Ingrid Lind-Jahn's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Major Spoilers Reviews: 194
8.6Avg. Review Rating

8.7
Aquaman (2016): Drowned Earth Special #1

Dec 1, 2018

Aquaman Justice League Drowned Earth Special #1 is a thrilling conclusion to the Drowned Earth story arc. There are some great character moments in it, and I really like that this is story where the way to win is not just to punch your way to victory. It's truly heroic to take chances to try to make amends and stop the fighting once and for all. I like the fact that Aquaman's communication powers are totally useful, and I think this is also a good set-up for whatever is coming next for Aquaman. If there's anything I didn't like, it's that it seems like there are so many mystical items in play " the Totality, the Tear of Extinction, Clarion, Poseidon's trident, etc. Mystical items get less special when you have too many of them around.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Atomic Robo: The Dawn of a New Era #1

Jan 10, 2019

Atomic Robo: Dawn of a New Era #1 is definitely one to pick up if you're a fan. If you aren't yet, what are you waiting for? Robo is awesome, and who doesn't like action science? Seriously, this is a quality book. It's always interesting, and this is a fantastic jumping on point.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Atomic Robo: The Dawn of a New Era #2

Feb 8, 2019

I've been enjoying that Atomic Robo: Dawn of the New Era #2 really has the feel of a new adventure starting out, and that it begins at a fairly calm and benign baseline. I'm looking forward to see how everything all comes together. This is still a good place to jump on, and Atomic Robo is still one of the books I recommend to basically everyone.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Atomic Robo: The Dawn of a New Era #3

Mar 1, 2019

Everything is forging ahead in the best action-science tradition in Atomic Robo: Dawn of a New Era #3. It's a new adventure, but the groundwork has been laid so we feel like this has been bubbling under the surface all along. And who knows what more is going to happen before some of this gets resolved?

View Issue       View Full Review
9.3
Atomic Robo: The Dawn of a New Era #4

Apr 5, 2019

Absolutely delightful!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Atomic Robo: The Dawn of a New Era #5

May 10, 2019

The end of an arc is only the beginning of the further adventures of Atomic Robo!

View Issue       View Full Review
5.7
Auntie Agatha's Home For Wayward Rabbits #1

Nov 10, 2018

Auntie Agatha's Home for Wayward Rabbits #1 is not your standard funny animal book. It meanders a little, but it does surprise. It is probably not everyone's cup of tea, but it does have some surreal charm, and leaves you feeling like you don't exactly know what's going on yet.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.7
Auntie Agatha's Home For Wayward Rabbits #2

Dec 15, 2018

I have to admit I am still intrigued by Auntie Agatha's Home for Wayward Rabbits #2. It is just such a weird story with unusual characters many of whom, by virtue of their individual pathologies, seem to contribute to the plot almost randomly. While the story of someone trying to swindle the old lady out of her home may not be new, the characters attempting to solve the problems are so troubled themselves that the story gains new and interesting tensions.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.7
Auntie Agatha's Home For Wayward Rabbits #4

Feb 15, 2019

It may not be everyone's cup of tea, but it also isn't something everyone has already seen a million times either.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.7
Auntie Agatha's Home For Wayward Rabbits #5

Mar 16, 2019

I think that Auntie Agatha's Home for Wayward Rabbits #5 has really settled into the story. We know enough about enough of the rabbits that we care for them, even the annoying ones. I like the weirdness of the bad guys. And I really like that Julie reminds us that she is a girl " really, what can she do against lawyers and such? That touch of realism is refreshing.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.7
Auntie Agatha's Home For Wayward Rabbits #6

Apr 21, 2019

Auntie Agatha's Home for Wayward Rabbits #6 may not be everyone's cup of tea, but there is some meat to it. It touches on some serious themes, and it handles some of those better than others, but it has the courage to make the attempt. It has some humor, but it tends to be of a dark variety. It's a bit quirky, to say the least.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.3
Beasts of Burden: The Presence Of Others #1

Apr 17, 2019

From strange things in the graveyard to more trouble with the rats, it's never a dull moment.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Beasts of Burden: The Presence Of Others #2

Jun 6, 2019

Horrible things lurk just around the corner in Burden Hill.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.2
Beasts of Burden: Wise Dogs and Eldritch Men #2

Sep 26, 2018

Beasts of Burden: Wise Dogs and Eldritch Men #2 is a well-spun tale full of great characters and full of mystery and horror alike.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.7
Beasts of Burden: Wise Dogs and Eldritch Men #3

Oct 25, 2018

The action is well paced, and there is enough mystery in the story that I don't feel like I already know the ending.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Beasts of Burden: Wise Dogs and Eldritch Men #4

Dec 20, 2018

Beasts of Burden: Wise Dogs and Eldritch Men #4 is a satisfying conclusion. Everything that happens was set up, so while we may be surprised, we aren't hit by something totally out of the blue. Even though the Dogs took some hits, they're still around to fight another day, and they're such great characters.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Bitter Root #1

Nov 14, 2018

Bitter Root #1 is action packed and really neat to look at. The story is up front about racism " and the associated hatred and fear that are behind it " which the monsters represent literally as well as figuratively. It is a fascinating touch to have the monster hunters not just killing the monsters, but releasing the humans from having become monsters, which is also strongly symbolic. This is a book that has something to say, is set in an interesting time period, and is told from a point of view we don't see enough of. I highly recommend this one.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.7
Bitter Root #2

Dec 12, 2018

If you like horror, and especially if you like horror that has relevance in our world, read Bitter Root #2. It is deep and thoughtful, well executed, and a rip-roaring good read. It's such a great take on the theme of the monsters within us and how we can deal with them. And read through the entire issue " there are a couple great essays at the end.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Bitter Root #3

Jan 9, 2019

I just cannot say enough about Bitter Root #3. Every time we learn a bit more, we also learn that this is a small part of the iceberg. Problems are cropping up all over and seem harder to deal with. The characters are all strong and distinct, but not infallible. Their individual stories are as interesting as the overall plot.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Bitter Root #4

Feb 21, 2019

A tension-filled monster battle that fearlessly reaches in and pulls out some hard truths.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Bitter Root #5

Mar 20, 2019

Family, monster hunting, and bigger challenges yet to come " what more could you want in a book?

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Blackbird #2

Nov 9, 2018

This is a magical story. There's a lot going on here, and it is sometimes difficult to follow what's going on. To be fair, trying to find Paragons who are expert at magic and keeping themselves hidden would make the investigation challenging and frustrating, and reading this feels a bit like this. The heroine has family problems, which has to the potential to be interesting if we see her challenged by them. The premise is intriguing.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.7
Blackbird #3

Dec 6, 2018

The pacing and story are picking up in Blackbird #3. There's less of a sense of frustration " where Nina kind of knows what's going on, but no one believes her " and more a sense of action and danger. I was not expecting the big reveal at the end, and it does put an interesting twist on the story. It's a solid book that seems to be hitting its stride.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.7
Blackbird #5

Feb 14, 2019

Blackbird #5 is very dreamlike, but it hits upon some hard truths.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Blackbird #6

Mar 14, 2019

Blackbird #6 comes to a satisfactory close that still leaves some questions unanswered, some problems unresolved. The family drama has higher stakes than we supposed at first, and Nina has grown strong enough in herself to make choices and stick with them.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Border Town #1

Sep 8, 2018

Border Town #1 starts out with a bang and does not back down.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Border Town #2

Oct 4, 2018

I like Border Town #2 on so many different levels. It is tense and dramatic. It touches the lives of teenagers in several different situations at home.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Border Town #3

Nov 7, 2018

Border Town #3 is powerful. The creators have something to say, and they aren't shy about it. The horror is undeniable, but there are moments of breathtaking beauty superimposed on that horror. There is plenty of action and also danger " these young people are vulnerable in so many ways, it keeps me on the edge of my seat.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Border Town #4

Dec 5, 2018

Oh my gosh, Border Town #4 is terrific. It made me stop and think about some things " living an undocumented life " in a way I haven't not before. I love the mix of supernatural horror with the more mundane evils of 21st century life, which can be horrors in themselves. This story is building tension steadily and inexorably which is great for a horror title.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Britannia: Lost Eagles of Rome #2

Aug 24, 2018

Being a detective in Ancient Rome may not be easy, but it is interesting.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.4
Britannia: Lost Eagles of Rome #3

Sep 21, 2018

This is a somewhat wordy book, both because there is a fair amount to explain about the setting and because this is a mystery and we like to see how the detective " or detectioner " puts clues together.

View Issue       View Full Review
1.0
Britannia: Lost Eagles of Rome #4

Nov 3, 2018

Britannia: Lost Eagles of Rome #4 is a satisfying ending to this story. It ties up all the loose ends neatly. The bad guys get their just desserts, and our hero is left in that ambiguous place where he solved one problem, which may inadvertently lead to bigger problems. If you love historical mysteries as much as I do, this is a great read.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
By Night #1

Jun 13, 2018

If you ever explored old abandoned places by night, this is what you think you wish you would have found there.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.4
By Night #2

Jul 20, 2018

A couple of young people making the biggest discovery of the century, or lost in time and space?

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
By Night #3

Aug 18, 2018

Just when we're focusing on the stranded Heather and Jane, we are reminded again that Chet Charles disappeared. The plot thickens"

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
By Night #4

Sep 22, 2018

By Night #4 lets us savor the mystery of the world through the portal.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
By Night #5

Nov 15, 2018

We have more conflict in By Night #5 even as more characters have been drawn together by their shared secret. I like that we keep finding out more about Gardt's world, and it's more complicated than just a world with cute sprites and dangerous werewolves. It's an interesting tale in who to trust.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.7
By Night #6

Dec 14, 2018

I actually really like that By Night #6 is getting a little grittier. I think that the story we frequently see is of adventures through a portal without a lot of consequences. This story is shaping up to be full of consequences, and now that we've come to know and like a lot of the characters, there is an emotional stake too.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
By Night #7

Jan 12, 2019

I like the pace at which the story in By Night #7 is unfolding. Every time I think I know where we're headed, someone throws a wrench in the works. Things are complicated all over. It feels a little like a shaggy dog story, but hanging out with these characters is charming. Everyone is being pulled in so many directions that it helps keep things fresh.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.7
By Night #8

Feb 16, 2019

The characters are complicated and interesting, and the story keeps getting just a little bigger with each issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.7
By Night #9

Mar 13, 2019

As we've worked our way up to By Night #9, the story has bounced back and forth from a light-hearted fantasy romp, to a tale of corporate secrets and subterfuge. It has its humorous moments, but more and more we see that there is a lot at stake, and now to see the past revealed really kicks up the excitement a notch.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
By Night #10

Apr 10, 2019

Jane and Heather reach Chet Charles " what is his story for the last few decades?

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
By Night #11

May 8, 2019

It isn't just a crazy romp in another dimension; it's a thoughtful exploration of actions and consequences.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.7
By Night #12

Jun 14, 2019

By Night #12, where people's lives are shaped by the decisions that they make and the secrets that they keep.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.3
Catalyst Prime: Kino #11

Nov 28, 2018

We're two issues into the current volume here with Kino #11. This is still a decent point at which to jump on. If you like stories of suspense and intrigue, as well as superpowers, I strongly recommend this book. The action is good, and the plot is engaging and interesting.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Catalyst Prime: Kino #12

Dec 19, 2018

Characters are made interesting to us by the choices that they make, and Kino #12 really shows us what this means. No one has easy choices. As the reader, we have the benefit of seeing when characters make choices that are bound to cause them problems, and we cringe. But this is also what brings us back for more.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Catalyst Prime: Kino #14

Feb 27, 2019

Kino #14 rewards the reader who has been following the plot all along. It is a complicated story, well thought out, and with a truly reprehensible villain who is all the more so because at his core, he acts like powerful people in our real world do. He is horrifying because he is plausible.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Catalyst Prime: Kino #16

May 29, 2019

As much as I hate seeing what Kino is being put through, I simply cannot look away.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.6
Cellies #2

Jul 5, 2018

Modern life, where a retail job may be a stepping stone on your way to greater things.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.6
Charlies Angels (2018) #1

Jun 26, 2018

The original Charlie's Angels in the 1970s " need I say more?

View Issue       View Full Review
6.6
Charlies Angels (2018) #2

Jul 26, 2018

From investigations to international intrigue, the Angels are always at the top of their game!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Charlies Angels (2018) #3

Aug 11, 2018

We have a truly light-hearted thriller here. Have I mentioned "fun," enough times in my review yet?

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Charlies Angels (2018) #5

Nov 3, 2018

I had a lot of fun reading Charlie's Angels #5, and indeed the entire arc. The plot befits the TV show " a decent problem, but a whole lot of room for action and a certain amount of goofiness. There is clear affection for the show " and the time period. I think the epilogue is strong. It opens the door to a modern version of the story, but even if there isn't an ongoing series, it's a nice, tidy ending. It was a pleasure to suspend my disbelief for a while reading this book.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Dejah Thoris (2018) #6

Jul 15, 2018

Pulp space fantasy with some political intrigue and a lot of buff characters.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.7
Dial H For Hero (2019) #3

May 26, 2019

Dial H for Hero #3 is a bit different from the typical superhero book. Our young main characters have real problems in their lives, and those threads are used deftly to help drive the plot. It's certainly imaginative, and not a bad story overall.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Dick Tracy Forever #1

Apr 26, 2019

If you like some two-fisted action with your law and order, Dick Tracy Forever may fit the bill.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Dick Tracy Forever #2

May 31, 2019

Dick Tracy Forever #2 is a two-fisted detective story that can be hard-hitting while still having a thread of humor. It has the classic feel of old-school tales, and the look is distinctive and striking.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.4
Dungeons & Dragons: Evil at Baldur's Gate #5

Aug 30, 2018

The setting is classic fantasy world, and honestly, for this one, you don't need to know any more than that.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
Elvira: Mistress of the Dark #1

Jul 5, 2018

"It came from the wine cellar!" "Who has the corkscrew?"

View Issue       View Full Review
7.6
Elvira: Mistress of the Dark #2

Sep 15, 2018

A little less exposition and a little more action gives this issue some zing.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Elvira: Mistress of the Dark #3

Nov 8, 2018

If you're fond of traditional horror and you have a sense of humor, I think you might like Elvira Mistress of the Dark #3. It's breezy and carefree, with plenty of jokes. Elvira is capable as a heroine, but not so serious that she can't keep laughing at herself as well. It's just enjoyable to sit down with for a time, and I really like that we have the plot twist to help keep it from becoming too formulaic.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.7
Elvira: Mistress of the Dark #4

Jan 19, 2019

I do like that the original set up of the chapters is twisting in on itself in Elvira Mistress of the Dark #4. Variations on a theme are more interesting, and now we've reached yet another layer of bad guy. I think the number of jokes has ticked up again, and they're downright clever. It's a good, solid issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Elvira: Mistress of the Dark #5

May 2, 2019

A quest through the Underworld, as only Elvira can do.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.3
Elvira: Mistress of the Dark #6

Jun 15, 2019

After a life in Hollywood, nothing can faze Elvira!

View Issue       View Full Review
6.6
Errand Boys #1

Oct 6, 2018

If you like chase scenes in your stories, take a look at Errand Boys #1.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.4
Ether: Copper Golems #2

Jun 21, 2018

Trippy fantasy adventure with a distinctly modern twist.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
Ether: Copper Golems #3

Jul 18, 2018

A wild adventure through the Ether that engages the reader and draws them in for more!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Ether: Copper Golems #4

Aug 16, 2018

Every issue has something a little different and unexpected in it; it really is a pleasure to read.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Exorsisters #4

Jan 26, 2019

The premise behind Exorsisters #4 is interesting, and I like how the story is growing into a definite arc. The little "cases" that Cate and Kate work on are often lighthearted, and they help ease our way into this decidedly weird world. I appreciate the humorous moments, especially in a story which feels pretty heavy overall.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.3
Exorsisters #5

Feb 22, 2019

It's taken us a little time to get here, but in Exorsisters #5 we're finally seeing how many of the puzzle pieces start fitting together. It's not exactly your typical take on Heaven and Hell either, which is intriguing

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Fairlady #1

Apr 11, 2019

Solid detective work in a high fantasy world.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.7
Fairlady #2

May 17, 2019

It's an intriguing and satisfying read.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Faith: Dreamside #2

Nov 1, 2018

Faith: Dreamside #2 has a good mix of drama and humor which makes it a pleasure to read. Faith is heroic and engaging, especially since she has her oh-so-human moments. Leading us to the Deadside builds up the excitement to see what it is like, and now that we know Animalia isn't just plagued by normal ghosts, I'm even more intrigued.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.3
Faith: Dreamside #3

Nov 29, 2018

I think the opening super-sweet portrayal of an afterlife, as in Faith: Dreamside #3, is refreshing. It helps set up a world where almost anything could happen. There is some terrific character development here as well, and the set up for the conclusion is certainly dramatic. I think this is a solid issue in an enjoyable story arc.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Faith: Dreamside #4

Jan 11, 2019

It's great when a story can tell us something about its characters, and Faith: Dreamside #4 does not let us down. In saving Monica, Faith herself has moved from a dark place back to a more hopeful one, and that movement is fitting. I like how Dr. Mirage's calmness and composure play against Faith's irrepressible nature.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.7
Fathom (2018) #6

Jan 5, 2019

Aspen Mathews, in Fathom #6, is an interesting and powerful heroine. Her world is fascinating, and I like the way the story is progressing. The U.S. " Russia conflict feels very pertinent, and I like setting it against the conflict in the Blue as well. It's a good balance between espionage and superpowers.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Flash (2016) #71

May 24, 2019

I've been a fan of The Flash for a long time, and The Flash #71 is solid take on his origin and becoming a hero.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Flash (2016) #72

Jun 14, 2019

Piece by piece, Barry Allen's world is falling into place.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Flavor #2

Jun 22, 2018

So far, this is not a book that is heavy on the action, but the storytelling is a pleasure.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Flavor #5

Sep 22, 2018

There is some very nice character development, and this builds on hints that were planted in earlier issues. This is a charming book.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Ghost Tree #1

Apr 25, 2019

Ghost Tree #1 takes some time to set up, but for those of us not terribly familiar with Japan, I think this helps to immerse us in the setting and gradually add the supernatural flavor. I really like the family moments, the premise is fascinating, and it is just a gorgeous book to look at.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Ghost Tree #2

May 23, 2019

A supernatural mystery with a strongly folkloric feel.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.7
Gogor #1

May 4, 2019

A young scholar must become an adventurer, and on his journey, he awakens the protector of the world.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.7
Gogor #2

Jun 13, 2019

Now that's he's awoken Gogor, Armano finds himself drawn further away from home in the struggle against The Domus.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Goosebumps: Horrors of the Witch House #1

May 4, 2019

There's humor, there's a solid set up of the mystery, and we have some intrepid young people to figure it all out. It's well-paced, fun, and lightly spine-tingly.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
High Heaven #1

Sep 29, 2018

High Heaven #1 is not a book for everyone, but it is a fascinating concept and tale.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.3
Incursion #1

Feb 20, 2019

The stakes are huge, the villain is chilling, and the bit players are intriguing.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Incursion #2

Mar 23, 2019

Incursion #2 is tough and exciting with a villain remarkable not only for her callousness, but also for being utterly blas about it all.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.3
Incursion #3

Apr 19, 2019

Incursion #3 is quickly ramping up to the end with a pace that gets your heart beating faster. There's just so much in here. The villains are bold and unusual, with just enough backstory that they have an actual purpose for what they're doing. And our hero is proving to be relentless and perhaps just a bit more reckless than we at first supposed. It makes for some fascinating character interactions.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.3
Incursion #4

May 22, 2019

There's a lot of story to wield here, and Incursion #4 ties up loose ends and brings things around to a conclusion that feels final and hopeful.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Jim Henson's Labyrinth: Coronation #4

Jun 2, 2018

A determined heroine and good storytelling in a fantasy dream world that is both familiar and refreshingly different.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Jim Henson's Labyrinth: Coronation #5

Jul 27, 2018

Jim Henson's Labyrinth: Coronation #5 is definitely not a jumping on point, but I find it rather darkly satisfying. We know where the plot is going, and now we can start wondering more how we get to the end point.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Jim Henson's Labyrinth: Coronation #6

Aug 23, 2018

Another twisting chapter in the Labyrinth, and things are still complicated.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.4
Jim Henson's Labyrinth: Coronation #7

Sep 28, 2018

There is a little more character development, and a reminder of the stakes. But there's also a feel of this being a little more of the same.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Jim Henson's Labyrinth: Coronation #8

Dec 31, 1969

After a couple more introspective issues, Jim Henson's Labyrinth: Coronation #8 feels like it's getting back on track. It ties back into the plot of the movie and grounds us again in that (a necessary touchstone, considering how fluid the Labyrinth can be), which alerts us to the suggestion that this plot probably ends differently. The art continues solid, and there are some thoughtful points here. Not a jumping on point, but for people following the book, it's like it takes a deep breath and starts rolling again.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.3
Jim Henson's Labyrinth: Coronation #10

Jan 31, 2019

I still like the story in Jim Henson's Labyrinth: Coronation #10. I'm still curious to see just how Maria's story is going to end, and whether there is any room to surprise us. But I feel like it's just trying to stretch the plot out a bit to fill issues, and doesn't really tell us anything new.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Jim Henson's Labyrinth: Coronation #11

Mar 2, 2019

After a couple issues of noodling around, Jim Henson's Labyrinth: Coronation #11 picks up the pace.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Jim Henson's Labyrinth: Coronation #12

Mar 28, 2019

Some endings are happier than others, and perhaps the Labyrinth gives you the choice.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.6
Justice League (2018) #1

Jun 7, 2018

New Justice generously mixes new threats and mysteries with old friends and foes in a recipe for action.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.4
Justice League (2018) #2

Jun 20, 2018

More questions than answers as the plot thickens in Justice League #2!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
Justice League (2018) #3

Jul 4, 2018

A tale of the darkness within, with still more yet to come.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.4
Justice League (2018) #4

Jul 19, 2018

The Source Wall, the Totality, the Multiverse " have the stakes ever been higher?

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
Justice League (2018) #5

Aug 1, 2018

Spending some time in the machinations of Lex Luthor's mind straightens out the plot.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Justice League (2018) #6

Aug 15, 2018

I feel like the excitement keeps ramping up in Justice League #6. The message that I am getting from it " to accept your faults, admit your mistakes, apologize, and move on while trying to do better " is a powerful one that befits this group of heroes and is indeed about as heroic as you can get. And it is just beautiful to look at besides.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.4
Justice League (2018) #7

Sep 7, 2018

Overall, I think this is a solid arc. The conclusion in Justice League #7 is satisfying.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.7
Justice League (2018) #16

Jan 24, 2019

Nothing is on a small scale in Justice League #16. It's a satisfying close to this story arc, and it leads further onward in the grand saga of the Source Wall. If you like grand, heroic stories where the heroes are predestined to be heroes, it's a solid entry in that category.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Justice League (2018) #19

Mar 9, 2019

I appreciate that Justice League #19 takes some time to lighten up and have some playful moments, and I really enjoy those chapters of the story. This is one that could have gotten really kooky, but instead it let loose just enough to be fun and then drew it back to the big, serious plot.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
Lumberjanes #51

Jun 27, 2018

Delightful hard-core lady-types having yet more unexpected adventures at camp.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Lumberjanes #55

Oct 18, 2018

The creators have once again given us a plot with a fascinating (and a bit scary) villainess and challenging problems to solve, and the characters have plenty of room to grow.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Lumberjanes #62

May 18, 2019

I'm glad I checked in on Lumberjanes #62, where the writing is solid and the friendship dependable.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Magic: The Gathering: Chandra #2

Apr 6, 2019

Chandra fights with passion, but cannot run from her own self-doubt.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.6
Modern Fantasy #1

Jun 29, 2018

You've got your office comedy in my fantasy world! No, you've got your fantasy world"

View Issue       View Full Review
5.6
Modern Fantasy #3

Aug 29, 2018

Modern Fantasy #3 is not a bad read. While it has a lot of fun with the basic concept, it hasn't done any significant character development yet.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.7
Morning in America #1

Mar 9, 2019

Weird monsters menace a town, and it's up to a ragtag bunch of teens to take them on in Morning in America #1. It even sounds like the plot of a movie from that time. But instead of plucky gang of young men, we have a plucky gang of young women. I like their style and their attitude.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.4
Nancy Drew (2018) #2

Jul 13, 2018

One mystery is solved, but an even bigger one has now come up.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.4
Nancy Drew (2018) #3

Aug 8, 2018

Nancy Drew and her friends start seriously investigating the death of Pete's mom.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.4
Nancy Drew (2018) #4

Sep 14, 2018

This mystery isn't something like a missing high school mascot; it really is life and death. Or maybe let's hope it isn't more death.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Nancy Drew (2018) #5

Oct 31, 2018

Nancy Drew #5 closes a strong story arc that not only introduces us to her world and her friends, but contains a solid mystery that seems entirely plausible. I think it shows that the concept of Nancy Drew is as engaging as ever, and can be adapted to fit into the present. The art throughout has been lovely, really drawing us in and making us care about the characters. Nancy has plenty of room for character development, and I would love to see more.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.7
Naomi #1

Jan 25, 2019

I cannot resist a mystery, and Naomi #1 draws me in. We know a little about the title character, but hardly everything. Why did she develop a Superman Complex? Why does this mean so much to her? Is there really any chance she could be special? Isn't there more to life than that, really? I'm already looking forward to what will unfold next.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Naomi #3

Mar 22, 2019

A pivotal moment in Naomi's life takes a couple unexpected twists.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.3
Naomi #5

May 17, 2019

After years of wishing she could be someone special, Naomi finds out that she is " and trouble is hot on her heels!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.2
Newbury & Hobbes: The Undying #2

Oct 13, 2018

From mysterious cultists in skull masks to an underground community of experiment victims " the plot thickens!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Newbury & Hobbes: The Undying #4

Feb 2, 2019

The story is wrapped up tidily in Newbury & Hobbes: The Undying #4. The main characters are tough, interesting, and capable. The villain has all the hallmarks of a great recurring villain of the kind we love to hate. I like setting up Queen Victoria in this world as being capable and morally ambiguous " it adds some terrific tension.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.2
Olivia Twist #1

Sep 21, 2018

Intriguing and stylish book with a tough heroine just starting to make her own story.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.7
Olivia Twist #2

Dec 31, 1969

Olivia Twist #2 is the midpoint of a 4-issue story. There is a lot going on, but there is clearly much more to go. Olivia is narrating this as her past. She has managed to get through all this, somehow, we just don't know how, especially since it is rapidly becoming clear that she cannot trust the people outside the workhouse any more than she could trust the ones inside it.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.3
Olivia Twist #3

Nov 22, 2018

If you haven't been reading this story, you don't want to jump into Olivia Twist #3. The plot is pretty tangled. But the reveals have been great, and I have not anticipated all of them which makes the story that much more exciting.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.3
Olivia Twist #4

Jan 3, 2019

We've been learning more bit by bit as the story goes on, and this issue ties everything together fairly well. There are times it feels like there's an awful lot going on, and it can be a little confusing on a first read through, but overall it's solid.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Outpost Zero #1

Jul 14, 2018

Who knows what lurks in the minds of survivors, or out on the planet itself?

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Outpost Zero #2

Aug 9, 2018

Why did Steven walk out into the storm, and how do people in a small town deal with the strangeness of such a tragedy?

View Issue       View Full Review
9.4
Outpost Zero #3

Sep 7, 2018

The story in Outpost Zero #3 is as much about youth growing up and coming into conflict with adults/parents as it is about people in conflict with the world around them.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Outpost Zero #4

Oct 11, 2018

This is not just a coming of age story or a straight-up survival story. It feels like we're on the cusp of something even more.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Outpost Zero #5

Dec 22, 2018

Outpost Zero #5 teases us with yet more side threads. The big, obvious problem is the ice, and that distracts everyone from the smaller problems that bubble beneath the surface, and which we've only seen hints of. It's fascinating to see how things gradually develop and tie together.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Outpost Zero #6

Jan 16, 2019

I think you could go nuts findings metaphors throughout Outpost Zero #6. That's because the creative team really understands some essential things about human nature, and how to show us the big things in life that these young people are not talking about. We are making connections with all of them, which makes the story more tense as it progresses.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Outpost Zero #7

Feb 23, 2019

On the one hand, Outpost Zero #7 is a sci-fi adventure on a fascinating and hostile world. On the other hand, it is a deep exploration into what makes us human. The combination of these is irresistible.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Outpost Zero #8

Mar 21, 2019

Outpost Zero #8 is well-plotted, more a suspense story than an action story. The characters are richly complex, with things to like and dislike about them. But we cannot help but sympathize with this group of survivors who are clinging to normalcy, hoping they retain enough brain power to work with the technology that they have. This is a truly compelling story.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Outpost Zero #9

Apr 19, 2019

I have rarely been so excited reading a book as when I read Outpost Zero #9. This is a book of intense drama, but not melodrama; of building tension so slowly you don't realize you've been holding your breath until you let it go. But the payoff here was so deftly done and incredibly satisfying.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Princeless: Find Yourself #3

Jan 5, 2019

Adrienne's uncertainties in Princeless: Find Yourself #3 are a solid metaphor for growing up. And to be frank, they're also a metaphor for life in general. The world this is set in is interesting, and as always, I like the idea of princesses who aren't patient with waiting around and who are willing to act.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.7
Princeless: Find Yourself #4

Jan 19, 2019

As it turns out, there is some significant backstory we need to hear in Princeless: Find Yourself #4. Tying it in with the fight is an effective way to do this without feeling like the story temporarily grinds to a halt while we get an information dump. This is a family-oriented story, and I like seeing the mother find her way in " it's a novel entrance, and her strength doesn't detract from our main character.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.4
Project: Superpowers (2018) #1

Aug 2, 2018

While not officially a team, Project Superpowers still has what it takes to work together, but who is their enemy?

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Project: Superpowers (2018) #2

Sep 4, 2018

The characters in Project Superpowers #2 are interesting, and this is looking to be an intriguing adventure.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Project: Superpowers (2018) #3

Oct 10, 2018

If you like an interesting and well-told classic superhero story, you should be reading Project Superpowers #3.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.7
Project: Superpowers (2018) #4

Nov 21, 2018

Project Superpowers #4 is a fantastic superhero book. It is beautifully drawn, and has drama, tragedy, humor, action, and excitement. What more could you want?

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Project: Superpowers (2018) #5

Jan 2, 2019

It's all about the fight in Project Superpowers #5, so maybe not the best jumping on point, although there is enough information that you could figure out roughly what's going on even so. The action has been building to this point, and it's certainly setting up for a conclusion that looks to be exciting.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Queen Of Bad Dreams #1

Apr 27, 2019

Queen of Bad Dreams #1 is a strong opening for a sci-fi mystery (or thriller?). Daher is a strong female lead, with as many strengths and weaknesses as you might find in any male lead. The world and the premise are fascinating, and the hints of the bigger story yet to come are irresistible. I look forward to seeing where this one heads next.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Queen Of Bad Dreams #2

May 30, 2019

Queen of Bad Dreams is futuristic in a Bladerunner kind of way, where the nuts and bolts of the world are still recognizable to us, and the beats of a detective story still fit.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Quincredible #5

Mar 27, 2019

Quincredible #5 is thoughtful and powerful. Even though we see other Catalyst Prime heroes, this story is all about Quin and he's a likable and relatable hero. I look forward to seeing more of him.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Real Science Adventures #5

Nov 24, 2018

The story arc of Real Science Adventures #5 closes out here, and it is indeed satisfying. Berikos gets what is coming to him, and the wild plans all manage to work out. This is a really fun read and I like the way it was carefully plotted and set up.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
Real Science Adventures: The Nicodemus Job #1

Jul 25, 2018

Real Science Adventures set in a cool place and time and with a heist? Shut up and take my money!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.8
Real Science Adventures: The Nicodemus Job #4

Oct 17, 2018

The threads of the web are starting to draw together in this rip-roaring adventure tale!

View Issue       View Full Review
7.7
Robots Vs. Princesses #3

Nov 16, 2018

As one might expect with an all-ages book, Robots Vs. Princesses #3 focuses a lot on friendship. I like that Zara has made friends with Wheeler, and now with the Centurions here, there is hope for having a conclusion where robots and people can be friends again. This is a nice way to speak to readers about getting along despite differences without being heavy handed. And, like peanut butter and chocolate, robots and princesses go together surprisingly well.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.3
Robots Vs. Princesses #4

Feb 2, 2019

When all is said and done, Robots Versus Princesses delivers almost exactly what you'd expect of it. It's a fun concept. The art delivers. The characters are likable, in so far as we get to know them. There's not really anything new or innovative here, and no real surprises, but that does make it a comfortable story.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Ronin Island #2

Apr 12, 2019

As Hana and Kenichi come of age, their whole world changes. How will it change them?

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Ronin Island #4

Jun 8, 2019

The source of the monstrous Bynin is much closer to home than anyone was expecting.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
Ruinworld #1

Jul 12, 2018

Adventure, danger, excitement, and laughs to be had in this new book.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Sabrina the Teenage Witch (2019) #1

Mar 30, 2019

Sabrina the Teenage Witch #1 starts out hitting a lot of the right notes for me.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.3
Sabrina the Teenage Witch (2019) #2

May 16, 2019

Balancing chemistry class with dealing with supernatural beings " all in a day's work for Sabrina!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Scales And Scoundrels #11

Aug 3, 2018

Life and death juxtaposed with following or breaking with tradition " a timeless theme.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.4
Scooby-Doo Team-up #41

Aug 25, 2018

It's a good light read for the summertime, and it might be a good choice for younger readers as well as the young-at-heart.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Scooby-Doo Team-up #46

Feb 1, 2019

If you know this series, you have some idea of what to expect from Scooby-Doo Team-Up #46. The message is simplistic, and the story played for laughs, but it is cute and amusing. Don't expect profound insights, but enjoy the ride.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Shazam! (2018) #1

Dec 8, 2018

I think Shazam! #1 is a strong start for an issue. We get a small adventure, a full origin story, and a great hook for the future (as well as a big reveal which I did not disclose here). If I have any quibble with it, it is a $4.99 book. The main story is 21 pages, and there's a nice backup story about Mary's history which is another 8. It is a first issue, the art is great, the story and characters are engaging, but it's not a lot of pages.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.3
Shazam! (2018) #2

Jan 23, 2019

The Law of Conservation of Characters suggests that the villains we meet in Shazam! #2 will be at the center of things. I like the energy and enthusiasm we have here, and the ongoing sense of innocence " that these kids aren't so jaded and cynical that they expect problems around every corner. The villains are classic, and interesting and I am curious to see what they're up to.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Shazam! (2018) #3

Feb 28, 2019

There's a nice mix of exposition, internal conflict, and outright action that keeps Shazam! #3 moving along at a good pace. It's lovely to look at, it's getting exciting, and we have the hint that Mr. Mind may still be a problem. It's setting up some potentially interesting challenges for our young heroes.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.3
Shazam! (2018) #4

Mar 29, 2019

Shazam #4 continues strongly into this story arc. It's spread out, but not so far that we cannot keep track of it. I do like that the parents are actually worried about the missing kids and I love the final reveal. This is a good, solid, thoroughly enjoyable book.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Shazam! (2018) #6

Jun 5, 2019

Being superheroes isn't all fun and games, even in the Funlands or Gamelands.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.7
She Said Destroy #1

May 31, 2019

She Said Destroy #1 has a title that really grabs you, and it feels like there is a lot of story here yet to be told. I don't yet have a sense of what is at stake for anyone, but this issue intrigues me enough that I'm curious to see where it goes next.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Submerged #2

Sep 1, 2018

The ultimate in classical quests - the living venturing into the world of the dead.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
Supergirl (2016) #21

Aug 10, 2018

A great starting point for new readers, and a refreshing new direction for established fans, Pick up Supergirl #21 at your local comic shop.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.8
Swashbucklers: The Saga Continues #3

Jun 8, 2018

Space adventure, untold powers, tense character moments, and mysteries yet unexplored make this story a treat.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.7
The Girl In The Bay #2

Mar 8, 2019

At its heart, this looks like it could be an interesting story. I only hope that the two remaining issues provide enough room to resolve everything in a way that lives up to the premise.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Girl In The Bay #3

Apr 3, 2019

A chilling and deeply mysterious tale that draws the reader in despite its horrifying moments.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
The Long Con #3

Sep 29, 2018

The Con that never ended continues to be full of surprises.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.7
The Long Con #4

Dec 31, 1969

I vaguely remember starting out by wondering what happened here, and that almost feels like it's the MacGuffin in The Long Con #4. And you know what " I'm okay with that. The journey is so incredibly wild, full of weird twists that somehow retroactively make sense, that I can't wait to see what happens next. What are things like in Hall C?

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Long Con #6

Feb 16, 2019

Maybe they're just pulling a con on us, their readers, but I tell you, it is a heck of a fun ride.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Long Con #7

Mar 15, 2019

There's always something new around the corner at The Long Con, and sometimes it's even terrifying.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Long Con #9

May 9, 2019

The Long Con - an homage to a show and fandom that never, ever, ever end. Never.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.8
The Weatherman #1

Jun 14, 2018

Is Nathan Bright really responsible for the worst terrorist attack ever?

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Weatherman #2

Jul 21, 2018

Is Nathan Bright really Ian Black, and can his lost memories ever be retrieved?

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
The Weatherman #3

Aug 17, 2018

I seriously wonder about the various characters and what they are going to do, what is going to happen to them, and what kind of resolution can they reach?

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Weatherman #4

Sep 14, 2018

We already know the stakes are high in The Weatherman #4, and now the difficulty level has also been raised. Desperation is starting to set in " and what will people do when they are desperate? Things are not looking very good for Nathan's chances at this point, and the enemies are formidable. The suspense level is excellent.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Weatherman #5

Oct 12, 2018

It is tense, larger than life, and gripping to read. The pacing keeps us on the edge of our seats. Like a train wreck, it is violent and destructive, but also intensely fascinating.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Weatherman #6

Nov 17, 2018

The Weatherman #6 brings us to a point where, finally, we can stop and breathe for a moment, as the characters finally can. It has been a satisfying arc, resolving some problems in unexpected ways, but setting up several options for the next volume. As horrible as it is, it is still really great storytelling.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
These Savage Shores #1

Oct 5, 2018

A strong start to a story with a vampire in it, but not the vampire story we might have expected.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
These Savage Shores #2

Dec 1, 2018

The story being told in These Savage Shores #2 is not just a vampire story, or even a monster story. This place, at this time, is bubbling with unrest often just below the surface as people try to go about their lives. It's a lovely, visually detailed book. The use of letters to tell part of the story is brilliant " when people talk loud, they don't tell us everything. In writing, they reveal a little more. You can still jump into the story at this point and understand what is going on. I highly recommend this one.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
These Savage Shores #3

Feb 6, 2019

These Savage Shores #3 is so much more than a standard horror story. It spans different sorts of horror and betrayal, from that at an individual level to the betrayal of armies or kingdoms. I love seeing a story of conflict with the East India Company from the point of view of the country that is trying to deal with them. I don't know if this story is going to end well for anyone involved " it could be a great tragedy all around " but it is richly full of complex characters that we grow to care about even if we don't like them all the time.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
These Savage Shores #4

May 12, 2019

This is such an amazing story. Every major character " and there are several " is fully developed. They have goals, desires, reasons for doing what they do " and things that thwart them.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
War Bears #2

Oct 6, 2018

Nostalgia, history or both " an engaging look at life in the era of Canadian black and white comics.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
War Bears #3

Dec 13, 2018

War Bears #3 wraps up this story so beautifully. It tugs on your heartstrings in so many ways, but it leaves us with hope. I like that by telling us a story about the black-and-whites, it does bring them back to life for a time. Even though we see such a small snapshot of the lives of the characters, they feel very much alive.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Wizard Beach #1

Dec 7, 2018

Wizard Beach #1 is not a bad read, but it did not grab me as much as I thought it might. The awkward dialogue sounded off to my brain, and the little subplots didn't feel as though they belonged. I get that there are big conflicts between the wizards who've left for the beach and those who stayed behind, as well as Hexley and adults. But there really isn't any explanation for them yet, and they felt more obligatory than as something that grew from plot.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Wizard Beach #4

Mar 23, 2019

Wizard Beach #4 is not your typical fantasy book, but it is charming and thoroughly entertaining.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.7
Wizard Beach #5

Apr 24, 2019

The flavor of Wizard Beach #5 is very much like a summer vacation. It's fun; it's satisfying; it has a sweet ending that is just delightful.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Young Justice (2019) #2

Feb 9, 2019

This is an engaging team so far in Young Justice #2. There is already some build up suggestive of things going on in everyone's lives; this is a living world and we've entered in midstream. I can already see some potential conflicts building. Despite the high drama, there is both optimism and humor. I think this is a solid book. At twenty pages, it feels a smidge on the short side though.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.3
Young Justice (2019) #4

Apr 5, 2019

Lord Opal may have secret allies, but is it him who is affecting Gemworld, or something from beyond?

View Issue       View Full Review
7.3
Young Justice (2019) #5

May 1, 2019

One wonders if the creative team will be able to give each of them sufficient time to pull the all into the story.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.7
Young Justice (2019) #6

Jun 7, 2019

This feels more like the end of an introduction than the resolution of something major though.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

June

May

More