Dave Robbins's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: The Brazen Bull Reviews: 83
8.0Avg. Review Rating

9.0
Angelic #1

Sep 20, 2017

They had me at flying monkeys and won me over with the jet-propelled dolphins. Well done by all, in something that appears silly, but speaks louder and deeper than one might suspect.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Angelic #2

Oct 25, 2017

Angelic is way more subtle than the flying monkeys would lead you to believe. This is a sophisticated deconstruction of the idea of myth that is both fun and thought-provoking at the same time.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Aquaman (2016) #19

Mar 15, 2017

I hate to damn Abnett's Aquaman with faint praise, but not being much of an "Aquafan" myself, I find little on these pages to cause me to get too excited. Not bad, but given all there is to read, this doesn't go on the top of the pile.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Black Cloud #1

Apr 5, 2017

A stunning debut that leaves me anxious to see where the story will take me next.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Black Cloud #2

May 10, 2017

The story is gaining depth and momentum and the characters are getting more interesting with every appearance.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Black Cloud #3

Jun 14, 2017

Quality art and intrigue. Hinkle blends the real and unreal to the right kind of unease for the reader. Latour and Brandon deliver a layered story in a complex world that defy expectations.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Black Cloud #4

Jul 12, 2017

A strong and unique tale of magic, power and revolution and how no one escapes their own skin.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Black Cloud #5

Aug 16, 2017

A crazy hallucinatory political thriller that is more than meets the eye.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Bloodshot: Reborn #0

Mar 22, 2017

Bloodshot Reborn #0 earns a 6.5 out of 10 because there is too little menace and too much cute.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Coyotes #1

Nov 8, 2017

The pain and heartbreak of a little girl is blended with the cold resolve of an assassin in a chilling tale that is barely revealed in this first issue. Conspiracy and injustice abound, and a child now named Red is in the center of it all.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Crosswind #1

Jun 22, 2017

Nice twist at the end. Crosswind looks to be quite interesting and maybe have some humor in the odd encounters to come.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Evolution #1

Nov 15, 2017

Mystery and body horror abound in an Evolution that may mean the end of the world as we know it.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Extremity #3

May 3, 2017

The world of Extremity is full of intrigue and mayhem well worth the price of admission.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Extremity #4

Jun 7, 2017

I came for the gore but stayed for the story. Extremity gets more interesting and nuanced with every issue and the artwork remains vivid and superior.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Extremity #5

Jul 5, 2017

I liked it when it was all mindless gore and action. I like it even more now that there is substance, motivation, and regret.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Extremity #6

Aug 2, 2017

A solid entry in the series leaving the reader asking for more.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Extremity #7

Oct 4, 2017

There is always more to be exposed with each issue. The world is larger and the stakes are higher and we barely know what any of this is really about and that is what makes Extremity so great. Entirely original and full of surprises which living up to expectations of uninhibited carnage.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Gasolina #1

Sep 20, 2017

There is good and evil in the world, but what we notice are the things in between. Gasolina shows what it is like to struggle to live between worlds.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Grrl Scouts: Magic Socks #1

May 17, 2017

An obvious spiritual descendent of Tank Girl and respectfully so. A wild thrill ride that is unrestrained and unapologetic. Truly an acolyte of gonzo psychedelia. As your attorney, I advise you to take more art.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Grrl Scouts: Magic Socks #2

Jun 22, 2017

Wild and weird, but with a solid story that's only just beginning to open up. I'm on board for the ride.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Grrl Scouts: Magic Socks #3

Jul 19, 2017

In the risk versus reward metric Mahfood has created a brilliant artifact of unique ability in an explosive and relentless tale where every page is a sight to behold.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Grrl Scouts: Magic Socks #4

Aug 23, 2017

Mature and profane and an absolute delight.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Grrl Scouts: Magic Socks #5

Sep 20, 2017

There is nothing like Grrl Scouts. The joy is that it can be taken as seriously or as lightly as one wants. Maybe it's not for everybody, but it should be.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Grrl Scouts: Magic Socks #6

Oct 18, 2017

If you've come this far you will be thrilled as ever. If not, start from the beginning. This hallucinatory rollercoaster is the right kind of crazy hiding a solid story wrapped in brilliant if depraved art. Highly recommended for the bold seekers of experience.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Immortal Brothers: The Tale of the Green Knight #1

Apr 29, 2017

I have to say "nice try" to Van Lente. He took several of the most important scenes from Sir Gawain and the Green Knight, captured some of the intensity, but none of the significance.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
James Bond #1

Mar 1, 2017

Dynamite's James Bond: Black Box #1 is an exciting start to an encouraging series.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Magdalena (2017) #1

Mar 22, 2017

There's no shortage of comics about demonic possession these days, but this one is a clever addition and worth checking out. Nicely done with a promise of better to come.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Magdalena (2017) #2

Apr 26, 2017

The Magdalena is as exciting and subtle as it needs to be. Enough of the big picture is revealed, but the devil is in the details and those shine. Nothing says yum like a demon possession outbreak through food truck corruption.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Magdalena (2017) #3

May 24, 2017

A nice take on the relic holding defender of humanity, with good dialogue and vibrant artwork.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Magdalena (2017) #4

Jun 28, 2017

A consistent and enjoyable stab-y romp with no real surprises.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Man-Thing (2017) #1

Mar 10, 2017

So far, I have to say I'm on Team Gerber, not Team Stine. I'm curious how this might pan out, so I'll give it another shot. The issue ends abruptly with a surprising encounter and standard punch out followed by a throwaway short "weird tale."

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Monstress #11

Apr 22, 2017

Beautiful and fascinating and highly recommended with a depth and sophistication that makes it a great read.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Monstress #12

May 31, 2017

Ambitious and epic, one of the most sophisticated and detailed stories around. Rich in lore and color in every sense.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Old Guard #2

Apr 3, 2017

The Old Guard #2 is a worthy and worthwhile shoot 'em up thriller.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Old Guard #3

Apr 26, 2017

All aboard for a thrilling ride with fascinating characters.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Old Guard #4

May 24, 2017

Consistent action and smooth story telling.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Old Guard #5

Jun 21, 2017

A non-stop thrill ride with intelligence and heart.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Orphan Black: Deviations #1

Mar 30, 2017

Orphan Black: Deviations #1 captures the spirit of the original while still exploring new and exciting territory.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Orphan Black: Deviations #2

May 1, 2017

Though the first issue was much stronger, here's to hoping that the coming issues take more chances and deviate in creative and compelling ways. Orphan Black: Deviations #2 is a competent entry into the clonespirarcy but does little to stake out a territory of its own.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Orphan Black: Deviations #3

Jul 12, 2017

Fans of the show might like this, but any chance of engaging a new audience has been abandoned.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Paklis #1

May 31, 2017

A nice taste of some decent science fiction melodrama. The writing by a fair bit making the overall impression unbalanced.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Port of Earth #1

Nov 8, 2017

This is a space opera with a twist. The aliens are taking over, but the humans asked for it. There is plenty of blame to go around and no doubt the action has yet to really open up. A promising and intriguing premise that looks likely to be layered enough to deliver a powerful and provocative story.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Rat Queens (2017) #1

Mar 6, 2017

With artwork of excruciating detail and manic energy, Gieni captures the spirit and personality of the Queen with a beauty and simplicity that is easy to enjoy. Wiebe gives us sharp dialogue and expertly turns our expectations upside down.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Rat Queens (2017) #2

Apr 12, 2017

With the larger story now front and center, Rat Queens looks to be setting up another interesting and suspenseful arc. The consistently smart writing and intricate artwork remain. Weibe and Gieni know exactly what they want and how to put it on paper. Well done and I have good hopes for the future. This issue is mostly about exposition, but necessary, so I couldn't find too much fault with it.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Rat Queens (2017) #3

May 24, 2017

The Queens are taking a breather this time. A little humor, a little drama, but nothing memorable. To be fair, though, anything after the Giant Monster Lizard Bird is bound to be a letdown.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Rat Queens (2017) #4

Jul 5, 2017

Good job. Entertaining and humorous as always.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Rat Queens (2017): Orc Dave Special #1

Sep 27, 2017

Orc Dave is given well-deserved life and depth in a tale full of sadness and wonder. He is a true hero when one ought not to mistake kindness for weakness. This is a terrific addition to the continuing story of our beloved Rat Queens.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Realm #1

Sep 13, 2017

The Realm is everything necessary in an action adventure with a touch of fantasy. Guns and swords and magic at the end of the world is supposed to be thrilling and Haun and Peck have brought the best.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Realm #2

Oct 18, 2017

If you've come this far you will be thrilled as ever. If not, start from the beginning. This hallucinatory rollercoaster is the right kind of crazy hiding a solid story wrapped in brilliant if depraved art. Highly recommended for the bold seekers of experience.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Realm #3

Nov 15, 2017

This is a solid post-apocalyptic Horror Fantasy with great characters and lots of secrets to unravel. While the bad guys seem really bad, it is nice to see that the good guys aren't exactly pristine. The Realm maintains the suspense with each issue and promises something unique.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Royal City #2

Apr 22, 2017

This second issue delves deeper into the relationships of the principals and their influence (intentional or not) on each other. It ups the stakes without becoming a soap opera. The artwork is simple and realistic but captures the mood and internalization of the ghostly brother Tommy with appropriate subtlety.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Royal City #3

May 17, 2017

A bit more sophisticated than the usual fare, but honest and intense. This is a personal drama with real world sensibilities. Moody and dark.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Royal City #4

Jun 21, 2017

Lemire tells a good story and these characters are recognizable, but I'm caring less the deeper he goes.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Royal City #5

Jul 19, 2017

Uncomfortable and mournful, Lemire sets the perfect scene for something so intimate.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Royal City #6

Oct 11, 2017

This early in the arc, it is hard to tell who is worth caring about, but Tommy is certainly central and the heartbreak is sure to come. This is a genuine tragedy, but we've yet to be shown heroics.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Sacred Creatures #1

Jul 5, 2017

There is a great deal of potential in the story and characters. The art suits the mood and the tone.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Scales And Scoundrels #1

Sep 6, 2017

A worthy party adventure story led by a likable and mysterious young girl.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Sex Criminals #17

Mar 17, 2017

The story blends action and irreverence with humor. My biggest complaint is that the writers have a tendency to intrude in the narrative just a little too much. WE GET IT! We wouldn't be here otherwise.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Slots #1

Oct 4, 2017

This is a story about real people who make mistakes and probably fail "a lot. That's good because Slots is as personal and intimate and real as can be.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Slots #2

Nov 8, 2017

REVIEW OVERVIEWScore9SUMMARYDespite the fact that the main character has a near complete lack of redeeming qualities, Stanley Dance is still fascinating to watch. I haven't decided if I'm rooting for him or rooting for him to crash and burn. Either way, I'm in for the duration.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Sovereigns #0

Apr 11, 2017

No need to reiterate the list of well-known and successful artist and writers, but there is something here for everyone. This is really little more than a taste of things to come, but each section looks pretty juicy and likely to stand on their own.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Spencer & Locke #1

Apr 12, 2017

Well done at every turn, brilliant in its audacity and visually subtle, the moods and terror that were always under the surface have come to light. Great fun and the right kind of creepy, although it makes me rethink how sinister the original really was.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Spencer & Locke #2

May 31, 2017

Quirky and highly unusual, Spencer & Locke tugs at the heartstrings while upending childhood innocence and destroying sentimentality.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Spencer & Locke #3

Jun 21, 2017

I keep expecting this unique story to fail under its own weirdness, but instead it gets better.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Spencer & Locke #4

Jul 19, 2017

A dark and unique mash up of detective story and the beloved comic strip that adds to the original without tarnishing it.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Sun Bakery (2017) #2

Apr 11, 2017

It doesn't break new ground, exactly, and lacks a certain cohesiveness, but it does deliver on an ambitious creative level. I'm all for creators who are willing to push the envelope and set their own style and I think Corey Lewis has managed to do just that.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
The Divided States of Hysteria #1

Jun 7, 2017

Howard Chaykin is back whether you want him or not. Expect a fist in the face and a face full of provocation splashed onto every page. You are dared to look and dared to look away. You are warned.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
The Divided States of Hysteria #2

Jul 12, 2017

Shock value has limited staying power and the story suffers as a result. Time to dial in on a more compelling tale.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
The Librarians #1

Sep 20, 2017

Dynamite definitely knows what they're doing when it comes to comic versions of established character property from other mediums. Those who enjoy the television show will find a great addition to the series in these pages. Others will find a good story told well with fun characters and a nice adventure.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Underwinter #1

Mar 22, 2017

A classic story told well and leaving me wanting more. I thought it was over too soon, and it left my anticipation for the next chapter so great as to be uncomfortable.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Underwinter #2

Apr 26, 2017

Underwinter continues its unique literary and stylistic approach to the telling a familiar story. Well done at every turn. This is an elevation of the comic art form.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Underwinter #3

May 24, 2017

I'm enmeshed too. I've never seen anything like this before and I am completely taken with the restrained techniques both in illustration and narration.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Underwinter #4

Jun 28, 2017

A very light touch slow burn of a horror story which is more squirm and nausea inducing than a fright fest.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Underwinter #5

Aug 2, 2017

A challenging read with unique and abstract artwork, but beautiful and moving none the less.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Underwinter #6

Aug 23, 2017

I would not recommend Underwinter for most people, but overall it is a nice and meaty dish served instead of candy.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Underwinter: A Field of Feathers #1

Oct 25, 2017

They say familiarity breeds contempt. There is nothing here that we haven't seen before. Maybe Fawkes has come to the well once too often.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Victor LaValle's Destroyer #1

May 31, 2017

LaValle's reanimation of a classic tale is skillfully presented with a new perspective and greater depth. It borrows its intensity and conflict more from the gothic literary source material that the film history which makes for a stronger story. The legend is modernized and the story is intense. We've only just been introduced to the players, but it looks to be an exciting and original as it continues.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Victor LaValle's Destroyer #2

Jun 22, 2017

An alchemistic technographic gothic story of a mother's love and what grief can drive someone to do.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Victor LaValle's Destroyer #3

Jul 21, 2017

There is plenty of substance to this rework of a classic examination of humanity.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Warframe #1

Oct 4, 2017

If the idea of a comic based on a game and put together by committee isn't a deal breaker, then Warframe #1 is worth checking out. Quality world building and evocative art tell a good enough story at the start and there is reason enough to see how good it might become.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.5
Winnebago Graveyard #1

Jun 14, 2017

I like stories about demonic cults as much as anyone, maybe more so, and I'm pretty forgiving about slow builds, but the pace and originality need to pick up right quick. This is not a promising start.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Winnebago Graveyard #2

Jul 19, 2017

Winnebago Graveyard is nothing more than a typical horror movie idiot plot where if the main characters weren't such idiots, the event would never have occurred.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Winnebago Graveyard #3

Aug 16, 2017

Fabulous art and underwhelming story. The creep factor is there, but nothing you haven't seen before.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for
the Week of...

November

October

More