright lights of Broadway, or the blackouts of Paris, with amazing effectiveness. His work also elevates Chaykin's rendering, which despite for 30 year admiration for his work, is not always the best. Nevertheless, I wish for Chaykin and Quintana to do a book of Damon Runyon tales in comic book form.

View Issue       View Full Review
2.0
Nightwing (2016) #23

Jun 21, 2017

Its not a good time to be a DC fan. If this is how they treat one of their longest lasting characters, it makes me wish he had died in one of the many Crises.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Nightwing (2016) #24

Jul 5, 2017

The endingis somewhat clichd. Its a common cliffhanger weve seen many time before, andwill no doubt see again. But Im comfortable with that so long as the entirestory does not hinge upon it. Future issues will tell.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Nightwing (2016) #25

Jul 19, 2017

But Nightwing is a good title when thesetting stays in Bludhaven. This issue allowed a controversial ongoing plotpoint to be laid to rest, thereby opening the paths to which the story mayfollow. It has potential to be a great book. Hopefully this new beginning willallow it to be.

View Issue       View Full Review
3.0
Nightwing (2016) #26

Aug 2, 2017

I find it tiresome to see this kind of content in comic books. I see it on the news, andin my local paper, and the Internet, and I hear of it from friends and acquaintances. I read comic books to escape from this stuff. Cant they just feature some good old-fashioned good guys vs. bad guys? If I wanted a sermon on corporate evil, Id read Green Arrow.

View Issue       View Full Review
3.0
Nightwing (2016) #27

Aug 16, 2017

The wholestory reads like a story originally intended for Grayson, but the when the pluggot pulled on that book, the unused script was retasked for publication at alater date. Not a high-point for any comic book.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Nightwing (2016) #29

Sep 20, 2017

As Metalcontinues making its way through the various titles of the DC Universe, itsunknown what the Nightwing title willbe in the months to come. DC loves its mega-event company-wide crossovers, soregular programming for some titles may be on hold for a while. But to its credit,DC seems less beholden to continuity concerns. Dont worry about anyinconsistencies vis--vis Green Arrow,Suicide Squad or Harley Quinn. Itsonly comic books.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Nightwing (2016) #30

Oct 4, 2017

All in all,a rather uneven return to the status quo, but its early yet. The story is justgetting ramped up. Artwork by Mendonca and Egea is serviceable, though notoutstanding. It may be a good jumping on point for new readers.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Nightwing (2016) #31

Oct 18, 2017

As for supportingplayers, the Run-Offs, their story is not yet over " though it SHOULD BE. Imean really, how long can Seeley milk thesuper-villain-wannabes-who-dont-wannabe-yet-still-act-like-it? If he wants toexplore supporting characters, perhaps he should focus on Detective Svoboda. Icant help but feel its more fertile ground.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Nightwing (2016) #32

Nov 1, 2017

Artwork by Eaton, Mendonca, Faucher, and Egea seems excessive, having four artists on a single issue. But with the breakneck speed of the Rebirth titles,all-hands-on-deck seems necessary to meet the goals DC has set. If it takes that many hands to meet the publication schedule, Im in favor of it. Its a business, after all.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Nightwing (2016) #33

Nov 15, 2017

JavierFernandez returns to the drawing board as the sometimes go-to artist for Nightwing. Its a good match, thoughsomewhat inconsistent as artists rotate in and out of story arcs " shall we say" less than satisfying results. It seems the wiser plan would be to feature thesame artist for the duration of the story arc.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Nightwing (2016) #34

Dec 6, 2017

I don't object to the occasional ret-con, if it improves the overall lore of the franchise. But sometimes I think DC wants us to believe the ret-con in question was always there.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Nightwing (2016) #35

Dec 20, 2017

If you're a casual fan whos been turned off by the lukewarm reviews on this book, now maybe the best time to jump on board and give it a test drive. Its a brand new day in Bludhaven.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Nightwing (2016) #36

Jan 3, 2018

Im enjoying Bernard Chang's artwork. Its a refreshing change from that of Javier Fernandez. Nothing against Fernandez, I just appreciate Changs work more. I think he waswell-suited for his recent stint on Batman Beyond, so Nightwing should be too great a challenge for him to manage.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Nightwing (2016) #37

Jan 17, 2018

The flashback sequence was drawn by Klaus Janson, whose work we seldom see these days. Its great to see old-fashioned, hand-drawn comic books by a master ofthe craft. The moment I saw it, Id hoped for it to be a long-forgotten story by Jim Aparo or Eduardo Baretto. But Janson is good enough. However, seeing his work side-by-side with the digitally polished work of Jamal Campbell only widens the gap between the qualities of the two artists.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Nightwing (2016) #38

Feb 7, 2018

I enjoy Bernard Changs artwork. I think it works very well on the title, moreso thanprevious artists in that Chang (and Maiolo) give Bludhaven a polish that all the neon and glitz requires to convey a better sense of place. Sometimes Changs work reminds me of Howard Chaykins, but never so much that he appears to be imitating Chaykin. Perhaps merely an influence.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Odyssey of the Amazons #4

Aug 8, 2017

The artwork is perfect, evoking my teen memories of several comic fantasy artists.He seems to have taken the designs of John Buscema, the textures of Joe Kubert,and the figure drawing of Gil Kane, and blended them into a unique style thatseems both new and familiar at the same time.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Odyssey of the Amazons #5

Aug 8, 2017

Another reason is it tells a story featuring strong, likeable characters. Not strong ina physical sense, but strong as in solid-from-the-ground-up. People may thinkits great that these are empowered women characters, but honestly, their gender doesnt matter to me. Male or female, they have depth, and thats farmore important.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Red Hood and the Outlaws (2016) #15

Oct 11, 2017

Overall, its a typical team-up story, with two teams of heroes fighting one another. Of course, its the other team who arethe bad guys here, because this aint their book. If they are featured elsewhere in the current DC library, no doubt the Outlaws would be the villains du jour.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Red Hood and the Outlaws (2016) #16

Nov 8, 2017

Regardless, the storyline is fine and agreeable, but some tweaking of dialogue and character seems to be in order.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Red Hood and the Outlaws (2016) #17

Dec 13, 2017

It appears to be the end of a two-part story. I appreciate the shorter story arcs than runover two or three issues, rather than the typical six issue epic that is inevitably repackaged as a trade paperback. By chapter 6, I often cant recall how/why the story started in the first place.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Red Hood and the Outlaws (2016) #19

Feb 14, 2018

It's a good story, with solid ramifications for the future of the team on many levels - not the least of which is a teammate who may be suffering from the cure to whatails him. Either way you look at it, its sure to cause some fractures down the road.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Red Hood and the Outlaws (2016) Annual #1

Aug 30, 2017

TylerKirkhams artwork is a bit sketchier here than I recall. Believe me, it getsthe job done with style and panache, but if youre a fan of heavy black inks,youre doomed to disappointment. Its all done (seemingly) with pencils andcolors, and thats not a bad thing. Sometimes, it works very effectively, as itdoes here. My only concern is that sometimes, readers regard it as a rush job,which is unfair.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Scooby Apocalypse #15

Jul 12, 2017

Perhapsso, but only if you regard it as a continuation of the original Scooby Doo cartoon. Think of it as moreof a updated reboot. Kinda likeBattlestar Galactica. The original was great in its time, but today itseems goofy and clichd. Now we have this darker, grittier version. If you canget your head around it that way, youre likely to enjoy the series. But if youprefer to regard every kernel of your childhood as some sacred in some way,its not for you.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Scooby Apocalypse #16

Aug 9, 2017

I dont know how much life remains in this book. It seems to have gone on for awhile, progressing toward a resolution at a snails pace. I'd prefer to seesome significant advancement, maybe a victory or two to revive my flagging interest.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Scooby Apocalypse #17

Sep 15, 2017

Ireally have to question how long this drawn out apocalypse will last. At somepoint it needs to be resolved, either favorably or perhaps become the newnormal. In which case, I can see our heroes prowling the badlands, trying tostay one step ahead of the monsters. Much like Ark II (look it up).

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Scooby Apocalypse #18

Oct 11, 2017

As I said before, I can only wonder at how long DC can maintain the apocalyptic storyline before it readers leave in boredom or frustration, and the book collapses from its own aimlessness. The monsters unleashed may have to take aback seat to other adventures, but that seems to be the plan for upcoming issues.

View Issue       View Full Review
3.0
Scooby Apocalypse #19

Nov 8, 2017

I consider this as a bit of a palette cleanser between more ambitious chapters of Scooby Apocalypse. But I expect to see more of these kinds of stories as the overall concept runs out of steam. After all, how long can dodge and evade remain interesting?

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Scooby Apocalypse #20

Dec 13, 2017

The issue also features a new chapter in more-realistic Secret Squirrel back-up feature. This installment is illustrated by Howard Chaykin, whose work I adore. The concept may be too similar to the Ruff & Reddy title hes currently writing, but in both instances, they work.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Scooby Apocalypse #21

Jan 10, 2018

I was always uncertain how much life Scooby Apocalypse might have, believing it to be a temporary variation on an old property. But perhaps it's more than that.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Scooby Apocalypse #22

Feb 14, 2018

I'm uncertain how long the post-apocalytpic premise of the series can survive before it runs out of steam. Establishing a haven for other survivors is a step in the right direction. Now all they need is the survivors to populate theirs tronghold. Additional supporting characters are needed.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Scooby Doo Where Are You? #83

Jul 12, 2017

Maybewith an all-ages book like Scooby Doo, Im setting the bar a little high. Butit is on such titles that artists and writers make their bones. Kudos to theartist who recognizes the opportunity to learn.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Scooby Doo Where Are You? #84

Aug 9, 2017

The artwork is a little better than I remember it being. Perhaps it is moving awayfrom the cookie-cutter assembly I mentioned an issue or two back. Even in thesimple, cartoony style presented here, I would hope an artist could present thestory is a unique, individual style. Were beginning to see some of that, and Ihope DC keeps it up.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Scooby Doo Where Are You? #85

Sep 15, 2017

Artworkif typical cartoon styling, with stock poses and figure drawing weve come toexpect from the Scooby Doo franchise. I must admit, it was one of the highpoints of James Gunns live action movies some years back. I appreciate someonewho respects the source material.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Scooby Doo Where Are You? #86

Oct 11, 2017

The bar is not set very high with all-ages books such as Scooby-Doo or Looney Tunes,and Im fine with that. As long as the stories engage the reader (however oldthey may be), I would argue, Mission accomplished. But I appreciate it whenthe writer and/or artist make an effort to elevate the material howeverslightly above the 8-year-old reading level.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Scooby Doo Where Are You? #87

Nov 8, 2017

It really is the stronger of the two stories, and I appreciated the artwork more. It reminded me of the work of long-time DC artist Kurt Schaffenberger. It may havebeen a bit more cartoony than most fans would appreciate, but Schaffenbergerhad a very distinctive style. Roberto Barrios seems to have captured a littleof that here, and thats no bad thing.

View Issue       View Full Review
2.0
Scooby Doo Where Are You? #88

Dec 13, 2017

Both stories are contrary to the concept of the play fair mystery. In both instances, details vital to solution is kept from the audience, and only the Scooby gang is privy to the information. Sure, it makes them look smart, but ifthe readers had known, we could have solved the mystery as well. Artwork is weak as well, continuing the appearance of the panels sometimes being assembled from stock images, especially in the first story.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Scooby Doo Where Are You? #89

Jan 10, 2018

As mysteries go, there's not much here to hold the interest of older fans, but there's only so much to be accomplished in each story. But to their credit, Rob M. Worley and Brett Lewis make the most of the 10 pages each is allotted. They don't rely on cheats by withholding key clues, or dumbing it down to only one suspect with a transparent motive.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Scooby Doo Where Are You? #90

Feb 14, 2018

Unfortunately,the writers sometimes dumb it down too far, expecting to write for the youngest(i.e. least sophisticated) of readers. But I appreciate it when a story aims alittle higher, intended to entertain all readers. After all, thats generallythe idea behind and all ages title.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Scooby-Doo Team-up #27

Jun 28, 2017

This a fun read, and with the likes of Woozy Winks in the mix, can Doiby Dickles be far behind. Scooby-Doo Team Up may be that repository for dormant DC heroes to get a little screen time. Kind of like Love Boat and Murder, She Wrote, employing the semi-retired.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Scooby-Doo Team-up #28

Jul 26, 2017

The artwork by Dario Brizuela is in the simple animated style you might expect. Butit serves the story effectively, and remains on-model, presenting thefamiliar cartoon characters weve known for the past half-century. Ive neverbeen a major Scooby-Doo fan, but this comic is quickly becoming one of myfavorites, and would recommend it to anyone.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Scooby-Doo Team-up #30

Sep 27, 2017

If you're fan of the way comics used to be done-in-one, this ia great title to follow.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Scooby-Doo Team-up #31

Oct 25, 2017

Dario Brizuelas artwork is more agreeable here than that of the regular ongoing Scooby-Doo, Where are You? Series. That artwork sometimes looks assembled, where as Brizuela makes an effort to drawthe guest stars as they may have been drawn by the animators of Hanna-Barbera.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Scooby-Doo Team-up #32

Nov 22, 2017

As stories go, its an epilogue that has been expanded into a needless sequel. Perhaps it should have just been a back-up featured in last issue. Something I enjoy about the Scooby books are the call backs and sub-references, be they friend or foe. I think Fisch missed an opportunity here.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Scooby-Doo Team-up #33

Dec 27, 2017

Ifyou miss the Legion, this will be an enjoyable fix until DC chooses tore-awaken its sleeping giant. Hopefully, whatever positive response this outinggenerates will lead to the Legions return to an ongoing title.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Scooby-Doo Team-up #34

Jan 24, 2018

One of the benefits of a book like this is it potentially introduces younger fans to the rich history of the DCU. Sure, they know Superman and Batman, and maybe Green Lantern and the Flash. But it features properties they might not otherwise meet, as well as some of the more obscure characters from the DC library.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Spencer & Locke #3

Jun 21, 2017

Unless I am mistaken, the conclusion comes next issue, so theres still time to hopaboard if crime fiction is your thing. But I hope its not the last we see ofSpencer & Locke. Im enjoying this ride, and regret that it may end too soon.But thank you, Pepose and Santiago, for not writing to the trade. Your work isrefreshing and I look forward to more.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Spencer & Locke #4

Jul 19, 2017

Butin a way, Im disappointed in Spencer& Locke. Disappointed that its ended, and disappointed Ill have towait indefinitely for the next installment. Perhaps four issues was too short,but Id much rather see four very well done issues, than see it padded out tomake the obligatory six most trade paperbacks are comprised of. Lower pagecount = lower price point = more sales. Thats my story and Im sticking to it.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Super Sons #6

Nov 3, 2017

Theartwork by Jimenez is good, with a touch of anim, but he steers clear of it inrendering the Titans (though Starfire hardly looks like a teen to me). Tomasisdialogue, coming from young boys, their parents, or their super-poweredteammates rings true and refreshing. Much better than thetrying-too-hard-to-sound-hip I remember from the old days.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Supergirl (2016) #13

Nov 7, 2017

But Supergirl #13 represents and end to current events, and promises a new start for Supergirl #14. Her world is turned upside down, in ways a heroshould never experience. But that just ups the ante for the Girl of Steel. Perhaps its a good time for casual fans to take a closer look.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Superwoman #12

Aug 29, 2017

Theartwork is first rate, except for one sequence when Photoshop clearly becomes acrutch, rather than a tool. Ive enjoyed both Segovias and Thiberts artwork,and they make an excellent pairing.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Teen Titans (2016) #12

Nov 7, 2017

I don't know if it genuinely advances the Nth Metal plotline any. Puzzles,victories and defeats do very little, though I suspect its early enough in the storyline that it doesnt matter much. Eventually the narrative dovetails into Nightwing #19, seemingly abandoning the Teen Titans altogether.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Teen Titans Go! #21

Aug 1, 2017

Its good tosee Teen Titans Go! is not limited toa simple corner of the DCU. References are made to HIVE and Speedy, suggestingtheres a whole other anim universe fans of the show have yet to see. Andthats okay; Id just as soon it stay that way.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Teen Titans Go! #22

Aug 2, 2017

Its good tosee Teen Titans Go! is not limited toa simple corner of the DCU. References are made to HIVE and Speedy, suggestingtheres a whole other anim universe fans of the show have yet to see. Andthats okay; Id just as soon it stay that way.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
The Black Beetle #2

Feb 12, 2013

In my opinion, the Black Beetle is the most faithful homage to the pulps since the debut of the Rocketeer. However, perhaps in another costume, he could easily be mistaken for pre-Robin Batman. I easily find the storytelling to be reminiscent of the Batman animated series. Thats a challenging level to achieve, yet Francavilla makes it look pretty easy.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
The Ruff & Reddy Show #1

Oct 25, 2017

But the glue holds it all together is the artwork of Mac Rey, whose artistic styleis clearly inspired by animation - equal parts Tex Avery and Ralph Bakshi. Ifthe first issue is any indication, animation fans are in for a hoot of run.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
The Ruff & Reddy Show #2

Nov 22, 2017

I never watched the old Ruff & Reddy cartoons; they just never appeared on myradar. So I have no point of reference for the backstory or original concept. I expect fans of the original characters would be grossly offended by this version. But thats par for the course with DC Comics these days. If you haven't read one of its books in two or three decades, youre going to find everything is different. But its not the end of the world. Its just comic books.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Ruff & Reddy Show #3

Dec 27, 2017

Imay have said this before, but Mac Reys artwork is perfect for the material.Clearly identified figures against a vague but identifiable background give theartwork an animated appearance. Id be curious to see his interpretation ofother properties, to see how he would render more traditional comic book farein a variation of this same style. I hope he sticks around and that DC is ableto find him a suitable project when this six-issue series concludes.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
The Ruff & Reddy Show #4

Jan 24, 2018

Next issue promises further developments, but for whom remains a mystery. Perhaps Pamela will be pummeled as she deserves, or maybe Ruff & Reddy will recede into retirement as we deserve. Either way, its very entertaining. And isn't that what Hollywood is all about?

View Issue       View Full Review
2.0
The Shadow (2017) #1

Aug 15, 2017

Dynamite has had mostly good fortune publishing new Shadow adventures, but those have beenwritten by people familiar with the character, who were respectful to hisroots. The Lone Ranger belongs in the Old West. Sherlock Holmes belongs inVictorian England. The Shadow belongs in gangster-era New York. This currenteffort to modernize him, and bring him up to date 75+ years later, is in myopinion, misguided.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
The Shadow/Batman #1

Sep 27, 2017

Giovanni Timpanos artwork is fine as always. Hes illustrated The Shadow for Dynamitebefore, but to my knowledge this is his first crack at Batman. I had no doubtshe could pull it off, and he did not disappoint.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Wild Storm #3

Aug 4, 2017

Iam uncertain if that is failing on the part of the writers art direction, orthe artists own storytelling abilities. Its so hard to discern when yourereading only 1/24th of the overall story.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Wild Storm #4

Aug 4, 2017

Overall,not much action. Perhaps its the calm before the Storm.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Wild Storm #5

Aug 4, 2017

Despitesuch faint praise, I must give credit to the creative team to keep the overalltone of the book consistent, and hitting their deadlines so it comes out in atimely manner. They seem to be a tight team, working well together to turn out (whatI hope will be) quality work.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Wild Storm #6

Aug 4, 2017

Nowthat we have approached something resembling a plot, Im much happier. I cantell good guys from bad, and understand their various roles within theirrespective organizations. If only this could have been done about five issuesago.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Wild Storm #7

Nov 3, 2017

Thatsnever a good strategy for writing comic books. Its its own entity, with it ownpitfalls and advantages. Yes, sequential storytelling does share similaritiesbetween comics, film, etc. Writing for one format to be executed in another is,in my opinion, setting oneself up for failure. Its not often I recommendwaiting for the trade, but this may be one of them.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Wild Storm #8

Nov 3, 2017

Huntsartwork is fine, in its simplicity, which I personally find refreshing. Toooften these days, artists and their colorists will overwork a page. He presentsthe story in basic panels with simple, clear lines. The hallucinogenic sceneswere delightfully trippy, without a lot of needless Photoshop effects to conveyits other-worldliness.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Wild Storm #9

Nov 15, 2017

Maybe my tastes are too simplistic. I do come from a generation where the good guys wore white and the bad guys wore black. Villains were evil for the sake ofbeing evil. I would prefer to see more of that here, but your mileage may vary.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Wild Storm #10

Dec 20, 2017

To be honest, its not really my cup of tea. But that doesnt mean its poorly written or a victim of bad storytelling. I realize thats damning it with faint praise, but I suggest you check it out for yourself. Just be sure to read a healthy sampling of the title. A single issue wont help you at all.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Wild Storm #11

Jan 24, 2018

This was a much better issue, as I feel some genuine narrative progress has been made. My biggest complaint with this series is its cast. Though everyone seemsto have a specific role, I am unable to remember anyone month-to-month. A refresher course regarding whos who and their relationships to others would bevery helpful.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Wolverine: Switchback #1

Jan 7, 2009

However, both stories are very far apart, visually. Pastoras work is very painterly, reminscent of Richard Corben; Does seems more in an animated style, akin to a mix between anime and Brad Bird. Both are stylish and engaging.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Wonder Woman (2016) #30

Nov 6, 2017

Ido appreciate David Messinas artwork. Its light and lyrical, yet at the sametime he conveys action and drama very effectively. Saida Temofontes letteringseems a bit girly for me, but thats just my personal observation. In a storywith quasi-military groups, I just expect something a but more utilitarian.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Wonder Woman/Conan #1

Nov 6, 2017

There's no shortage of action or battle, and both characters seem to true to themselvesas I remember them. Gail Simone has been writing Red Sonja, so Conan is hardlya great leap. The artwork is appropriately dynamic, especially the fight scenes, and seems designed to engage the reader from the get-go " something Iexpect from a pro like Simone.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Wonder Woman/Conan #2

Nov 6, 2017

No doubt next issue will bring additional answers and explanations. Rather than waste a lot of energy trying to figure out why from the start, its easy tosimply trust that all will be revealed in due time, but for now, its fun to just sit back and enjoy the ride.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Wonder Woman/Conan #3

Nov 15, 2017

Overall the series demonstrates a lot of promise to Conan and Wonder Woman fans alike.Its not too late to jump on this series and ride it to the end. Sure, you could wait for the trade paperback, but if more readers fail to support themonthlies, the publishers have little reason to repackage for the trade.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Wonder Woman/Conan #4

Dec 20, 2017

Two more issues are left in this series, which seems a shame. It is my hope that DC and Dark Horse will revisit the idea from time to time. But not too often. DC has returned to the well that is Watchmen and Dark Knight Returns so often,they've run dry. I'd hate to see that happen here.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Wonder Woman/Conan #5

Jan 17, 2018

I'm almost saddened to see this series end, though when collected into trade format, I'm sure it will be a satisfying read for fans of both Conan and Wonder Woman. Perhaps it should have been published in trade format to begin with.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Wonder Woman/Tasmanian Devil Special #1

Jul 13, 2017

Icant say when Ive seen wonder Woman look lovelier. As rendered by Kitson andFloyd, she has a Jennifer Connolly/Linda Rondstadt appearance I find delightful.The back-up feature, which stars a more traditional Tasmanian Devil, is achallenging rhyme of the Trojan War as seen through a Looney Tunes lens. Itfeatures cameos from other cartoon characters, with homages toward some classic(and not-so-classic) moments.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for
the Week of...

February

January

More