Joshua Davison's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Bleeding Cool Reviews: 219
7.6Avg. Review Rating

7.5
2000AD #2050

Oct 4, 2017

Overall, this extra-sized issue of 2000 AD is a mixed bag. Slaine, Sinister Dexter, Indigo Prime, and The Fall of Deadworld really hit the sweet spot. Rogue Trooper was pretty good. Judge Dredd was underwhelming, though, and Grey Area was near-intolerable. I can recommend it if any of those first four are really your jam. If you were interested in the rest, its not really worth it, especially at the $5.45 price. If you like Judge Dredd, though, youll still probably want to read Deadworld. In the end, I tentatively recommend the book.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
2000AD #2051

Oct 4, 2017

2000 AD #2051 was a far more solid read than the mega-sized #2050. While Judge Dredd still disappointed, the rest of the tales were good reads. I can recommend this issue more confidently. Pick it up.

View Issue       View Full Review
2.0
All New Fathom (2017) #7

Aug 23, 2017

Steer clear of this one. Its not smart, witty, or insightful. Its not entertaining. Its just there. It comes. It goes. Read Aquaman instead.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
All-New Guardians of the Galaxy #11

Oct 5, 2017

All-New Guardians of the Galaxy #11 surprises with its grittiness and unflinching narrative. It fills in some story gaps from years back while focusing on one of the more underappreciated Marvel heroes. I highly recommend this one; give it a read.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
All-New Wolverine #22

Jul 7, 2017

Despite its flaws,All-New Wolverine #22 is a good read. Laura is a great protagonist, Gabby is a good support character, and this is a fun adventure comic that is more interested in getting you to have fun than spending too long explaining itself. It definitely a recommended comic.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
All-New Wolverine #23

Aug 10, 2017

All-New Wolverine #23 isnt a particularly bad comic, but it is fairly mediocre. The tonal issues of horrific events clashing against the endless one-liners dont make for the most compelling or together story. The tale itself isnt made all that compelling given how far removed from Earth and Wolverine it is. Amping up the tension by having Gabby taken and transformed does little to remedy this. Give this a read if you love Wolverine and/or the Guardians of the Galaxy, but its not likely to appeal to anyone else.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
All-New Wolverine #24

Sep 16, 2017

This is easily one of the best issues of All-New Wolverine Ive read. Its fun, fast-paced, and pretty brutal at times. This one fights hard to win its recommendation, and yet it accomplishes with aplomb. Give this one a read.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
America #7

Sep 24, 2017

While the exposition is pretty overwhelming, I cant say that this isnt an engaging issue. The presented mythos is cool, and America is an engaging character through which to experience all this. Plus, there are some really emotionally weighty moments that support the narrative. I have to recommend this title. Its good, and Marvel certainly isnt marketing it well enough.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
America #8

Oct 3, 2017

America #8 shows a social conscience, which has been in much of the series but is more emphasized here. The titular character remains an engaging protagonist with a likable supporting cast, and this issue definitely worth a read. I highly recommend it.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Animosity #9

Aug 28, 2017

Pick this one when it hits the stores this Wednesday. Its a really charming read, and I enjoyed every page of it. Animosity easily earns its recommendation.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Aquaman (2016) #24

Jun 10, 2017

But really, why is an ancient Atlantean weapon named after a Biblical reference?

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Aquaman (2016) #25

Jun 28, 2017

This comic was well worth your time. Aquaman has been one of the narrative powerhouses of Rebirth, and it remains that here. Pick up Aquaman #25. It kicks off a new era for Aquaman, and it looks like its going to be another good one.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Aquaman (2016) #26

Jul 20, 2017

Regardless, this is a fantastic comic book. The art is gorgeous, the story is enthralling, and the characters are engaging. You should be reading this. Pick it up.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Aquaman (2016) #27

Aug 19, 2017

Despite some minor quibbles, this is still another fantastic issue of Aquaman. Its easily among DCs best books right now, and you should be reading it.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Aquaman (2016) #28

Sep 21, 2017

This is another amazing issue of the Aquaman comic. With great characters, a compelling plot, and a powerhouse artist, its easily among DCs best comics at the moment. If youre not reading it, you are missing out.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Astonishing X-Men (2017) #1

Jul 20, 2017

That being said, Astonishing X-Menis a great read and has potential to be the best X-Men comic on the stands right now. Its fun, engaging, and the art (for how long it will look like this) is mostly great. Give it a read.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Astonishing X-Men (2017) #2

Aug 17, 2017

This is a solid issue of Astonishing X-Men. While the machinations of the Shadow King don't really go to particularly unexpected places, they're still brought to life well by the team of Deodato and Martin. The dialogue between the characters is enjoyable, and the plot does move itself at a decent pace. This book is quickly becoming my favorite X-Men book on the market, and it is easily recommendable to the seasoned mutant fan.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Astonishing X-Men (2017) #3

Sep 9, 2017

I can still recommend this comic. It is a good read, and, on the surface, Ed McGuinness artwork does look good. This is still the best X-Men book on the stands at the moment, and I suggest you pick it up.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Astonishing X-Men (2017) #4

Oct 11, 2017

Astonishing X-Men is still the best X-Men book currently on the stands. That is not to say that Blue or Gold are bad, but for all its flaws, Astonishing has me consistently more engaged and interested in the characters. I do recommend this issue, but I do hope its problems get ironed out soon.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Avengers (2016) #11

Sep 22, 2017

Unfortunately, I cant recommend this comic. The slow pacing is problem enough, but the art is a killer. Give this one a pass, and try again next month.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.5
Avengers (2016) #672

Oct 10, 2017

#672 isnt a bad book, but I cant quite recommend it either, especially since you would need to follow Champions as well to get the full story (something which seems like a baffling move in what is supposed to be a new era of both books). Give this one a pass.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Batman (2016) #25

Jul 2, 2017

In all seriousness, Batman #25 wasn't atrocious. But it was by no means great, and I wouldn't recommend it as a must-buy. Odds are that most of the people reading it have bought it anyway, so what would be the point? It didn't change my mind on Batman and really only reinforced how I already felt. I was up for being proven wrong, but this comic didn't do it.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.5
Batman (2016) #28

Aug 4, 2017

Joe and I have very similar feelings on Batman #28 for a change. It had a lot of potential, and it used two of DCs greatest villains. However, the story feels mishandled, and Deathstroke and Deadshot dont get nearly enough time on the page. The abbreviation of events make the story feel rushed, and it seems like there was a lot of paranoia about this arc taking too long. I cant recommend this one.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Batman: The Dawnbreaker #1

Oct 5, 2017

Ive been very impressed with these one-shot Metal tie-ins so far. Each one plays with similar themes, but the outcomes are always very different and shocking. It takes a lot for me to become interested in Batman stories, and these books accomplish it against the odds. Give Dawnbreaker a read.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Batman: The Murder Machine #1

Sep 27, 2017

Like Red Death, Murder Machine adds another cool story behind one of the members of Barbatoss Bat-League. It fleshes out their world in a delightfully macabre manner, and I recommend it.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Batman: The Red Death #1

Sep 20, 2017

Those looking for new insights into Metal will only really get anything from the lead-in explanation I recited above. Beyond that, this is just a fun little diversion about Bat-Flash from Metal #2. I can still recommend it though. Its a cruel yet fun read, and you should give it a look if that sounds appealing to you.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Ben Reilly: The Scarlet Spider #4

Jul 7, 2017

This was an overall enjoyable comic. The drastic change in perspective was interesting, and it did manage to feel like an issue of Yost'sScarlet Spider with it. It wasnt brilliant, and it wasnt especially exciting, but it is recommendable. Bagleys art is great, and you can bet Ill be back for the next issue. Hopefully, Kaine will kick Reillys ass.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Black Bolt #4

Aug 4, 2017

Definitely give this one a read. Its premise makes it an interesting addition to Marvel canon due to its relevance in one of its most oft-used villains. It gets a high recommendation from me.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Black Panther & the Crew #3

Jun 18, 2017

Anyway, everyone should be reading Black Panther & The Crew. If you havent been on board since the beginning, I cant blame you for wanting to wait for the trade, since the hangman has already called for this series. That being said, with a brilliant script, a smart story, and great art, I cant help but recommend this book. It tells an important story and centers on a great cast of characters.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Black Panther & the Crew #4

Jul 14, 2017

Pick up Black Panther and the Crew before it dies. If not, at least buy the trade paperback collection. I have a feeling that in 10 years, this will be considered one of Marvels unsung gems. It will be something which pairs perfectly alongside writer Ta-Nehisi Coates Black Panther.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Black Panther & the Crew #5

Aug 19, 2017

I guess my point is, as always Ta-Nehisi CoatessBlack Panther and the Crew remains a thought-provoking comic giving a measured discussion to real-world problems, and I continue to recommend it. If you havent hopped on by this point, buying the trade is a more prudent option. There is only one issue left before this story ends. I look forward to seeing how it wills stick the landing.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Black Panther & the Crew #6

Aug 30, 2017

At least Coates is still doing a fantastic job on Black Panther. Hopefully the Crew will cross over into that comic in the future.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Black Panther (2016) #14

May 29, 2017

Panther manages to firmly hold my interest through this new installment, and I can't wait to see it continued next month. If you're not on board the Ta-Nehisi Coates"Black Panther train, then now is a good time as any. Give it a read.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Black Panther (2016) #15

Jul 9, 2017

This is still one of the comics I most look forward to every month from Marvel. Ta-Nehisi Coates and the artists he collaborates with consistently bring an interesting and compelling read starring one of Marvels greatest characters. If you havent started reading this one yet, do so. It is one of the best comics on the stands.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Black Panther (2016) #16

Jul 29, 2017

Ta-Nehisi Coates once again proves that he was just about the perfect choice to take on Black Panther. With good character moments, an enthralling plot, and a protagonist who is easily among the coolest and most interesting heroes of both of the Big Twos gallery of heroes, Black Panther #16 easily earns its recommendation.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Black Panther (2016) #17

Sep 1, 2017

Black Panther is one of the books I most look forward to every month. With a great writer and a solid stable of artists, this is one that should be on everyones pull list. Pick it up.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Black Panther (2016) #18

Oct 1, 2017

Black Panther continues to be among the best of Marvels offerings with another knockout issue by Coates, Sprouse, Torres, and company. Its a pensive and intriguing title that knows how to let loose with some kick-ass action sequences. I highly recommend it.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Black Panther (2016) #166

Oct 3, 2017

Black Panther #166 is an astonishing rebirth for a classic Marvel rogue, and it fleshes him out more than many writers have cared to do in the past. The Klaw as his own master is a compelling change of pace, and I look forward to him opposing the Black Panther in upcoming issues.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Blue Beetle (2016) #9

May 31, 2017

Its a wild comic, and it might be a little confusing at first if you, like myself, hadnt read any of the recent issues. However, you will likely get a kick out of it if youre looking for a weird and action-packed ride. Give it a try.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Blue Beetle (2016) #10

Jul 1, 2017

Anyway, get Blue Beetle #10. Im going to have a nap and dream of the Justice Society coming back and Martian Manhunter being on the Justice League.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Blue Beetle (2016) #11

Jul 28, 2017

Its disappointing to say it, but this was a very disposable issue. It does little to forward the plot or the characters, and it wraps up a story that was pretty much over already. I like Jaime and Ted and this book overall, but I cant recommend this issue even to Blue Beetle fans. I cant say this comic is a complete waste of your money if you follow this series, but it wont do much for you.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Blue Beetle (2016) #13

Oct 1, 2017

Blue Beetle has been a notably flawed title under this creative team, but its more often than not made up for these flaws with energy and dedication. Ill miss this book as it is, but I hope the future is bright. This issue is worth picking up to see this creative team off, as it keeps they keep the trademark tenacity of Jaime Reyes alive to the end.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
BubbleGun (2017) #4

Aug 23, 2017

This comic isnt good. It has its charms, and it has intent. However, its all so middle of the road that theres nothing this can give you that other, better entries in the sci-fi action genre cant give you. I recommend Running Man. Its my favorite Schwarzenegger movie and Richard Dawson is an absolute delight in it.

View Issue       View Full Review
3.0
Cable (2017) #1

Jun 6, 2017

Cable #1 showed some promise and fun in its first few pages, but it falls apart in the second half with confusing fight sequences and an ending that is just tiresome. Give this one a hard pass.

View Issue       View Full Review
2.5
Captain America (2012) #25

Aug 10, 2017

At least the Winter Soldier comes back at the end. That does help a little bit. He is Marvels greatest hero, and you can fight me on that one all you want. Youll still be wrong.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Captain America: Sam Wilson #22

Jun 3, 2017

This is a decent comic. It's not among the best of the series, but it is functional and provides a character-driven, if depressing, read. Pick it up if you've been following the series, are a fan of Sam Wilson, or just want a peek into the everyday world of the Secret Empire.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Captain America: Sam Wilson #24

Jul 29, 2017

Also, don't believe the cover. None of the rest of the Underground are in this comic at all.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Captain Kronos #1

Oct 12, 2017

Thats Kronos: Vampire Hunter #1. Its a fun, gory, and engaging action/horror title. I enjoyed it thoroughly, and I imagine many would. Give it a read.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Champions #9

Jun 11, 2017

Champions remains a delightfully consistent Marvel title. Champions #9is easily recommendable and makes for a good one-off story.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Champions #10

Jul 8, 2017

This was a great issue; easily one of the better comics with the Secret Empire label on it. Like the most recent issue of Occupy Avengers, it gives the reader what they really want in a situation like this: heroes fighting the powers that be and the injustices they are committing. They are standing up for whats right in the face of tyranny. That seems like it should be more common during an event like this, but for some reason, it hasn't been.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Conan: The Slayer #9

Jun 4, 2017

That being said, Conan the Slayer provides largely compelling reading. The main character is fun, the art is gorgeous, and the mystery of the city is interesting for the most part. If barbarians, swords, and sorcery are your thing, check this one out.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Cyborg (2016) #14

Jul 9, 2017

This one gets a recommendation. Its a fun read, the characters are likable, and the story has a good amount 80s techno-futurism to keep the reader interested. Give this one a try.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Daredevil (2015) #21

Jun 11, 2017

Daredevil is still a Marvel staple that has helped maintain hold together its stable of titles. Charles Soule and Goran Sudzuka are a good team, and hopefully the hits will keep on coming. Pick this one up.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Daredevil (2015) #23

Jul 8, 2017

This comic was decent. It didnt add much to the overall plot, but it did bring in a neat little team-up with a rocking, if short, fight between Tombstone and She-Hulk. Give this a read if youre a fan of the Man Without Fear or the Savage She-Hulk.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Daredevil (2015) #24

Jul 24, 2017

Give this comic a chance next time youre at a shop. Daredevil is one of Marvels greatest characters, and Soule is doing him some justice with a unique story. With a good artistic team of Morgan and Milla, this is a rock-solid comic deserving of a read.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Daredevil (2015) #25

Aug 26, 2017

This was definitely an interesting comic, and it does promise a new era for the Man Without Fear. I think this was a good waypoint, a touchstone, for Daredevil, and I look forward to what Soule has in mind next for Matt Murdock. Daredevil #25 does earn a recommendation, and its ambition didnt fail it even if it took some shaky chances.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Daredevil (2015) #26

Sep 6, 2017

This is a really good starting position for the next story arc of Daredevil. The setup is great, the story is fun while still very macabre, and Ron Garneys artwork is fantastic. Give this one a read.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Daredevil (2015) #27

Oct 15, 2017

While I cant say this was the most exciting or interesting issue of Charles Soules Daredevil, I can say that this comic never left me bored or dissatisfied. Fleshing out Blindspot is a good idea, and this is an engaging story arc. Garneys artwork helps elevate the book, as it is visually stunning. This comic does earn a recommendation in the end, and I do advise that you read it.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Dark Days: The Casting #1

Jul 13, 2017

All-in-all,Dark Days: The Castingwasnt genuinely bad like The Forge. Its story was more focused, the art didnt hop around as badly, and it introduced some interesting character moments and plot details. If youre into this story or are a die-hard Batman fan, this is for you. If you have any distaste for the character, it will probably only make that worse.

View Issue       View Full Review
3.5
Dark Days: The Forge #1

Jun 17, 2017

As previously stated, I am very aware that this book has already received a lot of praise from a lot of people. I take no umbrage with that. However, reading it, for me personally, was an arduous and frustrating task. It didn't work on any level, and it left me beyond unsatisfied and with no initiative to dive deeper into its perfunctory mystery. I cannot do anything but recommend passing on it.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Dark Nights: Metal #1

Aug 16, 2017

So yeah, Dark Nights: Metal #1 was actually pretty solid. I enjoyed it far more than its preamble issues, and it finally clicked for me. Im fairly interested in whats to come. Feel free to grab this one when you see it.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Dark Nights: Metal #2

Sep 14, 2017

This is a ridiculous story built on some crazy conceits, and it's finally coming together after the questionable Forge and Casting comics. I recommend this comic. Give it a read.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Dark Nights: Metal #3

Oct 13, 2017

This was still a solid issue. It didnt have me as perpetually excited as Metal #2, but it is still really good. I recommend it and look forward to the next issuewhich is two months for some reason. Hopefully the admittedly excellent one-shots will hold me off until then.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Darkseid Special #1

Aug 30, 2017

Darkseid #1 brings another great add-on to the mythos of Kirby characters with a balance of charm and grit. Its a damn fine read, and it gets a recommendation from me. Go pick it up.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Deathstroke (2016) #22

Aug 5, 2017

Deathstroke is quickly becoming one of my favorite DC titles. It is interesting, the story is often layered very well, and Deathstroke is one of the more fascinating anti-heroes of either of the Big Two. The Defiance team genuinely has me guessing as to where Deathstroke and legendary writer Christopher Priest are going with this. Give this one a read.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Deathstroke (2016) #23

Sep 11, 2017

Deathstroke #23 is a great continuation to an already fantastic series. It builds character, maintains tension, and is paced better than most comic books. I dig the hell out of it, and I think many others will too. Pick this one up.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Deathstroke (2016) #24

Oct 10, 2017

Deathstroke continues to be an intriguing and thought-provoking book. With an intentionally perplexing lead in Slade and a relatable pseudo-guest star in Kid Flash, #24 is another issue worthy of your time and money. Pick it up.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Defenders (2017) #1

Jun 6, 2017

The action is non-stop but paced well. The characters are lovable, and the art is fantastic. Pick this one up when it comes out.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Defenders (2017) #2

Jul 2, 2017

This is quickly becoming one of Marvels best comics on the stand. The dialogue is witty, the characters are well represented, and the action is fast and frequent. The pacing does make the comic feel like it comes and goes fairly quickly, but that aside, it is well worth your time and money. Its a fantastic read.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Doctor Strange (2015) #21

Jun 3, 2017

It was a weird, funny, and action-packed tale. It shows a lot of promise for the future of Stephen Strange, and it is definitely recommended.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Doctor Strange (2015) #23

Jul 24, 2017

Its not fun tearing into a book like this with a talented team and a track record for being really good. Hopeless last issue of Doctor Strange had some of the same problems as this one, but they were downplayed and not as damaging. Here, those problems are amped up and fatal. Unfortunately, I cannot recommend this comic.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Doctor Strange (2015) #24

Aug 26, 2017

Is this the most brilliant or impressive issue of Doctor Strange? No. As much as a I love much of Dennis Hopelessswork, like Spider Woman, Im not sure hes presented an issue that is as good as Aarons Doctor Strange yet. However, this was still a fun read, and it is probably the best of Hopelesss work on the title. This one manages to nail a recommendation. Give it a try.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Doctor Strange (2015) #25

Sep 21, 2017

Despite my annoyance with the price tag, this is one of the best issues of Doctor Strange Ive read in a while. With an intriguing plot, character depth, and great artwork, this comic won me over very quickly. Give it a read.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Dread Gods #1

Jul 15, 2017

This comic has interesting ideas, and seems to be hinting at a pretty cool satire. It just needs to flesh itself out more, and hopefully the follow-up issues will address the problems the first had. That being said, I can tentatively recommend this one.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Extremity #7

Oct 4, 2017

With good art, compelling characters, and an allegory about how groups can become radicalized against one another, Extremity provides an engaging story of two peoples at war. Its a great comic, and it comes highly recommended.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Falcon (2017) #1

Oct 12, 2017

Needless to say, I highly recommend this comic. It was incredible, moving, and daring. Pick this one up. It's a must-read.

View Issue       View Full Review
3.5
Fighting American (2017) #1

Oct 12, 2017

Unfortunately, Fighting American is dead on arrival by not gauging an audience. Its for no one, and it feels like a waste of a Simon and Kirby property. Some of the jokes sort of click, but not nearly enough do so for the run time of the comic. I cant recommend this one. Give it a pass.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Flash (2016) #27

Jul 28, 2017

This was a really cool issue. The fighting is great, there is emotional weight to the battle, and its a lot of fun. Give it a read.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Flash (2016) #28

Aug 10, 2017

That being said, a good portion of the art, especially the action scenes, still look good. The story itself is very well-constructed, and it is an engaging comic book to read. This one gets a strong recommendation. Check it out.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Flash (2016) #31

Oct 1, 2017

While Flash #31 does have its flaws, they are minute compared to what the comic does right. It features an epic battle, and plenty of grounded character moments. Its a good continuation to the Flashs saga, and writer Joshua Williamson should be proud of his work here. Pick it up.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Flash (2016) #32

Oct 16, 2017

Despite that one major flaw, Flash #32 begins a promising new arc for the Scarlet Speedster. Barry is mostly as lovable as ever, and the changes with his Negative Speed Force powers are interesting. This one gets a recommendation. Give it a read.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Generations: Captain Marvel & Captain Mar-Vell #1

Sep 14, 2017

This is a flawed comic, but its still a fun read for the most part. The pacing is wonky, and the art isnt great, but the two Captain Marvels are really enjoyable to read about. This one squeaks by a recommendation on its charisma and gumption. Give it a read.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Generations: Wolverine & All-New Wolverine #1

Aug 16, 2017

This is a very solid read. It has action, blood, and heart. People are butchered, reunions are had, and they show themselves to be the best there is at what they do, even if its not pretty at all. Grab this one. You wont regret it.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Generations: Banner Hulk & The Totally Awesome Hulk #1

Aug 2, 2017

I do recommend this comic, because it has good action and character moments. However, it's not the epic meeting that I and others were probably hoping for, but it is nice to see Bruce Banner on the page as the Hulk once again and remind everyone why he is the strongest there is.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Green Arrow (2016) #24

Jun 10, 2017

This is not a comic that is particularly kind to its political opposition. If you can look past that, it is a quality book. This one comes recommended in spite of its caveats.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Green Arrow (2016) #26

Jul 12, 2017

Also, if you want to hear some of the behind-the-scenes stuff on this issue, check out the DC All Access interview with Green Arrowwriter Benjamin Percy.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Green Arrow (2016) #27

Jul 25, 2017

I highly recommend this comic. This is easily one of the best Green Arrow issues of Rebirth. It's got action, it's got heart, and it's got Green Arrow being a loudmouth liberal. What more do you need from a Green Arrow comic?

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Green Arrow (2016) #30

Sep 9, 2017

Green Arrow #30 provides a short prelude for what seems to the finale to the Ninth Circle arc, which has been running through the title since its Rebirth relaunch. Its a bit light on plot, but it does make up for this with character. It can still be easily recommended, and Benjamin Percy has succeeded in keeping this a highly-engaging title. Plus, you get to see Green Arrow and Green Lantern team up once again. Pick this one up.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Green Arrow (2016) #31

Sep 24, 2017

‘Hard-Travelling Hero' receives a good ending here. Is it as epic as I had hoped, given the overall quality of the story arc? Not really. Is it disappointing? No. Its fun and high-energy, and the bad guy gets got. I still recommend it, and you should pick it up.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Green Arrow (2016) #32

Oct 10, 2017

As such, if you have no interest in Metal, I cant recommend this issue to you. Wait for the next issue of Green Arrow (I hope). If you like both Ollie and Metal or have been following Gotham Resistance anyway, give this one a read. It is a visually stunning comic, and the story is pretty solid.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Green Lanterns #24

Jun 11, 2017

As stated above, Green Lanterns is one of DCs best comics on the shelves at the moment, and Green Lanterns #24 continues the series hot streak. Give it a read. You wont regret it.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Green Lanterns #26

Jul 12, 2017

This was another great comic by the Green Lanterns creative team, despite its questionable time placement in the Green Lanternssaga making it hold back the mystery of where Simon and Jessica went.Humphries has made a masterpiece of a series here, and it is my personal favorite DC: Rebirth offering. Pick this one up.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Green Lanterns #27

Jul 26, 2017

Anyway, this is another solid chapter in the saga of Jessica Cruz and Simon Baz, the Green Lanterns. I continue to hold that this is the best comic of Rebirth, and everyone should give it a try.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Green Lanterns #28

Aug 5, 2017

Green Lanterns continues to be a joyous and exciting ride through the lives of Simon Baz and Jessica Cruz as Green Lanterns. This expansion on the cosmic lore of the Green Lantern Corps is interesting and very engaging. This is still my favorite DC comic running right now, and I highly recommend hopping on board with the series.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Green Lanterns #29

Sep 12, 2017

While this is one of the slower issues of Green Lanterns, it still makes for a compelling read. Sam Humphries has kept this series compulsively readable, and it goes far beyond the hopes I envisioned back when this comic was announced. This is Rebirths best comic, and it deserves a read. Check it out.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Green Lanterns #30

Sep 12, 2017

Despite art issues and some narrative letdowns, Green Lanterns #30 is still an exciting ride with great lead characters. This comic still dominates Rebirth and deserves to be on everyones pull list. Grab this one the next time you see it.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Green Lanterns #31

Sep 25, 2017

With ‘Out of Time' ending, we will be getting back to business as usual for Jessica Cruz and Simon Baz, whatever that means for these two. Dont miss out on this ending, as it comes highly recommended. Give it a read.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Green Lanterns #32

Oct 10, 2017

I really dug this issue. I imagine a subset of readers wont, but I do highly recommend this comic if you are a fan of Simon and Jessica. Their charisma and charm carry this issue, and you should give it a read.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Groo: Play of the Gods #1

Jul 5, 2017

This is an easily recommendable comic. Its fun, its full of heart, and its an all-around great read.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Groo: Play of the Gods #2

Jul 31, 2017

Groo: Play of the Gods continues to be another classic adventure of Groo the Wanderer brushing up against grand plans that he will most certainly mess up. This one definitely gets a recommendation; enjoy with a great bowl of cheese dip.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Hal Jordan And The Green Lantern Corps #23

Jul 2, 2017

Hal Jordan And The Green Lantern Corps #23 is another strong continuation in the saga of Hal Jordan and the Green Lantern Corps. This is one of DCs best titles by far, and it is well worth your time.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Hal Jordan And The Green Lantern Corps #24

Jul 14, 2017

This one gets high marks and a massive recommendation. Pick. This. One. Up.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Hal Jordan And The Green Lantern Corps #25

Jul 28, 2017

Hal Jordan and the Green Lantern Corps continues its hot streak, with Venditti, Sciver, and Wright making another incredibly issue that promises many great future issues. Pick this one up, and add it to your pull list.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Hal Jordan And The Green Lantern Corps #26

Aug 10, 2017

As always, Hal Jordan and the Green Lantern Corps gets a high marks and a strong recommendation from me. If I havent convinced you before, hopefully I will this time. Get. This Book.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Hal Jordan And The Green Lantern Corps #27

Aug 26, 2017

This comic is, as always, a top recommendation from me. It is the most narratively thin, but a straightforward issue every now and again is good for a series. Pick this one up.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Hal Jordan And The Green Lantern Corps #28

Sep 16, 2017

This issue continues the Hal Jordan and the Green Lantern Corpstradition of finding new ways to surprise me with how well it works. This is among DCs best offerings right now, and you should be reading it. Pick it up.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Hal Jordan And The Green Lantern Corps #29

Oct 1, 2017

Theres not really a whole lot to say here. Its an awesome battle of galactic proportions. The Golems, even if they strongly resemble the Celestials of Marvel Comics, have a great design brought to life by an incredible art team. Their battle with the Green Lantern Corps is really cool. Its a battle issue, and it works.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Hal Jordan And The Green Lantern Corps #30

Oct 15, 2017

While I do feel for those who may be reading this book more for John Stewart, Guy Gardner, or Kyle Rayner, Hal Jordan and the Green Lantern Corps #30 brings another issue of exactly what I hoped for from this book. It has action, humor, and excitement in the classic Green Lantern fashion. I highly recommend this issue, and once again plead with you, if you havent already, pick this book up.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Iceman (2017) #5

Sep 8, 2017

This is one of the most socially relevant comics Ive read in some time. As yet another straight, white, cis, male maybe Im not qualified to say this, but Joe Glasssglowing reviewallows me to feel confident in saying that this is a skillful encapsulation of the struggles of a LGBTQ+ youth having to struggle with their traditionalist parents. This comic deserves to be supported. Pick it up.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Infamous Iron Man #11

Aug 30, 2017

That being said, I cant recommend Infamous Iron Man #11. It feels like a time sink of a comic wherein Bendis has surrendered to a stereotype of himself. Hes better than this, and there are far better comics to read out there. Give this a pass.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Iron Fist (2017) #4

Jun 11, 2017

Get this book. It is a great series that knows exactly what it wants to do and accomplishes it, concern for the future of the series aside. It is a martial arts epic, and you should definitely give it a read.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Iron Fist (2017) #5

Jul 8, 2017

I cannot recommend this comic enough. It is a Kung Fu, kitchen sink masterpiece of a comic. The fighting is incredible, the art is damn near perfect, and the story is interesting but remains simple enough to accommodate the martial arts action. Pick this one up immediately.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Iron Fist (2017) #6

Aug 3, 2017

This is a really fun comic. While this issue falls a little short of the saga on Liu-Shi, its still a good read, and the addition of Shang-Chi, the Master of Kung Fu, helps make up for what is lost in the less-detailed fight sequences. Iron Fist keeps its strong recommendation with another action-packed and well-paced issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Iron Fist (2017) #7

Sep 11, 2017

Pick this one up. Its easily one of the best Marvel books on the stands.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Iron Fist (2017) #73

Sep 19, 2017

Iron Fist shows no signs of slowing down in Marvel Legacy. In fact, it looks to still be getting better. This title is quickly rising to the top of Marvels offerings in terms of quality, and I recommend this to anyone who enjoys a good Kung Fu comic.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Jean Grey #3

Jul 2, 2017

Jean Grey #3 was a fun comic. It improves upon the last issue and promises a good series ahead. Check this one out its a very enjoyable read.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Jean Grey #4

Jul 14, 2017

This comic has succeeded in focusing on Jeans personality and journey, despite the constant guest stars. This issue was a lot of fun and brings an oddly underused character back to the page (his status as an antagonist in Secret Empire notwithstanding). This is a great read and easily earns its recommendation.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.5
Jean Grey #5

Aug 12, 2017

This isnt a particularly bad issue, but it is wildly mediocre in the grand scheme of things. Its fun in some moments, but it feels inconsequential in the story of Jean Grey. The next issue promises Doctor Strange, so, once again, Jean Grey will be a walking tour of the Marvel Universe while not setting time aside for Jean Grey herself.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.5
Jean Grey #7

Sep 25, 2017

This isnt a train wreck of a comic, but its far from functional. The narrative is confused, the art isnt particularly good, and old Jean Grey is borderline unbearable. Give this one a pass.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Jessica Jones #13

Sep 18, 2017

The preamble to this may have been picking apart the idea of bringing Killgrave back into Jessica Jones, but the story is promising, if flawed, so far. I can still recommend it, and its still very engaging. Pick this one up.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Jimmy's Bastards #3

Aug 29, 2017

Jimmy's Bastards is not a pleasant read, and, yet, it is a fun one. I enjoyed myself in spite of myself. This one gets an acidic recommendation that is just as toxic and grinning as Jimmy himself.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Justice League (2016) #27

Aug 16, 2017

Though the action is really light, this is still a very engaging issue. The children of the Justice League are interesting characters, and their complicated relationships with their parents are very readable. Give this one a read. Its a very smart and expertly constructed comic.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Justice League (2016) #28

Sep 9, 2017

This comic isnt about plot advancement, for better and for worse. This tale will likely have at least another two issues ahead of it. However, I struggle to be disappointed by that. Its a great read, and I could read even more of these characters getting to know one another. Dont skip this one; pick it up next time youre at your shop.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Justice League (2016) #29

Sep 22, 2017

With Legacy coming to a climax, I excitedly recommend Justice League this week. The story continues to get better, and you should most certainly pick it up.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Justice League (2016) #30

Oct 10, 2017

I continue to recommend the book this month, and you should certainly give it a read.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Justice League of America (2017) #12

Aug 10, 2017

I can recommend JLA #12 for the charms it does have, but its pacing issues are abysmal. It shows that this story probably wont need to span as many comic issues as it is inevitably going to. If these characters really tickle your fancy, you will enjoy this. However, if your devotion to them is not great, the slowness of the plot will likely drive you away.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Luke Cage (2017) #1

May 28, 2017

Weird lettering complaints and continuity questions aside, Ilovedthis book. It was a fun read, and I cant wait to see what adventures lie ahead of Luke Cage in this series. Pick this up.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Luke Cage (2017) #2

Jun 24, 2017

It truly pains me to be this hard on a Cage comic, especially on one that I cant say is unequivocally bad. However, with a slow pace and less focus on character, this issue is not the follow-up that #1 deserved. I still recommend Luke Cage #2, because this series is showing the potential to be truly great, but this particular issue will probably be considered the weak point.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Luke Cage (2017) #3

Jul 25, 2017

I will gleefully recommend Luke Cage #3, though. Luke Cage is one of Marvels greatest heroes. The comic does tell an interesting story, and the art is good, even if its not fitting. I want to see more tight and character-focused comics like this, even if this one feels like it still needs refinement. Give it a read.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Luke Cage (2017) #4

Aug 18, 2017

This is my favorite issue of the series thus far. I put my faith in Power Man and Iron Fist scribe David F. Walker to continue his success trend with Luke Cage, and that faith has been rewarded. The man understands the character, and I look forward to his continuing work with Marvels greatest hero. You need to check this one out.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Luke Cage (2017) #5

Sep 23, 2017

For all its flaws, Luke Cage #5 provides a damn fine finale to the first arc. Its fun, dramatic, and moves Lukes character forward in an interesting manner. I recommend this one and look forward to what writer David F. Walker will do with the Power Man next.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Luke Cage (2017) #166

Sep 26, 2017

Luke Cage has a promising future ahead of it in the hands of Mr. Walker and Mr. Sanna. The story and dialogue works, and the art puts those elements into visuals worthy of the Power Man himself. I highly recommend this one when it comes out. Give it a read.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Manhunter #1

Aug 26, 2017

On the whole, this was another fun read from DCs Kirby homage series. While overshadowed by the likes of the Sandman and New Gods one-shots, Manhunter still provides a compelling read that honors one of comics greatest legends. Give it a read.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Manifest Destiny #31

Oct 4, 2017

This comic is an intriguing read, opting for slow-boil storytelling as opposed to back-to-back terror. It works greatly in its favor and makes for a great read. Give Manifest Destiny a try.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Marvel Legacy #1

Sep 27, 2017

So, Marvel Legacy #1 is, unfortunately, mediocre overall. Its a teaser book. It wants you to buy the new titles. It adds very little story of its own. The characters are cool, and the art is great, if disparate taken as a whole. I cant really recommend it, though. The price point is too high, and it really is just an advert for all the new titles and directions Marvel is putting out there now. Give this one a pass.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Mister Miracle #1

Aug 10, 2017

And thats kind of the tragedy of this. It would be nice to see Mister Miracle, Big Barda, and Oberon taking on Granny Goodness or Mantis again after appearing and disappearing on and off again over the last few years and not having a comic with his name for far longer than that. Yeah, Id like to get a deep-cut reading of him, but Id also like to see him do his Mister Miracle thing before that.

View Issue       View Full Review
3.0
Mother Russia #1

Jul 8, 2017

The problem is that the comic just has nothing new of substance to bring to the table. Unfortunately, this one has to get a pass.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Ms. Marvel (2015) #23

Oct 16, 2017

Itll be okay. You can read that word every once in a while and not perish from the shock.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
New Gods Special #1

Aug 2, 2017

Pick this one up. Its a great homage to a great man, and it will warm your heart.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Nightwing (2016) #24

Jul 9, 2017

That aside, sometimes what works really is a straightforward premise. Its a giant submarine with Nightwing and a bunch of supervillains inside. What more could you want? If youre in need of a fantastically enjoyable read this month, pick this one up. Its worth it.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Nightwing (2016) #26

Aug 5, 2017

This is a great entry into the saga of Nightwing. It has action, character, and a fantastic guest-star in Huntress to balance out Nightwing himself. This one definitely earns its recommendation.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Occupy Avengers #7

Jun 3, 2017

This is a great addition to a great series. It's almost advisable to simply wait for the trade paperback collection at this point, but if you can't wait, it's out on shelves now. It also has a fighting robot van in it, which is van-tastic. Occupy Avengers is definitely worth your time.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Occupy Avengers #8

Jul 1, 2017

Despite the less-than-impressive art, I still have to recommend this book. Its the most satisfying tie-in to Secret Empire Ive read yet. Where the Underground one-shot worked regardless of its connection to Secret Empire, this issue of Occupy Avengers works with the crossover to give a good resistance narrative. Its not brilliant, but its really gratifying. Give this one a read.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Peter Parker: The Spectacular Spider-Man #1

Jun 23, 2017

Peter Parker: The Spectacular Spider-Man #1 is easily a recommendable book. Its a lot of fun. It feels like a back-to-basics Spider-Man story, and it manages to fit a lot of story into its pages. Give it a try if youre interested in a good Spider-Man book.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Red Hood and the Outlaws (2016) #15

Oct 13, 2017

I do recommend this comic in spite of its flaws. Its not brilliant, but it is an enjoyable read. Pick this one up if youre a Red Hood or Bat Family fan.

View Issue       View Full Review
3.5
Robotech #1

Jul 15, 2017

Anyone who was hoping for a fresh and innovative reboot of this property is going to be sorely disappointed with Robotech #1. This was not an exciting or engaging read. Give it a pass.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.5
Royals #4

Jun 23, 2017

This issue was fairly good. It wasnt great, but it had enjoyable moments. The pacing was askew, and the art gets a bit distracting. But if you have a great love of the Inhuman Royal Family, Ronan the Accuser, or the Marvel cosmic story, you'll have a great time. However, for anyone else, you might want to give it a pass.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Royals #5

Jul 22, 2017

This is a pretty decent comic. I can recommend it. However, that is not really the same as saying you definitely should read it. If the Inhumans are your jam, go for it. Youll likely really enjoy it. If you have no interest in the Inhumans, well, youre probably not paying attention to the title anyway, not that I can blame you for that.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Royals #7

Sep 11, 2017

I can recommend this one, but it still seems like an unrealized title. Hopefully, Ewing and company can make it a must-have soon. Otherwise, well, Marvel has grown fond of its cancellation axe, and the seemingly inevitable flop of the upcoming Inhumanstelevision series may make them quick to bury this corner of their universe.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Royals #8

Sep 25, 2017

Royals receives another solid issue here, and, like the last book, is one of the best issues of the Inhuman-starring series. This isnt really one of Marvels best series, but it is a solid and fun time nonetheless. I can recommend it to anyone interested in the plight of the Inhuman Royals.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Royals #9

Oct 10, 2017

Ewing and company have really nailed it with this issue of Royals. It was genuinely enjoyable and compelling. Hopefully, they can keep it up from here. Nine issues in, and Im fully on-board. Give it a read.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Scrimshaw #1

Jul 8, 2017

Scrimshaw #1 does have some neat ideas. The flooded world and carved-up nations are a decent setting for an apocalypse. Throwing in pirates and samurai is pretty neat. The fact that it wears its inspirations on its sleeve isnt even a bad thing; it just really needed to ease the reader in to its crazy world instead of throwing them into the deep end with nary a hint at how to navigate the waters. I cant recommend this one; give it a pass.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Secret Empire #2

May 28, 2017

That being said, the Cube and this Steve may still play a role in overthrowing the Empire and not fixing the evil Steve Rogers problem itself.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Secret Empire #5

Jul 1, 2017

I cant say that this is a bad story. Im sorry, I just cant. Its not satisfying super hero fiction, but its not bad. I can recommend it. Its a decent continuation to the story. It just wont make you feel good in any way shape or form.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Secret Empire #8

Aug 10, 2017

This comic isfunctional. It has more high points than low points, but its badly hindered by the mounds of padding. Its one of the best issues of the series, even if thats not necessarily saying a whole lot. I can tentatively recommend it.

View Issue       View Full Review
2.5
Secret Empire #9

Aug 26, 2017

Avoid this like the plague. Leinil Francis Yu, Rod Reis, and Joe Bennett provide good artwork, and the color work of Sunny Gho and Dono Sanchez-Almara complements them well. However, it doesn't make the proceedings entertaining in any way.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Secret Empire #10

Aug 30, 2017

The biggest crime of Secret Empire was the timing well, that and the means through which it was delivered. This is a terrible, dark time for the United States. We need to be able to power through it. We need stories about the best part of ourselves, not the worst. Thats what heroes are for: they show us what we could be. I dont want to be this. I dont want to be Secret Empire, Hydra Nazi Ultimate Iron Super Street Fighter Tekken Cap, or Clint Barton squatting in a cave hoping for a better tomorrow while the world burns around me. I want to be more than these things. Marvel should want that, too.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Secret Empire: Underground #1

Jun 22, 2017

Secret Empire: Underground #1 was a very charming adventure comic. The protagonists are likable, the action is cool, and the story manages to conclude itself in this single issue, meaning you dont even really need to read Secret Empire to understand everything that is going on. I can recommend this to anyone who is looking for a fun time with a team of underused Avengers.

View Issue       View Full Review
3.0
Secret Empire: Uprising #1

Jun 2, 2017

There was a lot of potential with this book. It could have been something heartfelt and great, but it only flounders and relies on winking, sarcastic humor to badly characterize a story where it is not appropriate. Give this a hard pass.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Secret Empire: Brave New World #2

Jul 1, 2017

Even the Patriot tale may not be worthwhile if Marvel decides to do nothing with the character, and they havent announced anything for him yet, so its very possible they wont. Even if they do, there is a real chance his short story may be in a trade paperback later down the line. If they do that, buy that trade instead. Give Secret Empire: Brave New World #2 a pass.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Shadows On The Grave #6

Jul 4, 2017

I highly recommendShadows on the Gravefor horror fans. Its creepy, the art is incredible, and its an all-around great time. Pick this one up.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Shadows On The Grave #7

Jul 31, 2017

If youre a fan of Tales of the Crypt or fairy tale-style horror stories that punish its evil characters in bizarre and ironic ways, Richard Corbens Shadows on the Grave will give you a lot of enjoyment. Its a fun horror anthology series, and it retains the recommendation I gave it last issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Shipwreck #5

Aug 23, 2017

Ellis, Hester, Gapstur, and Englehert earn their recommendation with this issue of Shipwreck. Its a great read with solid characters and fantastic art. The story is simple at its heart, and its easily engaging. Pick this one up when it comes out.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Spider-Gwen (2015) #25

Sep 25, 2017

So, if youre newer to comic books, Spider-Gwen is actually a pretty solid entry point. If you are a comic-reading veteran and arent especially interested in the character of Gwen Stacys Spider Woman, then its definitely not for you. Overall, it is a competently put together comic, but its unfortunately been put in the position of treading the old territory of a predecessor.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Spider-Man (2016) #18

Jul 7, 2017

Miles Morales is an endlessly likable character, and it makes this a fairly enjoyable comic. Its another stepping stone on the journey of the new Spider-Man, and it helps remind you why this character became so popular so quickly. This one comes with a recommendation. Check it out.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Spider-Man (2016) #21

Oct 5, 2017

Spider-Man #21 is a solid output from Bendis and company with humor, action, and an ever-compelling lead character. This is a really fun comic, and it earns its recommendation with ease.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Spider-Man 2099 (2015) #25

Jul 20, 2017

Its hard to recommend this issue if you havent read the series thus far, given that this is the final one. That being said, definitely pick up the Spider-Man 2099 trades. David and Sliney did a great job on this series, and it never seemed to get the credit that it was due.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Spirits of Vengeance (2017) #1

Sep 18, 2017

Spirits of Vengeance isnt brilliant, but it is pretty damn fun. With good one-liners and great action, the heavy metal momentum overcomes the overly-vague plot. The artwork is solid and shines in the action sequences. This one delivers what it promises, and, if it looked appealing on the announcement, then youll enjoy it.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Star Wars (2014) #31

May 31, 2017

Star Wars #31and its series are easily recommendable. Its been consistently great since the beginning, and shows no sign of stopping here. Despite the pacing problems in this particular issue, this book remains one of Marvels best.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Star Wars: Captain Phasma #1

Sep 9, 2017

Buy this comic. I try to stay scarce with my 10s, but this one earned itself one. This is easily one of the best mainstream comics on the stands, and it impressed me at every turn. Pick this one up the second you see it.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Star Wars: Captain Phasma #2

Sep 23, 2017

Captain Phasma #2 continues the hot streak of the first issue, with writer Kelly Thompson laying down an epic tale for a classic Star Wars character in the making. I highly recommend this issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Star Wars: Captain Phasma #3

Oct 11, 2017

Captain Phasma continues to be a great series and interlude between The Force Awakens and The Last Jedi. Its been a great read, and I highly recommend it. The finale will hopefully be quite something, too.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Star Wars: Darth Vader (2017) #4

Aug 4, 2017

I am very impressed with Soule and Camuncolis Darth Vader. It displays his fury, and his power. He is shown to be the ruthless yet layered character that he should always be. This one definitely gets a recommendation, and it is a good continuation after the excellent Gillen series (even if it chronologically takes place before Gillens series).

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Star Wars: Darth Vader (2017) #5

Sep 8, 2017

This is a powerful story in the saga of the Dark Lord of the Sith. Seeing this moment of weakness and will to make things right contextualizes all the evil commits afterwards. You get to see how things could have been had Anakin simply gave in to the Light Side. It is incredibly engaging, and this was a great comic for it. Pick this one up.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Star Wars: Darth Vader (2017) #6

Oct 11, 2017

Charles Soule and Giuseppe Camuncolis Darth Vader continues to live up to the legacy of Kieron Gillen and Salvador Larrocas left behind. Its character-focused, intense, and fantastically bleak. Its a great book and well worth your time. Give it a try.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Star Wars: Doctor Aphra #7

Jun 5, 2017

This is a great continuation to the Screaming Citadel story arc, and it is recommendable to any Star Wars fan and comic book reader.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Superman (2016) #28

Aug 4, 2017

Its also pretty great that Clark is wearing a Hamilton t-shirt.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Superman (2016) #30

Sep 6, 2017

Superman #30 is a good read, and it does justice to DC's greatest rogue. It made me miss the Cullen Bunn Sinestro title. That comic had its flaws, but the core idea was sound. It still had many good stories, and I would love to see it return.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
The Chair #1

Jul 8, 2017

While The Chair is dripping with atmosphere, it does have a lot of narrative flaws that keep it from being as good as Shadows on the Grave, a superior horror series on the shelf right now. I can tentatively recommend it to a horror fan, but it is severely flawed.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
The Evil Within (2017) #1

Sep 17, 2017

Overall, this is a pretty good read. As I said before, its not the greatest horror comic, but it does provide an engaging tale with solid characterization and great artwork. If psychological horror or Evil Within itself are your thing, definitely pick it up.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
The Mighty Captain Marvel #5

May 30, 2017

It's still a pleasant read, even if it won't necessarily blow your mind.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
The Mighty Captain Marvel #7

Jul 28, 2017

The Mighty Captain Marvel #7 is still a solid Captain Marvel comic. Its always disappointing watching an otherwise good comic being stalled out by a big event, but those here for Carol Danvers will not be disappointed. However, if youre interested in Secret Empire, it wont give you much. I can still give it a decent recommendation, though.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.5
The Mighty Captain Marvel #8

Aug 31, 2017

Unfortunately, the positives dont overpower the banality of Captain Marvel #8. Its a pretty perfunctory comic whose only addition is killing of a character that we never really got to know but had plenty of potential now wasted. I cant recommend this one, which sucks because I love the character of Carol Danvers. Shes one of the most badass heroes in the Marvel Universe.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
The Mighty Captain Marvel #9

Sep 28, 2017

That being said Margaret Stohls script and dialogue is enough to save the comic from the subpar artwork. The characters are likable, the setup is good, and its just a fun yet emotionally weighty time. I recommend this one. Pick it up.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
The Sandman Special (2017) #1

Aug 20, 2017

Overall, this comic was another good entry in DC's Jack Kirby celebration and is well worth your time. It's weird, fun, and very heartfelt. It's good seeing comic creators pay tribute to the legendary King of Comics. Give this one a read.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Titans (2016) #12

Jun 17, 2017

This isnt a bad issue to pick up if youre just hopping on Titans, and its not a bad overall issue. However, it is the weakest of this series by far. Give it a read if you love these characters or want to try out this book, but hopefully the next issue will be back to its high standard of quality.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Titans (2016) #13

Jul 14, 2017

This comic earns its recommendation very easily. Its a lot of fun, and despite the bubbling melodrama, it never became unenjoyable. Give this one a read.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Titans (2016) #15

Sep 16, 2017

Dan Abnetts Titans continues to be one of the all-stars of DCs Rebirth. This issue is one of the high points of the series in spite of its minute shortcomings. This was a highly enjoyable read, and it easily earns its recommendation. Check this one out.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Trespasser #1

Jul 8, 2017

All in all, this is a very compelling first step in the story of Trespasser. The characters seem interesting, writer Justin M. Ryan has shown that he has a lot of interesting places to take the scenario in this first issue, and artist Kristian Rossi is very clearly cut out for the story. Pick this one up. Its well worth your time and money.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
U.S.Avengers #11

Oct 3, 2017

I could easily see this comic being a little too winking and nudging for many people. It was almost that way for me, honestly. However, Ewing keeps things just funny and engaging enough to prevent it from falling to its own joke. Diazs artwork is almost worth the price of admission on its own. As such, I do tentatively recommend this comic. Give it a read, if its main joke didnt turn you off to it.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Ultimates 2 (2016) #8

Jun 23, 2017

Regardless, this is a another great chapter to a really cool story. I have been engrossed in this series from the get-go, and its never been in danger of losing my interest. I recommend this to anyone. Its a fantastic comic, and one of Marvels absolute best books on the market right now.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Ultimates 2 (2016) #9

Jul 26, 2017

Ultimates Squared is a fantastic comic, and this issue is one of the best of the series. It has big ideas, a lot of action, and the art brings it all to life marvelously. Give this one a read. Itll blow your mind.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Uncanny Avengers (2015) #24

Jun 18, 2017

Is Uncanny Avengersgreat? No, not really. Is it a serviceably fun time if you like these characters? Yes. Id say give it a try if you have an interest in this book, but it will likely be more worth your money when Secret Empire ends and we get to see what Jim Zub will be doing with the future of this book.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Uncanny Avengers (2015) #25

Jul 14, 2017

That art, along with the Shocker and Scorpia, are what keep this book from falling too far. While the price is inexcusable and the story itself doesnt bring much to the table, I can still recommend this book and offer the hope that writer Jim Zub will really be able to strut his stuff in this book once it moves past the Secret Empire tie-in.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Uncanny Avengers (2015) #26

Sep 1, 2017

Uncanny Avengers comes out on the other side of this transition with flying colors. #26 is a solid read with great character conflict and skilled artwork. This one gets a recommendation. Pick it up.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Uncanny Avengers (2015) #27

Sep 16, 2017

Uncanny Avengers is in good hands with Zub, Izaakse, and Bonvillain. Its a classic Avengers book with the sensibilities that made old Avengers stories so memorable. I highly recommend this one and cant wait for Beast and Wonder Man to come back next issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Uncanny Avengers (2015) #28

Oct 16, 2017

Uncanny Avengers #28 promises a lot of fun and adventure in the near-future. Wonder Man and Beast are back, and writer Jim Zub is firing on all cylinders. This is my favorite Avenger book right now, and it gets a strong recommendation. Give this one a try.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Unholy Grail #1

Jun 5, 2017

Unholy Grail is a fantastic tale, and is quite worthy of your time and money. Look out for this one when it comes out; it is quite a ride.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Venom (2016) #152

Jul 12, 2017

If youre in need of a fun diversion from all of this Secret Empire stuff, Venom is a great choice out of Marvels offering. Its not brilliant, but its fun and fast-paced. Oddly enough, the comic about a vicious, murderous man with an alien attached to him is one of the less depressing comics on the stands right now. Give it a try.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Venom (2016) #153

Aug 11, 2017

Venom #153 isnt a brilliant comic, but its a lot of fun. After some of the underwhelming reads this week has brought me, Venom perfectly satisfied me. It didnt do more, but at least it didnt do less. Its a good ride, and I can give it a recommendation.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Venom (2016) #154

Sep 24, 2017

Venom #154 is easily one of the best issues of the comic Ive read. With action, characterization, and a killer artist, it looks and reads fantastically. Pick this one up off the stands. Its awesome.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Venom (2016) #155

Sep 19, 2017

While recent issues of Venom were fun, #155 shows some thought and intelligence that Land Before Crime didnt really provide. Costa and Bagley look to be on the right track with Venom for Marvel Legacy, and I highly recommend this book. Check it out.

View Issue       View Full Review
3.0
Weapon X (2017) #4

Jun 19, 2017

I dont like tearing into this thing. I love the writer. I love the cast. Even the premise is kind of cool. However, none of these things coalesce into a good read. X-Men: Gold, X-Men: Blue, and All-New Wolverine all provide far better X-centric reads (thats a pun, by the way. Youre welcome). Iceman is actually pretty damn good; go read that instead. And hopefully Astonishing X-Men will turn out good. Give Weapon X #4 a wide berth.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Wonder Woman (2016) #27

Jul 28, 2017

This is a great comic. Those worried that the book would be greatly diminished by Ruckas departure can breathe easy Shea Fontana makes sure the comic doesnt miss a beat. It is a great read and comes highly recommended.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Wonder Woman (2016) #28

Aug 17, 2017

That being said, the comic is still a very enjoyable read with a lot of emotional moments and excitement. Diana Prince is Wonder Woman for a reason, and this character has her legendary reputation thanks to writers like the newly arrived Shea Fontana. She continues off of Greg Ruckas fantastic Wonder Woman series effortlessly, and I hope this writer sticks around. Pick this comic up.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Wonder Woman (2016) #29

Sep 2, 2017

This is still a pretty solid issue. The art isnt awful, even if it isnt particularly good. Wonder Woman is a great protagonist, and this story arc is an overall interesting read. This one maintains its recommendation. Pick it

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Wonder Woman (2016) #30

Sep 14, 2017

Wonder Woman #30 is a solid ending for Fontanas stint on the book, as well as an overall solid note in the annals of Wonder Woman history as a hole. It's fun and light-hearted, but still has some smart and interesting subtext. This one gets a recommendation. Check it out.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Wonder Woman (2016) #31

Sep 28, 2017

This is a good comic, but it lacks what Ive come to expect from a Wonder Woman comic, and I worry about where its going. I am still interested in the implications of Grail and Darkseids roles in this story. I do recommend it. Pick it up.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Wonder Woman (2016) #32

Oct 16, 2017

This still isnt a bad comic, though. It is fun in parts, Wonder Woman is a great hero, and the art is damn good. However, it just doesnt quite feel like a good Wonder Woman comic. I can tentatively recommend it, but it just doesnt quite measure up to the rest of the Rebirth fare.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Wonder Woman (2016) Annual #1

Jun 2, 2017

It's fun, warm, and manages to stray from the expected tropes of stories like this. Wonder Woman Annual #1 comes highly recommended.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Wonder Woman/Conan #1

Sep 20, 2017

Despite its pacing issues, the first book of the Wonder Woman/Conan crossover is enticing and engaging. Conan is a good lead, and Dianas presence helps keep the back half interesting. That, along with the amazing art, make the comic one I can easily recommend. Check it out.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
X-Men: Blue (2017) #6

Jul 2, 2017

X-Men Blue #6 was a pretty good comic. It didnt do anything to astonish me, and it does have its flaws. However, the flaws are drowned out by the books charms, and the overall experience was a good one.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
X-Men: Blue (2017) #7

Jul 12, 2017

Overall, this book was mediocre. It had some fun moments, but they were harshly undercut to the adherence to the wrong-headed story its tying into. If youre enjoying Secret Empire, youll enjoy this. If youve been following X-Men: Blue, it at least makes its own protagonists look heroic. Otherwise, you should probably give this one a pass.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
X-Men: Blue (2017) #10

Aug 31, 2017

X-Men: Blue solidly earns itself a recommendation with its tenth issue. The team feels a bit different from issue one, even if some interpersonal problems havent been solved since the beginning. However, the characters and their struggles manage to carry the book, and Valletta, Hanna, and eFX put together a visually appealing book. Grab this one next time youre at the comic shop.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
X-Men: Blue (2017) #11

Sep 16, 2017

This was another really good issue of X-Men Blue. With creative stories and compelling characters, Bunn, Franchin, Hanna, and Guru put together an engaging X-Men story here. Give this one a read.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
X-Men: Blue (2017) #12

Oct 1, 2017

Bunn, Franchin, and company hammer out another solid issue of X-Men: Blue with #12. This is a fun and fast-paced issue, and it's a worthwhile read for X-fans. Pick it up. I do hope we get more of Magneto and Polaris in the future, though.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
X-Men: Blue (2017) #13

Oct 14, 2017

This is a mixed bag of a comic. If youre looking just for some X-Men fun, then, yeah, it can provide it. However, looking even barely beyond the surface shows a pretty shallow adventure fueled by corporate anxiety. As such, I have to say give this one a pass.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.5
X-Men: Gold (2017) #5

Jun 11, 2017

I cant not recommend this book to X-Men fans, but X-Men Gold #5 is easily the weakest issue so far. The art has plenty of missteps, the message is almost superficial in its simplicity, and the plot is advanced very minutely.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
X-Men: Gold (2017) #13

Oct 16, 2017

In the end though, this comic provided many of the same problems which Blue had. The story is trying a little too hard to be cute. The art is good, but Gold brought no spin to the proceedings to justify the problems. I unfortunately cannot recommend this one either.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for
the Week of...

October

September

More