Deadman #1

Writer: Neal Adams Artist: Neal Adams Publisher: DC Comics Release Date: November 1, 2017 Cover Price: $3.99 Critic Reviews: 14 User Reviews: 4
5.8Critic Rating
5.6User Rating

+ Pull List

"Journey into Death" part one! When we last left Deadman, the true story had barely begun! Deadman's death was unsolved, and his fate was intertwined with that of his parents and siblings. Even the Dark Night Detective couldn't solve the mysteries of Boston Brand's fantastic secrets! Now, Batman is back, confronting Deadman about who was really behind his death. Was Boston Brand's assassination a test for the League of Assassins? Why does Batman think Ra's al Ghul was involved? And why does Deadman need the help of Zatanna, Phantom Stranger, Dr. Fate and the Spectre to defend Nanda Parbat?
RATED T+

  • 9.0
    DC Comics News - Matthew Lloyd Nov 2, 2017

    Deadman has always been a bit of an offbeat character, and Adams utilizes this to the best of his ability. Adams recreates the feel of those original stories masterfully while creating a new mystery for Boston Brand to solve. Read Full Review

  • 9.0
    Comics: The Gathering - Batmanaruto Nov 1, 2017

    In conclusion, it was a solid first issue, which only really suffers from a confusing beginning. Neal Adams also does the art, and although slightly dated it is still well done. I’m really intrigued to see how this story will continue. Read Full Review

  • 9.0
    SciFiPulse - Patrick Hayes Nov 6, 2017

    Recommended for fans of Deadman, Neal Adams, or those who just want a good book. The story's got action and surprises, while the visuals are top of the line work from an iconic comic book creator. If only this Deadman went beyond six issues. Read Full Review

  • 7.5
    The Pop Break - Nov 2, 2017

    I have to stop there so I dont spoil too much. Obviously pick up this issue to learn why Boston was killed, who took Gordons place, and what happens with the hook and Gordon. Oh, and also to know how this tale eventually ends. Overall I enjoyed this, it was so full of action I had a hard time following the main story because I wanted to skip to the possessions and fights. Thats not a bad thing in my opinion, and I think any DC fan already knows who the fake Jim Gordon was. Pick up this issue at your local comic shop. Read Full Review

  • 7.0
    Weird Science - Reggie Hemingway Nov 1, 2017

    Only those hep to the jive of a Neal Adams solo jam will enjoy this, but BOY will you enjoy it! The art seems tighter than usual, but best of all is the mind-bending story that neatly contains a full history of Deadman. Now to get all that into one comic book is a feat in and of itself. Read Full Review

  • 7.0
    Impulse Gamer - Andrew Bistak Nov 4, 2017

    Deadman #1 is off to an interesting start but be warned if you like your comics wordy, this issue is definitely that, however the legendary Neil Adams successfully brings his A-game to this comic with his fantastic art! Read Full Review

  • 6.0
    Comic Book Bin - Philip Schweier Nov 1, 2017

    Having written and drawn new Batman, Superman, and now Deadman stories in the past 10years, I guess its only a matter of time before Adams resurrects the GreenLantern/Green Arrow adventures from the early 1970s. Like I said, his newer efforts are often hit-or-miss, but always interesting. Read Full Review

  • 6.0
    Capeless Crusader - Jeremy Radick Nov 1, 2017

    Deadman #1 feels much more like the Neal Adams of "Batman: Odyssey" than the original Deadman run. It's a first issue that features deeply clunky dialogue, confusing characterization and convoluted plotting. And yet, you can't deny that there's something underneath all the flaws that could be good. There's no denying that Deadman #1 is deeply, deeply flawed. But there's also no denying that a book with Adams' name on it will never be totally without value. Read Full Review

  • 5.0
    CourtOfNerds - Grant Stoye Nov 1, 2017

    All the stars were aligned for this to be a killer series: the heat from the previous Deadman mini, Adams open love for the character, and a promise to put Deadman front and center. And yet this issues cons outnumber the pros, leaving some uncertainty heading into the second one. Maybe I'm being overly critical because I bet longtime fans of both Adams and Boston will really enjoy this - it has the hallmarks of vintage Deadman comics, but this issue just didn't sit well with me and leaves me nervous about the rest of the series. Read Full Review

  • 4.5
    Bleeding Cool - Joshua Davison Nov 2, 2017

    Unfortunately, the strong artwork of Neil Adams doesnt make up for how impossible it is to piece the story together. Even if one can interpret something from this reading, it is a shallow tale at best. Despite an appreciation for both Adams and Deadman, I cant recommend this one. Give it a pass. Read Full Review

  • 4.0
    Big Comic Page - Indiana “Indy” Marlow Nov 2, 2017

    This is definitely one for the fans, but Im just not sure about its appeal for anyone else. Read Full Review

  • 3.5
    Batman-News - Jay Yaws Nov 1, 2017

    Both over-written and under-plotted, this is a huge missed opportunity. Almost every aspect of this issue fails, from the convoluted story to the awful dialogue to the disappointing artwork. Adams has a well-earned pedigree and legacy, but that just makes the outcome of a book like this that much more disappointing. Had there been a solid writer even just assisting with the script, this might have turned out pretty well. Instead, it has the trappings of a vanity project that evokes other, equally disappointing series. On #DayOfTheDeadman, he deserves so much better. Read Full Review

  • 2.0
    Comic Bastards - Justin McCarty Nov 1, 2017

    This was also a missed opportunity to bring new readers to an obscure third tier hero. Number ones invite you to try a book, and I'm an easy sell on a number one. It's chance to start from the beginning; there's no baggage to confuse you. This book would immediately turn off anyone wishing to try it that isn't already a superfan. It's also the kind of storytelling that turns off non-comic readers. Read Full Review

  • 2.0
    AiPT! - Andrew Wheeler Nov 15, 2017

    All the ingredients to a great story with amazing characters are all here in Deadman issue 1, but unfortunately the execution was a monstrous disaster and disappointment. The art was amazing and a joy to stare at but it wasn't enough to make up for the what was written. Read Full Review

  • 5.0
    READ RUMBLE Nov 2, 2017

    Man..really was disappointed with this. The glow in the dark cover was pretty cool though.

  • 7.0
    Rick Jonez Nov 6, 2017

    Pretty much agree with "Comics: The Gathering - Batmanaruto Nov 1, 2017 In conclusion, it was a solid first issue, which only really suffers from a confusing beginning. Neal Adams also does the art, and although slightly dated it is still well done. I’m really intrigued to see how this story will continue." but would only give it a 7 for the same reasons.

  • 6.0
    Spock's Brain Nov 9, 2017

    Well, I do not know what the fuck that was, but i am perplexed by "Deadman" #1. The art is as-advertised Neal Adams, but the plot was incomprehensible. That being said, I'll be back for issue #2. It is Neal Adams, after all. Note: I've adjusted my score from 5.0 to 6.0 (after about a week) because the more I think about it, the more I am actually looking forward to the next issue, as much of a mess as this is.

  • 4.5
    SurvivedCloneSaga Nov 5, 2017

Reviews for
the Week of...

November

October

More