Mirka Andolfo's Mercy #1

Writer: Mirka Andolfo Artist: Mirka Andolfo Publisher: Image Comics Release Date: March 4, 2020 Cover Price: $3.99 Critic Reviews: 15 User Reviews: 15
8.5Critic Rating
8.3User Rating

+ Pull List

SERIES PREMIERE! When the placid mining village of Woodsburgh is disturbed by a series of brutal murders, the settlement is in turmoil. And as the first snow covers the chaos in a white blanket, a mysterious woman in black arrives, eliciting a totally different kind of unrest. But who is Lady Hellaine, really? And what's her secret agenda? Acclaimed UNNATURAL creator MIRKA ANDOLFO presents a sensual Victorian gothic horror about otherness, damnation, redemption, and what it means to be a monster in a horror tale perfect for fans of Penny Dreadful, Crimson Peak, The Alienist, Parasol Protectorate, and Dark Shadows. Visit gotmercy.me for additi more

  • 10
    Comic Crusaders - Johnny "The Machine" Hughes Mar 4, 2020

    If I am honest, I love a good vampire story. I enjoy the dark romance, the seduction and the time period; this book has all that in spades. The quality of the writing shows that Andolfo clearly has a plan in play and the quality of the art entices the reader into its horrific thrall almost without you noticing. Read Full Review

  • 9.8
    The Super Powered Fancast - Deron Generally Mar 4, 2020

    As well as creating an immersive story, Mirka Andolfo has offered some stunning art in this first issue. I was consistently pleased with how gorgeous this issue looked and how the art both highlights the amazing looking characters, but also the beautifully detailed backgrounds and creatures. This is a great looking book from its action filled open to its horrific cliffhanger. Read Full Review

  • 9.0
    The Fandom Post - Chris Beveridge Mar 10, 2020

    Andolfo's artwork is gorgeous throughout and warrants the overall grade alone with how Swanson is presented as well as the relationship between Goodwill and Hellaine that really has me curious to see the truth of it. This is going to be potentially one of my favorite books of 2020. Read Full Review

  • 9.0
    Comics: The Gathering - Nick Devonald Mar 4, 2020

    An intriguing tale, unfolding at its own pace and never feeling rushed, Mercy #1 introduces readers to a world steeped in gothic horror. While providing plenty of questions and no answers yet gives us a compelling reason to keep reading. The atmosphere this comic creates is fantastic. It’s all the more impressive when you consider how hard Andolfo must have worked to not only write but draw the tale. Fans of gothic horror will not want to miss this. Read Full Review

  • 8.8
    Monkeys Fighting Robots - Cat Wyatt Mar 4, 2020

    Mercy #1 was a fascinating introduction into a new series, with carefully laid breadcrumbs to get the fans going, and absolutely stunning artwork alongside. Read Full Review

  • 8.8
    Sequential Planet - Marcus Orchard Mar 3, 2020

    Mercy #1 is a fine debut that utilizes the best tools of the medium effectively. It's atmospheric, has a great script, and looks fantastic. Fans of gory, gothic tales will love Andolfo's latest creation and should give it a read.  Read Full Review

  • 8.4
    Outright Geekery - Raven Steel Apr 4, 2020

    Being this comic book series is drawn and written by one person, I have to tip my hat to her. Mirka can really draw well. She uses a period of U.S history when the towns were erected almost overnight due to the Gold Rush. The clothing they wore is drawn with accuracy. So using that, she creates a fictional period where many of the businesses and livelihood are depicted well in the pages. Read Full Review

  • 8.3
    Major Spoilers - Ingrid Lind-Jahn Mar 10, 2020

    They thought the explosion at the mind would be the end of it, but what if that was just the beginning? Read Full Review

  • 8.0
    The Brazen Bull - Dave Robbins Mar 4, 2020

    Mirka Andolfo's Mercy is a gloomy gothic horror enhanced by the appearance of a mysterious and dangerous woman having just arrived in town. Read Full Review

  • 8.0
    But Why Tho? - Max Funkey Mar 4, 2020

    Overall I enjoyed Mercy #1. The story features scenes that are practically ripped from a Dickens story and juxtaposed with brutality. And I love it. I definitely give this one high recommendation. The only real criticism to level at the storytelling is that at times it feels a bit cluttered. Read Full Review

  • 8.0
    ComicBook.com - Nicole Drum Mar 4, 2020

    It's a fascinating start for a series. Read Full Review

  • 8.0
    AIPT - Nathaniel Muir Mar 3, 2020

    An excellent start to the new miniseries that introduces the story while giving an idea of what the atmosphere will be like. Read Full Review

  • 8.0
    Big Comic Page - Craig Neilson-Adams Mar 5, 2020

    At the end of the day, there are more than enough intriguing beats here for Andolfos story to sink its claws into me, and while there are definitely a variety of different directions the narrative could be taken from here, at this point, pretty much any of them are appealing enough to make me stick with this series moving forwards. Definitely well worth a look, and absolutely essential reading if youre a fan of Andolfos previous work. Read Full Review

  • 7.6
    Outright Geekery - Thomas Hulett Mar 6, 2020

    Mercy delivers on many fronts from story to art yet still manages to leave a lot on the table. Read Full Review

  • 7.5
    Multiversity Comics - Matthew Blair Mar 6, 2020

    While the writing is bizarre and awkward at times, it does just enough to get the point across and is offset by some of the best artwork you will see all year. Read Full Review

  • 9.5
    GTMedia Reviews Mar 27, 2020

    Many followers of my blog know that Mirka Andolfo's Unnatural was one of my comics of 2018-2019. It was also one of the main reasons I pulled back from mainstream comics and started focusing on reading and reviewing indie comics.

    Comparatively speaking, Unnatural was pretty much better than any comic I was reading from the mainstream and acted as a gateway to other series I would have missed otherwise. I doubt I would have found Tom Scoli's Go-Bots or Mark Russell's Lone Ranger if not for Mirka Andolfo. For those reasons I added Mercy to my comic book pull list the moment I saw it available via solicits.

    I didn't know much about the actual story of Mercy going into it. I will say at the outset that this an absolutely more

  • 8.0
    Gizmo Mar 14, 2020

    The artwork is excellent. The story is kind of like Oliver Twist meets Species. I can't say for sure yet if this is worth sticking with or not, but give the first issue a whirl if it sounds like something you'd like.

  • 7.5
    Briton Mar 10, 2020

    Well, it looks great. But the story line (think Walt Disney with added sex and violence) is far from original.

  • 10
    MarkCh79 Mar 5, 2020

  • 10
    Cake by Ocean Aug 26, 2020

  • 9.5
    arrogantdesperado Aug 31, 2020

  • 9.0
    Ash Gb Williams Mar 4, 2020

  • 9.0
    Ellenkh Sep 15, 2020

  • 8.5
    Phil B. Mar 4, 2020

  • 8.5
    SupesAmongSupes Mar 4, 2020

  • 8.5
    ComicBookMatt Mar 14, 2020

  • 7.0
    Rauld Mar 4, 2020

  • 7.0
    Adam Jul 20, 2020

  • 7.0
    tonpas1989 Aug 1, 2020

  • 5.0
    DeadManSoul Mar 5, 2020

Reviews for the Week of...

September

August

More