Tee LaFrance Todd's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: ComicBuzz Reviews: 55
8.0Avg. Review Rating

8
Artifact One #0

Aug 22, 2018

Now, I do wish the text was a little stronger. On the first couple pages, it was so tiny that I had to squint to read it. Later, there were some errors with capitalization, or it might have been the font. Either way, it was distracting, but I wouldnt use this as a reason not to check out Artifact One.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Bitter Root #1

Nov 14, 2018

You can probably tell from my raving that I enjoyed this book, but even that would be an understatement. Its the best read of the month, with layer upon layer of goodness. I urge you to read and think deeply on the essays at the back of the book as well. They contain a wise and important message for everyone.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Blackbird #1

Oct 23, 2018

An intriguing first issue, Blackbird has the potential to be a fresh new fantasy, as I said above. I will be watching out for the next installments.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Blackwood #1

Jun 19, 2018

The end was impactful and enough to have me waiting for the second issue. I would recommend Blackwood if youre looking for a modern, simpler Lovecraft, a more horrific Scooby-Doo, or a teen angst Harry Potter.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Blackwood #2

Jul 2, 2018

Although the story is not advancing as I had hoped with this issue, there were still some aspects I enjoyed. Its a fast read and some of the scenes are drawn and colored superbly, so for that, its a worthwhile purchase.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Blackwood #3

Jul 25, 2018

The cover for the 4th issue looks bad as heck, in true Blackwood fashion, and I of course, would like to read the conclusion, though Im worried its going to wrap up a little too quickly, based on the previous books.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Blackwood #4

Sep 14, 2018

I hope that the creators all jump off into big waters in future comic endeavors and take Blackwood as a learning experience.

View Issue       View Full Review
5
Books of Magic (2018) #1

Nov 6, 2018

A big let down, I wish I could forget this book and have a start over with a new first issue of The Books of Magic next month. Timothy Hunter, Neil Gaiman, and the DC Universe deserve better storytelling.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
By Night #1

Jun 20, 2018

Christine Larsens art is a delight and such a great fit. It quells my Steven Universe nostalgia, but is definitely distinct in its creative layouts, expressive faces, and humorous body language. The colors are bold and the letters are spot on. By Night glows in the midst of many of the other comics on the shelves. I am very much looking forward to the next issues.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
By Night #2

Jul 24, 2018

The story is also impelling and the characterization is superb. Basically, this book is right up my alley and I cant really find many faults with it. This second issue has me even more hooked on the series and theres no way Im letting it go, now. So, what are you waiting for? If you havent read By Night yet, definitely stop reading this review and go check it out!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
By Night #3

Aug 23, 2018

Im still hooked on By Night, so theres that. This is one reader who is probably in it for the long haul and probably going to get the trade when the issues are collected. Its just too cool to miss, so if you havent dived in yet, stop hopping up and down on the board, and just jump.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
By Night #4

Oct 5, 2018

All in all, though, its still a great series. I am digging the conflict between Jane and Heather; its very real. I also cant say enough about the art, which is just so charming and absolutely appealing to me. This is a top notch team here, folks. If youve been missing this, dont miss it any longer.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
House of Whispers (2018) #1

Sep 28, 2018

Great beginning issue, and promises of future mayhem and magic await those who ascend from the swamps to party in the House of Whispers. Im already there.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
House of Whispers (2018) #2

Oct 24, 2018

Despite some of these misgivings, I enjoyed this issue quite a lot. The magic and mystery oozes from this epic, seeping out between the spirits and archetypes and mythological figures. Like I said, Im stoked to be back.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Isola #3

Jun 11, 2018

There has been a lot of conversation about the influence of Miyazaki on the creators, and I can definitely see that. Its a great place to draw inspiration from, but Isola is also a book that dances on its own, casting its elegant lights and shadows through a magical dreamscape I wish I could visit and explore. I know the story has been a long time coming, and all I can say is that the time and effort spent on it is obvious and appreciated. Bravo, creators!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Isola #4

Jul 27, 2018

My only gripe with this issue are the letters. Many of the bubbles are way too large, covering up too much of the beautiful visuals, and there were quite a few times where the text wasnt centered in the bubble. The sound effects were great, as were the words in another language, but there was also some miniscule text that was difficult for me to read. If the lettering reaches the same high standard set by the art and story, it would be as perfect a book as perfect can be for me.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Isola #5

Sep 24, 2018

Olwyn and Rook are intriguing three dimensional characters, whose relationship is fascinating and relatable. Theres just not many more compliments I can give this comic book, but it deserves them all. Im delighted for something so fresh and refreshing, especially in the fantasy genre. The fifth issue in this new series marks the end of the first chapter and thankfully, more Isola is promised in January 19th. I only hope I can last that long.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Jim Henson's Fraggle Rock #3

Jul 20, 2018

The book moves at a lightning-fast pace, zipping from here to there in a frantic search for the thing that binds universes! Join the Fraggles to find out what the amazing object is that Gobo wants to find. Youll leave with a giggle in your gut after a few minutes of forgetting your everyday trials and tribulations.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Jim Henson's Fraggle Rock #4

Sep 21, 2018

However, what seems to be common in this series, is the cover not matching the actual story. Im not sure why, but although the covers all scream Fraggles, they dont seem to work with the stories that are found within. For this issue, Boober is on the cover doing laundry, which never even happens in the book. The art is great…just not super fitting. Otherwise, this is a classic fancy and free Fraggle romp, sure to please any fan.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Joe Golem: Occult Detective: The Drowning City #2

Oct 17, 2018

Look no further if youre seeking a terrifying mystery. This issue will satisfy.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Lady Mechanika: La Belle Dame Sans Merci #1

Jul 18, 2018

The whole book is immersive, from start to finish. The first issue of La Belle Dame Sans Merci has me excited for the next in the arc. It is a great addition to what is already an enchantingly brilliant set of stories.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Lady Mechanika: La Belle Dame Sans Merci #2

Sep 25, 2018

Great set of books, tons of action and mystery. Hands down, a series I just really love having on my shelves. Cant wait for the next issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Mera: Queen of Atlantis #5

Jul 9, 2018

Ultimately, Mera: Queen of Atlantis has been keeping me reading, and I of course, will be with her at the end of this arc. I hope to see her in a more engrossing tale hereafter, but for now, this will do.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
New Lieutenants of Metal #1

Jul 16, 2018

With its Mucha Lucha style, comedy-drama antics, and over-the-top language, the New Lieutenants of Metal is sure to be a big hit. Its a fun, fiery romp with spoofy characters guaranteed to make you grin and guffaw. Check it out if you want something silly and new and sprinkled with music references.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
New Lieutenants of Metal #2

Aug 16, 2018

At any rate, Im most sad that this is only going to be a four issue arc, because the New Lieutenants of Metal packs a punch for sure. For your friendly neighborhood headbanging story, it cant be beat, so pop in their playlist for issue 2, crank up the volume, and rock out.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
New Lieutenants of Metal #3

Oct 5, 2018

Ive expressed my admiration and delight of the art in past reviews, so Ill just reiterate it here: the art is metal as hell! I love all of the New Lieutenants more and more as I read subsequent issues, and I have to say that the world they inhabit seems like the coolest place, even with rascally rockers like Beeb and his boys. The expressions and body language of the characters crack me up, as do their original designs. Im lovin it and cant wait for more.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
New Lieutenants of Metal #4

Oct 30, 2018

The whiplash feel of the art is also right up my alley. Vandenberg Riot is one of the funniest images Ive come across in a while with his little face in a big head and clenched fists for abs. I also thought Spike was charming and loved seeing him blow his top in this last issue. I hope they all return again real soon. If you havent checked out New Lieutenants yet, its not too late to go back and gather up all four issues. Hope you have a blast!

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Newbury & Hobbes: The Undying #1

Oct 1, 2018

Anyway, I find this version of Newbury & Hobbes to be in the vein of Amelia Peabody and Phryne Fisher mysteries, if not quite as compelling as them so far. But if you like either or both of those, you will probably enjoy this series.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
October Faction: Supernatural Dreams #4

Jun 13, 2018

Im not entirely disappointed; the comic had its moments and I dont regret reading it. However, this is one series I dont think Ill be checking into anymore. Its just not twisted or scary enough, which I never thought Id be saying about a Steve Niles book. Im still a fan of his, though, and I have really been looking forward to Delta 13. I hope it delivers all of the stuff that was missing from The October Faction for me.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Pearl #1

Aug 30, 2018

Pearl is an intriguing woman who deserves to have more personality and a better plot that she's given thus far. Despite some almost interesting flashback scenes, I don't feel as if I know Pearl at all. She seems more defined by everyone else around her than she actually does just being her. The dialogue doesn't give her a distinct voice and the story actually moves pretty slowly for a Bendis book. But oh, the art. The images make the book worth it, so if you still want to check out this new series, please do, and just hope that it gets better from here.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Real Science Adventures: The Nicodemus Job #1

Aug 9, 2018

The art is really appealing. The style would do well in an animated cartoon, but also works in the pages of a comic such as this one. I would have loved to see the clean, gridded pages include just a couple of creative layouts to make scenes really pop, but its well-organized and clear. The colors are somewhat flat, but it works really well with this art, and the color choices help create that fantasy mood that we all know and love about Real Science Adventures, and that we will wait with baited breath to show up in the next issues of The Nicodemus Job.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Red Sonja (2017): Halloween Special #1

Oct 31, 2018

All in, a solid holiday read, if not the most memorable. Its nice for a short break during a rainy October afternoon.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Red Sonja/Tarzan #2

Jun 8, 2018

In the end, Red Sonja/Tarzan is exactly what you would expect: an adventurous tale about two of our favorite scantily clad superstars. And for that, I am pleased and just feel fine, despite some of its shortcomings.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Ruinworld #1

Jul 23, 2018

Writer/illustrator Derek Laufman is adept at showcasing comical hijinks and high-action scenes. I love the characters hes created for us to populate RuinWorld. Besides Pogo and Rex (the aforementioned pig and fox) there is a whole host of anthropomorphic peeps wandering around the quaintly drawn Trader Town, including Barri and Fargus, a book and wolf, respectively, that have some beef. I know I will be tuning in to see if it gets resolved in future issues.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Ruinworld #2

Aug 30, 2018

RuinWorld is a rather wordy book, but it didnt detract from the story for me, even though that may come as surprising. Some of the scenes could be slightly bigger, just because theyre so detailed and its difficult to see everything I would like to in a panel or two. However, neither of those are big deals, and the comic is absolutely worth it so far for an adventurous escape. I cant wait for more RuinWorld.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Ruinworld #3

Oct 4, 2018

Like the previous issues, this one ends on a cliffhanger as well, so I am already looking forward to, and speculating, on the whats in store for us in the next episode. If you havent checked out RuinWorld yet, feel free to dive on in and immerse yourself. Youll come out happier on the other side.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Ruinworld #4

Nov 1, 2018

Again, theres nothing not to love, really, about RuinWorld. Its a simple action adventure, but with tons of personality. Join the fuzzy, courageous crew and come back with some campfire tales of your own to tell.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Shades of Magic #1

Oct 10, 2018

As for the art, Im digging it. Theres a lot of playing around with light and shadow, and theres a sketchy feel to many of the panels. I like how the colors for this series are muted reds, grays, and browns, though I do wish some of the shading in the colors was just a tad more prominent to make the scenes a little less flat. All in all, its a cool book, that could just do with some better editing, but that seems to be a common thread lately.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
She Could Fly #1

Jul 11, 2018

There is so much to explore within the pages of She Could Fly, and I am just wondering how it can all be done in four issues, but I am one reader who will be sticking around to find out.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
She Could Fly #2

Aug 8, 2018

A spectacular mystery, replete with realism, She Could Fly is the perfect mix of strong storytelling and absorbing art. Its an extraordinary experience and lucky for us (or unlucky, depending), its only half done.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
She Could Fly #3

Oct 4, 2018

The art is fantastic and hard to describe. At certain times, the anatomy of some of the figures seems slightly off, but this just adds to the sense of the world being slightly off as well. I think that any other style of art just wouldnt work well with this story, so Cantwell and Morazzo are a brilliant pairing. I hope after the end of this book, they continue to create together.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
She Could Fly #4

Oct 18, 2018

This last issue is quite gory, so take this as your warning. Be sure to read the letter by Christopher Cantwell at the end, as it is important and valuable in its own right. When youre done, suggest the series to others; let them borrow your issues. For this is a book that can reach a lot of people, shock a lot of people, and shake a lot of people into being more aware. I know I already am.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Skyward (2018) #3

Jun 21, 2018

Generally, I really like this book and will continue to read consecutive issues. Its different, its entertaining, and Im very content with the quality.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Sparrowhawk #1

Oct 16, 2018

A charming first issue with a lot of potential.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Stellar #1

Jun 25, 2018

On the whole, Stellar was something of a letdown, but Im sure there will be a readership out there that appreciates it far more than me.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Steven Universe: Harmony #1

Aug 14, 2018

If you love Steven Universe, youll be happy with this first issue, but if youve never seen or read any Steven, you might feel a little lost, because many of the characters take the stage with no background or even names given. However, since it is so popular, I am betting that most readers who will pick up this book have some kind of prior experience with this all-ages series. Its a good time, regardless, and a breezy read-through: an impeccable choice to devour between the heavier-hitting books of your week.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Stranger Things #2

Nov 7, 2018

Its not a horrible read, but for a comic book attached to such a huge project, I for one had higher expectations. However, as I said in the beginning, it just makes sense to have some Stranger Things, no matter the form or quality, at the end of October.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Sword Daughter #2

Jul 5, 2018

Sword Daughter really is a gorgeous comic. It reads like one of those quiet video games, if anyone has played Brothers or something akin. In many of the scenes, I am very near to hearing the lapping of waves on the shore, or the steady drum of rainfall.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Sword Daughter #3

Aug 8, 2018

The art is still stunning, though a little less consistent in this issue. A few of the expressions threw me a bit off and I had to study what was happening, instead of it seeming effortless to understand. I still am loving the full page scenic images; they are very effective at putting the reader into the time and place of the story, making this book all the more immersive. So, if you havent yet, immerse yourself in the grittiness of the ancient Scandinavian world.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
The Brave and the Bold: Batman and Wonder Woman #5

Jun 29, 2018

Inclusively, the fifth issue is just as alluring and captivating as the rest of its fellows. If you havent yet come aboard this wild Celtic ride, you would be glad to do so now. Just make sure you catch up in the story before the upcoming conclusion.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
The Lollipop Kids #1

Oct 8, 2018

The art is where the book shines. Its unique and detailed and pretty accurate. The atmosphere is enhanced by the colors as well. Thus, when I flipped through The Lollipop Kids, I really thought I was going to like it, so it hit kind of hard when I was sorely disappointed. I will give it a second chance by checking out issue two, so I hope that the writing is vastly better going forward. For now, I cant in good conscience give it high praise, even though the idea behind it is really cool. To top it all off, the editing is terrible, as I stumbled over error upon error. Come on AfterShock, you need to up your game. Its a disservice to hardworking creators to not help them out by finding and fixing mistakes and to not encourage them to improve their storytelling.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Thrilling Adventure Hour #1

Jul 30, 2018

An enjoyable read, this probably was much more significant to those readers that are already fans of The Thrilling Adventure Hour. However, its still a decent first issue and deserve a look through.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Valiant High #1

Jun 7, 2018

It would be okay to use this book as an introduction to Valiant if you havent read any of the other books in the universe, even though it will be more meaningful if you know most of the characters. If you dont love it, though, please dont let it influence your future decisions about Valiant, which really has an outstanding variety of comics in its repertoire. Overall, I liked the idea of Valiant High more than the execution, but I will be checking in for the second issue because its somewhat charming and Id like to see more of the gang regardless.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
War Bears #2

Oct 11, 2018

The art, as in the previous issue, is great. I love Ken Steacys style, and his storytelling is superb. Vivid colors add to the lifelike feel that he gives all of the characters, even the anthropomorphic ones. This book is a joy to look at and I want to see more, and read more. I hope you do, too.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Wonder Woman (2016): Witching Hour #1

Oct 25, 2018

This witchy tale was quite wild, and I am anxious to read the next one. Perhaps I can catch up on the rest of Justice League Dark while Im waiting.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

December

November

More