Ruinworld #1

Writer: Derek Laufman Artist: Derek Laufman Publisher: Boom! Studios Release Date: July 11, 2018 Cover Price: $3.99 Critic Reviews: 9 User Reviews: 3
8.6Critic Rating
8.7User Rating

+ Pull List

Writer/Artist Derek Laufman (Adventure Time Comics) brings his worldwide hit digital comics series to life at BOOM! Studios. Intrepid adventurers Pogo and Rex are on a quest for fame and fortune. Their discovery of a special map leads them on an epic journey through dangers, demons and old enemies. Just one problem-they've already lost the map. An all-ages comic about fun, friendship and screaming in the face of danger, perfect for fans of Adventure Time and Adventure Zone.

  • 10
    ComicBook.com - Adam Barnhardt Jul 11, 2018

    For an all-ages book, Ruinworld #1 includes a lot of heart and character development in just a few short pages. Read Full Review

  • 9.0
    ComicBuzz - Tee LaFrance Todd Jul 23, 2018

    Writer/illustrator Derek Laufman is adept at showcasing comical hijinks and high-action scenes. I love the characters hes created for us to populate RuinWorld. Besides Pogo and Rex (the aforementioned pig and fox) there is a whole host of anthropomorphic peeps wandering around the quaintly drawn Trader Town, including Barri and Fargus, a book and wolf, respectively, that have some beef. I know I will be tuning in to see if it gets resolved in future issues. Read Full Review

  • 9.0
    Weird Science - Jim Werner Jul 14, 2018

    Bits and Pieces: The lettering by Warren Montgomery adds some great emphasis throughout the issue and adds a fun dimension to a lot of the dialogue. This book truly feels like an “all ages” title, not just something aimed at kids. Artist and Writer Derek Laufman is passionate about the story and it shows in every panel. Read Full Review

  • 8.7
    Multiversity Comics - Gustavo S Lodi Jul 12, 2018

    For an audience that craves an uncompromising series in regards to its style, purpose and sense of fun, "Ruinworld" #1 is a great way to start something that is set to be a promising series with multiple chapters and adventures. Read Full Review

  • 8.6
    Major Spoilers - Ingrid Lind-Jahn Jul 12, 2018

    Adventure, danger, excitement, and laughs to be had in this new book. Read Full Review

  • 8.5
    Graphic Policy - Brett Jul 11, 2018

    I wasn't sure what to expect going in to this first issue but by the end, I want to read more and read it right away. BOOM! Studios is on a string of successes lately and this adds to it with a fantasy tale all can enjoy. Ruinworld is a world I want to read more of, to explore more of, hell I want to game in the world. A fun first issue that delivers action and smiles. Read Full Review

  • 8.5
    Comic Book Corps - Clayton Hinojosa Jul 11, 2018

    As it's still unclear what exactly the big over arcing story will be for Ruin World, this fun first issue let's the reader simply have fun in the moment with easy to understand humor, action, and quirky characters. Read Full Review

  • 8.0
    Bleeding Cool - Joshua Davison Jul 30, 2018

    Ruinworld #1 is a delightful fantasy adventure for a young reader, but, honestly, it could play to an adult audience well too. The humor is clever, the characters are charismatic, and the art is just damn good. This one earns a recommendation. Check it out. Read Full Review

  • 7.0
    Big Comic Page - Craig Neilson-Adams Jul 10, 2018

    Ultimately then, while it's definitely pitched more at the younger end of the “all-ages” spectrum, there's a heck of a lot of fun to be had here, and the chemistry and back-and-forth banter between Pogo and Rex is probably worth the cover price alone. Another enjoyable addition to the KaBOOM imprint then, and a book that Id highly recommend picking up if you have a young comic fan in your life. Read Full Review

  • 8.0
    SloboSOY Jul 12, 2018

    When I see him in the preview, I wanted to try it and didn't expect much, I fear a junior book, but the role-player in me had to try it.
    So we jump in the story with Rex complaining about the fact he's always the one taking risk. It is a fun way to begin with. Then Pogo is forced to go in alone & after some stairs find himself in front of a treasure. I understand he take this opportunity & that he screw big time. But I find the monster too easily beat down. And I find the rest of the story a little off. I would have loved both of them let behind by the monster & recruiting other to face the monster. But the writer made another choice, not a bad one. I was a little sad for Barri. But I wasn't hook.

    Cover - The variant. No tit more

  • 9.5
    Veido Jul 13, 2018

  • 8.5
    Drey5000 Jul 12, 2018

Reviews for the Week of...

September

August

More