Paul Smerdon's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Shoot The Breeze Comics, Comic Watch Reviews: 58
7.9Avg. Review Rating

8.0
Cable (2017) #152

Jan 2, 2018

The butterfly effect, or rather, the idea that one tiny choice is a cataclysm for a whole new future, is the premise of this arc. It's interesting to see how Cable will make it through these issues.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.8
Cable (2017) #153

Feb 1, 2018

Cable has put together a Team of X from different periods in time to stop the Externals from being killed. Will Shatterstar, X-23, Doop, Armor and Longshot survive the experience? Will the Externals still fall?

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Clue #1

Aug 13, 2017

So candlestick, rope lead pipe, revolver, wrench or knife equals another twist as the story is to be continued. Murder was defiantly on some bodys agenda this evening and I intend to find out who as the story pans out.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Clue #2

Aug 23, 2017

The story is deep and well thought out I really enjoy seeing what ties and makes the characters tick and the Butler is makes the journey a lot of fun amongst of the mayhem.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Clue #4

Sep 14, 2017

This miniseries goes from strength to strength and continues to shock me with a great story which give the reader something fresh to read.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Clue #5

Nov 4, 2017

I look forward to reading the final revelation of why this all had to happen in nexts Months finale and I hope you will join me.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Clue #6

Nov 26, 2017

What a finale Clue is a true masterpiece and reinvents the wheel on murder mysteries, I just hope we do see a round two in the future from this talented team at IDW.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Deadman (2017) #1

Nov 21, 2017

This issue is mind blowing and sense a real twisted masterpiece on the cards with this one. Neal Adams breaths back life into a complicated character, well written and amazing art which one would expect.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
First Strike #1

Sep 10, 2017

I enjoyed the fact we had an extra few pages after the main story showing why Colton planning this war on the cybertronians.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
First Strike #2

Sep 17, 2017

Do you know what I love about this War, is Joe and his team of Villains even wrong, if giant robots put a flag on earth would we want to be part of their galactic universe waiting to be swatted like a bug with a newspaper.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
First Strike #3

Sep 17, 2017

Issue three of the story is pretty awesome and as I read it everything flowed. I enjoyed the well timed humour. Seeing the different teams both good and evil having similar difficulties as they merge as one team was pretty cool. I always fell like the lines are going to be blurred for both teams as the war continues I look forward to witnessing further twists.The extra tale at the end of the issue is always something I look forward to as well reading the origins of Evil.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
First Strike #4

Sep 29, 2017

The art almost feels like I am watching an animation show it is visually beautiful.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
First Strike #5

Oct 13, 2017

Another great tale as IDW bring the perfect crossover towards the final curtain.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
First Strike #6

Oct 26, 2017

I really enjoyed this event it had action, character development, schemes and twists, well done IDW on another great crossover.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Go Go Power Rangers #2

Sep 6, 2017

Boom Studios are providing old and new fans with a fresh take on the most iconic children shows in the world and I cannot wait for the next instalment.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Go Go Power Rangers #3

Sep 21, 2017

As with the TV show I loved, I am enjoying this new take which is giving me something I never had with the original series something so new that I am hooked like a ten year old boy.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Go Go Power Rangers #4

Oct 19, 2017

The comics are surpassing the original show with its original content.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Go Go Power Rangers #6

Jan 29, 2018

Five Teenagers chosen by Zordon and Alpha to protect the world from the Evil Rita and her Goons - They are the Power Rangers

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Go Go Power Rangers #7

Mar 3, 2018

Five Teenagers chosen to save the world whilst dealing with day to day teenage issues

View Issue       View Full Review
5.5
Green Arrow (2016) Annual #1

Dec 19, 2017

This Annual was quite crazy instead of giving us Christmas cheer we see how our heroes have real issues in life through a nightmare dream state with a solid story throughout the chapters.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Hal Jordan And The Green Lantern Corps #30

Oct 12, 2017

I enjoyed the clear art which showed some amazing fight scenes. The story had enough information for me as a new reader to jump on board and understand what the hell was going on.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Hal Jordan And The Green Lantern Corps #31

Oct 27, 2017

Well done DC for making me think more about how people not just Super Heroes can lose their way

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Mighty Morphin' Power Rangers #24

Feb 23, 2018

Zordon, Alpha and Saba and the six Power Rangers have teamed up with Grace and her program to fight Finsters evil experiments but with the Evil Rita and Lord Drakkon back is the trust truly there to make a difference.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Misfit City #1

Aug 14, 2017

A very start to what I expect to be a swashbuckling adventure and I look forward to see where the story goes.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Misfit City #2

Aug 15, 2017

I found this issue a lot of fun with fantastic dialogue, banter and the right amount of adventure, these girls lives are no longer boring as they are defiantly Misfits.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Misfit City #3

Aug 15, 2017

The issue flowed perfectly with clever witty conversations and the fun you would expect from an adventure story. I am starting to really connect with this rag tag on their adventure.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Misfit City #4

Aug 19, 2017

Finally all the pieces of the puzzle come together as this issue heats up to a climatic end, I cannot wait to read issue 5.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Misfit City #5

Sep 20, 2017

Brilliant as always the story is fun, light hearted with a twist of dark around the corner, if you have not pick up this series yet you are missing out on a wild adventure.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Misfit City #6

Oct 20, 2017

As always this fantastic tale continues with an amazing story and art this is a fun ride.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Misfit City #7

Nov 26, 2017

The tale moves nicely and in the latest installment, we discover more clues in the clever story arc. I also love the dark tone in the art for the tale. Fantastic work from the Dream Team and I continue to enjoy reading each issue as I wait in anticipation for the next thrilling adventure.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Misfit City #8

Jan 10, 2018

The five girls of Cannon Cove are on the adventure of a lifetime to find the pirates Black Mary's treasure but it is a dangerous quest and with the Denby Twins and Horace plus a new mysterious enemy on their trail will they succeed and will there be a happy ending.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Optimus Prime #12

Nov 2, 2017

I like the falling out between Jazz and Prime I look forward to seeing out this pans out as there is a lot of depth to this relationship.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Optimus Prime #13

Nov 27, 2017

A fantastic issue full of awesome storytelling, great art, action and a twist. I enjoy seeing Optimus outside of the leadership role and sometimes overexerting his role in the grand scheme of things. Also for Arcee's development, does she really believe in Prime or is she just keeping a check on him? I look forward to seeing how this unfolds.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Optimus Prime #14

Jan 2, 2018

The Optimus Prime series continues to grow stronger with each issue, I love seeing him on the outside and not in charge. It's refreshing seeing the autobots, that once followed Prime loyally, despising him. They blame him for everything that's happening right now. This accidental alliance with Earth seems to be gaining him some political pull. I suspect that this is not the Optimus we expect, but a play on power, instead.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.3
Optimus Prime #15

Jan 19, 2017

I do still feel like this series has a lot of potential but am not sure if we are currently getting it.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Optimus Prime #16

Mar 23, 2018

As much as I enjoy the series, at times, the art makes it rough on my eyes to really continue digging it. It's really interesting, but in terms of this story, Onyx Prime just doesn't do it for me as a villain. No excitement. Maybe if this isn't just a rushed one off story arc, he might become a character I will come to enjoy. He's just too flat right now.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Optimus Prime: First Strike #1

Oct 30, 2017

The art is pretty crisp with some amazing drawings and epic scenes. One thing that did bug me is his face shield off for part of the book but I know this has been the case in part of his history.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.3
Phoenix Resurrection: The Return Of Jean Grey #1

Dec 28, 2017

I loved how the teams were sent onto different paths to investigate the situation, and the weirdness in this issue made it feel paranormal. We had plenty of actions and banter. I just really hope that the people brought back are resurrection and not actually manifestation but time will tell. The plot is clear Jean is alive but how, I look forward to finding out more secrets next week.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Phoenix Resurrection: The Return Of Jean Grey #2

Jan 10, 2018

First of all there seems to be a nice steady built up in this issue giving us a chance of what feels like bonding with a smaller cast of characters in the story. Whereas in the last issue there was a big cast and not enough development, I always feel that if there is a big cast the characters fall short of being who they are. It feels like there is a real plan and plot to this resurrection which is steadily being revealed through each issue like completing a big puzzle.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.8
Phoenix Resurrection: The Return Of Jean Grey #3

Jan 13, 2018

Jean Grey is returning back from the dead but out, the puzzle is slowly being put together, in the meantime she is living as a waitress and lots of strange things keep happening.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Phoenix Resurrection: The Return Of Jean Grey #4

Jan 26, 2018

Jean Grey is in her own little bubble, the X-men are on the case but what is the Phoenix's intentions plus cameos from Dead X-men can only lead to trouble.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Phoenix Resurrection: The Return Of Jean Grey #5

Feb 1, 2018

The Phoenix wants Jean Grey to bond with it and be complete, but will she do that to save her loved ones or re-join the X-men.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
The Shadow (2017) #1

Aug 11, 2017

The story as the perfect blend of clever dialogue and action to pull you in, I enjoy the nurse telling the story of the past and how it affects the now, the little twist at the end has me grasping for more of the Shadow and where has he been.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Shadow (2017) #2

Sep 8, 2017

The issue in my opinion really flows and I am intrigued to find out more about the Shadow in what is shaping up to being some fantastic story telling as Dynamite Entertainment bring this classic anti-hero back to life..

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
The Shadow (2017) #3

Oct 21, 2017

I am enjoying how the mystery is unfolding as we see past and present slowly collide in this impressive tale.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
The Shadow (2017) #4

Dec 1, 2017

We finally see the Shadow's world, and it is dark. I also like how the past is shown to explain why certain actions are taken in the future. More clues are dropped in another brilliant issue, telling this story of an antihero trying to bring justice to the world.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
The Shadow/Batman #1

Sep 27, 2017

I felt that there was some really good interaction and I am looking forward to seeing how the story leads to are heroes crossing paths.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
The Shadow/Batman #3

Dec 19, 2017

This series gets stronger and stronger I lover the relationship between Bruce and Cranston, the art is delicious with smart storytelling. The DC/Dynamite team up is fantastic with a brilliant twist at the end.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Transformers: Lost Light: First Strike #1

Nov 14, 2017

There is also some really good banter in this issue which keeps an invasion light for this side gig. I got to say the art is amazing and fun

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Venom (2016) #162

Mar 5, 2018

A rescue in outer space with Venom what could possibly go wrong for the displaced X-men?

View Issue       View Full Review
7.8
X-Men: Blue (2017) #18

Jan 1, 2018

I loved this issue full of nostalgic encounter with the Gen X team, there was a fabulous amount of action as well as great art work.The plot is brilliant with the timeline in bits and the only way to resolve is them returning home, I just hope that it is not a journey as even thou I have wanted them to return home for a long time I still really enjoy their capers.I loved the interactions between the two teams that was a lot of fun considering the intense nature of their visit.I really enjoy seeing how this timeline was affected by the facture paradox. Once again not much character development, Jean seems to be at the forefront of this journey with Cyke, so the rest do not have must going on like Hudson barley gets anytime neither does Iceman which is a shame as this is meant to be an ensemble team.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
X-Men: Blue (2017) #19

Jan 15, 2018

Professor Xavier and Magneto need the Original X-men to return home, on this adventure they have witnessed different paradox's including a trip to see the X-men 2099 and into the past to see the third generation X but have the finally arrived home.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.8
X-Men: Blue (2017) #20

Jan 30, 2018

So all in all I felt like the plot was strong there are some fantastic dialogue scenes in this issue which really hit home that, the 05 team even thou they may want to stay in the future must have to go back home at some point.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
X-Men: Blue (2017) #21

Feb 28, 2018

Team up time as the Orginal X-men head to space with Venom to save the Starjammers

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
X-Men: Blue (2017) #22

Mar 12, 2018

The Starjammers have been kidnapped, it's up to the X-men and Venom to save them but is bonding to alien Symbiotes ever a good idea.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
X-Men: Blue (2017) #23

Mar 18, 2018

With the Original X-men missing in space, Magneto has to deal with his X-men using his allies that are left with him.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
X-Men: Blue (2017) #24

Apr 1, 2018

Magneto left on Earth after the Original X-men went into space, his on the offensive against one of the greatest cast of ex X-men and Villains assembled.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.3
X-Men: Blue (2017) Annual #1

Feb 25, 2018

The Original Five X-men are currently stuck in the future awaiting to find out there purpose, so like quantum leap but certainly not as clear on what is the trigger that will allow them to return back to the past in one piece.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

July

June

More