Morning in America #1
Prev Series

Morning in America #1

Writer: Magdalene Visaggio Artist: Claudia Aguirre Publisher: Oni Press Release Date: March 6, 2019 Cover Price: $3.99 Critic Reviews: 10 User Reviews: 2
7.1Critic Rating
5.5User Rating

+ Pull List

The year is 1983. A series of disappearances afflicts Tucker, Ohio following the opening of a mysterious new factory. But when the town finds itself under siege from strange monsters, it's up to intrepid girl gang of no-account teen delinquents to try and figure out what's happening-and save everyone's lives before it's too late.

  • 9.0
    Multiversity Comics - Rowan Grover Mar 8, 2019

    A terrifically character-driven debut, "Morning In America" #1 will keep you on edge with an underlying sense of unease, but charm you with its diverse cast. Read Full Review

  • 8.6
    The Super Powered Fancast - Deron Generally Mar 6, 2019

    The art by Claudia Aguirre is beautiful. I really enjoyed the look of this issue and its color palette. The setting of the early 1980's should give Aguirre a plethora of ideas going forward. A great looking book. Read Full Review

  • 8.5
    Doom Rocket - Brendan Hodgdon Mar 1, 2019

    Morning in America uses the quiet oppression of the Reagan years to reflect the loud antagonism of the Trump years, of that there is no doubt. But what makes Visaggio, Aguirre, and Saam's work so effective is its celebration of rebellion in the face of such opposition. They've crafted a group of characters that embody the "fuck you" mentality that is needed just as much now as it was then. There might be a lot of fantastical derring-do in future chapters, but this debut has already given us great new standard bearers for today's culture clash. Read Full Review

  • 8.4
    You Don't Read Comics - Jason A. Fleece Mar 11, 2019

    This is a substantial first issue, setting the table for an exciting mystery and a detailed character study. This book is excellent for fans of Stranger Things and Paper Girls, though whether it continues to follow in those other stories footsteps or steps out on its own to do something new and unique remains to be seen. Read Full Review

  • 8.0
    Horror DNA - James Ferguson Mar 11, 2019

    Morning in America tugs on that '80s nostalgia vibe not by referencing Transformers and Ghostbusters, but by taking us back to this time where the world was full of wonder. This is before satellites and the internet mapped the entire planet. It's here that things like the Loch Ness Monster and Big Foot are still very real, or at least there's not enough evidence to disprove their existence. Anything can happen in this book and the Sick Sisters in Tucker, Ohio, are about to witness that first hand. Read Full Review

  • 8.0
    Batman's Bookcase - Zack Quaintance Mar 5, 2019

    Morning in America #1 is a rare coming-of-age comic that excels at realistic character work. A compelling start to an interesting mystery, this book is definitely one for teen adventure fans to follow. Read Full Review

  • 6.7
    Major Spoilers - Ingrid Lind-Jahn Mar 9, 2019

    Weird monsters menace a town, and it's up to a ragtag bunch of teens to take them on in Morning in America #1. It even sounds like the plot of a movie from that time. But instead of plucky gang of young men, we have a plucky gang of young women. I like their style and their attitude. Read Full Review

  • 6.0
    But Why Tho? - lizzylynngarcia Mar 4, 2019

    Aguirre's art is gorgeous and the book also boasts and fantastic variant covers in addition to regular cover but other than that, this book is just boring. It feels rushed and yet at the same time showed us nothing at all. Hopefully, in future issues, more clues will be revealed but until then, this just isn't the mystery for me. Read Full Review

  • 4.0
    ComicBook.com - Christian Hoffer Mar 6, 2019

    There's kids disappearing, there's a monster, there's a big industrial mill, and there are some very heavy hints that the three are connected. Because of that, it felt like a very serious adaptation of a Scooby-Doo mystery, in that you don't need to think too hard to start connecting dots. Maybe that will improve in upcoming issues, but the first issue of Morning in America left me feeling flat. Read Full Review

  • 3.4
    Comic Watch - Matt Meyer Feb 26, 2019

    Morning in America tries to capture the spirit of superior works such as Paper Girls or Stranger Things, and in the process winds up having no identity of its own. By that turn, it really doesn't justify its own existence. Why read the watered down knock-off version when you could be consuming the superior original? Read Full Review

  • 3.0
    Sal Mar 6, 2019

    I found this book to be jumbled and loose in it's narrative. A nostalgic horror/mystery set in the 80's, like Stranger Things or Paper Girls, without a well developed plot or particularly strong characters.

    It's difficult to buy into the "Sick Sisters" as we are simply told that they are the ..."bad girls that don't give a F#ck" as opposed to actually being shown any behavior that demonstrates them living up to this reputation. Selling cigarettes at school notwithstanding, I wasn't sure if these characters are supposed to be delinquents, troubled teens, punk rock anarchists, or posers trying to look cool.

    As far as anything remotely resembling nostalgia, having grown up in the 80's in a Midwestern suburb, there was v more

  • 8.0
    DarloMan May 5, 2019

Reviews for the Week of...

More