The New World #1

Writer: Ales Kot Artist: Tradd Moore, Heather Moore Publisher: Image Comics Release Date: July 25, 2018 Cover Price: $4.99 Critic Reviews: 17 User Reviews: 10
8.1Critic Rating
9.1User Rating

+ Pull List

    SERIES PREMIERE!

The United States of America-after the Second Civil War.
Two lovers meet. One: a straight-edge vegan hacker anarchist boy with a penchant for messing with the State. The other: a chaotic, hedonistic cop with a reality TV show and a license to kill. This really shouldn't happen-and yet, somehow, it does. And soon, the entire state of New California is after them.

This ballistic sci-fi action romance miniseries-in the vein of Mad Max and Romeo and Juliet-from ALEŠ KOT, TRADD MOORE, and HEATHER MOORE begins with a massive-sized debut issue, and features a backup comic introducing t more

  • 10
    Newsarama - David Pepose Jul 24, 2018

    The New World is one of those books that feels so distinct and fully realized that it’s impossible to ignore -it’s a world full of danger and intrigue, but it’s one that’s also undeniably beautiful, with so many details that you can’t help but want to explore. It is certainly a triumph for this entire creative team, which seems to be enjoying pushing themselves to the absolute limit to see what they can come up with next. Combining themes of love, culture, politics and violence, The New World is one of the best debuts of the year, and one that should not be ignored. Read Full Review

  • 10
    ComicBook.com - Chase Magnett Jul 25, 2018

    The New World #1 is a much needed reminder that joy and struggle occur simultaneously. Read Full Review

  • 10
    Comicsverse - Jhoan Suriel Jul 25, 2018

    While the star-crossed lovers premise sounds familiar (SAGA anyone?), THE NEW WORLD #1 is surprisingly excellent. The story is instantly captivating from the moment readers are introduced to its protagonists. Once the prologue ends, the story kicks into high gear and doesn't let go until the very last page. This is easily one of Image Comics' best mini-series. If you're looking for a new twist on ROMEO AND JULIET, you won't want to miss this sci-fi romance thriller. Read Full Review

  • 10
    Lyles Movie Files - Jeffrey Lyles Jul 26, 2018

    Every month it seems like Image is releasing another can't miss, must add to the reading stack list. The New World #1 is an amazing visual spectacle paired with sharp dialogue. It's got a fun premise and looks like it will be one of the top books for the rest of 2018. Read Full Review

  • 9.0
    Multiversity Comics - Reed Hinckley-Barnes Jul 26, 2018

    "The New World" #1 features stunning artwork and a world that the reader can become fully immersed in. Read Full Review

  • 9.0
    Newsarama - Matthew Sibley Jul 26, 2018

    This is an audacious, bold and striking debut. Read Full Review

  • 8.6
    Graphic Policy - Logan Dalton Jul 26, 2018

    The New World#1 is the socially responsible young people falling in love story that we deserve in summer of 2018 featuring smart world building and tongue in cheek humor from Ales Kot and jaw dropping visuals from Tradd Moore and Heather Moore. Don't forget “ACAB” though. Read Full Review

  • 8.2
    Sequential Planet - Chris Green Jul 25, 2018

    This is a great first issue, and at 60 pages is a hefty introduction to the five-part miniseries. Hopefully, Kot and Moore can continue expanding upon this world they've created and deliver an enjoyable and memorable read in the issues to come. Read Full Review

  • 8.0
    Comic Bastards - Hunter T. Patrick Jul 11, 2018

    First issues either excel strongly, making it impossible not to follow, fail miserably, making it impossible to follow, or show some potential but was decent. This falls closest to the latter. This issue serves as a lead-in, not a wonderful one-off. As the series progresses it may easily become such a rewarding issue, but it is too soon to tell. Read Full Review

  • 8.0
    Bleeding Cool - Joshua Davison Jul 31, 2018

    The New World #1 is an interesting social commentary populated by compelling characters and a premise that is almost perfect for the comic medium. Tradd and Heather Moore bring some great artwork to this project too. Check this one out. I recommend it. Read Full Review

  • 8.0
    Big Comic Page - John Wallace Jul 25, 2018

    Overall this is very well-crafted and well-paced. And, with four more issues to come, there is scope for a really tantalising tale to emerge. But dont take my word for it. Im only here to point you in the direction, its up to you to go see for yourself. Its certainly worth the cover price. Read Full Review

  • 8.0
    Comic Book Corps - Matt Granberry Jul 25, 2018

    I like this series so far, the criticism is really just my own, but if you want to see what I'm talking about go get this issue. It does have a unique story and art that I'm sure will appeal to a lot of fans. Read Full Review

  • 7.0
    The Brazen Bull - Dave Robbins Jul 24, 2018

    What may end up being yet another take on the collapse of the American century, The New World starts with the familiar, and promises to take the audience to unexpected places. This tale of star crossed lovers at the end of the world, at least looks great, the rest remains to be seen. Read Full Review

  • 7.0
    Batman's Bookcase - Zack Quaintance Jul 10, 2018

    The New World #1 is a good first issue, polished and confident. Theres a lot of disparate ideas, though, and at times it can be hard to tell which ones were supposed to care the most about. Still, this comic hooked me for the next issue or two based on the strength of its artwork alone. Read Full Review

  • 6.0
    Comicosity - Nick Hanover Jul 25, 2018

    Of course, Rotten came back stronger with Public Image Ltd, so maybe Kots on to something after all. Read Full Review

  • 6.0
    Pop Culture Uncovered - Eric Mitchell Jul 25, 2018

    The biggest issue I have with this book is the story. It just feels all over the place and I had such a hard time focusing on it. There is just too much going on and it shows. If it was just the one story and one or two subplots it would be fine but it feels like there is too much to swallow. Read Full Review

  • 5.5
    Bounding Into Comics - Matt Johnson Jul 31, 2018

    The New World #1 is an all right read. If you're a fan of Saga, Romeo and Juliet, or troubled love stories I suspect this is for you. For me, it was so-so, because I've read the other stories I've mentioned. It's not a bad book and the art has some shining moments, but the first issue is also the last I'll be picking up. Read Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

December

November

More