Clayton Hinojosa's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Comic Book Corps, Comic Book Legion Reviews: 101
7.7Avg. Review Rating

7.5
Action Comics (2016) #1001

Jul 25, 2018

With the truth out of the bag on who started the fires, the story looks to be speeding up and in a good way. And although this story's headline claims it's a Clark Kent story, we don't get much of the alter ego himself. It will be interesting to see how Bendis merges the apartment fires, with the gossip of Clark's family absence and what repercussions he will face with what seems like the entire Daily Planet watching his every move.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Action Comics (2016) #1002

Aug 22, 2018

Patrick Gleason is still and always will be a wonder to look at whenever it comes to Superman. In an odd way it reminds me of the old Superman the animated series with just a tad more detail.Bendis is getting a groove into the current Superman titles at DC but seems to be forcing his puzzle pieces in order to complete a story. With more time I hope Bendis is setting up a great Adventure for Superman and the current readers.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Action Comics (2016) #1003

Sep 26, 2018

The weight of a massive fandom weighs on Brian Michael Bendis' shoulders, writing the world of Superman is no easy task. To the blind eye Bendis may not be the man for the job, but look a little closer and the pieces to this massive puzzle may start to make sense.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.5
Action Comics (2016) #1004

Oct 24, 2018

The issue itself didn't move the story forward, but only sets Clark's relationship back in Bendis' hope to move Clark's story forward in the future with no strings attached.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Action Comics (2016) #1006

Dec 30, 2018

Bendis leaves us with some interesting news from an individual who has been teased since issue 1002 someone who was moving all the chess pieces throughout Metropolis, Leone.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Amazing Spider-Man (2018) #6

Oct 2, 2018

As "fun" as this issue was, and a bit out of the ordinary. Peter Parker playing Spider-Man trivia night with a bar full of super villains did not impress me. Spider-Man is one-hundred percent a top tier character in the Marvel Universe and should be an eye opening book that flies off the comic book stands. This series is unfortunately par for now. I believe every writer has the potential to write amazing stories. Let's just hope Nick Spencer knows what he is building up to, and that he changes directions sooner rather than later.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Ant-Man & The Wasp (2018) #1

Jun 8, 2018

Through his time in the Microverse, Scott encounters a species called the Thetacorians, and notices a "micro space vampire" of sorts that is hurting them. With the Wasps help, they are quickly able to help but not with out consequence.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Astonishing X-Men (2017) #13

Jul 4, 2018

It has been years since Alex Summers was a hero again, getting the chance to see how he approaches the world that is basically against him will be an interesting read for sure.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Barrier (2018) #1

May 15, 2018

In a time where society finds itself more xenophobic and politically driven, Brian K. Vaughan pushes the boundaries of discomfort while still keeping the story interesting in Barrier by making an investment in caring for these characters.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Barrier (2018) #3

May 16, 2018

As uncomfortable as the last two issues were, this has me more invested due to the slight hints of background on both characters. This issue was fully driven by art as well and had no text, forcing me to invest more time in looking at every panel.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Barrier (2018) #4

May 23, 2018

Vaughan's work with Martin and Vincente is still amazing in Barrier's vibrant colors and grusome realistic human remains.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Barrier (2018) #5

May 30, 2018

In this conclusion, Liddy and Oscar confront the aliens one last time. Standing their ground and ready to go home.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Batman (2016) #59

Nov 21, 2018

It's finally happened, again, for the third time? Bane has broken the Bat. Bruce taking the word of another villain lunatic, Penguin, confronts Bane in Arkham and is done with the charade. Batman even goes as far as attacking Gordon convinced by Penguin's word.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Cyber Force (2018) #4

Jun 27, 2018

I'm very interested to see what this creative team has in store for these heroes, villains, and the real connection to The Accuser and Aphrodite in this new world of Cyber Force.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Cyber Force (2018) #6

Sep 26, 2018

Bryan Hill and Hawkins drew in a lot of attention with a cool character like Ripclaw, and kept the pace consistent throughout the entire book. They gave each character just enough face-time and relevant dialogue to keep me hanging on each word. And even more so, left me wanting more from the mysterious character at the end of the issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Doctor Strange (2018) #1

Jun 7, 2018

This book started off strong and fell a bit short once Tony Stark got involved. Mark Waid's writing was brilliant, the emotional breakdown of Stephen Strange as the Sorcerer Supreme was a great attention grabber, and Jesus Saiz's art kept everything grounded for a Sorcerer who is literally being "grounded" to mortal status. Doctor Strange's exploration to Space is just a bit of a stretch, or at least doing so by the means of a space ship. But with his meetings with other sorcerers, it left him with no choice. We can only hope that Doctor Strange finds his magic quickly.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Edge of Spider-Geddon #4

Oct 2, 2018

With Norman being so evil, but still a Spider-Man, Spider-Punk saves him from the destruction of that world. Which doesn't seem like the greatest of plans, but from what Spider-Punk saw, or in fact didn't see, Norman's Spider-Man will in fact survive and will most likely cause some trouble in the main title series Spider-Geddon. Superior Spider-Man was scary because it was Otto in Parker's body, eventually Otto played the good guy in Spider-verse, Norman is still Norman, just with spider powers and six arms. No good can come from Osborn, ever.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Go Go Power Rangers #10

Jun 6, 2018

The creative team from Go Go Power Rangers has, and I believe will always be, right on point. Dan Mora's art is always just a joy to look at. Parrott's writing has made it almost impossible to love only one character in this book. With the confidence building in Billy, to the more emotional Jason, to the regretful Zordon. Parrott has these character right on track for their futuristic predecessors of the Mighty Morphin Power Rangers title.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Go Go Power Rangers #11

Jul 4, 2018

With his work with cover art over the past few years at both DC and Marvel, Dan Mora is still the number one reason to read Go Go Power Rangers, and Raul Angulo continues to make Mora's art pop. The fantastic art team makes each panel smooth and keeps me engaged throughout the book. The attention to detail and consistency on not just character models, but shading and proportions is extremely satisfying.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Go Go Power Rangers #12

Aug 1, 2018

Between all of these obstacles, the Rangers fight two of Rita's creations and team up with the Gravezord, which aesthetically looked great, but still gave the Megazord a Digimon look. Visually speaking, Dan Mora never disappoints, he has put his staple on this series and gives this book its perfect tone.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Go Go Power Rangers #13

Oct 10, 2018

As the issue wraps up with a fight between the Rangers and Rita's henchmen, Rita opens some sort of door into a different dimension and walks through. As that door closes, it becomes more of a black hole and takes Jason and Trini to the other side. With the underwhelming amount of Shattered Grid that was tied to the Go Go Power Rangers title, the twist ending of this issue was surprising and brings a new aspect and question that will hopefully be answered soon.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Go Go Power Rangers #14

Nov 14, 2018

This issue was also the debut of Eleonora Carlini on the Go Go Power Ranger title, replacing Dan Mora. Although at first glance it's almost unnoticeable, more with the help of Raul Angulo's coloring. But each character has significant differences in facial structure and character design. Carlini's style works very well in this crazy story of uncharted planets.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Go Go Power Rangers #15

Dec 12, 2018

One thing is very apparent now that it has been done in the past two issues, Ryan Parrott seems to be interested in the teams past. Last issue we saw a glimpse of Jason's past, this time Tini's. Where is Parrott attempting to go with each of these, and will it go forward? I think it would be in poor taste to start a formulaic routine of showing each following Ranger in a flashback at the beginning of issues to come. Then again, Go Go Power Rangers is a set in the past, and we already know their future in the Mighty Morphin Power Rangers title. I guess the only uncharted territory would be the past.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Go Go Power Rangers #16

Jan 9, 2019

Ryan Parrott has created a very unique backstory for the Green Ranger power coin and is very much enjoyable due to it never being a priority in previous Power Ranger titles. Elenora Carlini continues to follow the same artistic flow as her predecessor Dan Mora, only taking some liberties in facial design.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Go Go Power Rangers #18

Mar 10, 2019

I may seem like I'm beating a dead horse here, but the inevitable ending to this series is very obvious, but I'm glad Ryan Parrott knows how to expand on a universe most fans thought they knew all about. I'm excited to see what Parrott has in store for the series, now knowing he will be taking control of both Power Ranger titles in May of this year. It's been 6 months since Shattered Grid and our first look at Tommy Oliver in the Go Go Power Rangers title. It seems like a good time as any to bring him back and to hopefully get a great re-imagining of the famous "Green with Evil" story.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Go Go Power Rangers #19

Apr 6, 2019

Ryan Parrott has shown the Power Rangers fight evil alien witches, giant pigs, and gross squishy things called Putties, it's time to see a little more into their every day teenage lives. And it hits close to home for anyone who has been a teenager. A sub theme in this issue, mother/daughter drama, comes from both sides of this story. First with Rita and her "dead(ish)" mother, Rita clearly gets her evil tendencies from her father's side of the family. It's something her mother has been eluding to since her appearance a couple issues back.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Green Arrow (2016) #37

Feb 7, 2018

This issue was good, a bit of a quick read though. Art was consistent for the most part. Percy's writing was excellent for this story as well.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Green Arrow (2016) #39

Apr 4, 2018

The art was good in this issue. It helped the war torn towns look their part and gave awesome visuals to the last fight scene.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Green Arrow (2016) #40

May 2, 2018

This issue was nothing too crazy and very predictable once the story starts to pick up with the introduction to the Children of Vakhar. For a two part small arc, it's a good life experience for Oliver learning a few things from these kids.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Green Arrow (2016) #41

Jun 6, 2018

This issue was both action packed and filled with just the right amount of humor. Some suspenseful things are brewing for Green Arrow as he secures Stryker's underground as he continues his hunt for Parasite.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Green Arrow (2016) #42

Jul 4, 2018

Matthew Clark, Sean Parson, and Jason Wright played with some cool elements of the Stryker's Island sewers in this issue. The shadows, the damp lighting, and explosive colors of Parasite and his power set kept me engaged throughout the entire issue. Clark's character models for Oliver, and everyone else in the issue was very consistent and clean. It's a shame to see this creative team go after this arc, but they definitely made these issues more memorable for what Green Arrow should be.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.5
Green Arrow (2016) #43

Aug 1, 2018

Three issues ago was the introduction to this creative team with Green Arrow Annual 2. The issue was a bit campy and a little cheesy, but the story was fun and the connection to No Justice helped. The Benson's writing here did not read like the annual did. With the subject matter of this story, this book should have had a feeling of darkness, but never once did I feel that until the ending panels. The jokes unfortunately didn't hit right, and there was a panel with Black Canary at one point that made no sense, as if it had been edited in after the fact. The art was not the greatest in this issue, it gave off a mix feeling with what the tone of the issue was suppose to be.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Green Arrow (2016) #44

Sep 6, 2018

Although it is fun for heroes to cross over and really show how well DC's universe is connected, I only hope this is not one of those moments where Clark attempts to fix the problem. Green Arrow has not had to many wins in this recent run, and it would be nice to see Ollie do this on his own.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Green Arrow (2016) #45

Oct 3, 2018

The issue ends with Oliver tears falling making a promise not to disappoint Roy again. It's unclear how Oliver will go about taking down Citizen from here. He does not seem to be unstable, but the loss of someone so close can leave you in an unclear state of mind and clearly an emotional wreck.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Green Arrow (2016) #47

Dec 5, 2018

This was a great ending to Julie and Shawna Benson's run. Ending the issue in such a light hearted town to lift a little weight off of Oliver's shoulders after what he has been dealing with. I can only hope whoever is picking up the torch after these two can really keep it burning.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Green Arrow (2016) Annual #2

May 30, 2018

Having Carnero on art for this issue was like a breath of fresh air, each panel of Carnero's art was incredibly detailed. The change felt necessary for this tie-in issue, it may not be Francis Manapul, but it was just as clean.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.5
Halo: Collateral Damage #2

Jul 4, 2018

The art was not appealing to myself, but it was consistent. The back to back splash pages were enjoyable to look at, but it was the only appealing part of this issue visually. This is only issue two, so there is still plenty of time for this creative team to really connect and create an amazing book in future issues.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Hawkman (2018) #1

Jun 13, 2018

This issue was a fun action adventure. DC's very own Indiana Jones with super strength. Robert Venditti is building an origin on a cosmic level for Carter Hall, and with Xanadu's last words, it's going to be a bumpy ride. Hitch's art was overall good in this first issue, with some minor panels that looked a little plain. His bigger panels with the Nautilus Guardian and the visions were very enjoyable to look at.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Hawkman (2018) #7

Dec 13, 2018

Venditti has now created even more purpose to each and every reincarnation of Carter Hall. But with purpose, does Carter now continue his journey to finally end his curse of stall in order to live forever? Carter has lived many lives but is the debt close to being paid? It's hard to imagine that there will be a time when Hawkman is no more. I'm sure Venditti will write some epic loop hole for Carter to help him maintain the power of reincarnation, but only time will tell. And according to Carter's ship, next stop is one I'm looking forward to very much. Krypton.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Hawkman (2018) #9

Feb 12, 2019

The issue ends with Carter on his knees, forced there by Idamm, his old ally when he was the leader of the Deathbringers. As he looks defeated as he watches the city of London be put in ruin, of course we see the predictable rise of the hero. But Venditti does such a great job making you second guess what will truly happen. With all the craziness that has taken place thus far, how could he not throw in a curve ball right at the last second? Last few issues or not, Venditti has made me a Hawkman fan, quite possibly for life.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Hawkman (2018) #10

Mar 10, 2019

This issue feels like the beginning of the end, as I've said in the past, with all the fun I'm having with Robert's run on the series. It will be hard to follow such an epic story. With solicitations for May already out, we know this story will end at issue 12 but there is no evidence that shows the title will continue after. So with the possibility of only two issues left. I expect nothing but greatness from this amazing creative team for the conclusion of what may be the best Hawkman story ever.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Isola #4

Jul 11, 2018

With the wide span of mystical creatures in this series, it's hard to believe that the hunting clan will be the only antagonist in this book. They are clearly dangerous but seem to only be a thorn in the side of Rook and Queen Olwyn, and not much of an enemy for the foreseeable future.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Isola #5

Aug 29, 2018

With that being said, January 2019 can not get here fast enough, that will give the creative team five whole months to get their ducks in a row and get back on track for the crazy journey this series started with. Abnormally large animals, barbaric hunting clans, beautiful landscapes, and an amazing relationship between Queen and guard, or from what it seems now, maybe something a little more.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.5
Isola #6

Jan 22, 2019

Rook is able to get the supplies and that's it. No scary beast destroys the camp, no one of high authority finds Rook, that's just it. The end. And I was a bit disappointed. The return of one of the most beautiful books I've ever read, and my expectations get shot down.Although the short issue bothered me, it gave me more time to just stare at the amazing art by Kerschl and Msassyk. I almost would like to see what they could do in a superhero comic, but Isola is just their "element".

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Judge Dredd: Under Siege #2

Jul 4, 2018

The very deserving mature readers label, the dark colors and grittiness is what Judge Dredd is known for.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Judge Dredd: Under Siege #4

Aug 29, 2018

With the way this creative team worked on Under Siege I can only hope Toxic will be just as fun. Russell and Dunbar have worked well for the entire series, and I can't see Dredd coming from anyone else in the near future. I can only hope that with the absence of continuity in the big two (you know, those superhero guys), Russell is able to take these characters we've grown to care for from Under Siege make some sort of appearance in Toxic.

View Issue       View Full Review
3.0
Lucifer (2018) #1

Oct 17, 2018

Of course this book is not titled Detective Decker, so the issue ends on a note of Lucifer having some recollection of one individual that we only get a glimpse of in the panel before, and I feel Watters assumes I know him, which of course I don't. Context will surely follow in the next issue, but unfortunately this issue did not grasp enough interest for me to be waiting at the edge of my seat for next month's issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Mighty Morphin' Power Rangers #26

Apr 19, 2018

Shattered Grid is everything I would have expected it to be, and this is just the beginning. There are still questions that need to be answered and still a story to be told.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Mighty Morphin' Power Rangers #27

May 16, 2018

This issue was action packed with cameos of all sorts of different Power Ranger teams. Kyle Higgins is helping the comic universe of this franchise grow with endless possibilities for the future of this book.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Mighty Morphin' Power Rangers #29

Jul 18, 2018

Kyle Higgins has raised the bar, giving the Rangers real consequences and mortality, showing that each hero we see has a real possibility of not making it out of this event alive. Which is something comics have done time and time again with bigger heroes but very rarely if not ever with the Power Rangers franchise.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Mighty Morphin' Power Rangers #30

Aug 15, 2018

The next issue will be the finale of the Shattered Grid event, and this month's issue only shows the tip of the iceberg of consequences for the future of this series, which only leaves more questions with the announcement of a different ranger team taking the lead in the Mighty Morphin Power Ranger series.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Mighty Morphin' Power Rangers #31

Sep 26, 2018

With the introduction of (Spoiler) Bennett grabbed my attention enough to leave me wanting more, but without any answers of what happened in the Shattered Grid Finale I fear most may lose interest not having "their" team back. The connection to this new team will be vital to the positive feedback towards Marguerite and Boom! Studios in their decision to go in this direction for their story.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Mighty Morphin' Power Rangers #33

Nov 27, 2018

There are still high hopes for the future of this series with the possibility of seeing where our original Mighty Morphin Power Ranger team is, where they have been, what they have changed and kept the same. And how the franchise will ever recover from the massive attack from Lord Drakkon.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Mighty Morphin' Power Rangers: 25th Anniversary Special #

Jun 27, 2018

The first two stories Pet Project & Sealed are very playful in both story and art, almost goofy. Nostalgic in how the television series was once written. Whereas The Sweetest of Dreams and The Trial of Astronema show where the series began to dip into a more serious and darker tone.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Multiple Man (2018) #1

Jun 27, 2018

This first issue was a quick but fun read, which seems to be a reoccurring staple for Marvel mini series as of late. It is unfortunate that there are no details of how Jamie Madrox "prime" died, but I know Marvel simply wants me to purchase however many trades to fill in the story myself. Andy MacDonald's art although scratchy in some areas, gives fun visuals for Multiple Man's powers as well as the fight at the end of the issue. Hopefully Matt Rosenberg and the rest of the team can bring back some relevance to the D-list X-Man Multiple Man.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Murder Falcon #1

Oct 10, 2018

Murder Falcon has everything an 80's young adult could dream of. Heavy Metal, vans, alien monsters, oh and a giant falcon who draws power from the intense sound of music.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Naomi #1

Jan 23, 2019

With the big reveal at the end, you get a small feeling at what Bendis is attempting to do with Naomi. Predictably unpredictable. From what I've learned from Bendis joining DC is that you can't assume where he's going to be taking these characters. What you can clearly see though, is that Naomi has a past that not even she knows about, and a small connection to her favorite superhero just got a little bigger.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Naomi #2

Feb 19, 2019

Bendis and Walker continue to write an excellent introduction to a new character. In a time when most fans are debating about older characters and their stories veering too far into the unknown, this creative team jumped to the next best thing. Creating a brand new character from scratch, or so it may seem so far. As of right now, no other character is highly involved in Naomi's life or backstory. She may be obsessed with Superman, but he's only appeared twice, and both times were not in direct contact with Naomi.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Naomi #3

Mar 18, 2019

I'm always willing to give these creators the benefit of the doubt and be proven wrong, and since Bendis has been on the DC payroll, he has had my emotions on a roller coaster. This may just be the low point of the first arc, and it may be mind blowing next issue. But I believe my feelings will stay the same until we find out for sure the truth behind Naomi's adoption and why that specific date was so important to Port Oswego.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Naomi #4

Apr 15, 2019

There is no hiding where DC's fan base holds Bendis in regards to his writing on characters like Superman, or Batman. Naomi, for the first two issues were a breath of fresh air for it seemed Bendis finally found his spot in the DC Universe. Last issue left me with the rest of the fans. The issue was flat and didn't go the way I wanted it. With issue four, I feel the average reader could flip a coin on how they feel about this issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
New Challengers (2018) #2

Jun 20, 2018

For as confusing as this series is, it's a fun adventure murder mystery. Snyder leaves each issue with more and more questions. With these two issues showing a bit of the Challengers backstory, we can only assume that we will be getting the rest of the Challengers' backgrounds in the issues to come. Andy Kubert's art gave such a suspenseful tone to Moses' story and connected well with the tone of the deep sea adventure.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.5
New Challengers (2018) #3

Jul 18, 2018

The potential for this book is in question because of the other New Age of Heroes stories being told in The Terrifics, Sideways, The Unexpected, and Immortal Men. Because of their particular power sets and storytelling everything that can be told in this series can also be told in those books, unless a clear path is made for each book or possibly a crossover event. It is hard to see where DC is wanting to take these stories, or if they are simply using these books to fill in the void in their weekly lineup of books.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.5
New Challengers (2018) #4

Aug 15, 2018

The story may be confusing, but the art is simply beautiful. Marion, Florea, and Ribeiro are a match made in heaven. At no point did this get boring to look at, and if there's anything to be said, this art team needs to be attached to an ongoing Green Arrow title.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Plastic Man (2018) #1

Jun 13, 2018

Gail Simone at the helm of this series makes for a fun read. Although the subject matter is serious, Simone's Plastic Man knows exactly where the punchline fits. Along with Adriana Melo's attention to detail as Plastic Man changes his physical form, the creative team knocked it out of the park on this first issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Plastic Man (2018) #3

Aug 8, 2018

With just three issues left in this series, I'm still looking forward to what Simone has in store for Plastic Man by the last issue to make me want to pick up anything from her in future.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Ronin Island #1

Mar 5, 2019

There's not much more to say about this issue unfortunately. In my final thoughts I only hope Greg Pak will take a step back and focus a little more on developing these two characters on what I assume will be some sort of journey so that we may care a bit more on what may happen to the Island they love so much.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Ruinworld #1

Jul 11, 2018

As it's still unclear what exactly the big over arcing story will be for Ruin World, this fun first issue let's the reader simply have fun in the moment with easy to understand humor, action, and quirky characters.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Saban's Power Rangers OGN: Soul Dragon #1

Dec 5, 2018

Even with Kyle Higgins' absence from the Mighty Morphin Power Rangers title for the past three months, with this great story of old habits, acceptance, and parenthood, it's as if Higgins had never left. It is yet to be made clear if this story is completely canon, but major easter eggs Higgins has left in the story may confirm that this is in fact the future of the ongoing title Boom! Studios is currently publishing.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Sideways #1

Feb 14, 2018

While I am all for originallity and bringing new characters into the DC Universe and bringing something fresh, this first issue was a bit weak on writing.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Skyward (2018) #1

Apr 18, 2018

This was not an action packed book, but it was packed full of some great art and cool concepts of a story never told. I personally have never watched Fox'sLucifer, but Joe Henderson's writing really sucks you in and leaves you wanting more.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Skyward (2018) #2

May 23, 2018

Amazing storytelling, Willa has never been out of Chicago, but also has never been in the streets, taking her there is still an adventure, giving her new perspectives and grow as a person.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Skyward (2018) #3

Jun 20, 2018

Joe Henderson pulls no punches when revealing the nature of what people have turned into due to the events of G-Day.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Skyward (2018) #5

Aug 15, 2018

There is a reason Skyward has been purchased to make into a major motion picture. Joe Henderson has a brilliant mind, an evil mind, a punch right into the emotions, but a brilliant mind nonetheless. Lee Garbett and Antnio Fabela are still killing it with amazing splash pages and making a beautiful world of Henderson's mind come to life. With a small cover tease for what is to come next month for Willow, Garbett and Fabela are sure to have fun with whatever crazy world Skyward has in store for us.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Skyward (2018) #6

Sep 19, 2018

Even in an unfamiliar setting, Willa is always willing to just jump. Makes you think of the underlining message of Henderson's Skyward as a whole.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Skyward (2018) #7

Oct 17, 2018

Lucas provides aid to all the individuals who want to get off the train by flying them to the farm that he runs, transporting everyone by giant butterflies. I feel like Joe Henderson may have been motivated by Avatar in some way. Just when I thought dragonflies where the biggest thing Willa and Edison had to worry about, they get attacked by mosquitoes. Giant man eating, blood sucking, mosquitoes. A visually horrifying death in this issue makes me want to carry OFF! spray everywhere I go from now on. By the end of the issue I'm convinced that Willa has the worst luck in the world, but I know it's all for progression of the story and I'm always down for the ride.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Skyward (2018) #8

Nov 14, 2018

Joe Henderson continues to write a story that completely freaks me out, but I just can't put down. If zero gravity and large bugs wasn't weird enough for this sci-fi adventure, the fact that bugs pushed themselves to the top of the food chain breaks the little normalcy this world had left. After bugs fed off of livestock and humans source of food, they became the prime meal of every day life. I mean, I've heard of chocolate covered crickets, but eating dragonflies and only God knows what else for your entire life?! Gross. But civilians have no clue. I think it would probably be for the best.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Skyward (2018) #9

Dec 12, 2018

With the possibility of only six issues left, what is Henderson's plan for moving forward with Willa and Edison? Willa clearly found a secret hidden in her father's journal last issue, but with the situation they are in, that may have to be put on hold for a while until Willa knows her home city is safe.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Skyward (2018) #10

Jan 29, 2019

The last page teases a new character to the series, but somehow they are familiar to Willa, so much so that they call her "Sweet baby girl." I have my suspicions, but I hope that I am wrong. The obvious guess does seem a bit too obvious, and it would really affect how I see the series from the start, but we shall see.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Sonic The Hedgehog (2018) #1

Apr 3, 2018

This book was fun, of course something colorful and bright, reminded me a lot of the playful and heartfelt Sonic show from the old Saturday morning syndication Foxbox. The writing stayed grounded and fun for all ages.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Sonic The Hedgehog (2018) #2

Apr 11, 2018

Adam Bryce Thomas' art on this book is just super nostalgic to me. It really captures the cartoonish feeling of the characters as well as complimenting the action pack panels. I am really looking forward to what he does with bigger issues in the series.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Sonic The Hedgehog (2018) #3

Apr 13, 2018

As said before, this issue was fun, the re-introduction to all of these heroes and odd characters like the Wisps makes this world grow in such a small time. Hernandez's art wasn't my favorite in this issue, this one seemed a bit too cartoony and very comic book-ish.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Sonic The Hedgehog (2018) #4

Apr 25, 2018

Although new characters are introduced, and the overall plot is still moving forward, this issue wasn't as "meaty" as the issues prior. It was all about the action and taking out the Badniks.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Sonic The Hedgehog (2018) #5

May 30, 2018

Flynn's story has been entertaining, and his cliffhanger endings make the book childishly entertaining, as though it is a television episode.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Sonic The Hedgehog (2018) #6

Jun 27, 2018

This issue like others previously were very nostalgic and fun to read with the star power of fan Favorite Shadow and Rogue, seeing now that Dr. Eggman is in fact a separate individual to Mr. Tinker, I can't help but question if they may be working together. Ian Flynn is keeping the interest levels very high on this book for all ages. And Tracey Yardley never disappoints with such great visuals in racing and combat panels with Sonic and Shadow in this issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Sonic The Hedgehog (2018) #7

Jul 25, 2018

Overall Ian and his creative team has been hitting the ball out of the park. And has kept this book fun with a story for all ages.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Sonic The Hedgehog (2018) #8

Aug 15, 2018

Every Sonic fan wants more Knuckles, so it's exciting to see the Chaos Emerald again and looking forward to hopefully see Knuckles kick some butt against Neo Sonic in the next issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Sonic The Hedgehog (2018) #9

Sep 19, 2018

Amy seems to be taking charge pretty well and the gang is ready for anything Neo Sonic throws at them.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Sonic The Hedgehog (2018) #11

Nov 28, 2018

Stanley Yardley continues to be amazing at this title in particular. Along with Matt Herms colors, this creative team continues to keep me drawn in and looking at every detail. They bring back that Saturday morning cartoon feeling in this book, and that is all I could ask for. Honorable mentions for great panels include; the resistance splash page - simply amazing - and Knuckles retrieving the Master Emerald - pure fun and laughable moment.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Sonic The Hedgehog (2018) #12

Jan 16, 2019

As much as I have my gripes about the story itself, the creative team was great in this book like always. Sonic the Hedgehog is always a title I can count on for consistent beautiful art and layout for panels. They really bring this book to life with every issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Transformers: Unicron #2

Jul 25, 2018

Alex Mine and Sebastian Cheng have caught my eye on this book compared to any other Transformers title due to the way they are able to make each character vibrant in their own way and pop with their corresponding color. With each transformer having their own unique look, it was never difficult to see who was talking, and the attention to detail helped us to believe the consistency with a battle damaged Optimus Prime and others from the issue prior. I never saw just a panel full of robots, I saw true detail in each autobot and decepticon.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Transformers: Unicron #3

Aug 8, 2018

With just three more issues to tell this nail biting story, it seems like the story couldn't get any worse for the Cybertronians.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Transformers: Unicron #4

Sep 5, 2018

All in all Barber was able to come to a clean end to the issue and bring everything back into focus of the main characters of the initial roll call and will begin the climactic third act.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Unnatural #1

Jul 4, 2018

With a title like Unnatural I couldn't help but notice how natural the similarities of politics were in this book. It is still unclear if that is ultimately Andolfo's endgame: to show a life lesson or just tell a great story that we can relate to. This series was originally published in 2016 in Italy and is now being translated for the first time in English. It contains twelve issues and I am eagerly awaiting to see what the other eleven issues have in store.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Unnatural #2

Aug 8, 2018

Unnatural touches on Leslie's past, and why she is so nervous about the Real Love app and who they choose for her date. It is revealed that the marriage of her parents, which was legally chosen by the government, was not so great. Which also might explain why Leslie is having so visual sexualized illegal dreams.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Unnatural #3

Sep 5, 2018

Just when you thought this series was going to be about a forbidden love or a quirky cute pig girl, you guessed wrong. Issue number three takes a dramatic turn very quickly and ends with a heavy jaw dropper.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Unnatural #4

Oct 10, 2018

This story along with its art is too good to let go of now, even if my head hurts trying to make sense of this months issue. Mirka has done an excellent job drawing readers in and flipping the table at the last moment. It won't be long until the true nature of Leslie's dreams is revealed and Mirka's storytelling will begin to clear.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Unnatural #5

Dec 5, 2018

It has yet to be clear whether Leslie has been kidnapped or saved, but it wasn't Khal or Saya's plans to bring Leslie along to their humble abode, it was Carol's. A woman who saved Khal from the savages of Tijoux. A pig woman. Possibly good for Leslie to try and connect with at a personal level. But with everything that has happened Leslie has to be very cautious with who to trust.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Voltron: Legendary Defender #1

Jul 11, 2018

The story overall was a mirror image of what you would expect from an episode of the series itself. Small B-plot, the right amount of comedy, awesome Voltron action, and a somewhat happy ending.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Voltron: Legendary Defender (2018) #1

Jul 11, 2018

Rubine's art was fun to look at and just admire on its own. The larger outer space panels as well as the splash page of Voltron near the end of the book made me want to go back and reread this book. The scenery and attention to detail helped progress the story where not much dialogue was needed, especially with his very animated structure and facial features.

View Issue       View Full Review
3.0
War of the Realms #1

Apr 15, 2019

I understand the significance of the "Journey into Mystery" title, it being the original title that Thor was introduced in at Marvel, but nothing drew me into the "mystery". These characters, as new as I am to them, the format of writing and the lack of character in each of them left me not caring about any of them. As excited as I am for what's coming up next in the main title of "War of the REALMS" this only shows that I may want to skip a good majority of the tie ins for this event.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
War of the Realms #1

Apr 9, 2019

Overall this story was a great start to what may be the most exciting Thor driven event Jason has ever had. The art by Russell and Matthew was great, bringing all the colors they could to a war of mystical madness.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

May

April

More