Sparrowhawk #1

Writer: Delilah Dawson Artist: Matias Basla Publisher: Boom! Studios Release Date: October 3, 2018 Cover Price: $3.99 Critic Reviews: 9 User Reviews: 2
8.6Critic Rating
8.2User Rating

+ Pull List

Teen Victorian fairy fight club!
As the illegitimate daughter of a Naval Captain, Artemesia has never fit in with her fatherfs family, nor the high class world to which they belong. However, when she is targeted by the Faerie Queen and pulled into another realm, she has no choice but to try and save the world that has always hated her.
Writer Delilah S. Dawson (Ladycastle, Star Wars: Forces of Destiny) and artist Matias Basla (The Claw and Fang) present a beautiful, gripping tale perfect for fans of Labyrinth and Princeless.

  • 10
    ComicBook.com - Matthew Mueller Oct 3, 2018

    Sparrowhawk was a sheer delight, and we can't wait to return to this magical world. Read Full Review

  • 10
    Geek-O-Rama - Marie Oct 8, 2018

    Book 1 of 5 is an enticing introduction and makes me want to know just as much about Artemesia and the life she has lived as I want to know about the adventures she has been pulled into. Looking forward to the rest of the series. Read Full Review

  • 9.3
    Shoot The Breeze Comics - Kai Kiriyama Oct 3, 2018

    This first issue broke my heart a little, and the violence wasn't too over the top. I'm already looking forward to the next issue. Read Full Review

  • 9.0
    Major Spoilers - Robert Mammone Oct 5, 2018

    Artemsia is the perfect heroine for the story " a mixture of pluck and vulnerability, embarking on a quest where she is at peril of losing her soul. Read Full Review

  • 9.0
    Multiversity Comics - Eric Goebelbecker Oct 5, 2018

    "Sparrowhawk" comes out of the gate firing on all cylinders. Eye-grabbing covers, compelling script, and gorgeous interiors. This is a must-read mini-series. Read Full Review

  • 8.0
    The Super Powered Fancast - Deron Generally Oct 3, 2018

    The first issue of Sparrowhawk is well done. It has a good story and a compelling lead in Artemisia. Read Full Review

  • 8.0
    GWW - D. Ivester Oct 2, 2018

    Sparrowhawk really is off to a great start as it may remind of stories like The Wizard of Oz or I Hate Fairyland but with its own fun twist to it. Read Full Review

  • 7.0
    ComicBuzz - Tee LaFrance Todd Oct 16, 2018

    A charming first issue with a lot of potential. Read Full Review

  • 7.0
    Comics Bulletin - Jason Jeffords Jr. Oct 10, 2018

    I enjoyed the moments in Faerie and really liked Artemisia as a character, but this issue felt slow in the beginning, only racking up the speed in the last few pages, I'm hoping the remaining four issues feel like the final pages. The parts on earth feel slow, but with Unseelie Queen acting as Artemisia this could add some fun, and drama to these scenes making me more excited for the next few issues. Plus the monster designs are so superb I can't wait for more to be introduced. Read Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

December

November

More