Dave Robbins's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: The Brazen Bull Reviews: 189
8.1Avg. Review Rating

9.0
A Walk Through Hell #1

Apr 2, 2018

The title A Walk Through Hell lets us know where this series is headed, but the introduction is a slow burn that meticulously adds levels of spine tingling "extreme discomfort and anxiety" with every page. Nothing has been revealed yet, but that sour feeling in the pit of the stomach has already begun, and will only get worse. How is nightmare defined? Well, we're going to find out.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Analog #1

Apr 2, 2018

In the aftermath of a digital age gone haywire, it takes a simple man to get the job done. He also needs to be brutal and deadly. Analog is a spy story for today reminding us that nothing stays secret for long, and sometimes they really are out to get us.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Analog #2

May 7, 2018

Analog feels more like a gritty detective story than a slick spy thriller because, as awful as the world has become, the world gets the hero it deserves. Jack McGinnis is nobody's fool, but he's no Prince Charming either. But who's more fun anyway?

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Angelic #1

Sep 20, 2017

They had me at flying monkeys and won me over with the jet-propelled dolphins. Well done by all, in something that appears silly, but speaks louder and deeper than one might suspect.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Angelic #2

Oct 25, 2017

Angelic is way more subtle than the flying monkeys would lead you to believe. This is a sophisticated deconstruction of the idea of myth that is both fun and thought-provoking at the same time.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Angelic #3

Nov 21, 2017

Angelic continues to be a more than meets the eye delight. Strong characters, intricate plot and precise world-building provide more than enough for the fan of a light adventure as well as those who prefer the more intricate questions of civilization, sentience, and technology.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Angelic #5

Jan 16, 2018

Angelic is the story of humanity's failure and "maker's pride." Like Qora we are lead to dark places to be surprised and learn what the truth about faith is revealed to be.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Angelic #6

Feb 14, 2018

Angelic is a series that challenges expectations and delivers more than required. This is an exciting adventure about flying monkeys and cyborg manatees, but more so it is about individuality, the courage of convictions and the danger of group-think. One of the best of the best.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Antar: The Black Knight #1

Apr 18, 2018

Antar is where ancient epic poetry meets Conan the Barbarian told in a fully modern tale of true heroism.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Aquaman (2016) #19

Mar 15, 2017

I hate to damn Abnett's Aquaman with faint praise, but not being much of an "Aquafan" myself, I find little on these pages to cause me to get too excited. Not bad, but given all there is to read, this doesn't go on the top of the pile.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Black Cloud #1

Apr 5, 2017

A stunning debut that leaves me anxious to see where the story will take me next.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Black Cloud #2

May 10, 2017

The story is gaining depth and momentum and the characters are getting more interesting with every appearance.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Black Cloud #3

Jun 14, 2017

Quality art and intrigue. Hinkle blends the real and unreal to the right kind of unease for the reader. Latour and Brandon deliver a layered story in a complex world that defy expectations.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Black Cloud #4

Jul 12, 2017

A strong and unique tale of magic, power and revolution and how no one escapes their own skin.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Black Cloud #5

Aug 16, 2017

A crazy hallucinatory political thriller that is more than meets the eye.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Black Science #35

May 2, 2018

Despite the Sci-fi trappings of inter-dimensionality, Black Science continues to be a story about people, what they do to each other and what they mean to each other.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Bloodshot: Reborn #0

Mar 22, 2017

Bloodshot Reborn #0 earns a 6.5 out of 10 because there is too little menace and too much cute.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Bloodshot: Salvation #6

Feb 14, 2018

This is the story of a Dad willing to go through hell in order to save his child. That his family is in the center of a vast web of intrigue, he happens to be a science enhanced super soldier who has to cheat death, and he must survive the unknown agenda of a mysterious organization makes Bloodshot Salvation that much more interesting. There is an awful lot going on here, but jump in, the water's fine, even if it is deep.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Bloodshot: Salvation #7

Mar 7, 2018

You would think that a story told in near complete darkness would have the strongest tools of a visual medium taken away, but not here. This is an amazing story told with unbelievable skill. Bloodshot Salvation #7 is a masterclass on how to pull readers into a story and force them to use their imagination. This is unprecedented effort that succeeds in the best possible way, and it is well deserving of the highest possible score.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Bloodshot: Salvation #8

Apr 11, 2018

Bloodshot mows his way through demon hordes and strikes a deal that he may regret, all for the love and life of a daughter he may never see again.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Bloodshot: Salvation #9

May 15, 2018

This grim story is more about the ravages and pointlessness of World War I, rather than a true origin story. Bloodhound appears with an explanation about his origins, but there's not much more than that.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Cold War (2018) #3

Apr 11, 2018

The frightening world of Cold War continues with the stakes getting higher and the mystery getting deeper. There are more important questions to ask than "Who are these people?" and "Why are they here?" and none of the answers come easy.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Coyotes #1

Nov 8, 2017

The pain and heartbreak of a little girl is blended with the cold resolve of an assassin in a chilling tale that is barely revealed in this first issue. Conspiracy and injustice abound, and a child now named Red is in the center of it all.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Coyotes #2

Dec 13, 2017

Coyotes is an original take on the all too familiar werewolf story. The narrative is packed with strong and heroic women and mystery upon mystery. At issue three the story is just beginning to open up and so far it has been worth the price of admission with each installment.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Coyotes #3

Jan 10, 2018

Coyotes is innovative and intelligent that captures a sense of timelessness while firmly establishing itself in the here and now. This is never just another werewolf story and always something thrilling and mysterious.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Coyotes #4

Feb 7, 2018

In just four issues Lewis and Yarsky have crafted a smart and timely story that is part folklore, part manifesto and all good. Never underestimate a girl with a sword. Coyotes is thrilling and entirely original in the best possible way.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Crosswind #1

Jun 22, 2017

Nice twist at the end. Crosswind looks to be quite interesting and maybe have some humor in the odd encounters to come.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Cyber Force (2018) #1

Mar 28, 2018

The world is in peril and Morgan Stryker is just the man for the job, built to make things right. CyberForce begins with an anguished super soldier story and promises a suspense thriller.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Cyber Force (2018) #2

Apr 23, 2018

Powerful, if reluctant heroes and rage fueled villains are gathering to do battle for the fate and the future of the world. Of course there are shadowy figures pulling the strings and maybe that is where the real drama will come from.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Days of Hate #1

Jan 16, 2018

Days of Hate is an ugly look at the ugly world, and while recognizable from a contemporary point of view, this rendering may be somewhat gratuitous. Is this a bleak look at the world or an exploitation of its pain? I'm not sure yet, but this is no doubt going to be a grim ride.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Deathbed #2

Mar 21, 2018

The madness and chaos are thrown at the audience in a relentless storm that is almost overwhelming. This is a roller coaster of action and emotion where it is marvelously hard to tell the difference between truth and fiction, madness and reality. It is all so much fun, and should not be missed.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Deathbed #3

Apr 18, 2018

There is never a dull moment in Deathbed. This issue is action packed with depravity of the first order. You can't look away and you shouldn't, this is the magnificent madness you've been looking for.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Deathbed #4

May 16, 2018

This is the most sedate and introspective issue of Deathbed yet, as for once, it adds substance to an otherwise insane free for all. That's not a complaint. I'm sure we'll get back to the usual level of madness next time.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Dejah Thoris (2018) #0

Jan 10, 2018

This modern take on a century old character is as fresh and vibrant as it needs to be while telling a tale with a legitimate classic feel. Both fans of the original and various incarnations since as well as the new audience will find a bold and entertaining Princess worth following.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Dejah Thoris (2018) #1

Feb 7, 2018

Barsoom may be dangerous, but so is the magnificent Princess. Her party assembled, she is off on her quest for the City of Ephesium, the mythic source of endless water. High-heeled and scantily clad, what could possibly go wrong?

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Dejah Thoris (2018) #2

Mar 7, 2018

Issue two is a little less playful and absurd than the first issue but it adds a promise for a more involved and epic story. Dejah Thoris is becoming more of a leader than she ever imaged and her growth comes at a heavy price greater than he hoped to pay.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Dejah Thoris (2018) #3

Apr 4, 2018

The epic fantasy adventure of Barsoom continues in a delightful chapter where Dejah faces even more difficult challenges but gets closer to her goal. Her quest continues to thrill and entertain.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Dry County #1

Mar 14, 2018

The visual style screams highbrow sequential art, but the story is as down to earth and relatable as can be. Stretching the genre can work out just fine in the capable hands of Rich Tommaso. It just looks like it may take a while to get fully established.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Evolution #1

Nov 15, 2017

Mystery and body horror abound in an Evolution that may mean the end of the world as we know it.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Extremity #3

May 3, 2017

The world of Extremity is full of intrigue and mayhem well worth the price of admission.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Extremity #4

Jun 7, 2017

I came for the gore but stayed for the story. Extremity gets more interesting and nuanced with every issue and the artwork remains vivid and superior.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Extremity #5

Jul 5, 2017

I liked it when it was all mindless gore and action. I like it even more now that there is substance, motivation, and regret.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Extremity #6

Aug 2, 2017

A solid entry in the series leaving the reader asking for more.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Extremity #7

Oct 4, 2017

There is always more to be exposed with each issue. The world is larger and the stakes are higher and we barely know what any of this is really about and that is what makes Extremity so great. Entirely original and full of surprises which living up to expectations of uninhibited carnage.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Extremity #9

Dec 6, 2017

Extremity continues to be the best of both worlds. All blood and gore and wild battles and extreme images, but there is always the human element to be considered. The characters and world building are intelligent and thought-provoking while the action is thrilling and as over the top as anything.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Extremity #10

Jan 3, 2018

With every issue Extremity shocks and provokes to tell a story full of conflict both of internal and global significance. There may be blood and gore aplenty, horrifying monsters (and some of those monsters aren't the humans), but this is also the story of the innocents drawn into the madness of vengeance and obsession.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Extremity #11

Feb 7, 2018

Love and honor are equally powerful and just as damaging. Thea and Rollo begin to see that there is no justification for the horrors, and that the emotional stakes are huge yet they do what they must do regardless of consequence. These characters have come a long way and they have a lot to lose. The story remains as exciting and thought provoking as ever. Extremity is not to be missed.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Extremity #12

Mar 7, 2018

Extremity ends where it must. The struggle for the soul of the world pits one extreme against the next to result in nothing more than mutual assured annihilation. We are given hope that another generation may see their way clear, but there is no guarantee that they will be successful.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Gasolina #1

Sep 20, 2017

There is good and evil in the world, but what we notice are the things in between. Gasolina shows what it is like to struggle to live between worlds.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Green Hornet (2018) #1

Mar 7, 2018

This modern take on Green Hornet hits all the rights notes blending nostalgia with a solid story that continues and expands on all that has come before.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Green Hornet (2018) #2

Apr 4, 2018

This second issue takes a bit of a departure from the usual concerns of the Green Hornet. While the masked hero is usually concerned with Century City, this story has taken a decidedly international turn, but the final twist makes it all pay off.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Green Hornet (2018) #3

May 9, 2018

Clearly Britt, Jr. has some regrets and Mulan has reasons to distrust him, but while the intrigue mounts and the perils increase it is not the time to hold grudges. The addition of the character of the Oko is a nice touch. A bad guy pretending to be good works well in this world.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Grrl Scouts: Magic Socks #1

May 17, 2017

An obvious spiritual descendent of Tank Girl and respectfully so. A wild thrill ride that is unrestrained and unapologetic. Truly an acolyte of gonzo psychedelia. As your attorney, I advise you to take more art.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Grrl Scouts: Magic Socks #2

Jun 22, 2017

Wild and weird, but with a solid story that's only just beginning to open up. I'm on board for the ride.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Grrl Scouts: Magic Socks #3

Jul 19, 2017

In the risk versus reward metric Mahfood has created a brilliant artifact of unique ability in an explosive and relentless tale where every page is a sight to behold.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Grrl Scouts: Magic Socks #4

Aug 23, 2017

Mature and profane and an absolute delight.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Grrl Scouts: Magic Socks #5

Sep 20, 2017

There is nothing like Grrl Scouts. The joy is that it can be taken as seriously or as lightly as one wants. Maybe it's not for everybody, but it should be.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Grrl Scouts: Magic Socks #6

Oct 18, 2017

If you've come this far you will be thrilled as ever. If not, start from the beginning. This hallucinatory rollercoaster is the right kind of crazy hiding a solid story wrapped in brilliant if depraved art. Highly recommended for the bold seekers of experience.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Ice Cream Man #4

Apr 23, 2018

Ice Cream Man is all about the subtle creepiness and horrors of everyday life. You might not have to leave the lights on for this one, but it is haunting nonetheless.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Immortal Brothers: The Tale of the Green Knight #1

Apr 29, 2017

I have to say "nice try" to Van Lente. He took several of the most important scenes from Sir Gawain and the Green Knight, captured some of the intensity, but none of the significance.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Infidel #1

Mar 14, 2018

Smart and subtle, Infidel is a modern approach to horror and suspense told with care and populated with fully realized characters. If you are looking for substance over spectacle, this is the place to find it.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Infidel #2

Apr 16, 2018

Infidel is truly terrifying with the netherworld creeping into Aisha's reality as she tries everything to keep it at bay. As the blood pools on the floor she understands that the true horror is only just beginning.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Infidel #3

May 15, 2018

The unease is more than just awkward conversation, it is the manifestation of horrible evil in a story that is a thrilling page turner. Both terrifying and familiar, there is nothing like Infidel.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Isola #1

Apr 2, 2018

This epic adventure is just beginning, but the characters are appealing enough and there is enough mystery to bring readers back for more. Combined with lush artwork Isola is a treat worth experiencing.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Isola #2

May 7, 2018

With this, the second issue, the series is off to a slow start as all the secrets and loyalties have not been revealed. What we have seen, though, is a rich world populated by three dimensional character who are well worth spending some time with and getting to know.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
James Bond #1

Mar 1, 2017

Dynamite's James Bond: Black Box #1 is an exciting start to an encouraging series.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Jimmy's Bastards #8

May 15, 2018

Sure, the hero will survive, but more importantly " will the puppy?

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
KISS/Army Of Darkness #1

Feb 28, 2018

I'm not going to lie, KISS in any form makes me cringe, but I figure if I just act like I'm in on the joke I might have some fun. That's the same way I look at Ash Williams anyway. It helps that the whole Evil Dead/Army of Darkness history leaves a lot of room for silliness along with action. So enjoy, but never take any of it seriously.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
KISS/Army Of Darkness #2

Mar 28, 2018

This is a gift to the fans, but tends to lean heavier toward the KISS Army rather than Ash fans, but it is still fun and looks to be an action packed run. Not bad, but mostly for the true believers.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Legenderry Red Sonja (2018) #1

Feb 7, 2018

The rousing lighthearted tone suits the absurd premise making this an entertaining jaunt. Red Sonja is gorgeous and heroic and a great deal of fun. What else is there? A simple action adventure that is worth a look.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Legenderry Red Sonja (2018) #3

Apr 10, 2018

Legenderry: Red Sonja is a goodtime rousing tale of sword play and intrigue. It is a glorious adventure with a delightful Pirate Queen paired with a nice star crossed lover backstory. And magic. And a submarine.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Lockjaw (2018) #1

Mar 2, 2018

The dog is definitely the hero in this story and the remnants of D-man is the sidekick. Don't forget the hamsters piloting quad-copters! Light and fun. No harm no foul.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Lockjaw (2018) #2

Mar 29, 2018

I am enjoying this series far more than I thought I would, mainly because it is just plain goofy fun. I'm not sure if this is going anywhere, but I am enjoying the ride.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Magdalena (2017) #1

Mar 22, 2017

There's no shortage of comics about demonic possession these days, but this one is a clever addition and worth checking out. Nicely done with a promise of better to come.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Magdalena (2017) #2

Apr 26, 2017

The Magdalena is as exciting and subtle as it needs to be. Enough of the big picture is revealed, but the devil is in the details and those shine. Nothing says yum like a demon possession outbreak through food truck corruption.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Magdalena (2017) #3

May 24, 2017

A nice take on the relic holding defender of humanity, with good dialogue and vibrant artwork.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Magdalena (2017) #4

Jun 28, 2017

A consistent and enjoyable stab-y romp with no real surprises.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Man-Thing (2017) #1

Mar 10, 2017

So far, I have to say I'm on Team Gerber, not Team Stine. I'm curious how this might pan out, so I'll give it another shot. The issue ends abruptly with a surprising encounter and standard punch out followed by a throwaway short "weird tale."

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Monstress #11

Apr 22, 2017

Beautiful and fascinating and highly recommended with a depth and sophistication that makes it a great read.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Monstress #12

May 31, 2017

Ambitious and epic, one of the most sophisticated and detailed stories around. Rich in lore and color in every sense.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Monstress #14

Feb 20, 2018

Monstress is another well regarded title whose reputation is well deserved. It is truly amazing at every level.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Monstress #15

Mar 21, 2018

It is true that the whole is more than the sum of its parts. The language is rich and visual imagery is astounding. I use the word epic far too often in my accounts of Monstress, but as always, it is applicable in all sense of the word.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Monstro Mechanica #1

Dec 13, 2017

Monstro Mechanica is a marvelous medieval romp that has all the action and intrigue of a modern techno-thriller. A rogue-ish Leonardo Da Vinci just makes it all the more fun.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Motherlands #1

Jan 31, 2018

Sex sells and reality TV rules, so why not combine both in a futuristic game of hide and seek? Bawdy and entertaining, Motherlands is likely to raise a laugh or two.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Motherlands #2

Feb 28, 2018

The conflict between neglectful mother and resentful child is forefront in this adventure through the multiverse.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Motherlands #4

Apr 24, 2018

Though both main characters are difficult to like, their story is a fascinating journey. We still don't know the truth about anything, really, and I doubt we'll end up with one big happy family, but it has been a wild, if noxious, ride.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Multiple Warheads: Ghost Throne #1

Feb 21, 2018

Sometimes it is hard to tell the difference between the diligently crafted surreal and the merely drug addled. But, I suppose that is the point. Coming from someone who likes the weird, but didn't find context, I liked Multiply Warheads anyway, but not as much as I had hoped. Even if I had seen the prior work, I am not sure that it would have improved the experience, but in any case, I doubt that this is a title for casual readers.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
New Superman #20

Feb 13, 2018

New Super-Man and the Justice League of China is funny and pleasant and a nice change of pace. Some might call it blasphemy, but come on, it's just a comic.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Old Guard #2

Apr 3, 2017

The Old Guard #2 is a worthy and worthwhile shoot 'em up thriller.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Old Guard #3

Apr 26, 2017

All aboard for a thrilling ride with fascinating characters.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Old Guard #4

May 24, 2017

Consistent action and smooth story telling.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Old Guard #5

Jun 21, 2017

A non-stop thrill ride with intelligence and heart.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Orphan Black: Deviations #1

Mar 30, 2017

Orphan Black: Deviations #1 captures the spirit of the original while still exploring new and exciting territory.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Orphan Black: Deviations #2

May 1, 2017

Though the first issue was much stronger, here's to hoping that the coming issues take more chances and deviate in creative and compelling ways. Orphan Black: Deviations #2 is a competent entry into the clonespirarcy but does little to stake out a territory of its own.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Orphan Black: Deviations #3

Jul 12, 2017

Fans of the show might like this, but any chance of engaging a new audience has been abandoned.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Paklis #1

May 31, 2017

A nice taste of some decent science fiction melodrama. The writing by a fair bit making the overall impression unbalanced.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Port of Earth #1

Nov 8, 2017

This is a space opera with a twist. The aliens are taking over, but the humans asked for it. There is plenty of blame to go around and no doubt the action has yet to really open up. A promising and intriguing premise that looks likely to be layered enough to deliver a powerful and provocative story.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Prism Stalker #1

Mar 7, 2018

Weird does not even begin to describe the world of Prism Stalker, but its originality is immense. This does not look like a conventional comic and it does not look to be a conventional story. Intriguing and mythic so far, but more needs to be fleshed out so to speak.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Prism Stalker #2

Apr 10, 2018

Exotic and hypnotic, Prism Stalker is a journey of the mind where the unfamiliar is what is commonplace. As the main character explores, so do we, and neither of us can imagine what is to come. This is a gentle trip of exploration requiring nothing but imagination and a willingness to relax and float downstream.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
PumpkinHead #1

Feb 20, 2018

Dread and terror infect even the most mundane conversations. As much as the Sheriff hopes to resolve things in a conventional way, it is clear that that will never be possible.Pumpkinhead #1 is agreat beginning to a vengeance fable about all too real modern evils and the lengths that ordinary people might go to in order to see justice served.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
PumpkinHead #2

Mar 14, 2018

Pumpkinhead has all the chills and plot necessary for a thrilling tale of the macabre. The characters are earnest and the monsters are disturbing in a story that is only going to get better.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Punks Not Dead #2

Mar 21, 2018

This Odd Couple of teenage angst and unfocused rebellion has enough personality and humor to start building momentum. Oh, and the encapsulation of adolescent torment with the Undertones reference is awesome. Teenage Kicks, indeed.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Punks Not Dead #3

Apr 18, 2018

This humorous collection of misanthropes come together for a witty and fun ghost story, but this issue looks to be taking it a step further with some middle aged dancing fools and a nasty apparition looking for a boy.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Punks Not Dead #4

May 9, 2018

We're starting to get into the deep end of the supernatural and the situation will get far more creepy and dangerous from this point on.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Rat Queens (2017) #1

Mar 6, 2017

With artwork of excruciating detail and manic energy, Gieni captures the spirit and personality of the Queen with a beauty and simplicity that is easy to enjoy. Wiebe gives us sharp dialogue and expertly turns our expectations upside down.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Rat Queens (2017) #2

Apr 12, 2017

With the larger story now front and center, Rat Queens looks to be setting up another interesting and suspenseful arc. The consistently smart writing and intricate artwork remain. Weibe and Gieni know exactly what they want and how to put it on paper. Well done and I have good hopes for the future. This issue is mostly about exposition, but necessary, so I couldn't find too much fault with it.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Rat Queens (2017) #3

May 24, 2017

The Queens are taking a breather this time. A little humor, a little drama, but nothing memorable. To be fair, though, anything after the Giant Monster Lizard Bird is bound to be a letdown.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Rat Queens (2017) #4

Jul 5, 2017

Good job. Entertaining and humorous as always.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Rat Queens (2017) #6

Nov 21, 2017

There are the usual doses of bawdiness and overindulgence, but at the core, this is a story about loss and it is a story with a great deal of heart. While unlikely to win over new fans, we have a new villain a new mystery and some introspection that longtime fans should appreciate.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Rat Queens (2017) #7

Jan 3, 2018

What could have been a one note gimmick has evolved into a compelling action adventure with truly beloved characters. There is not anything new here, but that's ok, the darling Rat Queens are as enthralling as ever.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Rat Queens (2017) #8

Feb 28, 2018

Hallucination? Psychological dreamscape? At this point I'm not exactly sure what's going on except that Betty feels as scattered and unsure as I do. I miss Braga too, and I remember Vi. These are our beloved Rat Queens, so that means everything will be fine, right?

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Rat Queens (2017) #9

May 15, 2018

We know, we hope, that our beloved Rat Queens will survive the damages inflicted by the reality wizard, but the cruel outcomes only seem to get worse.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Rat Queens (2017): Orc Dave Special #1

Sep 27, 2017

Orc Dave is given well-deserved life and depth in a tale full of sadness and wonder. He is a true hero when one ought not to mistake kindness for weakness. This is a terrific addition to the continuing story of our beloved Rat Queens.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Realm #1

Sep 13, 2017

The Realm is everything necessary in an action adventure with a touch of fantasy. Guns and swords and magic at the end of the world is supposed to be thrilling and Haun and Peck have brought the best.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Realm #2

Oct 18, 2017

If you've come this far you will be thrilled as ever. If not, start from the beginning. This hallucinatory rollercoaster is the right kind of crazy hiding a solid story wrapped in brilliant if depraved art. Highly recommended for the bold seekers of experience.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Realm #3

Nov 15, 2017

This is a solid post-apocalyptic Horror Fantasy with great characters and lots of secrets to unravel. While the bad guys seem really bad, it is nice to see that the good guys aren't exactly pristine. The Realm maintains the suspense with each issue and promises something unique.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Red Sonja/Tarzan #1

May 2, 2018

This pairing of Red Sonja and Tarzan works on several levels and provides clear motivations based of vengeance that will surely propel an action packed story.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Rick Veitch's The One #2

Mar 14, 2018

With creepy super heroes and strange supernatural intruders, there is nothing to do but go along for the ride. It doesn't seem to make a whole lot of sense, but that is entirely beside the point. Relax and enjoy the pretty colors.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Rough Riders: Ride or Die #1

Mar 2, 2018

It is fun to read about Teddy Roosevelt and Thomas Edison kicking ass, especially when Harry Houdini and Annie Oakley have to help them even though they don't like them. Rough Riders: Ride or Die is an engaging supernatural adventure mysterywith believable versions of famous heroes fighting the good fight.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Rough Riders: Ride or Die #2

Mar 29, 2018

This American made coalition of unusual chaps is gathered to confront evil in a rousing tale that seems like it almost could be true. Rough Riders continues to be a great combination of the larger than life figures from the past and the modern comic book narrative.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Rough Riders: Ride or Die #3

Apr 16, 2018

Rough Riders: Ride or Die is as fun and exciting as any gathering of notable individuals can be when fighting and army of the dead. Part supernatural quest and part police procedural, the action is as constant as the team is legendary.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Rough Riders: Ride or Die #4

May 9, 2018

In this issue, the finale of the third volume, this association of remarkable persons must do battle with death, possession and an undead army. This will may prove to be their last conflict, but they go out with a magnificent legacy. Oh, and Thomas Edison is a jerk.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Royal City #2

Apr 22, 2017

This second issue delves deeper into the relationships of the principals and their influence (intentional or not) on each other. It ups the stakes without becoming a soap opera. The artwork is simple and realistic but captures the mood and internalization of the ghostly brother Tommy with appropriate subtlety.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Royal City #3

May 17, 2017

A bit more sophisticated than the usual fare, but honest and intense. This is a personal drama with real world sensibilities. Moody and dark.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Royal City #4

Jun 21, 2017

Lemire tells a good story and these characters are recognizable, but I'm caring less the deeper he goes.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Royal City #5

Jul 19, 2017

Uncomfortable and mournful, Lemire sets the perfect scene for something so intimate.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Royal City #6

Oct 11, 2017

This early in the arc, it is hard to tell who is worth caring about, but Tommy is certainly central and the heartbreak is sure to come. This is a genuine tragedy, but we've yet to be shown heroics.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Rumble (2017) #1

Dec 13, 2017

Ordinarily, I like weird. I want the writers to mash genres and I want the artists to color outside the lines, but Arcudi and Rubin miss the mark with Rumble. The story is thin and the art is cartoonish making it difficult to take the action seriously and providing little compulsion to expect much different to come in subsequent issues.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Sacred Creatures #1

Jul 5, 2017

There is a great deal of potential in the story and characters. The art suits the mood and the tone.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Scales And Scoundrels #1

Sep 6, 2017

A worthy party adventure story led by a likable and mysterious young girl.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Sex Criminals #17

Mar 17, 2017

The story blends action and irreverence with humor. My biggest complaint is that the writers have a tendency to intrude in the narrative just a little too much. WE GET IT! We wouldn't be here otherwise.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Shadowman (2018) #1

Mar 28, 2018

The tone is set for a new battle of good versus evil and those caught between. Shadowman is back with all the subtle horror needed to tell this story of the struggle of a man with accursed powers.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Shadowman (2018) #2

Apr 23, 2018

Shadowman may be overmatched in his battle against evil spirits and their minions, at least for now. The story is just starting to warm up, and promises some chills and suspense.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Sherlock Holmes: The Vanishing Man #1

May 2, 2018

A Sherlock Holmes story should never veer too far from the familiar and this version does well to both pay respects to canon and provide what should amount to a deeper mystery as time goes on. There is still much to be deduced, but the Vanishing Man is off to a good start.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Sideways #3

Apr 11, 2018

He's got enemies, has made mistakes, and there are consequences for his actions, all of which makes this one of the more consistent entries in the New Age of Heroes. This is a likable character in an interesting story that will likely get better as time goes on

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Sideways #4

May 9, 2018

Sideways is a delightfully clueless addition to the New Age of Heroes. He's fun and determined even if he's going to get people killed before he figures out how to properly use his powers.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Skyward (2018) #1

Apr 16, 2018

The premise might seem goofy, but the story is solid. A man must save the world or at least try to return it to what it was. I'm guessing we will find that there are those who will blame him and those who will try to stop him.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Skyward (2018) #2

May 22, 2018

Despite taking some problematic turns in the bigger story that I wished it hadn't, Skyward is a pleasant character driven story of a Dad and daughter struggling in a crazy world.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Sleepless (2017) #1

Dec 6, 2017

Sleepless combines classic elements into a modern take on the story of what happens to the surviving child of a dead monarch. While it may seem to be familiar and comforting Sleepless still looks fresh and innovative.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Slots #1

Oct 4, 2017

This is a story about real people who make mistakes and probably fail "a lot. That's good because Slots is as personal and intimate and real as can be.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Slots #2

Nov 8, 2017

Despite the fact that the main character has a near complete lack of redeeming qualities, Stanley Dance is still fascinating to watch. I haven't decided if I'm rooting for him or rooting for him to crash and burn. Either way, I'm in for the duration.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Slots #3

Dec 13, 2017

This tale of a ne'er-do-well's build-up to a colossal fall is compelling and fun. Slots continues to be a wonderful story where the bad guys are awful and the good guys aren't so hot either. I can't wait to see the inevitable crash and burn.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Slots #4

Jan 10, 2018

Slots is a narrative from another era. Dashiell Hammett or Elmore Leonard gave us earlier versions of this demi monde, but Panosian can go toe to toe with them with this gritty spectacle. There is always something interesting to find in the dark corners of humanity and Slots makes us look, and we are the better for it.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Slots #5

Feb 13, 2018

Like some old black and white movie, Slots has all the back room barroom ambiance right before the chaos ensues. This dumb palooka doesn't know when to git when the gittin's good. The fall will be spectacular, but I'm worried about the collateral damage.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Slots #6

Mar 14, 2018

Even at this late date in the finale, the character of Stanley Dance remains remarkable in that he is still untrustworthy, barely likable and doomed to fail. Yet, I can't help but cheer him on. He does fail, of course, but spectacularly instead of miserably, and in a completely unsuspected way.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Sovereigns #0

Apr 11, 2017

No need to reiterate the list of well-known and successful artist and writers, but there is something here for everyone. This is really little more than a taste of things to come, but each section looks pretty juicy and likely to stand on their own.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Spencer & Locke #1

Apr 12, 2017

Well done at every turn, brilliant in its audacity and visually subtle, the moods and terror that were always under the surface have come to light. Great fun and the right kind of creepy, although it makes me rethink how sinister the original really was.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Spencer & Locke #2

May 31, 2017

Quirky and highly unusual, Spencer & Locke tugs at the heartstrings while upending childhood innocence and destroying sentimentality.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Spencer & Locke #3

Jun 21, 2017

I keep expecting this unique story to fail under its own weirdness, but instead it gets better.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Spencer & Locke #4

Jul 19, 2017

A dark and unique mash up of detective story and the beloved comic strip that adds to the original without tarnishing it.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Sun Bakery (2017) #2

Apr 11, 2017

It doesn't break new ground, exactly, and lacks a certain cohesiveness, but it does deliver on an ambitious creative level. I'm all for creators who are willing to push the envelope and set their own style and I think Corey Lewis has managed to do just that.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles #81

Apr 11, 2018

Those who haven't seen the Turtles in a while would be pleased with what they are about these days. The drama and edginess has returned to close to the darkness and sociopathy of the original.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles #82

May 15, 2018

This arc of the continuing story is a comfortable and interesting rendering of the famous heroes in a story with the right blend of humor and action sure to satisfy both newcomers and long time fans.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
The Dead Hand #1

Apr 10, 2018

This is a unique and surprising story that appears to be going one way and ends up in an entirely different place. Action and unexpected disclosures abound in this strongly written and gorgeously illustrated story. I can't wait for the next installment.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
The Dead Hand #2

May 15, 2018

The Dead Hand is a spy thriller where there are wheels within wheels and we've yet to see what is really going on, how Carter and Renae got there, and who is in charge. This is a taut tale of espionage that is just beginning to open up.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
The Divided States of Hysteria #1

Jun 7, 2017

Howard Chaykin is back whether you want him or not. Expect a fist in the face and a face full of provocation splashed onto every page. You are dared to look and dared to look away. You are warned.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
The Divided States of Hysteria #2

Jul 12, 2017

Shock value has limited staying power and the story suffers as a result. Time to dial in on a more compelling tale.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
The Further Adventures of Nick Wilson #1

Jan 16, 2018

We've yet to see what will happen to our hapless ex-hero but it looks to be a fun adventure. No doubt Nick Wilson won't end up on top, but hopefully it will be better than being covered in vomit or caught by the paparazzi looking like death warmed over.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
The Further Adventures of Nick Wilson #2

Feb 20, 2018

Nick Wilson is more fun without his powers than he was with them and it still appears that he will succumb to his arch enemy once again. Stay tuned, it's only going to get worse for our poor ex-hero.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
The Further Adventures of Nick Wilson #3

Mar 21, 2018

This issue is more of a set up for what is to come, which unfortunately grinds the story to a halt. The readers learn a little bit more, and maybe Nick will be in over his head,but that's all. We shall see, and hopefully sooner rather than later. I wonder with only two issues left, will there be enough time?

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
The Further Adventures of Nick Wilson #4

Apr 16, 2018

The showdown at the museum is getting closer, but Nick still doesn't have a clue about how much trouble is up ahead for him. It should be interesting to see what happens when he actually wakes up to what has been going on around him. Even if he had superpowers it does not look like they would do any good.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
The Further Adventures of Nick Wilson #5

May 22, 2018

The Further Adventures Of Nick Wilson concludes with a showdown pitting hero against nemesis. Victory is in the ability to stand up against the bad guy. Courage prevails, not some artificially acquired ability.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
The Highest House #2

Mar 28, 2018

Something beneath The Highest House has been restrained for a thousand years and it takes a boy with an ancient bloodline to set forces in motion in this mysterious tale of magic and rebellion. Well worth a look if interested in a book with a unique voice.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
The Highest House #3

Apr 18, 2018

The Highest House is the story of a brutal society full of intricate politics and a boy who may have made a deal with a devil. His mysterious background adds to this tale of the rise of a simple slave who will likely gain greatness -- with or without the help of some magic rock.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
The Librarians #1

Sep 20, 2017

Dynamite definitely knows what they're doing when it comes to comic versions of established character property from other mediums. Those who enjoy the television show will find a great addition to the series in these pages. Others will find a good story told well with fun characters and a nice adventure.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
The Silencer #2

Feb 28, 2018

I expected more from a writer and an artist who I know can do much, much better. I had high expectations. Instead, I am greatly disappointed.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
The Silencer #3

Mar 28, 2018

It is about time The Silencer gets on with it and begins to tell a more coherent story. Hopefully, the reason for all this mayhem will be revealed. They keep telling us how badass she used to be, so maybe we will finally see it. We've been waiting long enough.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Twisted Romance #1

Feb 7, 2018

A mixed bag of minimalist and abstract art coupled with writing that is equally inconsistent. A difficult and unsettling combination that is mismatched. Perhaps the next issue will be more cohesive. The art is more successful by far than the words.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Underwinter #1

Mar 22, 2017

A classic story told well and leaving me wanting more. I thought it was over too soon, and it left my anticipation for the next chapter so great as to be uncomfortable.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Underwinter #2

Apr 26, 2017

Underwinter continues its unique literary and stylistic approach to the telling a familiar story. Well done at every turn. This is an elevation of the comic art form.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Underwinter #3

May 24, 2017

I'm enmeshed too. I've never seen anything like this before and I am completely taken with the restrained techniques both in illustration and narration.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Underwinter #4

Jun 28, 2017

A very light touch slow burn of a horror story which is more squirm and nausea inducing than a fright fest.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Underwinter #5

Aug 2, 2017

A challenging read with unique and abstract artwork, but beautiful and moving none the less.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Underwinter #6

Aug 23, 2017

I would not recommend Underwinter for most people, but overall it is a nice and meaty dish served instead of candy.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Underwinter: A Field of Feathers #1

Oct 25, 2017

They say familiarity breeds contempt. There is nothing here that we haven't seen before. Maybe Fawkes has come to the well once too often.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Victor LaValle's Destroyer #1

May 31, 2017

LaValle's reanimation of a classic tale is skillfully presented with a new perspective and greater depth. It borrows its intensity and conflict more from the gothic literary source material that the film history which makes for a stronger story. The legend is modernized and the story is intense. We've only just been introduced to the players, but it looks to be an exciting and original as it continues.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Victor LaValle's Destroyer #2

Jun 22, 2017

An alchemistic technographic gothic story of a mother's love and what grief can drive someone to do.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Victor LaValle's Destroyer #3

Jul 21, 2017

There is plenty of substance to this rework of a classic examination of humanity.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
VS #1

Feb 7, 2018

The world is callous and cruel and only the unrelenting survive. In VS #1 it appears that what is left of human kind is without humanity of any kind. This debut issue has action galore and looks to have more of a story as time goes on.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
VS #2

Mar 14, 2018

This is an action set piece written about an action set piece of a televised and sponsored war that will never end as long as the ratings hold up. It's all fun and games when somebody loses an eye.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
VS #3

Apr 10, 2018

There is a deeper story behind the world of VS. The horror is not so much in the bloodshed, but rather in the banality of evil.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Warframe #1

Oct 4, 2017

If the idea of a comic based on a game and put together by committee isn't a deal breaker, then Warframe #1 is worth checking out. Quality world building and evocative art tell a good enough story at the start and there is reason enough to see how good it might become.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.5
Winnebago Graveyard #1

Jun 14, 2017

I like stories about demonic cults as much as anyone, maybe more so, and I'm pretty forgiving about slow builds, but the pace and originality need to pick up right quick. This is not a promising start.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Winnebago Graveyard #2

Jul 19, 2017

Winnebago Graveyard is nothing more than a typical horror movie idiot plot where if the main characters weren't such idiots, the event would never have occurred.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Winnebago Graveyard #3

Aug 16, 2017

Fabulous art and underwhelming story. The creep factor is there, but nothing you haven't seen before.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Xena: Warrior Princess (2018) #1

Feb 14, 2018

If fans are drawn in by nostalgia, so be it, but these beloved characters are in good hands. Nothing much has happened yet, but as the two companions journey down the road the promise of bold tales and sad songs are sure to be fulfilled in abundance.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Xena: Warrior Princess (2018) #2

Mar 14, 2018

The sense that Xena is a complex and flawed hero comes through and the humanity that is to come has yet to arrive. It looks like conflict and compassion will come to rule the day.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Xena: Warrior Princess (2018) #3

Apr 18, 2018

The story is beginning to open up into a larger world of old grudges and conflicting rivalries. Xena is proving to be worthy of the grand legacy.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Xena: Warrior Princess (2018) #4

May 9, 2018

This issue ends with a suitable cliffhanger that will no doubt cement the budding friendship. Xena and Gabrielle are likable and well-crafted characters. It should be fun to see where they go from here.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

May

April

More