Ingrid Lind-Jahn's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Major Spoilers Reviews: 97
8.7Avg. Review Rating

8.7
Aquaman (2016): Drowned Earth Special #1

Dec 1, 2018

Aquaman Justice League Drowned Earth Special #1 is a thrilling conclusion to the Drowned Earth story arc. There are some great character moments in it, and I really like that this is story where the way to win is not just to punch your way to victory. It's truly heroic to take chances to try to make amends and stop the fighting once and for all. I like the fact that Aquaman's communication powers are totally useful, and I think this is also a good set-up for whatever is coming next for Aquaman. If there's anything I didn't like, it's that it seems like there are so many mystical items in play " the Totality, the Tear of Extinction, Clarion, Poseidon's trident, etc. Mystical items get less special when you have too many of them around.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.7
Auntie Agatha's Home For Wayward Rabbits #1

Nov 10, 2018

Auntie Agatha's Home for Wayward Rabbits #1 is not your standard funny animal book. It meanders a little, but it does surprise. It is probably not everyone's cup of tea, but it does have some surreal charm, and leaves you feeling like you don't exactly know what's going on yet.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.2
Beasts of Burden: Wise Dogs and Eldritch Men #2

Sep 26, 2018

Beasts of Burden: Wise Dogs and Eldritch Men #2 is a well-spun tale full of great characters and full of mystery and horror alike.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.7
Beasts of Burden: Wise Dogs and Eldritch Men #3

Oct 25, 2018

The action is well paced, and there is enough mystery in the story that I don't feel like I already know the ending.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Bitter Root #1

Nov 14, 2018

Bitter Root #1 is action packed and really neat to look at. The story is up front about racism " and the associated hatred and fear that are behind it " which the monsters represent literally as well as figuratively. It is a fascinating touch to have the monster hunters not just killing the monsters, but releasing the humans from having become monsters, which is also strongly symbolic. This is a book that has something to say, is set in an interesting time period, and is told from a point of view we don't see enough of. I highly recommend this one.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.7
Bitter Root #2

Dec 12, 2018

If you like horror, and especially if you like horror that has relevance in our world, read Bitter Root #2. It is deep and thoughtful, well executed, and a rip-roaring good read. It's such a great take on the theme of the monsters within us and how we can deal with them. And read through the entire issue " there are a couple great essays at the end.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Blackbird #2

Nov 9, 2018

This is a magical story. There's a lot going on here, and it is sometimes difficult to follow what's going on. To be fair, trying to find Paragons who are expert at magic and keeping themselves hidden would make the investigation challenging and frustrating, and reading this feels a bit like this. The heroine has family problems, which has to the potential to be interesting if we see her challenged by them. The premise is intriguing.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.7
Blackbird #3

Dec 6, 2018

The pacing and story are picking up in Blackbird #3. There's less of a sense of frustration " where Nina kind of knows what's going on, but no one believes her " and more a sense of action and danger. I was not expecting the big reveal at the end, and it does put an interesting twist on the story. It's a solid book that seems to be hitting its stride.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Border Town #1

Sep 8, 2018

Border Town #1 starts out with a bang and does not back down.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Border Town #2

Oct 4, 2018

I like Border Town #2 on so many different levels. It is tense and dramatic. It touches the lives of teenagers in several different situations at home.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Border Town #3

Nov 7, 2018

Border Town #3 is powerful. The creators have something to say, and they aren't shy about it. The horror is undeniable, but there are moments of breathtaking beauty superimposed on that horror. There is plenty of action and also danger " these young people are vulnerable in so many ways, it keeps me on the edge of my seat.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Border Town #4

Dec 5, 2018

Oh my gosh, Border Town #4 is terrific. It made me stop and think about some things " living an undocumented life " in a way I haven't not before. I love the mix of supernatural horror with the more mundane evils of 21st century life, which can be horrors in themselves. This story is building tension steadily and inexorably which is great for a horror title.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Britannia: Lost Eagles of Rome #2

Aug 24, 2018

Being a detective in Ancient Rome may not be easy, but it is interesting.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.4
Britannia: Lost Eagles of Rome #3

Sep 21, 2018

This is a somewhat wordy book, both because there is a fair amount to explain about the setting and because this is a mystery and we like to see how the detective " or detectioner " puts clues together.

View Issue       View Full Review
1.0
Britannia: Lost Eagles of Rome #4

Nov 3, 2018

Britannia: Lost Eagles of Rome #4 is a satisfying ending to this story. It ties up all the loose ends neatly. The bad guys get their just desserts, and our hero is left in that ambiguous place where he solved one problem, which may inadvertently lead to bigger problems. If you love historical mysteries as much as I do, this is a great read.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
By Night #1

Jun 13, 2018

If you ever explored old abandoned places by night, this is what you think you wish you would have found there.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.4
By Night #2

Jul 20, 2018

A couple of young people making the biggest discovery of the century, or lost in time and space?

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
By Night #3

Aug 18, 2018

Just when we're focusing on the stranded Heather and Jane, we are reminded again that Chet Charles disappeared. The plot thickens"

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
By Night #4

Sep 22, 2018

By Night #4 lets us savor the mystery of the world through the portal.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
By Night #5

Nov 15, 2018

We have more conflict in By Night #5 even as more characters have been drawn together by their shared secret. I like that we keep finding out more about Gardt's world, and it's more complicated than just a world with cute sprites and dangerous werewolves. It's an interesting tale in who to trust.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.7
By Night #6

Dec 14, 2018

I actually really like that By Night #6 is getting a little grittier. I think that the story we frequently see is of adventures through a portal without a lot of consequences. This story is shaping up to be full of consequences, and now that we've come to know and like a lot of the characters, there is an emotional stake too.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.3
Catalyst Prime: Kino #11

Nov 28, 2018

We're two issues into the current volume here with Kino #11. This is still a decent point at which to jump on. If you like stories of suspense and intrigue, as well as superpowers, I strongly recommend this book. The action is good, and the plot is engaging and interesting.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.6
Cellies #2

Jul 5, 2018

Modern life, where a retail job may be a stepping stone on your way to greater things.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.6
Charlies Angels (2018) #1

Jun 26, 2018

The original Charlie's Angels in the 1970s " need I say more?

View Issue       View Full Review
6.6
Charlies Angels (2018) #2

Jul 26, 2018

From investigations to international intrigue, the Angels are always at the top of their game!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Charlies Angels (2018) #3

Aug 11, 2018

We have a truly light-hearted thriller here. Have I mentioned "fun," enough times in my review yet?

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Charlies Angels (2018) #5

Nov 3, 2018

I had a lot of fun reading Charlie's Angels #5, and indeed the entire arc. The plot befits the TV show " a decent problem, but a whole lot of room for action and a certain amount of goofiness. There is clear affection for the show " and the time period. I think the epilogue is strong. It opens the door to a modern version of the story, but even if there isn't an ongoing series, it's a nice, tidy ending. It was a pleasure to suspend my disbelief for a while reading this book.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Dejah Thoris (2018) #6

Jul 15, 2018

Pulp space fantasy with some political intrigue and a lot of buff characters.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.4
Dungeons & Dragons: Evil at Baldur's Gate #5

Aug 30, 2018

The setting is classic fantasy world, and honestly, for this one, you don't need to know any more than that.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
Elvira: Mistress of the Dark #1

Jul 5, 2018

"It came from the wine cellar!" "Who has the corkscrew?"

View Issue       View Full Review
7.6
Elvira: Mistress of the Dark #2

Sep 15, 2018

A little less exposition and a little more action gives this issue some zing.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Elvira: Mistress of the Dark #3

Nov 8, 2018

If you're fond of traditional horror and you have a sense of humor, I think you might like Elvira Mistress of the Dark #3. It's breezy and carefree, with plenty of jokes. Elvira is capable as a heroine, but not so serious that she can't keep laughing at herself as well. It's just enjoyable to sit down with for a time, and I really like that we have the plot twist to help keep it from becoming too formulaic.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.6
Errand Boys #1

Oct 6, 2018

If you like chase scenes in your stories, take a look at Errand Boys #1.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.4
Ether: Copper Golems #2

Jun 21, 2018

Trippy fantasy adventure with a distinctly modern twist.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
Ether: Copper Golems #3

Jul 18, 2018

A wild adventure through the Ether that engages the reader and draws them in for more!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Ether: Copper Golems #4

Aug 16, 2018

Every issue has something a little different and unexpected in it; it really is a pleasure to read.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Faith: Dreamside #2

Nov 1, 2018

Faith: Dreamside #2 has a good mix of drama and humor which makes it a pleasure to read. Faith is heroic and engaging, especially since she has her oh-so-human moments. Leading us to the Deadside builds up the excitement to see what it is like, and now that we know Animalia isn't just plagued by normal ghosts, I'm even more intrigued.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.3
Faith: Dreamside #3

Nov 29, 2018

I think the opening super-sweet portrayal of an afterlife, as in Faith: Dreamside #3, is refreshing. It helps set up a world where almost anything could happen. There is some terrific character development here as well, and the set up for the conclusion is certainly dramatic. I think this is a solid issue in an enjoyable story arc.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Flavor #2

Jun 22, 2018

So far, this is not a book that is heavy on the action, but the storytelling is a pleasure.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Flavor #5

Sep 22, 2018

There is some very nice character development, and this builds on hints that were planted in earlier issues. This is a charming book.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
High Heaven #1

Sep 29, 2018

High Heaven #1 is not a book for everyone, but it is a fascinating concept and tale.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Jim Henson's Labyrinth: Coronation #4

Jun 2, 2018

A determined heroine and good storytelling in a fantasy dream world that is both familiar and refreshingly different.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Jim Henson's Labyrinth: Coronation #5

Jul 27, 2018

Jim Henson's Labyrinth: Coronation #5 is definitely not a jumping on point, but I find it rather darkly satisfying. We know where the plot is going, and now we can start wondering more how we get to the end point.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Jim Henson's Labyrinth: Coronation #6

Aug 23, 2018

Another twisting chapter in the Labyrinth, and things are still complicated.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.4
Jim Henson's Labyrinth: Coronation #7

Sep 28, 2018

There is a little more character development, and a reminder of the stakes. But there's also a feel of this being a little more of the same.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Jim Henson's Labyrinth: Coronation #8

Dec 31, 1969

After a couple more introspective issues, Jim Henson's Labyrinth: Coronation #8 feels like it's getting back on track. It ties back into the plot of the movie and grounds us again in that (a necessary touchstone, considering how fluid the Labyrinth can be), which alerts us to the suggestion that this plot probably ends differently. The art continues solid, and there are some thoughtful points here. Not a jumping on point, but for people following the book, it's like it takes a deep breath and starts rolling again.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.6
Justice League (2018) #1

Jun 7, 2018

New Justice generously mixes new threats and mysteries with old friends and foes in a recipe for action.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.4
Justice League (2018) #2

Jun 20, 2018

More questions than answers as the plot thickens in Justice League #2!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
Justice League (2018) #3

Jul 4, 2018

A tale of the darkness within, with still more yet to come.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.4
Justice League (2018) #4

Jul 19, 2018

The Source Wall, the Totality, the Multiverse " have the stakes ever been higher?

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
Justice League (2018) #5

Aug 1, 2018

Spending some time in the machinations of Lex Luthor's mind straightens out the plot.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Justice League (2018) #6

Aug 15, 2018

I feel like the excitement keeps ramping up in Justice League #6. The message that I am getting from it " to accept your faults, admit your mistakes, apologize, and move on while trying to do better " is a powerful one that befits this group of heroes and is indeed about as heroic as you can get. And it is just beautiful to look at besides.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.4
Justice League (2018) #7

Sep 7, 2018

Overall, I think this is a solid arc. The conclusion in Justice League #7 is satisfying.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
Lumberjanes #51

Jun 27, 2018

Delightful hard-core lady-types having yet more unexpected adventures at camp.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Lumberjanes #55

Oct 18, 2018

The creators have once again given us a plot with a fascinating (and a bit scary) villainess and challenging problems to solve, and the characters have plenty of room to grow.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.6
Modern Fantasy #1

Jun 29, 2018

You've got your office comedy in my fantasy world! No, you've got your fantasy world"

View Issue       View Full Review
5.6
Modern Fantasy #3

Aug 29, 2018

Modern Fantasy #3 is not a bad read. While it has a lot of fun with the basic concept, it hasn't done any significant character development yet.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.4
Nancy Drew (2018) #2

Jul 13, 2018

One mystery is solved, but an even bigger one has now come up.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.4
Nancy Drew (2018) #3

Aug 8, 2018

Nancy Drew and her friends start seriously investigating the death of Pete's mom.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.4
Nancy Drew (2018) #4

Sep 14, 2018

This mystery isn't something like a missing high school mascot; it really is life and death. Or maybe let's hope it isn't more death.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Nancy Drew (2018) #5

Oct 31, 2018

Nancy Drew #5 closes a strong story arc that not only introduces us to her world and her friends, but contains a solid mystery that seems entirely plausible. I think it shows that the concept of Nancy Drew is as engaging as ever, and can be adapted to fit into the present. The art throughout has been lovely, really drawing us in and making us care about the characters. Nancy has plenty of room for character development, and I would love to see more.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.2
Newbury & Hobbes: The Undying #2

Oct 13, 2018

From mysterious cultists in skull masks to an underground community of experiment victims " the plot thickens!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.2
Olivia Twist #1

Sep 21, 2018

Intriguing and stylish book with a tough heroine just starting to make her own story.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.7
Olivia Twist #2

Dec 31, 1969

Olivia Twist #2 is the midpoint of a 4-issue story. There is a lot going on, but there is clearly much more to go. Olivia is narrating this as her past. She has managed to get through all this, somehow, we just don't know how, especially since it is rapidly becoming clear that she cannot trust the people outside the workhouse any more than she could trust the ones inside it.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.3
Olivia Twist #3

Nov 22, 2018

If you haven't been reading this story, you don't want to jump into Olivia Twist #3. The plot is pretty tangled. But the reveals have been great, and I have not anticipated all of them which makes the story that much more exciting.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Outpost Zero #1

Jul 14, 2018

Who knows what lurks in the minds of survivors, or out on the planet itself?

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Outpost Zero #2

Aug 9, 2018

Why did Steven walk out into the storm, and how do people in a small town deal with the strangeness of such a tragedy?

View Issue       View Full Review
9.4
Outpost Zero #3

Sep 7, 2018

The story in Outpost Zero #3 is as much about youth growing up and coming into conflict with adults/parents as it is about people in conflict with the world around them.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Outpost Zero #4

Oct 11, 2018

This is not just a coming of age story or a straight-up survival story. It feels like we're on the cusp of something even more.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.4
Project: Superpowers (2018) #1

Aug 2, 2018

While not officially a team, Project Superpowers still has what it takes to work together, but who is their enemy?

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Project: Superpowers (2018) #2

Sep 4, 2018

The characters in Project Superpowers #2 are interesting, and this is looking to be an intriguing adventure.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Project: Superpowers (2018) #3

Oct 10, 2018

If you like an interesting and well-told classic superhero story, you should be reading Project Superpowers #3.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.7
Project: Superpowers (2018) #4

Nov 21, 2018

Project Superpowers #4 is a fantastic superhero book. It is beautifully drawn, and has drama, tragedy, humor, action, and excitement. What more could you want?

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Real Science Adventures #5

Nov 24, 2018

The story arc of Real Science Adventures #5 closes out here, and it is indeed satisfying. Berikos gets what is coming to him, and the wild plans all manage to work out. This is a really fun read and I like the way it was carefully plotted and set up.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
Real Science Adventures: The Nicodemus Job #1

Jul 25, 2018

Real Science Adventures set in a cool place and time and with a heist? Shut up and take my money!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.8
Real Science Adventures: The Nicodemus Job #4

Oct 17, 2018

The threads of the web are starting to draw together in this rip-roaring adventure tale!

View Issue       View Full Review
7.7
Robots Vs. Princesses #3

Nov 16, 2018

As one might expect with an all-ages book, Robots Vs. Princesses #3 focuses a lot on friendship. I like that Zara has made friends with Wheeler, and now with the Centurions here, there is hope for having a conclusion where robots and people can be friends again. This is a nice way to speak to readers about getting along despite differences without being heavy handed. And, like peanut butter and chocolate, robots and princesses go together surprisingly well.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
Ruinworld #1

Jul 12, 2018

Adventure, danger, excitement, and laughs to be had in this new book.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Scales And Scoundrels #11

Aug 3, 2018

Life and death juxtaposed with following or breaking with tradition " a timeless theme.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.4
Scooby-Doo Team-up #41

Aug 25, 2018

It's a good light read for the summertime, and it might be a good choice for younger readers as well as the young-at-heart.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Shazam! (2018) #1

Dec 8, 2018

I think Shazam! #1 is a strong start for an issue. We get a small adventure, a full origin story, and a great hook for the future (as well as a big reveal which I did not disclose here). If I have any quibble with it, it is a $4.99 book. The main story is 21 pages, and there's a nice backup story about Mary's history which is another 8. It is a first issue, the art is great, the story and characters are engaging, but it's not a lot of pages.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Submerged #2

Sep 1, 2018

The ultimate in classical quests - the living venturing into the world of the dead.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
Supergirl (2016) #21

Aug 10, 2018

A great starting point for new readers, and a refreshing new direction for established fans, Pick up Supergirl #21 at your local comic shop.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.8
Swashbucklers: The Saga Continues #3

Jun 8, 2018

Space adventure, untold powers, tense character moments, and mysteries yet unexplored make this story a treat.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
The Long Con #3

Sep 29, 2018

The Con that never ended continues to be full of surprises.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.7
The Long Con #4

Dec 31, 1969

I vaguely remember starting out by wondering what happened here, and that almost feels like it's the MacGuffin in The Long Con #4. And you know what " I'm okay with that. The journey is so incredibly wild, full of weird twists that somehow retroactively make sense, that I can't wait to see what happens next. What are things like in Hall C?

View Issue       View Full Review
9.8
The Weatherman #1

Jun 14, 2018

Is Nathan Bright really responsible for the worst terrorist attack ever?

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Weatherman #2

Jul 21, 2018

Is Nathan Bright really Ian Black, and can his lost memories ever be retrieved?

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
The Weatherman #3

Aug 17, 2018

I seriously wonder about the various characters and what they are going to do, what is going to happen to them, and what kind of resolution can they reach?

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Weatherman #4

Sep 14, 2018

We already know the stakes are high in The Weatherman #4, and now the difficulty level has also been raised. Desperation is starting to set in " and what will people do when they are desperate? Things are not looking very good for Nathan's chances at this point, and the enemies are formidable. The suspense level is excellent.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Weatherman #5

Oct 12, 2018

It is tense, larger than life, and gripping to read. The pacing keeps us on the edge of our seats. Like a train wreck, it is violent and destructive, but also intensely fascinating.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Weatherman #6

Nov 17, 2018

The Weatherman #6 brings us to a point where, finally, we can stop and breathe for a moment, as the characters finally can. It has been a satisfying arc, resolving some problems in unexpected ways, but setting up several options for the next volume. As horrible as it is, it is still really great storytelling.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
These Savage Shores #1

Oct 5, 2018

A strong start to a story with a vampire in it, but not the vampire story we might have expected.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
These Savage Shores #2

Dec 1, 2018

The story being told in These Savage Shores #2 is not just a vampire story, or even a monster story. This place, at this time, is bubbling with unrest often just below the surface as people try to go about their lives. It's a lovely, visually detailed book. The use of letters to tell part of the story is brilliant " when people talk loud, they don't tell us everything. In writing, they reveal a little more. You can still jump into the story at this point and understand what is going on. I highly recommend this one.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
War Bears #2

Oct 6, 2018

Nostalgia, history or both " an engaging look at life in the era of Canadian black and white comics.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
War Bears #3

Dec 13, 2018

War Bears #3 wraps up this story so beautifully. It tugs on your heartstrings in so many ways, but it leaves us with hope. I like that by telling us a story about the black-and-whites, it does bring them back to life for a time. Even though we see such a small snapshot of the lives of the characters, they feel very much alive.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Wizard Beach #1

Dec 7, 2018

Wizard Beach #1 is not a bad read, but it did not grab me as much as I thought it might. The awkward dialogue sounded off to my brain, and the little subplots didn't feel as though they belonged. I get that there are big conflicts between the wizards who've left for the beach and those who stayed behind, as well as Hexley and adults. But there really isn't any explanation for them yet, and they felt more obligatory than as something that grew from plot.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

December

November

More