Kai Kiriyama's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: On Comics Ground Reviews: 14
8.4Avg. Review Rating

9.5
Bad Luck Chuck #1

Mar 27, 2019

This book is a very strong entry into the world and it is a damn near perfect comic experience. The story clips along and never feels too sparse, the art is great and invokes a sense of looming danger without being heavy-handed, and the colors are subdued and warm, making the scenery pop! It's a helluva fun read and a series I am looking forward to.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Bad Luck Chuck #2

May 3, 2019

Issue 2 of Bad Luck Chuck is just as enthralling as the first. It hasn't let up on the pace of the story and it weaves layers of nuance and intrigue into the world of Bad Luck for hire. Jump on this book before it gets too far ahead!

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Bad Luck Chuck #3

May 30, 2019

Tl;dr - grab this book. It's only 4 issues in the run. For a debut mini series, it is absolutely everything that I wanted out of a comic book. Fun isn't the word I'd use to describe it because of subject matter, but it isn't grimdark. Just go get this book, and thank me later.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Blackbird #1

Sep 25, 2018

This is not a book for younger readers. There is alcohol use and drug abuse present in the book as well, consider this a content warning. The glow effects that colorists Nayoung and Jen manage to put on the magic and the Paragons never ceases to impress. This is one of those series that surprised me, and because this review is based on an advance copy, I'm going to have a hard time waiting for issue 2!

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Daredevil (2019) #6

Jun 4, 2019

Matt Murdock is kind of happy, so that makes me happy. I can see things getting very dark, very quickly. While not the most favourite start to a Daredevil run in my opinion, this is a solid start and I'm already buckled in for the ride.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.5
DC/Looney Tunes: Lex Luthor/Porky Pig #1

Aug 29, 2018

If you want it for your collection, go for it, but don't expect a thoughtful message.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Sonic The Hedgehog (2018) #14

May 3, 2019

A fun, classic Sonic story. Nothing groundbreaking but it's Sonic, it doesn't need to be. It's a great jumping on point as the new arc is just starting. The colours and art are just perfect, and the fact that the team can get a story across with as little dialogue as they are is a testament to the art team!

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Sonic The Hedgehog (2018) #15

May 31, 2019

Definitely feeling the 'this is a kid's book' this issue. Kind of slow but necessary to get the plot moving. Not bad, just kind of boring and very evidently a kid's book. Can't win 'em all. This is not an issue you can skip if you're reading the series. Be warned, the ZOMBOTS are kind of scary in a terminator kind of way.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Sonic The Hedgehog (2018) #16

May 31, 2019

Here's a decent jumping on point as it truly introduces the ZOMBOT Living metal plague story. The art is cute, and this issue was more intense than the last. I am really enjoying this series, and am more invested than I thought I was. It keeps a decent balance between being for kids and being something adults will enjoy. The ZOMBOT infection story might be a little too scary for sensitive kids.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.3
Sparrowhawk #1

Oct 3, 2018

This first issue broke my heart a little, and the violence wasn't too over the top. I'm already looking forward to the next issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Spencer & Locke 2 #2

May 16, 2019

With solid storytelling throughout, and a page-turning page, this book is definitely worth checking out. The writing is crisp, the dialogue punches and this issue is a perfect place to jump on if you haven't already.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Stranger Things #1

Sep 9, 2018

I am so jazzed for the continuation of this comic. Capturing the "I'm 12 and terrified" feeling the way this team has is phenomenal. It's a fine way to fill the time until Season 3, but also holds up as a story I am excited to follow.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.7
The Seeds #2

Sep 17, 2018

Go and buy this series. Seriously. If you want something dark without being totally grim, this is for you. I was so hyped for this series without knowing anything about it, and I am sure glad that I picked it up.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.7
Volition #1

Aug 15, 2018

I am already in love with the concept, and with the art. I hope this will fill the void left by the end of Descender. Definitely worth picking up, if only for the art, but the story has layers that are only just beginning to show, and the intrigue of where it's going is going to keep me coming back.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

December

November

More