Philip Schweier's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Comic Book Bin Reviews: 84
6.6Avg. Review Rating

4.0
Action Comics (2016) #983

Jul 12, 2017

I wontspoil the ending, though I may not need to. Anyone who follows comic books forany length of time knows you can rely on a villain to do one thing: servehimself. I just hope the next chapter isnt so predictable.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Action Comics (2016) #986

Aug 23, 2017

GuillemMarchs artwork reminds me of that of Mark Badger back in the 1980s.Thankfully, more detailed, but that could be a result of current technology.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Action Comics (2016) #987

Sep 15, 2017

As I said,expect to be surprised, with the secret origin of Mr. Oz promised for nextissue. But what that means for the Man of Steel in the future remains to seen.I anticipate a crisis of conscience, perhaps a Bryan Singer-like attack on an emotional level, or maybe a fight between two powerful super-beings. Lets keepour fingers crossed its blend of both.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Astro City (2013) #44

Aug 8, 2017

Theart by Rick Leonardi and Ande Parks is terrific. Im used to seeing Parksinking Phil Hesters work. As much as his inks compliment Hesters work, itsclear here that he is not beholden to any one penciler. Parks inks makeanybodys pencils look better, without obscuring what makes them unique.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Astro City (2013) #45

Aug 8, 2017

Brent Anderson is back at the drawing board, still channeling his inner Neal Adams(not that thats a bad thing), but he seems to have added a layer of Jos LuisGarcia Lopez. But above it all is a style that makes Andersons work stand on its own merits.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Batgirl and the Birds of Prey #12

Aug 29, 2017

Theartwork is fine. Its easy for some artists to fall into the trap of renderingthe perfect female form every time, but to his credit, Antonio avoids theclich. He draws his women as they might appear in real life, with a variety ofbody types, offering veritas to his figure drawing.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Batgirl and the Birds of Prey #13

Aug 29, 2017

Again,Paquettes cover seems too photo-influenced. Im sure its something that hasbeen done for decades, but here it appears to be painfully obvious. As an artdirector I used to work for once told a client, If you want somethingphoto-realistic, then take a photo. Leave the drawing out of it.Unfortunately, Marvel beat DC to the cosplay cover idea.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Batman '66 Meets The Legion Of Super-Heroes #1

Jul 19, 2017

I just wishDC had used this era Legion with the original Star Trek crossover that waspublished a few years back.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Batman Beyond (2016) #9

Jun 28, 2017

That's what I like about the future of the DC Universe. It's not so beholden to the NOW of the DCU, and has the freedom to become its own entity, free from the constraints of current continuity. Batman Beyond is one of the few bright spots in DC's current roster of titles.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Batman Beyond (2016) #10

Jul 26, 2017

I appreciate Bernard Chang's artwork, perhaps in part because it reminds me Howard Chaykin. Chaykin has a distinctive style, which Chang seems to have taken and refined. I see this mostly in terms of layout than in actual rendering, though it does appear there's a bit of a swipe once in a while.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Batman Beyond (2016) #11

Aug 22, 2017

But Ill behonest " after three issues of fisticuffs, Im a wee bit tired, and am lookingforward to dozing on the flying car ride back to Gotham City. Perhaps afterthis epic, Jurgens should craft a couple of done-in-ones, to give new arrivalsthe chance to catch up.

View Issue       View Full Review
3.0
Batman/The Shadow #3

Jun 28, 2017

I'm disappointed. This series has sunk into the realm of gimmick, perhaps goosingthe sales of Dynamites Shadow comics for a time, and providing DC with amiddling excuse to reprint Batmans previous encounters with The Shadow (Batman #253 and 259). Whether DC willfollow through on that overdue promise remains to be seen.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Batman/The Shadow #4

Jul 26, 2017

Idexpected the series to run four issues, and would have been happy with that.But it appears to be running six. More is better, but not if its more of thesuper-hero team-up clichs weve seen for several generations.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Batman/The Shadow #5

Aug 23, 2017

Someof my fellow Shadow fans have commented in the negative regarding the artwork,but I find it stylish in the same manner as the much-revered Mike Kaluta Shadowof the 1970s. Not that Rossmo is emulating Kaluta, but I think both have astyle that works. Where Rossmo fails is not in his rendering style, but in hisdepiction of The Shadow. It seems to Rossmo, The Shadow is simply a guy in hatand long cloak; a common super-hero. He fails to add and maintain the layer ofmystery that has captivated Shadow fans for decades.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Batwoman (2017) #4

Aug 15, 2017

Eptings artwork is perfect for the series. I like the way he reanders his figures, giving them a lightness, while making them look grounded, rather than simply digitally pasted against a backdrop. Im not familiar with other series he may haveworked on, but the veteran sensibilities and experience show in his work.

View Issue       View Full Review
1.0
Cave Carson Has A Cybernetic Eye #9

Jun 21, 2017

So far, it hasn't been worth it. Cave Carson has a Cybernetic Eye has been a miserable experience for me, one I hope never to repeat. If were not my job, I would not read it.

View Issue       View Full Review
3.0
Cave Carson Has A Cybernetic Eye #10

Jul 19, 2017

The artworkis still somewhat muddled. I blame it on the garish colors and the bendaypatterns throughout. They are distracting, and I am uncertain how much of theaction (if any) takes place above ground. Ive liked Michael Avon Oemings artwork in the past, but here, not so much. In fairness, some of it may beattributed to Nick Filardis coloring. Which just goes to show how much of animpact one has on the other.

View Issue       View Full Review
2.0
Cyborg (2016) #14

Jul 5, 2017

Will Conrad is back at the drawing board, and that's a good thing. However, there is one character introduced that seems so obviously based on Alfre Woodard. In general, I like his art, and I like the digital effects he uses " sparingly " to convey Cyborg's optical input. I feel it's effective, but that's not a license to go crazy with it.

View Issue       View Full Review
2.0
Cyborg (2016) #15

Aug 2, 2017

It is so utterly lacking in originality. Rather than present a remarkable re-interpretation of Cyborg's 21st century potential in the Digital Age, instead it falls so easily into over-used plot devices and clichs.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Cyborg (2016) #16

Sep 6, 2017

Artwork has been serviceable. Sure, that's faint praise, but my expectations are low where Cyborg is concerned. But as the scope of the book grows, longtime artists such as Allan Jefferson and Will Conrad seem up to the challenge.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
DC Bombshells #29

Aug 9, 2017

Its a uniqueseries for DC, taking place outside the usual continuity. This allows a broader sense of freedom, and the luxury of telling great stories without the constriction of editorial mandates.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
DC Bombshells #30

Aug 9, 2017

Theartwork here is, in my opinion, perfect. Sometimes, depending on the subjectmatter, I appreciate greater stylization from the artists, but just as often Ienjoy what might be called a house style. If DC Comics has a house style, Iwould consider it something reminiscent of Dick Giordano and Jos Luis GarciaLopez. Not a bad combo, and the art staff for Bombshells seems to hit the targethere.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
DC Bombshells #31

Aug 9, 2017

But inaddition to Killer Frosts origin, we also come to understand Faorasmotivations, and her ambitions post-Krypton. Excessive dialogue during fightscenes is also a no-no in my book. Ive been to the movies; dialogue only worksin a fight scene if people are not moving.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
DC Bombshells #32

Aug 9, 2017

Were I incontrol, I would modify the costume designs, away from evening dresses and highheels. I would also reduce the amount of dialogue when practical, especially inthe heavier action scenes. Suffice tosay, its a series best read in small, monthly bites. I fear it wont age wellwhen repackaged for the trade edition.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
DC Bombshells #33

Aug 16, 2017

I dont wantto appear overly critical of the book. I must acknowledge I am handicapped bycoming in late, but perhaps its just not the book for me. I appreciate theconcept, but it hasnt played out as I expected.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Detective Comics (2016) #958

Aug 18, 2017

Naturally,for a bat-book, there is a lot of black. Paul Fernandez no doubt has a delicatebalancing act to achieve, but he very capably aided and abetted by BradAndersons colors.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Detective Comics (2016) #959

Aug 18, 2017

Butthe art is otherwise remarkably strong. As I said before, its been ages sinceI read a Batman title, and Im very much enjoying this one so far. There may beextenuating circumstances, and the rug may be pulled out from under myenthusiasm, but Ill cross that bridge if/when I come to it.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Detective Comics (2016) #960

Aug 22, 2017

Imenjoying the story, but Id enjoy it more if it were weighed down by needlessbaggage. But I suppose thats what titles such as Batman, or All-Star Batman arefor. I am reminded this is the 25th anniversary of Batman: The Animated Series. Perhaps Ishould dig out my DVDs and enjoy a few episodes.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Detective Comics (2016) #962

Aug 22, 2017

Butthe art team of Martinez and Fernandez performed magnificently, renderingelements both technological and magical with equal skill. But most artists willtell you, designing such requires more imagination than skill. What is morechallenging to any artist is drawing the human form and all the mundane thingsit shares the world with: cars, buildings, animals, etc. But Im confident theycan do that too.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Everafter #8

Jul 25, 2017

Ihavent been following Fables, but #8 makes the perfect jumping on point fornew readers. It offers a primer of some of the peripheral characters (at least,I think theyre peripheral). But they clearly play a key role, if not now, thenin the future.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Everafter #9

Jul 25, 2017

Havingthe opportunity to read several chapters at one sitting has given me newappreciation for the series. Allow that to be a wake-up call for the comicsindustry in general, that more compressed storytelling has greater appeal thanextended narratives to eventually be re-packaged into a trade paperback. Heresa thought: release the trade first,then divvy it into chapters for those whod rather pay a few dollars a monththan $20-30 all at once.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Everafter #10

Jul 25, 2017

Itsa good story, but has deviated heavily from the one I expected two issues ago:that of a secret task force that handles magical crises, sort of a sorcerersSWAT team. I could easily see such an idea optioned for television, were it notfor too many elements of other magic/supernatural based shows. But thats okay;Ive found a new title to add to to my pull list.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Gotham Academy: Second Semester #11

Jul 12, 2017

The art iswonderful, and shows what can happen when DC Editorial is willing to let go ofthe wheel and allow the creative team free reign to be creative. So it doesntsurprise me when the books that DC exerts the greatest control over " highprofile properties like Superman and Batman " are suffering, while lesser knowntitles such as Gotham Academy areflying under the radar and demonstrating how great comic books can be.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Gotham Academy: Second Semester #12

Aug 9, 2017

But GothamAcademy has been a liberal mixture of Harry Potter, Scooby Doo andInsert-Anim-Show-Here. The artwork is head and shoulders above most comics ingeneral, seemingly designed to appeal to anim fans. When the series iscollected into a trade paperback, it will be a terrific opportunity to sharewith the young comic fan in your life.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Green Lanterns #26

Jul 5, 2017

My only disappointmentis that the two Green Lantern titles are not so tightly bound to one another.The impact of one is not felt in the other, and I would like to see a muchgreater cohesiveness between the two series.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Green Lanterns #27

Jul 19, 2017

After 25issues of Sam Humphries writing, it pleases me to see how he has continuallykept Green Lanterns fresh, always headingin new directions and never " to my recollection " repeating himself. Icome from an era when comic book writers stayed on a book indefinitely, andHumphries seems inclined to stay as long as DCs readership will have him.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Green Lanterns #28

Aug 2, 2017

But I do enjoy a good time travel story, especially when it incorporates elements of the DC Universe at large. Civilizations such as Krypton and Tamaran are given theirdue. Though it would explain why Simon and Jessica are absent from the currentgoings on in the pages of Hal Jordan andthe Green Lantern Corps.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Green Lanterns #29

Aug 16, 2017

The artworkis typical for what weve come to expect from the series, as Pansica and Ferreiradevelop a firmer grasp on depicting the near-magical scope of the power rings,as well as the cosmos at large. Humphries, however, may have stumbled into arut, saying that a GL needs to have imagination in their constructs. But hisloop hole is not so much him saying it, as having Jessica (a less experiencedGL) say it.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Green Lanterns #30

Sep 6, 2017

But even asthe story continues, Im ready for it to end. Its one of the things I hateabout modern comics, how the publishers insist on six-issue story arcs so theycan be repackaged for the trade paperback format. Such a strategy has no doubtkept some wonderful shorter stories from ever being told. Or if they wereprinted, they were padded, and thereby neutered.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Hal Jordan And The Green Lantern Corps #24

Jul 12, 2017

Perhaps itstime to, as the rings say, scan for a replacement.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Hal Jordan And The Green Lantern Corps #25

Jul 26, 2017

My onlyregret is the complete disconnect with the GreenLanterns title featuring Simon Baz and Jessica Cruz. The Corps as a wholewas featured in recent issues of that title, but the entire Sinestro CorpsAlliance was ignored, just as Simon and Jessicas presence on Mogo was ignoredin Hal Jordan.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Hal Jordan And The Green Lantern Corps #27

Aug 23, 2017

This issuefeatures everyone " Hal, John, Guy and Kyle, all in key roles, as well as otherGLs, and even a few former Sinestro Corps members. But thats okay. Noteveryone followed Soranik out the door a few issues back. Though perhaps not asstrong as they once were, the GLs have a tough mission ahead, but as Hal saystoward the end, All systems go.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Harley Quinn (2016) #22

Jun 21, 2017

Its thestart of a new plotline from Palmiotti & Conner. While Ive been criticalof their SNL-skit-that-goes-on-too-long qualities, I must give them credit forkeeping their story arcs relatively short and tolerable. Writing for the trade?Fuggediboutit!

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Harley Quinn (2016) #23

Jul 5, 2017

And in ourback-up feature, its a return to the old days, when Harley was partnered withMr. J. Though in this storyline shes keeping a few secrets from him, mostlyconcerning their new digs and all the major renovations shes putting into it.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Harley Quinn (2016) #24

Jul 19, 2017

I enjoyedthis story arc more than most. I found it relatable, and Harley (for once)seemed to have a reasonable goal. I dont object to a lack of reason; she isthe notorious Harley Quinn. But there was less insanity, chaos for the sake ofchaos.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Harley Quinn (2016) #26

Aug 23, 2017

WhetherHarley will ever genuinely take a place on the side of the angels remains to beseen. Shes a highly marketable anti-hero that has lost her criminal edge.Sure, she may still knock over the occasional bank or two, but its all in goodfun. No one gets hurt (much), and besides, she really needs the cash. Shes got big plans comin up.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Harley Quinn (2016) #27

Sep 7, 2017

For newreaders, next issue might be the perfect jumping-on point, as Harley and hergang take a run at public office. Could politics get any crazier?

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Jonah Hex/Yosemite Sam Special #1

Jul 13, 2017

Say what you will with about these DC-Looney Tunes pairings, but I prefer to thinkof them as good food. The right mix, the right people, and even the mostunlikely combination can work on many levels.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Justice League / Power Rangers #4

Jul 13, 2017

Theartwork is fun, if a bit dark. I appreciate how Stephen Byrne renders hischaracters in classic poses, reinforcing the iconic nature of these legendaryheroes. Thankfully, it does not descend into caricature, an easy pitfall forthe best of artists.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Justice League / Power Rangers #5

Aug 9, 2017

The artwork is stellar, though not heavily detailed, but I'm okay for the mostpart. There are a couple of instances where it seemed something was left out,perhaps the penciler expected the inker to finish it. But that can be fixed forthe trade. Some artists will meticulously delineate every leaf on every tree,every shard of glass, every brick in a wall. As someone who graduated from art school, Im here to tell you, thats not talent; its merely patience.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Lobo/Road Runner Special #1

Jul 13, 2017

Its a fun read, and kudos to Bill Morrison for pulling it off. Figuring out a wayto feature characters from such widely differing universes cant be easy, butMorrison did very well. The main story features the artwork of Kelly Jones,which seems an odd choice, but given the storys EC overtones, maybe not.Jones work has always evoked that style, without copying it too closely.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Mother Panic #8

Jun 28, 2017

Meanwhile,in our back-up feature yet another bat-themed vigilante arrives on the scene,but for how long? Gotham Radio may be close to unmasking the Dark Knight. Imreally enjoying the return of a back-up feature to comic books. More writersshould be challenged to write in this compressed format, and compelled todeliver in a handful of pages what they may be accustomed to delivering in anentire comic.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Mother Panic #9

Jul 26, 2017

Meanwhile, the back-up feature, Gotham Radio, continues. It features an innovative layout that I genuinely appreciate. However, its the sort of method that must beused judiciously in order to be effective. On a three-age feature, it worksvery well. In a longer format, perhaps not so much.

View Issue       View Full Review
2.0
Mother Panic #10

Aug 23, 2017

I enjoy Shawn Crystals artwork, but Im not sure this is the right project for it. It almost has an EC/Jack Davis quality, so Im not sure what would be a better place. Regardless, Mother Panic is on the verge of committing the cardinal sin of comic books: its becoming boring. I'd like to see the creative team step things up, lay Vis old demons to rest, and stop wallowing in this pit of childhood trauma.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Newsboy Legion & The Boy Commandos Special #1

Aug 9, 2017

The artwork is classic Chaykin, but what makes the story sing in places is the coloring. Wil Quintana conveys the bright lights of Broadway, or the blackouts of Paris, with amazing effectiveness. His work also elevates Chaykin's rendering, which despite for 30 year admiration for his work, is not always the best. Nevertheless, I wish for Chaykin and Quintana to do a book of Damon Runyon tales in comic book form.

View Issue       View Full Review
2.0
Nightwing (2016) #23

Jun 21, 2017

Its not a good time to be a DC fan. If this is how they treat one of their longest lasting characters, it makes me wish he had died in one of the many Crises.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Nightwing (2016) #24

Jul 5, 2017

The endingis somewhat clichd. Its a common cliffhanger weve seen many time before, andwill no doubt see again. But Im comfortable with that so long as the entirestory does not hinge upon it. Future issues will tell.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Nightwing (2016) #25

Jul 19, 2017

But Nightwing is a good title when thesetting stays in Bludhaven. This issue allowed a controversial ongoing plotpoint to be laid to rest, thereby opening the paths to which the story mayfollow. It has potential to be a great book. Hopefully this new beginning willallow it to be.

View Issue       View Full Review
3.0
Nightwing (2016) #26

Aug 2, 2017

I find it tiresome to see this kind of content in comic books. I see it on the news, andin my local paper, and the Internet, and I hear of it from friends and acquaintances. I read comic books to escape from this stuff. Cant they just feature some good old-fashioned good guys vs. bad guys? If I wanted a sermon on corporate evil, Id read Green Arrow.

View Issue       View Full Review
3.0
Nightwing (2016) #27

Aug 16, 2017

The wholestory reads like a story originally intended for Grayson, but the when the pluggot pulled on that book, the unused script was retasked for publication at alater date. Not a high-point for any comic book.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Odyssey of the Amazons #4

Aug 8, 2017

The artwork is perfect, evoking my teen memories of several comic fantasy artists.He seems to have taken the designs of John Buscema, the textures of Joe Kubert,and the figure drawing of Gil Kane, and blended them into a unique style thatseems both new and familiar at the same time.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Odyssey of the Amazons #5

Aug 8, 2017

Another reason is it tells a story featuring strong, likeable characters. Not strong ina physical sense, but strong as in solid-from-the-ground-up. People may thinkits great that these are empowered women characters, but honestly, their gender doesnt matter to me. Male or female, they have depth, and thats farmore important.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Red Hood and the Outlaws (2016) Annual #1

Aug 30, 2017

TylerKirkhams artwork is a bit sketchier here than I recall. Believe me, it getsthe job done with style and panache, but if youre a fan of heavy black inks,youre doomed to disappointment. Its all done (seemingly) with pencils andcolors, and thats not a bad thing. Sometimes, it works very effectively, as itdoes here. My only concern is that sometimes, readers regard it as a rush job,which is unfair.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Scooby Apocalypse #15

Jul 12, 2017

Perhapsso, but only if you regard it as a continuation of the original Scooby Doo cartoon. Think of it as moreof a updated reboot. Kinda likeBattlestar Galactica. The original was great in its time, but today itseems goofy and clichd. Now we have this darker, grittier version. If you canget your head around it that way, youre likely to enjoy the series. But if youprefer to regard every kernel of your childhood as some sacred in some way,its not for you.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Scooby Apocalypse #16

Aug 9, 2017

I dont know how much life remains in this book. It seems to have gone on for awhile, progressing toward a resolution at a snails pace. I'd prefer to seesome significant advancement, maybe a victory or two to revive my flagging interest.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Scooby Apocalypse #17

Sep 15, 2017

Ireally have to question how long this drawn out apocalypse will last. At somepoint it needs to be resolved, either favorably or perhaps become the newnormal. In which case, I can see our heroes prowling the badlands, trying tostay one step ahead of the monsters. Much like Ark II (look it up).

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Scooby Doo Where Are You? #83

Jul 12, 2017

Maybewith an all-ages book like Scooby Doo, Im setting the bar a little high. Butit is on such titles that artists and writers make their bones. Kudos to theartist who recognizes the opportunity to learn.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Scooby Doo Where Are You? #84

Aug 9, 2017

The artwork is a little better than I remember it being. Perhaps it is moving awayfrom the cookie-cutter assembly I mentioned an issue or two back. Even in thesimple, cartoony style presented here, I would hope an artist could present thestory is a unique, individual style. Were beginning to see some of that, and Ihope DC keeps it up.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Scooby Doo Where Are You? #85

Sep 15, 2017

Artworkif typical cartoon styling, with stock poses and figure drawing weve come toexpect from the Scooby Doo franchise. I must admit, it was one of the highpoints of James Gunns live action movies some years back. I appreciate someonewho respects the source material.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Scooby-Doo Team-up #27

Jun 28, 2017

This a fun read, and with the likes of Woozy Winks in the mix, can Doiby Dickles be far behind. Scooby-Doo Team Up may be that repository for dormant DC heroes to get a little screen time. Kind of like Love Boat and Murder, She Wrote, employing the semi-retired.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Scooby-Doo Team-up #28

Jul 26, 2017

The artwork by Dario Brizuela is in the simple animated style you might expect. Butit serves the story effectively, and remains on-model, presenting thefamiliar cartoon characters weve known for the past half-century. Ive neverbeen a major Scooby-Doo fan, but this comic is quickly becoming one of myfavorites, and would recommend it to anyone.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Spencer & Locke #3

Jun 21, 2017

Unless I am mistaken, the conclusion comes next issue, so theres still time to hopaboard if crime fiction is your thing. But I hope its not the last we see ofSpencer & Locke. Im enjoying this ride, and regret that it may end too soon.But thank you, Pepose and Santiago, for not writing to the trade. Your work isrefreshing and I look forward to more.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Spencer & Locke #4

Jul 19, 2017

Butin a way, Im disappointed in Spencer& Locke. Disappointed that its ended, and disappointed Ill have towait indefinitely for the next installment. Perhaps four issues was too short,but Id much rather see four very well done issues, than see it padded out tomake the obligatory six most trade paperbacks are comprised of. Lower pagecount = lower price point = more sales. Thats my story and Im sticking to it.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Superwoman #12

Aug 29, 2017

Theartwork is first rate, except for one sequence when Photoshop clearly becomes acrutch, rather than a tool. Ive enjoyed both Segovias and Thiberts artwork,and they make an excellent pairing.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Teen Titans Go! #21

Aug 1, 2017

Its good tosee Teen Titans Go! is not limited toa simple corner of the DCU. References are made to HIVE and Speedy, suggestingtheres a whole other anim universe fans of the show have yet to see. Andthats okay; Id just as soon it stay that way.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Teen Titans Go! #22

Aug 2, 2017

Its good tosee Teen Titans Go! is not limited toa simple corner of the DCU. References are made to HIVE and Speedy, suggestingtheres a whole other anim universe fans of the show have yet to see. Andthats okay; Id just as soon it stay that way.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
The Black Beetle #2

Feb 12, 2013

In my opinion, the Black Beetle is the most faithful homage to the pulps since the debut of the Rocketeer. However, perhaps in another costume, he could easily be mistaken for pre-Robin Batman. I easily find the storytelling to be reminiscent of the Batman animated series. Thats a challenging level to achieve, yet Francavilla makes it look pretty easy.

View Issue       View Full Review
2.0
The Shadow (2017) #1

Aug 15, 2017

Dynamite has had mostly good fortune publishing new Shadow adventures, but those have beenwritten by people familiar with the character, who were respectful to hisroots. The Lone Ranger belongs in the Old West. Sherlock Holmes belongs inVictorian England. The Shadow belongs in gangster-era New York. This currenteffort to modernize him, and bring him up to date 75+ years later, is in myopinion, misguided.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Wild Storm #3

Aug 4, 2017

Iam uncertain if that is failing on the part of the writers art direction, orthe artists own storytelling abilities. Its so hard to discern when yourereading only 1/24th of the overall story.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Wild Storm #4

Aug 4, 2017

Overall,not much action. Perhaps its the calm before the Storm.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Wild Storm #5

Aug 4, 2017

Despitesuch faint praise, I must give credit to the creative team to keep the overalltone of the book consistent, and hitting their deadlines so it comes out in atimely manner. They seem to be a tight team, working well together to turn out (whatI hope will be) quality work.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Wild Storm #6

Aug 4, 2017

Nowthat we have approached something resembling a plot, Im much happier. I cantell good guys from bad, and understand their various roles within theirrespective organizations. If only this could have been done about five issuesago.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Wolverine: Switchback #1

Jan 7, 2009

However, both stories are very far apart, visually. Pastoras work is very painterly, reminscent of Richard Corben; Does seems more in an animated style, akin to a mix between anime and Brad Bird. Both are stylish and engaging.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Wonder Woman/Tasmanian Devil Special #1

Jul 13, 2017

Icant say when Ive seen wonder Woman look lovelier. As rendered by Kitson andFloyd, she has a Jennifer Connolly/Linda Rondstadt appearance I find delightful.The back-up feature, which stars a more traditional Tasmanian Devil, is achallenging rhyme of the Trojan War as seen through a Looney Tunes lens. Itfeatures cameos from other cartoon characters, with homages toward some classic(and not-so-classic) moments.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for
the Week of...

September

August

More